Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

BankAmericard Travel Rewards® Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.2 out of 5 stars
28 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.24% - 23.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 25, 2016
jwgrahamjr Cardholder

Instant approval in-bank with only Fair CK odds, 703 Ex, 713 TU.  CL 3500 which is low but enough for me.  Existing BOA customer with several missed payments 2y ago on a BOA mastercard which was closed by them.

Good benefits on the card but high APR (20.72).

So no, you don't need 750+ Experian and 4y excellent credit history to get approval.  There are hundreds of factors that play into the approval/denial.  Income is a big factor.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 13, 2016
Good rewards card
CreditApplicant Cardholder

This is a good card from Bank of America. But, beware of the hidden clause it comes with. The bank says you get 90 days to spend $1000, enabling you to get 20000 bonus points. In actual, the bank starts the 90 day count from the say they approve your account. Add 10-15 days for the card to be processed, transit and finally making its way to your mailbox. Thus, in actual they give you somewhere close to 75 days to spend the $1000. This happened to me and I missed on the bonus points with less than $50 difference to make it $1000. I would like everyone to know this and make sure you dont make the same mistake I made. The bank conveniently denies any claims you would make. I feel cheated but the bank does not care. Their responsibilty ends as soon as you open the account.

Let this be a wake up call to everyone, please make sure this does not happen to you.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 01, 2016
Great card for traveling overseas
Anonymous Cardholder

I needed a credit card for my trip to travel overseas and avoid paying a fee for every transaction.  The card worked great.  I use this card for my every day purchases to get the 1.5 points and then my BOA Cash Rewards card for groceries and gas.  Works out well being a Platinum member and getting hte 50% bonus.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 07, 2016

How does that 50% bonus work?

 
Nov 18, 2016
Excellence defined.
ThatArab Cardholder

I have a few cards and the Bank of America travel rewards signature card is the one I use on almost 90 percent of all my purchases... they increase my limits almost twice a year automatically (note that I have an excellent credit score and a solid perfect history making all payments). If you're shopping for a card, this is the one. 

more ...
Oct 20, 2016
pice of.......................!!!!!!!!!!
vadimb Cardholder

went to europe ,informed the bank about our travels, first purchase we got declined????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

6.5 hours later on phone  no results!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

next day 3.5hours on phone no mresults!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

worst card experience in my 20years of trveling  and usin other cards

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

After considering to get a new card i choose this card. Who doesn't travel? I am a platinum rewards so i get 50%bonus points as well. Applied with credit score 769. Outstanding 755k mortgage balance and 5 years 3 months average (6 open 2 closed accounts). Approved for 21k immediately. 

more ...
Sep 12, 2016
Really Good Travel Card
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card because I was planning on traveling on a cruise and booking a plane ticket.  Redeemed $200 bonus after I reached the $1000 spent.  You get dollar for dollar if redeeemed for travel expeneses.  I would highly recommend this card.

more ...
Sep 05, 2016
Does what it promised
Johne3819 Cardholder

I got the card with 20,000 w/$2000 charged to card bonus mile offer.  I was going to Disney so that was easy! you get 1.5 points per dollar spent. I also am platinum tier which gives me 50% more points.  The points are basically a penny each you can 'credit your account' for eligible travel expenses.  They are pretty lenient as you can pay for things like parking and taxis as well as airfare, hotels, etc.  You can also turn the points into money but I'm not sure how that works.

I had pretty low scores (660TU) when I applied and was approved for a small $balance.

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Approved w NO credit history + 20k BONUS
XanderM Cardholder

Arrived in the US for an internship and applied for a checking account. After 4 direct deposit salaries (2 months) I tried to apply for this card online without any luck- I was advised to talk with a respresentative as I did not have any credit history. So I applied with a representative - and got approved.

HOWEVER my 20k bonus offer wasn't processed because it was an online offer only.  Immediately talked on the phone with BofA helpdesk employees after receiving my card as the T&C's did not mention the 20k bonus offer. They declined my request for the offer. Insisted on speaking with manager, but she also declined my request. Hang up phone and tried again with their social media team via Twitter.  Got a friendly phone call back telling me they approved and allocated the 20k miles. I didn't even spend the $1000 requirement yet.  Now using it as my main card for all spendings and make intermediate payments to have a zero or even negative balance at the end of the month. 

This card allowed me to rack up 27k points and a credit score of 700+ with being just 4 months in the States. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 26, 2016

Contacting their social media team was very savvy. Most do not know that all major businesses have a department that monitors social media to quickly resolve any issues. It saves them millions in brand reputation. Bad press could go viral in a matter of minutes.

 
Aug 14, 2016
Easy and Fast Application Process
Moe933 Cardholder

I have a limited credit history ( less than 7 months ). I started with Cap1 Secured Platinum card with a limit of $200. had a 100% payment history and my credit jumped from 552 to 662 (over 100) in a period of 5 months. So Cap1 gave me a CLI of $300 and 4 days later I applied for a cap1 unsecured mastercard and was approved for a CL of $500! At the same time I applied for AMEX everyday card and was approved for $500! A day later I applied for BofA Travel reward card and was approved in a minute for a CL of $1200! I am so happy that BofA gave me a chance to build my credit! 

more ...
Aug 13, 2016
Good rewards card

This is a good card from Bank of America. But, beware of the hidden clause it comes with. The bank says you get 90 days to spend $1000, enabling you to get 20000 bonus points. In actual, the bank starts the 90 day count from the say they approve your account. Add 10-15 days for the card to be processed, transit and finally making its way to your mailbox. Thus, in actual they give you somewhere close to 75 days to spend the $1000. This happened to me and I missed on the bonus points with less than $50 difference to make it $1000. I would like everyone to know this and make sure you dont make the same mistake I made. The bank conveniently denies any claims you would make. I feel cheated but the bank does not care. Their responsibilty ends as soon as you open the account.

Let this be a wake up call to everyone, please make sure this does not happen to you.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 26, 2016

Contact their social media team and state your grievance. I'm sure this will be rectified. Companies cannot afford to have negative press go viral in a tight economy. Reference XanderM's review 8/17/16.

 
Aug 08, 2016
Good Rewards when stacked /w Preferred
Dulanic Cardholder

I use this card as my daily card. It is a great card if you keep a IRA etc... /w them. With the preferred 50% bonus I get 2.25% travel rewards which is the best out there for me.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 147
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

BankAmericard Travel Rewards® Credit Card

28 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i