Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

PayPal™ Buyer Credit

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.7 out of 5 stars
35 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 29, 2016
Why So Many Bad Reviews?
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had my PayPal Credit account open for over a year, and have NEVER had issues. Not sure why all these bad reviews; perhaps it's due to people not taking the time to read policies? They have never randomly initiated hard pulls like one reviewer stated. I think this is because "Bill Me Later" has changed since this reviewer applied (they did say it was over 5 years ago) and I've pored over my policy documents with a fine-toothed comb and there is nothing in there stating they will periodically check credit scores. My APR has never wavered. As for them taking payments immediately from a bank account but then posting in 21 days as another reviewer said, well, this has never happened to me either. My payments post within 3-5 days. Can't speak about their customer service because, surprise! I have had no reason to call them!

I will admit that Paypal's checkout process used to be slightly confusing, and can see why some people were inadvertently applying for the Paypal Credit line when they didn't want to. But this can be avoided by carefully reading before clicking. Read. It will help avoid surprises later. It's not that hard.

The one thing I thought weird was when they extended my credit without my requesting it. This happened on my one year anniversary of having my account open. I logged in and found I had an extra $300 of credit. I found it odd they did this without me initiating it, and was ready to go on the war path if my credit score got dinged. Good news is there was never a hard pull, so my score never wavered.

I like my account and have never had problems, so reading about mostly negative reviews is perplexing. Maybe I have yet to experience all these awful things?! Perhaps. But so far, so good.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 18, 2015
Be Careful!
Abaraxis Cardholder

I applied for and recieved this card with a 2500 limit, very pleased with it for the first 12 months; had a 1100 balance and made one payment to get this account down to zero balance. i wanted to put all of my monthly bills on auto pay and have one thing to worry about. Paypal decided to HOLD my payment for 21 days AND freeze my account because of such a large one time payment. So, my account sits with zero balance AND I now have zero credit availible for the next 3 weeks. I must say I have never had this happen before with Chase, Barclay's, Discover, Cap 1 or BofA.  This card just got shredded and acoount will be closed once they credit my funds.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 16, 2016
Excellent!
Anonymous Cardholder

I got instantly approved for a $3750 line of credit. I immediatley purchsed $875 worth of merchandise and got 6 months, no payment, no interest. They seem to be diligent about their email updates about due dates. I am not sure why others have issues.

more ...
Oct 20, 2016
BAD %%%%%%% TO HIBAD
Anonymous Cardholder

 They might do you on the interest rate of interest whenever they want 

more ...
Sep 20, 2016
Breaking every consumer credit law ever
Anonymous Cardholder

Pay Pal credit is an embarrassment to EBay, and every source that uses them. I dropped my account today, BUT to make my point, I will never again do business with any vendor that uses Pay-Pal Credit as an option. These folks are thieves. After literally stealing $114.00 from me in fees ??? ILLEGALLY (knowing that they are under the radar and for that amount I wouldn’t cause them grief)… I closed my account, and in the process of paying off charges that I just made THIS MONTH – that were not due yet, I was charges some account termination fee for another $35.00 (seems to be their magic number.

In 2016, I was charged $2.16 in interest – and $114.00 in FEES.

THESE are the kind of lender that NEED a “class action suit”, and I.m **** near mad enough to do that. Right is right… WRONG is wrong, and should be punished !

Pay-Pal Credit will see this message on every available rating site.

Hint: In the future – don’t mess with someone that has nothing to lose. You can’t win !

Jack Schafer

more ...
Sep 13, 2016
Useless Credit Line
Anonymous Cardholder

Like many other stated, went through application process. Was instantly approved for $3000. Then my purchase was deined and I was told you have to "work up" and build a history with Paypal prior to using Paypal credit. What?!?!?! Then approve a $50 credit line. I immediately closed the account, now I have to fight with credit agenies to get it removed since it was essentially fraud (on Paypal's part). Hopefully fraud protection will remove the inquiry and account history from my credit reports, but I'm sure it will end in hours of my effort to correct their horrible mistkake.

STAY AWAY!

more ...
Aug 11, 2016
Impossible to track transactions!
Anonymous Cardholder

Impossible to track transactions between statements, break out your carbon copy imprinter if you'd like to compare your balance to your transactions.   This card could be ok, not great, but ok, if it offered a stand alone website like their care credit and Walmart cards provide, for some reason this card is only serviceable through PayPal.  The online tools are archaic, you can monitor your balance through PayPal,  but there is no way to view current or pending transactions.  There is no way to dispute a charge until you get a statement.  To cap off this horrible interface and atrocious interest rate (although most cash back cards have high rates) The point system is misleading or at least disappointing.  3x points for gas sounds good, but in reality it’s 2.49% cash back,  ok, not all that bad for gas.  2x points for eBay & PayPal sounds ok, but it’s really 1.6% cb,  ok, I guess that’s decent, but there are better options. 1x is not worth using at .83% cb.  The nail in the coffin,  you have 24 months to use those cash back points before they expire, and you have to accrue 6000 point before exchanging them for a $50 credit.  It’s not a good card if you have other options available.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 02, 2016

I just saw yesterday that they are planning a major update......its about time!

 
Jul 31, 2016
HAHAHA
Duramax2500 Cardholder

I had opened this with a $2750 limit however every time I tried to use it it was declined. I called and they said you have to build up a history with paypal and order small things so I tried $200 still rejected. I laughed at the customer rep and said close this rediculous excuse of a payment option. What good is a credit line if you cant use it? The guy tld me well it comes out of your bank account so it's not a true credit line? Ok so I was confused here I have a credit limit of $2750 cant even use $200 yet it's not even a credit? Wow I am in a tornado of confusion and frustration! I don't need the credit line so no hard no foul just an inquiry. Credit companies are halarious. 

more ...
Aug 19, 2016

I have had nothing but a great experience using this hidden credit line. The rep is right. By using this, the credit limit does grow. I initially started with a $600 line and within 2 years it has grown to $ 5000 . I have paid 95 percent of my charges a new iphone $ 800, some ebay things $50-3500 within the 6 months, but I did let some small Christmas things roll over for 2 months....I think I paid maybe $15 in interest. and ...presto chango....a bigger limit. Spend some time and research how to best use this product and I promise you will appreciate it'

 
Nov 16, 2016

@BrianinCincinnati. When you app the credit issuer usually bases your credit limit off of your credit profile. If you don't trust someone with a $2,700 limit then don't give them that limit. Give them the amount that you trust them with and let them build from there. It makes absolutely no sense for someone to get a $2,700 limit only to be told you have to work your way up to that.

 
Jul 25, 2016
MONITOR YOUR EMAILS
vebros66 Cardholder

Excellent card; however, you need to check on your account and when its due. I think they do a good job !

more ...
Jul 25, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

They have no customer service. 

more ...
Jul 21, 2016
Deceitful
Anonymous Cardholder

Beware.  When they are supposedf to deduct your charges from your checking account, and they "forget", they start charging massive late charges, interest, etc.  My $11.81 charge was never deduccted from my checkinbg account as they should have.  Within a few months, with the late charges, my balance grew to $90.62.  Get the picture, yet?  Paypal is fine, paypal credit appears to be a scam.  AVOID!!!!

more ...
Jul 17, 2016
Cool
Duramax2500 Cardholder

I am electroniclly stupid but I think it's cool I can pay at stores on my phone. I applied today and approved for $2750. I have 45 inquires a truck purchase 2 months ago for $54k and 5 new cards just this month. No one gripes about my inquries exept when I appplied for citi and discover still has me on a hit list. I am shocked they don't come rough me up for using credit. I apply for what ever I want and inquries don't matter. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

PayPal™ Buyer Credit