Chase Slate® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
105 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.99% - 24.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.99% - 24.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 12, 2016
Best Balance Transfer Card
CalBears11 Cardholder

At the time of applying for this card my credit score was 640 and I was instantly apporved for $3200. I transfered 2 balances to this card and the process was smooth and customer service was excellent. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 11, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card to give myself more time to pay off an unexpected cat surgery. I transfered a balance of $1800 from a higher interest card, and the 0% transfer for a limited time was more than fair. The credit limit was $3500 with score of 767. No complaints there as I wasn't looking for more borrowing power. Where this company falls down is in customer service and ease of use. It's a slightly convoluted and counterintuitive process to simply make a payment. I found the branded "products" like "Finish It" etc, a bit unnecessary and complicated. 

I recently closed this card and here's why. Three weeks ago I switched bank accounts. I spent a whole day calling and updating cards, bills, autopays, etc with the new account information. On the Chase website, my auto pay account clearly showed that paymernts were now directed to my new account; my old bank account was no longer listed. Yet, just this week, the automatic payment drew from the OLD, soon to be shut down account, which didn't have enough funds in it. Thanks to the miracle of overdraft privileges, the payment went through, which paid off the balance, but I was charged $27 in overdraft service fees by my bank. I called Chase and asked why my payment had been charged to the old account, when I had taken every precuation and had been assured that the payment would come from the new account. The first rep I spoke to, told me that for all he knew, I might have set it up "15 minutes ago" and he wouldn't know any differently.  I assured him that I had NOT just set it up 15 minutes ago, and frankly I felt really angry that he would accuse me of lying for reason. He then said that their system doesn't show WHEN a request to change payment accounts is made. I told him that it's not acceptable; both Chase and I should be 100% clear on where an autopayment will be coming from. There's no reason not to know that information. He told me he'd "get" me to someone who could help.  I explained the issue to another rep, who told me vaguely that "the accounts aren't linked until you get clearance from us." I said that everything online indicated that the new account WAS linked. She said that it "may show up like that" but it isn't really until you receive a "special message" from us. I asked when this "special message" was supposed to arrive because I had set up the new draft account three weeks prior, and that in the digital age, one doesn't expect it to take weeks or months to re-point an electronic draft. I was also NOT advised to make a manual, one time payment when I had called before to make sure it was set up correctly. The rep said, and I quote: "I don't know. It just shows up."  I suggested that Chase take care of the $27 overdraft fee assessed,  while I wait for this mysterious message to "show up"  and she said: "We can't do that because the computer doesn't show it as our banking error" whatever that means. Mind you, I had been using and paying this card off regularly. I probably charged and paid off more than $10,000 in bills, groceries, travel etc etc, and not once had I missed  or been late with payment. In fact, my balance was zero. I decided the card was not worth it. There's no extra benefit to this card over any other; I don't have a credit worthiness problem and there are lots of better cards out there for everyday use. If they had refunded the overdraft fee, or at least been able to define and explain their own process (eg, HOW exactly is one supposed to know where an auto pay is coming from if you can't trust what it says on your account, or what you're told on the phone?)  I probably would have stuck with it if they'd been more respectful and fair. Instead, I closed the account. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 29, 2017
28.5 percent horrible rates
lacijogist Cardholder

I have had this card for 10 years...they will and have never lowered my rates...I have made many purchases and paid it off many times and yet again I am stuck at the horrible 28.5 % rate...absolutly crazy.. do yourself a favor and go some where else...I recieved 2 differnt cards from other companies and for the past 4 years with the others am in love....DONT GET A CHASE SLATE VISA CARD!!!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 08, 2017

Balance Transfer Regular APR
15.99% - 24.74%* Variable
Annual Fee $0

 
Nov 23, 2017
Finally a card that makes me look normal
Seandex Cardholder

I was 644 and was dealing with the credit cards for bad creditors like capital one platinum. Finally i got this card approved for $6200!! even though i have one charged off car loan history and also had high balances of credit card debt. This card made my total credit line amount jump so high so with that credit line jumped up i could have American Express gold approved right away!

more ...
Nov 23, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied with a credit score of 628 with fair odds of getting approved and was accepted in less than 30 seconds and was given a $3,200 credit limit with only 8 months of credit history. Love Chase and my new Chase credit card

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 28, 2017

Did you ever have a bankruptcy?... because I’m at 653 and just wondering if they’ll decline it because of that?

 
Oct 23, 2017
Have never given me a credit increase.
topmodel82 Cardholder

No promotion APRs after the initial one you get.

more ...
Oct 18, 2017
Basic but more then enough
LosMx Cardholder

Does not come with any real benifits other then the ones that Visa itself offers. Only plus is that this card gives you a monthly Credit Score but looks like you can get that almost anywhere these days. All in all its just another Visa CC with no AF

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 08, 2017

I agree. I only took this card since I was pre approved. I don't see myself ever using it. Its a sock drawer card. I have the Chase Sapphire Preferred, the Freedom Unlimited, Slate, Discover, USAA Amex, and a few others. The Slate is a great card to just have. With no rewards at all though, its tough to recommend this card to anyone, and I absolutely love Chase. Would recommend user look at the Freedom Unlimited or regular Freedom Card first. This isn't a bad card at all. It just doesn't really give you anything. I'm still a fan of Chase anyways though :)

 
Oct 12, 2017
Great card
MoneyWyze Cardholder

I had 725 score approved in minutes with 6800$ available balance. Easy balance transfer, took about 4 days to process. Excellent website for easy payments. Only draw back is payments usally took 3-4 days to reflect balance. As with all 0% intro Apr you need to pay them off before they switch to the large apr.   Summary .. I got a large available credit , good website, easy balance transfer.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 08, 2017

You could/should probably have applied for the Sapphire Preferred. I got approved for it with almost identical scores to yours. It gave me a 9k credit limit and 2x dining and travel rewards, even though I already had the Freedom Unlimited with a 5k limit then got the Slate with a 4K limit. You may want to consider that one. With a score in the 720s, youll be much happier with the CSP over the Slate. Just my humble opinion and suggestion.

 
Oct 11, 2017
DID NOT CARE ABOUT LONG TERM CUSTOMERS
deenie Cardholder

I had a Chase card for many years.  When I tried to resolve a problem I had, the staff was not willing to work with me and I felt they could care less about keeping me as a customer.  I had an excellent record with them and you would think they would care about keeping me.  Never will I go them again.  It was an AARP Chase card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 11, 2017

Then it wasn't the Slate card. This review doesn't belong here. Yes, I realize that CK does not feature the AARP card, but that's generally irrelevant. You also provided no details as to what your issue was.

 
Oct 05, 2017
Wonderful!!!
Huhnridndnbd Cardholder

This card is great to have, especially if you’re trying to build your credit

more ...
Oct 08, 2017

How could you get it for rebuild your credit....they wont approve you! Please explain your statement and your score at the moment you were approved. Thanks!

 
Oct 25, 2017

They will approve u I was rebuilding my credit and they approved me for 3800$ but other then the limit and balance transfers the card is usless

 
Oct 02, 2017
Average card
Anonymous Cardholder

One of my lower interest rate cards so I keep it.  Just never have to deal with Chase customer service.  If this card were not tied to my Chase bank account, I would close the account.

more ...
Sep 28, 2017
Wont increase my credit limit.
JoeKarma1982 Cardholder

$400.00 credit limit.  I have been a member for 11 and a half years, usually carrying about a $100 balance.  I went as far as spending $300 and paying it off once or twice a week for 6 months.  Credit limit increase denied.  I had 1 30 day late payment about 8 years ago when I switched from bank account to credit union and forgot to update my autopay info, other than that 11 years and 5 months never a late payment.

I would not recomend this credit card, but I am stuck with it as its my longest line of credit.  Now its auto pay 100% every month, recurring netflix $11.99/mo is the only thing that goes on it.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 6,830
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Slate®