BankAmericard Travel Rewards® Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
25 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.74% - 23.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.74% - 23.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 19, 2016
It could be better.
Turr Cardholder

Approved for this card, application took about 60 seconds and I got instant approval. $1,500 CL (which I was pretty less than impressed by [FICO at 731]). The 20,000 point sign-up bonus is a little less than sub-par for gaining actual points with BoA. However, since this card comes with No Foreign Transaction Fees with NO AF and has the worldwide acceptance of being a Visa card, it's really a no-brainer to get for someone who travels out of the country or travels in general very rarely. Card looks a little more impressive in person than it does in the pictures, quite a nice shine to the card.

One other downside is the amount of time it took to receive the card in the mail. BoA does not offer credit card numbers after approval so you must wait for the physical card to come in the mail. The website advertises 7-10 business days, which I laughed at and knew wouldn't be true with my history of receiving other cards much quicker than that. However, 10 business days later, this card arrived in the mail. Yes, 10 full business days. Which, depending on the day you're approved in the week could put you at almost 2 full weeks without having your card (which will also count against you spending days that you can contribute to your sign-up bonus since the bonus is given 90 days AFTER ACCOUNT OPEN; that means when you get approved not when you get the card in the mail).

The sign-up bonus isn't really a whole lot of spending but I can see how that would be a problem for people to obtain having missed almost two weeks in just receiving the card.

TL;DR - Fast approval, baby credit limit, sub-par sign-up bonus, no AF, no FX fees, card takes forever to get in the mail.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 13, 2016
Good rewards card
CreditApplicant Cardholder

This is a good card from Bank of America. But, beware of the hidden clause it comes with. The bank says you get 90 days to spend $1000, enabling you to get 20000 bonus points. In actual, the bank starts the 90 day count from the say they approve your account. Add 10-15 days for the card to be processed, transit and finally making its way to your mailbox. Thus, in actual they give you somewhere close to 75 days to spend the $1000. This happened to me and I missed on the bonus points with less than $50 difference to make it $1000. I would like everyone to know this and make sure you dont make the same mistake I made. The bank conveniently denies any claims you would make. I feel cheated but the bank does not care. Their responsibilty ends as soon as you open the account.

Let this be a wake up call to everyone, please make sure this does not happen to you.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 23, 2017
Greta Travel Rewards Card
JeffH5370 Cardholder

I've had this card for a year and it has already paid for my vacation to NYC on July1. I love the app! I have the security settings configured to alert me with any phone or online purchase, and any purchase over $20. I never keep a balance so I could care less about the interest rate. I put absolutely everything on this card and I pay the balance weekly.  I have had to contact customer service one time, sure, I had to jump hoops to get the right person, but my question was answered. So I have no problem with this Bank. They have paid for my well deserved vacation to Times Square NY and I appreciate it. Pretty cool when you can use someone else's money on a daily basis and get paid for it! Have a 830 credit score and no problem getting a more than generous credit limit. 

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
Simply the worst
Nicktheflash Cardholder

Bank of america is the worst bank ever! the worst customer service and policies 

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
Must have for Preferred Rewards clients
nbtxhou Cardholder

This card is a must have, non-bonus category spend card for any BoA Preferred Rewards clients.  The 75% bonus yields 2.625% "cash back" on all purchases, unparalleled for non-bonus spend.  As long as you make a qualifying travel purchase or two each year against which to offset the rewards, you will always find value in this card.  It does lack some benefits like purchase protection, price protection, or extended warranty, but for everyday purchases this card can't be beat.  The bonuses are usually rather generous, $200 equivalent, but the PR bonus does not apply to the sign-up bonus.  Approved for a $18k limit with a CK score in the 800's.

more ...
May 18, 2017
Good Intro Credit Card
LGRnyc Cardholder

First credit card I got in college, specifically for study abroad. Kept since. 

To redeem points:  Must use 2,000 points at once ($20 minimum) which is not a big deal. The 20,000 bonus is therefore $200 credit. Points are used on qualified purchases (basically anything travel related). Can use mobile banking app to redeem and redeem partially i.e. $300 purchase, apply 20,000 points. 

No FX is nice, especially when a lot of foreign purchases will offer to convert it for you (rate is always worse than BoAs). However, no FX is pretty standard today.

I plan on getting another card to replace it simply because points are not earned for everyday use.  Will likely replace with Amex Gold, Barclaycard or Chase Sapphire 

more ...
May 23, 2017

My advice, get the Chase Sapphire.

 
May 27, 2017

Chase Sapphire has better travel insurance applied to their card. However, Amex has better transfer partners (Delta and JetBlue).

 
Apr 26, 2017
It does not have proper protection.
Anonymous Cardholder

I was in Paris and when I checked out of my hotel, they made a $18,000.00 error in the bill.  I was not contacted and they allowed the charge.  It was even over my limit.  Now I am fighting a battle with disputing the charge When it is over, I plan to cancel the card.  Be careful!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 04, 2017

$18000??!! That's quite the "error"!! I am the GM of a few hotels and that is not just your normal everyday billing error, I would be fuming!!

 
Mar 14, 2017
Great Travel Credit Card
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had the credit card for six months and it has been great. Enjoy the rewards plus the bonus when you book through B of A website. 

more ...
Feb 14, 2017
Simple and Easy
Anonymous Cardholder

Application took about 2 minutes.  Approved with $1200 limit.  Doubled after about 9 months.  

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Perfect card with no annual fee
Goodman247 Cardholder

I was approved for this card in November of 2016 with a credit limit of $1,000 As at the time of my approval my credit history was about 5 months. A month later my CL was increased to $1,600.  I recently traveled to the Caribbean with my girlfriend , we used this card for all the travel expenses with no problems. I would definitely recommend this card to anyone who wants the benfits of a travel reward credit card but does not want to pay annual fee.

more ...
Jan 26, 2017

Did you have to request the increase, or did BOA automatically do it?

 
May 06, 2017

I have to request an increase.

 
Dec 25, 2016
Awesome card to have in your wallet
Dambuzbee Cardholder

This is my second card with BOA and I love them both. I got approved for this right away with roughly a 700 score across the board

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 09, 2017

How much were u approved for

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 147
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

BankAmericard Travel Rewards® Credit Card

25 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i