Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

American Express Serve®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.0 out of 5 stars
40 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 29, 2016
Awesome
Anonymous Cardholder

Does everything a regular bank does without the exorbent fees. Love the ease in adding and transferring of funds. I have my pay direct deposited because I get it early. I then transfer bill money and savings and what's on yhe card is spending money

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 27, 2016
DO NOT use this card!
Anonymous Cardholder

I reported fraud when card was stolen and they sent a new card and then closed my acct citing 15d in there rules! I after two years misused it??? No they knew they had to credit me and did not want too! I've waited three weeks to get my MY funds from them. They could easily send immediately but no I have to wait on paper check! It's criminal! I'm filing with AG and Consumer fraud with FTC. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 20, 2017
Great card
ccmhale Cardholder

I have had this card for about a year now and I have not had any problems. My direct deposit shows up earlier than with a bank. In the bank I get my deposit on the 3rd unless it is a weekend or holiday. With American express I typically get my funds as early as the 28th. I always have the $1.00 fee waved for depositing over $500.00 a month. Very few retailers wont take the card but that is fine, I just go somewhere else. Keep your card on you and safe and there shouldn't be any problems. As for customer service, I had to call them once and it was a very plesent experience, I am legally deaf and the rep. spoke clear english.

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
Terrible for getting tax refund
Anonymous Cardholder

Delayed my refund by over a week. Ultimately I had to have my refund mailed because serve locked my card for no reason. If you don't register the temporary online you will never get your tax refund. Customer support is uninformed 

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
A ripoff
Anonymous Cardholder

At this current moment they have $800 of mine held by preuthorization charges although the vendor has been paid.

more ...
Dec 09, 2016
worst prepaid card out there
Anonymous Cardholder

The worst prepaid card to have!!! I had an unauthorized charge for 60.00 I submitted all paperwork to serve after over a month of calling their call center overseas they’re telling me it NEEDS more time for review n refuses to credit my account!!! And may I add that no one speaks clear English. I just cut my losses took my money elsewhere n cancelled closed account. Worst prepaid card out there Beware!!!

more ...
Dec 04, 2016
NO FEE TO LOAD MONEY ONTO CARD
Anonymous Cardholder

I spent sooooooo much money in late fees with my previous prepaid cards this card does not require a fee to load money I have likely saved thousands of dollars and tell everyone how awesome it is. Thanks SERVE! :)

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Never went through but fees will pay
Anonymous Cardholder

I tried to set up an account, tried to add card. Never went through and requested me to call. No!!!! I hate calls. Then I thought I can leave it be. No!! I accidentally found that I have to pay $1 every month for "serve"---what's is that?????

more ...
Nov 19, 2016
American Express steals money from kids
Anonymous Cardholder

We received a $25 card for our daughter as a gift. She didn't use it right away, but when she tried, all the money was gone. Come to realize Amex steals their money back at a rate of $5.95 a month. This disclaimer is not on the package, so you have no way of knowing. It's not until opening the package that it states this on the back in relatively small print. American Express stole their money back. Super slimy!

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
Failing business
Alrubiay Cardholder

Amazon charged me automatically, I dispute they apologize and put money back , two weeks later serve closed my account for violation 15D what a joke , so because I dispute and transaction I didn't authorized you close my account that indirect deposit money to every month ?! Wow what a business?! Filing complain with Illinois financial transactions 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

American Express Serve®