First Progress Platinum Prestige MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $49
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 9.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 30, 2017
If your trying to establish credit again
BShow Cardholder

Ok here is the deal.   I read a lot of bad reviews because it's hard to make a last minute payment.  Fyi this is what got you into the situation your in to begin with.  

I have had this card for over 3 years now, that said I have had no problems with the card, I used it to establish credit to get better cards.  I would use about 30% of the card and make my payments by mail the day I got the bill in the mail.  THE MINUTE I got the bill in the mail. As I said I was trying to fix my credit not wreck it again.  After about 3 months my score went from 520 to about 580 landing me 6 more credit cards with no anual fees and no deposit.

I still keep this card active to ensure my age of credit history does not drop as this is my oldest line of credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 16, 2017
WILL FIND ANY REASON TO CANCEL YOUR CARD
savaz90 Cardholder

had this card for 4 months. i would use it everyday and pay it at the end of every week. then i sent my payment and i come to find out they closed it. no reason was given when i called. i dont know if im going to get my $400 back, or security deposit. dont waste your time, or lose your money like i did. SAVE YOURSELF!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 02, 2017
builds credit, yes, but to much hassle.
Anonymous Cardholder

Go with capital one, just sayin. No customer service whatsoever.

more ...
Dec 01, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

When I tried to close the card they would not and kept charging fees I had to put them in a bankruptcy I paid off the balance and request my deposit back they ate it up in fees and more

more ...
Nov 20, 2017
great
vicdlr Cardholder

i applied with a 4xx credit score and got approved. recieved in 10 business days and im in texas. paid for faster processing, it isnt faster shipping fyi. so far i have had no fees other than the annual fee pf $49 which they take from your deposit. ive been paying on time, never late and always leave a 30% balance in there. in the first month, it showed up in my credit history and my score has been going up drastically. i have a fed loan which is killing my score. slowly but surely i can get my score fixed!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 12, 2017

Thank you for sharing

 
Nov 19, 2017
This card sucks. Too many fees.
ttassy04 Cardholder

Don't apply for this card. They charge too much fees.

more ...
Oct 19, 2017
jsandersjr32 Cardholder

Worse card you could get

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 15, 2017

not helpful whatsoever. would appreciate if a mod would delete this.

 
Sep 15, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

This card builds you're credit. My credit went up 35 points set up a bill pay pay early if you pay by check you will be late. The web site is generic not very good . Bottom line if you're credit sucks get this card it will work

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 03, 2017

So how did you make your payments? By due date every month or, after you spent on it?

 
Jul 11, 2017
Njmomof6 Cardholder

Helped with score but limited payment options

more ...
Nov 03, 2017

Can you define limited payment options please?

 
Nov 28, 2017

Ditto, please explain "limited payment options."

 
Apr 16, 2017
WILL FIND ANY REASON TO CANCEL YOUR CARD
savaz90 Cardholder

had this card for 4 months. i would use it everyday and pay it at the end of every week. then i sent my payment and i come to find out they closed it. no reason was given when i called. i dont know if im going to get my $400 back, or security deposit. dont waste your time, or lose your money like i did. SAVE YOURSELF!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 22, 2017

You have to request it because they won't send it automatically just an fyi

 
Apr 13, 2017
They sent a bill before igot the card
RonRacr Cardholder

Avoid if you can. They approve right away then advise you to open a second card immediately. APR is high. My bill came before my card came and I even paid $20 for the "fast shipping"

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,617
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

First Progress Platinum Prestige MasterCard® Secured Credit Card