Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Total Visa® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.4 out of 5 stars
37 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee See Terms*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR See Terms*

Our Take

The Total VISA® Credit Card is a solid choice for consumers who may have poor or limited credit.

What to Like

As this card regularly reports to all three major credit bureaus, responsible credit use and on-time payments are recommended. This Total Visa® Credit Card is accepted online and by merchants nationwide, and consumers with limited credit histories may qualify.

Look Out For

Like many cards that are geared towards those with poor or limited credit, the Total VISA® Credit Card has fees to keep track of and relatively high interest rates. Paying off your balance in full each month can help you avoid any unnecessary interest charges, but you’ll still need to consider the one-time processing fee, annual fee, and monthly servicing fee starting in your second year.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 06, 2016
Card is for people with bad credit.
XinteriX Cardholder

I don't quite understand why people are complaining about the initial fees being so high. This card is for people with bad credit, not people with average or good credit. What do you expect them to just take the risk? Part of the reason for the high fees is because of the high risk. If you are truely interested in repairing your credit report then this card is perfect. Yes it's expensive, and yes it's going to put out  by about 164.00 to get it. But for people with credit scores below 540, I would like for you to show me a single other bank that is willing to take the risk of giving you a credit card. Once the initial fees are paid this Card is just like any other card.

If you pay the statement balance each month you will never have pay any interest. If you set up autopay and pay statement balance there's absalutely no other costs.

If you don't pay the statement balance and chose to pay your minimum monthly payment of 37.00, your interest is not much different then other cards.

They report to the credit agencys which is what I got the card for. Basically I pay about 300 a month for 300 of credit. The 300 is money I would have used anyways, only difference is, it's in the form of credit and to whole point of it, it goes on my credit report which has helped my credit considerably.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 18, 2016
This card is a stepping stone
Tonyknows Cardholder

This card is a stepping stone out of the swamp of living in the world of bad credit. Cards like this, Milestone, Fingerhut can take you to the next step. Keep your utilization low and pay off your balances quickly. I had no problem making my payments online and received credit for my payments quickly. Sure the fee is steep for a short credit line, but personally I'd rather pay a $89 fee than tie up $300 in a secured credit card. After a short time I found myself with a Credit One Visa card. Still not a big time player, but quickly rewarded responsible use wit unsolicited credit line increases. Shortly after, 6 months or so, Capital One gave me the first of what is now 3 credit cards. These cards all came with credit lines of several thousand dollars.

This whole process took place ove approximately 18 months. These low limit, high fee cards are the painful 1st steps to building /getting your credit built. Not the end game. Just think of this as a temporary stop on your credit journey.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 29, 2016
Refuse credit increases
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card almost ten years and they gave me a initial credit limit of $250. Over the last almost ten years I have asked several times for a credit increase and they have refused it, even with a credit score of  well over 700.

more ...
Nov 25, 2016
FRAUD
Cmarcosn Cardholder

I have read the fine print. My payment was made DEBIT, not ACH. I have made two attempts to satisfy the debt and they were removed from their website for no reason. I have funds to pay the bill. This time I have screen shots and video recording as proof and intent of payment to support my argument. This is absolutely ridiculous and unacceptable. Do not apply for this company. They don't respond to your e-mail or phone calls. They should be shutdown for FRAUD.

more ...
Nov 25, 2016
Very close to filing a Lawsuit.
Cmarcosn Cardholder

Have posted a third payment to be posted. Two previous payments were canceled and not posted. I will not accept this. I have funds to pay my bills and this time a screen shot of my bank account funds and proof of intent of payment. Cancel one more time and charge me a late fee. I will file a lawsuit.

more ...
Nov 23, 2016
They gave me a chance
MiaJohnson629 Cardholder

I have 2 credit cards with mid trust. I have the first access and the total visa. They approved me for both. I honestly have no complaints. Every complaint I've read can be disgaurded just by reading the terms and conditions. They are very honest. If you make a payment with a debit/credit card the funds are available almost immediately. And it states in the T&Cs if the payment is made by ACH there is UP to a 14 day hold. I have paid once by checking and It was only a 9 day wait. Anyways i started with a credit score of 525 and now 6 months later I am now at 647. So I can't thank them enough. If I keep doing what I'm doing my credit score should increase to exactly where I want it with in a year! So even though the processing fee is high, and the APR. (I just make sure I pay the full balance so I don't ever have to pay the APR) this card is a great stepping stone to better ones! 

more ...
Nov 23, 2016
Excellent card !
Hammys50love Cardholder

So I applied for this card and got it at the beginning of November -2016. So far I have had no problems with this card just paid on line and talked to customer service rep , 2 different ones with questions , they were helpful and very pleasant . The Apr is very high but that's what happens when you've ruined your credit and you're trying to rebuild . 

As far as ppl are complaining about the fees ,one needs to read the fine print first . I took a chance in this card because cap one had pre approved me 3 times for their secured card but I never acted on it . For done reason they have turned me down . Yes . One can actually be turned down for a secured card . I'm glad total is giving me a chance to rebuild . Before I received the card my fico fell to 515 on two reports ? But since I've had this card my fico had jumped to 551 on the 2 reports  in less then 30 days . So so good . 

less

more ...
Nov 18, 2016
A total waste of time
Anonymous Cardholder

It's a complete rip off and they need to shut down any advertising and quit taking people's hard earned money. They target people that are already hurting and then put the screws to them. VERY DISHONEST COMPANY

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
It's going to cost you...
MoshaNJ Cardholder

Not going to lie...they gave me a chance when no one else would. I got approved for this card while rebuilding my credit after 'lending' my credit to my best friend to help her finance a car. Needless to say, I got screwed and that $12k negative account is still plaguing my credit. Anyway, I hadn't had any credit cards because I paid them all off and closed the accounts after I lost my job--that was not a good move. I got approved for this card (maybe three years ago) and my credit limit is only at $400; I began with $300. The monthly fees are $6.25 with a $0 balance and the sign up fee was crazy. The APR is extremely high and the card does not have chip technology (you can't use it at a gas station or on certain websites). However, it is a legit credit card. Here is where the three stars come in. When I applied, my score was maybe about 500-515. I've since rebuilt my credit (even with that stupid loan on it) and got my scores up to 629/631 with the help of opening other cards and maintaining low balances. If you need a card when no one else will give you credit, give it a try. However, you may get the same results with a secured card and avoid all of those fees.

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
It's going to cost you...
MoshaNJ Cardholder

Not going to lie...they gave me a chance when no one else would. I got approved for this card while rebuilding my credit after 'lending' my credit to my best friend to help her finance a car. Needless to say, I got screwed and that $12k negative account is still plaguing my credit. Anyway, I hadn't had any credit cards because I paid them all off and closed the accounts after I lost my job--that was not a good move. I got approved for this card (maybe three years ago) and my credit limit is only at $400; I began with $300. The monthly fees are $6.25 with a $0 balance and the sign up fee was crazy. The APR is extremely high and the card does not have chip technology (you can't use it at a gas station or on certain websites). However, it is a legit credit card. Here is where the three stars come in. When I applied, my score was maybe about 500-515. I've since rebuilt my credit (even with that stupid loan on it) and got my scores up to 629/631 with the help of opening other cards and maintaining low balances. If you need a card when no one else will give you credit, give it a try. However, you may get the same results with a secured card and avoid all of those fees.

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
Stay Far Away
Discozombie101 Cardholder

I got this card to build credit.I had no credit score after paying off debt and having the debt removed from my credit reports. They charged an $89.00 activation fee and 75.00 annual fee off my credit line of 300.00. I had this card for a 2 months and made on time payments of more than the min due. I logged on today showing 0 credit limit and the total balance due. So basically they took $164.00 plus interest from me and than canceled my card. They have not updated my credit report since august of 2016 so it shows a high balance from when I first opened it. I had since paid that down the begining of September. I should have read the reviews on Credit Karma, this is sure to ruin all the hard work I have been doing to rebuild my credit. Once I get out of this mess I will just go with another secured card they seem safer for building credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 04, 2016

I also have this card and have seen the same thing. There is some sort of glitch in their system that will have you viewing a $0 credit limit and balance due but that is not the case. Disclaimer: I have this card but rarely use it. This card helped me rebuild my credit but it costs. Be prepared for monthly payments even if you don't have a balance; mine have been $6.95 per month with a $0 balance. But don't get discouraged...this card--as crappy as it is--will help your credit. The increases are slow and few and you have to do it manually...there are no automatic increases. And yes, they are pretty slow with the updates. They update nearly monthly--somewhere about every 4-6 weeks. Just try to be patient with it. You'll see that it will help.

 
Oct 14, 2016
Piece of garbage - don't waste your time
JamesHoller Cardholder

They scam you by holding your payments for 14 business days. I pay off my cards now every month but this one holds on to the funds for half the month. Use this card at your own peril!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 09, 2016

My funds always post within 3 business days of making a payment.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Total Visa® Credit Card