Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

primor® Secured Visa Gold Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
17 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $49
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 9.99%*

Our Take

The primor® Secured Visa Gold Card is a solid option for people with limited or no credit history who want to build their credit.

What to Like

It’s a secured credit card, meaning people with limited or no credit history can still get approved. The card also has a relatively low APR on purchases, and reports to all three credit bureaus.

Look Out For

Because the card is secured, you’ll have to pay a security deposit equal to the size of your credit line. There’s also a $49 annual fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 13, 2016
Perfect for rebuilding and establishing
paycarefulattention Cardholder

I don't understand all the negative reviews.  I have had this card since Nov 2014.  The application process was extremely simple and fast.  I was approved, deposited the funds and had my card within 7 days.   I have never had to wait 14 days for payments to process, maybe 7 days but as of late, my payments are available within a few days.   Listen folks, they have to make sure the money you are paying actually clears your bank. Remember, if we weren't sub prime account holders then maybe it would post same day.  It doesn't matter that they have a secutiry deposit. Just like a landlord, who also has a security depost, won't allow you to be late with your rent.  I have NEVER had a problem with this bank.  You can even add funds to your account to increase your line of credit which I also have done with no problems.  I haven't had to speak with any customer service reps so I can't comment on that aspect.  Sure, you can't convert to a secured card with this bank but that is stated up front.  I look at it as if I have another savings account somewhere that I can't touch.   People need to read the terms and conditions of any card - read all the fine print before applying and you won't have any surprises.   Do not use more than 30% utilization! Of course if there is an emergency you may have no choice but pay it down as fast as you can.  Your credit score will drop if your utilization is high.  If your a member of Credit Karma you should have learned that in the first few weeks of reading.  My credit score rose 60 points within the first few months of having this card and 100 points within a year.   It continues to rise as I take good care of my credit and spending habits, somthing I didn't do when I was younger. Another thing, before applying with a company read reviews as much as you can and not just this website, all over there are reviews on every credit card company.  As I stated above it is very important to take the time to read the terms and conditions.  I hear too often people claiming they were never told something, meanwhile they check the box stating they read the terms and conditions where that certain "something" was stated.   That section contains all the information you need to know about the rules of their game.  I wish everyone the best on rebuilding or establishing credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 19, 2016
Don't Use At The Pump
ScoreRaiser Cardholder

I used my card at the pump and a $75 hold was placed on funds.  Okay, no problem...  But they stay held until your next statement (according to customer service)...  That hold ended up disappearing somewhere and was never credited back to my account.  Lesson learned I suppose.  I'll never pay at the pump again. 

I pay the card off every month and I don't carry a balance. 

I read all the bad reviews now (after I already have the card) and, frankly, it concerns me.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 15, 2016
The best cc i have ever had
Anonymous Cardholder

Superb customer service and they answer the phone when you call with little to no hilding time.  The staff are polite and courteous.  This is a great card for running your credit limit as you wish, it is a secured card,  however you can increase your credit limit at anytime online and with another credit card,  also payments can be made online with no fee and credit available the next day if you pay with a credit or debit card.   Very pleased and i am happy to be a customer

more ...
Dec 08, 2016
The worst card I have ever owned!

Do yourself a favor right now and do NOT apply for this card!  This is a prepaid card with a HUGE annual fee!  There is ZERO chance in the future of this card turning into an actual credit card where you can earn credit limit increases based on payment history, even though it is advertised as such!  Of course...if you do cancel the card, it DINGS your credit score, which is an absolute FARSE!  Bank and customer service based out of New Jersey...good luck getting ahold of someone if you ever need to.  The security on this card is suspect as someone hacked my account.  When I received a call from their fraud department it was a machine and instead of talking to someone right away I had to hold for 20 minutes, just to tell them I did not occur charges!

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
So far so good!
lawnshark04 Cardholder

I've had this card for a month, no problems at all so far. My credit scores all jumped about 70-80 points. Based on $300 credit line. I was a little worried trying this company, but glad I did so far...., 

more ...
Oct 29, 2016
suck
Anonymous Cardholder

if you don't like this credit card, you need to wait 7 week for the cancellation.....

more ...
Aug 25, 2016
Not bad but $49 annual fee eeeeew!!!
hawthorneboi Cardholder

This is not a bad card for rebuilding credit. It is not with any of the big banks so the structure for normal activity i.e bill pay can be a little tricky just go to the link at the bottom to make the payment and you will be fine. I applied for the card back in Dec 15 with $300 with a high 500 TU the good thing about thios card though is they DO NOT CHECK CREDIT!! If you have $100 after al your bills are paid you are approved and there is no hard inquiry. I love the fact that the intrest rate is only 9.99% the best intrest rate of ANY secured card however as I became for familiar with the credit game I cancelled the card. I now have a cap 1 qs 1 $500cl limit cap 1 platinum $500cl AMEX everyday blue cash $1200cl FNBOmaha Plat Visa $1500 and a AMEX everday $5000cl. I have cancelled the card just recently now watiing on the $500 they owe me. I recommend this card to build credit and remeber to pay that balance to below 20% around the statement cut date.

https://www.primorcredit.com/MakePayment/ApplyStepOne.aspx

more ...
Jul 19, 2016
Don't Use At The Pump
ScoreRaiser Cardholder

I used my card at the pump and a $75 hold was placed on funds.  Okay, no problem...  But they stay held until your next statement (according to customer service)...  That hold ended up disappearing somewhere and was never credited back to my account.  Lesson learned I suppose.  I'll never pay at the pump again. 

I pay the card off every month and I don't carry a balance. 

I read all the bad reviews now (after I already have the card) and, frankly, it concerns me.  

more ...
Jul 13, 2016
BY FAR THE WORST CREDITCARD EVER
Anonymous Cardholder

Absolutely the worst customer sevice I've ever exerienced....they act You owe them something...Scam Alert!!!!

more ...
Jul 13, 2016
kesha2015 Cardholder

I love this card it's easy to use and my payments post the same day but my balance in 3 to 4 days and it report very good. I pay my balance down to 5 dollars every month and my credit increase 20 to 30 points every month with my usage being 10 percent with both my cards and I have a lot of baddies on my credit I'm working on.

more ...
Jun 21, 2016
clerd06 Cardholder

I had poor credit, got this card along with 2 more, first access and citi, all pre paid.

this one is easy online access to pay and report good, also, if paid off is no interest, by now is great for me.

something else, you can race your own credit limit, I race $100 every month, so it report to credit bureau, that is done in primorcredit.com

more ...
Jun 17, 2016
snotcrotch Cardholder

This card is good for ppl with bad to no credit. Has low interest rates and everything post pretty fast. I made a payment online with my debit card on Wednesday night at 9pm. It posted Friday morning. The slow payment processing is when you set up a bank draft with them. Drafts take several days to process. Good luck to all.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 19, 2016

I like this card,low intrest 9.99%made my first payment with a differant debit card on a friday and it was on the credit card the next day Saturday.And you can actualy sppek to a person.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

primor® Secured Visa Gold Card