Green Dot primor® Visa® Gold Secured Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.5 out of 5 stars
63 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $49
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 9.99%
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 03, 2018
60 point boost in a week!
Stelly18 Cardholder

No credit pull. Reported to my credit before I even got the card. Got me in range to get a capital one and discover secured card. Within in three months I’m at a 660 Fico and just got a 900$ Walmart and an old navy card. Also got approved for an Avant credit card totally unsecured. 

This is card Gabe me the boost I needed to get credit again. I threw it in a drawer and I’ll cancel it on the 11th month before the $29 fee gets charged. I’m super grateful for this card and the ease of the process. 

If ur dependent on this card to live you’re not ready to rebuild your credit. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 30, 2018
The absolute worst!!!
Earick123654 Cardholder

I made a deposit of $500, they told me they mad a mistake and recivieved it as a payment and I would have to wait 10 more days on top of the 3 I already waited, I told them to close the account and now I have to wait 30 days fo a refund. Stay away from them trust me

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 30, 2018
NO EMV CHIP? Non existent Cust. Service
TCaps Cardholder

Can't get through to anyone live at any number posted. NO EMV CHIP has me very concerned. Wanted to increase balance, but doesn't seem safe without chip. Going to get a secured card through a bigger bank and then cancel this one. Hopefully deposit funds will be returned timely. Too many recent bad reviews.

more ...
Nov 27, 2018
Great card so far
YasmineC3 Cardholder

Like this card but I wish it would update on credit when I paid it off , 

more ...
Nov 24, 2018
terrible
joesmooo Cardholder

do not apply for this card unless you have money to waste.  customer service is horrible and i honestly have never had customer service issues with anything ive bought or needed help with. i canceled the card within a month due to what they said was a fraud block. i needed to put gas in my truck and was almost left stranded.  they said my remaining funds will be sent my check in the mail within4-8weeks.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 07, 2018

Please help me. I'm trying to get customer service and I can't get no one with the numbers I have

 
Nov 13, 2018
Company is a joke, avoid at all costs
Joeclark2107 Cardholder

$20 in payment processing fees to make your payment each month.

more ...
Nov 10, 2018
Will ruin your credit.
Kellein Cardholder

I applied for this card because credit karma highly recommended it.   After waiting over a month to receive it, I activated it and used it one time.   I then spent another month trying to pay for the purchase and $49 fee, but to no avail.   It wouldn’t allow me to pay online, it said my info didn’t match when I tried to pay by phone, THEN it wouldn’t even give me the option to pay by phone, only to mail a check to Texas.  Calls to the NJ number have not been returned as of yet.  Looks like I’m out $300, plus whatever fees they add on AND they’ve f’d my credit up.   I was into the 700s, now I’m in the 500s...  thanks credit karma.....  great recommendation.  

more ...
Nov 21, 2018

Look , you say your score was into the 700's. Maybe that's true , but if the best you can do is a secured card from green dot , your credit was already f' ed up

 
Dec 07, 2018

WOW!!! Thank you sooo much for this review!!! 👍

 
Dec 11, 2018

Going for a secured card when credit is in the 700's ???? Wow. Um... Sure... Why not. Good luck buddy. (Thinks we are dumb as rocks)

 
Nov 08, 2018
Horrible service not customer friendly f
Jorgeruiz1 Cardholder

Their system is totally outdated, no such thing as easy payments, they want you to verify your bank account everytime you make a payment. I gave them 2000 to secure the account. Cannot use card over seas, traveling anywhere is a nightmare for approvals - they will not approve out of your area. Noone available after 5 pm if you have an emergency or on weekends. After 3 months i closed the account

more ...
Oct 26, 2018
Helpful but frustrating
dsarg4272 Cardholder

A lot of people are saying it boosted their credit quickly...that is true--my scores went up between 70-80 points very quickly (within 2 months). I was then able to qualify for unsecured cards with higher limits. However, after a few months I paid off the balance and closed the card (no longer needed $600 tied up). It's been about 6 or 7 weeks since I closed the account and I'm still waiting for my money back. The card will definately help re-build your credit but don't send them any money you might need later. It will take forever to get it back.

more ...
Oct 13, 2018
HORRIBLE
StephenTX Cardholder

Customer service is only open Mon-Fri, and they’re rude.  You have to submit a bank statement to them when you make a payment to show that it’s from your bank account and it takes forever to load the funds to your card.  They say they emailed things to you, but they don’t.  And they don’t have an app to track your account.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 20, 2018

How can I get in touch with someone cause I applied and sent my money and haven't heard anything yet or received my card. Call the number that I got off Google but noone to talk to

 
Oct 11, 2018
Excellent way to build credit quickly
FearlessMark Cardholder

This card was a blessing. Had card since June 2018 and it boostes my score already by 100 pts. It opened the doors for new opportunities that I am approved for. Customer service is a 3

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Green Dot primor® Visa® Gold Secured Credit Card