Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

TrueEarnings® Card from Costco and American Express - EXPIRED OFFER

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5692 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 14, 2014
Got Approved!

I am rebuilding my credit and my current credit score that shows in Credit Karma is 623. They sent me a prescreened offer through the mail and applied for it. I was so surprised I got approved for 5K credit limit!

Just very thankful they have trusted me with the amount given my low score. I have been trying to rebuild my credit for the past 2 years and no cards would give me this higher amount of CL.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 28, 2012
Dont go just by the reviews

I applied AMEX Costco card with a CS of 718 and got rejected. I wrote AMEX a detailed letter to reconsider my application based on my previous record with them (I have a AMEX GOLD Charge Card with annual, Fee of $125).But they again rejected my application.

So I would advice everyone to just have good Credit Rating and low balances before going for American express Credit Cards. Just don’t go by reviews and someone else application experiences. Every application is Unique.

Best Of Luck

more ...

Reviews (65)

Add Review
Oct 30, 2015
Approved in 5 min with 642 Score
MagGal Cardholder

The rewards aren't phenomenal, but better options than have been available to me since I started rebuilding my credit. I'm finally up to a 642/635 score with $55k income and was approved instantly for a $1200 limit. Not sure if my Costco Executive membership was a factor (doubt it). Also not convinced they check the income, as they only asked for company name and number.

I appreciate how they had a lot of options for notifications on various events (such as payment due in 5 days, fraud alerts, overlimit, etc.) and put me right into the spot where I can link my payment account (saves me the trouble of doing this later). Looking forward to being able to use this instead of my regular Debit card for company supply orders!

more ...
Oct 29, 2015
Used to be BEST.
Anonymous Cardholder

I liked this card but....Just had heated discussion with Amex - They are going to cancel this card on 31-Mar-16 and make customer "apply" for new card from their list. This is going to impact customer's credit history just because costco & amex decided on divorce. I wish Amex could move customers to other products without touching their credit history.

more ...
Mar 28, 2015
Begging Costco to use different card
toomanyjoes Cardholder

I've had this card for seven years and it's always been a nightmare of an experience when things go wrong. Customer service refuses to admit to mistakes and refuses to correct them. They blame the "computer" and act like they have no way to help if the computer doesn't allow it. 

My story started with a late fee. My payment due date was on a weekend and I had previously set up autopay for situations like this when I may not be available to make the payment in full manually. I was surprised when I saw the late fee and immediately paid my balance and called to see if I could have the late fee removed. It was a $26 late fee assessed on an existing balance of $39. I explained that I'd had the card for 7 years and never been late once and the rep agreed and submitted a request to have the late fee removed. The system denied it. He was unable to or unwilling to tell me why it was denied. I spent an hour on the phone with an account supervisor and then an account manager. They were all rude and unhelpful. Fuming I went online to my account to set up autopay so this never happened again. This is when I noticed that I HAD already set up autopay, all my bank info was there and accurate, autopay was just turned off. So I called American Express back and explained that I wouldn't have a late fee if they hadn't turned off my autopay. The rep submitted a request and told me that the request went through and I should see the amount post to my account in the next 2-3 business days. 2 weeks later I check my balance and notice that there was no such credit. I called American Express again. This time I talked to the rudest rep of all who just kept telling me that the late fee was a valid charge and there was nothing he could do about it. Sensing I was getting nowhere with this guy and tired of his rude attitude that was making me angry I asked to speak to a supervisor. After 10 min more a supervisor got on the phone and I spend 5-10 minuted rehashing all the details of my problem. She said that all she could do was again try to submit a request to the system to remove the late fee but gave no guarantees. She put me on hold and came back 5 min later saying that the system denied my request. She was also unable or unwilling to tell me why. At this point I gave up, told her that my experience with them had been terrible and I was a extemely unhappy customer. The fact they claim their system is so ridgid and in no case can they override its parameters is utterly unbelievable. I know they can, they just refuse to. I've had worse account history with mastercard and visa accounts that HAVE reimbursed me for late fees when I call in. I've said that I would never use this card again before and then been suckered into using it because costco ONLY accepts americanexpress for some reason. However this time I shredded the card and all my AMEX cards. I'll pay with a **** check at costco or shop somwhere else if that's what it takes to not use AMEX. They are a terrible terrible company.

more ...
Apr 07, 2015

I have a feeling that if your weren't a hot head you would have never reviewed this card. Makes me believe that you are frustrated and it makes your story difficult to believe as most people I know have had great experiences with their cards.

Aug 17, 2015

You aren't alone. The last time I had used this card was in December 2014. When I used it again last month, I knew I had auto pay set up. I received a finance charge for my bill being past due. When I went online to see if it was set up, my auto pay had been turned off. They told me I had paid it off in December. I never would have done such a thing. I received a notification in the mail today that a penalty APR will now be charged to my account. Immediately, I cancelled my card because I have other options.

Aug 17, 2015

*I meant to write that they told me I had turned off auto pay in December, not paid it off.

Jan 18, 2015
Big Penalty for not paying in full
gurujg Cardholder

I have multiple credit cards and generally pay off in full. Occasionally, when I was travelling I missed paying in full by 4 days on the Amex costco card. They charged me full interest on entire balance for that month. And this triggered revoking of the general grace period for purchases made on the next month. So, even though I paid my balance in full for the next month, they ended up piling on interest again as a penalty for not paying in full for the previous month.

This has to be one of the most outrageous policies for a credit card company. Calling the customer service was another futile waste of time. They regurgitate the same policy and blamed it on me for not reading the 'Terms and Conditions' document. I have never had such experience with other cards mainly discover or chase. 

Rewards are not comparable to other cards. I see no reason to continue using this card in future.

more ...
Jan 25, 2015

In all fairness, you are 100% responsible for reading the "Terms and Conditions." You cannot blame them for fully enforcing a contract to which you agreed.

Jan 05, 2015
Lehrkind Cardholder

I just got of the phone with Amex, having called about the nearly 28% interest rate on this card.  I explained that I have excellent credit, have always paid way more than the minimum payment and have been on time with payments.  The Amex agent, who was very polite,  saw that one payment a few months ago posted a day late and that it automatically kicked in the maxiumum penalty interest rate.  

The agent said the rate would be lowered to the opening interest rate and was happy to make the adjustment.

The moral of this story is that Amex is mostly computers.  They are programmed to do crazy things with no discernment about any other factors other than the time a payment is made and if that payment meets the minimum payment requirement. If either of those factors is not met, the penalty interest rate automatically kicks in.  

Try calling, be polite, and make your case.  It is worth a try and it worked for me.  I nice experience with the Costo American Express!  Thank you!

more ...
Jan 03, 2015
Nothing but best all around My Card
Anonymous Cardholder

Best card I have ever had in my credit card use of nearly 50 years  they know how to treat customers right

more ...
Dec 22, 2014
So far, so good
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had the Costco TrueEarnings card ever since Costco and AMEX hooked up. I have a $23,000 credit limit.  I pay off the bill "in full" each month. I had "one" problem with a purchase with a company. I called the TrueEarnings Customer Service line.  They helped me with no questions. Like anything, the card is not perfect. But, when I really needed help, they were there for me.  

more ...
Nov 14, 2014
Got Approved!

I am rebuilding my credit and my current credit score that shows in Credit Karma is 623. They sent me a prescreened offer through the mail and applied for it. I was so surprised I got approved for 5K credit limit!

Just very thankful they have trusted me with the amount given my low score. I have been trying to rebuild my credit for the past 2 years and no cards would give me this higher amount of CL.

more ...
Nov 02, 2014
Approved on first try.
Anonymous Cardholder

We have had this card since Costco teamed up with Amex .  We use this card where ever they 

take the Amex card and pay our bill once a month with no interest. We have a $10,000 limit.

I'm very pleased with American Express customer service.

more ...
Oct 25, 2014
Very poor customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

I have been a card holder for over 13 years and had for the first time an issue where I had to contact customer service to ask them for their support and consideration. This was regarding a $26 fee. The customer care person as well as the supervisor both (not US based) declined my request with the argumentation that they are making so little profit with Costco. Seems they have zero interest in customer retention. Can't wait that Costco follows their subsidiary in Canada and stops working exclusively with Amex. I will definately cancel my Amex card (as I have already cancelled my other Amex cards).

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?


Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 241
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

American Express is the world's largest card issuer by purchase volume, catering to high-spending cardmembers around the world. American Express offers personal, small business, corporate, prepaid, and charge cards. American Express stands out in the credit card industry for its cardmember services, such as concierge service and loyalty programs, and its charge cards with no pre-set spending limit, such as the Centurion, or "Black card”, known for its exclusivity and elite features.

Headquartered in New York City, American Express is a global financial services company that provides financial products, processes transactions, and facilitates payment services to consumers and merchants. With its iconic Roman gladiator logo, American Express operates in over 130 countries around the world.

TrueEarnings® Card from Costco and American Express - EXPIRED OFFER

65 Reviews