First Progress Platinum Prestige MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews

First Progress Platinum Prestige MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews
1.4 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $49
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 9.99%* Variable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 25, 2020
RUN!!! These people should be prodecuted
Permanence Cardholder

My wife had this card. Every payment was late because they hold the payment for 10 days AFTER the due date. You have to pay this card before the date you agree on. Also, this card is secured with YOUR MONEY that you will never see again once they close your account. This seems like it's run by a woman in her living room and she just waits for you to fail so she can pad her bank account. RUN AWAY! RUN AWAY!

more ...
Feb 22, 2020
Never got to use card, the company suck.
TongaW123 Cardholder

Dont apply, dont send money, dont waste your time and money.

more ...
Feb 20, 2020
$300 limit with annual fee

I got the card and paid twice on it online, but nothing appeared on my bank statement so I called them to pay a few days later and ask what was going on. They had already cancelled my card which caused my score to plummet 64 points!!! I do not recommend this card to anyone.

more ...
Jan 13, 2020
Ronpitterson Cardholder

They make it hard for you to make payments,it's a card made for rebuilding credit and you mail in your check and they say they never got it ! Don't deal with them ! Save yourself a headache trust me 

more ...
Nov 21, 2019
Dishonest Thieves 😭...
AHenry81 Cardholder

They captivate you with the fact that their approval is almost a guarantee, but the trickery and dishonesty lies once you've received, activated, used and GOD FORBID you have issues. My Credit About here has been nothing but downhill due to this Card Company(Cardholder Agreement Reads "While Account is in Dispute, NOTHING WILL BE REPORTED TO CREDIT BUREAU'S UNTIL RESOLVED".... and the ONLY RESOLUTION LITERALLY IS FILING A COMPLAINT WITH THE FEDERAL RESERVE PERIOD!! GOOD LUCK

more ...
Sep 23, 2019
Mary305 Cardholder

I had absolutely no problem with ths card because I read all the reviews prior to applying. I used this card as well as 2 other secure credit cards to build my credit only not to use for everyday purpose.  I purposely did not use the cards to avoid any problems and allowed those cards to help me get approved for unsecured credit cards. Now flash forward a year later.  I had FIRST PROGRESS send me my security deposits back in which i received in 7 days with a written letter. Now I have 9 unsecure credit cards and a score of 696 and rising. Thank you first progress!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 24, 2020

If you have 9 un-secure credit cards you obviously didn't learn much from having a bad credit score!

 
Sep 10, 2019
Absolute GARBAGE Company!
Geoffmcolvin Cardholder

Their customer service is impossible to get through, getting them a simple monthly payment is ALWAYS a butt-hurt. They don't take debit payments and bank to bank check are 10 day hold. I cut my card up

more ...
Sep 04, 2019
Fraud
Tmort70 Cardholder

I opened rhis card 5 months ago while living in Illinois.  I was never late with any payments and paid my balances off in full.  Get a letter in the mail stating they closed my account apparently because I moved to Iowa and for some reason they do not do business in Iowa.  So the $200 in piddly secured credit that I got to build up my rating is now shot down.  But who cares because I got 6 other unsecured cards with higher limits anyway.  Now to sit and wait for my deposit to be refunded.  Judging by other posts they will drag it out and make me wait months for my refund.  Total fraud.  Avid this card.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 23, 2019

What cards did you get?

 
Jul 13, 2019
Very low quality company..
Maryboice Cardholder

To make payments you have to mail it in. When they receive it they hold it for over a week and report your payment as late. Very low quality web site, services, and customer care. I will be cancelling mine.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 20, 2020

All these horrible reviews! Thank you for warning me away!

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,617
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
First Progress Platinum Prestige MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews

First Progress Platinum Prestige MasterCard® Secured Credit Card