Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

First Progress Platinum Prestige MasterCard® Secured Credit Card

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $44
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 11.99%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 30, 2013
Great Card for Rebuilding Credit
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for around 4 months now.  The whole process from applying for the card and receiving the card took about a month, but it was definitely worth it!  This is not a card you want to use to carry a balance after all it is a secured card and is for rebuilding credit not using the card because you actually need the credit.  So keeping this in min this is how I use my card... I use no more than 30% of my $300.00 credit limit.  I pay my balance off in full every time I receive my statement.  To pay off my bill I purchase a money order and mail it in and it usually takes 6 days to credit my payment (this is the best and quickest way to make your payments with this company).  I will say that I've contacted customer service a couple of times before I received the card and no, they aren't the nicest people, but it is a secured card and not an AMEX card so I don't expect red carpet service.  All in all having this card has contributed to raising my FICO score 58 points in 3 months. I have been using CK for around 4 months now and it has helped me trmendously.  I have read so many extremely helpful reviews on here!  Between this website and I have raising my Fico score from a 591 to a 649 and I now qualify to purchase my first home!  I am 28 and have made some mistakes in my past and have been very irresponsible, but I am proof that it can be done.  It took me around 4 months for this score jump and some money to pay off some bills, student loans, collection accounts, (you name it I had it lol), but I'm getting there and I couldn't be more thankful for websites like this one :)

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 07, 2015
this is a terrible decision
Staxx508 Cardholder

While this card has its benefits, it's pointless to apply for it.  It's an $89 processing fee PLUS a $75 annual fee which is $164 that you will never get back. You can get the same benefits with a capital one secured credit card.  I paid the $89 processing fee then the woman in customer service said I have $225 available because of the annual fee.  I immediately cancelled to get my $89 back, applied for capital one secured and was approved for $99 security deposit that I will actually get back!  Plus the annual fee is almost 1/3 with capital one.  $37.  So instead of losing $164 to get a $300 credit limit, You lose, worse case, $236 with $199 that you get back, and it's easier to get approved for the capital one card.  With capital one you will have to pay either $49, $99, or $199 deposit based on your credit.  But as I said, you get it back in the end.  Plus with on time payments in your first 5 billing cycles, your credit limit will be increased.   So essentially, you are getting the same benefit with much less cost.  It may cost a little more upfront, but you get all but the $37 annual fee back when you close the capital one card.  

more ...

Reviews (36)

Add Review
Sep 20, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I hate this card! When you make a payment it takes 10 business days for it to be apply. Its very useless for me. Thank goodness I got a secured card with Capital One.

more ...
Aug 30, 2016
Credit Score went up 24 points in 3 wks!
Anonymous Cardholder

The overall proess of applying, getting approved and acutally receiving the card took about a month.  But my credit score improved 24 points in a matter of 3 weeks! I used bill pay to make my payments which makes it super quick and easy and I don't have to pay any extra fees. So glad that I chose to open this card up. I was very skeptical considering the reviews but I took a risk and it truly helped me out a ton. 

more ...
Sep 09, 2016


Jun 24, 2016
Bad security, bad customer service

I applied for and funded this card 3 weeks ago. I called every day for the past two weeks asking why the PIN had arrived but not the card and every day customer service swore the card would arrive 20 days after I applied for it. The card didn't arrive yesterday so I called and asked for a new one to be issued. This is an inconvenience but the real issue here is I found out today, upon checking up yet again that the idiots at customer service sent the same exact card with the same exact CVV on the back. This means that if someone intercepted the first one or it was delivered incorrectly, and I activated it, that person could use the first one online. Now it's Friday night and a third card has to be sent, this time with a different phone number. I work in information security and this is such an idiotic failure on their part that I have absolutely no confidence in this company. Don't risk it. Use a big well-known bank like Capital One instead.

more ...
Jun 24, 2016

I meant to say with a different account number not phone number.

Sep 09, 2016

Capital One is the card for you!! I say this cause I put a $1,000 deposit on it by choice and after 2 years my credit limit now is $6,000. But be careful with that cause you could be setting yourself up by using more than you need. Only spend what you can pay off at the end of the month. Ignore your credit limit.

Jun 21, 2016
Michpric Cardholder

Application was very simple & approval is instant. There are no credit score requirements for this card which is a huge plus since mine was at 394. It did take about 2 weeks to receive my card & well worth the wait!! I added only $200 to the card when I applied & haven't even made my first payment yet & my score is at 493!! So glad I decided to open this card to help me rebuild my credit after being irresponsible in the past! I haven't had to call customer service yet so I can't comment on the reps & call handling. Great card for building your credit!!

more ...
Jul 13, 2016

Hello if I'm approve can you give me the steps on how to improve my score ?

May 12, 2016
michaeldannye Cardholder

Read the reviews, under stand the card and the product that you are signing up for. Make good common sense judgement calls. If you are trying to build or establishment credit, them be smart about it. You are doing this for a reason so take your time, be patient and work within the guidlines you have when opening an account from this company. IT WORKS!!!

more ...
Apr 04, 2016
JVinATL Cardholder

Do NOT get a First Progress card unless you have to! Worst decision I've made. They took my deposit quickly but that was the only thing fast about the process. Slow to get it, no online payments except bill pay through my bank which takes them forever to process so you MUST pay early to avoid fees and their transaction updates online are behind so it looks like you have available credit when you don't. Just terrible service all around. Getting another card but keeping this one open for upping my score.

more ...
Feb 29, 2016
A basic card with no benefits.
Anonymous Cardholder

They have the worst customer service ever, you can not pay your car without bill pay or western union, unless you want to wait 10 days for your payment to post. I just closed it and got a capital one card and within 6 months of having it I got a CLI! 

more ...
Apr 21, 2016

What is CLI?? Credit line increase?

Feb 23, 2016
Don't waste your time.

Took over 2 hours to verify half of my information then told I can't read my credit report. Customer service failed to recognize my former address 6 times. I've only had 3 addresses my entire life. Waste of time and money

more ...
Feb 10, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

This is absolutely the worst credit card out there. 

I wish I had read some reviews on this card before I applied for it.

this company is an absolute joke and rip off. 

I would recommend getting the capital one card I have had nothing but problems with first progress

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?


Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,617
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

First Progress Platinum Prestige MasterCard® Secured Credit Card