Bank of America® Travel Rewards credit card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
17 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.99% - 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.99% - 24.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 18, 2018
Frequent Traveler
scottdga Cardholder

Have been using this card for weekly buisness travel for 1 year, no issues or problems of any kind. Definitely redeem points as a statement card for full value, can't imagine why anyone would do otherwise. In the last year I have redeemed around $800 through this program.  This is my first travel card and I'm pleased with it so far. Only *issue* I have had is when I mistakenly used it for a cash withdrawal instead of my normal debit card; I think the fee was $10 on a $100 withdrawal - ouch!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 27, 2018
Average, but great with Preferred Reward
AceThirteen Cardholder

The bonuses with Preferred Rewards are great. It has no annual fee. Customer service is generally awful, but so are some other major card issuers.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 02, 2018
Awesome travel card

I lived abroad and traveled abroad with this card and its fabulous. I also had my limit increased a year after I got it, so I'm not sure why other people did not get that. I love getting points for everything and no foreign transaction fees was a big yes for me!

more ...
Oct 02, 2018
Excellent points card with no annual fee
LionheartLeo Cardholder

Own it for 2 years, points never expire and can be used for anything travel related including parking charges! No hassle, no annual fees and very simple to manage through the bank app. Best part, US based customer service!

more ...
Aug 21, 2018
loose money in fees and late payment
buntzzz Cardholder

even if i repay the charges on the card before the last day, they will still charge me late fee even if i made the transcation on their business day. It takes more than 2 business day to reflect your payment and you end up paying heavy late mayment fee. From 2nd year they will charge you heavy anual fee. so stay away from this card.

more ...
Aug 28, 2018

So you didn't know they are fee driven bank?!

 
Sep 14, 2018

First off, there is no annual fee. Secondly, you shouldn’t wait until the final day of your payment due date to submit a payment.

 
Oct 25, 2018

I agree. This is an excellent card..5 star all the way! Learn how to use a credit card responsibly!

 
Jul 08, 2018
This is one of my first credit cards.
Nathan201 Cardholder

This is my second credit card alongside my Discover It Student card. The application was straightforward; however, I am let down that my credit limit is only $500, whereas my Discover It student card had over $1000 limit. I always prepay my balances as well. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 28, 2018

Very conservative bank do more research into different cc

 
Jul 08, 2018
Fantastic
Tojo22 Cardholder

I've gone back in time and applied my rewards to travel I've done up to a year prior.

more ...
Jun 08, 2018
Anonymous Cardholder

Bank of America is the only bank who doesn’t raise your credit limit even after years of perfect payment history with them. Then when you apply for an additional card, they’ll deny you even after five years of perfect credit with them. Bank of America is shady and the absolute worst bank in America. I hate this bank.

more ...
Jul 26, 2018

I have to disagree. They raised my credit limit after paying off everything every month to more than triple what it was. They even did it without asking me first. They just sent me an email saying that because I was doing so well that they went ahead and raised it for me. My limit was way to high at that point so I had to change it back.

 
Aug 11, 2018

I completely agree! I had the BankAmericard Rewards card with with a $10k limit and after 10 years of perfect payments they only raised it by $1000 automatically. But on the bright side they changed the policy so requesting more credit is no longer a hard pull.

 
Aug 11, 2018

They have raised my credit multiple times and I didn't even ask because I'm never close to the limit. I started with like 600 and 4 years later is 20k.

 
Aug 17, 2018

Very very true!!!

 
Oct 09, 2018

I started with a limit of 11 or 12 thousand a few years ago and Now its at 18000. My spending habits haven't changed just because they increased the limit.

 
Oct 25, 2018

I completely disagree. My credit amount has been raised consistently over the last 5 years. Love this card!

 
May 19, 2018
Have PIN wont travel
roxteddy Cardholder

Got this card exclusively for no foreign fees AND to be able to use a PIN in European countries. Tried at gas stations with PIN card refused every time. Lucky it was a backup to my Capitol one card :)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 04, 2018

Was your PIN a 5 digit pin. Gas stations in Europe many times require 5 digit pin. I have used my card for years in Europe all over with out issue.

 
May 18, 2018
So far so giid
1marinaview Cardholder

I have boa accts and applied in a branch with a person. I received an immediate approval. No annual fee, $1k spent over 3 months for intro points, and since I have a boa acct the points are given an additional 10% boost.
This works for me.

more ...
Apr 27, 2018
Average, but great with Preferred Reward
AceThirteen Cardholder

The bonuses with Preferred Rewards are great. It has no annual fee. Customer service is generally awful, but so are some other major card issuers.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 147
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Bank of America® Travel Rewards credit card