Total Visa® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.5 out of 5 stars
40 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 23, 2017
Great card to rebuild credit.
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card on July of 2016. Got it in August of 2016. With a 300 credit limit. Had to pay 89 dollars to get activated and as soon as I activated it they charged a 75 dollar annual fee. Have charged the card when I needed to but always paid it off on my due date and left a 15 dollar balance on it. My score was 475 today Jan 23rd 2017 my score is 602. I would definitely recommend this card to someone that is looking to rebuild their credit but as soon as you can get a card with lower interest rates and no annual fee do it. Thats what I plan to do. Good card to rebuild credit. Not to have for a long time.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 07, 2017
TOTAL CARD VISA WASTEOFTIME
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for a year I used it to reestablish my credit. When I applied for the card my credit score was at about 560 and awarded a $400 credit limit, which was a enormous blessing. I've had the card for about a year and have always made my payments on time and more than what was due monthly; I am a 31 year old female, salary $55,000 a year and my credi score is 607 (clearly working on it still) its's taking time; After a year of having the total visa card I received a email stating congratulations you qualify for a credit increase, coincidentally I recently applied for one already; I contacted customer service to check the status of the credit increase was advised from the representative "congratulations" we have increased your limit by $50.00. $50.00!! that is horrific. Please don't waste your time. On a positive note if you are working on your credit a good card is Merrick Bank my credit score at the time was 580 and I was awarded $500 after 6 months I was provided a credit increase of $600.00, try this one, downfall of Merrick bank high interest rates but its good to build your credit, also try Capital One initial credit limit $500 when I was at a 560 score lower interest rates. Clearly I have quite a bit of credit cards and I am trying to get rid of them, the goal is to have one card with a NICE limit. Currently, although I'm at a 607 for a credit score I just paid all my credit cards about 2 weeks ago, my credit card bills are paid down to $0 which were originally a balance of $3,000, credit karma states I should be at 663 (fair credit) once my credit updates so lets see!! I hope so!! Whomever reads this..I wish you all well on building your credit:)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 24, 2017
They put the *** in Customer Assistance
Boomtastic Cardholder

Prepare to pay monthly fees, high interest rates and to be ignored if you try to contact them any way *other* than directly by phone (which is difficult at times). What you DO get though is a very low limit credit card that works in some places but not others (you can't use it at a gas pump, but you can use it inside to pay for gas .. WTF?) and it does report to all of the major credit bureaus. OH! Good luck trying to get a credit limit increase too. My best recommendation is to get this, keep it for a year and then get rid of it!!

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
It is what it is, read the fine print
romboy Cardholder

So, I have this card currently as my credit was awful, 490 awful. I paid off my debts and student loans little by little and this was the first card that was offered to me. Yes, you must pay $89 to get the card, yes it has a $78 annual fee ($48 after the first year) and a $7 monthly fee, just to own the card which severely limits your $300 inital credit line. It really is awful, but it's a credit card that reports monthly and as long as you pay it on time (it's ok to keep a balance you just pay interest, but make sure to make a payment each and every month, even if it's the minimum) then your credit score will increase. I'm still working on improving my credit, but thanks to using this card, I was able to get approved for a Capital One (not Credit One) Quicksilver card and now I get cash back for using it!

more ...
May 08, 2017
Great for now
HemiRyda Cardholder

I was approved with a 500 score. There is a processing fee you must pay before recieving card. So far I have had no issues. If you have a low score and want to rebuild your credit this card may be for you. 

more ...
May 05, 2017
Always there
Anonymous Cardholder

Just that you get what you pay for. And It will build up your credit score if you use it the way your suppose to.

more ...
May 02, 2017
I wish I could give zero stars
rupeirced3 Cardholder

This card has been incorrectly reporting a late payment on my credit for months. Their customer service department is horrible and they won't even send me to a manager to get this resolved. Stay away, its not worth it. 

more ...
Apr 27, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Worst company to deal with.  They charge $75 a month late fee and refuse to change the due date to work with when you get paid.

more ...
Jul 13, 2017

It's your responsibility to save your money when you get paid to pay your credit card and not blow it.
Does your electric co change your due date or is that late too?
Does the water co change your due date or just cut it off?

 
Jul 13, 2017

Here is an idea pay your bill!

 
Apr 26, 2017
SCAM
Anonymous Cardholder

Scam, money grab, incorrect entries on credit report almost impossible to remove. So many fees. 

more ...
Apr 24, 2017
ripoff
Anonymous Cardholder

misrepreset card as credit card really just prepaid debit card

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 13, 2017

That is an outright lie

 
Apr 14, 2017
Works for what you need it to
ngoodman33 Cardholder

Just got this card but I have one similar with another company. These types of cards are good for giving you a chance and rebuilding credit. It's definitely open the door for us. My husband and I have gone from no credit cards to seven, including a Walmart card, in just 6 months. Our scores have gone from low 500's to high 600's. We want to buy a house next year and should be able to do just that and it's all because of the credit cards. This card is just fine as long as you keep your utilization under 30% and pay it on time. 

more ...
Apr 14, 2017
Good for rebuilding credit
ngoodman33 Cardholder

Now I just got this card today and activated it. I made a small purchase on it this afternoon for $35 and had no problem. I know the interest rate is high and I paid the $89 fee and was charhed the $75 annual fee also. I also ordered a card for my husband and was charged $29 for that. We have another similar card with another company so we aren't new to this. We also have 3 Capital One cards. We are just trying to reduild our credit so this card indeed serves that purpose. The reality is as long as you pay your bill, which we do well ahead of time, and keep utilization down under 30% then this does what you need it to. In a mere 7 months my husband and I have obtained 7 credit cards including a Walmart card and our scores have gone up well over the 600's nearing 700. All payment history is excellent and we are well on our way to being able to buy a house as we planned next year. You just have to know what your dealing with when you get this card and use it responsibly. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 13, 2017

Thank you! Someone who takes the time to research and understand what they are getting before they apply! Beggars can't be choosers! I don't know why people are whining so bad

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Total Visa® Credit Card