Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

PayPal™ Buyer Credit

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.7 out of 5 stars
35 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 29, 2016
Why So Many Bad Reviews?
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had my PayPal Credit account open for over a year, and have NEVER had issues. Not sure why all these bad reviews; perhaps it's due to people not taking the time to read policies? They have never randomly initiated hard pulls like one reviewer stated. I think this is because "Bill Me Later" has changed since this reviewer applied (they did say it was over 5 years ago) and I've pored over my policy documents with a fine-toothed comb and there is nothing in there stating they will periodically check credit scores. My APR has never wavered. As for them taking payments immediately from a bank account but then posting in 21 days as another reviewer said, well, this has never happened to me either. My payments post within 3-5 days. Can't speak about their customer service because, surprise! I have had no reason to call them!

I will admit that Paypal's checkout process used to be slightly confusing, and can see why some people were inadvertently applying for the Paypal Credit line when they didn't want to. But this can be avoided by carefully reading before clicking. Read. It will help avoid surprises later. It's not that hard.

The one thing I thought weird was when they extended my credit without my requesting it. This happened on my one year anniversary of having my account open. I logged in and found I had an extra $300 of credit. I found it odd they did this without me initiating it, and was ready to go on the war path if my credit score got dinged. Good news is there was never a hard pull, so my score never wavered.

I like my account and have never had problems, so reading about mostly negative reviews is perplexing. Maybe I have yet to experience all these awful things?! Perhaps. But so far, so good.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 28, 2016
raised my apr from 21 to 27?
Anonymous Cardholder

I have good credit and have always paid you on time for many years......8 years or so.  Never late....now you raise my APR, won't be seeing much on this card any more.  Crazy!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 01, 2017
Worst automated system ever!
Denver846156 Cardholder

You have to listen to a minute of your statement info without bypassing it. It takes about 1-3 minutes to actually talk with a live person. The email statement doesn't have contact number.

The live customer service is excellent. It's the automated system that's really bad.

I made an online payment. They never received the payment.

more ...
Dec 26, 2016
Do not apply!!!
Kharp83 Cardholder

I normally don't write a review but I coud not with the way PayPal is so if you are thinking about applying for PayPal credit don't. The billing department is so messed up not willing to work with someone with the payment when it was due of a holiday weekend and you call the Monday after to make the payment it still shows up as a late payment. I was only 2 days late with one of those days being a holiday and they advised that it will still show up as a late payment. I have had nothing but issues over the last few months. Oh and if your bank won’t except PayPal the you are stuck having to call it in and dealing with an automated system that if it hears something in the background it won’t let you go back to the main menu it just keeps repeating the same options. Then when you do get someone on the phone they are rude and again will not work with you. If I could select negative stars I would.

more ...
Dec 19, 2016
It is great for online purchasing.
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is great for online purchasing from various vendors.

more ...
Dec 09, 2016
Thisis40 Cardholder

I'm not sure what the deal is with all of the negative reviews!
​I was approved for a $2000 credit line, and have not had any issues with using it. They have never declined a charge or limited the funds, I spent $1800 of the $2000 in first week (paying it off a week later).

​Their system is one of the most user friendly in existence, and making a payment is so easy a small child could manage it. And payments post within 24 hours for me.

​I have been a member for a decade, and my payment method was already in their system, so maybe these things played into it, I dont know.

​Regardless, I love having this, as it is a hidden trade line and doesnt reflect against my utilization on reports.

​No issues, no complaints.

more ...
Nov 16, 2016
Excellent!
Anonymous Cardholder

I got instantly approved for a $3750 line of credit. I immediatley purchsed $875 worth of merchandise and got 6 months, no payment, no interest. They seem to be diligent about their email updates about due dates. I am not sure why others have issues.

more ...
Oct 20, 2016
BAD %%%%%%% TO HIBAD
Anonymous Cardholder

 They might do you on the interest rate of interest whenever they want 

more ...
Sep 20, 2016
Breaking every consumer credit law ever
Anonymous Cardholder

Pay Pal credit is an embarrassment to EBay, and every source that uses them. I dropped my account today, BUT to make my point, I will never again do business with any vendor that uses Pay-Pal Credit as an option. These folks are thieves. After literally stealing $114.00 from me in fees ??? ILLEGALLY (knowing that they are under the radar and for that amount I wouldn’t cause them grief)… I closed my account, and in the process of paying off charges that I just made THIS MONTH – that were not due yet, I was charges some account termination fee for another $35.00 (seems to be their magic number.

In 2016, I was charged $2.16 in interest – and $114.00 in FEES.

THESE are the kind of lender that NEED a “class action suit”, and I.m **** near mad enough to do that. Right is right… WRONG is wrong, and should be punished !

Pay-Pal Credit will see this message on every available rating site.

Hint: In the future – don’t mess with someone that has nothing to lose. You can’t win !

Jack Schafer

more ...
Sep 13, 2016
Useless Credit Line
Anonymous Cardholder

Like many other stated, went through application process. Was instantly approved for $3000. Then my purchase was deined and I was told you have to "work up" and build a history with Paypal prior to using Paypal credit. What?!?!?! Then approve a $50 credit line. I immediately closed the account, now I have to fight with credit agenies to get it removed since it was essentially fraud (on Paypal's part). Hopefully fraud protection will remove the inquiry and account history from my credit reports, but I'm sure it will end in hours of my effort to correct their horrible mistkake.

STAY AWAY!

more ...
Aug 11, 2016
Impossible to track transactions!
Anonymous Cardholder

Impossible to track transactions between statements, break out your carbon copy imprinter if you'd like to compare your balance to your transactions.   This card could be ok, not great, but ok, if it offered a stand alone website like their care credit and Walmart cards provide, for some reason this card is only serviceable through PayPal.  The online tools are archaic, you can monitor your balance through PayPal,  but there is no way to view current or pending transactions.  There is no way to dispute a charge until you get a statement.  To cap off this horrible interface and atrocious interest rate (although most cash back cards have high rates) The point system is misleading or at least disappointing.  3x points for gas sounds good, but in reality it’s 2.49% cash back,  ok, not all that bad for gas.  2x points for eBay & PayPal sounds ok, but it’s really 1.6% cb,  ok, I guess that’s decent, but there are better options. 1x is not worth using at .83% cb.  The nail in the coffin,  you have 24 months to use those cash back points before they expire, and you have to accrue 6000 point before exchanging them for a $50 credit.  It’s not a good card if you have other options available.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 02, 2016

I just saw yesterday that they are planning a major update......its about time!

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

PayPal™ Buyer Credit