Bank of America® Travel Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.2 out of 5 stars
28 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.99% - 23.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.99% - 23.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 19, 2016
It could be better.
Turr Cardholder

Approved for this card, application took about 60 seconds and I got instant approval. $1,500 CL (which I was pretty less than impressed by [FICO at 731]). The 20,000 point sign-up bonus is a little less than sub-par for gaining actual points with BoA. However, since this card comes with No Foreign Transaction Fees with NO AF and has the worldwide acceptance of being a Visa card, it's really a no-brainer to get for someone who travels out of the country or travels in general very rarely. Card looks a little more impressive in person than it does in the pictures, quite a nice shine to the card.

One other downside is the amount of time it took to receive the card in the mail. BoA does not offer credit card numbers after approval so you must wait for the physical card to come in the mail. The website advertises 7-10 business days, which I laughed at and knew wouldn't be true with my history of receiving other cards much quicker than that. However, 10 business days later, this card arrived in the mail. Yes, 10 full business days. Which, depending on the day you're approved in the week could put you at almost 2 full weeks without having your card (which will also count against you spending days that you can contribute to your sign-up bonus since the bonus is given 90 days AFTER ACCOUNT OPEN; that means when you get approved not when you get the card in the mail).

The sign-up bonus isn't really a whole lot of spending but I can see how that would be a problem for people to obtain having missed almost two weeks in just receiving the card.

TL;DR - Fast approval, baby credit limit, sub-par sign-up bonus, no AF, no FX fees, card takes forever to get in the mail.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 26, 2017
It does not have proper protection.
Anonymous Cardholder

I was in Paris and when I checked out of my hotel, they made a $18,000.00 error in the bill.  I was not contacted and they allowed the charge.  It was even over my limit.  Now I am fighting a battle with disputing the charge When it is over, I plan to cancel the card.  Be careful!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 17, 2017
QCaldwell Cardholder

I love this card! Great benefits and no international fees. 

more ...
Aug 14, 2017
Great if you have your assets with bank
navneetk1 Cardholder

This is a great card in terms of rewards if you have accounts with Bank of America. Being a gold/platinum/platinum preferred member  gets you additional cash back of 25/50/75 % more rewards  there by increasing the base rewards. Not just the checking/savings and some of the brokerage accounts with the bank are considered in determining the preferred status.

more ...
Jul 30, 2017
Pretty Great!
Elie001 Cardholder

I love this card because of the no transaction fee, and no annual fee. I used this card in spain, and it was actually a lot cheaper for us. Everywhere I went they said each euro was 1.18-1.35, but I paid the minimum with no hidden fees.... each euro was 1.12. I recommend this card. I would also like to note that there is an 11 months period with 0 APR!!

However, the only downside is that Bank of America isn't the best because of the dumb fees they have (nothing bad with this card thus far).

more ...
Jul 27, 2017
Great card to have!
cgreene49 Cardholder

I applied for the card on 6/21 and got pending approval for review. I'm so happy BofA didn't outright approve the card without first checking credit information to verify my identity. I never received a phone call but did receive an "Congratulations... you've been approved" email on 7/5 (with 7-10 business days to receive card in mail)!! ! I have AMEX PRG card, AMEX Everyday card, CAP1 QuickSilver VISA (has MC but transferred credit limit and closed it), CAP1 Venture ONE, CAP1 Classic MC, PayPal Credit, Synchrony Google and Ashley's Furniture, and BofA Cash Rewards ($4,500). NOW, approved for BofA Travel Rewards for $13,000 with a TU of 723 and EQ of 684 and FICO in mid 700s! I'm only disappointed that I won't receive the card in mail before I leave for Sydney Australia on 7/8/17. As a side note, I haven't received the physical card yet but checked my BofA checking and Cash Rewards accounts today and saw that they have already added the new card to my online account profile. That's how I found out the credit limit granted to me!

more ...
Jul 23, 2017
Be careful, they will trick you
Anonymous Cardholder

I had 22757 points. I called and asked to redeem it. The cumstomer service said I could only redeem points against travelling expenses which was $227.57. But if I wanted a check mail to me. It would only worth half of the redeem value which was $113.-. So I told him, in that case, wait for me to charge some travel expenses on this card then I would redeem the full value of the points. Few months went by, somehow, BOA mail me a $113 check. I mistakenly depoisit it. Thinking it was from my other credit card company. So after I charged $256 travel expense on this card, I called to redeem the points.They told me I don't have any points left because I deposit the check already. This is what I think, they mailed me a 50% off value check to trick me and I took the bait. Now I lost $113 and they saved $113. Any one else have the same experience, please speak out. Because when I talk to them. They said, the cumstomer rep. just made a mistake to request a check for me. But since I deposit it already, so it was my fault, too.They were not suprised at all. It must happened to many card holders already. It is their business practice. I wish a class action lawsuit lawyer will look into it and sue them. 

more ...
Jul 09, 2017
Have to wait for the card in the mail
Anonymous Cardholder

When I applied I had around 720 score.  They did not approve immediately.  They took a day and approved with a CL of 1200.  When I asked the customer care why they made me wait, the lady said they were looking at my credit to decide how much CL to give me.  It's a decent card for medium expenditure customers, who don't spend 3K to 4K in three months so cannot utilize the offiers provided by other cards like Chase Sapphire. 

more ...
Jul 09, 2017
Difficult to enjoy.
OneBJM Cardholder

While it's nice that you can use the points on any travel purchase, it's not easy. For example, 30,000 points equals $300 in benefits. Divide however many points you have by 100 and you see how much you have to use. With $1 = 1 point, I don't know many that spend $30,000. And many tickets are much more than $300.

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
Good, dependable every-day Card
Leonie994 Cardholder

This card gives you, essentially, 1.5% on all purchases. People are often deterred because they don't think they have a lot of travel purchases to be refunded, but you'd be surprised! Having dinner in a hotel counts, parking counts, loading up your T-pass counts, Uber charges count, hotels, bookings, etc. There is a lot you can to to get 1.5% of all purchases applied retroactively to your travel purchasse. My one advice: DO NOT CASH IN YOUR POINTS FOR CASH BACK OR GIFT CARDS. The travel refund definitely gives you the best deal (1.5%).

And all that on top of the no foreign transaction fee! :) 

more ...
Jun 27, 2017
Best rewards for me (2.25% on everything
Anonymous Cardholder

I love this card! No international fees plus best rewards towards travel purchase 

more ...
Jun 23, 2017
Greta Travel Rewards Card
JeffH5370 Cardholder

I've had this card for a year and it has already paid for my vacation to NYC on July1. I love the app! I have the security settings configured to alert me with any phone or online purchase, and any purchase over $20. I never keep a balance so I could care less about the interest rate. I put absolutely everything on this card and I pay the balance weekly.  I have had to contact customer service one time, sure, I had to jump hoops to get the right person, but my question was answered. So I have no problem with this Bank. They have paid for my well deserved vacation to Times Square NY and I appreciate it. Pretty cool when you can use someone else's money on a daily basis and get paid for it! Have a 830 credit score and no problem getting a more than generous credit limit. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 147
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Bank of America® Travel Rewards Credit Card

28 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i