Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Barclaycard Arrival Plus™ World Elite MasterCard®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.5 out of 5 stars
40 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 12 Months on balance transfers made within 45 days of account opening
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.49%, 20.49% or 23.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $89 waived first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.49%, 20.49% or 23.49%* Variable

Our Take

The Barclaycard Arrival Plus™ World Elite MasterCard® is great for consumers with good to excellent credit who want to pile up travel rewards fast.

What to Like

Cardholders earn 2x miles on all credit card purchases. If you can budget out $3,000 in purchases for your first 90 days, you can earn 50,000 bonus miles too. The Barclaycard Arrival Plus™ World Elite MasterCard® also features a 0% introductory APR on balance transfers for 12 months within 45 days of account opening, a waived annual fee in the first year and no foreign transaction fees.

Look Out For

After the first year, cardholders pay an $89 annual fee, so that should be weighed against the benefits of any rewards earned. Cardholders also pay a 3% or $5 (whichever is greater) balance transfer fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 01, 2016
Awesome Travel Rewards Card
rhan1214 Cardholder

I was approved for this card instantly with a $12,500 CL. TU 740, EFX 760, EXP 733. I had about 8% totla credit utilization. Income $67,500. Charged $2,700  in the first 2 weeks, paid it off and the bonus miles were added to my account. The app is one of the very best out there. Clean and easy to use. If you're looking for a great rewards card with great flexibility in using the points, then this is the card to go with. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 13, 2016
Bait and switch over time
Anonymous Cardholder

This card was great when I first got it over a year ago.  Net yield was about 2.2% with 10% of miles being credited back to your account anytime you redemmed for a statement credit.  But over the past year all they've done is scaled back the benefits.  For a cash back reward the net yield is now 1% and for a travel statement credit the yield is only 1.5%.  It seems the trend with them is headed in one direction which is consistently cutting back the benefits about every 6 months.  I'm just coming back here today to find a better card.  Frustrating!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 08, 2017
The Best Credit Card I've Ever Owned!
Anonymous Cardholder

This card had endless potential. Full disclosure: I am in the military and as a result of SCRA my annual fee is waved for this card. The 2% back on all purcahses allows for points to add up real quick. In the two years that I have had the card, I've redeemed over $2000 in miles. It feels good to make a purchase and realize that it really isn't costing you anyting because you have the points to purchase it. What is even better is that you get 5% points back when you redeem for travel purchases. If you like to travel, this is your card!

more ...
Jan 04, 2017
Reduced Benefits Now Less Competitive
Feif Cardholder

This card used to be my go-to everyday spending card due to it's 2x points on all purchases. They reduced point redemption refund from 10% to 5% and increased the minimum redemption amount from 2,500 ($25) to 10,000 ($100). These may seem like minor changes but it shows that this cards benefits are slowly being decreased over time. Since this is supposed to be a traveler's card, do yourself a favor and just get the Chase Sapphire Reserve card. If you must get this one, just use the bonus in the first year and close.

more ...
Dec 15, 2016
Adequate for what my credit needs are
Brrich1 Cardholder

With ficos of 767, 760 and 749. I was asked buy letter to send in additional information twice it was like pulling teeth to get this card and quite frankly if a hard inquiry hadn't already been pulled on my account when I applied I would not have spent the time. In the end I was approved for a 15K credit line which is fine I have not use the card but will start using it to acquire the 50,000 Point bonus immediately which I should have complete in 30 days, so I can comment on the Travel benefits because I haven't used them yet I'm concerned that other users report the continued decline of the benefits let's hope that that does not continue but I will report back also I've read many accounts of for customer service I try not to use customer support and do everything I need online we'll see how that works out with this card. I'm going to give it three stars now because I don't know how it's going to play out.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 17, 2016

This card does impress me. If I wasn't already hooked up with Chase, I'd give it a shot. I hope it works out well for you. :)

 
Nov 30, 2016
Do you earn 2X miles on first $3000?
Kberlyk Cardholder

This is a question as opposed to a review, I'm sure it belongs somewhere else but I'm not really sure where yet... Open to suggestions. For those of you who've already been using the card, did you learn the two times miles for the $3,000 that you charged in the first 90 days toward the bonus miles? In other words, did you earn 6000 miles plus the 50,000 bonus miles when you charged $3,000 within the first 90 days?

A more complicated question that I hope will make sense, can you use the card to charge your first $3,000 for travel purchases for an upcoming trip and then turn around and redeem your miles with the 50,000 bonus miles for those same travel purchases as long as it's within 120 days of booking the travel?

Thank you.

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
rgunn25 Cardholder

Really enjoyed this card and the flexibility it provided.  The website was a little strange when I first received the card, but it has improved noticably.  My complaint is that they lied to me as a customer.

They posted on my online account that I may have been subjected to fraud.  This was a lie.  I was not, there were no indications that I had any false purchases, and it was inconsistent with the way they had treated previous fraud alerts.  Like many other customers, I had simple transactions (such as at a coffee stand one block away from my work in downtown SF) denied.  My online account alerted me of potential fraud, and I was allowed to confirm the transactions as valid so that they would no longer decline in the future.

However, this last time, there was no denied charges, no indication of fraud, no warnings.  I was simply issued a new card because there was "suspected fraud" on my account.  This was a lie as the company was forcing a new chipped card onto me.  To some people that may not be a bad thing, but to me it is.  I hate the new chip technology.  It takes WAY TOO LONG to complete simple transactions.  It may make it harder to commit hacking and fraud, but it certainly does not stop it.  And if you frequent a business without the chip reader, you have to use the mag stripe anyways.  It essentially does nothing but waste my time (waiting for my own chip as well as everyone else's chip) and pushes liability onto the merchant, rather than protecting the consumer at the credit card level (which is why I use a credit card first and foremost, and never use debit).  And surprise, this supposed fraud occurred right around October 2016, the date that most companies are fully converting to the EMV chip (or whatever the hell it is referred to as).

I had over a year left on my old card before expiration.  But they took care of that.  When confronted about this lie, they said nothing.  When a request to receive a new card without a chip was made, it was denied.  

So, in short, the rewards provide good value and flexibility.  But customer service is poor.  My supposed credit card company committed fraud against me personally, instead of protecting me from it.  So buyer beware, if you want to lied to and taken advantage of, no matter how loyal of a customer you are (I used this card for literally EVERYTHING), then this may be the card, or company, for you.  I personally am taking my business to Chase.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 21, 2016

lol so you're going to take your business to Chase and receive a nice shiny new chip card from them instead?

 
Oct 31, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Best card i ever had. I am impressed. I will trust no other banks. i just applied and got approved. thank you so much Barclaycard. You guys are the best !!!

more ...
Oct 16, 2016
Serious contender against Chase SP
Anonymous Cardholder

Points post quickly, customer service was excellent in my experience. I found this card to be more flexible than the chase saphire. More redemption options and ways to maximize (no need to transfer to a partner). 2x points per dollar on all categories is defiantly a plus. 

more ...
Oct 13, 2016
Bait and switch over time
Anonymous Cardholder

This card was great when I first got it over a year ago.  Net yield was about 2.2% with 10% of miles being credited back to your account anytime you redemmed for a statement credit.  But over the past year all they've done is scaled back the benefits.  For a cash back reward the net yield is now 1% and for a travel statement credit the yield is only 1.5%.  It seems the trend with them is headed in one direction which is consistently cutting back the benefits about every 6 months.  I'm just coming back here today to find a better card.  Frustrating!

more ...
Nov 07, 2016

I have had this card over three years it has not changed every 6 months it is a good card. They let you use points to pay annual fee so you are not really paying fee. It has helped with airfare to New Zealand and paid airfare to Maui. 5% back when you cash in for travel credit!

 
Nov 24, 2016

Not saying you, but...
Sometimes when the bank sees unusual activity, they'll cut back on benefits. Then if the account is just making min pmnts, and charging more than paying. They'll cut back your limit or even suspend the card until it's paid down or off.

 
Oct 12, 2016
Denied First, Then Approved
TXHoustonClin Cardholder

Initially denied, then called after receiving a letter from Barclaycard. Barclaycard asked for a copy of SS card, DL, and a utility bill. Not really sure why - when I already have a Barclaycard for two years. After sending in the documents, the application was approved with a $12.5K CL. Same CL as my CO Venture card. Will see which has better benefits and customer service. Barclaycard does have a higher annual fee at $89/year compared to Venture at $59/year. And both earn 2 miles/points per $1. Barclaycard pulls (hard pull) TU report when requesting a CL increase while CO does not do a hard pull. Will use the Arrival+ for a while and update.

*************************************************************************************************************************

My previous post regarding the application:

CK showed "Good" for approval odds, but the application was denied two days later. Barclay pulled TU report.

Have a regular, non-reward, BarclayCard opened almost two years ago with a CL of $3,800. Have been using this card as a backup card, minimum activities.

Other cards - WF Propel World, $10K; WF Platinum Visa, $3.2K; CO Venture, $12.5K; CO Quicksilver, $11K. No late payments or deliquency showing on the credit reports. TU, 745; EQ, 753; EX, 798; income $95K. Did have 6-8 inquiries during the last 12 month from mortgage shopping showing on the credit reports.

[Deleted - the part regarding canceling the Barclaycard I currently have. May keep it for now just for the CL and credit history.]

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,875
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Barclaycard Arrival Plus™ World Elite MasterCard®