David's Bridal® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.9 out of 5 stars
17 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 22, 2017
Best card ever
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for the Davids bridal credit card because the wedding dress I fell in love with happened to be a clearance dress. I did not have the money that day to buy the dress, in fact, we were not even there for me. They had a bride to not show up and let me take her place. I applied for this credit card and within minutes I was approved. I paid my dress off within the 6 month time frame of no interest and then went back and got my veil. This card seriously saved my day. Plus, it's an extremely cute card. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 26, 2016
Terrible Customer Service
Anonymous Cardholder

The David's Bridal credit card from Comenity Bank offers 6 months No Interest Financing on all purchases. I'm not sure where the confusion is in this regard (from reading other reviews) but that was made pretty plain to me (although I applied online, rather than speaking with someone in store) before I even applied for the card.

I have worked with retail financing before, and it is also very standard that if you make late payments or fail to pay off the entire promotional balance prior to the promotional balance expiring, you will be backcharged all of the interest--at the APR listed in the fine print (which is somewheer around 27%). While that APR is high, I believe you should pay close attention to details such as the APR prior to applying.

My personal experience turned sour when dealing with Comenity Bank. I had done the math myself and divided my entire balance into 6 so that I would be sure to pay the balance off prior to the expiration. In an effort to get a head start on that plan, I made my first payment prior to a statement even being issued.

However, I made an error--while entering my banking information, I entered my bank's routing # with my credit union's checking account #. The payment was obviously reversed. This was absolutely my mistake. I received a letter from Comenity notifying me that my payment had been rejected and that they were placing a 90-day hold on my available funds. This was not a big deal to me at the time because I was not planning on making any additional purchases.

So, I fixed the issue still prior to my first payment coming due, and my first statement/payment came and went without issue. But when my next statement came out, it indicated that I now owed a minimum payment twice that of my previous statement ($62). At this point, I called Comenity and spoke with a polite representative. She assured me that they would lift the hold on my account and that they had fixed my account so that I still only owed the regular minimum payment of $31 by June 12.

The next time I logged into my account, I noted that my account now indicated I actually owed $0 for that month, but that my available balance was now accurate. Nevertheless, I still made my minimum payment of $31 on June 8. I then logged back into my account on the 15th to make my second, not-required monthly payment (remember I am trying to pay the balance off prior to the 6 months), and noticed that I had a late fee of $27. At the time I was irritated but not sure I wanted to go through the trouble of explaining the whole situation to their customer service. I let it go and moved on.

A few days later, though, I attempted to make a purchase for my bridal accessories and my card was declined.

Frustrated, I called Comentiy once again. The customer service rep was again polite, if not a bit impatient. After several attempts to explain the situation (her indicating that I was supposed to pay $62 prior to June 12, and me insisting that I had been told I only needed to pay $31 by the due date), she placed me on a 5-7 minute hold to speak with her manager. Upon returning, she rather condescendingly insisted on "explaining their policies," which were that because I didn't make the payment on time, the late fee had applied, and because my account was so new it was very concerning to them that my first payment had been rejected and that they wouldn't be able to lift the hold.

I continued to explain the situation and that the previous customer serice rep (who had evidently not made any notes on my account) had assured me these issues were resolved, she asked me, "What exactly would you like me to do for you?"

Fair enough. I said I'd like to be able to use my card and that my June payment should not be considered late nor should I have to pay the late fee.

She then agreed to waive the late fee after very heavily emphasizing that this was a one-time courtesy only and that if I should make a late payment in the future (!?) they would not be able to help me. She also said that after the 90 days (!!) I would be able to use my card. Defeated, I agreed, thanked her and hung up.

Well, the 90 days should have expired 3 days ago. I just attempted to use my card to purchase my bridal accessories--and surprise, surprise--my card was declined.

In the end, the purchasing power this card provides, at no interest for 6 months, is really great. But if you ever have any kind of issue, do not expect it to be resolved easily.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 23, 2017
Hard pull with horrible interest rates.
Anonymous Cardholder

I have good credit and this card still gave me over 25% interest rate with a $1,500 max. Also, I was told it would only be a soft pull, but that's not what my credit report says. It only offers a 25 day grace period before it charges that extreme interest, so there isn't much of a point. You're better off using a normal credit card instead.
Oh, I also tried to order my dress online before I got the card. There was not an email with my cards info, and it takes 5 business days to receive via mail. Even after giving all of my info, the customer service rep that I spoke to wouldn't give me the info that I needed to put the dress on the card.

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
Best card ever
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for the Davids bridal credit card because the wedding dress I fell in love with happened to be a clearance dress. I did not have the money that day to buy the dress, in fact, we were not even there for me. They had a bride to not show up and let me take her place. I applied for this credit card and within minutes I was approved. I paid my dress off within the 6 month time frame of no interest and then went back and got my veil. This card seriously saved my day. Plus, it's an extremely cute card. 

more ...
Apr 16, 2017
Helpful
211bride Cardholder

I came into get my wedding dress and while I was waiting for my Maid of honor and Aunt to come in I applied for it to kill some time. Of course I had the money for the dress I was getting that day but again it was to kil some time. I was approved for my amount and used it to pay for my dress. The sales associate told me I had 6 months to pay off the line of credit. Also when you get your bill it states on LARGE font that you have a special offer and when it would expire. It seems to me alot of people just didn't read the "small print" and got upset with the high interest rate that of course comes with a retail credit card. I called customer service once and had no issues and also the online banking is easy, when I get a bill notification in my email I just go and pay it that day, super easy. 

I am upset that people are rating this low when all the thing complained about are told to you. 

more ...
Apr 16, 2017
Helpful
Anonymous Cardholder

I came into get my wedding dress and while I was waiting for my Maid of honor and Aunt to come in I applied for it to kill some time. Of course I had the money for the dress I was getting that day but again it was to kil some time. I was approved for my amount and used it to pay for my dress. The sales associate told me I had 6 months to pay off the line of credit. Also when you get your bill it states on LARGE font that you have a special offer and when it would expire. It seems to me alot of people just didn't read the "small print" and got upset with the high interest rate that of course comes with a retail credit card. I called customer service once and had no issues and also the online banking is easy, when I get a bill notification in my email I just go and pay it that day, super easy. 

I am upset that people are rating this low when all the thing complained about are told to you. 

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
It is awful.
Anonymous Cardholder

Unless you have enough money to pay it off during the 0% time limit, do not get this card. They charge a fee that does not go down month to month and is a crazy amount. If you pay your minimum payment you will be paying this card off the rest of your life. 

more ...
Mar 11, 2017
Deserves 0 stars
Anonymous Cardholder

I cannot stress this enough. Borrowers beware. This has been the worst credit card I've ever owned. You can not use your debit card to pay it nor can you try to transfer the balance to another credit card with lower rates to pay it off faster. You are stuck until you pay it off using your checking account. Not to mention if you're a day late....1 day late you are paying a $35 late fee on top of a finance fee and the payment. I will never ever recommended this card to anybody. Hindsight is definitely 20/20 with this one.

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
A horrible option
Anonymous Cardholder

At the store, the sales reps make it sound like a very good option to be able to purchase the dress that you want and get you in while you are emotional (my personal experience).

When the amount was not paid off in full after 6 months, they charged me the ENTIRE amount for my dress, two times over, in intrest. I am paying easily 3 times the amount for my dress because of this and the addeded intrest.

I wish that I had never opened this account. It has been a very hard lesson to learn, but a valuable one to understand credit cards, credit scores, and very deceptive, misleading companies.

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
Don't get this card.
Anonymous Cardholder

I got a dress from davids bridal. I was paying for the dress.. and the first payment apparently i couldn't make it on that same day so i had to make it to the next day. I was hit with a late fee.. So i called asking if they can remove the late fee.. and guess what? he said yes sure he can remove the whole late fee.. awesome! couple weeks after I notice my account balance isn't where it should be.. I go into the account and realize that he had only removed part of the late fee.. so i call back asking if they can remove the complete late fee AS PROMISED. nope... spoke to supervisor said nothing she can do.. (as if anyone believes that). I am paying more than what I should be paying for my balance.. each month and they couldn't keep the promise that they said they would.. 

and it is true what people are saying here. it did say for one year no interest. but it is actually 6 months.

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
This card is not worth the headache.
itsmaddie Cardholder

In the beginning, I thought it would be awesome to be able to finance my wedding dress slowly but like all the people here have written, they slam you with tons and tons of interest and late fees. It's a horrid card to have 

My advice is, if you can't afford it on your card or don't have enough on your current credit card, you're better off applying to a credit card from elsewhere like Chase or Discovery, really anywhere -but- Davids Bridal. It's hard to keep up with all the conditions and god forbid you call asking for an explanation, you get talked to like youre the biggest idiot around. 

If I could go back in time, I wouldn't let them trick me into opening the card; even though it saved me like $100 on the dress. It was absolutely not worth the headache. 

more ...
Jan 20, 2017
Worst. Card. Ever
BardicCharm Cardholder

I applied to get the card, after being told that I would be able to pay it off in store (since we were just putting the down payment on the card which was $50). We go in, every week, for about 2 months. I was under the impression that we were paying it off each week. 

WRONG. I was told after getting a bill for the $50 that we weren't paying it off and we were paying off the dress instead. So I try to pay it at the store like I was told I would be able to do. No. I'm directed to ONLINE-ONLY pay because the "card was owned by the bank and they didn't have access to it." Okay fine.

Went and paid what the "total" was left here recently. Hit with another late fee because instead of saying "Hey you have a late fee added so the total is this," They just say oh you have X for the total. Then a month later after I thought it was paid off, I get yet another bill saying I owe them more money. The dress I put a down payment on for my best friend's wedding as a gift has now cost me as much as the dress itself. As soon as this next payment goes through (since it take up to a WEEK to process an online payment) I am closing the account and destroying the card. Will never reaply, nor give DB my business after this. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

David's Bridal® Credit Card