First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews

First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews
1.3 out of 5 stars
26 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $39
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99%* Variable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 31, 2019
I thought this card would help
Steph34w Cardholder

I thought this card would help build my credit actually I was wrong!!! Got tired of the inconvenience with trying to pay them other than bill pay. Then I decided to close my account in which they took my initial deposit ?. Also to top that off they said I owe them for a payment..how I owe you for a payment when you got all your money with my intial deposit. This company is a ripoff never again. They damage my credit by reporting I was late when I never was..bs do not mess with First Progress period !!!

more ...
Dec 21, 2019
No problem what so ever
nicomccart67 Cardholder

I was approved for $200 and as long as I set up a checking account to withdrawal from every month by the due date I never ever had a single issue.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 27, 2019

Hey!, you mean like, you set up a checking account to have JUST the $$$ to pay for the monthly card fee?? I don't use banks... but as I'm 32 now.. I need to start getting with the program and building my ******* credit.. score is surprisingly low for never having anything in my name.. but also not sure how credit TRULY works.. I mean I do... but I don't?!?! haha
anyways yeah just wondering if you meant you made a checkings account- to just have the credit card payment go out of that, automatically, every month? God! I wish everything can just be cash/trade again!!! LOL XD XD XD
Ty,
~Steve

 
Dec 19, 2019
Awful
JoeRe Cardholder

They post payments late to get late fees even though you have tracking to prove it, they sometimes dont send you a bill, their customer service is awful, tey cut off phone payments early to get more ate fees. Worst card ever, closing the account in January. Fed up

more ...
Dec 08, 2019
Armpit of credit cards
bowerymott Cardholder

Worst service, worst communication and even worst credit score.   Your score will actually decrease with this card.  Defeats the purpose of trying to improve your credit.  Like others have professed, RUN LIKE HELL FROM THIS CARD AND THIS COMPANY

more ...
Dec 06, 2019
Ronpitterson Cardholder

Don't get this card !!!!! They make it so hard to pay you have to send in a check I was told they never got my check!!! 
 

I canceled the card it's annoying!!!!

more ...
Nov 21, 2019
Paid $49 for elite low interest card.
JohnB60 Cardholder

They switched the apr on me on the 2nd month, and i called customer support many times. No help or resolve. They took and kept my deposit, and saddled me with a $144 debt as well. STAY AWAY from this scamming, cheating and lying company. RUN!

more ...
Nov 19, 2019
Worst card ever . Less than a star.
cswygert Cardholder

They take forever to process your payment. Horrible product.

more ...
Nov 04, 2019
Did not refund deposit
Jabette66 Cardholder

When i had this card a few years ago, i kept up on the payments-never had a problem with that. HOWEVER- i don't know how it is now but, when after about a year and a half i finally called and asked when i can get my deposit back and my credit limit raised, the guy told me they didn't do that. So i paid it off and cancelled. Don't go here.

more ...
Oct 30, 2019
catherine3406 Cardholder

It's horrible cause my score to drop before I had a payment due. Score drop October 30th pay first payment due November 19th

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 06, 2019

Could it have been the inquiry on your credit report that caused your acore to drop? Or any other factor? If your payment wasn't late then it wasn't the creditor that caused your score to drop. It was some other factor.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,844
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews

First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card