primor® Secured Visa Gold Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.4 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $49
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 9.99%*

Our Take

The primor® Secured Visa Gold Card is a solid option for people with limited or no credit history who want to build their credit.

What to Like

It’s a secured credit card, meaning people with limited or no credit history can still get approved. The card also has a relatively low APR on purchases, and reports to all three credit bureaus.

Look Out For

Because the card is secured, you’ll have to pay a security deposit equal to the size of your credit line. There’s also a $49 annual fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 25, 2016
Not bad but $49 annual fee eeeeew!!!
hawthorneboi Cardholder

This is not a bad card for rebuilding credit. It is not with any of the big banks so the structure for normal activity i.e bill pay can be a little tricky just go to the link at the bottom to make the payment and you will be fine. I applied for the card back in Dec 15 with $300 with a high 500 TU the good thing about thios card though is they DO NOT CHECK CREDIT!! If you have $100 after al your bills are paid you are approved and there is no hard inquiry. I love the fact that the intrest rate is only 9.99% the best intrest rate of ANY secured card however as I became for familiar with the credit game I cancelled the card. I now have a cap 1 qs 1 $500cl limit cap 1 platinum $500cl AMEX everyday blue cash $1200cl FNBOmaha Plat Visa $1500 and a AMEX everday $5000cl. I have cancelled the card just recently now watiing on the $500 they owe me. I recommend this card to build credit and remeber to pay that balance to below 20% around the statement cut date.

https://www.primorcredit.com/MakePayment/ApplyStepOne.aspx

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 19, 2016
Don't Use At The Pump
ScoreRaiser Cardholder

I used my card at the pump and a $75 hold was placed on funds.  Okay, no problem...  But they stay held until your next statement (according to customer service)...  That hold ended up disappearing somewhere and was never credited back to my account.  Lesson learned I suppose.  I'll never pay at the pump again. 

I pay the card off every month and I don't carry a balance. 

I read all the bad reviews now (after I already have the card) and, frankly, it concerns me.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 19, 2017
Not the greatest
kosheban Cardholder

I've had this card for a few years now- with two separate sites for checking your account history/transactions and making online payments, it gets a little confusing and becomes a hassel every month. Customer service has been unhelpful and unfriendly and the yearly fee is completely outrageous. I would close this card today if it wouldn't affect my credit score. If you're looking for a good, RELIABLE, easy to use secured card (and one that will increase your limit WITHOUT you depositing more money) go with CapitalOne- in addition to being easy to use, the card comes with plenty of benefits including free credit score tracking etc. FirstChoice/Primor/Berkshire is the WORST. 

more ...
Mar 05, 2017
DON'T BELIEVE THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS!
redflag777 Cardholder

'When you read these reviews you cant help but to shake your head sometimes. Like the person who said they had the card for 3 months and the card made their credit worse. These people always make it a point to tell you to sign up with another credit card bank like capital one. First off Cap1 cant come close to this rate of 9.99% fixed. Thats enough to get the card on its own. The other complaint they had is about the reporting time. All banks report once a month. These reviews are cooked and these folks giving these reviews probably get paid to trash primor who is now berkshire bank. 

Finally a bank to look after the little guy. They dont believe in screwing people with bad or no credit.  once again, a fixed 9.99% rate with bad or no credit because EVERYBODY IS APPROVED.  THIS CARD HELPED ME GO FROM A 498 TO A 639 IN LESS THAN A YEAR.

more ...
Mar 02, 2017
Don't do it, hurts your credit
Desirez Cardholder

I've had this card for more than 3 months and it has hurt my credit for 2 of the 3 months. They do not have a set or standard reporting date although the customer service reps lie and advise that they do. You are then told they report only once which again is a lie they can report as many times as they'd like. And it takes up to 30 days for them to fix their own errors. Just take my word this bank which is no long first choice its now bershire bank is horrible and the cutomer service persons are trained omit information that can be detrimental to your credit building. Stick with Open Skyy or Capitl One stay away from this card or beware you will regret it. Oh, once you close the card it take 60 days to receive your refund although it takes them less than a week to take your money to open the account.

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
Bad sign-up process and online tools
Krylez Cardholder

The sign-up process was cumbersome compared to other secured cards. I actually wound up having to wait for the card to arrive before I could make the initial deposit. On one hand, the APR is better than any other secured card. On the other hand, the yearly fee is worse than any other secured card.

The online tools for viewing transactions and payments are just aweful. It's hard to view your transactions and payments. It's also difficult to know what your current available credit is. The account summary will often show a number ver different from the statement page.

Bottom line: there are much better options in this category. Avoid this card.

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
not worth it
Parkertx Cardholder

I had this card and paid on time for over 6 months and didn't see any positive outcome towards my credit! I do not recommend! 

more ...
Dec 15, 2016
The best cc i have ever had
Anonymous Cardholder

Superb customer service and they answer the phone when you call with little to no hilding time.  The staff are polite and courteous.  This is a great card for running your credit limit as you wish, it is a secured card,  however you can increase your credit limit at anytime online and with another credit card,  also payments can be made online with no fee and credit available the next day if you pay with a credit or debit card.   Very pleased and i am happy to be a customer

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 24, 2017

Liar

 
Dec 08, 2016
The worst card I have ever owned!

Do yourself a favor right now and do NOT apply for this card!  This is a prepaid card with a HUGE annual fee!  There is ZERO chance in the future of this card turning into an actual credit card where you can earn credit limit increases based on payment history, even though it is advertised as such!  Of course...if you do cancel the card, it DINGS your credit score, which is an absolute FARSE!  Bank and customer service based out of New Jersey...good luck getting ahold of someone if you ever need to.  The security on this card is suspect as someone hacked my account.  When I received a call from their fraud department it was a machine and instead of talking to someone right away I had to hold for 20 minutes, just to tell them I did not occur charges!

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
So far so good!
lawnshark04 Cardholder

I've had this card for a month, no problems at all so far. My credit scores all jumped about 70-80 points. Based on $300 credit line. I was a little worried trying this company, but glad I did so far...., 

more ...
Oct 29, 2016
suck
Anonymous Cardholder

if you don't like this credit card, you need to wait 7 week for the cancellation.....

more ...
Aug 25, 2016
Not bad but $49 annual fee eeeeew!!!
hawthorneboi Cardholder

This is not a bad card for rebuilding credit. It is not with any of the big banks so the structure for normal activity i.e bill pay can be a little tricky just go to the link at the bottom to make the payment and you will be fine. I applied for the card back in Dec 15 with $300 with a high 500 TU the good thing about thios card though is they DO NOT CHECK CREDIT!! If you have $100 after al your bills are paid you are approved and there is no hard inquiry. I love the fact that the intrest rate is only 9.99% the best intrest rate of ANY secured card however as I became for familiar with the credit game I cancelled the card. I now have a cap 1 qs 1 $500cl limit cap 1 platinum $500cl AMEX everyday blue cash $1200cl FNBOmaha Plat Visa $1500 and a AMEX everday $5000cl. I have cancelled the card just recently now watiing on the $500 they owe me. I recommend this card to build credit and remeber to pay that balance to below 20% around the statement cut date.

https://www.primorcredit.com/MakePayment/ApplyStepOne.aspx

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

primor® Secured Visa Gold Card