First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.5 out of 5 stars
47 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $39
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.99%* Variable

Our Take

The First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card is a solid option for building credit.

What to Like

It's a secured credit card, meaning there's no credit history required to get approved. First Progress also reports monthly to all three credit bureaus.

Look Out For

Because the card is secured, you'll have to pay a security deposit after you’re approved. The card also charges an annual fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 11, 2013
Fine For Me
Anonymous Cardholder

I could not get approved for a few other cards when I came across this one. Compared to other secured cards the annual fee wasn't bad. I put $300 down and have had it over a year. I'm sorry, I don't really remember how long it took to be accepted, money taken out of account or to receive the card since it was awhile ago.

I only use the card to pay my car insurance on auto pay. So instead of paying my car insurance bill every month, I pay the credit card bill. I don't use it for any other charges so technically I'm not out any extra money each month, except the once a year annual fee. 

This is the key to rebuilding your credit. Don't use it! Just put a low bill on auto pay with it and forget about it. Otherwise you will be spending money you don't currently have the cash for. Pay it off each month and don't pay any interest. You should only use 30% or less of your credit limit each month anyways to keep your debt to credit ratio low, which also helps improve your credit score. My car insurance is only $90 a month, which is 30% of $300. 

In the last 14 months or so that I have had it, I have been offered and approved for 3 non-secured cards. Once again, I put a different bill on auto pay and don't use it for anything else. Keep it simple and you won't get yourself in trouble. I have improved my credit from low to mid 500's to about 690 in 14 months. Not bad if you ask me. 

I do not work for this company by the way. I'm just a hard working 30 something year old girl trying to earn good credit by being as responsible as I can. I will not make the same credit mistakes I made when I was in my twenties. 

Good luck! If used responsibly this could be a good card for you! :)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 26, 2014
company is still living in the stone age
ctencore Cardholder

I've had this card for over a year.  It was the first card I ordered when I was looking to rebuild my credit.  While it did help me acomplish this goal (now a 668 score), working with these people with minor customer service requests is not easy.  Talking with them you get the impression they just started using computers last month.  The level of training they give their staff to accomodate their customers feels marginal at best.  Whenever you ask a question usually they have to go ask someone else, or transfer you to someone else.  They don't take payments via debit card either.  And when you do make a payment, unless it's a direct bill pay from your bank, they take forever to post it to your account.

The final straw for me was when I inadvertantly overpaid my credit card bill.  No worries, I wanted to just have them ad that to my credit line, increasing it from $644 to $1000.  After all, they already have my money, how hard can this be?   Well, the answer is "IMPOSSIBLE."   They told me they would need to send me a check for the $356 I over paid them, and then I would need to send them back a check for $356, the amount of the credit line increase.  What?  You already have the money!!!!  How much sense does that make?  Someone can't just apply the credit I have with them to my credit line????  "I'm sorry sir, we can't do that."  

Another issue is the whole credit line increase process itself.  You have to be "Approved" to increase your credit line and it can take 30 days.  Let me get this straight, I want to send you more of MY money to hold in deposit, you earn interest on that money AND charge me 18.99% to use MY money, and I have to be "approved" to do this and it's a somewhat arduous process?  Who's running this place, the guy from Rain Man?

For those looking to rebuild their credit I recommend Barclaycard (no deposit required but they start you out with a low credit line & increse it over time). Capitol One is another good one, you can increase your credit line AT ANY TIME by simply sending them more money.  You can also reach them nearly anytime, which is awesome, and their customer service reps are awesome as well.   Another good card is First Premier Bank.  This one does not require a deposit either, they just start you out small and work your way up.  I believe I had a $350 credit limit for the first 6 months.  Then it was increased to $700.  6 months later they sent me a new card for a 2nd account, with a credit limit of $1,500.  Now that's how you rebuild credit.... use the cards, make the payments on-time, and they constantly increase your limit, showing other normal creditors that you're responsible with larger credit limits.  As a result of all this I recently got a Discover card with a $1500 limit, a CitiBank credit card with a $2500 limit, and a chase card with a $2000 limit.  All starting with a 522 credit score 15 months ago.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 16, 2017
Horrribly card Services!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Called and paid my balance on the 14th and was given a confirmation number. Turns out THE GUY I TALKED TO NEVER RAN MY PAYMENT. GAVE ME A FAKE CONFIRMATION #.. AND NOW MY CREDIT BILL LOOKS UNPAID FOR THIS MONTH!!!!! UNBELIEVABLY TERRIBLY CUSTOMER SERVICE. 

more ...
Apr 14, 2017
The worst customet service criminals
Kcbat Cardholder

BEWARE,They are horrible I had this card gor a year paying the outrageous fees when I called to cancel the customer service actually threatened to hurt my credit unless I retained the card I laughed it off BUT GET THIS I CHECKED MY CREDIT TODAY AND THEY ADDED 2 LATE PAYMENTS no late payments until I closed the card Criminals liars Report to state banking commission and BBB SO BEWARE

more ...
Apr 13, 2017
They sent a bill before i got the card
RonRacr Cardholder

Avoid if you can. They approve right away then advise you to open a second card immediately. APR is high. My bill came before my card came and I even paid $20 for the "fast shipping"

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
I love this card!
cally412 Cardholder

Only people who arent responsible have problems with this card....In my opinion this is better than an unsecured card. This card can definately help you build/rebuild your credit! It reports as UNSECURED. The application process was fast and easy, and it took less than 2 weeks to get my card. It reports monthly to all 3 credit agencies and has a low apr! Also, this card has a 25 day grace period (which is awesome!)on purchases and cash advances! Make sure you dont go over your utilization though because your credit score will drop about 50-80 points! Only thing "bad" about this card it that there is the annual fee, which isnt much(about $39...What do you expect from a secured card? Another thing. Alot of people worry about making their payments and how long it takes to process.. I have found it EXTREMELY EASY using Ace Cash Express for my payments. It processes and shows on your available credit in 2 days and it only costs $3.95 per transaction!!!! Hope this helps!!

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Terrible Service & PLENTY of Fees
Anonymous Cardholder

- Upsettingly difficult when trying to call and speak to a human.
- Charges you $10 if trying to pay balance over the phone.
- Hooorrriffic if you ever need to dispute a charge. CHARGED ME $23 for returning my funds back to my card after I was wrongfully debited for $79!!

Bottom line this card is an absolute last resort.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 24, 2017

I reach a human every time I call. All you have to do is push option 6 after entering your card number and you will get someone. Not long wait times either...

 
Mar 03, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

very bag and customer service.........tiene un mal servicio....pecimo!!!!!!

more ...
Mar 02, 2017
Miracle Card
Rn2nr Cardholder

I applied and gave my deposit it took between 2-3 weeks to get which was a bummer but totally worth it. I got my card -2/16/2017 and called to activate it and payed the $34 opening charge, now 1 week later and the first time my credit has updated with the card on it my score went up 35 points.

more ...
Jan 31, 2017
Great for building credit.
DerekD84 Cardholder

Had this card for 3 years. I had really terrible credit from stupid choices when I was younger. Opened this card and made my payments on time every month. This, among other things, helped me build my credit enough to finally buy a house. I just closed it because they wouldn't waive the fee annual fee and I have better cards now. Customer service was really easy to deal with when I closed the card. No hassles at all. Would definitely recommend to someone with no credit. Would not recommend to people that have other choices. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 23, 2017

Thanks Derek,

A few questions if you have a minute. - When you closed your account, did you have to do it in writing? How long did it take you to get paid back the money you secured the card with? And have you noticed if it hurt your credit to close the secured account? Thanks for your time -

 
Jan 30, 2017
STAY AWAY
Vickayp Cardholder

Worst company to deal with.  The customer service is open on selected hours.  Their web service has been down for weeks.  They are taking 90 days to remove fradulent charges from my account while my credit is being negatively affected.  Go with ANY other company... 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,844
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card