Total Visa® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.5 out of 5 stars
39 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 06, 2016
Card is for people with bad credit.
XinteriX Cardholder

I don't quite understand why people are complaining about the initial fees being so high. This card is for people with bad credit, not people with average or good credit. What do you expect them to just take the risk? Part of the reason for the high fees is because of the high risk. If you are truely interested in repairing your credit report then this card is perfect. Yes it's expensive, and yes it's going to put out  by about 164.00 to get it. But for people with credit scores below 540, I would like for you to show me a single other bank that is willing to take the risk of giving you a credit card. Once the initial fees are paid this Card is just like any other card.

If you pay the statement balance each month you will never have pay any interest. If you set up autopay and pay statement balance there's absalutely no other costs.

If you don't pay the statement balance and chose to pay your minimum monthly payment of 37.00, your interest is not much different then other cards.

They report to the credit agencys which is what I got the card for. Basically I pay about 300 a month for 300 of credit. The 300 is money I would have used anyways, only difference is, it's in the form of credit and to whole point of it, it goes on my credit report which has helped my credit considerably.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 18, 2016
This card is a stepping stone
Tonyknows Cardholder

This card is a stepping stone out of the swamp of living in the world of bad credit. Cards like this, Milestone, Fingerhut can take you to the next step. Keep your utilization low and pay off your balances quickly. I had no problem making my payments online and received credit for my payments quickly. Sure the fee is steep for a short credit line, but personally I'd rather pay a $89 fee than tie up $300 in a secured credit card. After a short time I found myself with a Credit One Visa card. Still not a big time player, but quickly rewarded responsible use wit unsolicited credit line increases. Shortly after, 6 months or so, Capital One gave me the first of what is now 3 credit cards. These cards all came with credit lines of several thousand dollars.

This whole process took place ove approximately 18 months. These low limit, high fee cards are the painful 1st steps to building /getting your credit built. Not the end game. Just think of this as a temporary stop on your credit journey.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 14, 2017
Works for what you need it to
ngoodman33 Cardholder

Just got this card but I have one similar with another company. These types of cards are good for giving you a chance and rebuilding credit. It's definitely open the door for us. My husband and I have gone from no credit cards to seven, including a Walmart card, in just 6 months. Our scores have gone from low 500's to high 600's. We want to buy a house next year and should be able to do just that and it's all because of the credit cards. This card is just fine as long as you keep your utilization under 30% and pay it on time. 

more ...
Apr 14, 2017
Good for rebuilding credit
ngoodman33 Cardholder

Now I just got this card today and activated it. I made a small purchase on it this afternoon for $35 and had no problem. I know the interest rate is high and I paid the $89 fee and was charhed the $75 annual fee also. I also ordered a card for my husband and was charged $29 for that. We have another similar card with another company so we aren't new to this. We also have 3 Capital One cards. We are just trying to reduild our credit so this card indeed serves that purpose. The reality is as long as you pay your bill, which we do well ahead of time, and keep utilization down under 30% then this does what you need it to. In a mere 7 months my husband and I have obtained 7 credit cards including a Walmart card and our scores have gone up well over the 600's nearing 700. All payment history is excellent and we are well on our way to being able to buy a house as we planned next year. You just have to know what your dealing with when you get this card and use it responsibly. 

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Worst Card Ever
djrudebwoy Cardholder

I'm closing this card out the only time they report to the credit union is when you make a late payment and then when you pay it disappears again. These people do not have an impact on your credit from what I've seen unless you actually make a late payment. Other than that I would choose another card like First Progress. 

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
TOTAL CARD VISA WASTEOFTIME
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for a year I used it to reestablish my credit. When I applied for the card my credit score was at about 560 and awarded a $400 credit limit, which was a enormous blessing. I've had the card for about a year and have always made my payments on time and more than what was due monthly; I am a 31 year old female, salary $55,000 a year and my credi score is 607 (clearly working on it still) its's taking time; After a year of having the total visa card I received a email stating congratulations you qualify for a credit increase, coincidentally I recently applied for one already; I contacted customer service to check the status of the credit increase was advised from the representative "congratulations" we have increased your limit by $50.00. $50.00!! that is horrific. Please don't waste your time. On a positive note if you are working on your credit a good card is Merrick Bank my credit score at the time was 580 and I was awarded $500 after 6 months I was provided a credit increase of $600.00, try this one, downfall of Merrick bank high interest rates but its good to build your credit, also try Capital One initial credit limit $500 when I was at a 560 score lower interest rates. Clearly I have quite a bit of credit cards and I am trying to get rid of them, the goal is to have one card with a NICE limit. Currently, although I'm at a 607 for a credit score I just paid all my credit cards about 2 weeks ago, my credit card bills are paid down to $0 which were originally a balance of $3,000, credit karma states I should be at 663 (fair credit) once my credit updates so lets see!! I hope so!! Whomever reads this..I wish you all well on building your credit:)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 14, 2017

Merrick Bank doesn't accept applications unless you have gotten an invite.

 
Apr 01, 2017
Terrible Card...Pass On This One

Don't waste your time on this one. The processing fee and annual fee is ridiculous. There are plenty of other cards available that won't charge you this absorbent fee.

more ...
Mar 25, 2017
Frustrating!!!!
CQ83 Cardholder

I got the card about a month ago and I havent even been able to use the card yet, I had payed my processing fee in 2 payments the last payment I payed was suppose to be for $29.66, So i called and entered my debit card information and they processed the payment for $29.00. So I thought that, that was weird so i called back to see if i could make the remaining amount of .66 and they told me that they cant run a card for less then $5.Ok how is this my fault, I wanted to pay the whole amount!. Then they tell my that i can pay the .66 cents Western Union. Ugh really. So ok the next day i go to make my .66 cent payment through Western Union. I had to make it for a $1 which was fine, but to get to them  with in hours I payed $8.00 total for .66 cents. I got home and called them back to see if they had recieved the funds and the lady said that they hadnt received the funds yet, such a lie cause i can track my payment through western union. They got there money they just had to apply it to my account. The lady said that since it was the weekend that my payment wouldnt process till Monday night and that i could probably be able to activate my card on Tuesday. I've gone through so much trouble already i dont even know if i want to start using the card. Ugh. Hopefully this doesnt happen to anyone else.

more ...
Mar 25, 2017
Terrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Got the card it served the purpose i used then paid it off.Then i get an email stating that my account suffered some fraudulent activity so they cancelled and sent me a new card ...keep in mind its paid off ...i get the new card NEVER ACTIVATED IT...because i wasn't going to use it at that point well apparently you can be charged 54 bucks yearly access regardless and on top of that they hit you with a late payment so 98 bucks later i get a bill on a card thats not activated ....how is that not against the law ...well apparently the customer service guy didnt know either ....i paid it and closed the account....what a complete joke..

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Do NOT get this card!
Anonymous Cardholder

Ok, I was a good customer for 12 months. My one time I paid my bill ONE day late, they slapped over limit fees and such. Ok, I deserve that as I was late and I understand. But then, the month after I fully paid off my entire balance right on the due date. But because it took 5 days for the funds to be available, that's when they decided to add my yr fee and now an over limit fee. So I went from paid in full to owing $55+ in 5 days. I talked to a supervisor and very bluntly said oh well. So I am paying the balance and I am cutting the card up and closing the account. The only good of this card is that it takes people with less than perfect credit, and if you are in the position as I was, then do what you gotta do. But, use it wisely and be prepared for random charges at any time. I have several other credit cards, I am good. I do not recommend this card company to anyone.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Comes in handy!
dachshund1 Cardholder

I love this card , it has saved me a few times !

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
Just got it
veen41 Cardholder

I just received this card last month my credit score was 566 and 573 ok so I paid the 89 processing fee I used the whole 225 but this month on the first on the due date I paid 300 in full but when I checked my credit score it had dropped 31 points on each I was mad as hell I have 0 balance I also go approved for a first access just paid the 89 on the first but why would my score go down don't understand I paid the whole balance can somebody tell me 

more ...
Feb 11, 2017

You said you used the whole balance then paid off the whole balance correct? If you use like half or less and pay it off your score should go up. If you use all of the credit available it will hurt you even if you pay it off. Silly I know. Using less and having more available makes a person look like they have good money management and that they have but don't rely on the credit to live.

 
Feb 22, 2017

If your paying off your whole balance and getting it back to 0 your actually going to hurt your score. I have this card and I always leave a 15 dollar balance on it. My due date is the 2nd of every month so i pay the balance off minus 15 dollars. My statement comes out on the 7th of every month. After that i can use the card but on the 2nd i pay off the balance but leave 15 dollars on it. That way you avoid paying interest on your purchases but you are showing 5% credit usage which is good. Might not be the ideal number in everyones opinion but it has worked for me. My credit was low 500's now just 7 months later im at 610 and i just got a 50 dollar credit limit increase. Try leaving a small balance every month and youll see ur credit start to improve.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Total Visa® Credit Card