Barclaycard Arrival Plus® World Elite Mastercard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
7 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 12 Billing Cycles on balance transfers made within 45 days of account opening
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.99%, 21.99% or 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $89 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.99%, 21.99% or 24.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 18, 2018
If you are not a Frequent traveler
LazyTraveler Cardholder

Pros: Love the fact that I can use my miles in the airline and hotel of my choice. Good initial bonus miles. Great card if you are not a frequent flier. if you spend more on travel, there could be better deals outside.

Cons: Not the best customer care. My approval process was not easy, though I had a good score..! IThere could be different opinions on $89 annual fee from second year. I felt it to be on higher side.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 22, 2017
Great points, HORRIFIC customer service
CoffeeLover7 Cardholder

I have had the Barclays World Elite MasterCard for four years.  The points system is great, and we've been able to pay for most of our vacations using points over the past years.  HOWEVER, their website and technical systems are HORRIFIC as is their customer service and website support.  I have had endless issues with accessing my account online and doing any kind of account for years now.  I have to call customer service every single time I try to login to my account; only to be told they cannot access my account either, so then I get transferred ot IT; then my issue gets escalated to IT management, and then dies -- no one ever calls me back and nothing is ever fixed, so I have to repeat the process the next month.  And, the problems have only gotten worse. Now, not only can I not access my account online, but they have somehow changed me from the primary account holder on my own account (which I personally set up years ago) to an authorized user, and have the wrong card number listed as the primary card on my account. As I type this review, I am on the phone with the 5th customer care rep of the day who has just told me not only that he does not see that a ticket has ever been escalated for my account (WHAT??) but that he can't transfer me to IT because "they won't speak to you if you're not the primary cardholder on the account".   It is a total mess, and I cannot find anyone who is able to help me sort it all out. I have truly never experienced worse customer service in my 40 years of living.  I feel a card switch coming up in the new year.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 12, 2018
Good Travel Card
sergnh Cardholder

All I know is that the few times I had to call, I had good customer service. Took one star away because they went from 10% to 5% for the 5% back in points at time of redemption. I got this card for when I was going to Europe. It's pne of the few cards that has a PIN. This necessary when purchasing from a kiosk. Especially when its a train ticket and there isn't a counter nearby.

more ...
Aug 11, 2018
I love the rewards!
aplang Cardholder

I've had this card for a couple of years. At the time I applied, there was a 40K bonus point offer for spending a certain amount. I can't remember anymore, maybe 3 or 4K. I recieved that which was worth $400 statement credit towards travel related purchases. The 5% back in points at time of redemption is also nice! I love the ease of use of the site and its redemption process.  The points add up fast which is also great!

more ...
Jun 06, 2018
Don’t bother with this card
Hall2ly Cardholder

Don’t bother with this card unless you like being in a good standing and having your card declined without reason. I have had this card for a year and have had it declined 3 times without a legit reason.  The first time this happened to me was after I made a large purchase ( flooring) and immediately paid my 10k balance off. My payment cleared through my bank and my card balance was at a 0 balance yet they continued to put a 7 day hold on my account for “making a large payment”. Seriously?? The second time was without any warrant. Account in good standing, with double min payment made every month. The third time was after I shopped online at a department store that was out of state, and then tried to use my card at the grocery store. The deemed this shopping as “suspicious” and instead of calling to ask me about it, put a hold on my account. If you are a customer who likes to use their card to make purchases v as a slot holder in your wallet then this card is not for you. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 31, 2018

Payments over 10k are reported to irs

 
Feb 18, 2018
If you are not a Frequent traveler
LazyTraveler Cardholder

Pros: Love the fact that I can use my miles in the airline and hotel of my choice. Good initial bonus miles. Great card if you are not a frequent flier. if you spend more on travel, there could be better deals outside.

Cons: Not the best customer care. My approval process was not easy, though I had a good score..! IThere could be different opinions on $89 annual fee from second year. I felt it to be on higher side.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 24, 2018

Citi double cash would be better with no annual fee.

 
Feb 11, 2018
Barclaycard sucks. Strategy below.
Anonymous Cardholder

I was lured in by the sign up bonus, and it came in handy when I was travelling abroad. I was pretty happy with it.

BUT, as everyone else indicates: their customer service is deplorable. I one million percent agree with all of the other negative sentiments. I cancelled the card based on my negative experience with them on an issue that spanded over several levels of customer service; from the lower rungs to the top. It's as if they're competing with Amex for who can profitably maintain the highest amount of unsatisfied customers.

In retrospect, this was an emotional decision and wasn't good for my credit: I should have just downgraded to one of their free cards and forgot about it. I recommend you do this if you find yourself in the same situation.

more ...
Jan 06, 2018
Anonymous Cardholder

good initial rewards. TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!

more ...
Nov 22, 2017
Great points, HORRIFIC customer service
CoffeeLover7 Cardholder

I have had the Barclays World Elite MasterCard for four years.  The points system is great, and we've been able to pay for most of our vacations using points over the past years.  HOWEVER, their website and technical systems are HORRIFIC as is their customer service and website support.  I have had endless issues with accessing my account online and doing any kind of account for years now.  I have to call customer service every single time I try to login to my account; only to be told they cannot access my account either, so then I get transferred ot IT; then my issue gets escalated to IT management, and then dies -- no one ever calls me back and nothing is ever fixed, so I have to repeat the process the next month.  And, the problems have only gotten worse. Now, not only can I not access my account online, but they have somehow changed me from the primary account holder on my own account (which I personally set up years ago) to an authorized user, and have the wrong card number listed as the primary card on my account. As I type this review, I am on the phone with the 5th customer care rep of the day who has just told me not only that he does not see that a ticket has ever been escalated for my account (WHAT??) but that he can't transfer me to IT because "they won't speak to you if you're not the primary cardholder on the account".   It is a total mess, and I cannot find anyone who is able to help me sort it all out. I have truly never experienced worse customer service in my 40 years of living.  I feel a card switch coming up in the new year.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 28, 2017

IMO, switch to Chase Sapphire Reserve...or if the annual fee for that is too much, the Sapphire Preferred. Great travel card, flexible points system, and it's valid to use on every purchase (I do not, but only cuz I have the Freedom + Freedom Unlimited as well as Amex BCP to round out my spending needs).

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,875
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

Barclaycard Arrival Plus® World Elite Mastercard®