Chase Slate® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.1 out of 5 stars
135 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.74% - 24.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.74% - 24.49%* Variable

Our Take

Chase Slate® is a great option for consumers looking to transfer balances or take advantage of low introductory purchase rates.

What to Like

Chase Slate® offers a 0% intro APR on purchases and balance transfers for 15 months. With no balance transfer fee for the first 60 days after opening an account, consumers can save money when transferring a large balance. Chase Slate® also features no Penalty APR for missed payments.

Look Out For

After the first 60 days the balance transfer fee is 5% of the amount transferred or $5, whichever is greater, so you’ll want to get your transfers in early. There’s also a 3% fee on each foreign transaction.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 02, 2015
Approved with Poor Approval Odds
AU28 Cardholder

I applied, after receiving a pre-qualification letter in the mail a few months ago, for the Chase Slate card because I wanted to take advantage of the 0% interest rate for 15 months. I wanted to transfer about $2,000 from another credit card (Capital One Quicksilver Visa Signature $5K CL) wihch also has a 0% interest but will expire on September 2015.

I was very hesitant to apply since two days ago I had applied for the Capital One Venture One Visa, which I was approved for $3,000 CL. After considering the pros (0% for 15 months, no fee transfer rate for first 60 days) vs. the cons (no other rewards beyond the initial 0% rate) of this card - I decided to apply.

I applied online via GetChaseSlate.com (from the letter), provided personal and work information, as well as the transfer information from Capital One.

I received the following: "additional review required - please wait for respond by mail within 30 days".

Within two hours, I called the application status line (800-436-7927) to check the status of the applicaton - my initial thought was to contact the reconsideration line, as i had read in mulitple blogs, but there was no need for that, as the application status said that I had been approved with $3,200 credit limit, and 22% (though I am not too concern with that, as i plan to pay off the within the next 6 months).

Per CreditKarma, at the time when I applied, my TU was 619, and EQ 622.

Hope this review helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 11, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card to give myself more time to pay off an unexpected cat surgery. I transfered a balance of $1800 from a higher interest card, and the 0% transfer for a limited time was more than fair. The credit limit was $3500 with score of 767. No complaints there as I wasn't looking for more borrowing power. Where this company falls down is in customer service and ease of use. It's a slightly convoluted and counterintuitive process to simply make a payment. I found the branded "products" like "Finish It" etc, a bit unnecessary and complicated. 

I recently closed this card and here's why. Three weeks ago I switched bank accounts. I spent a whole day calling and updating cards, bills, autopays, etc with the new account information. On the Chase website, my auto pay account clearly showed that paymernts were now directed to my new account; my old bank account was no longer listed. Yet, just this week, the automatic payment drew from the OLD, soon to be shut down account, which didn't have enough funds in it. Thanks to the miracle of overdraft privileges, the payment went through, which paid off the balance, but I was charged $27 in overdraft service fees by my bank. I called Chase and asked why my payment had been charged to the old account, when I had taken every precuation and had been assured that the payment would come from the new account. The first rep I spoke to, told me that for all he knew, I might have set it up "15 minutes ago" and he wouldn't know any differently.  I assured him that I had NOT just set it up 15 minutes ago, and frankly I felt really angry that he would accuse me of lying for reason. He then said that their system doesn't show WHEN a request to change payment accounts is made. I told him that it's not acceptable; both Chase and I should be 100% clear on where an autopayment will be coming from. There's no reason not to know that information. He told me he'd "get" me to someone who could help.  I explained the issue to another rep, who told me vaguely that "the accounts aren't linked until you get clearance from us." I said that everything online indicated that the new account WAS linked. She said that it "may show up like that" but it isn't really until you receive a "special message" from us. I asked when this "special message" was supposed to arrive because I had set up the new draft account three weeks prior, and that in the digital age, one doesn't expect it to take weeks or months to re-point an electronic draft. I was also NOT advised to make a manual, one time payment when I had called before to make sure it was set up correctly. The rep said, and I quote: "I don't know. It just shows up."  I suggested that Chase take care of the $27 overdraft fee assessed,  while I wait for this mysterious message to "show up"  and she said: "We can't do that because the computer doesn't show it as our banking error" whatever that means. Mind you, I had been using and paying this card off regularly. I probably charged and paid off more than $10,000 in bills, groceries, travel etc etc, and not once had I missed  or been late with payment. In fact, my balance was zero. I decided the card was not worth it. There's no extra benefit to this card over any other; I don't have a credit worthiness problem and there are lots of better cards out there for everyday use. If they had refunded the overdraft fee, or at least been able to define and explain their own process (eg, HOW exactly is one supposed to know where an auto pay is coming from if you can't trust what it says on your account, or what you're told on the phone?)  I probably would have stuck with it if they'd been more respectful and fair. Instead, I closed the account. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 22, 2017
Ok card .
Iceiceice Cardholder

Karma has me has poor i took a change anyway was approved for 700 limit .This card don't have any good benefits but it helps with small purchase such as gas. Food.

more ...
May 21, 2017
Easy to apply
Mistyeyed05 Cardholder

I has a "fair approval" rating but applied for the card anyway. I was approved with $3,000 credit. 

more ...
May 19, 2017
A mediocre card but...
webdw Cardholder

Because this card doesn't have much in rewards compared to two other cards I frequently use, I use this card maybe once/twice year.  Apparently that's not good enough for "Chase".  They dropped me (despite my 800+ credit score).  No warning, just 60 more days to use it then GONE!  Now that card is GONE - shredded.  While I used the card it was mediocre but their idea of customer relations is out of touch in today's financial markets.  My advice is DON'T BOTHER!

Other comments posted about Chase's lousy customer service are probably accurate.

more ...
May 19, 2017
Decent Balance Transfer terms
lscharen Cardholder

I applied for this card online and was instantly approved.  The credit limit I received was lower than I wanted, but I have two other Chase branded cards and was able to transfer a portion of my credit limit from one of thos cards onto this one in less than a hour by contacting Chase support.

The only negative so far is that balance transfers are limited to no more than $15,000 in a 30-day period, which may mean that one cannot utilize all of their credit limit toward balance transfers.  This negative is mitigated by the fact that there is a 60-day windows where the $0 BT fee applies, so a total of $30,000 should be available for balance transfers.

The only other minor inconvenience is that online balance transfers require the 3-digit security code, so you do have to wait for physical delivery of the card.  Given the 30-day limit above, waiting 7 - 10 days to get the card in the mail can eat into the 60-day $0 transfer deadline.

more ...
May 18, 2017
Stay Away & Customer service is rude....
Varundeep Cardholder

I applied to this card in 2015 when I was in college and received a 3,200$ credit limit. I carry balances on this card while I was in school but after getting a job and have been working for over an year now, I paid my balances in full and maintained a 0$ balance for about 2 months now. I called up customer service and asked for a Credit Line Increase since I have not received one since the approval of card (2 years). The customer service professional said that they need to pull my credit report. I was okay with it because my credit score is 725 and after she pulled she declined my request. I don't see the reason for declining at all? She trasnferred me to lending department customer service telling me that they could do something to fix and this customer service professional was very rude that I got ****ed off and wanted to close the account. 

more ...
May 16, 2017
Perfect for Balance transfers!
TheCatsPajamas Cardholder

Credit Karma is the best! Application for this card took literally less than 5 mins.... instant approval for $3000 which is exactly what I needed to transfer a balanced $2500 with horrendous interest charges... should end up saving over $1000 in interest! Boom! Love CK!! 

more ...
May 16, 2017
Stay away.
eljack007 Cardholder

I had received a letter from Chase saying that they decided to close the account because their vendor wanted to end their relationship with me. I guess I went wrong because I I did not carry a balance. Imade a purchases and paid in full. My credit score had not gone down or anything else and Chase just closed the account!???

more ...
May 14, 2017
A total waste of time !!!!!!!!!!!!
mcerrone Cardholder

Please dont waste your time with this joke of a offer!!     715 credit score and you give me a 500.00 limit  i have a amex with a 5k limit a cap one with a 2k limit a mastercard with a 5k limit  i only chose this stupid offer to use the 0% for 15 months   BUT ITS A SCAM 500.00 LIMIT??????    with a score in the 715 range???  THIS IS A BULL**** CARD DONT WASTE YOUR TIME !!   i called to cancell and they said my credit is not that great  WTF!!!  im in the 715 range thats great credit   CHASE IS A SCAM

more ...
May 14, 2017
Not good at customer service... Rude

I had 273 on time payments. Then I had one late payment and my credit score dropped over 100 points. Very upsetting and disappointed in both the credit card company and the credit bureau. Unsatisfied customer. When I called customer service there was nothing that they could do for me. They just said oh I'm sorry.did not help me at all

more ...
May 10, 2017
Reduced my limit for no reason.
Gerardo35 Cardholder

Chase reduced my credit limit for no good reason.  I've never been late, I've never missed a payment, and I always pay way more than the minimum due.  Apparently, they reviewed my credit report, (without my authorization!) and determined my debt to limit ratio was too high on other accounts.  The reduction in the limit affects my credit score negatively.  NO LOYALTY TO THEIR CUSTOMERS!  I will be cancelling this card at the end of my balance transfer offer period, and I will be cancelling my other Chase accounts!  Because of this, and from now until I cancel, I will only pay the minimum each month - my APR is 0% until November.  After all the interest I've paid them over the last few years on this and other accounts, they stab me in the back.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 6,830
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Slate®