Overall card rating

3.9
7 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most helpful positive review

May 17, 2019
Great if one flies with Delta
Credit Karma Member

Th here is a $195 annual fee, but you get a companion airfare at the start of each cycle when you pay the annual fee. I had this card as my boss got an offer to receive 10K miles if he recommended and the person (me) filled out application and approved. Bonus for the applicant was 75K miles if you spend $3K in a month. I have since upgraded to Dleta Reserve which has $450 annual fee, but get a free first class companion airfare ticket. I fly anywhere from 10-12 times a year so this card pays for itself. Anyhow the same can be said of the platinum Delta card. Highly recommend both cards if one uses Delta. One other thing to mention is both cards give access to Delta Sky Club, but with Platinum there is a $29 fee to enter. Free drinks and free food if you have a long layover and it beats waiting at the gate or spending $30-$50 dollars at airport restaurants or bars.

9
0
0

Most helpful negative review

Feb 01, 2018
worst customer service experience
Credit Karma Member

This been one of my 2 Amex cards for years.. decided to upgrade to reserve to get lounge access.. Was denied free access to sky club in buenos aires.. Was asked to pay $60.. Went to centurion lounge instead where they charged $50.. Contacted customer service, was told to go to sky club, pay the fee and then apply for reinbursment.. Asked if i can just stay where i am and get that reinbursed instead. Was told no, have to follow their process.. I said i am considering to cancel, since i would rather get teh platinum card and not dealing with reimbursements and fighting for lounge access.. Card was cancelled in 5 minutes, literaly.. No attempt to retain me.. After being a customer for years.. people in Buenos Aires sky club acted as if theu never seen such a card in their life and didnt know what to do with it.. Worthless..

27
23
3


Member ratings


All member reviews (7)

4
0
2
0
1

Sep 04, 2019
Great Card for Delta Flyers
Credit Karma Member

I upgraded from the Delta Skymiles Gold Amex to the Delta Skymiles Platinum Amex. I was hesitant due to the $195 yearly fee, especially since the Gold is free. However, with the bonus miles and the fact that you get one free coach companion fare certificate each year upon renewal, it makes the card worth every penny. If you fly Delta alot, like I do (20 or so trips per year) I would highly recommened getting at least the Gold card, and if you plan on taking someone with you on a business or personal trip, then the Platinum is worth the money. I am now considering upgrading to the Delta Skymiles Reserve Amex as this card gives you complimentary Delta Sky Club access and a free Frist Class companio certificate year. Since the Sky Club mebership is $450 yearly, this card looks to be the best value for me . Once I get it, I will provide a review for that card as well.

6
0
0

May 17, 2019
Great if one flies with Delta
Credit Karma Member

Th here is a $195 annual fee, but you get a companion airfare at the start of each cycle when you pay the annual fee. I had this card as my boss got an offer to receive 10K miles if he recommended and the person (me) filled out application and approved. Bonus for the applicant was 75K miles if you spend $3K in a month. I have since upgraded to Dleta Reserve which has $450 annual fee, but get a free first class companion airfare ticket. I fly anywhere from 10-12 times a year so this card pays for itself. Anyhow the same can be said of the platinum Delta card. Highly recommend both cards if one uses Delta. One other thing to mention is both cards give access to Delta Sky Club, but with Platinum there is a $29 fee to enter. Free drinks and free food if you have a long layover and it beats waiting at the gate or spending $30-$50 dollars at airport restaurants or bars.

9
0
0

May 07, 2019
Great Card For Delta Flyers!
Credit Karma Member

If you are a frequent flyer with Delta and you do not have this card you are definitely missing out. Started with the Gold card a year ago and got 50,000 miles after I hit the incentive for the welcome bonus. I mainly upgraded to this card because of the 10,000 medallion qualification miles you get if you spend $25,000 in a year. Also got an extra 25,000 mile offer when I called in to upgrade to this card. All I have to do is spend $2000 in like 2 or 3 months which is childs play. I started with a cl of $1000 on the gold card and now have an $11,000 limit. I have earned about $2000 in points within a year and have never paid any interest fees. Basically pay off your card every month and this card would definitely be worth the $195 fee especially if you're a Delta Loyalist. Also I have noticed you get about 15,000 to 25,000 extra points if you apply within the months of January and April.

9
0
0

Jun 07, 2018
Great for Delta only flyers with a depen
Credit Karma Member

Basically the Delta Gold card with a companion pass and slightly better 1st year bonus. The companion pass pays for the card itself. After year one, the value of the card is only great if you fly delta only for work often within a year. Flying non-Delta and non-Skyteam flights makes this card mediocre.

13
0
0

Feb 01, 2018
worst customer service experience
Credit Karma Member

This been one of my 2 Amex cards for years.. decided to upgrade to reserve to get lounge access.. Was denied free access to sky club in buenos aires.. Was asked to pay $60.. Went to centurion lounge instead where they charged $50.. Contacted customer service, was told to go to sky club, pay the fee and then apply for reinbursment.. Asked if i can just stay where i am and get that reinbursed instead. Was told no, have to follow their process.. I said i am considering to cancel, since i would rather get teh platinum card and not dealing with reimbursements and fighting for lounge access.. Card was cancelled in 5 minutes, literaly.. No attempt to retain me.. After being a customer for years.. people in Buenos Aires sky club acted as if theu never seen such a card in their life and didnt know what to do with it.. Worthless..

27
23
3

Feb 06, 2017
Credit Karma Member

So far I have no complaints with this card. Yes, the fee is a little steep, but the fact that I can pay for lounge access at a reduced rate without having to be flying business (or with someone flying business) is a nice perk, plus there is one free companion voucher per year, so my husband or son can join me for a trip for "free". Personally, I have been super happy with AMEX and the partner offers that have easily saved me the annual fee's worth of money on items I would have purchased anyway.

5
0
0

Jan 19, 2017
MISLEADING TERMS, BONUS, BENES.
Credit Karma Member

This is NOT an American Express Platinum card...not even close: - The Welcome Bonus is misleading and takes at least 6-8 weeks to take effect. Make sure you read the fine detail (if you can find it.) - Only 5,000 of the bonus miles are MQMs which count toward Delta Elite status. The rest can only be used on Delta merchandising or donated to charity. It turned out that this card didn't benefit me at all. - When I called the number on the card, the woman didn't understand the benefits of the card. I was transfered three times before someone could answer me. - Sky high interest rate. Membership fee of $195 seems rediculous considering I don't carry a balance. - Despite being branded as a Platinum American Express, this card DOES NOT entitle you to enter the Delta Sky Club Lounges or ANY elite airport lounge. (Centurion is a far better lounge anyway.) - I have platinum Visa cards with better benefits (minus the delta tie in), a much lower rate, and NO yearly fee. Why would someone want this card if it doesn't provide them with more than $200 worth of benefits? - It's possible that this card allows lower FICO scores to get credit. I don't know. I should have visited this site before I applied! I would be better off with the Platinum Amex standard card and I intend to close this one as soon as I can get someone on the phone.

10
7
1

1-7 of 7

See Approval Odds before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.