American Express Serve® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.7 out of 5 stars
29 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee See Terms*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable

Our Take

If you’re looking for a reliable prepaid card, the American Express Serve® is a solid option to consider. 

What to Like 

The American Express Serve® provides access to many of the same services as an American Express credit card, and comes with no credit check. You can also withdraw money for free at over 24,000 MoneyPass® ATMs nationwide. Finally, the monthly fee is only $1 (no fee in TX, NY or VT) and is waived each month you Direct Deposit $500 or more. 

Look Out For 

The American Express Serve® is a prepaid card, not a credit card, and won’t be included on your credit reports. If you withdraw money from your card at a non-MoneyPass ATM, there is a $2.50 ATM fee in addition to any fees charged by the ATM’s operator. Cardholders also pay up to $3.95 each time they reload cash onto their cards at a retailer

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 07, 2017
As good as debit cards come.
Anonymous Cardholder

As long as one doesn't drain the balance of this card every month, one should have any difficulties. Unlike Accountnow which charges a monthly serve charge of $9.95 as well as w withdrawl fee whenever the card is used to pull cash or account is drawn upon directly by a creditor, I have had this card for the better part of two years and have yet to pay a single fee to maintain the account. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 08, 2017
poor overall service
Anonymous Cardholder

Off shore customer suppor with little or no comprehension or common sense. Fraudulent transactions are apparently higher then with most cards and they offer little more then rhetoric when you try to communicate,  reading from a script. Can take weeks to resolve fraud transactions.Look elsewhere

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 29, 2017
American Express Serve
Sbeckett1107 Cardholder

I currently have this card and I have had to get it replaced 5 times. There are only one thing I like about this card. I get my paycheck early. That is it. In the begining using it at a tm was free but now I am being charged at every atm I use. 

I am currently waiting on my 5th replacement card due to the fact that someone used it in Amsterdam which is weird because I had the card on my person as I tried to purchase groceries for my son and I. Long story short, as soon as I get it I will make sure my money is removed and I will close the card. 

It's not worth the headache.

more ...
Aug 29, 2017
Compares Very Favorably to other cards
Anonymous Cardholder

1. New customer (Green Amex Serve Card)
2. Card cost nothing to get and load at CVS.
3. Standard $4.95 per month (no monthly fees if you live in NY, VT or TX) with no cash reload fees, no purchase fees, no ATM fees at any ATM that is Moneypass,

more ...
Aug 26, 2017
Not bad
Anonymous Cardholder

This is a no fee reloadable card. You can add cash at several different merchants such as 7/11 or on the app via debit card. The minimum cash reload is $20. Beware their customer service they are not very helpful. $1 monthly fee waived if you load $500+ 

more ...
Aug 12, 2017
Worst card EVER!
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't get tricked into using this prepaid card, there customer service is horrible and completely lacking in any ethics. I had this card for two years used it without issue. I then had a charge on my card that I disputed and went thru MONTHS of trying to get my money back!!!! They still refuse to acknowledge their mistakes or refund the money then sent me a letter claiming "fraud" and permanently LOCKED THE CARD DOWN. Unreal!!! Joke of a business just a money maker for AMEX !! Do not USE!!

more ...
Aug 07, 2017
As good as debit cards come.
Anonymous Cardholder

As long as one doesn't drain the balance of this card every month, one should have any difficulties. Unlike Accountnow which charges a monthly serve charge of $9.95 as well as w withdrawl fee whenever the card is used to pull cash or account is drawn upon directly by a creditor, I have had this card for the better part of two years and have yet to pay a single fee to maintain the account. 

more ...
Jul 12, 2017
HORRIBLE!
Anonymous Cardholder

I was issued a refund from Walmart on 7/5/17.  I called American Express Serve the next day to find out when the refund would be returned to my card and was told 72 hours.  After 72 hours, I called back and was told the refund would be put back on my card in seven days.  I called this morning and was given two different answers (I had to call back because the call was 'disconnected.').  The first answer was I will receive my refund based on the time the refund was processed at Walmart.  Then I was told that I would receive my refund on the 15th (7/15/17) after it was processed, which was on 7/8/17.  Absolutely NOTHING about a consumer will receive a refund back to his/her card seven days after it has been processed by American Express Serve.  No one should have to call four times to have an issue resolved nor should a consumer receive four diffierent answers.  I thought AT&T had horrible customer service, but American Express Serve had AT&T beat by 10 miles!  I will NEVER EVER recommend American Express Serve to anyone nor will I use the card again!

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
It the best prepaid card on the market.
Anonymous Cardholder

There is no fee to the cardholder unless the cardholder is traveling out of states. I strongly suggest that individual desiring to use a prepaid card apply for one on line. It will be mailed to you free of charge..

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
No Fees to load accepted most places
Anonymous Cardholder

Any 7-11 will load Without fees and there everywhere. 

Easy form for direct deposit online.

Have had this card for 4 years without Any issues

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Not sure about the bad reviews...
Anonymous Cardholder

Not sure about the bad reviews, though the collective grammar, or lack there of, speaks volumes as to why they have difficulties. This card is awesome. You can reload it fee free from your checking account, or in person & it's accepted everywhere. Additionally, it doesn't have DEBIT stamped on it anywhere.

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Not sure about the bad reviews...
Anonymous Cardholder

Not sure about the bad reviews, though the collective grammar, or lack their of, speaks volumes as to why they have difficulties. This card is awesome. You can reload it fee free from your checking account, or in person & it's accepted everywhere. Additionally, it doesn't have DEBIT stamped on it anywhere.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

American Express Serve®