Barclaycard Ring™ Mastercard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.4 out of 5 stars
22 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 29, 2016
Approved on Reconsideration
LJM07 Cardholder

After initially getting the 7-10 day review message upon submitting the application, I immediately checked the approval status link on Barclaycard's website, and it said "denied."  I then called their credit department and spoke with an analyst who verified some information from the application and asked some questions about income and an old charge-off account (that has been paid in the past year).  I was then approved.  My credit scores are TU 694 FICO (Not Vantage Score), 655 Experian FICO, and 673 Equifax FICO.  For comparison purposes, my Vantage scores here on CK are 20-30 points higher (700-710).  The only report they pulled was TransUnion.  As important with the Ring Card are balances-to-available-credit, and mine are under 5% on my accounts, so I was fairly confident this would weigh in my favor in contrast to my average credit scores.  I have 2 new accounts opened in the last month as well, and my TransUnion hard inquiries in the past month just prior to applying were 2 (6 total over 24 months; 4 were from April 2015).  Also, my approval odds here on CK were "fair" and when clicking apply I got the pop-up window saying "your odds for approval for this card are low."

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 07, 2017
Applying for this card was a mistake
vhdcredit2011 Cardholder

I had wanted this card primarily for two reasons: The 15 month 0% APR balance transfer offer and the no balance transfer fee. I went onto Barclay's website, double check to ensure the offer is still there, then applied and was approved immediately.

When the card arrived, I went to apply the balance transfer only to discover it didn't exist. I contacted customer service who insisted that I misread the offer until I pointed out that the offer is still visible on their website. They tell me they will create a support case for me. Anyone can probably guess what happens next. I contacted them back after one week asking for an update and they tell me they're still researching, but they'll make a note I called. I asked how long will researching take and they state 7-10 days.

So I contacted them back after two weeks asking for an updated and, literally, the same line is repeated. When I pressed asking why the length and utter lack of any updates, the representative can only respond that they're researching. I ask to close the case figuring it's not worth pursuing anymore...and I'm actually told they need to put in a request and have the department contact me back just to close the case. So whether I'm opening a support case or wanting to end it, it seems I need to wait an indeterminable amount of time for Barclay's department to contact me to do either one. What awful customer service.

Honestly, nothing else about the card is particular notable. It has benefits that are more or less the same as every other credit card, it has its gimmicks that are mostly useless, and it has the same bonus offers (well, when it honors them anyway). Had I known this issue would pop up, I would not have bothered to sign up for the card so I'm rather annoyed at taking the credit hit for something which I now have little use for.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 11, 2017
Great card for no feed
Anonymous Cardholder

I initially got denied and called the reconsideration line verified a few things and got approved for $10,000 did a balance transfer to pay off another card credit score 708

more ...
Aug 11, 2017
good card for people with good credit
Anonymous Cardholder

Its a fine card for balance transfers

more ...
Aug 04, 2017
Sf2500 Cardholder

Watch out for bad hotel stays the ring cards dispute department is horrible! Went to corporate and hotel is giving me a check for a refund! Thanks for nothing Barclay bank! Time to CXL!

more ...
Jul 30, 2017
Insulting low credit limit
jf2good Cardholder

My credit score on Barclays is 782,  I was approved for a card with a $250 credit limit.  Not even worth the credit hit applying for the card. Like why would I even put this in my wallet with such a low limit?  Just going in my desk draw and not being used. Think twice before applying.  It was only because they kept sending me applications in the mail that I applied. 13.99% interest isn't that great, just about average for my other cards.

more ...
Jul 27, 2017
Low Interest, No rewards
Keaz Cardholder

I got this card when the rate was %8.00 variable (at %9.00 as of this writing). I was initially approved for $7K and a few months later increased to $13k. My credit rating was in the 780 range when I got the card and since has fallen due to my credit card usage. I've personally never had a problem with this card and use it regularly due to the low intrest rate (for a CC).

more ...
Jul 24, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

DO NOT GET THIS CARD!! They lied to me and screwed my whole credit situation.  They told me with 100% certainty that I would get balance transfer checks in the mail and they said two weeks later that it was not going to happen 

more ...
Jul 19, 2017
The old bait-and-switch

Barclay sent me, through postal mail, a specific solicitation and offer of a Barclaycard Ring Mastercard with 0% on purchases and 0% on balance transfers, with no fees.  Sounds great, doesn't it?  I applied, and today I find out that I was approved, but for a token credit line of $250.  Since my total credit card lines are over $100K, Barclay's $250 limit is downright insulting.

Worthless.

more ...
Jul 14, 2017
raminlv Cardholder

Unlike everyone else, I got the card when they had a low APR, 8.0% (now it's at 8.75%). I never had the balance transfer issues others had, since it always lists normal APR for balance transfers. I like the card because of its low interest rate as far as CCs go. They did decline my credit increase though. It's been pretty good for me. Not my favorite card, but can't beat the APR.

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a really good credit history with my scores between 720 to 735. Barclay runs random evaluation and will decrease your credit limit with no notice and throw your credit utilization out the door. NONE of my other creditors have or will ever do that!!! You couldn't pay me to get this card again...If you get this card; remember you have been warned.

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
Rotten, scammish.
Anonymous Cardholder

So, I applied for & received the 0% transaction fee. I went online and used it to pay off a credit card balance but I entered one digit wrong, according to them (which is probably true). It took them over 45 days to resolve the issue, after I had to call and spend at least an hour. Then, when they finally resolved it and i went to use it, they said I couldn't use it because the offer was only valid the first 45 days of the credit card being opened. Their customer service reps are sooo nice and professional, but the people up top are scammers and don't trust this card. Unless you like being treated like a piece of crap.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 859
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Barclaycard Ring™ Mastercard®