Total Visa® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.7 out of 5 stars
34 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 05, 2017
Excellent card to rebuild credit !
Anonymous Cardholder

I read all the reviews on the different secured cards . I came across the total card that didn't ask for a deposit ! Granted the percentage rate is pretty high at 30% ,but it's been an excellent credit rebuilder so far . I've had this card for two months and my credit scores have gone up by 100 points , no lie . I still have a lot of work to do and wait for some of my paid off collection accounts to fall off my reports, and I will be well on my to rebuilding my ruined credit !  , 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 07, 2017
TOTAL CARD VISA WASTEOFTIME
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for a year I used it to reestablish my credit. When I applied for the card my credit score was at about 560 and awarded a $400 credit limit, which was a enormous blessing. I've had the card for about a year and have always made my payments on time and more than what was due monthly; I am a 31 year old female, salary $55,000 a year and my credi score is 607 (clearly working on it still) its's taking time; After a year of having the total visa card I received a email stating congratulations you qualify for a credit increase, coincidentally I recently applied for one already; I contacted customer service to check the status of the credit increase was advised from the representative "congratulations" we have increased your limit by $50.00. $50.00!! that is horrific. Please don't waste your time. On a positive note if you are working on your credit a good card is Merrick Bank my credit score at the time was 580 and I was awarded $500 after 6 months I was provided a credit increase of $600.00, try this one, downfall of Merrick bank high interest rates but its good to build your credit, also try Capital One initial credit limit $500 when I was at a 560 score lower interest rates. Clearly I have quite a bit of credit cards and I am trying to get rid of them, the goal is to have one card with a NICE limit. Currently, although I'm at a 607 for a credit score I just paid all my credit cards about 2 weeks ago, my credit card bills are paid down to $0 which were originally a balance of $3,000, credit karma states I should be at 663 (fair credit) once my credit updates so lets see!! I hope so!! Whomever reads this..I wish you all well on building your credit:)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 02, 2017
****ty
neveragain10 Cardholder

Never got bills for card. low limit easily hit with fees. then you forget you have it because they dont send bills or emails. when you try to get on website to access your account you cant get in. you call to pay it off and you are told you cant. lousy customer service. 

more ...
Oct 31, 2017
Good
Anonymous Cardholder

Not  bad card if you have limited or bad credit

more ...
Oct 05, 2017
Great Start For New Card Holders
lhayes9 Cardholder

I have this card been with them since 2016 good **** company. Just pay on time and keep a low (BAL) every month a see the score go up.

more ...
Sep 27, 2017
A Huuuuuge Mistake to acquire this card.
MARKETEX Cardholder

What is described here is definitely against the law and the cop WE should call, while we still have the agency, is the CFPB, and its not too late to get your bucks back with INTEREST!  

Let's do a class action on these culprits as their word is absolutely no good.  I wanted to pay them early to avoid interest, penalties and over-the-limit CRA reports,  after discovering that I was $6 over, and was not either allowed to pay them until "after the 25th," as instructed on the 18th, nor allowed to beat their report to TU on the 26th, nor when I made my payment, on the 26th, was I allowed the resulting available credit and they made it impossible for me to see the totality of charges being made to the card, as I have their other card, which is NOT over the limit, because I CAN see the charges accumulating online and I can therefore monitor the other card's use without their telephone-based delayed reporting of charges.   Their varying advice from randomly trained CSR's will mislead you into incurring charges, which, itself, is also illegal.  They turn down money, the payment of which, if allowed, would prevent such charges, which is both illogical and illegal.

Companies which penalize those cardholders who don't want to carry a balance should be taught a severe economic lesson.  When anyone offers to pay you, ...TAKE THE MONEY, DUMMY!

more ...
Sep 27, 2017
Its OK to build credit !!
Anonymous Cardholder

Credit Karma is not actual credit score. They are usually 30-50 points off ur actual credit score. On a different note...when can u ask for a credit increase?

more ...
Sep 22, 2017
Not bad, but not the best!
TBLAIR00 Cardholder

I've had this card for a while now and while it's not the worst, in my opinion, it's not the best either.  I don't remember having to pay a fee when I signed up.  I believe they took it out of my credit limit.  There is a monthly service fee.  They report to all 3 credit bureaus and that I know of, the information has been correct.  I recently requested a credit limit increase and they only gave me $50 increase.  Other than that, I can't really say anything bad about this card or company so far.

more ...
Sep 15, 2017
Avoid this card. PLEASE
aladytaling64 Cardholder

So I paid the $89.00 with my debit card. Now there's a hold on the account for 7 days and they won't activate it. Avoid my mistake and get a Credit One or Capital One card. This company is illegitimate and a fraud. PLEASE I implore you, they will do more to DAMAGE YOUR CREDIT then repair it. And the CSR PHONE NUMBER is incorrect. I had to do some research to get the appropriate contact info. The last for digits are 1157 for the phone number. Any other number and you'll be waiting for weeks for someone to answer. The first CSR assured me my card would be activated today. Called back TWICE and NOPE, now there's a hold. They are a fraud. Did some double checking and now I noticed they drafted 300.00 EXTRA DOLLARS OUT. They will RIP you off.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 22, 2017

Wow, I've had a card with them for almost 2 years now and have never experienced anything like this. I'm sorry you are going through this, it's very shocking to me. I've had no problems at all.

 
Aug 20, 2017
Poor choice
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card to help with building credit. All good, next thing they want processing fee of $89, okay they give you option of one, two or three month payments...spreading them out to be approx $26 a month for three month choice. Now I get the card and can't use the **** thing because I didn't pay upfront, but made arrangements to have bank drafts for the next two month...sucks!

more ...
Jun 24, 2017
They put the *** in Customer Assistance
Boomtastic Cardholder

Prepare to pay monthly fees, high interest rates and to be ignored if you try to contact them any way *other* than directly by phone (which is difficult at times). What you DO get though is a very low limit credit card that works in some places but not others (you can't use it at a gas pump, but you can use it inside to pay for gas .. WTF?) and it does report to all of the major credit bureaus. OH! Good luck trying to get a credit limit increase too. My best recommendation is to get this, keep it for a year and then get rid of it!!

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
It is what it is, read the fine print
romboy Cardholder

So, I have this card currently as my credit was awful, 490 awful. I paid off my debts and student loans little by little and this was the first card that was offered to me. Yes, you must pay $89 to get the card, yes it has a $78 annual fee ($48 after the first year) and a $7 monthly fee, just to own the card which severely limits your $300 inital credit line. It really is awful, but it's a credit card that reports monthly and as long as you pay it on time (it's ok to keep a balance you just pay interest, but make sure to make a payment each and every month, even if it's the minimum) then your credit score will increase. I'm still working on improving my credit, but thanks to using this card, I was able to get approved for a Capital One (not Credit One) Quicksilver card and now I get cash back for using it!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Total Visa® Credit Card