Business Gold Rewards Card from American Express OPEN Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
5 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $175 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable

Our Take

American Express is a Credit Karma partner

The Business Gold Rewards Card from American Express OPEN is a charge card that can earn you serious rewards for business expenses.

What to Like

Rewards categories are targeted towards business expenses, with bonus reward categories for airfare, advertising, gas, shipping and computer purchases. For the first $100,000 in purchases, cardholders get 3x points in one of those categories (of their choosing), and 2x points in all the other four. There’s also no annual fee for the first year.

Look Out For

This is a charge card, meaning your full balance will be due when you receive your statement. There’s also a $175 annual fee after the first year.

Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 29, 2017
Very bad customer Service
Simon5353 Cardholder

I called American Express to ask if i could make a charge of certain amount, and i simply got transferred 6 times and the call took about an half hour to simply get this answered 

I have other cards from Chase and this question would take them less than a minute to answer 

Best regards

Simon 

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
As close to perfect as it can be
DipyG Cardholder

I'm sure individual cases are varies, just like some of the other reviewer's experiences are, however my experience has been nothing but good with Amex, every time I want to charge some large amount, I always check first ( a day before, not longer than that ) and always got approved and the transaction always went smoothly, one of the larger purchase I used is a down payment for a car at a dealership and it went through no problem, paid it off at the end of the month and rack the points up, well worth the annual fees.

more ...
May 18, 2017
good
Anonymous Cardholder

very usfull for biz tracking , love the points way worth the fee

more ...
Oct 31, 2016
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

The american express customer service and the simply cash business card is the absolute worst i have ever experienced. STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!

more ...
Oct 12, 2016
Extremely bad experience!
EricShost Cardholder

When I received the offer by mail from AMEX to get the business gold rewards  card I decided to give it a try. I wanted to buy some new equipment for my business.  I'm a photographer, and I was thinking to invest in a new camera and gear for the amount around $10,000. When I first got the card I checked the spending power and was approved for the transaction for $10k. After 1.5 months I decided to make the purchase that I planned. For some reason system didn't approve me for the amount requested ($10,147.00), but it offered me to call to the customer service. I spend 45 minutes on the line and spoke with 6 or 7 (I have lost the count) customer service representatives explaining my situation over and over again. The last person whom I spoke to was even kinda rude. When I explained her the situation and started complaining that I'm repeating myself for the seventh time and XXX told me that she didn't ask me to do that. WHAT O_o  ?! I asked how she can possibly help me if she doesn't know the matter that I was calling about and received no answer. Finally, after 45 minutes on the phone, XXX told me that I was not approved the transaction amount that was requested without any reasonable explanation. So I closed my AMEX account and will never become they customer again. As a conclusion, I have to say that for the company that charges such a HUGE annual fee the customer service was just AWFUL, among the worst on the market like Comcast, Verizon, ATT  etc. I have couple credit cards with NO annual fee WHATSOEVER, but the customer service experience and the benefits are SO much better! I hope that some folks out there will find this review helpful!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 10, 2016

Charging the limit on a card, especially a new one, is frowned upon by creditors. Generally one shouldn't charge more than 30% of the limit.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Business Gold Rewards Card from American Express OPEN