Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

BankAmericard Travel Rewards® Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
29 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.49% - 23.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.49% - 23.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 25, 2016
jwgrahamjr Cardholder

Instant approval in-bank with only Fair CK odds, 703 Ex, 713 TU.  CL 3500 which is low but enough for me.  Existing BOA customer with several missed payments 2y ago on a BOA mastercard which was closed by them.

Good benefits on the card but high APR (20.72).

So no, you don't need 750+ Experian and 4y excellent credit history to get approval.  There are hundreds of factors that play into the approval/denial.  Income is a big factor.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 13, 2016
Good rewards card
CreditApplicant Cardholder

This is a good card from Bank of America. But, beware of the hidden clause it comes with. The bank says you get 90 days to spend $1000, enabling you to get 20000 bonus points. In actual, the bank starts the 90 day count from the say they approve your account. Add 10-15 days for the card to be processed, transit and finally making its way to your mailbox. Thus, in actual they give you somewhere close to 75 days to spend the $1000. This happened to me and I missed on the bonus points with less than $50 difference to make it $1000. I would like everyone to know this and make sure you dont make the same mistake I made. The bank conveniently denies any claims you would make. I feel cheated but the bank does not care. Their responsibilty ends as soon as you open the account.

Let this be a wake up call to everyone, please make sure this does not happen to you.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 18, 2017
Perfect card with no annual fee
Goodman247 Cardholder

I was approved for this card in November of 2016 with a credit limit of $1,000 As at the time of my approval my credit history was about 5 months. A month later my CL was increased to $1,600.  I recently traveled to the Caribbean with my girlfriend , we used this card for all the travel expenses with no problems. I would definitely recommend this card to anyone who wants the benfits of a travel reward credit card but does not want to pay annual fee.

more ...
Dec 25, 2016
Awesome card to have in your wallet
Dambuzbee Cardholder

This is my second card with BOA and I love them both. I got approved for this right away with roughly a 700 score across the board

more ...
Dec 21, 2016
Best card for no annual fee
User5536 Cardholder

Great for earning flight rewards. Easy to get rewards paid out. No hassles.

more ...
Dec 19, 2016
It could be better.
Turr Cardholder

Approved for this card, application took about 60 seconds and I got instant approval. $1,500 CL (which I was pretty less than impressed by [FICO at 731]). The 20,000 point sign-up bonus is a little less than sub-par for gaining actual points with BoA. However, since this card comes with No Foreign Transaction Fees with NO AF and has the worldwide acceptance of being a Visa card, it's really a no-brainer to get for someone who travels out of the country or travels in general very rarely. Card looks a little more impressive in person than it does in the pictures, quite a nice shine to the card.

One other downside is the amount of time it took to receive the card in the mail. BoA does not offer credit card numbers after approval so you must wait for the physical card to come in the mail. The website advertises 7-10 business days, which I laughed at and knew wouldn't be true with my history of receiving other cards much quicker than that. However, 10 business days later, this card arrived in the mail. Yes, 10 full business days. Which, depending on the day you're approved in the week could put you at almost 2 full weeks without having your card (which will also count against you spending days that you can contribute to your sign-up bonus since the bonus is given 90 days AFTER ACCOUNT OPEN; that means when you get approved not when you get the card in the mail).

The sign-up bonus isn't really a whole lot of spending but I can see how that would be a problem for people to obtain having missed almost two weeks in just receiving the card.

TL;DR - Fast approval, baby credit limit, sub-par sign-up bonus, no AF, no FX fees, card takes forever to get in the mail.

more ...
Dec 15, 2016
Great perks, Awesome service
GambitCC Cardholder

Got approved instantly for $5000 with a credit score of 706 & 711. No foreign transaction fee and the introductory bonus made this the card to get for my trip abroad. Service was also wonderful. Had a problem contacting one of The airlines I was traveling with and BoA helped me to resolve my problem 

more ...
Dec 01, 2016
Great card for traveling overseas
Anonymous Cardholder

I needed a credit card for my trip to travel overseas and avoid paying a fee for every transaction.  The card worked great.  I use this card for my every day purchases to get the 1.5 points and then my BOA Cash Rewards card for groceries and gas.  Works out well being a Platinum member and getting hte 50% bonus.

more ...
Dec 07, 2016

How does that 50% bonus work?

 
Dec 10, 2016

You get 50% applied to your base %. Example: 1.5% travel cash back base multiplied by 1.50 gets you 2.25% travel cash back.

 
Dec 29, 2016

Thanks for the head's up

 
Nov 18, 2016
Excellence defined.
ThatArab Cardholder

I have a few cards and the Bank of America travel rewards signature card is the one I use on almost 90 percent of all my purchases... they increase my limits almost twice a year automatically (note that I have an excellent credit score and a solid perfect history making all payments). If you're shopping for a card, this is the one. 

more ...
Oct 20, 2016
pice of.......................!!!!!!!!!!
vadimb Cardholder

went to europe ,informed the bank about our travels, first purchase we got declined????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

6.5 hours later on phone  no results!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

next day 3.5hours on phone no mresults!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

worst card experience in my 20years of trveling  and usin other cards

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

After considering to get a new card i choose this card. Who doesn't travel? I am a platinum rewards so i get 50%bonus points as well. Applied with credit score 769. Outstanding 755k mortgage balance and 5 years 3 months average (6 open 2 closed accounts). Approved for 21k immediately. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 19, 2016

it'd be odd if u dont get approved!

 
Sep 12, 2016
Really Good Travel Card
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card because I was planning on traveling on a cruise and booking a plane ticket.  Redeemed $200 bonus after I reached the $1000 spent.  You get dollar for dollar if redeeemed for travel expeneses.  I would highly recommend this card.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 147
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

BankAmericard Travel Rewards® Credit Card

29 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i