American Express Serve® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.1 out of 5 stars
15 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 28, 2019
Avoid!
waynemastersjr Cardholder

After successfully loading a large sum of money to my card today (Sunday, April 28, 2019), I then went to login to my account and was blocked. I called "customer care" who said my account was disabled, and needed to be reviewed by their compliance department, and I would receive an email from them in 1 to 2 business days. If there was a block on my account, why did AMEX allow the funds to be loaded! Terrible, unethical, NetSpend just got through a class action for the same reason! Avoid AMEX Serve at all costs!

more ...
Apr 25, 2019

They hold a refund for a week. It wasn’t my fault that the parts I needed for my were not available. I called, and Amina told me that there is nothing they can do to release the hold on my money. A hold wasn’t placed for 7 days when I paid for the items. 

more ...
Apr 24, 2019
American Express serve
MrsMoore2 Cardholder

Unable to ever get my card balance issued correctly.  Poor customer service.  Buyer beware!

more ...
Apr 13, 2019
They steal your money
BH2019 Cardholder

They steal your money and if you ever get a refund it takes them like a month to return the money to you and the customer service reps are extremely rude and unhelpful. They don't answer any questions and hang up on you when you get confused and want to speak to a supervisor, oh and don't ask for a manager they act like they don't know what that means and won't direct you to a supervisor because I'm convinced they all lack common sense.

more ...
Apr 09, 2019
Incompetent
Soothsayerman Cardholder

Stay far far away.  Really far away.  DO NOT open an account with these idiots.  They will **** it up at everyone opportunity in ways that you cannot even imagine were possible.  The absolute worst experience I have ever had from any financial institution.  You will lose money and time screwing with these people. 

Incredible.  I never give reviews but they were so bad, I had to say something.  These people should not be in business at all. 

more ...
Mar 11, 2019
Took 22 days to get card in mail useless
penrod1978 Cardholder

I filed my 2018 tax return online with Credit Karma on Feb. 11, 2019 because you were advertising that I would receive my return up to two days sooner if I chose to use the American Express card option for my federal return. My return was approved on Feb 22 by the IRS and at that time I still had not received my card in the mail. I was informed by American Express through email that my refund was in my account on Feb 24, 2019. I contacted American Express and they informed me that they would issue a new card to me and that I would receive it by today March 11, 2019. I did not receive it so I contacted them again and they are reissuing a new card that I won't receive until Monday March 18, 2019. This will be 22 days since it was placed into my American Express account which is not the advertised two days faster than I would have received it if I went through TurboTax. I am livid. Sure, the money is in an account that I can't access so I guess it was issued to an account in my name that I have no hope of using. I will never use this service again. I will be informing everyone that I know about this service and how absolutely ridiculous it is that I can't even access my own money. Just thought you should be aware of how useless this service has been to me.  

more ...
Mar 11, 2019
penrod1978 Cardholder

I filed my 2018 tax return online with Credit Karma on Feb. 11, 2019 because you were advertising that I would receive my return up to two days sooner if I chose to use the American Express card option for my federal return. My return was approved on Feb 22 by the IRS and at that time I still had not received my card in the mail. I was informed by American Express through email that my refund was in my account on Feb 24, 2019. I contacted American Express and they informed me that they would issue a new card to me and that I would receive it by today March 11, 2019. I did not receive it so I contacted them again and they are reissuing a new card that I won't receive until Monday March 18, 2019. This will be 22 days since it was placed into my American Express account which is not the advertised two days faster than I would have received it if I went through TurboTax. I am livid. Sure, the money is in an account that I can't access so I guess it was issued to an account in my name that I have no hope of using. I will never use this service again. I will be informing everyone that I know about this service and how absolutely ridiculous it is that I can't even access my own money. Just thought you should be aware of how useless this service has been to me.  

more ...
Mar 07, 2019
Pray on the poor
Gutterguy716 Cardholder

Customer service is horrible, they will fee you to death.

more ...
Feb 26, 2019
H O R R I B L E ! DO NOT APPLY
dontuseamex Cardholder

I thought American Express is a consistent banking company but after waiting over 10+ days for my physical card and it still has not come in the mail yet. 

more ...
Feb 24, 2019
HORRIBLE
Kimberly1116 Cardholder

 Worse experience I’ve EVER  had!!!  Customer service is NO help AT ALL!!!! I’ve been waiting for almost 3 weeks for a card, even ordered an expidited card which STILL takes a week! So my money sits in the account and I can not touch it till I have a card in my hand! ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS!!! Do not recommend at all!!! Once I receive this card I am pulling my money out and leaving. Very disappointed knowing this is through American Express and credit karma backs them up. I don’t Even want to put 1 star because they don’t even deserve that!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

American Express Serve®