Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

American Express Serve®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.8 out of 5 stars
43 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee See Terms*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable

Our Take

If you’re looking for a reliable prepaid card, the American Express Serve® is a solid option to consider.

What to Like

The American Express Serve® provides access to many of the same services as an American Express credit card, and comes with no credit check. You can also withdraw money without American Express fees at over 24,000 ATMs nationwide. Finally, the monthly fee is only $1 and is waived each month you Direct Deposit $500 or more.

Look Out For

The American Express Serve® is a prepaid card, not a credit card, and won’t be included on your credit reports. If you withdraw money from your card at a non-MoneyPass ATM, there is a $2.50 ATM fee in addition to any fees charged by the ATM’s operator. Cardholders also pay up to $3.95 each time they reload cash onto their cards at a retailer.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 29, 2016
Awesome
Anonymous Cardholder

Does everything a regular bank does without the exorbent fees. Love the ease in adding and transferring of funds. I have my pay direct deposited because I get it early. I then transfer bill money and savings and what's on yhe card is spending money

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 27, 2016
DO NOT use this card!
Anonymous Cardholder

I reported fraud when card was stolen and they sent a new card and then closed my acct citing 15d in there rules! I after two years misused it??? No they knew they had to credit me and did not want too! I've waited three weeks to get my MY funds from them. They could easily send immediately but no I have to wait on paper check! It's criminal! I'm filing with AG and Consumer fraud with FTC. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 04, 2016
NO FEE TO LOAD MONEY ONTO CARD
Anonymous Cardholder

I spent sooooooo much money in late fees with my previous prepaid cards this card does not require a fee to load money I have likely saved thousands of dollars and tell everyone how awesome it is. Thanks SERVE! :)

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Never went through but fees will pay
Anonymous Cardholder

I tried to set up an account, tried to add card. Never went through and requested me to call. No!!!! I hate calls. Then I thought I can leave it be. No!! I accidentally found that I have to pay $1 every month for "serve"---what's is that?????

more ...
Nov 19, 2016
American Express steals money from kids
Anonymous Cardholder

We received a $25 card for our daughter as a gift. She didn't use it right away, but when she tried, all the money was gone. Come to realize Amex steals their money back at a rate of $5.95 a month. This disclaimer is not on the package, so you have no way of knowing. It's not until opening the package that it states this on the back in relatively small print. American Express stole their money back. Super slimy!

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
Failing business
Alrubiay Cardholder

Amazon charged me automatically, I dispute they apologize and put money back , two weeks later serve closed my account for violation 15D what a joke , so because I dispute and transaction I didn't authorized you close my account that indirect deposit money to every month ?! Wow what a business?! Filing complain with Illinois financial transactions 

more ...
Oct 24, 2016
its just a card nothing great
Anonymous Cardholder

You will not get your pay 2 days early and alot of places will not take your card

more ...
Oct 17, 2016
buyers beware
Anonymous Cardholder

Their loyalty is too the merchant, consistenly I've had double charges, and had to wait 8 days to get it back...

more ...
Sep 06, 2016
Have used successfully for 2 years now
Anonymous Cardholder

My wife and I have used this card successfully for over 2 years now without any issues.  Everything has worked great.  We have have never had any trouble.

more ...
Aug 29, 2016
Awesome
Anonymous Cardholder

Does everything a regular bank does without the exorbent fees. Love the ease in adding and transferring of funds. I have my pay direct deposited because I get it early. I then transfer bill money and savings and what's on yhe card is spending money

more ...
Aug 29, 2016
Great
Gio6971 Cardholder

I've had this card for 2 yrs. Never had a problem. My fees are always waived. And i even rented a car in ny with this card. . No complaints. I recommend it.

more ...
Aug 27, 2016
Amazing, Awesome & Outstanding!
prazhm2698 Cardholder

This is truly that best card out there. There is absolutely no load and reload fee if filled at the participating locations. Also, google where to withdraw so you won't be charged. My direct deposit is always 4-6 day early. I love this card and have gotten so many people to get it. It's so simple to transfer money from your computer, cell phone ,tablet,etc. You don't have to leave your home also link it with you bank account and you can reload with no fee. It's the best best best card out. I absolutely love it!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

American Express Serve®