First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.4 out of 5 stars
48 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $39
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.99%* Variable

Our Take

The First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card is a solid option for building credit.

What to Like

It's a secured credit card, meaning there's no credit history required to get approved. First Progress also reports monthly to all three credit bureaus.

Look Out For

Because the card is secured, you'll have to pay a security deposit after you’re approved. The card also charges an annual fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 11, 2013
Fine For Me
Anonymous Cardholder

I could not get approved for a few other cards when I came across this one. Compared to other secured cards the annual fee wasn't bad. I put $300 down and have had it over a year. I'm sorry, I don't really remember how long it took to be accepted, money taken out of account or to receive the card since it was awhile ago.

I only use the card to pay my car insurance on auto pay. So instead of paying my car insurance bill every month, I pay the credit card bill. I don't use it for any other charges so technically I'm not out any extra money each month, except the once a year annual fee. 

This is the key to rebuilding your credit. Don't use it! Just put a low bill on auto pay with it and forget about it. Otherwise you will be spending money you don't currently have the cash for. Pay it off each month and don't pay any interest. You should only use 30% or less of your credit limit each month anyways to keep your debt to credit ratio low, which also helps improve your credit score. My car insurance is only $90 a month, which is 30% of $300. 

In the last 14 months or so that I have had it, I have been offered and approved for 3 non-secured cards. Once again, I put a different bill on auto pay and don't use it for anything else. Keep it simple and you won't get yourself in trouble. I have improved my credit from low to mid 500's to about 690 in 14 months. Not bad if you ask me. 

I do not work for this company by the way. I'm just a hard working 30 something year old girl trying to earn good credit by being as responsible as I can. I will not make the same credit mistakes I made when I was in my twenties. 

Good luck! If used responsibly this could be a good card for you! :)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 26, 2014
company is still living in the stone age
ctencore Cardholder

I've had this card for over a year.  It was the first card I ordered when I was looking to rebuild my credit.  While it did help me acomplish this goal (now a 668 score), working with these people with minor customer service requests is not easy.  Talking with them you get the impression they just started using computers last month.  The level of training they give their staff to accomodate their customers feels marginal at best.  Whenever you ask a question usually they have to go ask someone else, or transfer you to someone else.  They don't take payments via debit card either.  And when you do make a payment, unless it's a direct bill pay from your bank, they take forever to post it to your account.

The final straw for me was when I inadvertantly overpaid my credit card bill.  No worries, I wanted to just have them ad that to my credit line, increasing it from $644 to $1000.  After all, they already have my money, how hard can this be?   Well, the answer is "IMPOSSIBLE."   They told me they would need to send me a check for the $356 I over paid them, and then I would need to send them back a check for $356, the amount of the credit line increase.  What?  You already have the money!!!!  How much sense does that make?  Someone can't just apply the credit I have with them to my credit line????  "I'm sorry sir, we can't do that."  

Another issue is the whole credit line increase process itself.  You have to be "Approved" to increase your credit line and it can take 30 days.  Let me get this straight, I want to send you more of MY money to hold in deposit, you earn interest on that money AND charge me 18.99% to use MY money, and I have to be "approved" to do this and it's a somewhat arduous process?  Who's running this place, the guy from Rain Man?

For those looking to rebuild their credit I recommend Barclaycard (no deposit required but they start you out with a low credit line & increse it over time). Capitol One is another good one, you can increase your credit line AT ANY TIME by simply sending them more money.  You can also reach them nearly anytime, which is awesome, and their customer service reps are awesome as well.   Another good card is First Premier Bank.  This one does not require a deposit either, they just start you out small and work your way up.  I believe I had a $350 credit limit for the first 6 months.  Then it was increased to $700.  6 months later they sent me a new card for a 2nd account, with a credit limit of $1,500.  Now that's how you rebuild credit.... use the cards, make the payments on-time, and they constantly increase your limit, showing other normal creditors that you're responsible with larger credit limits.  As a result of all this I recently got a Discover card with a $1500 limit, a CitiBank credit card with a $2500 limit, and a chase card with a $2000 limit.  All starting with a 522 credit score 15 months ago.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 21, 2017
HORRIBIE CUSTOMER SERVICE /they lie
Anonymous Cardholder

THEY FALSE ADVERTISE. EVERY CUSTOMER GETS THE SAME UGLY GREEN CARD. THERE ARE NO CHIPPED CARDS. You will get a hard inquiry with this, there are only 2 ways to pay and one way is Moneygram at Walmart/Cvs and will cost you $72 a year. High annual fee, sucky website and is outdated. Terrible.  when you pay by check it takes two weeks for check to clear !  I have heard it takes almost 2 months to get the deposit back. So disappointed. 

more ...
May 21, 2017
HORRIBIE CUSTOMER SERVICE /they lie
Anonymous Cardholder

THEY FALSE ADVERTISE. EVERY CUSTOMER GETS THE SAME UGLY GREEN CARD. THERE ARE NO CHIPPED CARDS. You will get a hard inquiry with this, there are only 2 ways to pay and one way is Moneygram at Walmart/Cvs and will cost you $72 a year. High annual fee, sucky website and is outdated. Terrible.  when you pay by check it takes two weeks for check to clear !  I have heard it takes almost 2 months to get the deposit back. So disappointed. 

more ...
May 20, 2017
Don't get this card
Crystalm101 Cardholder

Instead o helping you rebuild your credit this stupid card helps you go backwards . I always pay on time through my banks bill pay , the problem is first progress reports every other month to credit bureaus, so sometimes you make gain 34 points other months you may lose 30 something points , never stable , I went and got approved for discover it card so far no problems and that's the card to go with ..

more ...
May 17, 2017
Pretty good starter card
Jordan3942 Cardholder

I applied with a 525 beacon and after making a few payments, my score went up enough to get another card through a different company with lower fees and rewards. Now my credit is a 606 beacon and growing every month. Annual fees are kind of high, but that's the cost you pay for having bad credit. Lol

more ...
May 08, 2017
Helps Credit

COULDNT GET A CAR ANYWHERE. THEN APPLIED FOR THIS ONE GOT APPROVED. MY SCORE WENT FROM LOW 500 TO 604 IN 18 MONTHS. THEN GOT APPROVE FOR 2 UNSECURED CARDS.

more ...
May 05, 2017
DO NOT GET!! You will regret!
CreditSaavy Cardholder

THEY FALSE ADVERTISE. EVERY CUSTOMER GETS THE SAME UGLY GREEN CARD. THERE ARE NO CHIPPED CARDS. You will get a hard inquiry with this, there are only 2 ways to pay and one way is Moneygram at Walmart/Cvs and will cost you $72 a year. High annual fee, sucky website and is outdated. Terrible. I' m paying in full and closing because I have Fingerhut and a Discover Secured. I have heard it takes almost 2 months to get the deposit back. So disappointed. 

more ...
May 02, 2017
It serves the purpose it's supposed to.
Anonymous Cardholder

Make your payments on time & keep your balance under 30%.

more ...
Apr 28, 2017
Great for building and improving credit!
hillaskrilla Cardholder

Buy some inexpensive things with the card, keep your balance low, and pay the bill on time every month. This will really help you improve your credit score quickly! It helped me get from the low 500s to 641 in just a few months. My score is still climbing higher! :-)

more ...
Apr 16, 2017
Horrribly card Services!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Called and paid my balance on the 14th and was given a confirmation number. Turns out THE GUY I TALKED TO NEVER RAN MY PAYMENT. GAVE ME A FAKE CONFIRMATION #.. AND NOW MY CREDIT BILL LOOKS UNPAID FOR THIS MONTH!!!!! UNBELIEVABLY TERRIBLY CUSTOMER SERVICE. 

more ...
Apr 14, 2017
The worst customet service criminals
Kcbat Cardholder

BEWARE,They are horrible I had this card gor a year paying the outrageous fees when I called to cancel the customer service actually threatened to hurt my credit unless I retained the card I laughed it off BUT GET THIS I CHECKED MY CREDIT TODAY AND THEY ADDED 2 LATE PAYMENTS no late payments until I closed the card Criminals liars Report to state banking commission and BBB SO BEWARE

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,844
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card