American Express Serve® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
34 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee See Terms*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable

Our Take

American Express is a Credit Karma partner

If you’re looking for a reliable prepaid card, the American Express Serve® is a solid option to consider.

What to Like

The American Express Serve® provides access to many of the same services as an American Express credit card, and comes with no credit check. You can also withdraw money without American Express fees at over 24,000 ATMs nationwide. Finally, the monthly fee is only $1 and is waived each month you Direct Deposit $500 or more.

Look Out For

The American Express Serve® is a prepaid card, not a credit card, and won’t be included on your credit reports. If you withdraw money from your card at a non-MoneyPass ATM, there is a $2.50 ATM fee in addition to any fees charged by the ATM’s operator. Cardholders also pay up to $3.95 each time they reload cash onto their cards at a retailer.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 04, 2013
So far, so good!
sarahnuss13 Cardholder

I've been using Serve for around a month now and I love it.  I use my bank card to automatically load money with absolutely no fees.  My husband and I use it as a special purchases type account, kind of like the envelope system but without cash.  Haven't had any problems so far and intend on keeping this for awhile. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 03, 2013
This card does not report credit
KingRoyston Cardholder

You cannot imporve your credit score by using this card as they do not report any of your activity to any of the main credit watchdogs.

I have held this card for 6mths and it has done my score no good whatsoever, the customer service etc.. is good but if you want a prepaid card to improve your credit score this is not for you, it is not possible!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 17, 2017
Not sure about the bad reviews...
Anonymous Cardholder

Not sure about the bad reviews, though the collective grammar, or lack there of, speaks volumes as to why they have difficulties. This card is awesome. You can reload it fee free from your checking account, or in person & it's accepted everywhere. Additionally, it doesn't have DEBIT stamped on it anywhere.

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Not sure about the bad reviews...
Anonymous Cardholder

Not sure about the bad reviews, though the collective grammar, or lack their of, speaks volumes as to why they have difficulties. This card is awesome. You can reload it fee free from your checking account, or in person & it's accepted everywhere. Additionally, it doesn't have DEBIT stamped on it anywhere.

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
poor overall service
Anonymous Cardholder

Off shore customer suppor with little or no comprehension or common sense. Fraudulent transactions are apparently higher then with most cards and they offer little more then rhetoric when you try to communicate,  reading from a script. Can take weeks to resolve fraud transactions.Look elsewhere

more ...
May 26, 2017
AMEX SERVE CARD
Anonymous Cardholder

Wow, just reading some of the 1 star complaints, I've been an AMEX Serve card holder for at least 2 years. Any problem I've had was resolve quickly which is why I don't understand why now it's a problem. I had an unauthorize use in the amount of about $200.00 and went thru the red tape they send you thru for an answer. I have copied and paste their answer to me...

"Recently you requested supporting information regarding transaction(s) on your American Express Prepaid Card. After further review, we have determined that there are no available documents to provide to you."

IF THAT'S NOT ENOUGH TO CONVINCE YOU NOT TO USE AMEX SERVE, IT MUST BE NICE TO GIVE YOUR MONEY AWAY!!!

more ...
May 11, 2017
Fraud protection is crap with amex
Anonymous Cardholder

If you have fraudulent charges this card companies customer service and fallow thru is terrible I'm cutting this card up when resolved

more ...
Apr 13, 2017
Great alternative to a traditional bank.
eightlegeddj Cardholder

I've been using this for years now instead of a traditional bank account. I went through a tough time financially and this was my only option. I have recovered but have no desire now to open a regular bank account. It's the best alternative over a prepaid debit card. I've got the active "checking" portion of my account and a reserve "savings" portion.  I just used online bill pay to pay all my bills.  There are literally no fees. No overdraft fees, no account maintenance. The only fee you might have is a charge for using an ATM. Everything about this has greatly improved since I opened my account, customer service, ATM availability, etc. AMEX has realized they are on to something and they have stepped up.  The only down side is I wish there were more atms to use for free. 

more ...
Apr 10, 2017
Easy
Anonymous Cardholder

  You dont get gauged.  I put my money on for free, I get rewards, the customer service is amazing, and compared to other cards I cant believe how easy this card is to own. 

more ...
Mar 29, 2017
Worst Card I've Ever Owned
MWATX Cardholder

I have an Serve card and I would give them zero stars for customer service. I've had this card for about three months and found it very difficult to use.  First, there tons of businesses that just don't accept Amex.  Second, I had a travel website double charge my card for a hotel reservation.  It was their mistake. I contacted Serve and they said there was nothing I could do but wait 7 days for the transaction to fall off of my account.  I was stuck traveling with no money in my account and Serve would do nothing about the unauthorized transaction.  I contacted the travel website who then got a Serve representative on the phone to clear it up and they still refused to do anything.  Using this as the account for my travel funds, I was stuck on a trip with no money. This card is worthless, this company is worthless and the customer service agents have zero power, knowledge or incentive to assist customers.  STAY AWAY FROM AMEX SERVE!!!!!!!

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
Theifs
Anonymous Cardholder

They steal your money and hold your money..the bad part is they really don't care and nothing you can do about it.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Convienent
Anonymous Cardholder

I like having this card very much. I deposit my paychecks each time using their app which lets me snap a photo of the check and it's available within a half hour and for a very reasonable fee. I find it easy to get ahold of a live customer service agent, easy to use the app and website, and very inexpensive to own. I use this card daily. Once, a few weeks ago, I had an instance of credit fraud where I had unauthorized charges on my card and the customer service agents were helpful and polite. I have read the "bad reviews" and have NOT experienced any of their various complaints which leads me to believe that they were being negative over perhaps their own poor choices and not wanting to take accountability. 

Anywho, I genuinely like Serve and have already referred two close friends to their service and they also are happy with their accounts. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

American Express Serve®