Wells Fargo Secured Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.4 out of 5 stars
73 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 04, 2014
Great Card to build your credit
Anonymous Cardholder

I started the card with $500 and exactly one year later the card graduated to the platinum unsecure credit card. They reported religiously to the credit bureaus and that helped my credit very much. Of course I always paid on time and as a result my relationship with the bank itself is great, I have called to raise my credit limit twice which is now 900 dollars now, and they have never denied an increase, the first time I called for an increase was just after graduation. It is a great card to have and I am very happy with the service. Now I already have a Discover card with a $7500 limit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 02, 2014
Nothing special, never graduates
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card with a $500 limit for over a year and a half.  Upon applying for this card in December 2012, they told me that if I pay on time every month, and have a low credit utilization, they will graduate me in a year.  I make multiple payments a month, and keep my credit utilization between 10-30%, and have not been graduated yet. At the one year mark, I called to see why I havent been graduated, and the lady told me "we check in the spring, so expect something around April." Frustated, I patiently waited, and heard nothing.  It is now June, and I have yet to recieve any answers, I just get ridiculous responses.

The card itself isnt that great either. It takes a very long time for the payments to post, sometimes even a whole week.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 22, 2017
Dont depend on getting your money back
YVETTE515 Cardholder

I have had this card now for 5 years. It took me a year to get it to the max deposit of 10K. My cc score is now 786 and I still havent graduated. I have called every 6 months and all they say is open an unsecured card. I have never been late. The rewards or cash back is the worst. I have an amex with $30K, capital one $15K and many more. I diont think I will ever get my deposit unless I closed the account. I close on my home next week and will close this card. If you need it to help build credit, its good. However, it does report as a secured card. 

I must say, my husband got one and only deposited $1K, his card graduated in 1 year. Wow

more ...
Jul 20, 2017
Nice way to build the credit
sani8156 Cardholder

this was my first card. I started by $700 limit. After few yerrs, they upgraded me to no-secure card. I like the cell phone protection benifit of this card. Its awesome

more ...
Jul 19, 2017
Love this card. And
Anonymous Cardholder

I got my card in Feb 2017. Never missed a payment and I've paid off what I used every week to 2 weeks. I'm already seeing results. My credit score is increasing. I don't just pay the min payment. I pay it all off. I have a CL of $300. Example.... I rent a car for $100 and next week I pay the $100 off and bring CL back to $300. Going to add more money to increase my CL limit to $500 next week. Bad reviews is BS and it's people who don't know how to use the card. They probably max it out and then just make min payments which is why they probably haven't graduated to unsecured. I haven't had one issue with this card!!!! BTW can't beat the low 19.8% APR compared to other SCC that have APRs of 23.99%

more ...
Jul 08, 2017
Decent way to build credit
Nbey1111 Cardholder

I've had this card for almost one year , credit score was horrible when I applied... this card has helped me a lot! Just keep your utilization low (10%) and pay on time ... 

more ...
Jul 05, 2017
Wells Fargo secured credit card scam
Anonymous Cardholder

I have the card for almost a tree years.   I don't qualify for. Graduation never paid late.  I paid in full my 1000 security money.   I will close soon. This car is sucks period 

more ...
Jul 01, 2017
Not worth it
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for 5 years, never missed a payment, no balance and still haven't graduated, this is a scam

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
complete lie
Anonymous Cardholder

I opened this card with a $300 deposit. I was told as long as I make all payments on time for 6 months, my card would be upgraded. Well that was a complete lie. I have no had the card for 1 year and 5 months and it has still not been upgarded. I have kept a low balance and paid all payments on time. When I went into the bank after the 6 months to ask why it wasn't upgraded yet, I was told that they don't know why I was told that and there is no specific time when they will update the card. They apparently "do it at random". Everytime I call I get the same answer that they have no idea when it will be upgraded becuase they do it at random. I have since been approved for 2 unsecured cards with other banks. This card is complete bs and a waste of my $300. STAY FAR AWAY!

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
Despite Previous Reviews
Franklync1989 Cardholder

After my Bk in 2016, WF was the first bank to approve me for a secured CL with this card. I started off with $300 like everyone else, but after reading reviews on the graduation expectation I decided to be proactive. I was graduated yesterday, 06/17/2017, 11 months after opening the account. While six month graduation is the rumor, you have to keep in mind that you can add to your credit limit and that amount becomes a tucked away savings that bears no interest. I received my 4k back into my savings immediately, even though they said it could take almost a month. My CL stayed at 4k and I may already qualify for an unsecured increase. Loved the card, had no complaints at all. 

more ...
Jun 10, 2017
Use this is a LAST resort.
Anonymous Cardholder

Honestly I hate Wells Fargo and wish I would have made a different banking choice. All around they are horrible but let's focus on why this card is horrible: I opened with a limit of 300$ was assured I'd graduate after 6 months. Well that was a lie. I pay on time I pay more than the minimum and most months I pay the whole balance. I have yet to receive graduation and when I called them they couldn't give me a reason why. I have 3 other credit cards since I opened WF and they are all UNSECURED and they all have received at least one CLI (one I've received 2 CLIs) WF is ridiculous since I PAID them to have this card yet they won't insecure me let alone raise my limit. It's my lowest limit card. If I can get credit without paying surely I should be qualified for graduation right?? If I wasn't so apt on raising my score right now I would just close this card and lose the account on my credit report. I almost don't even care about having one less open account because they're just ridiculous. If I'm not graduated by my expiration date and have. CLI I'm closing it. My advice. Skip this card and find another. 

more ...
Jun 06, 2017
They scammed me into getting this card.
Anonymous Cardholder

They lied to me and said card would be unsecure in 1 year.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Wells Fargo Secured Card