Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
106 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.99% - 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.99% - 24.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 03, 2018
Quick approval. Excellent Service.
Yppec46 Cardholder

Applied for this with 758 TransUnion / 756 Equifax scores on CK. I got a notification that my application was under review, so I took another reviewer's advice (that I'd seen on here while researching) and called them the next day. Once I had an agent on the phone he simply picked my case from the automated system and set up the approval. I got a $7,000 limit right then. Relatively low for the average on here, but prior to this I only had one lower limit card on my record so, I can see the logic.

It was high-time I had a card with some clout, and this one has been very good to have so far. (It even just looks and feels cool!)

Once this card populated onto my credit record though, my credit shot up to 786/783 ... and I'm not at ALL mad at that!!  \,,,_

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 16, 2018
Issues in the UK
Gibral Cardholder

Ifthis card is designed for you to travel with then it is not fulfilling it's value. I went to UK and multiple areas in London, different parts of England, Wales and Ireland could not read the card. Places like McDonald's, Hamleys, etc. I'd say half of the retailers could not read it. Worst case was budget rent a car could not read it so I ended up having to use my debit card and having to pay extra ($250) for rental car insurance. Again, this should not happen if it is a card designed for travel that you have to pay $95 for.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 17, 2019
mcgriffmark Cardholder

I was approved for $17,500 with a 680 credit score across the board. So far I am very impressed with this card

more ...
Jan 16, 2019
Very happy customer
tnwamkpa Cardholder

I applied for this card & wasn't immediately approved, but got an approval letter in the mail soon after. I was approved for a $20,000 credit limit with $65K income, 823 credit score, and no debt. I haven't used any of the perks yet, but all of the promotions where extra points were offered worked seamlessly. Agents were always helpful when I called. After a year I was able to upgrade to the Sapphire Reserve, so I no longer own the card. But the 50K point sign up bonus I recieved, plus the points I racked up over the year were enough to buy a round trip ticket to Morocco plus a hotel stay in Paris and still have some points left. I'm very happy I signed up for this card.

more ...
Jan 16, 2019
Great card with fast approval
Dukeblue2015 Cardholder

I was approved just about a week ago, for over $6000 instantly in about 45 seconds.
The funny part is that CK has my odds as poor. LoL.
My scores are around 680 ish.
The same thing happened to me with another bank that CK is still showing as having a poor chance of being approved.

more ...
Jan 11, 2019
BEWAREPoints are virtually worthless now
ouellette210 Cardholder

Don't let all these recent phoney reviews from low level Chase people cover the fact these traval points are now as worthless as bottle caps for Travel. You are now forced to book through Expedia were you will find greatly inflated prices for for very inconvient flight dates. Don't be fooled, this card is now garbage! I've stopped using it and won't be renewing it when the next $95 fee comes up/

more ...
Jan 12, 2019

No they’re still quite valuable when transferred to travel partners. By the way, I noticed you exclusively post negative reviews. Are there any credit-related products you do like?

 
Jan 17, 2019

Looks like he’s just mad at the world. Definitely has some issues.

 
Jan 10, 2019
Motivated75 Cardholder

I Just got approved for this card and the Chase SW rapid rewards card both with $13,600 initial credit limits, the application process and approval process literally took seconds.  I have seen nothing but rave reviews on these two after researching for two months.  My cK scores are TR 688 and EQ 694, i've been working on my scores for the last year.  My experian fico score is 701.  All were around 550 a year ago.  Also, just closed on a $300,000 VA mortgage so it makes me a first time home owner as well.  I look forward to using these cards responsibly and fully taking advantage of the rewards they have to offer.  

more ...
Jan 10, 2019
Must have in your wallet
blove94 Cardholder

Great card for travel and day to day spending. Looking foward to upgrading to the Reserve after a year.

more ...
Jan 10, 2019
I love this card.
Marcelor86 Cardholder

I applied with a 680 (on credit Karma) and got approved for $9k. It's helped build my credit along w/ my new mortgage. The 50,000 points bonus is amazing, it's basically $600  towards a plane ticket. 

more ...
Dec 26, 2018
Instantly approved - easy application
charcharbeanz Cardholder

I haven't used this one yet, but was instantly approved. I have been building my credit for the last 4-5 years and have a score of about 680. (Always pay on time, all accounts in very good standing, mostly student loans and car loan). Was looking for something to use when traveling/ to get points to use toward travel and this seemed to be the best option for what I was looking for. Several friends also have this card and said good things. Was nervous about getting approved, but CK said I had very good odds, so I went for it. Was instantly approved for $5,200 line of credit. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 08, 2019

It say I got a fair chance to get approve credit low 600 all on time payment 3 inquiries

 
Dec 25, 2018
Horrible Customer Service
cclusetti Cardholder

I've had a sapphire preferred for 8 months and tried to upgrade to a sapphire reserved. Even thou I have a checking account and mortgage with Chase, they said I had to wait a year and that those are "all different products" so it doesn't matter. They do nothing to put loyal customers first. Pathetic. I plan to move my mortgage to a different bank as soon as interest rates are more favourable due to their poor customer experience.

more ...
Dec 27, 2018

It's federal law that you can't product change within 1 year of opening the account.

 
Dec 29, 2018

I'm sure they had their reasons, just having accounts with them doesn't entitle you to anything. Don't be spoiled, be patient, I'm sure your credit is better than mine, but I got the card, and I only have checking with them. No direct deposits, but lots of transfers in.

They have credit card rules that others don't, just getting the preferred was awesome. They also want you to use it the way it was designed. Didn't know the 1 year rule was law though.

 
Dec 29, 2018

Part of that federal law doesn’t allow banks to raise or lower your annual fee within the first year. This is why you can’t upgrade to the reserve or downgrade to a Freedom or Freedom Unlimited card. Once you’ve had it open more than a year, call them. They’ll switch it to any Ultimate Rewards card you want.

 
Dec 19, 2018
Great Card
amb52 Cardholder

The Sapphire is a great card and the points can really add up, include that in the sign up bonus and first year you are grabbing a significant amount of points for daily spends.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

106 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i