American Express Serve® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.6 out of 5 stars
13 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 11, 2019
Took 22 days to get card in mail useless
penrod1978 Cardholder

I filed my 2018 tax return online with Credit Karma on Feb. 11, 2019 because you were advertising that I would receive my return up to two days sooner if I chose to use the American Express card option for my federal return. My return was approved on Feb 22 by the IRS and at that time I still had not received my card in the mail. I was informed by American Express through email that my refund was in my account on Feb 24, 2019. I contacted American Express and they informed me that they would issue a new card to me and that I would receive it by today March 11, 2019. I did not receive it so I contacted them again and they are reissuing a new card that I won't receive until Monday March 18, 2019. This will be 22 days since it was placed into my American Express account which is not the advertised two days faster than I would have received it if I went through TurboTax. I am livid. Sure, the money is in an account that I can't access so I guess it was issued to an account in my name that I have no hope of using. I will never use this service again. I will be informing everyone that I know about this service and how absolutely ridiculous it is that I can't even access my own money. Just thought you should be aware of how useless this service has been to me.  

more ...
Mar 11, 2019
penrod1978 Cardholder

I filed my 2018 tax return online with Credit Karma on Feb. 11, 2019 because you were advertising that I would receive my return up to two days sooner if I chose to use the American Express card option for my federal return. My return was approved on Feb 22 by the IRS and at that time I still had not received my card in the mail. I was informed by American Express through email that my refund was in my account on Feb 24, 2019. I contacted American Express and they informed me that they would issue a new card to me and that I would receive it by today March 11, 2019. I did not receive it so I contacted them again and they are reissuing a new card that I won't receive until Monday March 18, 2019. This will be 22 days since it was placed into my American Express account which is not the advertised two days faster than I would have received it if I went through TurboTax. I am livid. Sure, the money is in an account that I can't access so I guess it was issued to an account in my name that I have no hope of using. I will never use this service again. I will be informing everyone that I know about this service and how absolutely ridiculous it is that I can't even access my own money. Just thought you should be aware of how useless this service has been to me.  

more ...
Mar 07, 2019
Pray on the poor
Gutterguy716 Cardholder

Customer service is horrible, they will fee you to death.

more ...
Feb 26, 2019
H O R R I B L E ! DO NOT APPLY
dontuseamex Cardholder

I thought American Express is a consistent banking company but after waiting over 10+ days for my physical card and it still has not come in the mail yet. 

more ...
Feb 24, 2019
HORRIBLE
Kimberly1116 Cardholder

 Worse experience I’ve EVER  had!!!  Customer service is NO help AT ALL!!!! I’ve been waiting for almost 3 weeks for a card, even ordered an expidited card which STILL takes a week! So my money sits in the account and I can not touch it till I have a card in my hand! ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS!!! Do not recommend at all!!! Once I receive this card I am pulling my money out and leaving. Very disappointed knowing this is through American Express and credit karma backs them up. I don’t Even want to put 1 star because they don’t even deserve that!

more ...
Feb 09, 2019
Garbage
travster Cardholder

I lost my card and reported it to get another one. They said it would arrive in 7-10 days, I have never received it. Had to buy another card and add $10 to it just to talk to a rep because the automated system didn't recognize my ss# and of course it didn't recognize my card number because they cancelled it when I reported it lost. Their CSR's are rude and one actually called me a liar when I told them the system didn't recognize my acct or SS#! RUDE, RUDE RUDE!

more ...
Nov 30, 2018
Bend over and take it.
OranDavis Cardholder

This card is terrible, I got it based on internet search and thought it was the best. After getting it I find that theres fees for everything. Im not longer a user.

more ...
Nov 29, 2018
Absolutely the worst!
brittybritt561 Cardholder

I purchased this card because I figured it would be a great way for my son to have some responsibilities. I added my direct deposit to this card temporarily while I was waiting for my Chase card to arrive. That was the worst mistake ever. I wish I would have read the reviews on this card before I did so the moment I typed in American Express Serve in Google the reviews were unbelievable but coincide with what was going on with me. I still haven't received my direct deposit and the customer service sucks. They will lie directly to your face and tell you what they feel you should here so that you don't become irate. I spoke with a supervisor and three different Representatives each one of them gave me a different answer finally realize that I was being lied to. This is really sad. I expected better from American Express. It's already a hassle that most retailers don't accept American Express but to go through the drama of having to call back every 2 hours to see if your direct deposit has come in is ridiculous. It is now another pay. And I still have not received my paycheck. I can't switch anything because their website is down. I'm thinking of taking legal actions soon I'm going to give it until tomorrow Friday.

more ...
Oct 26, 2018
They say they filedisputes for you but..
taylor11818 Cardholder

I tried to get cash from the atm and I didn't get my cash. Okay, well I call the atm's bank and they said I need to file a dispute with my bank. I call American Express and they say they are filing the dispute for me. I call the atm back and ask to speak to a supervisor who tells me that it shows in their system that I didn't recieve my cash. So I wait for American Express to finish the dispute thinking that I know I'm going to get my money back because even the atm shows I didn't get my money. The dispute comes back and guess what... American Express tells me the Atm's bank provided proof that I received the money. I then call American Express and they reopen the dispute. Immediately after I call the Atm's bank and they say that American Express NEVER sent them the dispute. How can a company lie like this??? Wtf!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 20, 2019

The same exact thing happened to my boyfriend. Filed a claim, we hade proof, and they denied it. Contacted atm company and they never was contacted by American Express and had proof that he infact did not receive money either. They are indeed some liars and crooks.

 
Aug 03, 2018
crooks
SimplySabs Cardholder

I called to dispute fraudulent charges from my card last week. They told me in 7-8 business days the money will be returned back onto the card. I called on the 8th day and another representative told me "no one put in the request" the last time I spoke to them. Now i'm being transferred 10 different times to 10 different people trying to figure out when I will get my money back. American Express and AMEX Serve you all should just eat **** and die. You have no idea how hard it is for Americans to make their money and you just sit there and avoid fraud on your customers accounts. Shame on you and I pray your business fails. **** all of you and go to hell.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

American Express Serve®