Wells Fargo Secured Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
70 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 04, 2014
Great Card to build your credit
Anonymous Cardholder

I started the card with $500 and exactly one year later the card graduated to the platinum unsecure credit card. They reported religiously to the credit bureaus and that helped my credit very much. Of course I always paid on time and as a result my relationship with the bank itself is great, I have called to raise my credit limit twice which is now 900 dollars now, and they have never denied an increase, the first time I called for an increase was just after graduation. It is a great card to have and I am very happy with the service. Now I already have a Discover card with a $7500 limit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 02, 2014
Nothing special, never graduates
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card with a $500 limit for over a year and a half.  Upon applying for this card in December 2012, they told me that if I pay on time every month, and have a low credit utilization, they will graduate me in a year.  I make multiple payments a month, and keep my credit utilization between 10-30%, and have not been graduated yet. At the one year mark, I called to see why I havent been graduated, and the lady told me "we check in the spring, so expect something around April." Frustated, I patiently waited, and heard nothing.  It is now June, and I have yet to recieve any answers, I just get ridiculous responses.

The card itself isnt that great either. It takes a very long time for the payments to post, sometimes even a whole week.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 18, 2017
Despite Previous Reviews
Franklync1989 Cardholder

After my Bk in 2016, WF was the first bank to approve me for a secured CL with this card. I started off with $300 like everyone else, but after reading reviews on the graduation expectation I decided to be proactive. I was graduated yesterday, 06/17/2017, 11 months after opening the account. While six month graduation is the rumor, you have to keep in mind that you can add to your credit limit and that amount becomes a tucked away savings that bears no interest. I received my 4k back into my savings immediately, even though they said it could take almost a month. My CL stayed at 4k and I may already qualify for an unsecured increase. Loved the card, had no complaints at all. 

more ...
Jun 10, 2017
Use this is a LAST resort.
Anonymous Cardholder

Honestly I hate Wells Fargo and wish I would have made a different banking choice. All around they are horrible but let's focus on why this card is horrible: I opened with a limit of 300$ was assured I'd graduate after 6 months. Well that was a lie. I pay on time I pay more than the minimum and most months I pay the whole balance. I have yet to receive graduation and when I called them they couldn't give me a reason why. I have 3 other credit cards since I opened WF and they are all UNSECURED and they all have received at least one CLI (one I've received 2 CLIs) WF is ridiculous since I PAID them to have this card yet they won't insecure me let alone raise my limit. It's my lowest limit card. If I can get credit without paying surely I should be qualified for graduation right?? If I wasn't so apt on raising my score right now I would just close this card and lose the account on my credit report. I almost don't even care about having one less open account because they're just ridiculous. If I'm not graduated by my expiration date and have. CLI I'm closing it. My advice. Skip this card and find another. 

more ...
Jun 06, 2017
They scammed me into getting this card.
Anonymous Cardholder

They lied to me and said card would be unsecure in 1 year.

more ...
Jun 06, 2017
Disgusting
Anonymous Cardholder

Never graduated from their secured card, though other banks offered me  $2000 credit cards without a deposit after the first year of having WF's secured card.  I obliviously  kept paying APR on my own security deposit. They never notified me  about my score whatsoever. WF won’t return my $300 deposit, and it’s been weeks since i canceled. This is a sketchy practice and must be scrutinized by authorities. 

more ...
May 21, 2017
I just want my 300 back. This is a joke.
Anonymous Cardholder

I never made late payments but i've had this secured card for about 2 years. They are definately not intending to return my $300 deposit, on which they keep charging me APR. The $25 yearly fee is ridiculous as well.   I will be closing this CC soon. 

more ...
May 06, 2017
stingy card
Anonymous Cardholder

Ive had this card for 3 years now. My credit limit started at $1000 and is STILL $1000. I requested an increase in the limit 3 times and was denied with a hard pull all 3 times. I have never been late with payment, always paid more than minimum or paid off the balance, and mind you I have banked with them for 17 years!!!!! My credit score is 762 transunion, 780 equifax and 720 experian....go figure. I wouldnt recommend Wells because they are super stingy with their credit limits and increasing them...Im happy with my Discover, Amex and Barclay which have awesome limits.

more ...
May 05, 2017
Sucks..Stay Away.
RandTP Cardholder

Got the card for over a year.  No late payments, no over limit, credit score went from 580 to 667.  Still have not graduated yet?

Stay away or be prepared to get your deposit tie up for at least a year!

more ...
Apr 27, 2017
STAY AWAY
Anonymous Cardholder

Wells Fargo has the most flawed system. I they will report at the worst time of the month ( it doesnt matter if you pay in full). I swear the do this to buffer you score, thus youll never graduate. Your score wont go up and you be stuck with this crappy credit card. I just cant wait until I get a new non-wells fargo credit card so I can leave those theives amd take my saving with me.

more ...
Apr 16, 2017
Not as represented!
SammyBent Cardholder

I've had this card for almost 2 years with a $10,000 limit. Have since received Capital One Venture 20K and Chase Sapphire Preferred 16K. I've banked with them since 2003 with a solid history. Divorce was my only credit issue and behind me now. Still will not release my funds. Very disappointed! 

more ...
Apr 15, 2017
forever to unsecure
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card since NOV 2014. <10% utitlization and 100% on time payments. Still haven't been unsecured, not sure how their process works. /: Although, great customer service when they found and settled fraudulant transactions.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

Wells Fargo Secured Card