First Progress Platinum Prestige MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $49
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 9.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 30, 2013
Great Card for Rebuilding Credit
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for around 4 months now.  The whole process from applying for the card and receiving the card took about a month, but it was definitely worth it!  This is not a card you want to use to carry a balance after all it is a secured card and is for rebuilding credit not using the card because you actually need the credit.  So keeping this in min this is how I use my card... I use no more than 30% of my $300.00 credit limit.  I pay my balance off in full every time I receive my statement.  To pay off my bill I purchase a money order and mail it in and it usually takes 6 days to credit my payment (this is the best and quickest way to make your payments with this company).  I will say that I've contacted customer service a couple of times before I received the card and no, they aren't the nicest people, but it is a secured card and not an AMEX card so I don't expect red carpet service.  All in all having this card has contributed to raising my FICO score 58 points in 3 months. I have been using CK for around 4 months now and it has helped me trmendously.  I have read so many extremely helpful reviews on here!  Between this website and MyFico.com I have raising my Fico score from a 591 to a 649 and I now qualify to purchase my first home!  I am 28 and have made some mistakes in my past and have been very irresponsible, but I am proof that it can be done.  It took me around 4 months for this score jump and some money to pay off some bills, student loans, collection accounts, (you name it I had it lol), but I'm getting there and I couldn't be more thankful for websites like this one :)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 07, 2015
this is a terrible decision
Staxx508 Cardholder

While this card has its benefits, it's pointless to apply for it.  It's an $89 processing fee PLUS a $75 annual fee which is $164 that you will never get back. You can get the same benefits with a capital one secured credit card.  I paid the $89 processing fee then the woman in customer service said I have $225 available because of the annual fee.  I immediately cancelled to get my $89 back, applied for capital one secured and was approved for $99 security deposit that I will actually get back!  Plus the annual fee is almost 1/3 with capital one.  $37.  So instead of losing $164 to get a $300 credit limit, You lose, worse case, $236 with $199 that you get back, and it's easier to get approved for the capital one card.  With capital one you will have to pay either $49, $99, or $199 deposit based on your credit.  But as I said, you get it back in the end.  Plus with on time payments in your first 5 billing cycles, your credit limit will be increased.   So essentially, you are getting the same benefit with much less cost.  It may cost a little more upfront, but you get all but the $37 annual fee back when you close the capital one card.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 16, 2017
WILL FIND ANY REASON TO CANCEL YOUR CARD
savaz90 Cardholder

had this card for 4 months. i would use it everyday and pay it at the end of every week. then i sent my payment and i come to find out they closed it. no reason was given when i called. i dont know if im going to get my $400 back, or security deposit. dont waste your time, or lose your money like i did. SAVE YOURSELF!!

more ...
Apr 13, 2017
They sent a bill before igot the card
RonRacr Cardholder

Avoid if you can. They approve right away then advise you to open a second card immediately. APR is high. My bill came before my card came and I even paid $20 for the "fast shipping"

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
HATE IT
ALH5 Cardholder

The worst company i have ever experinced in my life

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
Good to build Credit!

Make sure you call them and find out when payments are due and set up payment from your Bank in advance ,also pay payment at least 5 to 6 days in advance to make sure that it clears!!!Also don't spend more than 25 % of your limit even if you payoff every month this will help build your credit!!Good Luck!

more ...
Feb 08, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card in Oct 2016 about three months after credit score raised 44pts. It is working fine for me and I pay online.

more ...
Jan 30, 2017
If your trying to establish credit again
BShow Cardholder

Ok here is the deal.   I read a lot of bad reviews because it's hard to make a last minute payment.  Fyi this is what got you into the situation your in to begin with.  

I have had this card for over 3 years now, that said I have had no problems with the card, I used it to establish credit to get better cards.  I would use about 30% of the card and make my payments by mail the day I got the bill in the mail.  THE MINUTE I got the bill in the mail. As I said I was trying to fix my credit not wreck it again.  After about 3 months my score went from 520 to about 580 landing me 6 more credit cards with no anual fees and no deposit.

I still keep this card active to ensure my age of credit history does not drop as this is my oldest line of credit.

more ...
Feb 25, 2017

Wait until you close your account, good luck with getting your deposit back

 
Jun 08, 2017

You will it just takes a while!

 
Jun 08, 2017

Yea, you said it bro! Th

 
Sep 20, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I hate this card! When you make a payment it takes 10 business days for it to be apply. Its very useless for me. Thank goodness I got a secured card with Capital One.

more ...
Mar 10, 2017

C/O is a great easy way to build credit yes. I use 2 of their cards now.

 
Mar 23, 2017

Yes Capitol One is the way to go. I made 6 payments on time automatically debited from my account. The day of my sixth payment I called for an increase and went from 500 to 900...I had BAAAD Credit...the type of credit that was never built and just completely crapped on for 3 decades. YES! CAPITOL ONE ! IS THE WAY TO GO!

 
Aug 30, 2016
Credit Score went up 24 points in 3 wks!
Anonymous Cardholder

The overall proess of applying, getting approved and acutally receiving the card took about a month.  But my credit score improved 24 points in a matter of 3 weeks! I used bill pay to make my payments which makes it super quick and easy and I don't have to pay any extra fees. So glad that I chose to open this card up. I was very skeptical considering the reviews but I took a risk and it truly helped me out a ton. 

more ...
Sep 09, 2016

BS

 
Feb 23, 2017

Go somewhere else with your uninformed negativity.

 

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,617
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

First Progress Platinum Prestige MasterCard® Secured Credit Card