Starwood Preferred Guest® Credit Card from American Express Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
4 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 26, 2018
Low limit
sosabn Cardholder

Just cant seem to get a high limit no matter my score.  1k limit.  EXP is my lowest score at 674 however.  Ugh!

more ...
Nov 27, 2018

Obviously u have a negative or your risky by looking at your credit which explains why u in the 600s. Had u been reliable you would have a 700 plus. So stop complaining and fix your credit. Delete the negative information, add tradelines and delete the hard inquiries and you will be in the 700s easily

 
Nov 27, 2018

Plus that card is pushing tier 3 so next time go for everyday cash card

 
Oct 14, 2018
Beware of AMEX Bait and Switch!!!

I've been a SPG member for a decade and got this card through in June 2018 through Credit Karma for the 75,000 points for $3000 in purchases. Got $5000 limit and despite charging and paying off over $8,000 worth of eligable charges in June-August, I have not received my points as of mid October. AMEX is refusing to grant my points, suddenly saying I accepted some other mystery SPG card offer, and has to conduct an investigation to see if I did indeed get my card through CK. I have no earthly idea what they are talking about as this is the only advertised deal for SPG CC and totally at a loss for why/how they screwed up, but keep your agreements statements on hand and definitely don't be surprised if the same bait and switch happens to you! Without the bonus, it's just another AMEX card and I would have picked a better deal with another travel card if I had known this would happened.

more ...
Nov 27, 2018

Remember the 5-24 rule. If u had any cards like that with points like that within the last 24 months u wont get the points just be mindful of that. If any of your last 5 credit cards got that within 24 months u dont qualify

 
Nov 27, 2018

No they are two credible to be Sue's for false advertisement just to withold points from someone like u. Like they wokeup in the morning and said let's truck him out his points???? Yeah right get real they are to credible. U dont meet the 5-24 rule so u dont get it. If u got points like that from any of your past 5 cards within 24 months u dont quality simple..

 
Sep 04, 2018
Perfect card for hotels, Rewards Great!
Nope123 Cardholder

You have to have at least a 680 to be approved.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 17, 2018

Not exactly, my lowest is 650 transunion and 675 Equifax on credit karma. I have an SPG, blue cash
Preferred, Amex blue delta, and business gold rewards charge card. It's easier once you're already an Amex member.

 
Apr 12, 2018
3000.00 gone
Anonymous Cardholder

I got the card for the bonus, upon paying electronically, they got my money from my bank but cannot find it in AMEX so they won't credit my account the 3000$. It has been 8 months talking to indians trying to find someone who can find where my payment went.

more ...
May 21, 2018

I'm sorry. I'm not an expert by any means but if transferred electronically from your bank account wouldn't you be protected by your bank. Money can be found by your bank and not by you calling credit card. Sounds unrealistic even for amateur like me

 
Sep 03, 2018

Enter Your Reply

 
Nov 27, 2018

Such a **** liar. So many lies I spotted instantly. First off your bank would have refunded it plus Amex ain't stupid neither are we.

 
Dec 06, 2018

I’m

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 322
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Starwood Preferred Guest® Credit Card from American Express