Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Total Visa® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
37 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 06, 2016
Card is for people with bad credit.
XinteriX Cardholder

I don't quite understand why people are complaining about the initial fees being so high. This card is for people with bad credit, not people with average or good credit. What do you expect them to just take the risk? Part of the reason for the high fees is because of the high risk. If you are truely interested in repairing your credit report then this card is perfect. Yes it's expensive, and yes it's going to put out  by about 164.00 to get it. But for people with credit scores below 540, I would like for you to show me a single other bank that is willing to take the risk of giving you a credit card. Once the initial fees are paid this Card is just like any other card.

If you pay the statement balance each month you will never have pay any interest. If you set up autopay and pay statement balance there's absalutely no other costs.

If you don't pay the statement balance and chose to pay your minimum monthly payment of 37.00, your interest is not much different then other cards.

They report to the credit agencys which is what I got the card for. Basically I pay about 300 a month for 300 of credit. The 300 is money I would have used anyways, only difference is, it's in the form of credit and to whole point of it, it goes on my credit report which has helped my credit considerably.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 18, 2016
This card is a stepping stone
Tonyknows Cardholder

This card is a stepping stone out of the swamp of living in the world of bad credit. Cards like this, Milestone, Fingerhut can take you to the next step. Keep your utilization low and pay off your balances quickly. I had no problem making my payments online and received credit for my payments quickly. Sure the fee is steep for a short credit line, but personally I'd rather pay a $89 fee than tie up $300 in a secured credit card. After a short time I found myself with a Credit One Visa card. Still not a big time player, but quickly rewarded responsible use wit unsolicited credit line increases. Shortly after, 6 months or so, Capital One gave me the first of what is now 3 credit cards. These cards all came with credit lines of several thousand dollars.

This whole process took place ove approximately 18 months. These low limit, high fee cards are the painful 1st steps to building /getting your credit built. Not the end game. Just think of this as a temporary stop on your credit journey.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 03, 2017
Just got it
veen41 Cardholder

I just received this card last month my credit score was 566 and 573 ok so I paid the 89 processing fee I used the whole 225 but this month on the first on the due date I paid 300 in full but when I checked my credit score it had dropped 31 points on each I was mad as hell I have 0 balance I also go approved for a first access just paid the 89 on the first but why would my score go down don't understand I paid the whole balance can somebody tell me 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 11, 2017

You said you used the whole balance then paid off the whole balance correct? If you use like half or less and pay it off your score should go up. If you use all of the credit available it will hurt you even if you pay it off. Silly I know. Using less and having more available makes a person look like they have good money management and that they have but don't rely on the credit to live.

 
Jan 23, 2017
Great
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card 6 months, with no problems. It is actually the best credit card i own out of 3. Easy to use, and if you pay on time it increases your credit score. I love it.

more ...
Jan 23, 2017
Great card to rebuild credit.
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card on July of 2016. Got it in August of 2016. With a 300 credit limit. Had to pay 89 dollars to get activated and as soon as I activated it they charged a 75 dollar annual fee. Have charged the card when I needed to but always paid it off on my due date and left a 15 dollar balance on it. My score was 475 today Jan 23rd 2017 my score is 602. I would definitely recommend this card to someone that is looking to rebuild their credit but as soon as you can get a card with lower interest rates and no annual fee do it. Thats what I plan to do. Good card to rebuild credit. Not to have for a long time.

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
Excellent card to rebuild credit !
Anonymous Cardholder

I read all the reviews on the different secured cards . I came across the total card that didn't ask for a deposit ! Granted the percentage rate is pretty high at 30% ,but it's been an excellent credit rebuilder so far . I've had this card for two months and my credit scores have gone up by 100 points , no lie . I still have a lot of work to do and wait for some of my paid off collection accounts to fall off my reports, and I will be well on my to rebuilding my ruined credit !  , 

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Refuse credit increases
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card almost ten years and they gave me a initial credit limit of $250. Over the last almost ten years I have asked several times for a credit increase and they have refused it, even with a credit score of  well over 700.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 05, 2017

its no point in even keeping the account active. I have cards where the annual fee is more than $250.00. If i were you, i'd chuck the card and learn from this. Loyalty is always going to be rewarded as you now have witnessed. your score will take a few points hit but it will recover especially since you are now in the 700's. Tell them bye bye, trust me i speak from experience, i've had this card once upon a time.

 
Nov 25, 2016
FRAUD
Cmarcosn Cardholder

I have read the fine print. My payment was made DEBIT, not ACH. I have made two attempts to satisfy the debt and they were removed from their website for no reason. I have funds to pay the bill. This time I have screen shots and video recording as proof and intent of payment to support my argument. This is absolutely ridiculous and unacceptable. Do not apply for this company. They don't respond to your e-mail or phone calls. They should be shutdown for FRAUD.

more ...
Nov 25, 2016
Very close to filing a Lawsuit.
Cmarcosn Cardholder

Have posted a third payment to be posted. Two previous payments were canceled and not posted. I will not accept this. I have funds to pay my bills and this time a screen shot of my bank account funds and proof of intent of payment. Cancel one more time and charge me a late fee. I will file a lawsuit.

more ...
Nov 23, 2016
They gave me a chance
MiaJohnson629 Cardholder

I have 2 credit cards with mid trust. I have the first access and the total visa. They approved me for both. I honestly have no complaints. Every complaint I've read can be disgaurded just by reading the terms and conditions. They are very honest. If you make a payment with a debit/credit card the funds are available almost immediately. And it states in the T&Cs if the payment is made by ACH there is UP to a 14 day hold. I have paid once by checking and It was only a 9 day wait. Anyways i started with a credit score of 525 and now 6 months later I am now at 647. So I can't thank them enough. If I keep doing what I'm doing my credit score should increase to exactly where I want it with in a year! So even though the processing fee is high, and the APR. (I just make sure I pay the full balance so I don't ever have to pay the APR) this card is a great stepping stone to better ones! 

more ...
Nov 23, 2016
Excellent card !
Hammys50love Cardholder

So I applied for this card and got it at the beginning of November -2016. So far I have had no problems with this card just paid on line and talked to customer service rep , 2 different ones with questions , they were helpful and very pleasant . The Apr is very high but that's what happens when you've ruined your credit and you're trying to rebuild . 

As far as ppl are complaining about the fees ,one needs to read the fine print first . I took a chance in this card because cap one had pre approved me 3 times for their secured card but I never acted on it . For done reason they have turned me down . Yes . One can actually be turned down for a secured card . I'm glad total is giving me a chance to rebuild . Before I received the card my fico fell to 515 on two reports ? But since I've had this card my fico had jumped to 551 on the 2 reports  in less then 30 days . So so good . 

less

more ...
Nov 18, 2016
A total waste of time
Anonymous Cardholder

It's a complete rip off and they need to shut down any advertising and quit taking people's hard earned money. They target people that are already hurting and then put the screws to them. VERY DISHONEST COMPANY

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Total Visa® Credit Card