American Express® Business Gold Card

Overall card rating

3.5
13 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 28 2017
BGR: For legit business owners
Credit Karma Member

Generous sign-up bonus. Exclusive perks. No pre-set spending limit. Outstanding customer service. This card is a great business card for those who don't need the perks of the Platinum. Savvy business owners should be aware of the terms and conditions of this card. If you want to carry balances, this card is not for you. If you want to try to game the system, this is not for you. Remember that this is a business charge card, and cardmembers are held to different standards than those for personal cards. Use this card as intended, plan a strategy for maximum points, and reap the benefits of a seasoned relationship with AmEx.


Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 12 2016
Extremely bad experience!
Credit Karma Member

When I received the offer by mail from AMEX to get the business gold rewards ?card I decided to give it a try. I wanted to buy some new equipment for my business. ?I'm a photographer, and I was thinking to invest in a new camera and gear for the amount around $10,000. When I first got the card I checked the spending power and was approved for the transaction for $10k. After 1.5 months I decided to make the purchase that I planned. For some reason system didn't approve me for the amount requested ($10,147.00), but it offered me to call to the customer service. I spend 45 minutes on the line and spoke with 6 or 7 (I have lost the count) customer service representatives explaining my situation over and over again. The last person whom I spoke to was even kinda rude. When I explained her the situation and started complaining that I'm repeating myself for the seventh time and XXX told me that she didn't ask me to do that. WHAT O_o ??! I asked how she can possibly help me if she doesn't know the matter that I was calling about and received no answer. Finally, after 45 minutes on the phone, XXX told me that I was not approved the transaction amount that was requested without any reasonable explanation. So I closed my AMEX account and will never become they customer again. As a conclusion, I have to say that for the company that charges such a HUGE annual fee the customer service was just AWFUL, among the worst on the market like Comcast, Verizon, ATT ?etc. I have couple credit cards with NO annual fee WHATSOEVER, but the customer service experience and the benefits are SO much better! I hope that some folks out there will find this review helpful!


Additional ratings


All Reviews

8
0
0
1
4
  • Highest rated
  • Most helpful
  • Least helpful
  • Newest
  • Oldest

Apr 11 2020
Love this card !!
Credit Karma Member

The annual fee does not matter, you are practically only spending $30/month on the fee because of $100 annual fee credit and $120 dining credit ($10/month) for a list of places. Amazing card with GREAT perks! Customer service and app management beats any, don't think twice !


Nov 11 2019
Love this card
Credit Karma Member

I've had this card for going on almost two years, never had an issue with it, the balance is paid every month, not sure it has helped my credit score too much but either way I keep it for the convenience.


Jul 08 2019
Credit Karma Member

Worst customer service. Worst point system ever. I spend thousands of dollars monthly, which get paid immediately, I never carry a balance, and these thugs decline a charge that?s over 2,000. The benefits do NOT outweigh the annual fee. Worst card company ever. Going to cancel both my personal and business cards. Chase has better rewards and MUCH better customer service.. STAY AWAY from Amex!! The absolute worst!!


Feb 27 2019
"Excellent"
Credit Karma Member

Amex sent me an offer through my Blue Magnet Card. I applied and got approved with "Pay Over Time Limit of $15,000 and only $250 Annuel Fee and Not $295. I look forward to taking advantage of those sweet points and benefits.


Feb 15 2019
Above excellence
Credit Karma Member

I love this card I charge large business expenses to this card to get those sweet sweet sweet reward points.


Feb 15 2019
Above excellence
Credit Karma Member

I loves this card I charge large business expenses to this card for those sweet sweet sweet reward points


Feb 15 2019
Excellent
Credit Karma Member

I have this card prefect for me I like to credit large business and earn those sweet sweet sweet reward points.


Oct 28 2017
BGR: For legit business owners
Credit Karma Member

Generous sign-up bonus. Exclusive perks. No pre-set spending limit. Outstanding customer service. This card is a great business card for those who don't need the perks of the Platinum. Savvy business owners should be aware of the terms and conditions of this card. If you want to carry balances, this card is not for you. If you want to try to game the system, this is not for you. Remember that this is a business charge card, and cardmembers are held to different standards than those for personal cards. Use this card as intended, plan a strategy for maximum points, and reap the benefits of a seasoned relationship with AmEx.


Jun 29 2017
Very bad customer Service
Credit Karma Member

I called American Express to ask if i could make a charge of certain amount, and i simply got transferred 6 times and the call took about an half hour to simply get this answered? ? I have other cards from Chase and this question would take them less than a minute to answer? ? Best regards Simon?


Jun 28 2017
As close to perfect as it can be
Credit Karma Member

I'm sure individual cases are varies, just like some of the other reviewer's experiences are, however my experience has been nothing but good with Amex, every time I want to charge some large amount, I always check first ( a day before, not longer than that ) and always got approved and the transaction always went smoothly, one of the larger purchase I used is a down payment for a car at a dealership and it went through no problem, paid it off at the end of the month and rack the points up, well worth the annual fees.

1-10 of 13

See Approval Odds and pre-approved offers before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

American Express® Business Gold Card

American Express® Business Gold Card


These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.