PayPal™ Buyer Credit Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.2 out of 5 stars
21 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 16, 2016
Excellent!
Anonymous Cardholder

I got instantly approved for a $3750 line of credit. I immediatley purchsed $875 worth of merchandise and got 6 months, no payment, no interest. They seem to be diligent about their email updates about due dates. I am not sure why others have issues.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 25, 2017
Lowered credit line after a year
kkitten93 Cardholder

Excellent payment history with them. Yet each year they check my credit score and because I had payment trouble with a couple other creditors, my score isn't that great now. 2 years in a row they lowered my credit limit to whatever the balance at the time is. Went from a $500 credit line to $280 now. If my balance was $50, I'm sure thats what my credit line would be right now after they lowered it. Once I pay off this credit line, I'm done with them and closing my account. Not worth it. If I would have known they would lower your credit line even with excellent payment history, I'd have never applied.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 13, 2017
Absolutely nothing but a head ache
Anonymous Cardholder

This line of credit is an absolute joke got approved for 1200 limit and tried to purchase an item off eBay for around $5.00 and was declined called and purchase was blocked for potential fraud well needless to say had the credit line for a month and was able to get a total of 2 maybe 3 transactions to go through they coudint even tell u anything other than.it was blocking purchase after purchase for potential fraud really? Wth is the point in having it if u can't even make a 5.00 purchase lol closed the account save you're time it's a joke

more ...
Aug 18, 2017
The worst credit service I've had
caharn Cardholder

Funds are not available until two weeks after you post your payment. 

The app is useless. You don't even pay your bill through Paypal, it takes you to a third party to handle your account activity and payments.  

They do not send you any kind of reminder as to when your next payment is due. 

I've only had this card three months and dealing with them has been an absolute nightmare. I would rather use one of those rip off credit cards you get pre approved for in the mail. 

more ...
Aug 16, 2017
STAY AWAY!
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't waste your time. Customer service is terrible and they jerk you around. The goal behind this card is to set you up to fail. Too many other options out there to deal with this card. I am pro Paypal but not their Credit Card. I was very disappointed and let down. Paypal should be ashamed of themselves. I lost a lot of respect for Paypal. 

more ...
Aug 06, 2017
Fair... So many irrelevant complaints...
1SRKING Cardholder

Convenient is the first word that comes to mind. Now I've got to leave my thoughts on the posts above or before mine... too many individuals complain about issues that are completely your fault. This is a bank who is lending you money. Their own money. They've got no obligation to you, nor do they need to honor many of the various ridiculous demands, requests or rescue you from absolutely irresponsible and outrageous actions. I think people need to start taking responsibility for your actions. Also, for goodness sake— don't you read the fine print? There's no 'trap' of any means or shoddy services, only unreasonable or absurd expectations and irresponsible people. Credit is a privelidge, not a right. Repair your history or score if it's in need of doing so, read the fine print in the contracts and if you don't understand it, then call and ask... or contact a paralegal or attorney who will translate the words to you... 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 27, 2017

Exactly how is it someone's fault when a credit card company takes two weeks to post your payment? Or how is it their fault that Paypal does a hard pull on everyone's credit every year which will bring down your credit score? Too many people have this complaint for it to be anyone's fault. I bet you're a lot of fun at parties!

 
Jun 22, 2017
Horrible customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

If you ever have a question concerning a transaction then good luck.  I called to ask a question about a recent transaction and was diverted to 6 different people that could not answer me. Each time I had to verify my account and personal information. Finally I just asked to have my account cancelled. I have had this card for 15-20 years but if I can't get answers when I need then I do not need the card. From a very disappointed customer.

more ...
Jun 11, 2017
Concerned..
Anonymous Cardholder

I pay off the balance on this card every month and it takes them 2 weeks to verify the payment cleared my checking and will only release the funds if you call and ask them to do so.

more ...
May 13, 2017
Doesn't have your back if you're defrauded
Anonymous Cardholder

Long and overly complicated PayPal review process with unreliable communication channels.  Chinese company sold me shoddy, smelly, poorly made clothing.  They steal designer photos for their ads and change company name frequently, blocking negative reviews on their site.  I trusted PayPal credit card to protect me like Discover does.  They left me holding the bag, which means they are as immoral as the Chinese company, Modlily.  I cancelled my card after paying a bill I should never have been forced to pay.  I will never do business with either company again, and will warn all who listen to stay away from both.  

more ...
Apr 29, 2017
great
Anonymous Cardholder

i had bad credit, was approved for $800 then paid it off in 6 months then they increased to $1500. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 13, 2017

What was your credit score?

 
Apr 25, 2017
Worst monthly payment ever
Anonymous Cardholder

i had paypal credit over 3-4 year it was easy to used it but the worst of all is monthly payment fee is ridiculous by paying extra $25 or more for the late fee and doesn't have special benefits for cash back or earning points for discount...

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
Lowered credit line after a year
kkitten93 Cardholder

Excellent payment history with them. Yet each year they check my credit score and because I had payment trouble with a couple other creditors, my score isn't that great now. 2 years in a row they lowered my credit limit to whatever the balance at the time is. Went from a $500 credit line to $280 now. If my balance was $50, I'm sure thats what my credit line would be right now after they lowered it. Once I pay off this credit line, I'm done with them and closing my account. Not worth it. If I would have known they would lower your credit line even with excellent payment history, I'd have never applied.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 24, 2017

When they rechecked your credit, was it a hard inquiry?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

PayPal™ Buyer Credit