Wells Fargo Secured Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.5 out of 5 stars
67 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 01, 2016
GRADUATED!!!!!
Jubaby2u Cardholder

Got my secured WF cc Feb 2016. I always PIF when I got my statement. Got a letter in the mail today congratulating me on being graduated to an unsecured WF cc. After reading all of the horror stories, I was shocked. I can say they do graduate you and mine was done within 6 months!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 12, 2016
Don't count on graduating!
Beki79 Cardholder

Almost 2 years later and still haven't graduated to unsecured. I have never made a late payment, kept my balance paid in full until 6 months ago when I decided I wouldn't bother but I still keep low utilization every month. I have had checking and savings with them since 2009, and I have an unsecured card with them now as well. I don't want to close it because it is my longest standing non-store card, I basically threw away $300 with no hopes of getting it back and unfortunately the card didn't even help my credit score enough to justify that! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 18, 2017
Great card for building or rebuilding
Techguyeric Cardholder

I have had my Wells Fargo secured card for 3 and a half years now.  Today i finally graduated to an unsecure card.  It is a very lenghty process but was worth it.

Before i got my secure card i had no credit score, but 2 years after having it and making on time payments i was able to get 2 new cars, 3 other credit cards (Capital One with 2 limit increase to $3,300, a Best Buy Reward Zone Master card $3,000 limit, and a Mor Furnature card, $4,0000 limit) and approved for a $170,000 home loan. 

If you are looking for a card that will quickly graduate, this is not the card for you.  Wells Fargo does not graduate often and it does not matter what your payment history is or your credit score (now 733) they will do it on their terms.  I should get my deposit back in 30 days and can use that money to pay off my Best buy card ($300 left on my 4K 65" Curved TV with no interest for 2 years) and my Mor Furnature ($300 left on a $1,000 set my wife wanted with no interest for 12 months).

more ...
Jul 22, 2017
Dont depend on getting your money back
YVETTE515 Cardholder

I have had this card now for 5 years. It took me a year to get it to the max deposit of 10K. My cc score is now 786 and I still havent graduated. I have called every 6 months and all they say is open an unsecured card. I have never been late. The rewards or cash back is the worst. I have an amex with $30K, capital one $15K and many more. I diont think I will ever get my deposit unless I closed the account. I close on my home next week and will close this card. If you need it to help build credit, its good. However, it does report as a secured card. 

I must say, my husband got one and only deposited $1K, his card graduated in 1 year. Wow

more ...
Jul 20, 2017
Nice way to build the credit
sani8156 Cardholder

this was my first card. I started by $700 limit. After few yerrs, they upgraded me to no-secure card. I like the cell phone protection benifit of this card. Its awesome

more ...
Jul 19, 2017
Love this card. And
Anonymous Cardholder

I got my card in Feb 2017. Never missed a payment and I've paid off what I used every week to 2 weeks. I'm already seeing results. My credit score is increasing. I don't just pay the min payment. I pay it all off. I have a CL of $300. Example.... I rent a car for $100 and next week I pay the $100 off and bring CL back to $300. Going to add more money to increase my CL limit to $500 next week. Bad reviews is BS and it's people who don't know how to use the card. They probably max it out and then just make min payments which is why they probably haven't graduated to unsecured. I haven't had one issue with this card!!!! BTW can't beat the low 19.8% APR compared to other SCC that have APRs of 23.99%

more ...
Jul 08, 2017
Decent way to build credit
Nbey1111 Cardholder

I've had this card for almost one year , credit score was horrible when I applied... this card has helped me a lot! Just keep your utilization low (10%) and pay on time ... 

more ...
Jul 05, 2017
Wells Fargo secured credit card scam
Anonymous Cardholder

I have the card for almost a tree years.   I don't qualify for. Graduation never paid late.  I paid in full my 1000 security money.   I will close soon. This car is sucks period 

more ...
Jul 01, 2017
Not worth it
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for 5 years, never missed a payment, no balance and still haven't graduated, this is a scam

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
complete lie
Anonymous Cardholder

I opened this card with a $300 deposit. I was told as long as I make all payments on time for 6 months, my card would be upgraded. Well that was a complete lie. I have no had the card for 1 year and 5 months and it has still not been upgarded. I have kept a low balance and paid all payments on time. When I went into the bank after the 6 months to ask why it wasn't upgraded yet, I was told that they don't know why I was told that and there is no specific time when they will update the card. They apparently "do it at random". Everytime I call I get the same answer that they have no idea when it will be upgraded becuase they do it at random. I have since been approved for 2 unsecured cards with other banks. This card is complete bs and a waste of my $300. STAY FAR AWAY!

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
Despite Previous Reviews
Franklync1989 Cardholder

After my Bk in 2016, WF was the first bank to approve me for a secured CL with this card. I started off with $300 like everyone else, but after reading reviews on the graduation expectation I decided to be proactive. I was graduated yesterday, 06/17/2017, 11 months after opening the account. While six month graduation is the rumor, you have to keep in mind that you can add to your credit limit and that amount becomes a tucked away savings that bears no interest. I received my 4k back into my savings immediately, even though they said it could take almost a month. My CL stayed at 4k and I may already qualify for an unsecured increase. Loved the card, had no complaints at all. 

more ...
Jun 10, 2017
Use this is a LAST resort.
Anonymous Cardholder

Honestly I hate Wells Fargo and wish I would have made a different banking choice. All around they are horrible but let's focus on why this card is horrible: I opened with a limit of 300$ was assured I'd graduate after 6 months. Well that was a lie. I pay on time I pay more than the minimum and most months I pay the whole balance. I have yet to receive graduation and when I called them they couldn't give me a reason why. I have 3 other credit cards since I opened WF and they are all UNSECURED and they all have received at least one CLI (one I've received 2 CLIs) WF is ridiculous since I PAID them to have this card yet they won't insecure me let alone raise my limit. It's my lowest limit card. If I can get credit without paying surely I should be qualified for graduation right?? If I wasn't so apt on raising my score right now I would just close this card and lose the account on my credit report. I almost don't even care about having one less open account because they're just ridiculous. If I'm not graduated by my expiration date and have. CLI I'm closing it. My advice. Skip this card and find another. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Wells Fargo Secured Card