Chase Slate®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
139 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.49% - 24.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.49% - 24.24%* Variable

Our Take

Chase Slate® is a great option for consumers looking to transfer balances or take advantage of low introductory purchase rates.

What to Like

Chase Slate® offers a 0% intro APR on purchases and balance transfers for 15 months. With no balance transfer fee for the first 60 days after opening an account, consumers can save money when transferring a large balance. Chase Slate® also features no Penalty APR for missed payments.

Look Out For

After the first 60 days the balance transfer fee is 5% of the amount transferred or $5, whichever is greater, so you’ll want to get your transfers in early. There’s also a 3% fee on each foreign transaction.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 14, 2016
Glad I applied - GREAT SERVICE too!
JonathonINperu Cardholder

I applied for the card online and was approved.  I received a credit line of $2,900, but wated to get it a little higher.  Called the Customer Service Dept. and was helped by two great people.  After I was told IN DETAIL about the card and all of my options, I was given a few options and we worked on getting my credit line increased to $3,900.  Now mind you, I live outside the US but have dealt with Chase for a number of years.  The help was beyond what I could have expected to receive and both persons were polite and knowledgable of what needed to be done.  I have read some negative comments about their service on here, but I can tell you their service is fantastic.  I know they do not use their "real" names but hats off to Paul & Sally for your great service.

I am very glad I applied for this card.  It is going to help me pay down my small debt a lot quicker.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 10, 2017
Chase Slate SUCKS!!
MRJEFFREY3201 Cardholder

Avoid Chase Slate they will hit you with fees out of nowhere and tell you sorry there is nothing they can do about it!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 21, 2017
Card is adequate.
JustMe928929 Cardholder

The card itself is adequate. I equate their customer service to Comcast. **** poor.

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Not trustworthy
Twotrusting Cardholder

They did not tell me the amount I would be approved for for transfer balance once I was approved the amount did not come close to what I needed. I paid them off in full and asked if I can do balance transfer, the customer service representative was not sure what I meant and said I would have to apply for a credit increase so I was not approved and it was a hit on my credit.  Later I found out that balance transfer does not happen when you increase your credit line it's 2 separate situations.  

more ...
Mar 11, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card to give myself more time to pay off an unexpected cat surgery. I transfered a balance of $1800 from a higher interest card, and the 0% transfer for a limited time was more than fair. The credit limit was $3500 with score of 767. No complaints there as I wasn't looking for more borrowing power. Where this company falls down is in customer service and ease of use. It's a slightly convoluted and counterintuitive process to simply make a payment. I found the branded "products" like "Finish It" etc, a bit unnecessary and complicated. 

I recently closed this card and here's why. Three weeks ago I switched bank accounts. I spent a whole day calling and updating cards, bills, autopays, etc with the new account information. On the Chase website, my auto pay account clearly showed that paymernts were now directed to my new account; my old bank account was no longer listed. Yet, just this week, the automatic payment drew from the OLD, soon to be shut down account, which didn't have enough funds in it. Thanks to the miracle of overdraft privileges, the payment went through, which paid off the balance, but I was charged $27 in overdraft service fees by my bank. I called Chase and asked why my payment had been charged to the old account, when I had taken every precuation and had been assured that the payment would come from the new account. The first rep I spoke to, told me that for all he knew, I might have set it up "15 minutes ago" and he wouldn't know any differently.  I assured him that I had NOT just set it up 15 minutes ago, and frankly I felt really angry that he would accuse me of lying for reason. He then said that their system doesn't show WHEN a request to change payment accounts is made. I told him that it's not acceptable; both Chase and I should be 100% clear on where an autopayment will be coming from. There's no reason not to know that information. He told me he'd "get" me to someone who could help.  I explained the issue to another rep, who told me vaguely that "the accounts aren't linked until you get clearance from us." I said that everything online indicated that the new account WAS linked. She said that it "may show up like that" but it isn't really until you receive a "special message" from us. I asked when this "special message" was supposed to arrive because I had set up the new draft account three weeks prior, and that in the digital age, one doesn't expect it to take weeks or months to re-point an electronic draft. I was also NOT advised to make a manual, one time payment when I had called before to make sure it was set up correctly. The rep said, and I quote: "I don't know. It just shows up."  I suggested that Chase take care of the $27 overdraft fee assessed,  while I wait for this mysterious message to "show up"  and she said: "We can't do that because the computer doesn't show it as our banking error" whatever that means. Mind you, I had been using and paying this card off regularly. I probably charged and paid off more than $10,000 in bills, groceries, travel etc etc, and not once had I missed  or been late with payment. In fact, my balance was zero. I decided the card was not worth it. There's no extra benefit to this card over any other; I don't have a credit worthiness problem and there are lots of better cards out there for everyday use. If they had refunded the overdraft fee, or at least been able to define and explain their own process (eg, HOW exactly is one supposed to know where an auto pay is coming from if you can't trust what it says on your account, or what you're told on the phone?)  I probably would have stuck with it if they'd been more respectful and fair. Instead, I closed the account. 

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
Don't expect a decent credit limit
eddiefl64 Cardholder

Despite having a 700+ FICO and excellent credit I was given a $500 credit limit.  An insult. I have 3 other Visa cards with no less than $2500 limits and 28% utilization. I've had the card nearly two years and no increase in limit. Chase says they periodically review your account for increases BUT they don't. They want you to initiate the request which, of course, goes on your credt as an inquiry. Customer service is lacksidasical at best. They act like they're doing you a big favor giving you a card at all. Chase is VERY stingy about credit limits unless you have very high FICO scores. (750+).  I will likely cancel this card. A measely $500 isn't going to affect my credit utilization.

more ...
Mar 09, 2017

That's odd because I got a 10,000 limit with a 715 credit score.

 
Mar 14, 2017

Your score isn't the only deciding factor in figuring credit limits. It also has to do with the information contained on your reports. Recent displays of credit responsibility can and will drive CC companies to grant higher limits, but it's not a 100% guarantee. Algorithms are hard to understand, and even harder to explain...but they are built in, and are the final word, especially when applying online for a card, instead of going to a branch and talking out your situation with a human representative.

 
Feb 27, 2017
Not worth it

I only applied for the card to do a balance transfer. After entering the amount needed and account number of the card to transfer from, Chase qualified me for less than half of what I was looking for (which wasn't that much to begin with). Once I got the card, I canceled it right away because I do not need another credit card and did not want another hard inquiry on my credit report for asking for a credit increase right off the bat.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 07, 2017

This is typical Chase. VERY stingy about credit limits. All they do is promote balance transfers but try to get a decent credit limit to do any transfers. And yes, they will make YOU initiate a request for an increase, which goes against your credit as an inquiry, when they already have all the info they need to make a decision.

 
Feb 26, 2017
pizza12348 Cardholder

It's a good credit card that give you 15 months zero interest on balance transfers and purchases I got approved for the 587 score with a $500 credit limit

more ...
Feb 23, 2017
Excellent
Jlcourter06 Cardholder

I applied got a high credit limit and have no problems with using the card or contacting customer service. I recommend this card.,

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 25, 2017

You probably got this card for the right reason, unlike the person below you. :P But seriously, congrats...this is literally the ONLY balance transfer card I'd ever even consider looking at.

 
Feb 22, 2017
Don't waste your time
Anonymous Cardholder

When I got this card in 2006 I had bad credit and was in college. 11 years later I amke way more money than I did when I had this card and a much better 720 credit score and they still refused to increase my limit. Not to meantion I have a few accounts with Chase. It's an entire Joke. Don't apply for this card. There are no rewards.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
worst card
LARAMAR Cardholder

When I got this card in 2006 I had bad credit and was in college. 11 years later I amke way more money than I did when I had this card and a much better 720 credit score and they still refused to increase my limit. Not to meantion I have a few accounts with Chase. It's an entire Joke. Don't apply for this card. There are no rewards.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 22, 2017

It's not a rewards card. It's meant for low-interest consolidation. You seem to have it for the wrong reason, and are definitely complaining for the wrong reason.

 
Feb 17, 2017
Thanks Chase!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

My Amex promotional 0% was about to end so I decided to try a Chase Slate. I have a lot of recent credit inquaries due to the fact I purchased a home and car in the last year. I currently have a Chase Preferred with a 22k limit. Signed into Chase online and was offered a Chase Slate, so I figured "why not"? Applied and was given 3.5k limit which wasn't bad but I wanted a higher limit. Called Chase and they allowed me to transfer my CP limit to the Chase Slate for a total of 25k limit for 0% 15 months / 15.49% after. CS~671 / 120K income. I will be keeping my Chase cards for a long time. (I'm a authorized Chase Reserve). 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 6,830
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Slate®