Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Wells Fargo Secured Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.2 out of 5 stars
65 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 01, 2016
GRADUATED!!!!!
Jubaby2u Cardholder

Got my secured WF cc Feb 2016. I always PIF when I got my statement. Got a letter in the mail today congratulating me on being graduated to an unsecured WF cc. After reading all of the horror stories, I was shocked. I can say they do graduate you and mine was done within 6 months!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 04, 2016
Graduates after 12 mos
rs122334 Cardholder

Started with a 500 dollar deposit, after a year they graduated the card and increased the limit to 1000. After another 9 mos I requested a CLI and they bumped it up to 1500 with another hard inquiry. I'm curious if the bump up my CLI again after 3 more month when my current card expires and they have to give me another one.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 20, 2017
Only good for improving your Score

I've had this card for over 18 months with an intial $700 deposit. Been in good standing and my score is now in the 700s due to other credit cards as well. Still have not been "graduated" and their interest seem a bit high. To make matters worse they report not as often as Cap1 or Chase, and they report it as secure credit. Chase and others have told me they won't consider this card a "credit card" due to it being reported as a secure credit.  I would look into Discover IT due to them being able to graduate alot sooner after 7 months and they report it as a regular credit card. 

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a secured credit card with WF since march 2014 never been late always paid my balance down before closing date still no upgrade very disappointed with them since BOA unsecured be in 9 months with a credit limit of $5000.

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
Better than nothing
Anonymous Cardholder

After three years of payments on time, never late, Wells Fargo wouldn't "graduate" my card. I applied for an unsecured card and was declined due to a repo with another lender 7 years ago for the amount of $153 that was charged off after my partner died. Disappointed. While my credit report will improve this year with the repo now falling off I have decided to cancel my secured card and move on to other lenders who ARE willing to issue me unsecured credit. I have since cancelled my secured card with WF and now have an assortment of unsecured cards with other lenders and have been approved for a personal loan with another lender. Wasn't bad to work with them but disappointed after three SOLID good years of perfect credit they weren't willing to issue an unsecured card! Oh well. Their loss, I guess!

more ...
Feb 09, 2017
Helpful
ZaneP Cardholder

This card worked wonders for me. I had made a string of bad debts from ages 18-20. A majority of those debts were set to fall off in 2017 so in December of 2015 I got this card to begin building credit.

Started with a $300 limit and 490 credit score.

By March, I was approved for a $350 store brand credit card. My score was 540.

By September of 2016, I was approved for another credit card with a limit of $5,100. My credit score was 680.

By January of 2017, 12 months after my journey to fix my credit, I'm sitting here with a 730 credit score.

Still haven't been upgraded yet, though the bank agent told me about five months ago that I should be "soon." They do upgrades quarterly in batches.

more ...
Jan 31, 2017
LIARS, LIARS, LIARS!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for almost 4 years.............yes, 4 years in July of 2017.  NEVER EVER BEEN LATE ON A PAYMENT, and they have not unsecured my card.  Always told its up for the next round of reviews, and then the same song and dance 6 months later.  This is why I LOVE MY OTHER CREDIT CARD ISSUERS!!  I will be closing this account in July if it has not been unsecured.  Not like I don't have other credit cards with much higher limits.  The crappy customer service at WF is another reason why I closed my checking account with them, as well as the fact that back in July of 2015.........I went into a branch and made a payment tot this card, and somehow the idiotic teller processed the payment to a dormant (Closed) account.  They told me it could take up to 2 billing cycles to have it fixed, and this is with my receipt.   IDIOTS!!!

more ...
Jan 25, 2017
Horrible Experience
raghavs Cardholder

In a nutshell, I have been a WF secured card holder for 10 months now but I am still  not suitable enough to be graudate for an unsecured card. NO late payments! Horrible customer service experience! Do not go for this bank ever.

more ...
Jan 22, 2017
Good for building credit, that's all!
rvanexel Cardholder

I've had this card for 18 months now and made all of my payments on time with no problems. It was a great building block to get approvals for other cards, but up to now there has been no graduation date to speak of! I've been a WF customer for over 20 years now and I thought that with a year of consecutive payments to this account, WF would have automatically upgraded this tradeline! Going to give it 6 more mos. before getting my deposit back! I no longer expect to graduate!

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
Secured Card for over three years

I've had this card for over three years and still have not been offered an Unsecured CC. I was at the bank over one year ago and a bank representative stated "why you haven't been upgraded". "You should have a secured card by now. I was also told I was preaproved for a personal loan of $3,000 but still have not received a letter to "Graduate" / upgrade. Well maybe one day soon!!!!

more ...
Jan 04, 2017
I really like the Secured Card
lavanadams Cardholder

I've owned this card for the last few months. If I have an extra $100 to $200 I toss it on to the CL. Right now I'm at $2,600. It's a handy card, but the coolest part is having everything in one view! I bank with WF and manage all my accounts online. So having the CC right in-line with my other accounts is a great convience. 

Since it's secured the CL is what ever you make of it and you can keep raising it as high as your heart desires. If you get tired of it being secured vs. unsecured just close it out and you get your money back. I don't care of about it being unsecured as I just got it a couple of months ago and my score has improved overall, so I'll just be patient and keep racking up the CL as time goes on.

more ...
Dec 10, 2016
Like any ither cc
Anonymous Cardholder

My limit was 300 they graduated me and sent my money back after two years. I went over limit maybe three times but paid it as soon as I saw it. I think the fees or something would make me barely tip over. But I think they graduated me bc I have been working on my credit for two yrs with Lexington law. I've been with them for about 28 months and it worked. I only have two stubborn ones on exp and one on trans. I had like fifty something removals. Just takes patience and persistence. So I think this card must have ran my credit and saw that nothing was on my cc anymore bc I was surprised they graduated me since I went over few times. But I always paid bill two weeks ahead of time but always hovered my limit bc of tough times. The card is worth it jus the patient on graduating.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Wells Fargo Secured Card