All American Express® Credit Cards Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.2 out of 5 stars
26 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 29, 2017
Bonus rewards never added to my account.
Anonymous Cardholder

Had gold AE card. After spending the required amount, I never got my bonus rewards(25000 points). Contact with them at least FIVE times. Each tiem they said I will get it soon. Cancel it and DONE.

more ...
Oct 27, 2017
Liars!
Anonymous Cardholder

If they offer you to have the $95 annual fee waived for the first year, just know that this is a LIE and they will not honor their own promotion that THEY offered.  When you contact them, they will demand proof, and still charge it to you.  Understand that they are very shady now, no matter what the company used to be like years ago!

more ...
Oct 03, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

They will give you a credit limit and then it's automatically decreased once you start using other credit cards such as when building a house they will not let you know that you're a limit is going to decrease I had this happen to me in July on a Saturday went from $13,000 credit limit to 4300 with no clue at all cut the card off will not use it going to pay it off use Discover Mastercard or VISA their accepted at all places American Express also charges company so much money don't use it not very American if you ask me

more ...
Oct 01, 2017
THIS IS THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE!
Anonymous Cardholder

THIS IS THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE FOR A HIGH END CREDIT CARD! I have spent hours on the phone been transfered with no continuity and they lost a customer of 11 years over their HORRIBLE customer service.  I hope to never have an American Express Credit Card! They charge an enormous amount and treat their customers terribly.  They should work on this because there are so many other cards with better benefits coming out. 

more ...
Sep 29, 2017
Amex Platinum cost my business HUGE loss
CJThomason Cardholder

They reduced my credit randomly even though I always paid my bill.  They approved a large purchase I had to make to get into a very big show that makes me over $100k.  When I went to pay it was denied.  Called them again.  Came back to the show to pay after Amex approval and purchase was denied a second time.  Called them a third time to voice frustrations and was hung up on.  Platinum service????  That's a joke.

more ...
Sep 14, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

We loath American Express. I've been a card member since 1987. When we opened a business Amex in 2009, we relied on using our business American Express card to buy inventory for our new business. Without notice and arbitrarily, AMEX called numerous times to inform us we no longer could charge on our biz card... the reason given was "we weren't an established business". We closed the account and have been running our successful business with a chase visa going on 8 years now. With my personal AMEX, the same thing has happened time and time again, without notice, AMEX calls and says I can no longer use my gold card despite that my credit report says I've always paid as agreed~ in other words, I always timely pay my AMEX card! In July of this year, I also noticed on my credit report AMEX stalks me and checks my report up to 6 times a month! That is unacceptable business practices, especially since I am a good, consistent, timely paying customer. I stopped using my card except for very small amounts. I will NEVER use it for more than just small amounts again. You lost my trust forever. 

Elizabeth8376

more ...
Sep 13, 2017
Platinum Card - No Signup Bonus Points
ecd1974 Cardholder

These days, many companies offer lucrative signup bonuses to attract new business and American Express is no different. So, when I saw an offer for 60,000 bonus Membership Rewards points for signing up for the AMEX Platinum card (and after meeting a spending requirement of $5,000 in 3 months), I jumped on the offer. I have had the card since early April 2017 and met the spending requirement in June.

Having met the spending requirements and knowing my bill was paid in full, I contacted American Express back in July since I had not seen the bonus points post. At first, I did a chat and the rep told me it takes 6-8 weeks for the points to post after meeting the spending requirement and that it's in my card member agreement. The funny thing is I am able to review the card member agreement online when in my account and (unless I am mistaken) there is no mention of when the bonus points will post. Either way, I gave it the benefit of the doubt and waited for that time to pass and the points still hadn't posted.

Now, a full 2 1/2 months after meeting the spending requirement, I am not getting any help from American Express. I have been able to find out that American Express has an issue with a bad "offer code" on these accounts and is working to resolve the issue. No one can tell me when this should be corrected but one thing's for sure - American Express had no intention of informing me of this problem and I am sure I'd never see the points if I hadn't called several different reps in Membership Rewards.

American Express poses rules on its card members in many respects. If I didn't pay my bill, I'm sure they'd be after me and would probably turn me over to collections without a second thought. But when American Express fails to do something, it's OK and the consumer has no recourse.

Sign up for an American Express card at your own risk.

more ...
Sep 13, 2017
Charge Card From Hell
tdubguygienist Cardholder

To start off, I use my gold card for everything; clothes, gas, business expenses, food, even my car payment. I had a payment returned from my blue cash card because I had switched to a separate bank account and forgot to remove the automatic debit from that account. They had placed a hold on my account until I paid the bill. In good faith, I paid the balance in full from my separate bank account and switched the account to prevent it from happening in the future. They placed another hold on my account after I had ALREADY PAID the balance for the same reason. Not because they tried taking the payment out again.. no, but because of the SAME ISSUE that had ALREADY BEEN RESOLVED. I had spoken with a gentleman from India who told me he had removed the hold from the account and I would then feel comfortable paying the balance on my charge card. The day after the payment posted in full on my gold card, I tried to use my card and it was declined. I called customer support fuming because who the hell else wouldn't be upset about this? They couldn't figure out why the hold had been placed until I spoke with Fred, an account manager, who ASSURED me that the hold would be taken off and I wouldn't have another issue. I tried using my card today and wouldn't you know it? It's declined AGAIN. Called the call center who told me the SAME INCIDENT was the reason why I had the hold on my account. This is now day 6 since American Express had told me the issue has been resolved which it HASN'T. Don't open a card with these people. They treat you like a criminal and don't care about the customer's concerns. They just want their money and will consistently cause issues for you. Take it from me. Keep your sanity. Stay FAR AWAY from American Express

more ...
Sep 12, 2017
tomcccs Cardholder

worst customer service called for a simple reason and i was hung up on three times 

the only time they care is if your late which i have never been pay thebalance in full each month

totally incompetent customer service

more ...
Sep 07, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Worst card ever. Got personal with $10500 limit and a gold business card. We pay balances full each month, never late. When ever we make a large purchase with Gold card. They suspend both accounts. Lots of issues with them. We have over $500k Credit lines and cards and never had such problems with others. Stay away. Amex is just trouble.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

All American Express® Credit Cards