Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The Amex EveryDay® Preferred Credit Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.9 out of 5 stars
19 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

The Amex EveryDay® Preferred Credit Card from American Express offers beefed up rewards and perks in return for an annual fee.

What to Like

There’s a lot to earn here. Cardholders can earn 15,000 points after making $1,000 in purchases in the first 3 months. You can also pick up 3x points on up to $6,000 at supermarkets (then 1x) and 2x points at gas stations. And that’s all on top of perks like American Express’ Roadside Assistance Hotline.

Look Out For

All the perks come at a bit of a price: The Amex EveryDay® Preferred Credit Card from American Express has a $95 annual fee. There are also balance transfer and foreign transaction fees.

Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 21, 2016
Good rewards and great customer service
burritomen Cardholder

Have had this card for almost 2 years. Customer service is responsive and helpful. Rewards are pretty good, but the restaurant/store discounts are way better than using them on purchases or Amex gift cards.

Can set auto payments, go paperless, and a lot more, which is nice.

Was approved for 1500 with a 730, then upgraded to 4k in a month or two. I'm up to 7500 now. I might be requesting more in a few months.

more ...
Dec 03, 2016

Why would anyone want a card that has a annual fee?

 
Dec 04, 2016

Because you can earn so much more if you use it properly and essentially wipe out your annual fee through return. Last month I earned over 5200 points and received $90 cash back from Amex offers after on $1300 in spend. No fee credit cards can not achieve that level of return.

 
Oct 28, 2016
Amazing customer service and value
Anonymous Cardholder

Great perks. good cash back on groceries. pays for itself

more ...
Aug 30, 2016
This is a points earning BEAST!
atonpitbull Cardholder

I received a targeted offer for a 30,000 point sign-up bonus and was instantly approved for a 22k limit. I already had two Chase cards but decided to apply for this card to earn Amex Membership Rewards Points and I wanted to be able to take advantage of some of the Amex Offers. After a couple of billing cycles, I've become very impressed with the power of this card. If used properly, this is one of the strongest points-earning cards out there for daily expenses. Maximizing the grocery store category and getting 30 swipes every billing cycle is a must. Doing that, you can easily average around 3 points per dollar on overall spend.

The bottom line is you don't need a big income and a lot of monthly spend to justify the annual fee for this card. Use it with a little planning and you can earn a ton of points. Just be sure and have a good back up card for the places that don't accept Amex. I hope this helps.

more ...
Aug 04, 2016
Happy with approval for $8k
Physh1 Cardholder

I just applied today for this card & was instantly approved for $8000. I'm 15 months into a heavy focus on rebuilding my credit which I destroyed in 2008/2009 when I lost my job. This card joins my recently approved Discover IT, Barclay CashRewards World MC, & Cap1 QS cards. I started 15 months ago with a Cap1 secured card & now I'm here.

My approval was based on these facts plus whatever Amex looks for...Experian Fico 8 score is 754 (which Amex uses), $80k income, 4 fresh hard inquiries, and short AAoA.

I was hesitant to apply. as I'd had Gold & Platinum charge cards that were closed (in good standing) by Amex because of my late defaulting on other cards & Credit Karma said my chances of approval were poor. My Credit Karma Vantage 3.0 scores were 737 for Transunion & 747 for Equifax. My credit scores have jumped over 150 points in the last year or so & this approval really made me happy. I'm looking forward to the everyday bonuses & rewards package which does suite my spending habits well. For now I give this 4 stars simply because.

more ...
Aug 04, 2016
Happy with approval for $8k
Physh1 Cardholder

I just applied today for this card & was instantly approved for $8000. I'm 15 months into a heavy focus on rebuilding my credit which I destroyed in 2008/2009 when I lost my job. This card joins my recently approved Discover IT, Barclay CashRewards World MC, & Cap1 QS cards. I started 15 months ago with a Cap1 secured card & now I'm here.

My approval was based on these facts plus whatever Amex looks for...Experian Fico 8 score is 754 (which Amex uses), $80k income, 4 fresh hard inquiries, and short AAoA.

I was hesitant to apply. as I'd had Gold & Platinum charge cards that were closed (in good standing) by Amex because of my late defaulting on other cards & Credit Karma said my chances of approval were poor. My Credit Karma Vantage 3.0 scores were 737 for Transunion & 747 for Equifax. My credit scores have jumped over 150 points in the last year or so & this approval really made me happy. I'm looking forward to the everyday bonuses & rewards package which does suite my spending habits well. For now I give this 4 stars simply because.

more ...
Jul 02, 2016
Love Love Love
Ty9091 Cardholder

Website is easy to use and informative to track everything about my account. Customer Service is fantastic. My fav card.

more ...
May 03, 2016
One month update
Dreamchaser512 Cardholder

I took the adive of another comment when someone asked for a credit line increasee request as soon as they received the card. I put in for and additional $2000 and was approved immedately. I have a total credit line of $3000 with okay credit. 

more ...
Apr 14, 2016
Great Card for me!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I recieved a pre-approval letter in the mail and thought I have no idea why they are seding this.  I have less than perfect credit(not poor but not great)  but I am getting myself back on track fast so I took a chance and I got approved in 60 seconds for $4000.  I will kep it at a minimum for now and in about 6 months ask for an increase for some help with my credit score.  It seems to work well for me and my lifestyle.  I  do a lot of purchases for gas each week because of my long commute and the app on my phone keeps me updated and posted on every purchase made so I can track my spending.  

more ...
Apr 14, 2016
Nickybatz Cardholder

Great card but i would like to earn a little more cashback %.

more ...
Mar 17, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Approved Instantly!!!!! Excellent customer 

service.  No Annual Fee but B careful of

fluctuating APR after a year 😁😁😁

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The Amex EveryDay® Preferred Credit Card from American Express

19 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i