Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Total Visa® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
29 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.


Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee See Terms*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR See Terms*

Our Take

The Total VISA® Credit Card is a solid choice for consumers who may have poor or limited credit.

What to Like

As this card regularly reports to all three major credit bureaus, responsible credit use and on-time payments are recommended. This Total Visa® Credit Card is accepted online and by merchants nationwide, and consumers with limited credit histories may qualify.

Look Out For

Like many cards that are geared towards those with poor or limited credit, the Total VISA® Credit Card has fees to keep track of and relatively high interest rates. Paying off your balance in full each month can help you avoid any unnecessary interest charges, but you’ll still need to consider the one-time processing fee, annual fee, and monthly servicing fee starting in your second year.


Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 06, 2016
Card is for people with bad credit.
XinteriX Cardholder

I don't quite understand why people are complaining about the initial fees being so high. This card is for people with bad credit, not people with average or good credit. What do you expect them to just take the risk? Part of the reason for the high fees is because of the high risk. If you are truely interested in repairing your credit report then this card is perfect. Yes it's expensive, and yes it's going to put out  by about 164.00 to get it. But for people with credit scores below 540, I would like for you to show me a single other bank that is willing to take the risk of giving you a credit card. Once the initial fees are paid this Card is just like any other card.

If you pay the statement balance each month you will never have pay any interest. If you set up autopay and pay statement balance there's absalutely no other costs.

If you don't pay the statement balance and chose to pay your minimum monthly payment of 37.00, your interest is not much different then other cards.

They report to the credit agencys which is what I got the card for. Basically I pay about 300 a month for 300 of credit. The 300 is money I would have used anyways, only difference is, it's in the form of credit and to whole point of it, it goes on my credit report which has helped my credit considerably.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 18, 2016
This card is a stepping stone
Tonyknows Cardholder

This card is a stepping stone out of the swamp of living in the world of bad credit. Cards like this, Milestone, Fingerhut can take you to the next step. Keep your utilization low and pay off your balances quickly. I had no problem making my payments online and received credit for my payments quickly. Sure the fee is steep for a short credit line, but personally I'd rather pay a $89 fee than tie up $300 in a secured credit card. After a short time I found myself with a Credit One Visa card. Still not a big time player, but quickly rewarded responsible use wit unsolicited credit line increases. Shortly after, 6 months or so, Capital One gave me the first of what is now 3 credit cards. These cards all came with credit lines of several thousand dollars.

This whole process took place ove approximately 18 months. These low limit, high fee cards are the painful 1st steps to building /getting your credit built. Not the end game. Just think of this as a temporary stop on your credit journey.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 14, 2016
Piece of garbage - don't waste your time
JamesHoller Cardholder

They scam you by holding your payments for 14 business days. I pay off my cards now every month but this one holds on to the funds for half the month. Use this card at your own peril!

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
Great for rebuilding credit
Cristaterk Cardholder

I had opned a secured card through Open Sky and after 1 month, I was approved for this unsecured card. The application was easy. Online payment and account info is easy. The payments are applied the next day. After 6 months of on-time payments I received a $50 increase. I recommend this card. I wish they would inform us of when they report the balance to the credit bureaus. I pay about a week early every month, but the reports always show my highest balance of the month and not the balance on my bill.

more ...
Oct 01, 2016
ndc2604 Cardholder

Terrible they were incompetent in speaking English...took wrong info down failed to post my paymt. Instead of notifying me they ADDED HUGE FEES. AND REPORTED ME LATE. Their website sucks. By phone no human...only when applying.
They I did research call private, unknown and didn't give me the limit as stated. But they did take the fees out IRONICALLY able to pay themselves out of the same acct THEY COULDNT apply my pymt correctly. Don't apply don't just save your effort and money.

more ...
Oct 01, 2016
ndc2604 Cardholder

Is not a good card...charges you the fee, did not give the amount as stated on limit. Due to the incompetence of poor English speaking customer rep..they did not get the correct acct info down to auto pay my billing. Therefore never notified me.BUT DID REPORT MY CREDIT BUREAU. Not a good deal for me I have a 100% on time pay until this petty card. Pass it by!

more ...
Sep 19, 2016
Excellent for bad credit and rebuilding.
Doisb Cardholder

If you're looking to rebuild credit get this card. Its for people with bad credit. Here is your chance to prove your creditworthiness without having to pay a security deposit. There is a processing fee of 89 but then your credit is $300! Use it wisely and pay every month. It reports to all 3 credits. Not sure why so many people are complaining. If you can get a better card go for it. For the ones that have been denied this is your chance to climb that creditworthy ladder and prove yourself. All fees are outlined and you should read everything. So there are no surprises. Between this and first premier credit, I choose this card because I haven't seen any bogus fees and other bull****tery unlike first premier. Good luck guys!

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
total visa is a rip off and very fraudul
Anonymous Cardholder

I havent used this card and they call every day to collect their fees I am canceling this

more ...
Sep 11, 2016
mts832002 Cardholder

Used the card after the ridiculous set up fees and paid the card off. 0 balace for 5 months, go to use the card 0 available spending....what in the actual f+%#

more ...
Sep 17, 2016

Thanks for your info.

Oct 26, 2016

They just did the same to me. Perfect on time payments and went to check and it said 0 credit and my remaining balance was due. This will definitely hurt all the hard work I have done rebuilding my credit.

Aug 31, 2016
Customer Service is terrrible
Anonymous Cardholder

I called within 5 minutes of applying and changed my address (Aug 16) because I was moving. CS told me card would be issued within 2 days and I would have it within 7-10. It is now 16 days later and I called CS. They said the address change put the card on hold for 10 days and now it would be another 10-14 before I receive it. They said the address change was made on the 22nd, 6 days after I did it. CS implied that I was lying about the 16th and they refused to rush the card or help in any way. She just said "what do you want me to do"? I told her I wanted it sent immediately. She just said sorry. I cancelled immediately. Called back and the card hadn't been cancelled. I have to file a dispute with my bank for the $89.00. NOT WORTH IT! Go somewhere else!

more ...
Aug 26, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

It's only worth it if you are in a serious need of an extra $100 right away. If your trying to rebuild your credit apply for a secured card. Cause with this card you pay more in feesome then you get in credit

more ...
Aug 19, 2016
Bull**** with bad customers service and
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't every apply for this card

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Total Visa® Credit Card