Wells Fargo Secured Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
69 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 01, 2016
GRADUATED!!!!!
Jubaby2u Cardholder

Got my secured WF cc Feb 2016. I always PIF when I got my statement. Got a letter in the mail today congratulating me on being graduated to an unsecured WF cc. After reading all of the horror stories, I was shocked. I can say they do graduate you and mine was done within 6 months!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 25, 2016
mzjedwards Cardholder

Card does not graduate!!  I have had the card for exactly one year this month June 2015. Paid on time never later, multiple payments some months. I have also had checking/savings accounts for over 6 years. Today my statement posted with a zero balance..last page says Happy Anniversary for opening the acoount a year ago. WTF...it would be nice if they said a date for the card to graduate.. I called and inquired about the graduation and like most people here that commented, there is no set date, they only graduate twice a year April and October...supposedly. My score is in the 600s but they wont give me the regular card. I have other cards now, but it would be nice to have this one graduate. Its one of my oldest lines of credit so I dont want to close it... But maybe I should and move to a card that will take into account my history and reward accordingly..If it hasnt graduated by November, I think ill close and move along to a different credit card...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 15, 2017
Perfect for building credit - get it
Zionbar Cardholder

I read some of the reviews here and they are complete bs. Notice how the people who has poor credit love complaining about their credit card lol. I had this card for 6 months and already got a letter that they will give me my deosit back and upgrade me to unsecured. You have to use it the right way and unlike others that complain "they have the card for 2 years and havent got upgraded" the reason is because they dont know what theyre doing and probably maximizibg their limits without paying anything. Utilize 10% of this card and pay it every 2 weeks or max a month. Thats what i did and my credit went up plus theyre upgrading me. Great card but if ur financially dumb no card will help you

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

This was a great way to build my credit fast. I would spend the balance and pay it in full every month for a year and now just keep a small balance on it and pay in full every month. I went from not being able to get approved for any card or line of credit to getting an auto loan in a year, and a home loan in two years all starting with this.

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
got converted to unsecured
JimKnopf Cardholder

Got this card when we first moved to the US as part of the strategy to build a credit history. One year after I opened it I got a letter in the mail saying that they will convert it into unsecured and refund the deposit. And this although I am not fulfilling the requirement of being a permanent resident as. Being free I highly recommend this card to credit builders. 

more ...
Mar 04, 2017
Don't waste your time
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for 2 yrs and I still haven't gotten upgraded.

more ...
Mar 01, 2017
Scam
Anonymous Cardholder

Stay away from this card. Next month, it's going to be 2 years ever since I opened the card and 6 phone calls later, still the same response: "The reviews for this card are made periodically. There is not pre-set time for upgrade". As soon as I re-finance my car next week, I will finally close down my account with them. I'm sick of having to pay the annual fees for nothing.

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
It's okay for building credit I guess.
Anonymous Cardholder

My credit score has gone up a bit, no late payments or over the credit line. Got it in February of 2013 and have still never graduated to a regular card. 

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Only good for improving your Score

I've had this card for over 18 months with an intial $700 deposit. Been in good standing and my score is now in the 700s due to other credit cards as well. Still have not been "graduated" and their interest seem a bit high. To make matters worse they report not as often as Cap1 or Chase, and they report it as secure credit. Chase and others have told me they won't consider this card a "credit card" due to it being reported as a secure credit.  I would look into Discover IT due to them being able to graduate alot sooner after 7 months and they report it as a regular credit card. 

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a secured credit card with WF since march 2014 never been late always paid my balance down before closing date still no upgrade very disappointed with them since BOA unsecured be in 9 months with a credit limit of $5000.

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
Better than nothing
Anonymous Cardholder

After three years of payments on time, never late, Wells Fargo wouldn't "graduate" my card. I applied for an unsecured card and was declined due to a repo with another lender 7 years ago for the amount of $153 that was charged off after my partner died. Disappointed. While my credit report will improve this year with the repo now falling off I have decided to cancel my secured card and move on to other lenders who ARE willing to issue me unsecured credit. I have since cancelled my secured card with WF and now have an assortment of unsecured cards with other lenders and have been approved for a personal loan with another lender. Wasn't bad to work with them but disappointed after three SOLID good years of perfect credit they weren't willing to issue an unsecured card! Oh well. Their loss, I guess!

more ...
Feb 09, 2017
Helpful
ZaneP Cardholder

This card worked wonders for me. I had made a string of bad debts from ages 18-20. A majority of those debts were set to fall off in 2017 so in December of 2015 I got this card to begin building credit.

Started with a $300 limit and 490 credit score.

By March, I was approved for a $350 store brand credit card. My score was 540.

By September of 2016, I was approved for another credit card with a limit of $5,100. My credit score was 680.

By January of 2017, 12 months after my journey to fix my credit, I'm sitting here with a 730 credit score.

Still haven't been upgraded yet, though the bank agent told me about five months ago that I should be "soon." They do upgrades quarterly in batches.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Wells Fargo Secured Card