Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Slate®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
144 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.49% - 24.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.49% - 24.24%* Variable

Our Take

Chase Slate® is a great option for consumers looking to transfer balances or take advantage of low introductory purchase rates.

What to Like

Chase Slate® offers a 0% intro APR on purchases and balance transfers for 15 months. With no balance transfer fee for the first 60 days after opening an account, consumers can save money when transferring a large balance. Chase Slate® also features no Penalty APR for missed payments.

Look Out For

After the first 60 days the balance transfer fee is 5% of the amount transferred or $5, whichever is greater, so you’ll want to get your transfers in early. There’s also a 3% fee on each foreign transaction.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 14, 2016
Glad I applied - GREAT SERVICE too!
JonathonINperu Cardholder

I applied for the card online and was approved.  I received a credit line of $2,900, but wated to get it a little higher.  Called the Customer Service Dept. and was helped by two great people.  After I was told IN DETAIL about the card and all of my options, I was given a few options and we worked on getting my credit line increased to $3,900.  Now mind you, I live outside the US but have dealt with Chase for a number of years.  The help was beyond what I could have expected to receive and both persons were polite and knowledgable of what needed to be done.  I have read some negative comments about their service on here, but I can tell you their service is fantastic.  I know they do not use their "real" names but hats off to Paul & Sally for your great service.

I am very glad I applied for this card.  It is going to help me pay down my small debt a lot quicker.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 15, 2016
COMPLETE LIARS
wfbgirl21 Cardholder

I find it amusing that I just recently left a postive review for this card and company about a month ago on here and now literally they have screwed me over.  So here I am to update my previous review.  I did two different balance transfers when I originally opened my card.  I knew at the beginning of 2016 that the balance transfers were goingt o need to be paid off sometime this year, so I called Chase Slate's customer service number and asked a VERY simple question..."When will I start getting charged interest on my account?"  Simple enough, right?  I was told not until July 2016.  OK, great...so I take what she tells me and believe it.  So when I check my account online yesterday to see if a payment posted yet, I noticed my balance had changed.  I check the activity and there's an interest charge on there.  So I call and ask why am I being charged interest when I was just told within the last couple of months by their employee that I would not be until July 2016.  She apologized and said I was given wrong information.  So what I gather from this is the employees there have access to all of our account information and yet cannot give out correct information when asked a simple question.  So I then e-mail customer service online and explained what was going on, I got some generic responses but no response for why I was told one thing and now they do something different.  I responded with a frustrated (understandably so) e-mail and got a response that my e-mail was being forwarded to a different team to handle.  So I just today get an e-mail response that I was not given wrong information at all and that the interest was for a "finish it" that was not paid off in time (and is not paid off with a most recent payment made last week).  I not so politely responded that my original question was "when will I be charged interest on my account" which is pretty straight forward to me.

So bottom line, this company ended up losing my trust.  When you call customer service for a company you do business with, you want straight forward accurate answers.  And when you're given wrong info, then told you were given wrong info, then told you were given right info when in fact you were not, customers tend to lose trust in you and cannot believe what you say anymore.  I thought it was odd that after reading all of the negative reviews on here that I had such a postive experience with them so far with no issues.  It turns out it just took them longer to get to me I guess.  Please look into options for balance transfers.  I will be transferring the rest of my balance to hopefully Discover (who gets really great reviews from what I've seen) within the next week or two and will no longer do business with Chase in the future.  I'm now $4,000 away from being out of credit card debt with a mid 700 credit score, so I'm almost there (after being in debt about $15,000 about a year and a half ago) and I do remember which companies along the way treated me good and which ones not so good.  Chase will never have my business again, there's too many other options out there.   Take mine and these other reviews seriously when making your decision.     

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 20, 2017
Not satisfied as of now
Dmcyarb7229312 Cardholder

I went in to a chase bank and talked to a rep about getting this card. We went through the process of getting me approved. I wanted it as a balance transfer card. I owe just shy $2,000 on my capital one venture card with a $4,500 limit. 733 equifax and trans union. I have 100% on time payment and no delinquencies on my report, 0 overdrafts on my debit card (which I guess they look at), I have paid more than the minimum every month, 0 missed or late payments for schooling,  internet. Nothing whatsoever. I even received an automatic $1,500 credit limit increase after 6 months of being with capitol one. You could say that my credit worthiness is pretty high.  Well the rep at chase bank quoted me a $11,400 credit line for my slate card and was aware because he wrote it in my packet as well as confirmed my total amount I wanted to transfer was only $2,000. I finally got my card a week later, activated it and on the online sight it only says $1,400 credit line. I thought this was wrong but as well on the paperwork it says $1,400. I am hoping that chase will work with me on getting me what the rep quoted and told me that my credit line should be. If this happens I will be more than happy with the card. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 20, 2017

I had also spent about 4 months before applying for this card to find the best possible option since I knew my card would need a balance transfer. This was not a spur of the moment thing, it was a thought out and analyzed process. Hopefully chase will work with me to get the credit line raised.

 
Jan 16, 2017
Worst Card in my wallet for travel
gbour Cardholder

Dealling with customer service is the worst.   Although the credit line was ok.  I suggest to never use this card out of the country. I've been fighting a charge for over 3 months and still no resolution.  I'm sticking to Amex or Discover...  Chase company should really look into retraining their agents.  I'm tired of explaning my problem everytime i call.   

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 17, 2017

You really used the Slate card for travel? That's your problem right there.

 
Jan 13, 2017
Best Card for Balance Transfers!!
DJSingh Cardholder

First of all, do not believe the bad reviews here, most of them do not understand how the crediit card system works. If you are an informed customer and you take some time to know the details and terms/conditions on the card, you will be just fine. I got approved for a $14k CL (95% of it is usable) which was unexpected coz all comments here had CLs of few thousand only. Its weird to know that I got the highest credit limit among all commenters on creditkarma. Customer care told me to apply on site, I did and got a message that it is under review, but then logged on chase.com to see new Slate is showing in my existing Chase portfolio. I called customer care and they confirmed my approval and i'm ecstatic. I am an Indian who moved to USA five years ago and have been responsible with my finances. My wife is starting her MBA so she needed to pay about $25k and we wanted to have a card that would not charge us interest on it for a year or so. Plus I plan to pay the tuition fee with City Double cash and earn 2% cashback on it before moving it to Chase Slate with 0% charges for 15 months, this could not be any better. Note that I already have a Chase Amazon ($5k CL & two year old) and Chase Freedom ($20k CL & one year old). My annual income is about $140k and my Fico score is around 770. There is a limit of $15k per month transfer and my limit is also around the same level but then my research helped me discover the fact that I can request Chase to move some of my credit limit of my Chase Freedom to my Chase Slate and then use it after initial 30 days (coz you can only do $15k balance transfer limit per 30 days), that way I can pay all tuition in first 60 days with Slate, earn 2% cashback and not pay a penny in interest. Note that first Balance transfer will take 2-3 weeks so start in advance. Plus the Chase customer care is awesome, dont fall for negative comments here and be smart. All the best and do your research beforehand, for example I read so many online reviews and every single comment here in this thread before applying for this card just to be sure that my plan will work but $14k limit is freakin awesome. Good luck folks.. :)

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
10+ years, no changes ever.
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had a Chase Slate since 2009, it was an "upgraded" card I have had with Chase since 2007.

This was a card I always kept around for emergencies only, it never held more than a 50% balance. The card has never had a single late payment ever. When I got the card my credit rating was bad. Now (2016) that I have a fair/good credit rating I tried calling to get the limit increased, and the rater decreased.

When I called to get the rate lowered they told me I already have the lowest rate possible. The rate on my bill is 25.74% The rate advertised for this card is 13.24%–23.24%.

They would also not increase the limit, which is a tiny $800. When I got this card my credit score was below 500, it is now above 690, but that made no difference.

Simply put, Chase isn't the type of bank that cares about long term account standing.

Don't get this card expecting to help it build your credit rating. It will instead be a crutch that lowered your total credit limit, and therefor lower your credit rating.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 11, 2017

Thank you sooo much for your review!

 
Dec 30, 2016
Great card for building credit
moi12 Cardholder

I have this card for a year and a half now, no issues whatsoever. My credit score was around 740 and I got $1500 credit line in October 2015, and since then it's been 15 months, and no increase in credit line. So prety disaapointed from that part, but overall good card.

more ...
Dec 29, 2016
Can't transfer chase to chase.
Permesar Cardholder

I got this card to transfer my Amazon chase rewards card balance that I did all my Christmas Christmas shopping on to this. You Can't do it. So I'll need to apply for another card. Figured I could get all the points and then pay off the shopping over the next few months. Must be in the fine print so I won't bang them too hard. For me it's just ok for now. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 14, 2017

It's not only on the fine print, but it is also one of the first few things that they say in before you apply when you look at their fees and such.

 
Dec 29, 2016
Still in my wallet!
DanskeViking Cardholder

This was the first card i got after my divorce. I was approved even though i had collection accounts and my credit score was around 570. It only has a 500 dollar limit, but it lead to 2 capital one cards, Discover Card, Barkleys, Bank of America, Wells Fargo, Citi, and a Kohls card for the discounts. My favorite card because i didn't need a secured credit card to fix my credit and it saved me a ding because i don't have to close a secured card on my report. Thanks Chase!

more ...
Dec 23, 2016
Approved with Fair approval odds
matiasgustavo Cardholder

Got approved for a $2000 CL with fair Credit Karma odds, got the famous "we need more time to review your application", that was last night...today I called chase to check my application status and learned that I was approved, just a week after being approved for a Freedom Unlimited with a $2000 also and good credit karma odd. TU 646 and EQ 625, when I received the freedom card on the letter they have your credit score , mine was 658....so I guess the CK scores runs a little low than what we really have. I'm really happy after years rebuilding my credit, first credit cards with a decent limit in years. I have 3 other credit cards two capital one $500 and $200 limit and a First Bank Premiere with $500, those 3 really helped me to rebuild my credit but is time to close them, really high rates with anual fees really high. I still have a $400 collection on my credit and 4 missed payments....looking forward to make my credit better with those new cards and finally get my credit score over 700 so I can buy my house. 😄

more ...
Dec 26, 2016

Please keep the reviews coming worh as many details as possible. I love the platform Credit Karma has created for this community share their experiences good, bad or otherwise. Approved or denied both are valuable in deciding whether or not to pursue a credit offer when Credit Karma says your odds are good. CAN ANYONE SHARE WHICH CREDIT BUREAU REPORT CHASE IS PULLING FROM TO MAKE THEIR APPROVAL DECISIONS?

 
Dec 26, 2016

@matiasgustavo whatever you do don't close your cards with lower limits. If you have built your credit up to the 700's and have other cards with higher limits Capital One will happily oblige you in granting you higher limits, just CALL and ASK. Plus you dont want your score to decline by closing your accounts which impacts you credit history, yes it's only 10% but a 10% that matters and could move your score from very good to good or from good to needs improvements. Well done at any rate, thanks for sharing.

 
Dec 29, 2016

Chase is pulling the reports from Experian

 
Dec 29, 2016

I really wanna close my First bank premier card, has a $500 limit and was opened on may 2015. Do you think that is going to affect my credit a lot? I read that if you have a perfect payment history (my case) that will stay in your credit...is that true?

 
Jan 07, 2017

Yes, that is correct and has been my experience about the payment history. I'm no expert just speaking from my personal experiences. Not only does closing accounts impact your credit history it impacts utilization which will be increased because your complete line of credit will be decreased. Not good because utilization is 30% of your credit overall score which is significant. So two areas of your overall credit rating will be impacted. Something to consider. :) Your doing great 👍very impressive.

 
Jan 11, 2017

Thank you @latinalewis, this 2 cards( Freedom and Slate) helped me a lot, when Chase report them my credit score jumped to 695 TU AND 700 EQ...I'm really happy and looking forward to get my score higher and higher.

 
Dec 21, 2016
Very Slow-Going and Misleading
laker4life16 Cardholder

I got this card with the intention of transferring half of a current Chase credit card balance to this one. Maybe I am just misguided or not understanding fully of the process, but I found out that I cannot transfer money from one Chase account to the other. Now it feels as though I am in a worse position than I was before if I had just not gotten this card. They asked endless questions to verify my identity when I called to activate it, and the transfer balance is still showing as "pending" after several days. I was hoping an increase to my limit would help build my score back up, but now that I have the card I seriously doubt it. I plan to just pay this card off as soon as possible and be done with it. Chase is not the best when it comes to customer service.

more ...
Dec 17, 2016
Great For Everyday Use
Brianq1274 Cardholder

I have have had this card since Jun 16. No issues whatsoever. Chase even reports to all 3 credit reporting agencies within days of my cycle ending. I would reccomend this card.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 6,830
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Slate®