The Amex EveryDay® Preferred Credit Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Amex EveryDay® Preferred Credit Card from American Express offers beefed up rewards and perks in return for an annual fee.

What to Like

There’s a lot to earn here. Cardholders can earn 15,000 points after making $1,000 in purchases in the first 3 months. You can also pick up 3x points on up to $6,000 at supermarkets (then 1x) and 2x points at gas stations. And that’s all on top of perks like American Express’ Roadside Assistance Hotline.

Look Out For

All the perks come at a bit of a price: The Amex EveryDay® Preferred Credit Card from American Express has a $95 annual fee. There are also balance transfer and foreign transaction fees.

Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 19, 2017
this card is not as advertised
Anonymous Cardholder

The problem with this card is that it is not that bad, however it is advertised as being a points card; but since I have been using it off and on for a couple of months I have not earned a single point on this card. I let them know what is wrong with the card and both reps said something completely different; one told me I had to make a payment for that billing cycle and another told me that I don't earn points for the first month. I think that these reasons are too convenient it seems like the rep's looked at the most obvious solution and used that as an excuse why the card is not earning points. This is a trivial complaint but how I see it is if you have to contact the cc company for any issues, “To me” that is not a good sign.

more ...
Apr 11, 2017
Excellent customer service

CreditKarma said I had a very good chance of obtaining this card. They were right. I was surprisingly approved and with a very subbstantial credit line. I did not think I would get this card. Since I signed up for CreditKarma and stared following the advise in my profile, my credit score us gone up over 142 points in the last six months. Amex has great customer service. 

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Applied and qualified
Anonymous Cardholder

When CK states your approval odds are very good they aren't kidding. I applied for this one first and qualified for 1K. A week later applied for Chase Sapphire and was approved for 5K. Scores TU 697 and EQ 692.

more ...
Jan 29, 2017
Good Card
Anonymous Cardholder

This card approved me for $1,000 with a 650 credit score. That tells me that AMEX actually reads INTO your credit report, not just looks at your score. I actually have the blue cash everyday card with $0 annual fee, but the two cards are similar. First year no APR is nice, and they havent tried to screw me like other companies have.

more ...
Jan 21, 2017
Thanks Amex
Pele808 Cardholder

Got this card with a 2k limit. In the midst of rebuilding credit...scores 688 and 703. Spent the 1k to receive the 15k points bonus, and met the 30 purchases within a billing cycle for the extra 50%. Applied for a CLI on day 61 of having the account and was instantly approved for 6k limit. Great card so far no complaints.

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
The Amex every day is my favorite!
Anonymous Cardholder

The Amex every day is automatic increase my credit limit in 8 months, no need to request to be . Thank you !

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 17, 2017

Is it transparent/see through/clear card?

 
Dec 23, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Customer service is the best

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
Good rewards and great customer service
burritomen Cardholder

Have had this card for almost 2 years. Customer service is responsive and helpful. Rewards are pretty good, but the restaurant/store discounts are way better than using them on purchases or Amex gift cards.

Can set auto payments, go paperless, and a lot more, which is nice.

Was approved for 1500 with a 730, then upgraded to 4k in a month or two. I'm up to 7500 now. I might be requesting more in a few months.

more ...
Dec 03, 2016

Why would anyone want a card that has a annual fee?

 
Dec 04, 2016

Because you can earn so much more if you use it properly and essentially wipe out your annual fee through return. Last month I earned over 5200 points and received $90 cash back from Amex offers after on $1300 in spend. No fee credit cards can not achieve that level of return.

 
Oct 28, 2016
Amazing customer service and value
Anonymous Cardholder

Great perks. good cash back on groceries. pays for itself

more ...
Aug 30, 2016
This is a points earning BEAST!
atonpitbull Cardholder

I received a targeted offer for a 30,000 point sign-up bonus and was instantly approved for a 22k limit. I already had two Chase cards but decided to apply for this card to earn Amex Membership Rewards Points and I wanted to be able to take advantage of some of the Amex Offers. After a couple of billing cycles, I've become very impressed with the power of this card. If used properly, this is one of the strongest points-earning cards out there for daily expenses. Maximizing the grocery store category and getting 30 swipes every billing cycle is a must. Doing that, you can easily average around 3 points per dollar on overall spend.

The bottom line is you don't need a big income and a lot of monthly spend to justify the annual fee for this card. Use it with a little planning and you can earn a ton of points. Just be sure and have a good back up card for the places that don't accept Amex. I hope this helps.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The Amex EveryDay® Preferred Credit Card from American Express

14 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i