First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.4 out of 5 stars
28 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $39
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.74%* Variable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 09, 2019
Horrible
jaileneleonard Cardholder

This is the worst! They make it extremely hard to make your payment. They do not have online bill pay! They want you to use your banks bill payment system but after the first sent payment they will no longer allow you to use it and you will have to mail in a check. If you try to call to make a payment you have to wait to talk with their rude customer service department and they charge you 10$ to make a payment. Do not get this card it’s nothing but a hassle!

more ...
Jul 30, 2019

Beyond horrible. Incompetence everywhere and severely outdated methods of communication. You won’t get your money back when you close even if your always paid on time. Unbelievably bad experience.

more ...
Jul 13, 2019
Stressful
Karbear26 Cardholder

I deposited $350 Thursday. It stays the money will be available in 24 hours. It's Saturday and it's still not there. You can't login until the money is funded so you can't contact anyone about it. I wish I had read the reviews first.

more ...
Jul 10, 2019
SCAM. THIEVES. LIARS. CHARGE FEES FOR NO

NEVER. Don't DO IT. LIARS. THIEVES. PAID OFF MY CARD AND NEVER EVER GOT MY $200 DEPOSOT BACK. THEY REFUSED TO CLOSE MY ACCOUNT AND ATTEMPTED TO CONTINUE TI CHARGE $49 FEE. REPORTED THEM TO CONSUMER PEOPKE WHO DID ABSOLUTELY NOTHING.

more ...
Jun 05, 2019
They never raise your credit limit
gogregc44 Cardholder

It does help your credit , but they will not raise your limit , I've had it a year and never missed a payment or late , get a capital one they give you increases after 6 months .

more ...
Jun 15, 2019

Due to the fact that it's a "secured" credit card not an "unsecured" credit card is the reason why the credit limit will not be raised. Your credit limit is what you deposit on the card.... Get an "unsecured" credit card if you want a limit increase.

 
Jun 23, 2019

Exactly! They did the ultimate...RAISE your score. Now you can go apply elsewhere if you desire a larger increase. People make no sense to me.

 
May 23, 2019
Boost my credit in 1 month
Pimpalicious Cardholder

Before I received the card I made my $200 deposit. They do take out the $49 fee which I had no problem with that. I made my first initial payment online and it took 2 days to post. My bill is due on the 17th of each month and they report to all 3 agencies by the 22nd of each month and it boost my credit over 80 points. I am truly satisfied with this card and I highly recommend this card to anyone whom  need help building their credit..  only had it 2 months and I’m going to keep it!!! 

more ...
May 13, 2019
Horrible. Avoid at all costs!
Crawford1216 Cardholder

If you're thinking about it, just don't. Their annual charge is absolutely ridiculous. It takes them 10 days to process a payment. Their website is horrible. You can't even email them. The only phone number they have is if you call the number on the back of the phone then go through 7 different options. They told me a payment was late when I first opened my account. Yes, because I didn't realize it took OVER A WEEK for a payment to go through.

I cancelled my account and I'm still waiting on my deposit check. It's been 3 months now and I've called 3 times. They lost the first one, second one wasn't sent out (even though they told me is was going to be sent). And third one is now pending. I'll be lucky if I EVER get any money back.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 30, 2019

You won’t get your money back. I paid my bill in full and never did. Calling customer service there feels like you’re calling someone in a basement circa1972.

 
Apr 29, 2019
Just horrible
ccast81 Cardholder

Tried making a payment several times in the only way you can do it, the only way is by giving them your bank information then they charge you $10 to do it. Cannot pay with Debit card. Because of their jacked up method of payment, I'm just not going to use it. My credit has already taken a huge hit due to this POS card and impossible payment methods

more ...
Jun 05, 2019

I have no problem making payments with my capital one bank account only takes about 2 days for it to clear ... but I do agree this is an awful card

 
Jul 07, 2019

I've found that if you go to a bill payment center (like the ones in a Walmart) it costs you $2 & posts to your account in 2 days.

 
Apr 29, 2019
Horrible
ccast81 Cardholder

No way yo make payment online. You have to process it though your bank's online bill pay or giving them your whole account and routing number. I dont trust that. And then they charge you 10 dollars to make a payment with your sensitive information. Been struggling to actually make a payment through them and now my credit has taken a hit because of it. Paid the balance off and leaving it be. Just not gonna use it. Horrible recommendation from Credit Karma

more ...
Mar 26, 2019
Haven't even received yet
tsb51 Cardholder

I applied, was approved and 4 weeks later still haven't received. Yesterday they finally told me that there was an issue and it was returned in the mail so it will take 14 more days to receive. I asked for proof that it was returned because I have already received a statement and another letter asking if I had received the card. This is a nightmare and if I cancel now, I still will be charged the $49 yearly fee or it will go against my credit. This company is a scam. No customer service at all, just a lot of talking in circles. 

more ...
Apr 03, 2019

It seems like the issue is with the postal service since you didn't get the card.

 
Jun 05, 2019

Just get the card keep it 6 months then apply for capital one , they want jerk you around like the company.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,844
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card