Overall card rating

4.5
8 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most helpful positive review

Aug 04, 2015
Good backup card
Credit Karma Member

Love this card. I take full advantage of the pay later option. Use this mostly for my business car expenses like gas and repairs as well as eating out. My business is still in the baby phase. I have the capital but not the website up yet. Amex didnt seem to mind. Barclays denied me for their hawaiian airlines business card stating i needed 5 years of establishment when i already have their personal hawaiian airlines and arrival plus card. Soft pull though because i show them the love and spend big. Always call amex before u make large purchases, theyll tell u off the bat if youll be denied. I like that. The 250 fee is worth it so far.

9
3
0

Most helpful negative review

Mar 28, 2012
Credit Karma Member

Warning about the Plum card for your Readers: I just got the Plum Card and was made aware of something that the Customer Service Rep wasn't aware of until I pressed the issue and he had to find out the answer from a supervisor: The 1.5% is strictly applied to payments within the first 10 ten days after the monthly cycle closes. The caveat there is that payments made during the monthly cycle do not get the discount reward. That's an important distinction that will not necessarily be clear to anyone reading about the card and I think you should know that. I now realize that if I pay "too early", the discount doesn't apply. I was very disappointed. AMEX charge cards may not have a preset limit but they do have limits based on spending patterns. If I have $5000 available and use that in the first week of the monthly cycle on unforeseen expenses with several auto-debits still to come, I need to pay down the balance quickly within a few days and thus NOT get the discount on that payment. The discount only applies to the ENDING BALANCE. Now, if you have a stratospheric limit on the card, it won't matter. But for many small business owners juggling expenses and spending limits while trying to get maximum rewards, this can and will be a nuisance. Applicant beware.

25
4
0


Member ratings


All member reviews (8)

5
1
1
0
1

Jul 23, 2021
Iam apply for American Express
Credit Karma Member

Iam lovepreet.please apply for American Express approved for American express

1
2
0

Jul 02, 2021
My go to card
Credit Karma Member

Great card! Hands down flexibility. 20-30k purchase no problem. Need to spend more just call and let them know what your needing and it gets approved every time. I'll always carry this card! Must have business card.

3
0
0

Apr 18, 2021
Checking your spending power is a plus
Credit Karma Member

I’ve had the plum card for about 2 years which has allowed me to grow my spending power. I use it as my primary card, $70k-$130k/monthly, for all my business expenses. I love the 1.5% discount but some months it just doesn’t seem to add up. I called and the customer service rep who seemed more confused than I was and just kept taking in circles. A little frustrating considering the high volume we do. That said, I don’t think I’ll find another card with a $100+k limit so I’ll stick with it for now.

1
1
1

Sep 04, 2019
Awesome!
Credit Karma Member

If you need flexibility, this is it..

5
9
0

May 03, 2019
Not worth the trouble or credit pull
Credit Karma Member

Have a 749 credit score and paid off most of my cards in past few month with credit untilization at 25-30%. CK rated on my list very good odds of approval. But again, wrong was denied the card but was approved by Chase of ink business card with 20, 000 limit same day. Funny! Asked for reconsideration Desk to talk with someone but told will do a hard pull again and get back to me in 14 days. FORGET IT!. Done with american express.

11
0
0

Aug 04, 2015
Good backup card
Credit Karma Member

Love this card. I take full advantage of the pay later option. Use this mostly for my business car expenses like gas and repairs as well as eating out. My business is still in the baby phase. I have the capital but not the website up yet. Amex didnt seem to mind. Barclays denied me for their hawaiian airlines business card stating i needed 5 years of establishment when i already have their personal hawaiian airlines and arrival plus card. Soft pull though because i show them the love and spend big. Always call amex before u make large purchases, theyll tell u off the bat if youll be denied. I like that. The 250 fee is worth it so far.

9
3
0

Mar 28, 2012
Credit Karma Member

Warning about the Plum card for your Readers: I just got the Plum Card and was made aware of something that the Customer Service Rep wasn't aware of until I pressed the issue and he had to find out the answer from a supervisor: The 1.5% is strictly applied to payments within the first 10 ten days after the monthly cycle closes. The caveat there is that payments made during the monthly cycle do not get the discount reward. That's an important distinction that will not necessarily be clear to anyone reading about the card and I think you should know that. I now realize that if I pay "too early", the discount doesn't apply. I was very disappointed. AMEX charge cards may not have a preset limit but they do have limits based on spending patterns. If I have $5000 available and use that in the first week of the monthly cycle on unforeseen expenses with several auto-debits still to come, I need to pay down the balance quickly within a few days and thus NOT get the discount on that payment. The discount only applies to the ENDING BALANCE. Now, if you have a stratospheric limit on the card, it won't matter. But for many small business owners juggling expenses and spending limits while trying to get maximum rewards, this can and will be a nuisance. Applicant beware.

25
4
0

Feb 02, 2012
Credit Karma Member

Very pleased with this card and the service provided by AMEX. This is the best cash back card on the market that I know of.

7
4
0

1-8 of 8

See Approval Odds before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.