Overall card rating

3.5
12 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most helpful positive review

Jul 23, 2021
Gas station
Credit Karma Member

I apply for American Express

Helpful4
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Most helpful negative review

Sep 06, 2021
They charge you manual fee without using a card!!!
Credit Karma Member

It’s said no limit of usage but felt so embarrassed when I purchased the item and I couldn’t get it!!!

Helpful3
Not Helpful3
Comment2
Flag


Member ratings

Application process
Customer service

All member reviews (12)

8
0
0
1
3

Oct 10, 2022
Great compromise
Credit Karma Member

The Amex gold card pay it’s yearly fee with Uber Eat and Grubhub money (10$/month each). Then you get 4X on restaurants and groceries and that around the best you are going to get from any card in term of earning rates and for many people also on of their biggest monthly budget. So if you use food delivery and go to supermarket (like Aldi, whole food. Trader joe…) rather than Costco/target/Walmart this card is a keeper.

Helpful1
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Sep 06, 2021
They charge you manual fee without using a card!!!
Credit Karma Member

It’s said no limit of usage but felt so embarrassed when I purchased the item and I couldn’t get it!!!

Helpful3
Not Helpful3
Comment2
Flag

Jul 23, 2021
Gas station
Credit Karma Member

I apply for American Express

Helpful4
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Nov 18, 2020
Yes
Credit Karma Member

Because this good for Credit

Helpful0
Not Helpful7
Comment0
Flag

Apr 11, 2020
Love this card !!
Credit Karma Member

The annual fee does not matter, you are practically only spending $30/month on the fee because of $100 annual fee credit and $120 dining credit ($10/month) for a list of places. Amazing card with GREAT perks! Customer service and app management beats any, don't think twice !

Helpful4
Not Helpful11
Comment0
Flag

Nov 11, 2019
Love this card
Credit Karma Member

I've had this card for going on almost two years, never had an issue with it, the balance is paid every month, not sure it has helped my credit score too much but either way I keep it for the convenience.

Helpful5
Not Helpful4
Comment0
Flag

Feb 27, 2019
"Excellent"
Credit Karma Member

Amex sent me an offer through my Blue Magnet Card. I applied and got approved with "Pay Over Time Limit of $15,000 and only $250 Annuel Fee and Not $295. I look forward to taking advantage of those sweet points and benefits.

Helpful12
Not Helpful7
Comment0
Flag

Oct 28, 2017
BGR: For legit business owners
Credit Karma Member

Generous sign-up bonus. Exclusive perks. No pre-set spending limit. Outstanding customer service. This card is a great business card for those who don't need the perks of the Platinum. Savvy business owners should be aware of the terms and conditions of this card. If you want to carry balances, this card is not for you. If you want to try to game the system, this is not for you. Remember that this is a business charge card, and cardmembers are held to different standards than those for personal cards. Use this card as intended, plan a strategy for maximum points, and reap the benefits of a seasoned relationship with AmEx.

Helpful37
Not Helpful4
Comment0
Flag

Jun 29, 2017
Very bad customer Service
Credit Karma Member

I called American Express to ask if i could make a charge of certain amount, and i simply got transferred 6 times and the call took about an half hour to simply get this answered? ? I have other cards from Chase and this question would take them less than a minute to answer? ? Best regards Simon?

Helpful14
Not Helpful2
Comment1
Flag

Jun 28, 2017
As close to perfect as it can be
Credit Karma Member

I'm sure individual cases are varies, just like some of the other reviewer's experiences are, however my experience has been nothing but good with Amex, every time I want to charge some large amount, I always check first ( a day before, not longer than that ) and always got approved and the transaction always went smoothly, one of the larger purchase I used is a down payment for a car at a dealership and it went through no problem, paid it off at the end of the month and rack the points up, well worth the annual fees.

Helpful18
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

1-10 of 12

See Approval Odds before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.