American Express Serve®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.1 out of 5 stars
38 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee See Terms*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable

Our Take

If you’re looking for a reliable prepaid card, the American Express Serve® is a solid option to consider.

What to Like

The American Express Serve® provides access to many of the same services as an American Express credit card, and comes with no credit check. You can also withdraw money without American Express fees at over 24,000 ATMs nationwide. Finally, the monthly fee is only $1 and is waived each month you Direct Deposit $500 or more.

Look Out For

The American Express Serve® is a prepaid card, not a credit card, and won’t be included on your credit reports. If you withdraw money from your card at a non-MoneyPass ATM, there is a $2.50 ATM fee in addition to any fees charged by the ATM’s operator. Cardholders also pay up to $3.95 each time they reload cash onto their cards at a retailer.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 29, 2016
Awesome
Anonymous Cardholder

Does everything a regular bank does without the exorbent fees. Love the ease in adding and transferring of funds. I have my pay direct deposited because I get it early. I then transfer bill money and savings and what's on yhe card is spending money

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 14, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is terrible no need to go into details , waste of time I did better going to get a prepaid card from ACE. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 29, 2017
Worst Card I've Ever Owned
MWATX Cardholder

I have an Serve card and I would give them zero stars for customer service. I've had this card for about three months and found it very difficult to use.  First, there tons of businesses that just don't accept Amex.  Second, I had a travel website double charge my card for a hotel reservation.  It was their mistake. I contacted Serve and they said there was nothing I could do but wait 7 days for the transaction to fall off of my account.  I was stuck traveling with no money in my account and Serve would do nothing about the unauthorized transaction.  I contacted the travel website who then got a Serve representative on the phone to clear it up and they still refused to do anything.  Using this as the account for my travel funds, I was stuck on a trip with no money. This card is worthless, this company is worthless and the customer service agents have zero power, knowledge or incentive to assist customers.  STAY AWAY FROM AMEX SERVE!!!!!!!

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
Theifs
Anonymous Cardholder

They steal your money and hold your money..the bad part is they really don't care and nothing you can do about it.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Convienent
Anonymous Cardholder

I like having this card very much. I deposit my paychecks each time using their app which lets me snap a photo of the check and it's available within a half hour and for a very reasonable fee. I find it easy to get ahold of a live customer service agent, easy to use the app and website, and very inexpensive to own. I use this card daily. Once, a few weeks ago, I had an instance of credit fraud where I had unauthorized charges on my card and the customer service agents were helpful and polite. I have read the "bad reviews" and have NOT experienced any of their various complaints which leads me to believe that they were being negative over perhaps their own poor choices and not wanting to take accountability. 

Anywho, I genuinely like Serve and have already referred two close friends to their service and they also are happy with their accounts. 

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Great card
ccmhale Cardholder

I have had this card for about a year now and I have not had any problems. My direct deposit shows up earlier than with a bank. In the bank I get my deposit on the 3rd unless it is a weekend or holiday. With American express I typically get my funds as early as the 28th. I always have the $1.00 fee waved for depositing over $500.00 a month. Very few retailers wont take the card but that is fine, I just go somewhere else. Keep your card on you and safe and there shouldn't be any problems. As for customer service, I had to call them once and it was a very plesent experience, I am legally deaf and the rep. spoke clear english.

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
Terrible for getting tax refund
Anonymous Cardholder

Delayed my refund by over a week. Ultimately I had to have my refund mailed because serve locked my card for no reason. If you don't register the temporary online you will never get your tax refund. Customer support is uninformed 

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
A ripoff
Anonymous Cardholder

At this current moment they have $800 of mine held by preuthorization charges although the vendor has been paid.

more ...
Dec 09, 2016
worst prepaid card out there
Anonymous Cardholder

The worst prepaid card to have!!! I had an unauthorized charge for 60.00 I submitted all paperwork to serve after over a month of calling their call center overseas they’re telling me it NEEDS more time for review n refuses to credit my account!!! And may I add that no one speaks clear English. I just cut my losses took my money elsewhere n cancelled closed account. Worst prepaid card out there Beware!!!

more ...
Dec 04, 2016
NO FEE TO LOAD MONEY ONTO CARD
Anonymous Cardholder

I spent sooooooo much money in late fees with my previous prepaid cards this card does not require a fee to load money I have likely saved thousands of dollars and tell everyone how awesome it is. Thanks SERVE! :)

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

American Express Serve®