Wells Fargo Platinum Visa card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.9 out of 5 stars
98 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 18 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.74% - 27.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 18 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.74% - 27.24%* Variable
Collapse

1 star reviews (65) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 05, 2019
Almost impossible to pay off this card.
creyes4182 Cardholder

For every 150 I pay on this card maybe 15 goes to the actual balance. God help you if your late they pile on the fees. How have I been paying this card for years 150 a payment and the balance hasn’t moved at all. I haven’t even used the card in 3 years and the balance is exactly the same. Do NOT get this card. My only hope is to pay down my other cards and when I’m done with them just put everything I have into paying off this monstrosity.

more ...
Apr 15, 2019

Try paying your bills on time instead of thinking you can pay whenever it suits you. I have a feeling they like you even less than you like them.

 
Apr 16, 2019

It’s because you are just paying interest. It will take you 20 years to pay it off. You have to pay double than the minimum to get it paid in a couple of years. They do tell you this from the beginning.

 
Apr 17, 2019

If you have several cards with high balances you should probably not have any CCs. Credit conscious individuals know how to live within their means. That means not carrying a balance on any card from month to month. Some people make the CC companies money and some people make money off the CC companies. Which group of people do you want to be in?

 
Apr 21, 2019

So you whine and give the card a one star for being late? If your balance is so high it will take years to pay off, you should not have credit cards. Pay as you go, balances in full every month. CC are no the best tools so you can have the latest new I Phone or other toys.

 
Mar 31, 2019
Horrible
Tricedallas Cardholder

I’ve had this card for a few years now. I have never missed a payment. Overtime I have had bad customer service. They don’t seem to care about the card holders much. If they do they should change the hiring requirements for this customer service department.

more ...
Mar 21, 2019
High interest rate
DmillsRN Cardholder

Takes forever to pay off, even if paying 4 times the payment 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 31, 2019

Its not meant to use to live off of. 🙄

 
Mar 05, 2019
hits the credit score HARD!

I applied with a 720 credit score to do a balance transfer, got approved but it hit my credit score for 30 points, 30!!!!! I didnt apply for any other credit, this was the only one, so BEWARE!! If you are working hard to get your score up, dont apply!!!

more ...
Apr 15, 2019

ANY hard inquiry would have done the very same thing to your score. Why are you blaming WF?

 
Apr 16, 2019

It's not Wells Fargo's fault you got hit for 30 points...it's the credit bureau's!! Do your research before you blast a creditor!

 
Jan 14, 2019
Ripping off
Denys777t Cardholder

This card is worst think you want to apply. I opened a secured credit card before (never had any history). Right now I had 2 car loans (one paid off in full), 4 other credit cards, never had missed payment. My FICO is 748 and that keep holding my credit limit the same. Some time ago I applied for increase and it was denied. Had couple bad experiences with them. Because of my issues with them had to close saving, business debit and regular debit cards. . Do not open that card, read reviews. Please, keep yourself safe. 

more ...
Jan 13, 2019
Extortion

The interest rate on this card in my state is 22% APR.  When did banks decide to become like the pay day loan companies?  It's ridiculous.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 21, 2019

Just about every CC is 20+%. People who pay interest on CC are, well lets just say, not educated on credit.

 
Jan 07, 2019
This should be criminal.
Breezy6379 Cardholder

PSA: Wells Fargo requires you to pay your entire balance transfer fee in addition to 1% of your balance as the first payment after a balance transfer to a new card.  

According to Wells Fargo, in order to use their credit card, we simply have to agree to any and all terms and conditions without actually getting to see them and make an informed decision! Stacy was also nice enough to inform me that starting in 2019 this was how ALL credit card companies would be processing balance transfers! (not sure if thats true)  So, if you’re looking to make a balance transfer, call and ask how they process it before you are hit with an unexpected, monstrous first payment!

Luckily, my family was able to absorb this additional payment and it did not have a horrible effect on our financial situation.  I am hoping to make others aware of this so, that they can protect their financial well being, because this could have really ruined someones Christmas!

more ...
Jan 05, 2019
The worst
joy96002 Cardholder

Just read the reviews, and multiply by 10. Believe them.

more ...
Dec 30, 2018
Run away as fast as you can!
Bill155 Cardholder

Credit Karma should NEVER have even listed Wells Fargo! With 70% NEGATIVE (ONE out of FIVE stars) reviews, which is a HUGE DANGER SIGN, and a checkered past, this company is certainly poisonous. My experience went on for months during which they refused to acknowledge I was paid up in full, and continually kept showing delinguencies of my credit report, despite my providing proof from THEM that I had indeed paid my balance in full. I strongly recommend that anyone even considering this card read their entire negative history of financial irregularities and and you'll run like the wind AWAY from each and every Wells Fargo financial institution! Don't believe their national TV adds...they HAVE NOT changed!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Wells Fargo Platinum Visa card