Marriott Bonvoy Business™ American Express® Card

Overall card rating

4.6
11 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 15 2018
BEST hotel card!
Credit Karma Member

Great rewards like 4x on gas & dining make this not only a keeper card, but an everyday card that is my #1 goto option. Free anniversery night easily offsets the annual fee.


Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 08 2017
Declined/ AX CS737 Owned 5 AX cards
Credit Karma Member

The reason they declined is because i had maximum of card they allowed to have. I had 2 AX business card and 3 personal. Applied online together with Barclay JetBlue, the other got approved but this was declined immediately with an automatically generated letter from their status check site.


Additional ratings


All Reviews

8
2
1
0
0
  • Highest rated
  • Most helpful
  • Least helpful
  • Newest
  • Oldest

Apr 25 2019
Canned Hilton card for Marriott and 100K
Credit Karma Member

Sign up bonus for 100K was reason I acquired card...was able to meet spend within 2 months...now excited to use the card for my next stay in Sydney and Phuket. As an experienced American Express customer, the application process was easy...two steps.


Mar 25 2019
Fast Approval
Credit Karma Member

Just applied 30 minutes ago. Approved for 3k in less than 10 seconds. Experian was pulled with a 677 credit score. No collections. 3% overall utilization with a overall credit limit of 41k across other cards. Instantly linked it to Apple Pay. My first business card and I applied as a sole proprietorship. 5 days ago I was approved for the personal Gold Amex with a 677 as well. CK showed my approval rating as 'Excellent' but I didn't apply through CK. Oh yeah! Amex did another hard pull, although I have an Amex Gold.


Jan 10 2019
Credit Karma Member

This is a great card if you travel and stay in the Starwood hotels, I used this card in combination with my Delta Gold card from Amex. As an member for 16 years, a great card. Credit limit could be higher though.


Nov 15 2018
BEST hotel card!
Credit Karma Member

Great rewards like 4x on gas & dining make this not only a keeper card, but an everyday card that is my #1 goto option. Free anniversery night easily offsets the annual fee.


Oct 15 2018
Credit Karma Member

The best value for a rewards program out there.


May 17 2017
The perfect card for non bonus spend
Credit Karma Member

I applied during one of the 35,000 bonus point sign up offers and was instantly approved for a $20,000 limit. My scores are all over 800. I had seen the 35,000 point offer before but didn't apply since I'm never around any Starwood properties and don't fly much these days. What changed it for me this time was the 1:3 transfer ratio from Starwood to Marriott after the buyout. Once you link your accounts, the transfer is instantaneous. To meet the bonus requirement, I had to spend 3k within the first three months and another 2k within the first six months. Once I met it, that's 40,000 SPG points, or 120,000 Marriott points. So now, the vast majority of my non bonus spend goes on this card. Its easy to redeem Marriott points for 1 cent per point and it's not that hard to get 1.5 or even 2 cents per point on some redemptions. That means a 3-6% return on non bonus spend. There is a $95 annual fee but there are usually enough Amex offers that come out throughout the year enabling you to nix out your $95 fee through cash back from the offers. I actually got $120 back last year from several different offers. As far as I'm concerned, that more than takes care of the annual fee. Bottom line: I definitely recommend this card, especially if you want to rack up Marriott points fast. I hope this helps!


Apr 08 2017
Declined/ AX CS737 Owned 5 AX cards
Credit Karma Member

The reason they declined is because i had maximum of card they allowed to have. I had 2 AX business card and 3 personal. Applied online together with Barclay JetBlue, the other got approved but this was declined immediately with an automatically generated letter from their status check site.


Apr 07 2016
Travel Reward Points easy transfer
Credit Karma Member

I applied in March for the 35k bonus for $3000 spend. Already spent $1000! Few things: 1. Customer service is amazing. It's outsourced until you've made a name and long term relationship with them. I get outsourced, my partner, member since 1995, gets Americans. Still, exceptional. 2. Payments can only be made every 10 days. No micropayments! So get ready to make large payments to pay in full. 3. Easiest points to transfer out to other programs: Hilton, British Airways, etc. often 1:1 value! Hard to beat that. 4. AF waived first year, 2 night stay every year, wifi on property. Good perks. 5. AmEx is one of the fastest growing with Credit limit increases out there. If you don't have degrogitories and can wait 90-180 days. Not a problem! Best to wait 11 months for an increase if you do have degrogs. at approval: 669 EX. 1% UTL. AAoA 2 yr's. 1 paid collection, 1.6 months. side note: sharpest looking card I own. Network symbol is silver on a dark eggplant card. Westin is my go to hotel, very happy.


Mar 17 2015
Wonderful customer service.
Credit Karma Member

Applied online and got approved... They pulled EQ


Apr 17 2012
Credit Karma Member

Sorry, meant EX?

1-10 of 11

See Approval Odds and pre-approved offers before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Marriott Bonvoy Business™ American Express® Card

Marriott Bonvoy Business™ American Express® Card


These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.