First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.6 out of 5 stars
42 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $39
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 04, 2018
Helps credit.
discoverandcitisuck Cardholder

Had 2 of the cards with different APR and annual fee. But closed 1. Help my credit a bit. Not a bad card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 23, 2018
221KCS Cardholder

One of the worst cards I ever have the customer service is horrible and you can be locked out for no reason I had to go fax many documents to prove my identity everything is so inconvenient I prefer my capital one so much better and easier

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 10, 2018
Horrible payment system
CJsmall14 Cardholder

This card only helped my credit after the initial opening of the account. First thing you can only pay by mail or have your bank do bill pay. So you can’t use our debit card or by cash for faster processing. My bill is due in the 12th I submitted my payment on the 5th took 5 days to show as a ending payment on the website but still no available balance update for another 3-5 days. So it ties up your money and eventually you have a late payment. I closed the card after 2 months. They told me it takes 14 days to get my money back and if I want it  expedited I needed to fax in my request and it would come in 10 days vs 14.  WAY TOO MUCH OF A HEADACHE FIND ANOTHER CARD. 

more ...
Nov 26, 2018
Jeffymetcalf Cardholder

I wouldn’t have given it a star but you have to Where to start do not I repeat do not sign up with this company you want to talk about bad I called because they charged me a late fee when I was never late I call them and they acted like it was my fault never got a pass for that then to cancel the card it take up to two weeks to cancel it plus another 10 WEEKS TO GET YOUR MONEY BACK!!!! It didn’t take no two weeks to take my money save your self go with the discover it card to rebuild this place should be shut down 

more ...
Nov 06, 2018
Not good
conjax Cardholder

Where do I begin. Most of the customer service folks are hard to understand. Somehow my bill pay for was reversed back to my bank and First Progress didn’t notify me. Thankfully I caught it before my due date. However I they put a hold on my account and charged me $10 to take an over the phone payment with a check. They don’t make it easy it pay like most other credit cards. Don’t go for this one. 

more ...
Nov 04, 2018
Helps credit.

Had 2 of the cards with different APR and annual fee. But closed 1. Help my credit a bit. Not a bad card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 10, 2018

Type your answer better. However. Your broken English isn't that hard for me but excruciating for othere yo understand.

 
Oct 29, 2018
LYING TO GET YOUR MONEY!!
Beingscammed2 Cardholder

CALL THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU (BBB.) THEY WILL DEFINITELY INVESTIGATE THIS FRADULANT SITE!

more ...
Oct 25, 2018
Hate it, Don't Get this Card
RichardComeau Cardholder

I have this card I cannot stand dealing with these people they have non-existent customer service nobody answers their phone. Every month they keep changing my address to my fathers forwarding address because he shares the same name as me I've told them three times my address has not changed but they keep changing it and mailing my mail to a different address never get my bill on time and it's causing me lates constantly it's on my credit report

more ...
Oct 23, 2018
Do not. Do not get this card
ToddH1966 Cardholder

The worst car to ever. Payment Processing absolutely sucks. They do everything they can not to help you rebuild credit but to make your score worse. Look at the reviews that should tell you everything

more ...
Oct 06, 2018
Joelfoit Cardholder

Please stay away from this credit card company.
I submitted a payment and it was reported late eventhough I made the payment on time.
There's a reason they're getting so many negative reviews,
Please stay away

more ...
Oct 03, 2018
Runaway as FAST as you can
jonzevans Cardholder

I submitted 2 applications and received 2 secure cards.  Company never sent secure cards.  Payment was sent and expressly detailed where to direct the funds but the company appropriated the funds into the wrong account.  Due to this, the company charged me a late fee on an annual fee and would not remove it.  A free that that was funded for $200 ended up showign over $100 in fees after a few months.  What a RIP OFF.  I ended up closing both accounts.

more ...
Sep 12, 2018
Hassle
Yourlifeisgold Cardholder

This company makes it as difficult as possible to make payments. They have an online customer account access, yet you cant actually " do" anything with your account online. You cant make a payment online, and the ONLY options are to go through a difficult process through your own bank to try and set up payment accts for online bill pay..but you cant change the date or make a payment through this system when you want too. There os no freedom to make payments early and once you set the date, it wont allow you to make any payments except on that particular day. The only other option is to call into the customet center...and get charged a 10$ fee to make a payment over the phone, that ALSO puts a 10 plus day hold on your funds and payment processing. I would not reccomend this card company....i will be shutting it down soon and getting other credit cards to build my credit.
It was worth the hassle for a while STRICTLY to build up my credit, but Im free now and my credit is better so I qualify for othet cards I can continue to build with that make it easy to make payments so I can make them on time without all this extra hassle.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 10, 2018

Agreed. Very difficult to make a payment.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,844
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card