Green Dot primor® Visa® Gold Secured Credit Card Reviews

Green Dot primor® Visa® Gold Secured Credit Card Reviews
2.3 out of 5 stars
57 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $49
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 9.99%
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 02, 2019
Simple and Easy to obtain Credit Card.
Mikky76 Cardholder

I got my card in the mail within 5 business days after my approval. I activated the card easily with no hassles. Since then, I have used it to pay bills online, purchased gas, and fast food. I am happy with my Green Dot Primor card so far.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 29, 2019
smith630 Cardholder

I had a secured card everything was going great until I had a dispute on my account. I provided them with all the information they requested the dispute was opened and closed several times over several months. I would call almost weekly to check on updates abs my story stayed the same. I was fed up and asked them to close my account at this point they denied the dispute even after information was given and it was my money invested. They are saying I owe the balance and I’ll get the difference of what was charged on my card for unauthorized payments. DO NOT USE them. I’ve never been late nor had any troubles til they decided to play with MY invested money. Go else where you will not be taken care of in the end.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 23, 2019
Wabdallah6 Cardholder

Wrong higher balance was reported on my credit , caused my score to drop . Customer service was no help . I wish I had never applied, bad investment. 

more ...
Dec 12, 2019
TERRIBLE / NIGHTMARE
CARDHOLDE1 Cardholder

DO NOT APPLY FOR THIS CARD, IMPOSSIBLE TO REACH THEM , EVERY TIME YOU MAKE A PAYMENT THEY ASK FOR YOUR BANK STATEMENT , WHICH TAKES MORE THAN 2 WEEKS TO VERIFY THE PAYMENT ... ITS ALL COMPLICATED , DO NOT APLLY !!! DO NOT APPLY !!! 

more ...
Nov 22, 2019
Shady
mavftw Cardholder

Had the card for maybe 2 months, paid off whatave i spent on it with couple days both times i used it. They closed the account out of nowhere haveing me take 70 point hit on my credit when i got it to help improve my credit not make it worse. So essentially they robbed me of the 200 i spent to open.

more ...
Nov 21, 2019
It works for now
cyatsko2179 Cardholder

I'm using it to raise my credit, which since I've started using this card (and self lender which is a reverse loan) I've raised my score from a 507 to 613 in 6 months.. will put you up 20-40 pts just for opening the credit line and as long as you keep the utilization down it will raise your score (but so will every other secured card)

more ...
Nov 12, 2019
Horrible
Glop3z13 Cardholder

When I paid my credit card off they wanted me to send all my bank statement information in order to credit my payment. There is no way to get ahold of customer service. I don't even know why credit karma offers this credit card it's a way to make the person not improve their credit.

more ...
Nov 09, 2019
Haven't gotten it yet...

For all the folks who say they didn't receive any mail from Green Dot : that's because you agreed to communicate using email when you applied
For all the folks saying you didn't get an email : check your spam folder. Gmail put mine in there and I've already gotten two emails before I got the card.
So far, so good!

more ...
Oct 16, 2019
This card give me a chance
Kendog52 Cardholder

It will Rise your credit score and remember keep your balance between 10 per cent and also pay on time

more ...
Sep 30, 2019
Lmbra Cardholder

The website to make payments is the worst. I constantly get locked out. You can’t make payments over the phone. Easy to apply for but because it’s such a difficult and time consuming process to make a payment, all in all it’s the worst card I’ve ever had. For that read only If I could give negative five stars I would. 

more ...
Oct 16, 2019

Bull ****

 
Oct 18, 2019

I have had this card for nearly 2 yrs and have not had a problem with making payments through their website.

 
Oct 31, 2019

Wow. That's RIDICULOUS. Making payments should be easy! Not a nightmare as you described. I'm GLAD I read all these bad reviews. I was just about to apply, but now I'm choosing one of the many other secured cards offered here! Thank you!

 
Sep 30, 2019
Dslinfreak Cardholder

I had this card for three months. I closed it today. Worst secured credit card on the face of the PLANET. DO NOT APPLY!

more ...
Oct 11, 2019

why?

 
Oct 31, 2019

Thank you! I WAS going to apply, but after reading all the horrible reviews I will chose another. This company sounds like it needs immediate improvements and needs to LISTEN to what their customers are saying.

 
Nov 18, 2019

Kontokid, I closed it because they were constantly denying me use of my card. They would flag a legitimate purchase at Walmart, I'd call, they'd release the flag, I'd try to make the purchase and they'd flag the transaction again. You give them a deposit and they won't let you use the credit line they extend to you. Not worth it. Stay away.

 
Sep 27, 2019
Poor communication charges dont add up
Louie1988123 Cardholder

If you spend 20 it immediately adds 30 to your account they do not send Bill's nor do they offer paperless billing

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Green Dot primor® Visa® Gold Secured Credit Card Reviews

Green Dot primor® Visa® Gold Secured Credit Card