primor® Secured Visa Gold Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
17 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $49
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 9.99%
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 07, 2017
130 points increase in six months
Anonymous Cardholder

This is a great card for repairing bad credit. They don't do a credit check or a hard pull. I've had the card almost six months now and my credit shot up 130 points. Just opening the card gives a significant boost, which will gradually climb if you keep utilization low around 10-20 % and make on time payments.  My previous credit card had been closed and charged off, then finally dropped off of my report but left my score low nonetheless. I needed a new card to start over but didn't qualify for an unsecured card. You have to make a deposit for your credit limit and pay a fee.  Customer service is good, they answer questions thoroughly and I always understand them. Paying bills is easy to do online and you can check what you owe and the due date online. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 18, 2017
Very poor customer service
jnui Cardholder

I got this card as a starter card, and i never missed a payment. They will not increase your limit automatically and they make it almost impossible to contact them.

They have changed their name 2 times since I have been with them, first Primor, then First progress, now Green Dot

Also their online payment is not friendly, you have to make a payment to them from your own banks online payment system as Primor/First Progress/Green Dot/ has no way on their system to pay with a card, or for that matter I don't see a way to auto pay.

The customer service does not exist. Basically you can't get thru to anybody.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 25, 2017
Wonderful for establishing credit!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card and of course got approved because everyone gets approved. There’s also a down payment that’s required. Not even a week after I applied my credit score jumped 115 points ! They take the annual fee out automatically so it stimulates your credit instantly. I would recommend this to anyone who is just starting out or is looking to raise their score quickly. Just remember to not only keep your balance below 30% but PAY your bill.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 06, 2017

how much did you put down on the card?

 
Oct 18, 2017
Very poor customer service
jnui Cardholder

I got this card as a starter card, and i never missed a payment. They will not increase your limit automatically and they make it almost impossible to contact them.

They have changed their name 2 times since I have been with them, first Primor, then First progress, now Green Dot

Also their online payment is not friendly, you have to make a payment to them from your own banks online payment system as Primor/First Progress/Green Dot/ has no way on their system to pay with a card, or for that matter I don't see a way to auto pay.

The customer service does not exist. Basically you can't get thru to anybody.

more ...
Aug 29, 2017
NicoleReynold Cardholder

When no one would approve me they did. After havi g the card for 2 mo this I am getting other offers. This card helped open the door to build my credit.

more ...
Aug 09, 2017
Credit Building
lhayes9 Cardholder

This is a great card to use if you really wanna build your score just use 20 to 30% every month and pay on time your score will go up no lie. Just use it responsible.

more ...
Jul 07, 2017
130 points increase in six months
Anonymous Cardholder

This is a great card for repairing bad credit. They don't do a credit check or a hard pull. I've had the card almost six months now and my credit shot up 130 points. Just opening the card gives a significant boost, which will gradually climb if you keep utilization low around 10-20 % and make on time payments.  My previous credit card had been closed and charged off, then finally dropped off of my report but left my score low nonetheless. I needed a new card to start over but didn't qualify for an unsecured card. You have to make a deposit for your credit limit and pay a fee.  Customer service is good, they answer questions thoroughly and I always understand them. Paying bills is easy to do online and you can check what you owe and the due date online. 

more ...
May 21, 2017
Rebuilds your credit slowly
Albertsgirl28 Cardholder

I have had this card since April 2015. My credit was very poor and I started with the $300 deposit. My deposit/ limit is now close to $1000 and they are faithful reporters of the increases. 
Pay with their "fast pay" website (I made that name up) and payments are posted within 1 buisness day and there is no fee. 

Use this card faithfully and then pay it off monthly, completely and early or on time! 

They have recently chagned the name to Berkshire Bank but other than that I have not seen any changes. 

Yes- the interest can be high and you have an annual fee. 

That's because this is for people that have made credit mistakes. 

Pay for the mistakes and re-build with this card- you will not regret it. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 31, 2017

Did they increase your limit or did you just add money?

 
Apr 25, 2017
#####
Anonymous Cardholder

I had this card for a year no credit increase. I pay on time and now since its Berkley Bank it haven't been reported to increase my credit score since October of 2016. I had good reports in the first few months. I guess I was one that fell through the cracks. I called so many times and still nothing has been done. I'm with capitol one and so far i'm pleased. It probably works for someone else. Mine wasn't the case.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 17, 2017

"I had this card for a year no credit increase."

lol it's a secured card. if you want to increase it, you have to pay for it.

 
Apr 23, 2017
Life changing
Anonymous Cardholder

I don't understand the bad reviews. I have 2 cards with them , before credit was in 400's now I'm deeply in the 800's . Great card , great company , everything been real smooth . Pay every month b4 the actually date & always stay under 30% & life should go it's way. I'm only 22 with more them a 800 + score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 19, 2017

How long have you had it

 
Apr 15, 2017
Too Risky
juliastephanie Cardholder

I read these negative reviews and will not even consider it as a result! The whole selling point was to have lower % but sounds like it's better to pay for better services and no hassles. Capital One has helped me effortlessly to return stolen funds through a scam within 7 - 10 days last year. I'd hate to give up services that good for something that could actually harm my credit - which went from 325 to over 600 in under 2 years now! Knowledge is power folks. Keep sharing it! Thanks

Never owned it or applied but don't have the choice up here to say so in order to send my review!

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
Does the job!
Happygal0891 Cardholder

In May of 2016, my score was in the 450's. I opened a Harbor One secured card through my bank and when I saw my score had increased 104 points in 5 months I decided to try for another secured card. The Primor card has been fine. No issues. Hassle free. I pay my bill online way before it's due. I keep my utilization rate very low...under 10%. My score is now in the 620's. It's going slow because I have some past unpaid debt on my credit report, but I'm very pleased that the secured cards helped increase my credit over 170 points in less than a year. Customer service is good. I def recommend this card.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

primor® Secured Visa Gold Card