Wells Fargo Secured Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
71 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 04, 2014
Great Card to build your credit
Anonymous Cardholder

I started the card with $500 and exactly one year later the card graduated to the platinum unsecure credit card. They reported religiously to the credit bureaus and that helped my credit very much. Of course I always paid on time and as a result my relationship with the bank itself is great, I have called to raise my credit limit twice which is now 900 dollars now, and they have never denied an increase, the first time I called for an increase was just after graduation. It is a great card to have and I am very happy with the service. Now I already have a Discover card with a $7500 limit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 02, 2014
Nothing special, never graduates
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card with a $500 limit for over a year and a half.  Upon applying for this card in December 2012, they told me that if I pay on time every month, and have a low credit utilization, they will graduate me in a year.  I make multiple payments a month, and keep my credit utilization between 10-30%, and have not been graduated yet. At the one year mark, I called to see why I havent been graduated, and the lady told me "we check in the spring, so expect something around April." Frustated, I patiently waited, and heard nothing.  It is now June, and I have yet to recieve any answers, I just get ridiculous responses.

The card itself isnt that great either. It takes a very long time for the payments to post, sometimes even a whole week.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 06, 2017
stingy card
Anonymous Cardholder

Ive had this card for 3 years now. My credit limit started at $1000 and is STILL $1000. I requested an increase in the limit 3 times and was denied with a hard pull all 3 times. I have never been late with payment, always paid more than minimum or paid off the balance, and mind you I have banked with them for 17 years!!!!! My credit score is 762 transunion, 780 equifax and 720 experian....go figure. I wouldnt recommend Wells because they are super stingy with their credit limits and increasing them...Im happy with my Discover, Amex and Barclay which have awesome limits.

more ...
May 05, 2017
Sucks..Stay Away.
RandTP Cardholder

Got the card for over a year.  No late payments, no over limit, credit score went from 580 to 667.  Still have not graduated yet?

Stay away or be prepared to get your deposit tie up for at least a year!

more ...
Apr 27, 2017
STAY AWAY
Anonymous Cardholder

Wells Fargo has the most flawed system. I they will report at the worst time of the month ( it doesnt matter if you pay in full). I swear the do this to buffer you score, thus youll never graduate. Your score wont go up and you be stuck with this crappy credit card. I just cant wait until I get a new non-wells fargo credit card so I can leave those theives amd take my saving with me.

more ...
Apr 16, 2017
Not as represented!
SammyBent Cardholder

I've had this card for almost 2 years with a $10,000 limit. Have since received Capital One Venture 20K and Chase Sapphire Preferred 16K. I've banked with them since 2003 with a solid history. Divorce was my only credit issue and behind me now. Still will not release my funds. Very disappointed! 

more ...
Apr 15, 2017
forever to unsecure
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card since NOV 2014. <10% utitlization and 100% on time payments. Still haven't been unsecured, not sure how their process works. /: Although, great customer service when they found and settled fraudulant transactions.

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I had a secured card with a 5000 dollar limit for 2 years! Never got converted. I tried again with the promise that I would definately be concerted this time with a 1000 dollar secured card. NEVER HAPPENED!

more ...
Mar 29, 2017
Decent card if you're patient
noobslayer666 Cardholder

I got this card in January 2016 with a $300 deposit. Kept it up to date for a year, might have even exceeded the limit a couple times, was late on one payment, and always carried a balance, too. Just got a letter today (3/29/2017) saying it'll be upgraded in May to an unsecured card and will have an APR of 19%. That's lower than most of my other cards! I'll even get my deposit back, too.

If you guys got this card and are still waiting for an unsecured upgrade, I don't know what to tell you.

more ...
Mar 15, 2017
Perfect for building credit - get it
Zionbar Cardholder

I read some of the reviews here and they are complete bs. Notice how the people who has poor credit love complaining about their credit card lol. I had this card for 6 months and already got a letter that they will give me my deosit back and upgrade me to unsecured. You have to use it the right way and unlike others that complain "they have the card for 2 years and havent got upgraded" the reason is because they dont know what theyre doing and probably maximizibg their limits without paying anything. Utilize 10% of this card and pay it every 2 weeks or max a month. Thats what i did and my credit went up plus theyre upgrading me. Great card but if ur financially dumb no card will help you

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

This was a great way to build my credit fast. I would spend the balance and pay it in full every month for a year and now just keep a small balance on it and pay in full every month. I went from not being able to get approved for any card or line of credit to getting an auto loan in a year, and a home loan in two years all starting with this.

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
got converted to unsecured
JimKnopf Cardholder

Got this card when we first moved to the US as part of the strategy to build a credit history. One year after I opened it I got a letter in the mail saying that they will convert it into unsecured and refund the deposit. And this although I am not fulfilling the requirement of being a permanent resident as. Being free I highly recommend this card to credit builders. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Wells Fargo Secured Card