All American Express® Credit Cards Reviews

All American Express® Credit Cards Reviews
1.1 out of 5 stars
32 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 11, 2020
Just ok...
AW00DS Cardholder

I thought amex was one of the best of the best credit cards but boy was I wrong. There customer service is just ok and their benefits is just ok as well. I would recommend BOA, CHASE, OR DISCOVER. I might even say Wells Fargo. I have all of them. Great benefits. But of course my credit is 750 lol.

more ...
Jan 06, 2020
Won't Fix Their Own Errors
HaileyHW Cardholder

Amex ended up canceling my first card. I don't know if it was accidental or intentional, but I didn't ask for or agree to them canceling it. They immediately reissued a replacement card, but the resulting delays from all this cost me a lot of money. I spoke to customer service (both before and after they delays) about the problem, but they claimed there was nothing they could do to fix their mistake. They have some decent cards if everything goes right, but don't count on them if anything goes wrong.

more ...
Dec 24, 2019
Ruins Christmas 2019

I ordered auto parts costing less then $700 on line using my American Express Gold Card as a Chrismas present.  They declined the sale due to possible fraud.  Since I did not have my cell phone glued to my body, I didn't recieve notification.  As a result, the parts are not available until after Christmas.  This is the second time this has occured.  It makes me look like at Grinch and makes me look like I'm dishonest at point of sale.  I have been a member since 1989 but no more.

American Express does not consider the customer experience when developing policy.  It cost them a loyal customer.

more ...
Dec 07, 2019
Absolutely the worst creditors.
AshleyFeaster Cardholder

I have 2 platinum cards through American Express. Out of the 12 credit cards I own, I hate using them the most. American Express constantly locks me out of my account so I can’t make a payment and have to call and be on the phone for nearly an hour during my lunch break to get my account unlocked again. Then, even though I’ve jumped through hoops to make every payment on time and have one card paid off, they send me an email that they’ve lowered the credit limit on my other card by almost half! I put a larger business purchase on that card during Black Friday and got my credit limit lowered the following day, affecting my credit score by 19 points. Afterwards they had the audacity to send another email saying I am getting close to my credit limit now and need to make a payment to lower my balance. Worst creditors I have ever dealt with. And with one one $195 annual fee and one over $500, I absolutely cannot wait to close out both of these cards and never have to deal with American Express again. 

more ...
Nov 26, 2019
Atrocious

Absolutely the worst card I have ever had. They did not follow through with their introductory offer. They basically stole from me. I am paying off this card, closing my account, and I will never do business with them again. They are liars and thieves. Avoidbat app cost.

more ...
Oct 18, 2019
Darylturner Cardholder

You get only about half of the rewards you think you are getting. They admit the reward you thought you were getting were available but say you clicked on the wrong button. And nothing you can do about it after that, and then customer service is very bad. I would highly recommend staying away from the American Express. Just not worth the hassle and don't get what you promise

more ...
Oct 16, 2019
Cancellations for NO REASON
lianasmith Cardholder

Be careful of this company. They will just cancel your account with no notice and when you call them about it they will just tell you that you haven't been using the card and you are eligible for reinstatement but they will do a hard pull on your account. Yes, a hard pull to reactivate a card YOU ALREADY HAD FOR YEARS!!!! No warning, just cancel, affect your credit history and card utilization and if you want it reinstated you have to have a hard pull. UNREAL!

more ...
Oct 13, 2019
Horrible customer service.
Sdahl1971 Cardholder

I had a fraudulent charge on my AMEX card, had the merchant and AMEX on a conference call for over an hour 3 different times before AMEX would acknowledg the credit/reversal of charge. They still will not give access to those funds until the next billing cycle almost a month away. Vanilla Visa prepaid card company was able to reverse a scam charge and give access to o the funds within an hour on the first call. AMEX is a RIP-OFF and a scam of a company for the wea

more ...
Oct 08, 2019
Absolutely terrible
krismance Cardholder

The worst company to possibly have a credit card with!!!!   

more ...
Oct 08, 2019
krismance Cardholder

This is the worst credit card comany.  They are absolutely the appitiy of terrible customer service and not helping customers.  They increse your interest rate and make it so all that you can pay is the interest!  Word to the wise, DO NOT GET AN AMERICA EXPRESS.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
All American Express® Credit Cards Reviews

All American Express® Credit Cards