David's Bridal Credit Card

Overall card rating

2.4
11 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 09 2017
Helped in time of need
Credit Karma Member

I really don't understand why so many people are leaving negative reviews, I went into db and they approved me for a db cc. Told me I get 6months 0%interest. After that I looked into how the interest worked on deffered plan and learn that it's important to pay off within the 6months, I'm almost done these month paying off. And I've had no problem with the bank that offered the cc. Pay on time every month, or the what you can monthly but just make sure to pay off in full in 6months. Don't get made at the cc company, be upset with yourself for not knowing all the details. All it takes is looking over the agreement and how it works and you won't have problems. :) I do plan to cancel after I'm done only because it was a one time wedding and after I'm done paying off I really don't have a need for the card. It came in handy when I needed it.


Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 05 2018
PAINFUL REEGRET.. negative rating
Credit Karma Member

So, I was young and my sister was getting married. I agreed to applying for credit and buying her dress. She missed one paymeent and now, everytime I make a huge payment, they lower my credit limit which makes it like I'm using more thn 60% of my credit limit. When I called them about it, they said that because I missed a payment, they are able to lower my credit limit at any moment that they want to. if


Additional ratings


All Reviews

3
0
1
1
6
  • Highest rated
  • Most helpful
  • Least helpful
  • Newest
  • Oldest

Apr 11 2019
Sneaky!
Credit Karma Member

The card was great in a time of need. What i didn't appreciate was without notice they will lower your available credit limit for no reason. Which will in turn lower your available credit, and credit used percentage overall which lowers YOUR CREDIT SCORE!! I never recieved a letter stating why it was lowered or that it even took place!. I saw one day that from $1,300 available i had $800! I called and they said "Oh yes we lowered your available credit" i asked why?? I never have been late and its in good standing. They said "we just do that sometimes after awhile". Who says that!! Very shady David's Bridal!


Nov 28 2018
Be Very Careful!
Credit Karma Member

I have had a David's Bridal Credit Card for 2 years and have never had late payments and always pretty much paid my balances off either in full or no less than two payments. I've used my David's bridal card to purchase bridesmaids dresses, alterations, bridal gifts, and I had my own dress purchased and altered at David's Bridal when it came time for me to get married. The last thing I did on my card was the alterations for my dress and in the comotion of getting married, planning my honeymoon, and moving into my husband's condo I forgot to pay off the remaining balance. I eventually got a phone call that I had a balance of $131 on my account that needed to be paid. I apologized and paid in full. The gentlemen said perfect your account is all taken care of. I check my credit score about 10 days later and it had dropped 90 points. I called David's Bridal and asked why they reported to credit bureau if I paid off the account in full. The lady told me if your account is over 30days and we call and you take care of it then we don't report it. I told her the day I was called I paid off everything right there over the phone. She basically said to me sorry, once we report it we cannont take it back. To have a card for 2 years with them that has never been paid late or even a remaining balance for most part EVER, and to be someone who takes very good care of their credit, I was completely shocked that this was how David's Bridal dealt with me. To report that basically I am a poor person to lend to over $131, when clearly I have great history with them, continue to give them business, etc., that was highly unexpected. I mean seriously.... David's Bridal you are currently filing for bankruptcy at this moment for debt you can't pay off at all... is this some desparate attempt to try keep afloat or something? Are you just man handling everyone who owes you single dime to pay off your own debt?? If you have this card all I can say is be extra careful and don't depend on good business practice with this card obviously.


Sep 10 2018
Credit Karma Member

I applied for this card in July of 2018. I was planning my wedding and strapped for cash. The card is 6 months interest free. After that 6 months you are charged interest on the whole balance that was originally taken out on the card. I had a credit limit of 750 I spent 600. Every month Ive paid 100-120 to make sure i pay off my dress in 6 months or I get slapped with 27% interest on 600 bucks NO THANKS! I called customer service to check my final date I had to pay it was 12/31/18 . Customer service was quick and painless. I CALLED BEFORE RECEIVING FIRST STATEMENT AND ALSO MADE A PAYMENT BEFORE THE STATEMENT!! I have no problem with this card. Id reccommend it to someone responsible, on top of their bills, and able to pay it off in the 6 months. It simple math dont buy a 1000 dollar dress if you only plan on making minumum payments and then wonder why you cant ever pay the balance down. And its common sense not to miss a payment because there are consequences. Every bit of information you need comes with THE FIRST STATEMENT! READ YOUR PAPERWORK!!, Never go by what the associates say at the store most dont know and they arent affiliated with Commenity bank so they dont know the process. THERE IS A HARD CREDIT CHECK. I was told soft check. I also wouldnt reccomend closing it right after you pay off the balance. It will hurt your credit score. I plan on keeping mine open with no balance and getting the points for credit account history on my credit report.


Feb 05 2018
PAINFUL REEGRET.. negative rating
Credit Karma Member

So, I was young and my sister was getting married. I agreed to applying for credit and buying her dress. She missed one paymeent and now, everytime I make a huge payment, they lower my credit limit which makes it like I'm using more thn 60% of my credit limit. When I called them about it, they said that because I missed a payment, they are able to lower my credit limit at any moment that they want to. if


Nov 09 2017
Helped in time of need
Credit Karma Member

I really don't understand why so many people are leaving negative reviews, I went into db and they approved me for a db cc. Told me I get 6months 0%interest. After that I looked into how the interest worked on deffered plan and learn that it's important to pay off within the 6months, I'm almost done these month paying off. And I've had no problem with the bank that offered the cc. Pay on time every month, or the what you can monthly but just make sure to pay off in full in 6months. Don't get made at the cc company, be upset with yourself for not knowing all the details. All it takes is looking over the agreement and how it works and you won't have problems. :) I do plan to cancel after I'm done only because it was a one time wedding and after I'm done paying off I really don't have a need for the card. It came in handy when I needed it.


Jul 18 2017
It's a hard inquiry hurting your credit
Credit Karma Member

I went into the bridal shop asking about exchanging my dress as I was very unhappy with the dress I had bought they said they were not able to put an exchange dress on layaway and then I would have to apply for the credit card. But not to worry that it was a soft inquiry. I was very clear that if it was a hard inquiry I did not want to do it that I was in the process of financing for a home. They handed me the iPad and had me apply due to the fact that I was in the process of moving it had to go to a review process. Woke up the next morning and checked my credit score and found out that I had been hit for several points for applying for the card. Now I have a dress on layaway no credit card and a damaged credit score don't apply for this card ever. Now waiting to hear back from a district manager on how to fix this problem.


Apr 16 2017
Helpful
Credit Karma Member

I came into get my wedding dress and while I was waiting for my Maid of honor and Aunt to come in I applied for it to kill some time. Of course I had the money for the dress I was getting that day but again it was to kil some time. I was approved for my amount and used it to pay for my dress. The sales associate told me I had 6 months to pay off the line of credit. Also when you get your bill it states on LARGE font that you have a special offer and when it would expire. It seems to me alot of people just didn't read the "small print" and got upset with the high interest rate that of course comes with a retail credit card. I called customer service once and had no issues and also the online banking is easy, when I get a bill notification in my email I just go and pay it that day, super easy. I am upset that people are rating this low when all the thing complained about are told to you.


Feb 04 2017
This card is not worth the headache.
Credit Karma Member

In the beginning, I thought it would be awesome to be able to finance my wedding dress slowly but like all the people here have written, they slam you with tons and tons of interest and late fees. It's a horrid card to have My advice is, if you can't afford it on your card or don't have enough on your current credit card, you're better off applying to a credit card from elsewhere like Chase or Discovery, really anywhere -but- Davids Bridal. It's hard to keep up with all the conditions and god forbid you call asking for an explanation, you get talked to like youre the biggest idiot around. If I could go back in time, I wouldn't let them trick me into opening the card; even though it saved me like $100 on the dress. It was absolutely not worth the headache.


Jan 20 2017
Worst. Card. Ever
Credit Karma Member

I applied to get the card, after being told that I would be able to pay it off in store (since we were just putting the down payment on the card which was $50). We go in, every week, for about 2 months. I was under the impression that we were paying it off each week. WRONG. I was told after getting a bill for the $50 that we weren't paying it off and we were paying off the dress instead. So I try to pay it at the store like I was told I would be able to do. No. I'm directed to ONLINE-ONLY pay because the "card was owned by the bank and they didn't have access to it." Okay fine. Went and paid what the "total" was left here recently. Hit with another late fee because instead of saying "Hey you have a late fee added so the total is this," They just say oh you have X for the total. Then a month later after I thought it was paid off, I get yet another bill saying I owe them more money. The dress I put a down payment on for my best friend's wedding as a gift has now cost me as much as the dress itself. As soon as this next payment goes through (since it take up to a WEEK to process an online payment) I am closing the account and destroying the card. Will never reaply, nor give DB my business after this.


Oct 09 2016
It's useful for a short moment.
Credit Karma Member

It is good if you need to finance the dress, but make sure you can pay it off in the 6 month no interest promotional period. There is no reason to keep it after you pay off your dress unless you're in several weddings.

1-10 of 11

See Approval Odds and pre-approved offers before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

David's Bridal Credit Card

David's Bridal Credit Card


These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.