First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews

First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.2 out of 5 stars
25 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $39
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.24%* Variable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 08, 2019
Armpit of credit cards
bowerymott Cardholder

Worst service, worst communication and even worst credit score.   Your score will actually decrease with this card.  Defeats the purpose of trying to improve your credit.  Like others have professed, RUN LIKE HELL FROM THIS CARD AND THIS COMPANY

more ...
Dec 06, 2019
Ronpitterson Cardholder

Don't get this card !!!!! They make it so hard to pay you have to send in a check I was told they never got my check!!! 
 

I canceled the card it's annoying!!!!

more ...
Nov 21, 2019
Paid $49 for elite low interest card.
JohnB60 Cardholder

They switched the apr on me on the 2nd month, and i called customer support many times. No help or resolve. They took and kept my deposit, and saddled me with a $144 debt as well. STAY AWAY from this scamming, cheating and lying company. RUN!

more ...
Nov 19, 2019
Worst card ever . Less than a star.
cswygert Cardholder

They take forever to process your payment. Horrible product.

more ...
Nov 04, 2019
Did not refund deposit
Jabette66 Cardholder

When i had this card a few years ago, i kept up on the payments-never had a problem with that. HOWEVER- i don't know how it is now but, when after about a year and a half i finally called and asked when i can get my deposit back and my credit limit raised, the guy told me they didn't do that. So i paid it off and cancelled. Don't go here.

more ...
Oct 30, 2019
catherine3406 Cardholder

It's horrible cause my score to drop before I had a payment due. Score drop October 30th pay first payment due November 19th

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 06, 2019

Could it have been the inquiry on your credit report that caused your acore to drop? Or any other factor? If your payment wasn't late then it wasn't the creditor that caused your score to drop. It was some other factor.

 
Oct 17, 2019
You're late every month!
celodea Cardholder

Even if you make your payments on time, you are considered late because it takes them 7-10 days to process your payment!  This card is a scam and it hurts your credit because they report the late pays -- even though you paid ON TIME! Do not even both with these people.

more ...
Aug 26, 2019
worst upkeep on payments paid
cds45910 Cardholder

take 7 to 10 days to clear a payment..then another 7 days to post to your acct. dont go here

more ...
Aug 09, 2019
Horrible
jaileneleonard Cardholder

This is the worst! They make it extremely hard to make your payment. They do not have online bill pay! They want you to use your banks bill payment system but after the first sent payment they will no longer allow you to use it and you will have to mail in a check. If you try to call to make a payment you have to wait to talk with their rude customer service department and they charge you 10$ to make a payment. Do not get this card it’s nothing but a hassle!

more ...
Oct 01, 2019

They have online payment. You have to go to your bank and make a payment thru them. I did it online. I just paid this last Friday sept. 27 and was received on Monday and Posted on the system on Tuesday (today).
So it is possible.

 
Nov 06, 2019

If you do bill pay through your bank then your payment posts in one business day.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,844
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews

First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card