Chase Slate® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.0 out of 5 stars
137 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.74% - 24.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.74% - 24.49%* Variable

Our Take

Chase Slate® is a great option for consumers looking to transfer balances or take advantage of low introductory purchase rates.

What to Like

Chase Slate® offers a 0% intro APR on purchases and balance transfers for 15 months. With no balance transfer fee for the first 60 days after opening an account, consumers can save money when transferring a large balance. Chase Slate® also features no Penalty APR for missed payments.

Look Out For

After the first 60 days the balance transfer fee is 5% of the amount transferred or $5, whichever is greater, so you’ll want to get your transfers in early. There’s also a 3% fee on each foreign transaction.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 02, 2015
Approved with Poor Approval Odds
AU28 Cardholder

I applied, after receiving a pre-qualification letter in the mail a few months ago, for the Chase Slate card because I wanted to take advantage of the 0% interest rate for 15 months. I wanted to transfer about $2,000 from another credit card (Capital One Quicksilver Visa Signature $5K CL) wihch also has a 0% interest but will expire on September 2015.

I was very hesitant to apply since two days ago I had applied for the Capital One Venture One Visa, which I was approved for $3,000 CL. After considering the pros (0% for 15 months, no fee transfer rate for first 60 days) vs. the cons (no other rewards beyond the initial 0% rate) of this card - I decided to apply.

I applied online via GetChaseSlate.com (from the letter), provided personal and work information, as well as the transfer information from Capital One.

I received the following: "additional review required - please wait for respond by mail within 30 days".

Within two hours, I called the application status line (800-436-7927) to check the status of the applicaton - my initial thought was to contact the reconsideration line, as i had read in mulitple blogs, but there was no need for that, as the application status said that I had been approved with $3,200 credit limit, and 22% (though I am not too concern with that, as i plan to pay off the within the next 6 months).

Per CreditKarma, at the time when I applied, my TU was 619, and EQ 622.

Hope this review helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 11, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card to give myself more time to pay off an unexpected cat surgery. I transfered a balance of $1800 from a higher interest card, and the 0% transfer for a limited time was more than fair. The credit limit was $3500 with score of 767. No complaints there as I wasn't looking for more borrowing power. Where this company falls down is in customer service and ease of use. It's a slightly convoluted and counterintuitive process to simply make a payment. I found the branded "products" like "Finish It" etc, a bit unnecessary and complicated. 

I recently closed this card and here's why. Three weeks ago I switched bank accounts. I spent a whole day calling and updating cards, bills, autopays, etc with the new account information. On the Chase website, my auto pay account clearly showed that paymernts were now directed to my new account; my old bank account was no longer listed. Yet, just this week, the automatic payment drew from the OLD, soon to be shut down account, which didn't have enough funds in it. Thanks to the miracle of overdraft privileges, the payment went through, which paid off the balance, but I was charged $27 in overdraft service fees by my bank. I called Chase and asked why my payment had been charged to the old account, when I had taken every precuation and had been assured that the payment would come from the new account. The first rep I spoke to, told me that for all he knew, I might have set it up "15 minutes ago" and he wouldn't know any differently.  I assured him that I had NOT just set it up 15 minutes ago, and frankly I felt really angry that he would accuse me of lying for reason. He then said that their system doesn't show WHEN a request to change payment accounts is made. I told him that it's not acceptable; both Chase and I should be 100% clear on where an autopayment will be coming from. There's no reason not to know that information. He told me he'd "get" me to someone who could help.  I explained the issue to another rep, who told me vaguely that "the accounts aren't linked until you get clearance from us." I said that everything online indicated that the new account WAS linked. She said that it "may show up like that" but it isn't really until you receive a "special message" from us. I asked when this "special message" was supposed to arrive because I had set up the new draft account three weeks prior, and that in the digital age, one doesn't expect it to take weeks or months to re-point an electronic draft. I was also NOT advised to make a manual, one time payment when I had called before to make sure it was set up correctly. The rep said, and I quote: "I don't know. It just shows up."  I suggested that Chase take care of the $27 overdraft fee assessed,  while I wait for this mysterious message to "show up"  and she said: "We can't do that because the computer doesn't show it as our banking error" whatever that means. Mind you, I had been using and paying this card off regularly. I probably charged and paid off more than $10,000 in bills, groceries, travel etc etc, and not once had I missed  or been late with payment. In fact, my balance was zero. I decided the card was not worth it. There's no extra benefit to this card over any other; I don't have a credit worthiness problem and there are lots of better cards out there for everyday use. If they had refunded the overdraft fee, or at least been able to define and explain their own process (eg, HOW exactly is one supposed to know where an auto pay is coming from if you can't trust what it says on your account, or what you're told on the phone?)  I probably would have stuck with it if they'd been more respectful and fair. Instead, I closed the account. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 23, 2017
EXCELLENT CARD!
swsbrz Cardholder

I don't understand why there are a lot of bad reviews. Looks like most are approved but they want an impossible credit limit with no patience to earn it. Thats not Chase's fault, I have

only had great experiences with them. Slate and Saphire cards are wonderful. Ignor the impatient people.

more ...
Jun 16, 2017
Beware before applying
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied and received this card to transfer a balance from Capital One. My balance was around 3000. Chase only approved me for 600, which makes no sense, I have another chase card with a 6000 limit.  So they wouldnt approve my higher limit requests to transfer a balance. I cancelled the card. 

more ...
Jun 16, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Terrible customer service. I transfered my high interest balance to another card but there was still $1.67 balance on the card and they refused to waive that amount. They didn't even try. Other card companied have odne this in the past. I will never use this card again!!! High interest rates and bad customer service

more ...
Jun 13, 2017
Too good to be true, so don't bother
SCHNOODLE3 Cardholder

Of they can offer you 15 months interest free and no fee balance transfer, because even with a 849 FICO like me you will end up with a $1500 limit, which is huge by Chase standards. That's not only insulting but useless so don't bother. Chase sucks.

more ...
Jun 13, 2017

Your credit score is only one factor that helps creditors determine your credit worthiness. Your income, current balance % , average age of credit, & number of existing accounts are all likely to be the cause of such a low starting credit line.

 
Jun 13, 2017

Empire is right. My score is well below yours, and my 2 Chase cards total $12,000 (limit). Credit score alone is just the tip of the iceberg when considering limits. There are also a great many scoring models used to determine worthiness, and while Chase may pull from only 1 bureau (be it Experian or what have you), they actually have a scoring model of their own, which they then use to figure out the limit they feel you're entitled to. It's not meant to be an insult.

 
Jun 11, 2017
Lowsy credit card
Donna542 Cardholder

They still charge you interest when you pay it off by the due date. Plus their call centers are located out of the US, have to request  to speak with people in US.  Customer service is awful. There are much better credit cards to use. I will not be using it any longer.  There is no benefit to using this  card as they do not give  give any type of rewards better to stick w/ Walmart MC; Discover or Capitol One.  

more ...
Jun 10, 2017
Good for Balance Transfers
chriscruz2 Cardholder

I was approved instantly for $9,800 with a mediocre TU score of 715. They seem to determine your limit on how much you transfer on your application. I put $9500 worth of transfers on my application... Transfers take a couple weeks so be patient.

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
Great Balance transfer card
mdpittman015 Cardholder

Stop whining and take responsibility for one selfs financial well being! This card is GREAT for a balance transfer that you can afford - key words "that you can afford." Don't blame the cc company for your problems and bad judgement. Your debt is that, YOURS! Take ownership and accountability into your thought process and you will be financially famous!

more ...
Jun 05, 2017
I'm very pleased with my Chase Credit Card
Anonymous Cardholder

What a wonderful credit building opportunity, Credit KARMA said I had a good chance on being approved with a 675 trans union score, I applied & was instantly approved for a
$2 ,000 credit line which is awesome...here's to new beginnings!

more ...
Jun 04, 2017
Approved $4000 Limit Experian 722/CK 670
sas2109 Cardholder

I applied for this card because it displayed that I had Fair Odds of Approval 670 CK score.  That was a first for me for a Chase product.  I have over 95K in available credit across all my Credit Card accts.  I had to call for Chase to verify my identity once i did that i was approved for a $4000 Limit and they sent me a letter and it showed they pulled Experian.  My current credit ultization is around 11% currently.  Im looking to transfer more balances to the card to help with 0% offer.  I'm excited to use this card as it has many perks for balance transfers.  I hope this review helps.  I really encourage individuals to pay down as much your credit card balances and keep your credit card utilzation as low as possible this helps with a potential higher limit because it shows that you can handle HIGH Limits.  

more ...
Jun 11, 2017

5% balance transfer fee how can u said they are good? Chase sucks !!

 
Jun 16, 2017

$0 balance transfer fee for any balance transferred in the first 60 days.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 6,830
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

Chase Slate®