primor® Secured Visa Gold Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.0 out of 5 stars
19 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $49
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 9.99%*

Our Take

The primor® Secured Visa Gold Card is a solid option for people with limited or no credit history who want to build their credit.

What to Like

It’s a secured credit card, meaning people with limited or no credit history can still get approved. The card also has a relatively low APR on purchases, and reports to all three credit bureaus.

Look Out For

Because the card is secured, you’ll have to pay a security deposit equal to the size of your credit line. There’s also a $49 annual fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 13, 2016
Perfect for rebuilding and establishing
paycarefulattention Cardholder

I don't understand all the negative reviews.  I have had this card since Nov 2014.  The application process was extremely simple and fast.  I was approved, deposited the funds and had my card within 7 days.   I have never had to wait 14 days for payments to process, maybe 7 days but as of late, my payments are available within a few days.   Listen folks, they have to make sure the money you are paying actually clears your bank. Remember, if we weren't sub prime account holders then maybe it would post same day.  It doesn't matter that they have a secutiry deposit. Just like a landlord, who also has a security depost, won't allow you to be late with your rent.  I have NEVER had a problem with this bank.  You can even add funds to your account to increase your line of credit which I also have done with no problems.  I haven't had to speak with any customer service reps so I can't comment on that aspect.  Sure, you can't convert to a secured card with this bank but that is stated up front.  I look at it as if I have another savings account somewhere that I can't touch.   People need to read the terms and conditions of any card - read all the fine print before applying and you won't have any surprises.   Do not use more than 30% utilization! Of course if there is an emergency you may have no choice but pay it down as fast as you can.  Your credit score will drop if your utilization is high.  If your a member of Credit Karma you should have learned that in the first few weeks of reading.  My credit score rose 60 points within the first few months of having this card and 100 points within a year.   It continues to rise as I take good care of my credit and spending habits, somthing I didn't do when I was younger. Another thing, before applying with a company read reviews as much as you can and not just this website, all over there are reviews on every credit card company.  As I stated above it is very important to take the time to read the terms and conditions.  I hear too often people claiming they were never told something, meanwhile they check the box stating they read the terms and conditions where that certain "something" was stated.   That section contains all the information you need to know about the rules of their game.  I wish everyone the best on rebuilding or establishing credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 08, 2015
Don't Do It, Bad Company
Minnesotacredit Cardholder

I always kept this card paid in full and canceled this account after receiving better cards. They sometime wait 3 weeks after receiving my payment to post it. I avoided late payments by paying the balance right when it posted and still the payments were processed after over 21 days at times. That is ridiculous and can damage credit. After canceling my account I was told it will be 10 weeks before I receive my deposit back that seems excessive. After canceling this account my credit score lost any gains it had from the account. Overall I would not recommend this card. Go with a secured discover card with no annual fee and that will turn unsecured in 1 year, that’s what I did.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 21, 2017
Rebuilds your credit slowly
Albertsgirl28 Cardholder

I have had this card since April 2015. My credit was very poor and I started with the $300 deposit. My deposit/ limit is now close to $1000 and they are faithful reporters of the increases. 
Pay with their "fast pay" website (I made that name up) and payments are posted within 1 buisness day and there is no fee. 

Use this card faithfully and then pay it off monthly, completely and early or on time! 

They have recently chagned the name to Berkshire Bank but other than that I have not seen any changes. 

Yes- the interest can be high and you have an annual fee. 

That's because this is for people that have made credit mistakes. 

Pay for the mistakes and re-build with this card- you will not regret it. 

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
#####
Anonymous Cardholder

I had this card for a year no credit increase. I pay on time and now since its Berkley Bank it haven't been reported to increase my credit score since October of 2016. I had good reports in the first few months. I guess I was one that fell through the cracks. I called so many times and still nothing has been done. I'm with capitol one and so far i'm pleased. It probably works for someone else. Mine wasn't the case.

more ...
Apr 23, 2017
Life changing
Anonymous Cardholder

I don't understand the bad reviews. I have 2 cards with them , before credit was in 400's now I'm deeply in the 800's . Great card , great company , everything been real smooth . Pay every month b4 the actually date & always stay under 30% & life should go it's way. I'm only 22 with more them a 800 + score.

more ...
Apr 15, 2017
Too Risky
juliastephanie Cardholder

I read these negative reviews and will not even consider it as a result! The whole selling point was to have lower % but sounds like it's better to pay for better services and no hassles. Capital One has helped me effortlessly to return stolen funds through a scam within 7 - 10 days last year. I'd hate to give up services that good for something that could actually harm my credit - which went from 325 to over 600 in under 2 years now! Knowledge is power folks. Keep sharing it! Thanks

Never owned it or applied but don't have the choice up here to say so in order to send my review!

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
Does the job!
Happygal0891 Cardholder

In May of 2016, my score was in the 450's. I opened a Harbor One secured card through my bank and when I saw my score had increased 104 points in 5 months I decided to try for another secured card. The Primor card has been fine. No issues. Hassle free. I pay my bill online way before it's due. I keep my utilization rate very low...under 10%. My score is now in the 620's. It's going slow because I have some past unpaid debt on my credit report, but I'm very pleased that the secured cards helped increase my credit over 170 points in less than a year. Customer service is good. I def recommend this card.

more ...
Apr 03, 2017
its ok dont really like secured cards
Anonymous Cardholder

I like how it improves your credit score but i dislike having a secured card because your just using money you put on it. 

more ...
Mar 19, 2017
Not the greatest
kosheban Cardholder

I've had this card for a few years now- with two separate sites for checking your account history/transactions and making online payments, it gets a little confusing and becomes a hassel every month. Customer service has been unhelpful and unfriendly and the yearly fee is completely outrageous. I would close this card today if it wouldn't affect my credit score. If you're looking for a good, RELIABLE, easy to use secured card (and one that will increase your limit WITHOUT you depositing more money) go with CapitalOne- in addition to being easy to use, the card comes with plenty of benefits including free credit score tracking etc. FirstChoice/Primor/Berkshire is the WORST. 

more ...
Mar 05, 2017
DON'T BELIEVE THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS!
redflag777 Cardholder

'When you read these reviews you cant help but to shake your head sometimes. Like the person who said they had the card for 3 months and the card made their credit worse. These people always make it a point to tell you to sign up with another credit card bank like capital one. First off Cap1 cant come close to this rate of 9.99% fixed. Thats enough to get the card on its own. The other complaint they had is about the reporting time. All banks report once a month. These reviews are cooked and these folks giving these reviews probably get paid to trash primor who is now berkshire bank. 

Finally a bank to look after the little guy. They dont believe in screwing people with bad or no credit.  once again, a fixed 9.99% rate with bad or no credit because EVERYBODY IS APPROVED.  THIS CARD HELPED ME GO FROM A 498 TO A 639 IN LESS THAN A YEAR.

more ...
Mar 02, 2017
Don't do it, hurts your credit
Desirez Cardholder

I've had this card for more than 3 months and it has hurt my credit for 2 of the 3 months. They do not have a set or standard reporting date although the customer service reps lie and advise that they do. You are then told they report only once which again is a lie they can report as many times as they'd like. And it takes up to 30 days for them to fix their own errors. Just take my word this bank which is no long first choice its now bershire bank is horrible and the cutomer service persons are trained omit information that can be detrimental to your credit building. Stick with Open Skyy or Capitl One stay away from this card or beware you will regret it. Oh, once you close the card it take 60 days to receive your refund although it takes them less than a week to take your money to open the account.

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
Bad sign-up process and online tools
Krylez Cardholder

The sign-up process was cumbersome compared to other secured cards. I actually wound up having to wait for the card to arrive before I could make the initial deposit. On one hand, the APR is better than any other secured card. On the other hand, the yearly fee is worse than any other secured card.

The online tools for viewing transactions and payments are just aweful. It's hard to view your transactions and payments. It's also difficult to know what your current available credit is. The account summary will often show a number ver different from the statement page.

Bottom line: there are much better options in this category. Avoid this card.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

primor® Secured Visa Gold Card