Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.9 out of 5 stars
128 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.74% - 23.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.74% - 23.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card is a travel rewards card aimed at excellent credit consumers.

What to Like

Cardholders get 2 points for every dollar spent on travel and restaurants, and 1 point for every other dollar spent on purchases. The Chase Ultimate Rewards program offers a 20% discount on travel purchases made using points. The card also has no foreign transaction fee and offers a 50,000 point bonus if you spend $4,000 in the first 3 months.

Look Out For

After the first year, there’s a $95 annual fee. There’s no intro APR for purchases or balance transfers.

Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 25, 2017
It's METAL!!
ArabianYogi Cardholder

Signed up since my score has been around 707 and I only had a cap 1 Quicksilver to my name (& auto user on two cards with $1k & $13k limit)

Immediately approved!! Thankfully I didn't apply for the unlimited before this one because my app for the unlimited had to go to recon. 

Tip: don't apply for two cc's back to back

Plan to to use these two cards exclusively from now on and open a chase checking acct too. Thanks Chase & CK!

CK score : 707/708

Two chargeoffs on report, one paid in full, 2nd being disputed 

payment history: 80-90%, no lates in four years since charge offs

One personal CC with Cap1(my favorite bank for cc's and auto loans) with $6000 limit

auth user on two cards with $14k limit

$20k total limit on three cards

Utilization 12% (tip: bring yours down to 0% before applying)

income - $50,000

more ...
May 24, 2017
Great rewards
joshchewy Cardholder

Great rewards with excellent transfer partners. Anyone who is serious about traveling should get this card.

more ...
May 24, 2017
Great rewards
joshchewy Cardholder

One of Chase's best offerings - great rewards with great redemption partners.

more ...
May 23, 2017
Got approved!
Anonymous Cardholder

WOOOOOOO! Been waiting for months to apply to this bad boy. Credit score was probably worse then a homeless mans 3 years ago. (around 515) I've been working on it since then. January my credit score was around 620-630. I've been paying twice a month on my credit cards and using less then 40%. My credit score when applying today was transion at 699 and equifax and 717! Hard work pays off! My income is also 55,000. I have some deliquences 3-4 years ago, but I haven't missed a payment since. Credit karma said my chances were fair, so I just took the leap of faith. I did have to call the reconsideration line, but the lady just needed to verify some stuff and was arppoved for 5,000! 

more ...
May 19, 2017
No second thought needed
Anonymous Cardholder

Chase sapphire preferred is one of the most valuable card I have. The annual fee when compared to services it provides - its worth it.

more ...
May 19, 2017
A must-have-
Anonymous Cardholder

Cheat so far preferred is one of the most valuable card I have. The annual fee w

more ...
May 17, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Score 755-775, income 120000, $19000 CL

more ...
May 15, 2017
Looking forward to the rewards!
ChessChik47 Cardholder

So I have been eyeing this card for a few months, I have a Chase Freedom Unlimited already with a $10K starting limit and I felt like this card would compliment it nicely.  So I finally decided to pull the trigger and apply online directly with Chase.  Happily I received an instant approval (my heart still beats really fast while the circle is spinning, lol) and my starting limit is $24K.   Very happy with Chase so far.  My scores at the time were EX736, EQ 753, and TU 755 and total utilization across all cards was 32%. I can't wait for the card to start reporting (as well as my AMEX BCP) because my utilization is going to drop to under 5%.  Super excited about the rewards and the ability to watch my credit improve just by being smart with my cards.

more ...
May 11, 2017
Perfect
Anonymous Cardholder

I got approved instantly with $8500 CL. super excited to reap the rewards!

more ...
May 03, 2017
The perfect premium starter card.
DrewMania Cardholder

I've been rebuilding my credit for a few years now. And had my eyes set on this card for a while. Some patient and  dedication is key. As for the card I'm a big dinning person so that 2x points on dinning is lovely in my case. Tranfering points to partners is night and day. And i just love the way it feels in the hand lol. 

Just because this is a premium travel card... believe me when i say it's not as difficult to get then you would think. Here in New York chase pulls your experian (fico) score for approval. And at the time of approval my score was 661 and i wasn't pre-qualified in chase either. I went into a chase bank and was approved on the spot for CL 5k. As for my other scores TU - 671 EQ - 660. So do your research make sure your credit utilization is below 10 percent if you want that big bump in score get it to 0 percent. Good luck and keep building. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

128 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i