Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The Plum Card® from American Express OPEN

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0 introductory annual fee for the first year, then $250
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable

Reviews (8)

Add Review
Oct 07, 2015
Anonymous Cardholder

I hate to say it, but the Plum card is basically a fraud. In my case, they approved my business with a $75,000 credit limit. We then started using the card as part of our startup of the business and after 2 weeks of making charges they sent a notice to tell me that our new credit line was $1500!! 

Unbelievable to say the least...I was counting on AMEX and the Plum card to carry us through the opening of our business and instead, they basically dropped us like a hot potato when we needed them most. Then to make matters worse, they also took my personal AMEX card and the cards of my kids and reduced the credit limit on those cards from $50,000 to $1500. I was blown away! And this from someone who has always had impeccable credit scores. 

In summary, its basically a scam and they should advertise more succinctly that your credit limit may vary DRAMATICALLY from day to day. DO NOT plan on getting this card if you need to float cash or starting a new business!!

more ...
Sep 06, 2016

This is CHARGE CARD, not a credit card..

Aug 04, 2015
Good backup card
tmayfie2 Cardholder

Love this card. I take full advantage of the pay later option. Use this mostly for my business car expenses like gas and repairs as well as eating out. My business is still in the baby phase. I have the capital but not the website up yet. Amex didnt seem to mind. Barclays denied me for their hawaiian airlines business card stating i needed 5 years of establishment when i already have their personal hawaiian airlines and arrival plus card. Soft pull though because i show them the love and spend big. Always call amex before u make large purchases, theyll tell u off the bat if youll be denied. I like that. The 250 fee is worth it so far.

more ...
Feb 06, 2015
Hidden caveats
Anonymous Cardholder

Your spending limit is reduced withoput warning, causing you the hassle of being denied where your transactions were usually approved.  Maybe this is done to manipulate you into early pay that does not get credited the early pay discount.

more ...
Apr 09, 2014
Surprise we're cutting your credit limit
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for over two years now and have never been late on a payment.  I received a phone call one day stating they were cutting my credit limit in half due to the fact that my spending has increased.  I explained to them I am a growing business and opened a second location.  I've never been late on a payment, but they said since I was only exercising the option to pay 10% on the payment due date and defer the rest til next month that they had to cut my credit limit.  I'm sorry but isn't that the point of the card?  To allow businesses 60 days to pay on items charged to imitate terms?  Needless to say I paid a HUGE chunk of money to Amex as well as used cash out of my checking account just to get merchandise in, and 3 months later I just received an email stating they have increased my credit limit.  My end goal is to just get this card paid off and go with a different card.  I'm a growing business and I don't have complete faith that they won't cut my limit again.

more ...
Mar 05, 2014
Harrased by collectors day & night
Anonymous Cardholder

I have the card since 2005 and paid on time. Suddenly this year I have trouble paying in full the card. I've been making payments but not the whole amount and I have been harrased by phone calls day & night, 7 days a week from collectors in India. It is very frustrating that i'm not able to speak to somebody who can understand your situation and its willing to help. I used to love the service of American Express. I don't understand why I am treated like that when i had paid on time for more than 9 years. american Express keeps adding very high fees to the balance and make it even harder for me to paid.

more ...
Sep 06, 2016

So your upset because you were irresponsible with your CHARGE card, and that's Amex's fault??

Nov 16, 2013
Evaluating a Plum Card: Warning
Anonymous Cardholder

This card initially allows you to charge card with an increased spending limit and then all of a sudden cut off your spending ability to more than half of what you are able to spend the previous months even with good payment history with AMEX. After 3 months, they'll increase again and then 3  months after that, they cut it off again! All these without missing a **** on time payment! This happened to us twice already! It is so frustrating! This ultimately screws up your cash flow especially when you are a growing company. You are better off with a card that has a set credit limit that way you know exactly how much you can spend and plan allocation of cash flow appropriately.

Extremely disappointed with AMEX Plum. I would not recommend it for a growing company. 

more ...
Mar 28, 2012
ztnjpv Cardholder

Warning about the Plum card for your Readers:

I just got the Plum Card and was made aware of something that the Customer Service Rep wasn't aware of until I pressed the issue and he had to find out the answer from a supervisor:

The 1.5% is strictly applied to payments within the first 10 ten days after the monthly cycle closes. The caveat there is that payments made during the monthly cycle do not get the discount reward. That's an important distinction that will not necessarily be clear to anyone reading about the card and I think you should know that. I now realize that if I pay "too early", the discount doesn't apply. I was very disappointed. AMEX charge cards may not have a preset limit but they do have limits based on spending patterns. If I have $5000 available and use that in the first week of the monthly cycle on unforeseen expenses with several auto-debits still to come, I need to pay down the balance quickly within a few days and thus NOT get the discount on that payment. The discount only applies to the ENDING BALANCE. Now, if you have a stratospheric limit on the card, it won't matter. But for many small business owners juggling expenses and spending limits while trying to get maximum rewards, this can and will be a nuisance. Applicant beware.

more ...
Feb 02, 2012
randy3y Cardholder

 Very pleased with this card and the service provided by AMEX.  This is the best cash back card on the market that I know of.

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The Plum Card® from American Express OPEN