Barclaycard Ring™ Mastercard®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.7 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months on balance transfers made within 45 days of account opening
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Barclaycard Ring™ Mastercard® is a good option for consumers with excellent credit scores who want limited fees and low interest rates.

What to Like

The Barclaycard Ring™ Mastercard® features a 0% intro APR for the first 15 months on purchases. There is no annual fee, balance transfer fee or foreign transaction fee. Cardholders also can get access to extra cash via the Giveback™ program.

Look Out For

Beyond the Giveback™ program, there’s no rewards or cash back here, so it’s worth balancing the other benefits against that drawback.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 02, 2012
Great!
ihatebighairtina Cardholder

I've been Low APR!!! got approved for $7500 with a 758 CK Score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 21, 2016
Be careful....
myrlyn29 Cardholder

I applied for this card 2 1/2 years ago. I got approved for a $5000 credit line--I was like, WOW...a credit card that only has an interest rate of 8%???. During the entire time i had this card, utilization NEVER went above 20%...and if it went over 15%, it was for a larger purchase that was paid down quickly. I never missed or had a late payement. I always paid more than the minimum and most times it was double the minimum payment. My total utilization for ALL my credit cards was UNDER 20%...so it suprised the hell out of me when I got a text message alert, telling me that my credit utilization was almost maxed out...I was like...WTH? I logged onto their site to see how my credit card numbers got stolen and what was purchased (my assumption at first was fraudulent purchases). But my surprise was complete when I saw my credit limit had dropped to $2200 from $5400 (I did have a $400 increase somewhere along the line). BE FREAKIN CAREFUL people! There are endless articles, blogs and tips on how to improve your credit score. I spent several very long years trying to get the score I had--was pretty proud of it, in fact. NO negative remarks, NO missed payments and overall  low utilization...but Barclay still f**ked me--their reasoning? The age of my credit (which was WAY worse when I applied for this card--I waited till I was in my early forties before even getting my first card) and % of balances on cards too high....again, WTH? I have a few cards, and ONE had just under 30% utilization--and I WILL NOT apologize for buying a new snowblower when the old one died and we didn't have the cash on hand for a new one. 

Make no mistake, people! YOU are NOT in control of your credit report, or your credit score. I thought I was, until this happened. It was a painful illusion to have torn from my eyes. The credit card companies make the rules. They make a s**tload of money off of us peons. And they set the standards and make the hoops for us to jump through. And like idiotic lemmings, we run, jump and play their game. Well...no more for me. Not many ariticles mention that a credit card company can do this to you--and for good reason: if more people knew credit card companies could drop your credit limit on a whim, how many people would still apply for them? Maybe i'm wrong...maybe people still would. But this hurt my credit score--horribly. I went from a 730 to 692...in TWO short days. Why?

1. Overall available credit dropped, affecting total utilization, increasing it by 8% and bumping me from "very good" to "good"

2. Instead of having one card at 30%, i now had one at 85%! OUCH! 

When I called their customer service and practically begged them to reinstate my credit limit since I HAD BEEN SUCH A GOOD CUSTOMER, I was basically told, "I'm sorry Sir, you are S**t out of luck! Have a nice day, though!"

I suppose my cautionary tale is for ALL credit cards...not just this one. 

After doing some online research regarding this problem, I found out that it does happen to many people just like me. And thats just sad. Every article I found did say this: "If your credit limit drops on one particular card, don't get angry and close the account." Well...bulls**t. I'm not angry: i'm furious. I DID close the account--regardless of what it would do to my credit score. Wonder why? Because if my credit score was gonna drop, I wanted it to be MY choice. That, and I'm tired of playing their games. So now my wife and I are planning on paying off ALL credit cards and closing them...except for one, that i'll keep active by paying for gasoline every month. And the rest of those companies may go f**k themselves. Do I sound bitter? Hell yeah I am. My wife and I spent the last year saving money for the down payment on a different car, banking on my credit rating to get us a low interest loan. And in one fell swoop, that plan is now in the toilet. Because one credit card company decided that my limit was too much, dropped it, and digitally humped my credit score. We shouldn't wonder why people feel so hopeless that they grab guns and shoot people at random--but I do believe that if people are gonna do that, they should find the right targets...Our forefathers are laughing at us from their graves. They fought a revolutionary war over a hell of a lot less than what we put up with. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 11, 2017
Good card for my needs
DEEsz55 Cardholder

I applied with a CK FICO of 756 and 165K in income.I was approved for $12,500 in 60 seconds. I was only rated as having "Good" approval adds.13.49% is a little high, but straight forward. I do not like ranges when applying for a CC. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 24, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Mar 07, 2017
Applying for this card was a mistake
vhdcredit2011 Cardholder

I had wanted this card primarily for two reasons: The 15 month 0% APR balance transfer offer and the no balance transfer fee. I went onto Barclay's website, double check to ensure the offer is still there, then applied and was approved immediately.

When the card arrived, I went to apply the balance transfer only to discover it didn't exist. I contacted customer service who insisted that I misread the offer until I pointed out that the offer is still visible on their website. They tell me they will create a support case for me. Anyone can probably guess what happens next. I contacted them back after one week asking for an update and they tell me they're still researching, but they'll make a note I called. I asked how long will researching take and they state 7-10 days.

So I contacted them back after two weeks asking for an updated and, literally, the same line is repeated. When I pressed asking why the length and utter lack of any updates, the representative can only respond that they're researching. I ask to close the case figuring it's not worth pursuing anymore...and I'm actually told they need to put in a request and have the department contact me back just to close the case. So whether I'm opening a support case or wanting to end it, it seems I need to wait an indeterminable amount of time for Barclay's department to contact me to do either one. What awful customer service.

Honestly, nothing else about the card is particular notable. It has benefits that are more or less the same as every other credit card, it has its gimmicks that are mostly useless, and it has the same bonus offers (well, when it honors them anyway). Had I known this issue would pop up, I would not have bothered to sign up for the card so I'm rather annoyed at taking the credit hit for something which I now have little use for.

more ...
Feb 10, 2017
Not worth it anymore
OcPharaoh Cardholder

This card was nice for carrying balance when the APR was 8.25%, but now with almost 13.49% it isn't worth it! You can get card with rewards around that rate. $0 BT fee is nice perk but nothing to get excited about since few cards offer the same already like chase slate. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 03, 2017

The point is not to carry a balance and to use the card to PAY OFF your high interest credit cards by taking advantage of the $0 BT Fee. But, to each's own, I guess. I highly recommend this card.

 
Dec 02, 2016
Beware of Barclay Bank CLD!
shuffman37 Cardholder

I've had this card for nearly two years, paid in full, or paid down to 25-35% util before statements cut, used for $1 fee cash advances for buying items on CL without going into town to a real bank. They cut my credit line from 2000 to 1300 when I checked to see how much I needed to pay to get down bellow 30% a few weeks before statement date. I have about 49K worth of CC without any new ones in the past 6 months and only 4 inquires in TU in the past year. 

Barclay bank doesn't care if you make large payments and are responsible. Won't restore credit line either. Don't trust them! Go with Capital one, Chase, Amex, or Discover instead! Sure that $1 fee and 8% is tempting, but don't risk it with the ring of fire card! 

more ...
Oct 29, 2016
Approved on Reconsideration
LJM07 Cardholder

After initially getting the 7-10 day review message upon submitting the application, I immediately checked the approval status link on Barclaycard's website, and it said "denied."  I then called their credit department and spoke with an analyst who verified some information from the application and asked some questions about income and an old charge-off account (that has been paid in the past year).  I was then approved.  My credit scores are TU 694 FICO (Not Vantage Score), 655 Experian FICO, and 673 Equifax FICO.  For comparison purposes, my Vantage scores here on CK are 20-30 points higher (700-710).  The only report they pulled was TransUnion.  As important with the Ring Card are balances-to-available-credit, and mine are under 5% on my accounts, so I was fairly confident this would weigh in my favor in contrast to my average credit scores.  I have 2 new accounts opened in the last month as well, and my TransUnion hard inquiries in the past month just prior to applying were 2 (6 total over 24 months; 4 were from April 2015).  Also, my approval odds here on CK were "fair" and when clicking apply I got the pop-up window saying "your odds for approval for this card are low."

more ...
Oct 17, 2016
Great
Anonymous Cardholder

Its great

more ...
Sep 16, 2016
Decent Card
Anonymous Cardholder

I used to have this account.  I stopped paying on CCs and started paying cash.  Now instead of getting 1.5% I'm saving 19% on what I spend.  I don't know what to do with all the money.  I leave it open in case it's needed.

more ...
Mar 07, 2017

You do realize you aren't charged that 19% interest if you pay your bill infill each month right? The whole point of a cash back card is to use it for items you can pay back in full. In other words use it like you would your checking debit card then immediately pay it back. This way you get the cash back and pay zero interest.

 
Mar 25, 2017

This is obviously a comment from a Dave Ramsey fan. Yes, it is true that studies have shown that people spend a little bit less when they use cash because they can "feel the pain" (often 12 to 19% less)... but most people aren't super proactive about it either. If you know what you are doing and are being careful, there's nothing wrong with using credit.

 
Aug 12, 2016
Few perks but low interest
Anonymous Cardholder

I have yet to see any dividend back like i expected when i got it. One very BAD thing about Barclays is that they hard pull EVERYTHING. If you have a card with them and pply for an increase they do hard pulls, which hurts your credit. I told them that this is a very bad practice and that they are in fact HURTING their customers by lowering their credit scores 20 points for up to 2 years simply for asking for an increase. Half of the credit issuers do soft pulls which do not hurt credit scores.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 04, 2016

A hard inquiry only drops your score by 2 - 6 points. And that completely goes away in 3 - 6 months.

 
Aug 02, 2016
Great Customer Service!!!
Joekelsey22 Cardholder

I currently have the Barclaycard Rewards card with a super high interest rate (25%) and was looking for something with a better rate. After reading some of the comments I was super nervous about applying to the card, but really liked the low interest rate that it offered. I went ahead and applied and I got a message stating that they needed more time to process the application and gave me a link to check the status. When I checked the status it said I was declined. Needless to say I was a little bumed out. After reading more comments I noticed people mentioning a backdoor number to call....so I googled "MYFICO Backdoor Numbers" looked up the number for the credit analyst for Barclaycard and gave them a call.

I talked to a very nice analyst who asked me a few security questions and then asked me to verify things like income, time on the job ect. he then put me on hold to see what he could do. He then got back on 2 minutes later, complimented me on my excellent on time payment history and then noticed that I had a few inquires in July. I explained I was not desparate for credit, but that I wanted to apply and get all the cards I need at once that way all the inquires fall off at once (even though they say not to do that which I know see why they say that) He then said that is fine and that what he could do is move over my entire balance on my rewards card ($2000) to the Ring Mastercard! Needless to say I was very happy and accepted the offer. I now have the ring card and got rid of that high APR rewards card. My scores are TU: 702 EX: 671 EQ: 669 and my utilization is 16%. I hope this help those of you who get declined. I think it was worth the phone call you may too :-)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 05, 2016

Glad to hear they helped you! I've had a great experience with them too! Had to call to get the CashForward and spoke to a nice lady and got the SL increased from 1500 to 4000

 
Jul 09, 2016
Instant approval
113098 Cardholder

Just applied for this card and got a 10k credit line! I also have the Barclaycard Rewards MasterCard with 7k, 22.99% apr that I've had for about 3 years. I am very pleased with Barclaycard, never had any issues, very excited with my new credit line and low apr on Ring MasterCard

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 859
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Barclaycard Ring™ Mastercard®