PayPal™ Buyer Credit Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.7 out of 5 stars
36 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 19, 2013
Instant Approval - CK 616
Athlai Cardholder

I have terrible credit. I messed things up with I was younger and am currently rebuilding.

I was instantly approved for $300.00 with Paypal Connect with a 616 CK score.

Few things of note:

1) It will default to paypal connect as your primary funding source, so make sure you keep up with your due dates and usage.

2) I've read they do not send statements, it requires you to be diligent with your due dates

3) You do not receive a physical card. It's attached to your paypal account as another funding source

4) High interest, really only use once in a while to keep active and make sure you only put what you can pay back on the actual balance.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 27, 2015
Do not be seduced by Paypal Credit!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a Paypal credit account which I use from time to time. About every 4 months they will send you an E-mail offering 6 months same as cash on purchases of $99 and above.  No disclaimer as to credit limit, etc.  I recently tried to do this and ordered merchandise from a supplier for $387.  Initially they approved it, then decided my credit was'nt good enough and debited my primary checking account.  Needless to say, this created may problems with overdrafts,etc.  The bank doesn't want to refund them and nor does Paypal.  Their customer service is terrible....they say the same things over and over.  Bottom line.........stay far far away!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 13, 2017
Doesn't have your back if you're defrauded
Anonymous Cardholder

Long and overly complicated PayPal review process with unreliable communication channels.  Chinese company sold me shoddy, smelly, poorly made clothing.  They steal designer photos for their ads and change company name frequently, blocking negative reviews on their site.  I trusted PayPal credit card to protect me like Discover does.  They left me holding the bag, which means they are as immoral as the Chinese company, Modlily.  I cancelled my card after paying a bill I should never have been forced to pay.  I will never do business with either company again, and will warn all who listen to stay away from both.  

more ...
Apr 29, 2017
great
Anonymous Cardholder

i had bad credit, was approved for $800 then paid it off in 6 months then they increased to $1500. 

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
Worst monthly payment ever
Anonymous Cardholder

i had paypal credit over 3-4 year it was easy to used it but the worst of all is monthly payment fee is ridiculous by paying extra $25 or more for the late fee and doesn't have special benefits for cash back or earning points for discount...

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
Lowered credit line after a year
kkitten93 Cardholder

Excellent payment history with them. Yet each year they check my credit score and because I had payment trouble with a couple other creditors, my score isn't that great now. 2 years in a row they lowered my credit limit to whatever the balance at the time is. Went from a $500 credit line to $280 now. If my balance was $50, I'm sure thats what my credit line would be right now after they lowered it. Once I pay off this credit line, I'm done with them and closing my account. Not worth it. If I would have known they would lower your credit line even with excellent payment history, I'd have never applied.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 24, 2017

When they rechecked your credit, was it a hard inquiry?

 
Mar 14, 2017
WILL RUIN YOU
Anonymous Cardholder

DO NOT GET THIS CARD! I had this card for 9 years I NEVER missed a payment and I was never late not even one time!!! Not once in 9 years! I had a $1100 limit and was using this card to fix my credit score. This company does not care about your history with them, they kept decreasing my limit and would therefore keep decreasing my credit card utilization. Everytime I would bring the balance down, they would lower my limit. If I brought my balance down to $800, they brought my limit down to $800, I could NEVER win with them! Once I got my balance down to $200, they decreased my limit to $200! They literally wrecked my credit score even though I had paid them faithfully on time for 9 years!!! 

more ...
Mar 11, 2017
Disappointed
Jurenah Cardholder

I filed a dispute against a company with a reputation for ripping off customers.  Pay pal credit customer service assured me the matter would be taken care, the disputed amount would be removed from my remaining balance, not to return the merchandise until further notice from Paypal of the correct address.  That was over a month ago.   Each time I call, the answer is always the same, it is being investiagated.  As a long-term customer of Paypal Credit, I paid bills on time every month and was called one of their preferred customers.  With a credit line of over $4,000, I am seriously considering closing this account and use my 0% credit card for future purhcases.  Had I used a credit card for this transaction, the amount would have been deducted from my balance, pending an investigation.  I have lost confidence in dealing with this company and would not take the chance of

more ...
Mar 05, 2017
terrible
delta66dental Cardholder

i got a 1500 line of credit used 487 of it and trie few days later to make another purchase and will not let me use it at all was trying to take advantage no financing fee for 6 months no  interest one in the custmer service dept can do nothing because a computer makes all the decisions not the humans why give me credit if i cant use it

more ...
Feb 01, 2017
Worst automated system ever!
Denver846156 Cardholder

You have to listen to a minute of your statement info without bypassing it. It takes about 1-3 minutes to actually talk with a live person. The email statement doesn't have contact number.

The live customer service is excellent. It's the automated system that's really bad.

I made an online payment. They never received the payment.

more ...
Dec 26, 2016
Do not apply!!!
Kharp83 Cardholder

I normally don't write a review but I coud not with the way PayPal is so if you are thinking about applying for PayPal credit don't. The billing department is so messed up not willing to work with someone with the payment when it was due of a holiday weekend and you call the Monday after to make the payment it still shows up as a late payment. I was only 2 days late with one of those days being a holiday and they advised that it will still show up as a late payment. I have had nothing but issues over the last few months. Oh and if your bank won’t except PayPal the you are stuck having to call it in and dealing with an automated system that if it hears something in the background it won’t let you go back to the main menu it just keeps repeating the same options. Then when you do get someone on the phone they are rude and again will not work with you. If I could select negative stars I would.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

PayPal™ Buyer Credit