Barclaycard Ring® Mastercard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.2 out of 5 stars
15 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 28, 2018
Worked for me is all I have to say
Anonymous Cardholder

Got approved for $7500 with 15 months 0% interest and no balance transfer fee. My score was about 720 at the time. Worked great for me and customer service was great. Not to sure why such bad reviews. I hope my opinion stats the same.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 09, 2018
If your credit score matters--DON'T
myrlyn29 Cardholder

I got this card four years ago. My primary reason for applying for this card in particular, was the interest rate, which was advertised to be low...and mine was, at 8%. I loved this card. It was my go-to card in emergencies. My approved credit limit was $5000. I had a couple of emergency car reparis come up and I had just over $2000 charged on the card. I watch and keep track of (and was proud of) my credit score. Zero late/missed payments, I kept my utilization low and had no derogatory marks. One year ago I made my monthly payment on my cards and checked my report a week after that--and was pretty angry that I found that, without any email, snail mail--any warning at all, that my credit limit had been dropped to $2200. So, the one card I had over 30% utilization on (2k of 5k limit was 40%), had now changed to 90% utilization--my credit score dropped 35 points! I called their customer service and tried to resolve this and get them to restore my credit limit. I was basically told that "we're sorry, but you're s$$t out of luck". I closed that account immediately. I make the minimum payments to them now, and will continue to do so. But, I refused to deal with Barclay any further after that little bit of unlubricated financial sodomy. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 09, 2018
Worst credit card company by far!
romama48 Cardholder

I currently have two credit cards from Barclay's and they are the two lowest cards I have in my portfolio. They do me more harm than good. I just wasted another credit inquiry applying for their Ring Card. Wow, what a joke. It was suggested by another family member to apply for a "0" interest card to do a balance transfer. I thought why not, I am in the middle of paying down my balances in order to get my score back up and stopping accrued interest would be a great way to start. My current card limits range from $7800 to $18,600 except for my older Barclay Apple Rewards card that is stuck at $2250 and my new Ring Card I do not want that has an insulting $250 limit. I know, it's an embarrasment to the hard work I have put into building my overall portfolio. I have made a request to cancel this card out. I will never recommend Barclay credit cards to anyone.

I have total available card limits of $105k with the balance on all of them right at $49k which has tanked my credit score. It's hard to maintain a great score if your overall balances are more than 10% of the limits, it used to be 30% rule of thumb, and now with the new FICO scoring module this is no longer the case. And it is hard to grow a large enough portfolio without taking years to do so do to the problem with negative marks from credit inquiries.

more ...
Dec 07, 2018
Terrible
phildeas Cardholder

Very low limit. I have 750 score with 20 yrs of credit over 60k in limits on cards. They approved me for $250 wtf I just got a 5k increase after one yr with Citi simplicity card . Barclays sends me stuff in mail all the time I asked why in the hell would you send me stuff you know my score? All they did was hurt my score 

more ...
Nov 24, 2018
just a Terrible company
Hjellum Cardholder

I was approved 6 months ago with a 15k limit and used it once for an oil change and tires for $500 or so and paid it off before next statement generated (even though I have 15 month interest free use as per promo. Today I get an email that says "card closed due to inactivity" I call and the rude woman chewing gum says "sorry you should of used it more" what? Avoid this Junk.

more ...
Nov 20, 2018
phildeas Cardholder

They sent me letter in mail 0% I have 750 plus score I applied for card with 10k transfer they didn't give me immediate approval. Then 2 days later approve me for $250 wtf it enddned up lowering my score because of such a little amount. I don't have any cards under 7k my last couple where 10k plus. They claimed because I had 42k in unsured debt. 22k cards 20k personall loan. Be carful if you apply for this cards.

more ...
Nov 17, 2018
Great so far
phxdaniel Cardholder

Interest is great. Purchase and payment are processed excellent. Be patient with the process. This card is designed for excellent credit. Very pleased at this point.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 17, 2018

Oops forgot credit score was 791

 
Nov 10, 2018
regretting that I got this one

I am still trying to pay off this credit card for past 3 months, I am still being charged some kind of interest fees. And they will always send me some kind of statement balance when I am not using this credit card. I will never ever get credit from Barclays. 

more ...
Oct 17, 2018
Awful
moe1278201 Cardholder

Barclay is an awful credit card to have unless you pay it off every month, if not they have tendency to lower your credit limit every time you make a payment, therefore lowering your credit score. You can't win with this card, no rewards, nothing. DO NOT GET THIS CARD.

more ...
Jul 16, 2018
Horrible !
QHPLMB Cardholder

Barclay Bank has the worst customer service I have ever experienced !!!! 

more ...
Jun 13, 2018
Noe rewards
JUNI760 Cardholder

nothing impressive ive had the card for sometime now to be honest no clue the last time i actually used it!!! rewards are bad they gave me 500 years ago and have yet to increase my limit i have other cards with 10k 5k 9k and then theres barclays 500!!!! only way they will increase is a hard inquiry. If you are considering this card and have the credit go for Amex or better yet discover IT card you can cash out points at any amount plus nice credit limit good luck. Wonder if theyll see this and finally cancel my card we shall see!!!

more ...
Jun 08, 2018
Worse card ever
eddy211981 Cardholder

Horrible card and bad customer service and they dont care about customers

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 859
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Barclaycard Ring® Mastercard®