Total Visa® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.5 out of 5 stars
44 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 06, 2016
Card is for people with bad credit.
XinteriX Cardholder

I don't quite understand why people are complaining about the initial fees being so high. This card is for people with bad credit, not people with average or good credit. What do you expect them to just take the risk? Part of the reason for the high fees is because of the high risk. If you are truely interested in repairing your credit report then this card is perfect. Yes it's expensive, and yes it's going to put out  by about 164.00 to get it. But for people with credit scores below 540, I would like for you to show me a single other bank that is willing to take the risk of giving you a credit card. Once the initial fees are paid this Card is just like any other card.

If you pay the statement balance each month you will never have pay any interest. If you set up autopay and pay statement balance there's absalutely no other costs.

If you don't pay the statement balance and chose to pay your minimum monthly payment of 37.00, your interest is not much different then other cards.

They report to the credit agencys which is what I got the card for. Basically I pay about 300 a month for 300 of credit. The 300 is money I would have used anyways, only difference is, it's in the form of credit and to whole point of it, it goes on my credit report which has helped my credit considerably.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 18, 2016
This card is a stepping stone
Tonyknows Cardholder

This card is a stepping stone out of the swamp of living in the world of bad credit. Cards like this, Milestone, Fingerhut can take you to the next step. Keep your utilization low and pay off your balances quickly. I had no problem making my payments online and received credit for my payments quickly. Sure the fee is steep for a short credit line, but personally I'd rather pay a $89 fee than tie up $300 in a secured credit card. After a short time I found myself with a Credit One Visa card. Still not a big time player, but quickly rewarded responsible use wit unsolicited credit line increases. Shortly after, 6 months or so, Capital One gave me the first of what is now 3 credit cards. These cards all came with credit lines of several thousand dollars.

This whole process took place ove approximately 18 months. These low limit, high fee cards are the painful 1st steps to building /getting your credit built. Not the end game. Just think of this as a temporary stop on your credit journey.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 24, 2017
They put the *** in Customer Assistance
Boomtastic Cardholder

Prepare to pay monthly fees, high interest rates and to be ignored if you try to contact them any way *other* than directly by phone (which is difficult at times). What you DO get though is a very low limit credit card that works in some places but not others (you can't use it at a gas pump, but you can use it inside to pay for gas .. WTF?) and it does report to all of the major credit bureaus. OH! Good luck trying to get a credit limit increase too. My best recommendation is to get this, keep it for a year and then get rid of it!!

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
It is what it is, read the fine print
romboy Cardholder

So, I have this card currently as my credit was awful, 490 awful. I paid off my debts and student loans little by little and this was the first card that was offered to me. Yes, you must pay $89 to get the card, yes it has a $78 annual fee ($48 after the first year) and a $7 monthly fee, just to own the card which severely limits your $300 inital credit line. It really is awful, but it's a credit card that reports monthly and as long as you pay it on time (it's ok to keep a balance you just pay interest, but make sure to make a payment each and every month, even if it's the minimum) then your credit score will increase. I'm still working on improving my credit, but thanks to using this card, I was able to get approved for a Capital One (not Credit One) Quicksilver card and now I get cash back for using it!

more ...
May 08, 2017
Great for now
HemiRyda Cardholder

I was approved with a 500 score. There is a processing fee you must pay before recieving card. So far I have had no issues. If you have a low score and want to rebuild your credit this card may be for you. 

more ...
May 05, 2017
Always there
Anonymous Cardholder

Just that you get what you pay for. And It will build up your credit score if you use it the way your suppose to.

more ...
May 02, 2017
I wish I could give zero stars
rupeirced3 Cardholder

This card has been incorrectly reporting a late payment on my credit for months. Their customer service department is horrible and they won't even send me to a manager to get this resolved. Stay away, its not worth it. 

more ...
Apr 27, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Worst company to deal with.  They charge $75 a month late fee and refuse to change the due date to work with when you get paid.

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
SCAM
Anonymous Cardholder

Scam, money grab, incorrect entries on credit report almost impossible to remove. So many fees. 

more ...
Apr 24, 2017
ripoff
Anonymous Cardholder

misrepreset card as credit card really just prepaid debit card

more ...
Apr 14, 2017
Works for what you need it to
ngoodman33 Cardholder

Just got this card but I have one similar with another company. These types of cards are good for giving you a chance and rebuilding credit. It's definitely open the door for us. My husband and I have gone from no credit cards to seven, including a Walmart card, in just 6 months. Our scores have gone from low 500's to high 600's. We want to buy a house next year and should be able to do just that and it's all because of the credit cards. This card is just fine as long as you keep your utilization under 30% and pay it on time. 

more ...
Apr 14, 2017
Good for rebuilding credit
ngoodman33 Cardholder

Now I just got this card today and activated it. I made a small purchase on it this afternoon for $35 and had no problem. I know the interest rate is high and I paid the $89 fee and was charhed the $75 annual fee also. I also ordered a card for my husband and was charged $29 for that. We have another similar card with another company so we aren't new to this. We also have 3 Capital One cards. We are just trying to reduild our credit so this card indeed serves that purpose. The reality is as long as you pay your bill, which we do well ahead of time, and keep utilization down under 30% then this does what you need it to. In a mere 7 months my husband and I have obtained 7 credit cards including a Walmart card and our scores have gone up well over the 600's nearing 700. All payment history is excellent and we are well on our way to being able to buy a house as we planned next year. You just have to know what your dealing with when you get this card and use it responsibly. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

Total Visa® Credit Card