Barclaycard Ring™ Mastercard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months on balance transfers made within 45 days of account opening
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Barclaycard Ring™ Mastercard® is a good option for consumers with excellent credit scores who want limited fees and low interest rates.

What to Like

The Barclaycard Ring™ Mastercard® features a 0% intro APR for the first 15 months on purchases. There is no annual fee, balance transfer fee or foreign transaction fee. Cardholders also can get access to extra cash via the Giveback™ program.

Look Out For

Beyond the Giveback™ program, there’s no rewards or cash back here, so it’s worth balancing the other benefits against that drawback.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 02, 2012
Great!
ihatebighairtina Cardholder

I've been Low APR!!! got approved for $7500 with a 758 CK Score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 07, 2017
Applying for this card was a mistake
vhdcredit2011 Cardholder

I had wanted this card primarily for two reasons: The 15 month 0% APR balance transfer offer and the no balance transfer fee. I went onto Barclay's website, double check to ensure the offer is still there, then applied and was approved immediately.

When the card arrived, I went to apply the balance transfer only to discover it didn't exist. I contacted customer service who insisted that I misread the offer until I pointed out that the offer is still visible on their website. They tell me they will create a support case for me. Anyone can probably guess what happens next. I contacted them back after one week asking for an update and they tell me they're still researching, but they'll make a note I called. I asked how long will researching take and they state 7-10 days.

So I contacted them back after two weeks asking for an updated and, literally, the same line is repeated. When I pressed asking why the length and utter lack of any updates, the representative can only respond that they're researching. I ask to close the case figuring it's not worth pursuing anymore...and I'm actually told they need to put in a request and have the department contact me back just to close the case. So whether I'm opening a support case or wanting to end it, it seems I need to wait an indeterminable amount of time for Barclay's department to contact me to do either one. What awful customer service.

Honestly, nothing else about the card is particular notable. It has benefits that are more or less the same as every other credit card, it has its gimmicks that are mostly useless, and it has the same bonus offers (well, when it honors them anyway). Had I known this issue would pop up, I would not have bothered to sign up for the card so I'm rather annoyed at taking the credit hit for something which I now have little use for.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 18, 2017
Terrible
Garla001 Cardholder

Before applying for this card, I called to speak with customer service to ensure that the promotional offers applied to certain services and did not have any hidden issues.  I spoke extensively with a woman, who told me all the things I wanted to hear.  Based on her representations, I applied for the card.  Upon receipt of my card, however, I quickly discovered that the information she gave me was blatantly false.  I called to complain and find out more, but was basically told "too bad."  I requested to speak to a manager, but none were available.  One was then supposed to call me withing 24-48 hours, but no call was received.  I also turned to the online customer support, but it was obvious that the support team was not even reading my emails.  The responses didn't address the issue at all, and contained wrong information in them.  I believe that I was given false information to induce me into applying for this card.  Once approved, the company had no interest in backing up its promises to me.  This card has been nothing but a headache -- the only consistent thing they have done is disappoint.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 22, 2017

It would be helpful if you can tell others what's the wrong information you were given.

 
May 05, 2017
"BAIT & SWITCH"
Anonymous Cardholder

 BEWARE OF "BAIT & SWITCH". If I could give this card zero stars, I would. Horrible company with deceptive tactics. Horrible customer service. Applied in March '17 intending to utilize this card for a $16,000.00 balance transfer due to it's advertised "0% for 15 Months on balance transfers and purchases made within 45 days of account opening". Was approved for $25,000.00 credit limit. I called and spoke to one of their "relationship managers" shortly after receiving my card because I had questions only to find out that the online advertised terms of "0% for 15 Months on balance transfers made within 45 days of account opening" are "not relfected in their system" and that I would be charged interest. Argued the point that the terms "0% for 15 Months on balance transfers made within 45 days of account opening" are right on the card's website and under the link for information regarding the card's terms. The "relationship manager" opened a case for me and said that once everything was resolved I would receive an updated term agreement by mail. Never received anything. Received first statement last week indicating $153.00 in charged interest. Called and spoke to another one of their "relationship managers". This "relationship manager" advised me that the case was closed because I never sent in any documentation to prove that the terms were indicated online as being "0% for 15 Months on balance transfers made within 45 days of account opening". Advised this "relationship manager" that I had screen shots and print-outs of everything, and that I was never advised to submit any documentation. I was told that I "was bullying them to get what I wanted" and that they could do nothing for me since the case was closed. They requested to have me submit my documentation via e-mail. Each attempt to e-mail failed because I received an automated response indciating that their inbox was full and that my e-mails were not received. Decided to wipe my hands of Barclaycard for good and transferred the balance to another credit card company with more reputable practices. I will never deal with Barclaycard again. My advice.... STAY AWAY.

more ...
May 03, 2017
Cancel after receiving the card
Anonymous Cardholder

Be careful with this bad company. I have FICO score above 700 and annual incoma more than $120K.  Do you know how much they give me for a line of credit. $250! LOL. I wish they rejected my application at the first. No wonder they offer 15 month purchase and  balance transfer at 0%. $250....hahaha. I have minimal of $6,000 on other credit cards. 

more ...
Apr 28, 2017
Watch Your Credit Score Plummet
Anonymous Cardholder

Barclays provided a 17k limit. FICO dropped from 810 to 718 with some additional credit usage,  but no late payments or derogatory marks on my credit report. Barclay then sent a letter decreasing limit to $500.  Now the $500 is reporting to the credit bureau. Barclay clearly doesn't care about its's customers or take time to understand their cardholders. Effectively closing the account of a household that has a 300k income and low debt relative to that income is absurd. Will never do business with Barclay again. Fortunately, I have access to over 250k in credit card lines from other banks and credit unions, so Barclay's poor decision making doesn't hurt as bad as it would for most people.

more ...
Mar 11, 2017
Good card for my needs
DEEsz55 Cardholder

I applied with a CK FICO of 756 and 165K in income.I was approved for $12,500 in 60 seconds. I was only rated as having "Good" approval adds.13.49% is a little high, but straight forward. I do not like ranges when applying for a CC. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 24, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Mar 07, 2017
Applying for this card was a mistake
vhdcredit2011 Cardholder

I had wanted this card primarily for two reasons: The 15 month 0% APR balance transfer offer and the no balance transfer fee. I went onto Barclay's website, double check to ensure the offer is still there, then applied and was approved immediately.

When the card arrived, I went to apply the balance transfer only to discover it didn't exist. I contacted customer service who insisted that I misread the offer until I pointed out that the offer is still visible on their website. They tell me they will create a support case for me. Anyone can probably guess what happens next. I contacted them back after one week asking for an update and they tell me they're still researching, but they'll make a note I called. I asked how long will researching take and they state 7-10 days.

So I contacted them back after two weeks asking for an updated and, literally, the same line is repeated. When I pressed asking why the length and utter lack of any updates, the representative can only respond that they're researching. I ask to close the case figuring it's not worth pursuing anymore...and I'm actually told they need to put in a request and have the department contact me back just to close the case. So whether I'm opening a support case or wanting to end it, it seems I need to wait an indeterminable amount of time for Barclay's department to contact me to do either one. What awful customer service.

Honestly, nothing else about the card is particular notable. It has benefits that are more or less the same as every other credit card, it has its gimmicks that are mostly useless, and it has the same bonus offers (well, when it honors them anyway). Had I known this issue would pop up, I would not have bothered to sign up for the card so I'm rather annoyed at taking the credit hit for something which I now have little use for.

more ...
Feb 10, 2017
Not worth it anymore
OcPharaoh Cardholder

This card was nice for carrying balance when the APR was 8.25%, but now with almost 13.49% it isn't worth it! You can get card with rewards around that rate. $0 BT fee is nice perk but nothing to get excited about since few cards offer the same already like chase slate. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 03, 2017

The point is not to carry a balance and to use the card to PAY OFF your high interest credit cards by taking advantage of the $0 BT Fee. But, to each's own, I guess. I highly recommend this card.

 
Dec 02, 2016
Beware of Barclay Bank CLD!
shuffman37 Cardholder

I've had this card for nearly two years, paid in full, or paid down to 25-35% util before statements cut, used for $1 fee cash advances for buying items on CL without going into town to a real bank. They cut my credit line from 2000 to 1300 when I checked to see how much I needed to pay to get down bellow 30% a few weeks before statement date. I have about 49K worth of CC without any new ones in the past 6 months and only 4 inquires in TU in the past year. 

Barclay bank doesn't care if you make large payments and are responsible. Won't restore credit line either. Don't trust them! Go with Capital one, Chase, Amex, or Discover instead! Sure that $1 fee and 8% is tempting, but don't risk it with the ring of fire card! 

more ...
Oct 29, 2016
Approved on Reconsideration
LJM07 Cardholder

After initially getting the 7-10 day review message upon submitting the application, I immediately checked the approval status link on Barclaycard's website, and it said "denied."  I then called their credit department and spoke with an analyst who verified some information from the application and asked some questions about income and an old charge-off account (that has been paid in the past year).  I was then approved.  My credit scores are TU 694 FICO (Not Vantage Score), 655 Experian FICO, and 673 Equifax FICO.  For comparison purposes, my Vantage scores here on CK are 20-30 points higher (700-710).  The only report they pulled was TransUnion.  As important with the Ring Card are balances-to-available-credit, and mine are under 5% on my accounts, so I was fairly confident this would weigh in my favor in contrast to my average credit scores.  I have 2 new accounts opened in the last month as well, and my TransUnion hard inquiries in the past month just prior to applying were 2 (6 total over 24 months; 4 were from April 2015).  Also, my approval odds here on CK were "fair" and when clicking apply I got the pop-up window saying "your odds for approval for this card are low."

more ...
Oct 17, 2016
Great
Anonymous Cardholder

Its great

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 859
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Barclaycard Ring™ Mastercard®