Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
114 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.99% - 23.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.99% - 23.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 17, 2017
Approved. My story
kc10er Cardholder

I have done your research for you. To the tune of 6 hours straight comparing two cards I thought were the best long term rewards for travel.

The Amex Everyday Premier card was my other close choice as it offers 3x points on grocery (no Wal-mart or superstores included), 2x points on gas, and 1x on all others. But, it's an Amex and has international fees and not AS widely accepted as Visa. I decided that even though I will get less points per swipe with the Chase card, I can use it anywhere and have no hidden fees or restrictions (both had the same annual fee). Amex likes to add that little  "limitations apply" star so you never know if you will have a participating merchant or not with Amex.

Next I looked at which airlines I could use the rewards. Amex has restrictions (as well as a fee capped at $99.00) for transferring points to airline miles and some are not a 1:1 ratio. For domestic flights you are limited to Delta and British Air essentially (with Virgin Atlantic and Hawaiian as skim options) for domestic flights. All other carriers with Amextravel specialize more in international flights. Chase allows use (and points transfers at 1:1) to United, Southwest, Virgin, and British Airways (which you can book American Airline flights on). Most of my discount ticket searches came up AA or United for domestic flights. So I leaned towards Chase. 

Next, I looked at hotels and cruises. Again, Chase came out on top with the partners they allow points to be used with such at Hyatt, Merriott and all IHG partners. Not that the Amex card was bad, it just didn't fit my typical travel carriers as all they offer is Hilton and Starwood. 

Now let's move to the shopping. Chase wins "hands down" on the shopping partners. The list is too extensive to name here, but most will be happy to know that once you put your Chase card into Amazon, it will link your points to Amazon and you can use them for direct checkout on Amazon's site (just like Discover card). Amex fell short by not offering any online shopping partners and specializing more on classy event discounts like the Kentucky Derby, etc.

So, let's get to the approval. CK said I had very good odds of approval with a 730 score on TU and a 732 on EF. I ran my Experian score for $1 on their site and came back with a 726. I ran my Fico on the Discover card app and it came back as a 696. Remember, a true Fico is not the same as your credit score and some lenders use a Fico instead of one credit reporting agency. While I was nervous about the Fico, I know through research that Chase pulls an Experian only report (my email alert confirmed that after the application was approved) so I applied. Keep in mind I have excellent payment history and 22 total accounts on my report so that might have something to do with the approval, I am just telling my story so you can compare your situation if you are nervous about applying. The application was simple (click the "apply now" on CK and it takes you to Chase). A few basic info things like address and phone and I was instantly approved for $13,300. Card in the mail.

I would like Chase to offer better 2x and or 3x daily rewards, but they have specials here and there from 5x up to 25x, so you need to check their site frequently and be savy. All in all, I think I will be happy and only time and redemption of points will tell if I made the right choice. Don't forget to search online for how to transfer points from Chase to airline miles, as this will bump the rewards percentage and really save you some points and cash!

In case you scrolled to the bottom here are my stats for comparison:

Approved for $13,300.

Trans Union: 730

Equifax: 732

Experian: 726

Fico: 696

Annual income: 63k

Total debt on report: 101k

Number of accounts: 22

Credit card utilization: 2% (4 cards) and I HIGHLY suggest paying off cards below 10% before applying for a high end card. CC companies REALLY look at that.

Deliquencies: 0

Derogitory marks: 1 tax lein from 2009 (paid off)

Oldest open account: 3 yrs

Average account age: 1.7 yrs

Hope this helps a bit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 14, 2017
I lost all my points without warning!
Sandy77777 Cardholder

I wanted to give people a heads up concerning a problem I ran into with Chase.  I had a Chase Sapphire Preferred card with a large point balance.  I decided to upgrade to the Chase Sapphire Reserve card with a bigger annual fee but more perks and faster point accumulation.  However, when I closed the first Chase card I did not specifically ask for the points to be transferred to the new card nor did the Chase representative say anything about it.  The points continued to be listed in my statements and online.  Then when I went online to use the points I got an error that said to call Chase.  When I called Chase I found out that ALL MY POINTS WERE GONE DESPITE THE POINTS SHOWING AVAILABLE ONLINE.   The representative was very nice about it and put in a request to reinstate the points, but the “back office” denied it.  At no point was I given any warning.  So much for Chase Customer service!  I was devastated, there were enough points to take my whole family on an international trip. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 17, 2017
Accepted with a CK good rating.
valdezmark1 Cardholder

easy process approved for $7000 Trans 710 Experian 740 .

more ...
Nov 17, 2017
Approved, somehow.
D671 Cardholder

So I've tried and failed twice for this card. It has long been a goal of mine, since taking an interest in credit.

I am relatively new to the field at less than 5 years of history. I currently have a Discover IT card ($1000), a Chase Amazon Prime Rewards Visa Signature ($2000) and a recently approved Amex Premier Rewards Gold. I had one late payment on a loan a year back and it was truly devastating to my credit. The Gold card was aquired but a month ago and I'd also been approved for an $8500 loan a week after.

My scores settled at CK's TU678 and EQ669 with FICO EX678. My UTI was around 30% at time of applying, and climbed to 40% shortly after (Christmas has me really stretching).

I applied with a "I have zero EX inquiries, so meh, why not" attitude. I got the 30day message and was meh about it as well. Received the letter asking for verification and was approved over the phone for $5000. I earn $30K at 24yo so it can't be helped.

I'm simply surprised I was approved after twice being denied with an average 740 score, no late payments, low credit lines, a higher salary and no credit utilization. I'm not certain why I was approved, but I surely won't complain. I can't say I'm with the big boys yet, but hey, I'm getting somewhere.

Good luck for people with similar profiles. It seems we can make it, too.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 19, 2017

My situation is similar to you. Thanks for sharing, now I'm inspired to apply :D

 
Nov 12, 2017
Membership fee is too high
Brigitte69 Cardholder

I would have given it 5stars. However, their yrly membership fee is too high in my opinion. Also interest apt is tooooooo high

more ...
Nov 10, 2017
Amazing Card with great cashback!
Rhydham Cardholder

I was using Discover Credit Card for like 2 years when my friend suggested me to get Chase Sapphire Credit Card. Now, the good thing is if one spends 4000$ in first 3 months, they will get 625$ cashback which they can redeem for travel or 500$ is they want it to cash it out. Whether it is a gas station or a restaurant, one can get a great cashback so in like 6 months, I got the cashback of around 980$ which I use to buy gift cards. Now the cool thing is by spending 20$ cashback bonus, I can get 25$ gift card for few outlets. This is how I shop these days!. 

Use my referral link posted here if you want to Earn 50,000 bonus points with Chase Sapphire Preferred to enjoy the exciting benefits. 

https://www.referyourchasecard.com/6/40FVOZ2YYP

Enjoyyyyy!

more ...
Nov 09, 2017
Best Card I've Had
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for nearly two years.  The travel redemption is very easy on the Chase website.  The sign up bonus is impressive too.  Feel free to use my link below for 50,000 bonus points or $625 in travel rewards.  https://www.referyourchasecard.com/6/K34RY2CDU4

more ...
Nov 01, 2017
I was was approved with 7/24 new cards
Goodman247 Cardholder

For the past 2-3 months, I have noticed that I have the CSP offer on my chase online account. Initially I thought that I was going to be denied since I have 7 new credits within 24 months but I later I decided to bite the bullet. I was surprisinly  approved with SL of $5,000. My fico score TU was 735.

more ...
Oct 29, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Great for travel and great features

more ...
Oct 25, 2017
THANK YOU CHA$E 19K!!

Thank you chase. 745's across all bureaus. 100% payment history, AAOA 1YR, BEST CARD I OWN (4) HIGHEST LIMIT BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE. Wasnt instantly approved, told wait 30 days received call 3-4 days later. Answered few security questions instantly approved. 

more ...
Oct 15, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

 Excellent crowd of excellent service thank you Chase 

more ...
Oct 14, 2017
Great card
westside0097 Cardholder

I have this card for a year and i was instantly approved for 36k my credi scores on all three credit bearueaus are in the mid 800's and this past week , since i use this card for evertyhhing and I was sent a special ofer for a increase when I logged onto my account and with no creit inquiry because Chase does require them for a increase if you request the increase yourself , so look for the offers and now my limit is 46k after one year . 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

114 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i