All American Express® Credit Cards Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.4 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 18, 2017
Decent, but the company lacks
Anonymous Cardholder

If you want flexible payment options, the answer is no. Amex doesn't want their money back, apparently.

more ...
Jul 09, 2017
Vincent3488 Cardholder

Haven't received my card in the mail yet. Called customer service. They barley spoke English. I get that it was a recorded line but there was an annoying beep every 5 seconds as the rep was speaking you can't hear what they are saying during the beeps. I thought he was at a hospital and that was a heart rate monitor. I couldn't really speak with out the annoying beep every 5 seconds. I asked if that was a normal beep when you call customer service. He said it always does that. So I canceled my credit card with them. It's like they put that annoying beep to make you not want to call them. I would hate to have to call with a concern about my account and have to listen to that beep along with the bad English their representatives speak. 

more ...
May 18, 2017
Customer service agents are incompetent,
Anonymous Cardholder

Every time I call customer service I end up needing a superviser and they have not been competent on policies as related to card disputes that have to do with car rental cdw insurence. 

more ...
May 08, 2017
charged intrest fees after I closed
Anonymous Cardholder

watch the fees

more ...
Mar 30, 2017
GONE DOWNHILL SO FAST
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had 2 Amex cards for over 12 years.  They have out sourced their costumer service, it is impossible to get ahold of a manager and their wait times are upwards of half hour.  As of right now they froze my card because I have a mailing address not a physical address, claimed they sent a mailer to me to advise me on the changes (they didn't) it has been 47minutes and I am STILL trying to get them to string together enough sentences to understand what is going on.  I have been transferred 4 times, been asked the same questions repeatedly and still have no idea if my card is active or not yet.

SAD TO SEE SUCH A GREAT COMPANY TURN TO GARBAGE SO QUICKLY

more ...
Mar 29, 2017
Terrible Company
detarver1 Cardholder

This is a horrible company. If you are trying to improve your credit you should avoid these guys at all costs. When I signed up for the card I applied for auto pay, gave them my account number and transferred a balance from another car to them.

I credit score was 750 but now, due to their complete incompetence, it’s 640. If all the credit cards, car payments, and other credit companies this is the only on to negatively effect my credit in the last 5 years. I called them and they acted like there was nothing they could do to help me even though they acknowledged I had signed up for auto pay. They said I had to sign up for it again for it to work.

Their customer service sucks. Of course, when they want money they are a efficient as can be but when I need them to correct their mistake they are helpless.

There is a reason why the overall rating is only 1 and a half stars.

Do you self a favor and leave American Express alone – star far away from them!!!

more ...
Mar 27, 2017
Had it for years, very disappointed
Anonymous Cardholder

I knew it was over priced, I had the platinum for years, and recently had the gold card. but for a while it was worth for me. As I was no longer using it, I called to cancel when they billed me an annual fee. I explained it was no longer worth it for me. They offered the no annual fee card, which I did not take. Then I was sent to billing to see what my new bill was. Well, My annual fee was billed to me 32 days ago, so they won't refund it. No mention of that at the time of cancellation. So I was paying paying for a year than I am not using. But wait, we can "try" to re-instate your card. Which I agreed to, then after 5 minutes of wait, sorry sir, it was not approved! My credit score is over 800, and I have a very good income. Very dissapointed, and never going for Amex again..

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Business and Personal
Anonymous Cardholder

Bad experince thr worst. Have around 10 Credit cards never been treated like this. You will never get better 

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
Absolutely horrible way to treat custome
Ghromit Cardholder

Let me start off by saying when I acquired my American Express blue cash card I had a perfect credit score. I got a pre approved screening thing in the mail so I applied for the card. I was approved for a 10 thousand dollar limit. Over the next 6 months I kept my card around 30% utilization. The day I went over 30% I get an email saying they decreased my credit limit by 6,500 dollars! I call to see what is up and they said my credit score dropped a little bit and I have too much utilization. My credit score was stil 715 at this time. So they said I would have to pay 2,000 dollars in two months to get my credit limit back.. That's asinine. So basically they give you a pseudo credit limit and if you go over 30% utilization they drop your whole limit and thrash your whole credit. Never again Will I use it recommend American Express !!!

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
Amazing
Anonymous Cardholder

It is a great card. i suggest it for all

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

All American Express® Credit Cards