Barclaycard Arrival Plus™ World Elite MasterCard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 12 Months on balance transfers made within 45 days of account opening
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.74%, 20.74% or 23.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $89 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.74%, 20.74% or 23.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Barclaycard Arrival Plus™ World Elite MasterCard® is great for consumers with good to excellent credit who want to pile up travel rewards fast.

What to Like

Cardholders earn 2x miles on all credit card purchases. If you can budget out $3,000 in purchases for your first 90 days, you can earn 50,000 bonus miles too. The Barclaycard Arrival Plus™ World Elite MasterCard® also features a 0% introductory APR on balance transfers for 12 months within 45 days of account opening, a waived annual fee in the first year and no foreign transaction fees.

Look Out For

After the first year, cardholders pay an $89 annual fee, so that should be weighed against the benefits of any rewards earned. Cardholders also pay a 3% or $5 (whichever is greater) balance transfer fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 27, 2016
Fantastic Miles & Rewards Card
jodom01 Cardholder

I've been trying to rebuild my credit for years (again) since a nasty divorce in 2009. Finally in January my new years resolution was to get my financial life and credit score back.  In less than 90 days I have been able to increase my CK Scores (TU & EQ) by over 125 pts each through agressive disputing and negotiation for delete with collection agencies. I needed another positive trade line and after a lot of research the Barclay Arrival Plus was the card I chose for some important reasons. 1) Barclay tends to pull TU only, if you score is boderline sometimes they will pull EQ and TU Score was my highest at time of application CK = 730 / FICO 08 = 701. 2) Mileage/Reward Earn Rate of 2 miles for $1 of spend. 3) Rewards Bonus offer of 40K Miles for $3000 spend in 90 days. 4.) 5% Bonus Miles Back on Redemption. I applied and my heart sank as I got the 7-10 day notice. Immediately Checked Status online and showed "Declined". I called the Credit Analyst/Reconsideration Phone Number (you can find it with a simple google search). I spoke to a rep and asked why it was declined. After reviewing some basic info, he address the main reason for the decline, high (86% utilization) on one of my cards, even though my overall is 32%. I explained that the card is with a local credit union and is a fixed rate of 4.9% as well as what the balance was from. I was then approved for a $5000 starting line and my card is being overnighted! So let my experience be a lesson. Do your research before applying (lots of googling). Find out which CRA's the lender(s) usually pull in your state/overall. If you are not approved, CALL the lender, speak to someone about the application, the worst they can say is "no"...and don't be afraid of trying 2 or 3 times (with different reps). Specific to Barclay's, they are utilization % sensisitive in their approvals, and they base startling lines off of your current Highest Credit Lines being reported. Hope my experience helps!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 05, 2015
Good Card, Used to be Better
aedrewett Cardholder

I applied for this card about 5 months ago now with the 40k point offer and was able to use it for a couple of trips.  This card is a Chip and PIN card unlike most that are Chip and Signature, which makes it great for overseas.  About a month ago I was notified that the benefits of this card were going to change and called Barclay to ask about the changes.  This card used to have a 10% point refund for all points used toward travel credit, which is now being downed to a 5% point refund.  Another benefit that will be lost completely is the TripIt Pro membership.  Before having this card, I had never used TripIt, but it quickly became one of my favorite features.  Once attached to your email, it will look for anything trip related and automatically create a trip planner for you, which will even give directions between destinations, when you need to be there, all of it.  When I was in the airport, my gate changed on me a couple of times, and thanks to TripIt, I knew each time it changed and where to go.  Anyway, without these features, I don't know if the card really stands out aside from the Chip and PIN anymore, but having an $89 fee, I don't know if it is worth it anymore.  The Venture, an almost identical card, has a fee that is $40 less, but doesn't give a 5% refund.  At the end of my membership year, I plan on downgrading this card, which I would prefer not to do, but I just don't feel the benefits outweigh the cost anymore.

Also, some stats for anyone who wants to know, when I applied for this card I was given a $5k limit on the World Elite Mastercard version, had a CK score of 760, an income of $50k a year, 2.5 years of credit history with 2 cards, Citi Forward at $5.2k and Amex BCE at $15k, and an auto loan of $38k.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 28, 2017
Chip and pin less useful than you hope.
aywwts4 Cardholder

While it did function as expected at Kiosk machines as a chip and pin allowing the purchase of Oyster cards, train tickets and whatnot, a hundred other transactions in London generated a receipt to sign instead of prompting for a pin. It seems the card defaults to Chip and Signature whenever possible. Part of the appeal of this card for anyone who travels abroad frequently was not having every server and merchant in the UK, Europe and Canada roll their eyes having to find a pen for the American Tourist, but sadly it does not meet that goal. 

Not android pay compatible.

Concierge service had limited abilities in the UK.

The benefits are fine but if I had known how chip and pin was going to work I would have just gotten the superior Chase Sapphire Preferred card.

more ...
May 11, 2017
2.1% on everything
00smiley Cardholder

Great rewards, they post instantly and if you use any of the other Mastercard elite benefits, you have already made back the annual fee. 

more ...
May 04, 2017
Can't beat $500 instant reward
Puig1972 Cardholder

I had only "Fair" approval odds on CK with 735 score, got approved for $13k limit. I like the easy to use app, had no issues securing my 50,000 bonus miles and redeeming for $500 statement credit. Plan on holding onto this card for the 0% foreign transaction fee.

more ...
Mar 31, 2017
Take a chance.
Anonymous Cardholder

I took a chance on this credit card because it had multiple bad reviews. I have had this card for 5 months and been rewarded with $675 in statement credit. No issues, no problems. The mobile app they have is wonderful and rewards points get added immediately to your card. The more you use it the higher the rewards. I am very happy with it and plan using it oversees since there are no foreign transaction fees.

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
The most exciting card ever !!
yAzeed Cardholder

So at first I got declined with a TU of 681.. i called the reco line and they said I got declined because I have a short history of on time payments and that the longest one I had was a secured card (had it for over a year) then she said I don't see a problem of giving you a $2,000 limit :D !! Love this card and the benefits you get as a world elite MasterCard member are fantastic.

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
Approved!!!

I just came out of the Garden and was able to rebuild my Credit to a little over 650 for TU & 668 EQ, EX is still a work in progress 643, and was just recently approved for Barclaycard Arrival Plus.. I am so excited just to be able to get an approval for $1000 CL, and the funny thing is CK was saying I had a Fair Chance of getting approved for it!! I am stepping out on faith and staying out of the Garden  just a little longer so I can apply for a few more cards and than I'm going back in " The Garden" until I reach at least 700 - 730 Credit Score for every CB. AMEX is my next goal!!

more ...
Jan 15, 2017
Great card and rewards
crashspeeder Cardholder

2% on purchases and a redemption bonus of 5% points back when you redeem for travel.  That makes the effective rate of this card 2.1% when you redeem towards travel, 2% otherwise.  I'm a little disappointed that the benefit was lowered from 10% points back when you redeem on travel (2.2% effective rate) and the complementary TripIt membership was discontinued.  Overall, the fact that this card has no foreign transaction fee and is a World Elite MasterCard means it's definitely competitive.  World Elite MasterCard benefits include concierge, purchase protection, and more.  The annual fee is relatvely low and you'll definitely get your money back from simply using your points.

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
The Best Credit Card I've Ever Owned!
Anonymous Cardholder

This card had endless potential. Full disclosure: I am in the military and as a result of SCRA my annual fee is waved for this card. The 2% back on all purcahses allows for points to add up real quick. In the two years that I have had the card, I've redeemed over $2000 in miles. It feels good to make a purchase and realize that it really isn't costing you anyting because you have the points to purchase it. What is even better is that you get 5% points back when you redeem for travel purchases. If you like to travel, this is your card!

more ...
Apr 05, 2017

Thank You for your service! Stay safe! 🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸

 
Apr 30, 2017

u obtained SCRA benefits will on active duty (not deployed)? And u just gt this card?

 
Jan 04, 2017
Reduced Benefits Now Less Competitive
Feif Cardholder

This card used to be my go-to everyday spending card due to it's 2x points on all purchases. They reduced point redemption refund from 10% to 5% and increased the minimum redemption amount from 2,500 ($25) to 10,000 ($100). These may seem like minor changes but it shows that this cards benefits are slowly being decreased over time. Since this is supposed to be a traveler's card, do yourself a favor and just get the Chase Sapphire Reserve card. If you must get this one, just use the bonus in the first year and close.

more ...
Dec 15, 2016
Adequate for what my credit needs are
Brrich1 Cardholder

With ficos of 767, 760 and 749. I was asked buy letter to send in additional information twice it was like pulling teeth to get this card and quite frankly if a hard inquiry hadn't already been pulled on my account when I applied I would not have spent the time. In the end I was approved for a 15K credit line which is fine I have not use the card but will start using it to acquire the 50,000 Point bonus immediately which I should have complete in 30 days, so I can comment on the Travel benefits because I haven't used them yet I'm concerned that other users report the continued decline of the benefits let's hope that that does not continue but I will report back also I've read many accounts of for customer service I try not to use customer support and do everything I need online we'll see how that works out with this card. I'm going to give it three stars now because I don't know how it's going to play out.

more ...
Dec 17, 2016

This card does impress me. If I wasn't already hooked up with Chase, I'd give it a shot. I hope it works out well for you. :)

 
May 06, 2017

I have a 740-750 fico score from all three bureaus, I have a ton of inquiries (mortgage zhoppong) and I just got Chase Ink $14k, CapOne Venture $30k, and Discover $8k. Haven't gotten new accounts prior to these in 2 years. I applied for this card and my application got flagged for security. I had to mail a copy of my state ID, SS, and Bank statement as proof of address. I sent it in because of the hard inquiry but this seems like a bit much. Anyone else have this issue with the card?

 
Jun 25, 2017

Those are a lot of hoops to be jumping through. When I applied for my Capital One Venture card, the most I had to do was upload a photo of my Driver's License for identity verification through a secure link. But that was it. I have 5 credit cards and none of them had me do any of that to start business with them.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,875
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

Barclaycard Arrival Plus™ World Elite MasterCard®