Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
94 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.49% - 24.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.49% - 24.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 03, 2019
mattballew Cardholder

This is my daily use card. Got it with a 640 credit score with a $6,600 limit. Only problem with the card is if I make a payment of $1,000 or more at once they flag the payment and it takes about 7 days to go on to my available balance. Easy fix is make 2x $500 payments.. 

card is metal! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 01, 2019
Decent Card. Beware of Chase though.
smonkey12 Cardholder

This was one of my first cards as an adult. I had it for a good 6 years or so with a 20k limit. I used it pretty regularly for awhile but then moved to a different card and carried a zero balance on this one. One day Credit Karma tells me that one of my accounts had been closed. I figured out it was this credit card. I called Chase to see why in the world they just cancelled my card for no reason. I was told it was becasue of inactivity even with a 95 dollar annual fee. They would not reopen the account for me. They said I could reapply.. WOOHOO. thanks! This cancellation had a relatively significant effect on my score with this being one of my oldest cards, not to mention the 20k reduction in available credit. The fact that they wouldn't reopen the account which was in perfectly good standing, and the fact that they "notified" me they were closing it by sending another piece of junk mail really left a bad taste in my mouth. I'll never open another Chase card again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 09, 2019
Main Daily Use Card
IndyJeepMan Cardholder

I've had this card since 2014 - this is the card my wife and use daily (Charge $60k-$70k a year on it and PIF monthly so interest rate is no concern).  The rewards are solid, and due to our use I make more off the card in rewards use than the annual fee, so it's worth it.  I would NOT recomend having more than 1 card with an annual fee unless your charge rewards outweigh the fee, which is hard to do across mult fee cards.

Initial CL approved was $29k

more ...
Dec 04, 2019
Shoot your shot
ABayyy345 Cardholder

HiII! 

So, I tbjnk Chase should be paying me a monthly endorsement fee at this point because I am recommending this card to folx on a daily basis! I loveee this card and I'm so happy with the benefits. 
Back story: I started my credit journey late 2018 by cutting up my credit cards and using the SELF lender app where I saw I huge change in my credit score. In November I had a score of 530, by April I had a 610 then in September I finally hit 700 (woot woot). This was a combination of keeping my credit utilization below 30, sometimes 20%, making my payments on time and taking advantage of credit line increases from other credit cards. When I started my journey, I knew that this was the credit card that I was going to apply for so in June, I went ahead and applied... and I got approved for $5400!!! At the time my score was no more than 650 TU and 630 ish EQU. 

I was able to get the 60,000 point bonus by spending $4000 within the first month of owning this card which was so awesome (60,000 points was worth $800+ in travel or $650 in cash back, still haven't decided which I'll accept)!!! Fast forward to Dec 1st, after having this card for only 5 months, my credit line jumped to $10,400!!!! Funny enough, they didn't even notify me of this change, I saw it via credit karma but I was still very thrilled! I called Chase to assure that it was accurate and the customer service rep explained that since I spend about $400-500 per month on the card and pay off $350-400 by the next statement closing date consecutively, the bank saw no issue with increasing my balance within those few short months!!! 

Back in October I got my 60,000 points but in order for me to do so I had to make a big purchase because I hadn't used the card all month so I paid off my iphone 8plus, purchased the iPhone 11 p max, and accessories which came out to be around $600, by November's statement, I had paid back $550 of these dollars back. Explaining these purchases is just to give examples of how I pay my cc bill so that you can get the idea of how I got this swift credit line increase. 

I think that this card is so awesome and I always recommend my friends and family to apply because the additional $8,000 credit limit is usually untouched but nice to have ICE. 

Good luck to everyone on their credit journey, thumbs up to Chase for this card. 

FYI: approval odds stated "fair" when I applied so I was skeptical but went for it anyways☺️

more ...
Nov 30, 2019
EXCELLENT!!

I received the green "Already Approved" message in the Chase App with a CL of 6500. Applied on the 14th if November, Had it rushed shipped and received it on the 18th for my birthday the day before I flew out to Jamaica. Perfect timing!

more ...
Nov 29, 2019
740 TU with approx 2 yrs credit history
megansidd99 Cardholder

I was a little concerned I would get declined for this card due to my length of credit history. My average history is less than 2 years (I'm 20 yrs old) and between my two main credit cards I have only a $3,900 limit. I do have a higher income than I used to ($70,000) which may have boosted my odds. I was instantly approved with a $8,400 limit. Credit Karma gave me a "very good" rating and also a "fair" rating to be accepted by Chase. I would say if you have a credit score over 700, do some research on Google and then go for it. I experimented with the credit card simulator on Credit Karma and decided to take a chance. I'm glad I did! The benefits are amazing with this card, not to mention the sign up bonus.

more ...
Nov 23, 2019
Great travel card
woshields Cardholder

Easy application process, I applied for this card a little over a year ago and was instantly approved for $16,900 with a credit score of roughly 710.  I like that this card allows me to redeem points for 25% extra if I book through Chase's travel website; additionally, I can also transfer points between my credit cards, so I can use my Chase Freedom card to accumulate 5% cash back on various things and transfer the points to this card to redeem some great deals on flights, etc.  

I would highly recommend this credit card to redeem points for miles -- especially if you can partner it with another Chase credit card.  

more ...
Nov 19, 2019
Approved!
MegaMoney7 Cardholder

26 years old. $25k income. TU 799. Approved for $7,400 CL. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 19, 2019

First CC with Chase.

 
Nov 12, 2019
Enjoying it!
MrDebonair1914 Cardholder

I have owned this card for 3 months now and have enjoyed stacking the points to use for traveling for our honeymoon. I racked up the 60,000 points pretty quick and today without request or notification I received a automatic credit line increase. Lastly, the website and app are very user friendly when it comes to making payments, making purchases with stores to collect 2x-5x the points and setting travel notifications without contacting customer service. 

more ...
Nov 16, 2019

what do you have to spend to accumulate 60K points? sounds like a lot.

 
Nov 17, 2019

Spend $4,000 in 3 months to receive 60K.

 
Nov 07, 2019
Buenos puntos!
Neltez Cardholder

Buenas recompensas, ofertas, fácil de acumular puntos y millas. Me ayudó a subir mi puntaje crediticio. Fácil uso de la aplicación, para hacer pagos y verificar transacciones. 

more ...
Nov 07, 2019
Worst card ever!
Nikked2000 Cardholder

Applied for this card... got approved for this card. Started using the card. Then all off a sudden wake up one morning and they closed my account!! NO WARNING.. NO EMAIL..NO TEXT..NO NOTICE.
reason?
We saw delinquency in your past credit history????!!!
What the hell?
I am so glad that I was not overseas or on vacation and relied on this credit card.

more ...
Nov 15, 2019

they just did this crap to me, applied on nov 6 for sapphire preferred got approved 2 days later they called and said approved for 10,500. waited for card, and got it today to find out it was canceled in transit. what the heck??? I can easily apply for tons of credit and have this bank is a joke....

 
Nov 18, 2019

Same happened to me. *******s

 
Dec 01, 2019

What is the valid reasoning that they are giving for doing this?

 
Oct 27, 2019
Beware of the fine print fees
Ragsley Cardholder

Unlike other cards, Chase uses cash advance to pull their interest charges.  This pushes the overall cost of this card to an exorbitant level.

more ...
Oct 30, 2019

Most credit cards have very unfavorable terms for cash advances, and I believe most people would advise never to do that unless there's some dire emergency. Also most of the "Rewards" type cards have terrible interest rates, and the only *correct* (from the customer's point of view) way to use these cards is to *never ever* carry a balance. As much as I love these rewards type cards, I also think of them as potential financial hand-grenades: don't pull the pin! :-)

 
Nov 24, 2019

Good info. TY.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

94 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i