First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
33 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $39
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 20, 2017
Works For Rebuilding
GDough Cardholder

My Situation

I was 20 years old and ruined my credit in merchant and consumers accounts due to opening a business, had banking accounts closed along with the credit from those banks as well. My score had dropped to about 460 in 2013. This eventually lead to  having a bad credit status and being marked in ChexSystems, which prevents you from opening any sort of consumer accounts like checking accounts. After finding a job shortly after, instead of filing for bankruptcy, I decided to go ahead and repair my credit and it started with First Progress.

So this is my review 2 years and 9 months later...

Some prerequisites:

1.) You need to have bad credit, either this card is not for you. Even if you have no credit and want to build credit, this card is still not for you.

2.) An extra $200 or more (I put $300)

3.) Patience and knowing how/what to use it on. (give it 6 months at least, 12 months if you have many baddies on your account).

4.) Checking Account that allows bill pay, or another form of card that has these features (such as the Chase Liquid Card, which is what i used)

5.) The following needs to stick in your head: 

     a) Remember that rebuilding credit COSTS in some shape or form, either by deposits, charges and annual fees. Rebuilding is not easy, it takes a lot of patience and of course money. 

     b) Rebuilding is not just opening secured accounts and hoping everything will be fixed in a couple of years, you need to constantly work in fixing your negative remarks on your account, to a certain extent.

Opening Account

Opening the First Progress account was pretty easy, that is if you have a bank account to fund it with. If you do not have a bank account, I would highly recommend the Chase Liquid Card as they allow you to use their Online Bill Pay as a feature. The Chase Liquid Card is what I started out with since I was marked on ChexSystems and was unable to open any checking/savings accounts at any bank at the time (due to closed checking accounts with negative balances). The process took over a week and a half for them to receive the deposit and send out the card. Then I received it in the mail about a week later, so about 2 - 3 weeks in total for the whole process it took for me, but this can take longer for some areas.

Usage

Using the card was simple, I put $300 as the deposit and if this was your first secured card like it was for me, you would need to be responsible to keep it below the 30% utilization rate. Since I put $300 as the deposit, 30% in this case would be $90. You would need to make sure your max spending limit to have at the end of a billing cycle would be lower than $90, meaning when you recieve you billing statements, your balance owed should not be over $90, since $90 is 30% of your overall utilization rate. This is extremely important when you start applying for other cards down the road.

I would highly recommend finding some way to bill pay direcly to First Progress's account, the first bill I paid I used MoneyGram at a local CVS and this was the first and last time I would do something like this, it takes longer for First Progress to receieve the payment and could possibly make your payment late, plus the hassle of going in store, calling, connecting, providing the information, and confirming took about 40 minutes since this was my very first time doing something like this. Theres lots of debit cards that allow bill pay if you do not have a checking account or unable to get one like me at the time.

By also wary that this has an annual fee, for me it was $39 a year.

Results

My score was around 460 when I started in 2014, in about 6 months, my score jumped to 524. Not exactly an average score, however as long as progress is made, you're on the right track (and so was I). I soon applied for another secured card from Capital One a couple months after, and at the end of the 12th month, my score was around 580 from these 2 secured cards, which 580 for some credit cards applications is the bare minimum. First Progress was easy to use as it was accepted everywhere and suprisingly did not require a signature, unlike unsecured cards which do.

Eventually after a year and 2 months, I applied for my first Capital One Unsecured card (QuickSilver One) and was given a $500 limit. The secured card from Capital One also bumped up from $300 (my original security deposit) to a $600 credit line. I had First Progress to thank since it lead me up to this point in 2015.

However, don't expect an increase from First Progress as they do not hand out credit increases, whatever you deposit is what you get. I still have the same $300 limit from the time of opening the account to now.

Overall, this card was easy to use, and I had no problems with payments or First Progress using bill pay from Chase Liquid's Card. I would highly recommend this along with other secured cards for rebuilding your credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 14, 2017
The worst customet service criminals
Kcbat Cardholder

BEWARE,They are horrible I had this card gor a year paying the outrageous fees when I called to cancel the customer service actually threatened to hurt my credit unless I retained the card I laughed it off BUT GET THIS I CHECKED MY CREDIT TODAY AND THEY ADDED 2 LATE PAYMENTS no late payments until I closed the card Criminals liars Report to state banking commission and BBB SO BEWARE

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 09, 2017
Works regarding building credit
itisknown Cardholder

I'm rating it 4/5 only because of the bill pay method for electronic payment. Luckily I have a bank account, and I just anticipate paying 10 days in advance of when I want a payment to go through.

I should note your phone number is part of your verification after you're approved so be sure to remember your phone number. I mistyped a digit in my phone number and had to call to verify. The customer service was okay, the first person was not good, but the second person actually paid attention to what I was saying/asking.

But a month after applying, my score went up 6 points. Not much but I really destroyed my credit so I'l ltake what I can get. This is the initial "Someone claimed you have an account with them" statement.

Will see how it goes from here on. Also don't bother doing the $30 pre-validation. I believe it's not even based on credit score. It's just a matter of paying the $200 right away vs $30 initially. I did the $30 and it was pretty much a waste/me being impatient.

more ...
Dec 01, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I’ve had this card for 2 years and they are a complete ripoff.  They don’t even have a phone number to contact them.  Better off doing your research and finding a better card.  You will never get your prepayment back because you cannot contact them.

more ...
Nov 06, 2017

This company doesn't stand behind their customers. I had their associate promise me things about my account they were unable to provide. I called back to speak with Sarah the manager and she continued to support the companies policy over what her associate had stated. I closed my account immediately! I refuse to be mislead by dishonest people with money I worked hard for!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 27, 2017

Nebulous at best. Can you please site some general examples of what you were "promised?"

Pretty difficult for prospective applicants to make an accurate assessment of a credit card company without some idea(s) of what a negative review is actually concerned with, what the issue is/was.

 
Oct 27, 2017
AVOID THIS CARD AT ALL COSTS!
Savyt101P Cardholder

Paid off the account over a month ago from my banks e-bill payment page... just like I have every month.  First Progress says that they have never received it even though the BANK has confirmed that they received it. There is NO PHONE NUMBER to call them on the web site so I had to use the "to apply" phone number.

DO NOT USE!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 27, 2017

Somewhat questionable that there was an issue over a payment. If this company threatened a late fee for non or late payment, cardholders have 30 days to make a payment before any collection begin.

During that time frame, there's ample time to confirm payment, even mail (USPS, certified return receipt) documented proof of payment to the credit card company.

 
Oct 15, 2017
Awful
Anonymous Cardholder

They advertised as a chipped card with extra security. Once the card arrived it didn't have a chip. Customer service stated NONE of their cards have a chip. Also, paid the extra fee for expedited shipping. Seems like it took close to 2 weeks to get it .. only plan on keeping it a year ..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 31, 2017

Any Updates on this card?

 
Aug 15, 2017
has it's downs
ROLY6767 Cardholder

the application process was awesome just pay your bills on time you'll have no issues. the only problem I had was they sent me a bill before I received my card but it's alright my score went up 60 points in one month they are awesome

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 31, 2017

any recent updates on this card now?

 
Jul 23, 2017
SUCKS!!!!!!!
lucky8251 Cardholder

Their customer service sucks. And you cant understand them.
I had a 13 $ balance. Never. NEVER received a statement for 3 months.then may credit score fell 50 points.checked why they reported me for being late!!! My 13$ balance went to over 100$ because of late fees. Again didnt get statements. Tried to talk to them couldnt understand any of them ! From first person to manager!!
Im building my credit back, leave a small balance on all 8 of my cards. This company you have issues with online payments and receiving statements. Went paperless same freaking issue. STAY FAR AWAY FROM THESE PEOPLE!!!

more ...
Jul 23, 2017
SUCKS!!!!
lucky8251 Cardholder

They suck !!! Customer care is flat out not there. They send your statements as said. Ive not used my card. Never received a statement. Ended up paying over 120$ because of a 13 $ balance that they keep tacking on $39 dollar late fee. Said they would correct it . never did. You can understand customer service.
Stay far away from these guys !!!!!!!!!!!!

more ...
Sep 09, 2017

I understand you did not recieve a payment, but did you put the $13 on the card?

 
Nov 27, 2017

You never went online to check your account? Seems every 30 days, at the VERY least, you would check your online account.

 
Jul 19, 2017
Would not recommend to anyone
jordan1muffler Cardholder

I have had this card only for a few weeks. I added a ecured balance of 200.00 when I applied. The card took almost 3 weeks to get to me after applying. I received the pin code a week after that. and my first bill 2 days later. My biggrest issue at first was trying to contact someone at their custmer service, which is next to impossible unless ou have your card in the mail and it still does not tell you that your log in info is your card number and last 4 of your social. Once you get set up online you apparently have not only activate the card online you have to call as well even though online tells you that its activated. 

Second biggest issue. The day I received the card I already had a charge immediately for 49.00 which I had assumed was the service fee ( I figured okay no big deal) the part I coulld not figure out was that my balance showed availble credit of 124.50.( I havent even used the card yet!) The first bill I got did not show the service charge but online did. I immediately set up to pay the bill which come to find out if your bankk does not offer Bill Pay then you have to mail a check in. Thats the only options you get. Anyways, I pay the the balance off so i am supposed to be back at a 200.00 credit limit, WRONG!! My wife used the card for one purchase of 12.67 at the corner store and my payment had posted as well but mysteriously I have only 64.85 in available credit!?!?!  I can not get the math to add up. Even if I use their APR for purchases at 9.99% I am still no where close to what they say has been used. 

I would not recomend this card to anyone whatsoever and if youa re looking for a good secured card then look at the OpenSKy or CapitalOne Secured cards. Both of those are Easy to use and have exceptional customer service.

more ...
Jul 06, 2017
Went from a 495 to 657 in 3 months
Anonymous Cardholder

I see a lot of people complained about customer service. Look, they are in Georgia and older people, therefore a little slower. But think of them as an older family member that is making ends meet. You wouldn't pick on your aunt or grandfather working a job like that to keep his lights on would you? If the answer is yes, you've got a bit of self reflection to do. I find them extremely helpful, and I've not had any real issues. After THREE months of two First Prigress cards (I did a $300 and $1000 limit card), I was approved for a Delta American Express. This is a great card for anyone WITHOUT bankruptcy (the only people that don't get approval are bankruptcy individuals) that's looking to rebuild their credit fast. Mind you, I was disputing things and paying things off via the "Snowball method" (Google it) which helped a lot, but I'm over a 700 now within the same 6 months as first getting my two cards, 250 point climb. I highly recommend them. 

more ...
Jul 16, 2017

What card would you suggest to people who filed bankruptcy?

 
Oct 27, 2017

You probably work for them, if this many people complained and you had SUCH a GREAT experience...

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,844
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card