Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

First Progress Platinum Prestige MasterCard® Secured Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $44
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 11.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 21, 2016
Michpric Cardholder

Application was very simple & approval is instant. There are no credit score requirements for this card which is a huge plus since mine was at 394. It did take about 2 weeks to receive my card & well worth the wait!! I added only $200 to the card when I applied & haven't even made my first payment yet & my score is at 493!! So glad I decided to open this card to help me rebuild my credit after being irresponsible in the past! I haven't had to call customer service yet so I can't comment on the reps & call handling. Great card for building your credit!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 04, 2016
JVinATL Cardholder

Do NOT get a First Progress card unless you have to! Worst decision I've made. They took my deposit quickly but that was the only thing fast about the process. Slow to get it, no online payments except bill pay through my bank which takes them forever to process so you MUST pay early to avoid fees and their transaction updates online are behind so it looks like you have available credit when you don't. Just terrible service all around. Getting another card but keeping this one open for upping my score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 20, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I hate this card! When you make a payment it takes 10 business days for it to be apply. Its very useless for me. Thank goodness I got a secured card with Capital One.

more ...
Aug 30, 2016
Credit Score went up 24 points in 3 wks!
Anonymous Cardholder

The overall proess of applying, getting approved and acutally receiving the card took about a month.  But my credit score improved 24 points in a matter of 3 weeks! I used bill pay to make my payments which makes it super quick and easy and I don't have to pay any extra fees. So glad that I chose to open this card up. I was very skeptical considering the reviews but I took a risk and it truly helped me out a ton. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 09, 2016

BS

 
Jun 21, 2016
Michpric Cardholder

Application was very simple & approval is instant. There are no credit score requirements for this card which is a huge plus since mine was at 394. It did take about 2 weeks to receive my card & well worth the wait!! I added only $200 to the card when I applied & haven't even made my first payment yet & my score is at 493!! So glad I decided to open this card to help me rebuild my credit after being irresponsible in the past! I haven't had to call customer service yet so I can't comment on the reps & call handling. Great card for building your credit!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 13, 2016

Hello if I'm approve can you give me the steps on how to improve my score ?

 
May 12, 2016
JUST BE SMART
michaeldannye Cardholder

Read the reviews, under stand the card and the product that you are signing up for. Make good common sense judgement calls. If you are trying to build or establishment credit, them be smart about it. You are doing this for a reason so take your time, be patient and work within the guidlines you have when opening an account from this company. IT WORKS!!!

more ...
Apr 04, 2016
JVinATL Cardholder

Do NOT get a First Progress card unless you have to! Worst decision I've made. They took my deposit quickly but that was the only thing fast about the process. Slow to get it, no online payments except bill pay through my bank which takes them forever to process so you MUST pay early to avoid fees and their transaction updates online are behind so it looks like you have available credit when you don't. Just terrible service all around. Getting another card but keeping this one open for upping my score.

more ...
Mar 21, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

no online 

more ...
Feb 29, 2016
A basic card with no benefits.
Anonymous Cardholder

They have the worst customer service ever, you can not pay your car without bill pay or western union, unless you want to wait 10 days for your payment to post. I just closed it and got a capital one card and within 6 months of having it I got a CLI! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 21, 2016

What is CLI?? Credit line increase?

 
Feb 10, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

This is absolutely the worst credit card out there. 

I wish I had read some reviews on this card before I applied for it.

this company is an absolute joke and rip off. 

I would recommend getting the capital one card I have had nothing but problems with first progress

more ...
Jan 21, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

The approval process was okay, it took a while to get the card. I don't like FP's website & nor can you pay your bill directly through that website. They direct you to pay through bill pay on your personal account. But in all getting this card did raise my score!! So for the "Good Credit" people being directed here, don't feel offended. Raise your score even more. It is your money, but this is reported. Tx

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,617
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

First Progress Platinum Prestige MasterCard® Secured Credit Card