All American Express® Credit Cards

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.3 out of 5 stars
19 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 20, 2017
Business and Personal
Anonymous Cardholder

Bad experince thr worst. Have around 10 Credit cards never been treated like this. You will never get better 

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
Absolutely horrible way to treat custome
Ghromit Cardholder

Let me start off by saying when I acquired my American Express blue cash card I had a perfect credit score. I got a pre approved screening thing in the mail so I applied for the card. I was approved for a 10 thousand dollar limit. Over the next 6 months I kept my card around 30% utilization. The day I went over 30% I get an email saying they decreased my credit limit by 6,500 dollars! I call to see what is up and they said my credit score dropped a little bit and I have too much utilization. My credit score was stil 715 at this time. So they said I would have to pay 2,000 dollars in two months to get my credit limit back.. That's asinine. So basically they give you a pseudo credit limit and if you go over 30% utilization they drop your whole limit and thrash your whole credit. Never again Will I use it recommend American Express !!!

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
Amazing
Anonymous Cardholder

It is a great card. i suggest it for all

more ...
Dec 25, 2016
Am Ex is bad for small businesses
NYCBizOwner Cardholder

Be strongly advised to avoid applying for or using any American Express business cards for your small business.   *Unless you pay off your card in full each month, in which case some of the CC points and rewards can be useful for your business.   I previously had AmEx Platinum, AmEx Business, AmEx Blue (presonal card) and AmEx Line of Credit cards.  In 2005, I thought American Express was great for my small business, allowing me to leverage credit to get my business going and save cash with purchase points.  

However, things turned sour about 5 years ago.  Even though I had never missed a payment I suddenly found that AmEx decided to cut both my AmEx Blue and AmEx Business cards.  Apparently they had determined that I was of risk for them.  Since then I have paid off 3 of the 4 cards in full, cancelled my AmEx Platinum card and started using Visa and Master Card.  I now refuse any new attempts or offers that American Express keeps mailing me - including ridiculously bulky and wasteful promo packages for their elite card offers.  

But the most egregious action AmEx has taken against my business was just recently.  I missed a payment by 1 day in mid 2016, this is after 10 years of customer membership.  I called customer service to make sure my APR wouldn't increase for this one time mistake but they couldn't guarantee my APR would remain the same.  The next month my APR jumped from 11% to the maximum legal limit for APR increases at 29.49%.  To put this max APR in perspective - my $6,500 outstanding balance now has an interest charge of $155/ month.  The minimum payment is $218 so even if I pay $250/ month it means 60% of my payment is going to AmEx.  If that's not robbing people with a pen I don't know what is.  

What's worse is when I plead my case to customer service month after month they say that they can not lower my APR at this time but to check back in 6 months to 1 year (around $1,000 increased revenue annualy for AmEx so why bother lowering it).  The sad fact is that after much research I discovered that AmEx is actually in trouble.  After Costco let them go in February 2015 as their exclusive co-branded accounts (10% of their total card holders).  At that time 23% of their business was cobranded with other business.  As their stock continues to drop AmEx takes more agressive measures to please their shareholders and maintain their image.  How?  American Express sticks it to the little guy and goes directly against their preimary advertise message - a credit card company that helps small business owners succeed.  I've had much better small business customer care from Visa and Master Card.

In summary - leave home without it.

more ...
Nov 19, 2016
Used to be a great card to have
Anonymous Cardholder

AMEX is borderline usurious if not actually.  If you carry any balance whatsoever they charge you a +/- 15% interest fee on your entire balance.  I am billed $5000 and pay $4500 before the due date and get an interest charge of $60 for the month.  That is unbelieveable.  And worse.....they charge you on the entire balance for two months.  I give up.  Moving on to a more customer friendly operation.

more ...
Oct 23, 2016
HORRIBLE
smrafi1993 Cardholder

this is the worst of all the cards i have

keeps pending pre-authorization charges from merchants even after respective original transactions are posted long back.

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE as no one knows how to solve the issue, forwarded 6 times to different people and still couldn't solve the issue

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
Overpriced
Anonymous Cardholder

This used to be a great card, but now it is no better than any other and costs more.  And their customer service is dreadfkul.  There is no way to email them because they say it is not seure; yet they send you emails, which you can't reply to.

more ...
Jul 25, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Had American Express through Costco until citi bought them out and all the information was transferred over well the information about my account was wrong I was told interest free when signing up and found out that I was getting charged this whole time, I was given False Information! Now, I've been trying to get ahold of a American Express manger, theyd put me oh hold, transfer my calls which lead back to another representative or they'd hang up on me! They would not give me a manger so I could sort this whole thing out, eve after the fact I talked to one lady that said the manger was on break she took my name and Number and never called me back! Talk about horrible customer service! I'm glad that citi bought them out

more ...
Jul 03, 2016
Headache
Anonymous Cardholder

The rewards points are the only plus that I give this card. Everything else is horrible. I expected more since the American Express brand is spoken so highly of. The first problem, was when I wanted to do a cash advance they told me they would mail me the pin. At first this seem fine, until they gave me random number and I lost the paper. I call them and notify them that I lost the paper; the representative stated they don't reissue cash advance pin number and I couldn't make my own. Secondly, to change your address on file you need your actually card without it nothing gets fixed. Really wish I could close this card but it will only decrease your score by doing so. 

more ...
Jun 21, 2016
Decent reward, but horrible card
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had (2) AMEX cards opened in the last year thinking they were great.  The first year great, received my rewards as promised and didn't really have an issue.  Minimum payemtns due every month ranged from 25-60, which is comparable to my other cards.  However, after my introductory rate of 0% stopped, by monthly minimum payment nearly tripled.  After dealing with their customer service rep, he stated that on top of the 1% fee for the remaining balance due, AMEX also included the interest/fees into the minimum payment as well.  I stated that AMEX is the only company that does that he proceeded to tell me that I was wrong and that all credit card companies calculate the miminum balance this way.  I have 6 other cards and the interest is added to the balance and there is a 1-3% fee for the minimun payment, not both.  Needless to say, I will be paying off this card and shredding it.  Good for small everyday purchases under $20 but horrible for larger purchases.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

All American Express® Credit Cards