USAA Secured Cards® American Express® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
6 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 10.65% - 20.65%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $35
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 10.65% - 20.65%* Variable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 14, 2017
Be prepared for no one to know anything
blaqout31 Cardholder

I opened this account this year and for the first month after I made my initial deposit no one could tell me when I would receive my card. It was not what I expected from USAA. They don't report every month either, once every three months.

more ...
May 12, 2017
megenfae Cardholder

I have had this card for almost 2 years and it has helped a lot. I only applied for it to help my credit score so I only have a $300 limit. Within the first couple of months, my score was up by 50-60 points, I was very surprised. There is an annual fee but it's worth it in my opinion. I also have a bank account with USAA, so when I make payments it's instantly applied to it and it's also my backup in case I overdraft on my bank account so I won't get penalized. They also give you a free Experian credit check service where you can keep up with your score monthly. When I opened this account there was also a 2-year CD account with a 54% interest, so the more you have the better when it matures. Overall, I think it's a great option for those trying to rebuild, customer service has always been great with USAA in all the services they provide.

more ...
May 10, 2017
Awesome
Lyrical1983 Cardholder

I have had this card for almost 2 months and it reports every month. Your credit score goes up as long as you pay it off or use less than 30% utilization. Check it out for yourself!

more ...
May 10, 2017
Good card
Anonymous Cardholder

I have this card and the USAA visa secured card. I was rebuilding my credit,  at the time and yes it has helped with my credit score. My credit I beileve was in the 500's and now in the 600s, I opened the amex last year because I tried for the delta skymiles card and didn't get approved the year before that which was early to mid 2015. I finally got approved for the delta skymiles card, so I am thinking about closing this one. As far as the limit goes, you can set your own limit for each of these cards from $250-$5,000. And that is all, right now there is not an option for the card to become unsecured after a certain time but hopefully they will include that sometime in the future. Also, it is used as a real credit card not a prepaid one(even though it is)  I hope this helps.

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
I have and they have been vital.
davidshelton88 Cardholder

I placed a 300 limit on my card and I have paid the bill (down to 3%) every month on time and my score rose 60 points.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 31, 2017

What was your credit score when you applied for it ?

 
Jun 05, 2016
Great Card
Anonymous Cardholder

My credit sucks, got this USAA secured Amex and its good, i dont see how people wouldnt get approved for it though since its a secured card?  Either way, ive been happy with it, i dont use it that much but ive loaded a few thousand bucks on it so it comes in handy.

more ...
Apr 29, 2017

Why only a few thousand. Why not more!!!

 
May 08, 2017

Waft was your Credit Score when you got approved for this card?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

USAA Secured Cards® American Express® Card