Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Slate®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
142 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

Chase Slate® is a great option for consumers looking to transfer balances or take advantage of low introductory purchase rates.

What to Like

Chase Slate® offers a 0% intro APR on purchases and balance transfers for 15 months. With no balance transfer fee for the first 60 days after opening an account, consumers can save money when transferring a large balance. Chase Slate® also features no Penalty APR for missed payments.

Look Out For

After the first 60 days the balance transfer fee is 5% of the amount transferred or $5, whichever is greater, so you’ll want to get your transfers in early. There’s also a 3% fee on each foreign transaction.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 14, 2016
Glad I applied - GREAT SERVICE too!
JonathonINperu Cardholder

I applied for the card online and was approved.  I received a credit line of $2,900, but wated to get it a little higher.  Called the Customer Service Dept. and was helped by two great people.  After I was told IN DETAIL about the card and all of my options, I was given a few options and we worked on getting my credit line increased to $3,900.  Now mind you, I live outside the US but have dealt with Chase for a number of years.  The help was beyond what I could have expected to receive and both persons were polite and knowledgable of what needed to be done.  I have read some negative comments about their service on here, but I can tell you their service is fantastic.  I know they do not use their "real" names but hats off to Paul & Sally for your great service.

I am very glad I applied for this card.  It is going to help me pay down my small debt a lot quicker.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 15, 2016
COMPLETE LIARS
wfbgirl21 Cardholder

I find it amusing that I just recently left a postive review for this card and company about a month ago on here and now literally they have screwed me over.  So here I am to update my previous review.  I did two different balance transfers when I originally opened my card.  I knew at the beginning of 2016 that the balance transfers were goingt o need to be paid off sometime this year, so I called Chase Slate's customer service number and asked a VERY simple question..."When will I start getting charged interest on my account?"  Simple enough, right?  I was told not until July 2016.  OK, great...so I take what she tells me and believe it.  So when I check my account online yesterday to see if a payment posted yet, I noticed my balance had changed.  I check the activity and there's an interest charge on there.  So I call and ask why am I being charged interest when I was just told within the last couple of months by their employee that I would not be until July 2016.  She apologized and said I was given wrong information.  So what I gather from this is the employees there have access to all of our account information and yet cannot give out correct information when asked a simple question.  So I then e-mail customer service online and explained what was going on, I got some generic responses but no response for why I was told one thing and now they do something different.  I responded with a frustrated (understandably so) e-mail and got a response that my e-mail was being forwarded to a different team to handle.  So I just today get an e-mail response that I was not given wrong information at all and that the interest was for a "finish it" that was not paid off in time (and is not paid off with a most recent payment made last week).  I not so politely responded that my original question was "when will I be charged interest on my account" which is pretty straight forward to me.

So bottom line, this company ended up losing my trust.  When you call customer service for a company you do business with, you want straight forward accurate answers.  And when you're given wrong info, then told you were given wrong info, then told you were given right info when in fact you were not, customers tend to lose trust in you and cannot believe what you say anymore.  I thought it was odd that after reading all of the negative reviews on here that I had such a postive experience with them so far with no issues.  It turns out it just took them longer to get to me I guess.  Please look into options for balance transfers.  I will be transferring the rest of my balance to hopefully Discover (who gets really great reviews from what I've seen) within the next week or two and will no longer do business with Chase in the future.  I'm now $4,000 away from being out of credit card debt with a mid 700 credit score, so I'm almost there (after being in debt about $15,000 about a year and a half ago) and I do remember which companies along the way treated me good and which ones not so good.  Chase will never have my business again, there's too many other options out there.   Take mine and these other reviews seriously when making your decision.     

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 06, 2016
chase credit reporting
finlander2013 Cardholder

chase is just lagging in reporting to the credit agencies , they are two months behind every other card posting payments. and for me it is a real pain  in my keeping track of my payments . stay away from chase...they are just the worst for customer service and account related items ......i   use to have a bank account with these useless people .......when i am not being taken care of correctly ....i take my business elsewhere. i did that due to their personal nonsense .

more ...
Dec 04, 2016
It's a great card for everyday use.
Anonymous Cardholder

I had okay credit when I applied, I love this card! The no interested for the first 18 months have been amazing!

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
Approved! CK 661 for 3k
Yamilopr20 Cardholder

So, I have tried to get into chase for a bit. Two times before was decline. So after working on my credit for a while decided to apply for it. Looking forward to work with chase for a long time.

more ...
Nov 26, 2016
Good credit card
Anonymous Cardholder

No problems with this card, good features too like the 0% intro Apr

more ...
Nov 23, 2016
Very unprofessional. Poor communication.
Corax15 Cardholder

Approval was quick and the limit was decent, but upon requesting the transfer from another credit card, I was informed that the transfer would take 14-21 days to complete. After that, there was no communication and no record of the transaction on either card. Three weeks later, I called the Customer Service, and after being interrogated about all sorts of personal information "to verify my identity", including my phone number, SMS two-way verification code, address, email and zip code, I was told that the request was denied "due to security concerns"!

The Customer Service representative was unable to explain the reasons and kept insisting that "they attempted to contact me but were unable to reach me". I use a smartphone which I keep on my person 24/7 due to my job and has missed calls log, voicemail, email, SMS and all other communication capabilities but there was no trace of their supposed attempt. Still, they kept insisting that they did in fact try to contact me and were unable to explain why nobody left a voicemail nor sent an email.

Finally, the representative initiated another request and, upon completion, informed me that it will take ANOTHER  14-21 days because "they have to send a paper check!" No, she had no idea why they could not initiate electronic transfer, since both banks are US-based, could not extend the 15-month no-interest period to compensate for lost time and generally seeemed entirely unconcerned and disinterested

I was sorely tempted to simply cancel the card on the spot, but did not want to hurt my credit score and decided to pay off this transfer and then simply forget this card and never use it again.

The terms look great on paper but the communcation and service are simply attrocious.  I will not be doing business with them again.

more ...
Nov 16, 2016
Very reliable!
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied with my credit score down to around 610, income being $40K/year, high utilization (unfortunately, been having to use my cards for emergencies/medical expenses) and was still approved for $500! No problems so far whatsoever, very simple, gives you benefits. Very reliable for people down in the low 600s.

more ...
Nov 13, 2016
Good app and web page
Kellyhaz3 Cardholder

I have had very good results calling and talking to customer service about any issues and fees. They have always helped and gone above my expectations. I plan on keeping this account.

more ...
Nov 12, 2016
excellent choice
rebuiltmine Cardholder

look so many people give bad advice. here's the truth and my point of view. I applied with an honest 634 score and karma score of 650 (credit karma tends to always be higher) Got approved for 5k limit. Chase has fast and flawless app. payment posts same day and there is absolutely nothing to dislike about a card with no annual fee. This is my second chase card. The Amazon chase card was first which I got 6 months earlier. I have low score. one collection account with judgement and nothing else past due.

more ...
Nov 11, 2016
Low Limit
Squall888 Cardholder

I applied for this with the intentions of transferring 8000 of my 30000 limit and was insulted when I was only offered 1800. Now I'm stuck with the hard unquiry to save a fraction of what I would have with another bank.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 6,830
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Slate®