First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
49 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $39
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.99%* Variable

Our Take

The First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card is a solid option for building credit.

What to Like

It's a secured credit card, meaning there's no credit history required to get approved. First Progress also reports monthly to all three credit bureaus.

Look Out For

Because the card is secured, you'll have to pay a security deposit after you’re approved. The card also charges an annual fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 24, 2016
Does what it's supposed to.
Cbake12 Cardholder

I just typed a mega post about this card.  With tons on information for folks that had questions like I had and couldn't find.  Apparently it took me too long to post it because when I went to post it, it asked me to re-login and the whole thing was lost.  So I'll try to sum up real quick.

This is a great card to build your credit if you have none or if your credit is bad. It is a god awful card for people that can qualify for a nonsecured credit card.  I applied for the card late friday night (actually 3am Sat)  I received it the very next Thursday.  I paid an extra $40 to have the abliity to fund the account with mulitple payments over 6 months. I ended up paying it in two $200 payments online with a prepaid card before I even received the card.  If you are leary about sending 400,500 or even 1000 dollars to strange company you've never done business with then this may be a good option for you.  You'll actually receive the card before you've funded it.  The card will be active and able to be used the next business day after you finsih funding your account.  $40 bucks is $40 bucks, but it's not bad insurance if you are worried about having hundreds of dollars tied up before you get your card.

Customer service:  They don't want people to have their number.  It's almost imposible to find their number if you are not already a customer.  If you are a customer it's mearly difficult to find their number.  They don't want to field calls or offer anything to you for being their customer.  I get it.  They are in a high risk credit industry, but it still sucks.  I'll post the number and other information at the bottom of this post.   They are closed on Sundays.  You will get a generic voice mail that basically says "we are closed, call back when we aren't closed."  No company name, no hours of operation.

When they are not closed I've never had to wait on hold more than 30 seconds.  Both times I spoke to a male from the the southern united states (I'm assuming Georgia).  He was polite and helpful.  That was nice.

Making payments.  Checks take 10 days to post and online payments take 5.  They say they need this time to make sure the funds are available.  That BS.  It doesn't take that long.  This isn't 1976 its 2016.  But whatever.  It's their world, we just live in it.  The quickest way to make a payment is MoneyGram ExpressPayment Service.  It cost 5 bucks, you can do it at Walmart.  It should post the next business day.  I've done it twice on a Friday.  Once it posted Saturday afternoon the other time it took till Monday.  Moneygram confirms they got the money within minutes but it still takes a bit to post.  This is by far the quickest way to pay.

The only reason it's worth paying paying with Moneygram is to get a payment in before your bill is generated.  When your bill is generated they also report to the credit reporting agencies.  So if you are trying to keep your "credit utilization" down or need to make a payment the day before it is due then MoneyGram is a fantastic option.  It also allows you to have access to the money you paid a lot quicker than mailing a check or paying online.  There are situations where this will be useful to some.  It sure is to me.  My bill is generated on the 23rd of the month so I send in enough to pay it down to less than 10%.  When they report my account to the credit agencies it shows me having a balance of less than 10%.  This is a good thing.

------------------------------

Since I paid the extra $40 to fund my account in instalments they reported to the credit agencies before I actually got the card.  It only took a week to get the card but when I checked my credit the day before I received it my credit score zoomed up.  It showed I had a $400 credi line and was using $29 of it.  My score went from a 508 to 625 on one and from nothing (thin file) to a 671 on another according to CreditKarma.com.  I was stoked.  I'm still stoked.  You will be stoked!

As you can see they don't really bend over backwards for you and they don't try to lure you in with rewards and such.  They provide a service and they expect to be paid for it.  It's a marriage born out of circumstance.  You get what you need, they get what they need.  As soon as one doesn't need the other you should get a divorce.  

One nice thing about them is the ease of getting another card. Having multiple accounts and more avalible credit (with good utilization) will help your credit.  At first you get their basic card.  The only thing different that I have found is the interest rate.  You shouldn't even be worried about interest since you should be paying it off everymonth, but less intrest is better than more.  The first card is 19.99% apr but you are automatically qualified for their two other cards, the lowest having an 11.99% apr though the annual fee is a bit higher.  I will probably do this as my next stepping stone towards obtaining an unsecured credit card with benifits.

Their phone number is 877/724-0928

If you are going to use MoneyGram ExpressPayment this is the info you need:

Company Name:  FIRST PROGRESS CARD-NXTDY (you don't need the nxtdy but that's how it appears on the receipt)

Receive code :1461

City and State: Columbia, Georgia

You will also need your 16 digit card number.  This is also your account number

Hope this helps someone.  I was leary before I got it and had a lot of questions I couldn't find answers to.  I'm glad I took the plunge.  I'm really excited about making progress on my credit report.  This has been the single best thing I've done for my financial situation.  I've recomended it to many freinds and family member and do so with out hesitation.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 26, 2016
LOOK ELSEWHERE !!! Horrible
LynnAZ Cardholder

They have had $1500 of my money since Aug 2015. 

Sept 2015 they shut the card down due to fraud?

it took me until June 2016 to get a new card. Never received statements. Access online was tied to old account number which is closed. July 25 I finally got ahold of someone by pressing lost/ stolen card. I've waited up to 45 mins and then get cut off to speak to customer service. I paid the card off and was charged 10.00 because you can only pay with your bank acct   It will take 10 days to post until the card will be considered closed then an additional 10 WEEKS to get my 1500 mailed back. 

They have been using my 1500 for over a year with their backward account practices. This company needs to be investigated. Taking advantage of people and using their money for their benefit. 

DO NOT SIGN UP WITH COMPANY!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 20, 2017
I love this card!
cally412 Cardholder

Only people who arent responsible have problems with this card....In my opinion this is better than an unsecured card. This card can definately help you build/rebuild your credit! It reports as UNSECURED. The application process was fast and easy, and it took less than 2 weeks to get my card. It reports monthly to all 3 credit agencies and has a low apr! Also, this card has a 25 day grace period (which is awesome!)on purchases and cash advances! Make sure you dont go over your utilization though because your credit score will drop about 50-80 points! Only thing "bad" about this card it that there is the annual fee, which isnt much(about $39...What do you expect from a secured card? Another thing. Alot of people worry about making their payments and how long it takes to process.. I have found it EXTREMELY EASY using Ace Cash Express for my payments. It processes and shows on your available credit in 2 days and it only costs $3.95 per transaction!!!! Hope this helps!!

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Terrible Service & PLENTY of Fees
Anonymous Cardholder

- Upsettingly difficult when trying to call and speak to a human.
- Charges you $10 if trying to pay balance over the phone.
- Hooorrriffic if you ever need to dispute a charge. CHARGED ME $23 for returning my funds back to my card after I was wrongfully debited for $79!!

Bottom line this card is an absolute last resort.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 24, 2017

I reach a human every time I call. All you have to do is push option 6 after entering your card number and you will get someone. Not long wait times either...

 
Mar 03, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

very bag and customer service.........tiene un mal servicio....pecimo!!!!!!

more ...
Mar 02, 2017
Miracle Card
Rn2nr Cardholder

I applied and gave my deposit it took between 2-3 weeks to get which was a bummer but totally worth it. I got my card -2/16/2017 and called to activate it and payed the $34 opening charge, now 1 week later and the first time my credit has updated with the card on it my score went up 35 points.

more ...
Jan 31, 2017
Great for building credit.
DerekD84 Cardholder

Had this card for 3 years. I had really terrible credit from stupid choices when I was younger. Opened this card and made my payments on time every month. This, among other things, helped me build my credit enough to finally buy a house. I just closed it because they wouldn't waive the fee annual fee and I have better cards now. Customer service was really easy to deal with when I closed the card. No hassles at all. Would definitely recommend to someone with no credit. Would not recommend to people that have other choices. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 23, 2017

Thanks Derek,

A few questions if you have a minute. - When you closed your account, did you have to do it in writing? How long did it take you to get paid back the money you secured the card with? And have you noticed if it hurt your credit to close the secured account? Thanks for your time -

 
Jan 30, 2017
STAY AWAY
Vickayp Cardholder

Worst company to deal with.  The customer service is open on selected hours.  Their web service has been down for weeks.  They are taking 90 days to remove fradulent charges from my account while my credit is being negatively affected.  Go with ANY other company... 

more ...
Jan 02, 2017
SCAM
timbrld1 Cardholder

If you know what's best, you would stay away from this card.  It's a money making scam that would result in a lower credit score.  My score dropped 45 points because of erroneous credit reporting.  I couldn't wait to pay them out and close this account before they do anymore damage to my credit.  Then they told me I have to wait up to 10 weeks to get back my deposit.     PLEASE AVOID THIS CARD LIKE A PLAGUE!                     SCAM ALERT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

more ...
Dec 17, 2016
Pretty good so far
sharpe85 Cardholder

This card was easy to get approved for and I just used it for the first time for a rental car and had to contact customer service and the lady was super nice! Took a while for the hold but once on the phone took less than two minutes to resolve the issue of it not actually being activated somehow.

I just sent my first moneygram payment today and will update others on how fast that posts :) by the way the receive code is 14561 and keep your receipt or at least take a pic with your phone as proof of your tracking number:)

more ...
Dec 14, 2016
terrible
mattnazari93 Cardholder

I have a fraduelent charge on my card and have tried emailing them there's not customer service email to reach them and I've called 3 numbers and was on hold for 45 minutes before it just hung up

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,844
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card