Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Slate®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
145 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.49% - 24.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.49% - 24.24%* Variable

Our Take

Chase Slate® is a great option for consumers looking to transfer balances or take advantage of low introductory purchase rates.

What to Like

Chase Slate® offers a 0% intro APR on purchases and balance transfers for 15 months. With no balance transfer fee for the first 60 days after opening an account, consumers can save money when transferring a large balance. Chase Slate® also features no Penalty APR for missed payments.

Look Out For

After the first 60 days the balance transfer fee is 5% of the amount transferred or $5, whichever is greater, so you’ll want to get your transfers in early. There’s also a 3% fee on each foreign transaction.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 14, 2016
Glad I applied - GREAT SERVICE too!
JonathonINperu Cardholder

I applied for the card online and was approved.  I received a credit line of $2,900, but wated to get it a little higher.  Called the Customer Service Dept. and was helped by two great people.  After I was told IN DETAIL about the card and all of my options, I was given a few options and we worked on getting my credit line increased to $3,900.  Now mind you, I live outside the US but have dealt with Chase for a number of years.  The help was beyond what I could have expected to receive and both persons were polite and knowledgable of what needed to be done.  I have read some negative comments about their service on here, but I can tell you their service is fantastic.  I know they do not use their "real" names but hats off to Paul & Sally for your great service.

I am very glad I applied for this card.  It is going to help me pay down my small debt a lot quicker.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 15, 2016
COMPLETE LIARS
wfbgirl21 Cardholder

I find it amusing that I just recently left a postive review for this card and company about a month ago on here and now literally they have screwed me over.  So here I am to update my previous review.  I did two different balance transfers when I originally opened my card.  I knew at the beginning of 2016 that the balance transfers were goingt o need to be paid off sometime this year, so I called Chase Slate's customer service number and asked a VERY simple question..."When will I start getting charged interest on my account?"  Simple enough, right?  I was told not until July 2016.  OK, great...so I take what she tells me and believe it.  So when I check my account online yesterday to see if a payment posted yet, I noticed my balance had changed.  I check the activity and there's an interest charge on there.  So I call and ask why am I being charged interest when I was just told within the last couple of months by their employee that I would not be until July 2016.  She apologized and said I was given wrong information.  So what I gather from this is the employees there have access to all of our account information and yet cannot give out correct information when asked a simple question.  So I then e-mail customer service online and explained what was going on, I got some generic responses but no response for why I was told one thing and now they do something different.  I responded with a frustrated (understandably so) e-mail and got a response that my e-mail was being forwarded to a different team to handle.  So I just today get an e-mail response that I was not given wrong information at all and that the interest was for a "finish it" that was not paid off in time (and is not paid off with a most recent payment made last week).  I not so politely responded that my original question was "when will I be charged interest on my account" which is pretty straight forward to me.

So bottom line, this company ended up losing my trust.  When you call customer service for a company you do business with, you want straight forward accurate answers.  And when you're given wrong info, then told you were given wrong info, then told you were given right info when in fact you were not, customers tend to lose trust in you and cannot believe what you say anymore.  I thought it was odd that after reading all of the negative reviews on here that I had such a postive experience with them so far with no issues.  It turns out it just took them longer to get to me I guess.  Please look into options for balance transfers.  I will be transferring the rest of my balance to hopefully Discover (who gets really great reviews from what I've seen) within the next week or two and will no longer do business with Chase in the future.  I'm now $4,000 away from being out of credit card debt with a mid 700 credit score, so I'm almost there (after being in debt about $15,000 about a year and a half ago) and I do remember which companies along the way treated me good and which ones not so good.  Chase will never have my business again, there's too many other options out there.   Take mine and these other reviews seriously when making your decision.     

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 26, 2017
pizza12348 Cardholder

It's a good credit card that give you 15 months zero interest on balance transfers and purchases I got approved for the 587 score with a $500 credit limit

more ...
Feb 23, 2017
Excellent
Jlcourter06 Cardholder

I applied got a high credit limit and have no problems with using the card or contacting customer service. I recommend this card.,

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 25, 2017

You probably got this card for the right reason, unlike the person below you. :P But seriously, congrats...this is literally the ONLY balance transfer card I'd ever even consider looking at.

 
Feb 22, 2017
Don't waste your time
Anonymous Cardholder

When I got this card in 2006 I had bad credit and was in college. 11 years later I amke way more money than I did when I had this card and a much better 720 credit score and they still refused to increase my limit. Not to meantion I have a few accounts with Chase. It's an entire Joke. Don't apply for this card. There are no rewards.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
worst card
LARAMAR Cardholder

When I got this card in 2006 I had bad credit and was in college. 11 years later I amke way more money than I did when I had this card and a much better 720 credit score and they still refused to increase my limit. Not to meantion I have a few accounts with Chase. It's an entire Joke. Don't apply for this card. There are no rewards.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 22, 2017

It's not a rewards card. It's meant for low-interest consolidation. You seem to have it for the wrong reason, and are definitely complaining for the wrong reason.

 
Feb 17, 2017
Thanks Chase!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

My Amex promotional 0% was about to end so I decided to try a Chase Slate. I have a lot of recent credit inquaries due to the fact I purchased a home and car in the last year. I currently have a Chase Preferred with a 22k limit. Signed into Chase online and was offered a Chase Slate, so I figured "why not"? Applied and was given 3.5k limit which wasn't bad but I wanted a higher limit. Called Chase and they allowed me to transfer my CP limit to the Chase Slate for a total of 25k limit for 0% 15 months / 15.49% after. CS~671 / 120K income. I will be keeping my Chase cards for a long time. (I'm a authorized Chase Reserve). 

more ...
Feb 16, 2017
Deplorable customer service, dishonest
Lummie Cardholder

I applied for this card and the only positive thing I can say is that there is a 15 month no interest period. After that, it goes downhill. I made a hotel booking for a honeymoon trip and then canceled the transaction. Apart from charging a foreign transaction fee for a transaction that was made Stateside, Chase refunded less than was charged and then subsequently refunded a lower foreign transaction fee than they charged. The merchant mind you, refunded the entire charge. I spoke to 3 customer service agents and 1 supervisor and all were clueless, unhelpful or simply inflexible.  They said they had to dispute it with the merchant and their bank and that it had nothing to do with Chase. Essentially, I'm paying $60 for a charge I never made. Needless to say, I will be canceling this card and using my Amex. 

more ...
Feb 11, 2017
Identical to Amex clear, ****ty!
Spadedace13 Cardholder

Lousy reward program and interest rates that are third world! Nothing benifitial!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 11, 2017

Rewards and APR aren't what makes this card beneficial. It's the ability to transfer balances without gouging your wallet horribly...and then of course the ability to pay it off over time.

 
Feb 10, 2017
Chase Slate SUCKS!!
MRJEFFREY3201 Cardholder

Avoid Chase Slate they will hit you with fees out of nowhere and tell you sorry there is nothing they can do about it!!!

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
Deceptive, prevaricating, and predatory
Anonymous Cardholder

I did two rounds of purchases on a Chase Slate Card, both for dental work. Had the first one done, paid it off completely, ditto with the second. In prepping for the third round of work, my first act was to call Chase and ask if I needed to close my card and open a new one (or look elsewhere), or if I could make another purchase with the 0% APR of before. I was told 'yes', and the girl put a spend notice on the account for the next week. When I get the bill they have, of course, accessed me a $32 late fee, and their explanation for said is that my 0% APR expired on December 5th. I called on November 11th, not even a month prior, and a December 5th deadline was _never_mentioned_ despite the fact that was the direct subject of my question. I went through the song and dance of 'disputing' it (with absolutely no belief that it would amount to anything-- I used to work for a credit card company, and we all know we live in the era of 'too big to fail'). Unsurprisingly, the decision came back with the caveat that I did not specifically mention the APR in my question. First of all, I don't believe that since, in order to express my query (can I still use this card as I have been), mentioning the APR was essential. Second of all, even if I didn't, a responsible answer to my question would have involved something along the lines of "Well, Ma'am, this card has been open since XXXX, and the 0% APR will expire on December 5th." I hear that ad nauseam now, but they neglected to mention it when I was the one trying to be contentious. After three levels of escalation, they still refuse to remove the finance charge, despite the fact I've paid off the card in full (sans illegitimate finance charge). Aside from being outright deceptive, their customer service reps couldn't even off me an empty "I'm sorry, Ma'am." I've been a Chase customer since I was sixteen, paying my regular card off in full every month. In other words, I'm the kind of meticulous customer credit card companies hate. They got me this time, so let me be a warning. Do not rely on them for any transparency. Asking direct questions will only result in lies-- either directly, or by omission. If you for some reason feel the need to go with Chase (I understand Discover has a nice equivalent, and several of my friends have had zero problems with it), be VERY assiduous. Certainly don't expect any level of customer service from them.

Deceptive, prevaricating, unprofessional, ill-trained, and predatory. Bravo.

more ...
Jan 30, 2017
Believe the bad reviews.
NicoleRiggi Cardholder

I applied withe Balance transfer info of 4 grand. I got approved of course... but with a credit limit of 1800!? What the!? I can't even transfer half my balance with that! I have a 730 credit score and cards with limits over 10 grand. I called Chase to discuss and she said she could pull my credit again and hope for an increase. Uhhh no. I'll just cancel the account thanks. Don't waste your time or a hit on your credit!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 6,830
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Slate®