Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Wells Fargo Secured Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.2 out of 5 stars
64 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 01, 2016
GRADUATED!!!!!
Jubaby2u Cardholder

Got my secured WF cc Feb 2016. I always PIF when I got my statement. Got a letter in the mail today congratulating me on being graduated to an unsecured WF cc. After reading all of the horror stories, I was shocked. I can say they do graduate you and mine was done within 6 months!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 04, 2016
Graduates after 12 mos
rs122334 Cardholder

Started with a 500 dollar deposit, after a year they graduated the card and increased the limit to 1000. After another 9 mos I requested a CLI and they bumped it up to 1500 with another hard inquiry. I'm curious if the bump up my CLI again after 3 more month when my current card expires and they have to give me another one.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 22, 2017
Good for building credit, that's all!
rvanexel Cardholder

I've had this card for 18 months now and made all of my payments on time with no problems. It was a great building block to get approvals for other cards, but up to now there has been no graduation date to speak of! I've been a WF customer for over 20 years now and I thought that with a year of consecutive payments to this account, WF would have automatically upgraded this tradeline! Going to give it 6 more mos. before getting my deposit back! I no longer expect to graduate!

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
Secured Card for over three years

I've had this card for over three years and still have not been offered an Unsecured CC. I was at the bank over one year ago and a bank representative stated "why you haven't been upgraded". "You should have a secured card by now. I was also told I was preaproved for a personal loan of $3,000 but still have not received a letter to "Graduate" / upgrade. Well maybe one day soon!!!!

more ...
Jan 04, 2017
I really like the Secured Card
lavanadams Cardholder

I've owned this card for the last few months. If I have an extra $100 to $200 I toss it on to the CL. Right now I'm at $2,600. It's a handy card, but the coolest part is having everything in one view! I bank with WF and manage all my accounts online. So having the CC right in-line with my other accounts is a great convience. 

Since it's secured the CL is what ever you make of it and you can keep raising it as high as your heart desires. If you get tired of it being secured vs. unsecured just close it out and you get your money back. I don't care of about it being unsecured as I just got it a couple of months ago and my score has improved overall, so I'll just be patient and keep racking up the CL as time goes on.

more ...
Dec 10, 2016
Like any ither cc
Anonymous Cardholder

My limit was 300 they graduated me and sent my money back after two years. I went over limit maybe three times but paid it as soon as I saw it. I think the fees or something would make me barely tip over. But I think they graduated me bc I have been working on my credit for two yrs with Lexington law. I've been with them for about 28 months and it worked. I only have two stubborn ones on exp and one on trans. I had like fifty something removals. Just takes patience and persistence. So I think this card must have ran my credit and saw that nothing was on my cc anymore bc I was surprised they graduated me since I went over few times. But I always paid bill two weeks ahead of time but always hovered my limit bc of tough times. The card is worth it jus the patient on graduating.

more ...
Dec 09, 2016
It Adversely affected my credit
Anonymous Cardholder

This is the worst credit card, i ever owned in my life.

1st you deposit your own money to card.

2nd Pay Annual fees

3rd you will not get elevated even after 1.5years on time payment

4th Accidentally if you spend more then 30% of the card limit, It lowers the credit score

Very Bad Experince,

Go with Discover card, Good Approval chances, Limit Increased within a year of ontime payments, Get Cash back, Improves the credit score.

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
False promises
Anonymous Cardholder

I owned this card for 3years and paid my bills on time. They first said they are gonna make it unsecured card if I use it for a year.

After 1year they said 1 more year, I never bothered them because I was a student and I don't have SSN.

Now I have a SSN, its been 3years and they did not make it unsecure credit card. 

RIP Wells Fargo GOOD BYE

more ...
Nov 26, 2016
Graduated 9 months!
jonjon336 Cardholder

Got this card Feb 2016, and graduated in Nov 2016. Can't say enough good things, CK now 700+ in 9 months!!!

more ...
Nov 19, 2016
Great for rebuilding
Aubie98 Cardholder

I had this card for 33 months prior to it graduating this October. The calls to have the card reviewed fell on deaf ears. There is no rhyme nor reason to when this card will graduate -- if ever. I was about to close the card as it simply is not useful with the limit I have. They did give my money back and a $400 increase. Funny though, I have store cards that are 2 to 3 times the credit limit of this card.  I will leave it open for now but it is definitely a sock drawer card for me. Looking back on opening the card, it took three weeks and I have been a Wells Fargo customer, in one form or another, since the 1990's. 

more ...
Nov 18, 2016
Never upgrades from secured to normal CC
Anonymous Cardholder

Scam.  After more than 2 years with always on-time payments and good credit rating, Wells Fargo refuses to upgrade the card and will not tell me why or give any other details.  I have already been approved for 3 other credit cards in the meantime, all unsecured, all for much higher credit limits than the secured card I have with Wells Fargo.  Unfortunately, this seems to be just another one of their scams to take advantage of their customers and keep their assets and earnings high.  I would cancel this card, but then I would lose 1 year or my relatively new credit history, which is probably what they are counting on.  Also, Wells Fargo customer support is generally surly and of little help.  I will never recommend them to anyone else.

more ...
Nov 16, 2016
I 👍 it...It help me
Shorty198109 Cardholder

It help me Start out again you should try it 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Wells Fargo Secured Card