Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

GE Money Bank Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 11, 2011
Anonymous Cardholder

GE Money Bank is an excellent Finance company they give you a second chance to establish credit. They gave me a second chance to reestablish credit I was with them almost a year before I lost my job and started having financial difficulties. They work with me to keep trying to pay but unfortunately I had to end up filing bankruptcy. So for anyone out depending on the card you apply for GE Money Bank is an ok bank. Dont believe everything you here.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 07, 2015
Now also known as synchrony Bank F-
Anonymous Cardholder

This is really the worst bank.  The time I have waisted with them I hope will end today.  I closed my accounts and I wanted to leave my mark so that anyone doing a little research will think twice before going with this worthless bank.  I got a card through Amazon "Store Card".  You get like $40 for signing up for a card.  But that is so not worth it.  This company has been a nightmare.  Every step of it.  I feel that anyone that gives them more than 2 stars is just a person getting paid by the company to write good reviews.  They are a completely rechade company.  If I could give zero stars that is what this bank would get.  Beyond bad.  

more ...
 

Reviews (36)

Add Review
Feb 07, 2015
Now also known as synchrony Bank F-
Anonymous Cardholder

This is really the worst bank.  The time I have waisted with them I hope will end today.  I closed my accounts and I wanted to leave my mark so that anyone doing a little research will think twice before going with this worthless bank.  I got a card through Amazon "Store Card".  You get like $40 for signing up for a card.  But that is so not worth it.  This company has been a nightmare.  Every step of it.  I feel that anyone that gives them more than 2 stars is just a person getting paid by the company to write good reviews.  They are a completely rechade company.  If I could give zero stars that is what this bank would get.  Beyond bad.  

more ...
Nov 04, 2014
Worst credit card company in the world!
Anonymous Cardholder

This company has the most horrible customer representative I have ever dealt with.  I had good credit before signing up for their credit card through Lenscrafters.  They constantly reported me for a late fee that I should have never received because my account was paid in full on time.  In addition, I was reported to all three credit bureaus multiple times for a late fee I was told was taken off.  When that late fee was supposedly taken off I was told my account was closed too.  When I called not only was I told that the payment was minimal and I should just pay it when I asked to be transferred to another reprsentative I was transferred to someone's voicemail.  Thereafter, I called back and have yet to reach an operator.  I would not open any accounts with this company.  The customer service and the access to my account is scary.  

more ...
Sep 01, 2014
Run away from this company
Anonymous Cardholder

There are so many more places to borrow money than from GE Money.  At 27% interest, even the most diligient credit consumer will find it impossible to pay off their balance quickly and efficiently.

Again, there are many other options and if you can, you should investigate them before turning to GE Money.

more ...
Jul 16, 2014
Anonymous Cardholder

Why does the company not tell you before you apply that this card will not be accepted almost anywhere including places like mcdonalds and burger king?

more ...
Jul 01, 2014
GE Credit changes name - but still sucks
Anonymous Cardholder

No wonder GE wants to get rid of GE Consumer Credit. The next best thing for the time being is to change its name in a lame attempt to hoodwink consumers. I opened an account as a result of buying new appliances from Bill Smith Appliances in Naples, FL. Of course, they limited the amount of interest free credit they would offer but did so only AFTER the purchase was complete. Now I can't sign in to my own account. When I use the "Contact us for login help" icon, I enter an infinite loop with no way of contacting GE Credit. BTW, if I miss a payment -- by even a day -- the interest rate on this "no interest for 18 months" offer becomes 29.99%. I thought the robber barons were long gone...evidently not!

more ...
Jun 08, 2014
Worst of all, high interest rate
Elmogaber Cardholder

I had both dillards and belk card. GE lowered my Dillard card limit and never raised my belk. Closed both cards and my score went right up. Not good to have low credit limit with a high interest rate.

i called customer service to findout why iam not getting a credit increase and she answered that I was in collection back in 2013. My voice went up and I asked for a manager to findout it was not true.

GE, get professional customer service please.

more ...
Dec 12, 2013
Lowered my Limits on 2 of 3 Accts
mrmooda Cardholder

I have 3 accounts with GE. Care Credit, Belk, and Old Navy. Low limits $1200, $500,$300. Nevere late never carried a balance past 3 months. They just decided to lower my limits based on my use of other accounts. Ridiculous! This could hurt my score because of Debt to Available.....bad for customers and I would stay away. Glad to have had the accounts thougjh.

more ...
Nov 25, 2013
Bad at managing money????
Anonymous Cardholder

One comment stated that if anyone had problems that they were bad at managing their funds.  Really.  That is the only explaination you can give?  Let me enlighten you!  In 2005 I had a Care Credit account through GE Money Bank.  It was up to date and fine when my husband and I decided to get a loan to consolidate all of our debt.  In june 2006 our bank Cut a check to them for the total amount owed ($1161.68).  In 2007 they posted it on my credit as a charge off and started trying to get the money from me again.  I faxed them all of the appropriate proof and was told it was taken care of.  Last week I was contacted by a collection agency trying to get me to pay this yet again.  I have made 13 calls to try and fix this and They tell me they sold the account and it is not their issue.  It is up to me to file a lengthy dispute.  I paid this account (which was in good standing) off early and look where it got me.  What a scam!   It has been 7 years of unacceptable customer service. 

more ...
Sep 03, 2015

I'd be VERY surprised if GE Money Bank hasn't taken this matter to civil court to further attempt to get money they've already been given. If so, it would show on this site. I went through this same thing, except it wasn't even me who did it, and I had to fight GE Money Bank/CASHE Inc. for about 4 years before I was free of all the damage done to my credit. Good luck. (And, I mean that... )

 
Nov 25, 2013
Bad at managing money????
Anonymous Cardholder

One comment stated that if anyone had problems that they were bad at managing their funds.  Really.  That is the only explaination you can give?  Let me enlighten you!  In 2005 I had a Care Credit account through GE Money Bank.  It was up to date and fine when my husband and I decided to get a loan to consolidate all of our debt.  In june 2006 our bank Cut a check to them for the total amount owed ($1161.68).  In 2007 they posted it on my credit as a charge off and started trying to get the money from me again.  I faxed them all of the appropriate proof and was told it was taken care of.  Last week I was contacted by a collection agency trying to get me to pay this yet again.  I have made 13 calls to try and fix this and They tell me they sold the account and it is not their issue.  It is up to me to file a lengthy dispute.  I paid this account (which was in good standing) off early and look where it got me.  What a scam!   It has been 7 years of unacceptable customer service. 

more ...
Jun 10, 2016

I am also showing that I had a GE Money Bank card (even though I have never heard of them) but like you, I consolidated and paid off all of my CC and now out of the clear blue sky this has been showing up on my credit report and I have never even heard of them. They say it is from 1998 and never showed up ;on my credit report until I DID get a credit card from Synchrony Bank.. No idea what is going on but my credit score went from 703 down to 678 because of this ...

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

GE Money Bank Credit Card