Barclaycard Arrival Plus™ World Elite Mastercard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.5 out of 5 stars
23 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 12 Months on balance transfers made within 45 days of account opening
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.99%, 20.99% or 23.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $89 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.99%, 20.99% or 23.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Barclaycard Arrival Plus™ World Elite Mastercard® is great for consumers with excellent credit who want to pile up travel rewards fast.

What to Like

Cardholders earn 2x miles on all credit card purchases. If you can budget out $3,000 in purchases for your first 90 days, you can earn 50,000 bonus miles too. The Barclaycard Arrival Plus™ World Elite Mastercard® also features a 0% introductory APR on balance transfers for 12 months within 45 days of account opening, a waived annual fee in the first year and no foreign transaction fees.

Look Out For

After the first year, cardholders pay an $89 annual fee, so that should be weighed against the benefits of any rewards earned. Cardholders also pay a 3% or $5 (whichever is greater) balance transfer fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 21, 2017
The most exciting card ever !!
yAzeed Cardholder

So at first I got declined with a TU of 681.. i called the reco line and they said I got declined because I have a short history of on time payments and that the longest one I had was a secured card (had it for over a year) then she said I don't see a problem of giving you a $2,000 limit :D !! Love this card and the benefits you get as a world elite MasterCard member are fantastic.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 13, 2016
Bait and switch over time
Anonymous Cardholder

This card was great when I first got it over a year ago.  Net yield was about 2.2% with 10% of miles being credited back to your account anytime you redemmed for a statement credit.  But over the past year all they've done is scaled back the benefits.  For a cash back reward the net yield is now 1% and for a travel statement credit the yield is only 1.5%.  It seems the trend with them is headed in one direction which is consistently cutting back the benefits about every 6 months.  I'm just coming back here today to find a better card.  Frustrating!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 18, 2017
Easy to redeem, and get a % back!
njeff14 Cardholder

This is the easiest to use rewards card I've ever had. I have an airline card for all flights, but this covers EVERYTHING else, and is the best rate I've found on the market. Sure, if you're knee deep in loyalty programs there are probably better cards, but if you go for the best deals when you travel (especially for things like trains, short flights or hotels etc) there is nothing better than this. It really is that simple.

more ...
Jun 19, 2017
Great Card that Racks Up Points Fast
Bobnstuff Cardholder

I'm not sure where all the bad reviews are coming from for this card. I've had nothing but positive experiences with Barclays and the card is one of the best out there for people like me who don't spend a fortune on travel and restaurants every year. 2.1% cash back on everything is hard to beat, even if it used to be 2.2% when I got the card a couple years ago. I'd still recommend it!

more ...
Jun 19, 2017
Excellent Card for Good-Excellent Credit
priyam1309 Cardholder

Got Approved for 7.5K with 722 TU (10 Account, 2 Yr Credit History)

more ...
May 28, 2017
Chip and pin less useful than you hope.
aywwts4 Cardholder

While it did function as expected at Kiosk machines as a chip and pin allowing the purchase of Oyster cards, train tickets and whatnot, a hundred other transactions in London generated a receipt to sign instead of prompting for a pin. It seems the card defaults to Chip and Signature whenever possible. Part of the appeal of this card for anyone who travels abroad frequently was not having every server and merchant in the UK, Europe and Canada roll their eyes having to find a pen for the American Tourist, but sadly it does not meet that goal. 

Not android pay compatible.

Concierge service had limited abilities in the UK.

The benefits are fine but if I had known how chip and pin was going to work I would have just gotten the superior Chase Sapphire Preferred card.

more ...
May 11, 2017
2.1% on everything
00smiley Cardholder

Great rewards, they post instantly and if you use any of the other Mastercard elite benefits, you have already made back the annual fee. 

more ...
May 04, 2017
Can't beat $500 instant reward
Puig1972 Cardholder

I had only "Fair" approval odds on CK with 735 score, got approved for $13k limit. I like the easy to use app, had no issues securing my 50,000 bonus miles and redeeming for $500 statement credit. Plan on holding onto this card for the 0% foreign transaction fee.

more ...
Mar 31, 2017
Take a chance.
Anonymous Cardholder

I took a chance on this credit card because it had multiple bad reviews. I have had this card for 5 months and been rewarded with $675 in statement credit. No issues, no problems. The mobile app they have is wonderful and rewards points get added immediately to your card. The more you use it the higher the rewards. I am very happy with it and plan using it oversees since there are no foreign transaction fees.

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
The most exciting card ever !!
yAzeed Cardholder

So at first I got declined with a TU of 681.. i called the reco line and they said I got declined because I have a short history of on time payments and that the longest one I had was a secured card (had it for over a year) then she said I don't see a problem of giving you a $2,000 limit :D !! Love this card and the benefits you get as a world elite MasterCard member are fantastic.

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
Approved!!!

I just came out of the Garden and was able to rebuild my Credit to a little over 650 for TU & 668 EQ, EX is still a work in progress 643, and was just recently approved for Barclaycard Arrival Plus.. I am so excited just to be able to get an approval for $1000 CL, and the funny thing is CK was saying I had a Fair Chance of getting approved for it!! I am stepping out on faith and staying out of the Garden  just a little longer so I can apply for a few more cards and than I'm going back in " The Garden" until I reach at least 700 - 730 Credit Score for every CB. AMEX is my next goal!!

more ...
Jan 15, 2017
Great card and rewards
crashspeeder Cardholder

2% on purchases and a redemption bonus of 5% points back when you redeem for travel.  That makes the effective rate of this card 2.1% when you redeem towards travel, 2% otherwise.  I'm a little disappointed that the benefit was lowered from 10% points back when you redeem on travel (2.2% effective rate) and the complementary TripIt membership was discontinued.  Overall, the fact that this card has no foreign transaction fee and is a World Elite MasterCard means it's definitely competitive.  World Elite MasterCard benefits include concierge, purchase protection, and more.  The annual fee is relatvely low and you'll definitely get your money back from simply using your points.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,875
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Barclaycard Arrival Plus™ World Elite Mastercard®