Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Barclaycard Arrival Plus™ World Elite MasterCard®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.5 out of 5 stars
40 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.


Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 12 Months on balance transfers made within 45 days of account opening
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24%, 20.24%, or 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $89 waived first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24%, 20.24%, or 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

The Barclaycard Arrival Plus™ World Elite MasterCard® is great for consumers with good to excellent credit who want to pile up travel rewards fast.

What to Like

Cardholders earn 2x miles on all credit card purchases. If you can budget out $3,000 in purchases for your first 90 days, you can earn 50,000 bonus miles too. The Barclaycard Arrival Plus™ World Elite MasterCard® also features a 0% introductory APR on balance transfers for 12 months within 45 days of account opening, a waived annual fee in the first year and no foreign transaction fees.

Look Out For

After the first year, cardholders pay an $89 annual fee, so that should be weighed against the benefits of any rewards earned. Cardholders also pay a 3% or $5 (whichever is greater) balance transfer fee.


Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 01, 2016
Awesome Travel Rewards Card
rhan1214 Cardholder

I was approved for this card instantly with a $12,500 CL. TU 740, EFX 760, EXP 733. I had about 8% totla credit utilization. Income $67,500. Charged $2,700  in the first 2 weeks, paid it off and the bonus miles were added to my account. The app is one of the very best out there. Clean and easy to use. If you're looking for a great rewards card with great flexibility in using the points, then this is the card to go with. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 02, 2016
Was outstanding, now very good
pounder27 Cardholder

Very disappointed when Barclay reduced the benefits of this card, especially reducing the reward bonus from 10% to 5%.  Was an oustanding value, now just amongst the competition given $89 annual fee.  Chase Double Cash and Cap1 Venture provide cheaper alternatives.  But for what I need, I still carry it.  2x points on all purchases, the 5% bonus and no foreign transaction fee still make it viable.  I use the card often enough to get back most of the annual fee vs competitors.  And the 40K signup bonus makes for compelling value for new applicants.  Wish they had not made the benefit changes as I am constantly shopping for a new card.  Would never have considered shopping before.  I've had great customer service with Barclay as well.  Guess I feel abused by the sudden benefit reduction.....

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 16, 2016
Serious contender against Chase SP
Anonymous Cardholder

Points post quickly, customer service was excellent in my experience. I found this card to be more flexible than the chase saphire. More redemption options and ways to maximize (no need to transfer to a partner). 2x points per dollar on all categories is defiantly a plus. 

more ...
Oct 13, 2016
Bait and switch over time
Anonymous Cardholder

This card was great when I first got it over a year ago.  Net yield was about 2.2% with 10% of miles being credited back to your account anytime you redemmed for a statement credit.  But over the past year all they've done is scaled back the benefits.  For a cash back reward the net yield is now 1% and for a travel statement credit the yield is only 1.5%.  It seems the trend with them is headed in one direction which is consistently cutting back the benefits about every 6 months.  I'm just coming back here today to find a better card.  Frustrating!

more ...
Oct 12, 2016
Denied First, Then Approved
TXHoustonClin Cardholder

Initially denied, then called after receiving a letter from Barclaycard. Barclaycard asked for a copy of SS card, DL, and a utility bill. Not really sure why - when I already have a Barclaycard for two years. After sending in the documents, the application was approved with a $12.5K CL. Same CL as my CO Venture card. Will see which has better benefits and customer service. Barclaycard does have a higher annual fee at $89/year compared to Venture at $59/year. And both earn 2 miles/points per $1. Barclaycard pulls (hard pull) TU report when requesting a CL increase while CO does not do a hard pull. Will use the Arrival+ for a while and update.


My previous post regarding the application:

CK showed "Good" for approval odds, but the application was denied two days later. Barclay pulled TU report.

Have a regular, non-reward, BarclayCard opened almost two years ago with a CL of $3,800. Have been using this card as a backup card, minimum activities.

Other cards - WF Propel World, $10K; WF Platinum Visa, $3.2K; CO Venture, $12.5K; CO Quicksilver, $11K. No late payments or deliquency showing on the credit reports. TU, 745; EQ, 753; EX, 798; income $95K. Did have 6-8 inquiries during the last 12 month from mortgage shopping showing on the credit reports.

[Deleted - the part regarding canceling the Barclaycard I currently have. May keep it for now just for the CL and credit history.]

more ...
Oct 06, 2016
Pain in the @ss
Anonymous Cardholder

You have to make travel purchases over $100.00 for each individual purchase to be eligible to use the points. 

  I was traveling cross country and had numerous $50.00 hotel charges. I couldn't use points for any of them because they weren't over $100.00 individually. 

What a freeekin joke.

They are a pain in the *** rewards card. 

more ...
Sep 16, 2016
You deserve better!
Anonymous Cardholder

Ok, maybe I'm irate because looking at my call duration timer, I've been on this call to Barclaycard for over 50 minutes now!  As background, I've been an American Express cardholder for 32 years.  I decided to try the Arrival+ card for its better rewards structure and have used it as my primary card for about two years.  Compared to Amex, Barclaycard is a far, far cry from the personal attention and customer service you would expect.  My credit score is well over 800, my annual charges on Barclaycard total a multiple of six figures and, so I know, that Barclaycard is making money from me (merchant fees).  I also carry no balance and pay my statement in full each month.  The customer service team at Barclaycard has been an absolute group of incompetence over the past 7 weeks, since I have reported unauthorized and fraudulent use of my card.  I have had to make perhaps a dozen calls to the company, with many of the calls being transferred from one department to another, long holds, and no closure to the problem.  My time is worth WAY more than the inconvenience in dealing with them.  If YOUR time is valuable and you are looking to be a truly valued cardholder, I'd avoid this card.

more ...
Aug 31, 2016
jus10young Cardholder

Customer service in a joke. The reward system get slimmer and slimmer.... Oh, that annual fee is cute 

more ...
Sep 02, 2016

Customer service is US based and knowledgable. They have been nothing but pleasant and informed. They have given soft CLI and reduced APR's. What are you talking about. This card has always had a fee. Why did you apply for it if the fee was too high for you. I will agree that the rewards are slimming down. Time for another great signup bonus and card.

Sep 04, 2016

I have to agree with other reviewer about the customer service. It has always been great for me. I have never gotten a soft CLI or reduction of APR, but I have never called in for that. And yes... that fee was always there so why are you complaining now? Yes The rewards are slimming down but for me rewards are never the main reason for getting a credit card. They are a bonus but something I don't rely on at all. The other benefits as fraud protection, car rental insurance, extended warranties,....... is what I like most about credit cards. Cash rewards are just a bonus to me that I may use 1or 2 times a year. The main plus for me is that this card is chip & pin which allows me to use kiosks overseas.

Aug 17, 2016
mp11951 Cardholder

I try to avoid customer service at all costs. So I went online to make a small balance transfer. After 2 attempts, and getting kicked out of the system, I was told I have to call customer service. I just wanted to forget the whole thing, and just about did. After thinking it over, I really needed to make this transfer, so I called customer service. I was told by the representative that I cannot make a balance transfer into my Barclay account by calling Barclay. He told me I cannot pay off another card by arranging the transfer into my Barclay account with Barclay. I told him that he was wrong. He told me that it doesn't work that way and to call somebody else. I realised I was dealing with an idiot, so I hung up and called again so I could get another person. After going through the usual automated crap, I got another person. I told her what I wanted to do, and she understood that part .... Except for the fact that she told me I could make a balance transfer if I want, but the tranfer would have to be paid off in full on my next monthly due date. I asked her why I would want to do that, and told her that's not how it works. I told her I don't have any automated payments set up and there is no reason for Barclay to require payment in full on my balance transfer. Once again I heard, that's not how it works. She asked me to hold, and when she eventually came back online, she told me she thinks she can work it out for me. After trying for a while, she put me on hold again. That's when I gave up and hung up. 

I have never worked for Barclay, but I know more about how things work than customer service does. Educate you staff!


I could barely understand these people, and had to ask them to repeat what they said many times. 

more ...
Aug 19, 2016

I am confused. I have NEVER had anything but USA based customer service with this card, and nothing but over the top AAA+++ friendly....caring service. You really did not clarify what you were trying to do with the balance transfer thing? using the convenience checks? Traditionally balance transfer happen when you first open the card, or after a targeted offer. I don't think out of the blue you can do a balance transfer? I could certainly be wrong about that. I am sorry this card has been a pain for you. Nothing but a delight for me, Cli's and lowering of APR's. very happy.

Aug 27, 2016

Enter Your Reply

Aug 31, 2016

I agree... Customer service is a joke! AmEx is the only way to go. The fraud department is extremely condescending; considering a gas purchase in Houston occurred three hours before a boutique purchase in London "are you sure you didn't make a copy of your card for someone else?" - Oh yep, forgot. I love to print my own cards!

Aug 15, 2016
Poor reliability and customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

Barclay lost my business for two reasons: 1) for flagging a legitimate purchase as potentially fraudulent, and putting a freeze on the card with NO communication or verification - no phone call, email, text, nothing. It wasn't until after several attempted purchases on the card were denied that I realized maybe something was going on with the card. I called customer service and because they were performing a system upgrade, they could literally do NOTHING for me. Not check the status of my account, not verify the purchase, and not even transfer me to a manager. 2) Because of this incident, the reliability of Barclay has been compromised and there's no reason to stay with them when there are so many other providers with great benefits. I was a loyal Barclaycard holder for a number of years, but no longer. Their customer service is terrible and there's no loyalty to the customer. 

If you are considering a Barclay card I would recommend going elsewhere. I use this card for business travel and it's just not worth risking having an unreliable provider. 

more ...
Jul 29, 2016
Better to Read the Fine Print
Anonymous Cardholder

I was attracted to this card for two reasons, the chip & pin option, and the sign up bonus. I was instantly approved, with a solid credit line for my score. I also quickly discovered that the "Rewards Boost" option was a great way to add points to my total on a wide range of purchases. I buy a lot of clothes online, and many of the retailers I use offer additional points. However, I have seen the points applied inconsistently. Lately, I noticed that I lost all of the points on an item I exchanged. I called, and as it turns out - exchanging an item results in a loss of points. So even though the retailer keeps my money, I lose the points. As someone who does have to exchange sizes from time to time, this is a bit ridiculous. The customer rep agreed with me.

I will say that other reviews talk about negative customer service experiences. I have been easily able to connect with a live person, who sounds like they are actually based in a America, which is surprising. However, these representatives are bound by foolish policies like the one I just described, so I am now seriously considering canceling this card and applying for another Chase rewards card, which has similar bonus point features.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

1 Reply
Aug 05, 2016

When you exchanged an item, were there transactions on the card related to the exchange? (previous purchase amount refunded, new charge for purchasing the replacement item). If yes, then you lose points of the previous purchase, but you get points for buying the replacement. If no card transactions were generated (even-value exchange), then how did Barclay know you made an exchange and dock your points?

Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,875
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Barclaycard Arrival Plus™ World Elite MasterCard®