Wells Fargo Secured Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.4 out of 5 stars
56 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 06, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

This was a great way to build my credit fast. I would spend the balance and pay it in full every month for a year and now just keep a small balance on it and pay in full every month. I went from not being able to get approved for any card or line of credit to getting an auto loan in a year, and a home loan in two years all starting with this.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 18, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a secured credit card with WF since march 2014 never been late always paid my balance down before closing date still no upgrade very disappointed with them since BOA unsecured be in 9 months with a credit limit of $5000.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 09, 2017
Good for building credit
forseps Cardholder

After a one year making payments on time not going over my credit limit and still can't graduate to an unsecured credit card!

more ...
Oct 02, 2017
Its a WASTE OF TIME AND YOUR MONEY

DO NOT GET THIS CARD!!! You will NEVER GRADAUTE! NEVER!  You would think that ater all of the NEGATIVE press these THEIVES just got out of they would want to help those who wtill have credit with them.  I have CLOSED all accounts with Wells Fargo and I wish I could closed this card account as well, it is one of the crads that I had for the longest time and I don't want any negative affects against my credit file, if I was to close the account.  WELLS FARGO IS HORRIBLE!!!!

more ...
Sep 21, 2017
Waste of money and time

Had this card for a year, and still haven't gotten an increase or graduated to unsecured. Such a waste of time!!! So disappointed. . DONT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!!!!! When I applied at my local branch the banker hardly knew anything about credit. She could hardly answer my questions, But I was too naive. Whatever you do, don't get this piece of garbage. Once you have it you'll have to keep it or risk hurting your score.

more ...
Sep 21, 2017
Lies lies lies!!!

I got this card March 11, 2016 and I have never once missed a payment or paid interest on this card. I was told after a year of making good payment history that I would get my deposit back and be upgraded. After 14 months I was told that it takes a couple of months for them to upgrade. So I waited 3 more months, called back again and I was transferred several times and no one knew what they were doing. So finally the last person I spoke to explained to me that I have to basically get approved for a unsecured credit card before they can upgrade me. I was so upset. Especially when I already have been approved for an unsecured credit card with Chase and 2 other credit card companies. The only positive thing about this card is it did build up my credit but everything that was told to me were all lies. My husband got his card through Capital One and after 6 months of good payment history they increased his line of credit. The only reason I keep this crappy card is for credit purposes. I don't recommend this card to anyone.  

more ...
Sep 18, 2017
This card sucks.

That everything they tell you is a lie. They rip you off. Customer service is the worst!!!!! I will never deal with these people again!!!!!

more ...
Sep 15, 2017
Worst card ever, avoid at all costs
Orc1989 Cardholder

2 years with the card, Wells Fargo is about to charge me third annual fee, but I will cancel the card. Never late on the payments and pretty much never used the card, because 7 months down the road I got all the card I want with proper credit limits. Despite the fact Wells Fargo CSR told me multiple times I will be upgraded in 6 months, it never happened, they just lied.

Recommend getting Discover secured credit card, they will upgrade you in 7 months and will get your deposit back very quickly

more ...
Sep 13, 2017
Pathetic Card Ever!
YashRathod Cardholder

Its been over 2 years with this card for me. None of my payments are late, my balances are kept mostly below 30% but they wont graduate me to unscured card. On the top of it, they will charge you a $25 annual fee which is prepostorous! I really dont want to cancel this one as this is my oldest card and my credit average will be affected but I waiting for a month more and putting my foot down for this! 

PS: Students, dont fall in this trap! Instead get a recommended DISCOVER card from some one. There are great chances of approval and your credit will start building quickly.

more ...
Sep 05, 2017
System is a FRAUD
A39L Cardholder

WF will never graduate you to unsecure card no matter how you pay on time, But thats not  what they promised when they asked you to apply. The secure card will raise your credit if your doing a good job paying but wellsfargo dont recongnize it by ever upgrading you.. u will do better off applying for another card besides this one. which is what i will be doing soon and closing this one.

more ...
Aug 18, 2017
Great card for building or rebuilding
Techguyeric Cardholder

I have had my Wells Fargo secured card for 3 and a half years now.  Today i finally graduated to an unsecure card.  It is a very lenghty process but was worth it.

Before i got my secure card i had no credit score, but 2 years after having it and making on time payments i was able to get 2 new cars, 3 other credit cards (Capital One with 2 limit increase to $3,300, a Best Buy Reward Zone Master card $3,000 limit, and a Mor Furnature card, $4,0000 limit) and approved for a $170,000 home loan. 

If you are looking for a card that will quickly graduate, this is not the card for you.  Wells Fargo does not graduate often and it does not matter what your payment history is or your credit score (now 733) they will do it on their terms.  I should get my deposit back in 30 days and can use that money to pay off my Best buy card ($300 left on my 4K 65" Curved TV with no interest for 2 years) and my Mor Furnature ($300 left on a $1,000 set my wife wanted with no interest for 12 months).

more ...
Jul 22, 2017
Dont depend on getting your money back
YVETTE515 Cardholder

I have had this card now for 5 years. It took me a year to get it to the max deposit of 10K. My cc score is now 786 and I still havent graduated. I have called every 6 months and all they say is open an unsecured card. I have never been late. The rewards or cash back is the worst. I have an amex with $30K, capital one $15K and many more. I diont think I will ever get my deposit unless I closed the account. I close on my home next week and will close this card. If you need it to help build credit, its good. However, it does report as a secured card. 

I must say, my husband got one and only deposited $1K, his card graduated in 1 year. Wow

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Wells Fargo Secured Card