Wells Fargo Secured Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.0 out of 5 stars
47 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 06, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

This was a great way to build my credit fast. I would spend the balance and pay it in full every month for a year and now just keep a small balance on it and pay in full every month. I went from not being able to get approved for any card or line of credit to getting an auto loan in a year, and a home loan in two years all starting with this.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 18, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a secured credit card with WF since march 2014 never been late always paid my balance down before closing date still no upgrade very disappointed with them since BOA unsecured be in 9 months with a credit limit of $5000.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 29, 2017
Will graduate to unsecured card
A39L Cardholder

I had 2 yrs never missed a payment never graduated 

more ...
Dec 12, 2017

If you never missed a payment the only other reason you were never upgraded to secured will be due to ratio use try staying within 30% of your cl limit this should work dont give up

 
Dec 12, 2017

Typo unsecured

 
Nov 29, 2017
No matter how u pay they won't graduate
A39L Cardholder

You will never graduate 

more ...
Nov 22, 2017
Misleading
FoxyBrownPimp Cardholder

You will never, and I mean never graduate to an unsecured card. You will never get your security deposit back. Don’t fall for the cookies they try to sell you. Just put the minimum $300 and keep it open for the years of credit. It’s been 5 years now and they tell me to use it more and they will do a “periodical” review. I have no late payments. I cut this card up and no longer use it. It’s now just an open line of good credit. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 12, 2017

I would suggest to close it if you are not going to use it they want you to use it more but the catch is to only spend 30% of your credit card limit this should work but not using it is pointless and if you had it that long then most definitely dont close it cause not only is good credit history is good but the length of time you had it counts so just try spending 90 thats 30% of 300 and they will give it back if you close it with no balance owed or they will give it back when they graduate you listen the key is to pay ontime which you stated you already do so the its only 1 or 2 reasons or both going over 30% ratio and not utilizing it..hope this helped

 
Oct 26, 2017
You will never get your deposit back
ajmccoll Cardholder

I've had this card for almost 8 years and I have yet to graduate to the unsecure card with Wells Fargo. Meanwhile, I have been approved and use various other credit cards from other companies, but Wells Fargo is still holding my deposit in limbo. I've called and asked to be upgraded, and they always say the same thing. They "periodically" review secure cards and graduates those who have been paying on time and they suggest I use the card more so that I will show up and be upgraded. The balance is so low on the card, there is practically no point in using it. And on top of that, they don't offer reward points or anything special to make it worthwhile using for anything. My suggestion would be DON'T GET THIS CARD. Not only will you never get your deposit back, but you'll be paying a hefty annual fee every year. I would cancel the card, but it's the oldest account which would mess up my credit history.

more ...
Oct 09, 2017
Good for building credit
forseps Cardholder

After a one year making payments on time not going over my credit limit and still can't graduate to an unsecured credit card!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 12, 2017

Your focus shouldnt be not going over credit limit but to stay with in 30% ratio of the limit

 
Oct 02, 2017
Its a WASTE OF TIME AND YOUR MONEY

DO NOT GET THIS CARD!!! You will NEVER GRADAUTE! NEVER!  You would think that ater all of the NEGATIVE press these THEIVES just got out of they would want to help those who wtill have credit with them.  I have CLOSED all accounts with Wells Fargo and I wish I could closed this card account as well, it is one of the crads that I had for the longest time and I don't want any negative affects against my credit file, if I was to close the account.  WELLS FARGO IS HORRIBLE!!!!

more ...
Sep 21, 2017
Waste of money and time

Had this card for a year, and still haven't gotten an increase or graduated to unsecured. Such a waste of time!!! So disappointed. . DONT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!!!!! When I applied at my local branch the banker hardly knew anything about credit. She could hardly answer my questions, But I was too naive. Whatever you do, don't get this piece of garbage. Once you have it you'll have to keep it or risk hurting your score.

more ...
Sep 21, 2017
Lies lies lies!!!

I got this card March 11, 2016 and I have never once missed a payment or paid interest on this card. I was told after a year of making good payment history that I would get my deposit back and be upgraded. After 14 months I was told that it takes a couple of months for them to upgrade. So I waited 3 more months, called back again and I was transferred several times and no one knew what they were doing. So finally the last person I spoke to explained to me that I have to basically get approved for a unsecured credit card before they can upgrade me. I was so upset. Especially when I already have been approved for an unsecured credit card with Chase and 2 other credit card companies. The only positive thing about this card is it did build up my credit but everything that was told to me were all lies. My husband got his card through Capital One and after 6 months of good payment history they increased his line of credit. The only reason I keep this crappy card is for credit purposes. I don't recommend this card to anyone.  

more ...
Sep 18, 2017
This card sucks.

That everything they tell you is a lie. They rip you off. Customer service is the worst!!!!! I will never deal with these people again!!!!!

more ...
Sep 15, 2017
Worst card ever, avoid at all costs
Orc1989 Cardholder

2 years with the card, Wells Fargo is about to charge me third annual fee, but I will cancel the card. Never late on the payments and pretty much never used the card, because 7 months down the road I got all the card I want with proper credit limits. Despite the fact Wells Fargo CSR told me multiple times I will be upgraded in 6 months, it never happened, they just lied.

Recommend getting Discover secured credit card, they will upgrade you in 7 months and will get your deposit back very quickly

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Wells Fargo Secured Card