Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.8 out of 5 stars
146 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.49% - 23.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee Introductory Annual Fee of $0 the first year, then $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.49% - 23.49%* Variable

Our Take

The Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card is a travel rewards card aimed at excellent credit consumers.

What to Like

Cardholders get 2 points for every dollar spent on travel and restaurants, and 1 point for every other dollar spent on purchases. The Chase Ultimate Rewards program offers a 20% discount on travel purchases made using points. The card also has no foreign transaction fee and offers a 50,000 point bonus if you spend $4,000 in the first 3 months.

Look Out For

After the first year, there’s a $95 annual fee. There’s no intro APR for purchases or balance transfers.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 03, 2016
Got Approved!!!
Snickersmom1 Cardholder

I have been working on my credit for many years. I went from the high 500's to a current 794 fico score. I have no derogatory remarks on my credit report (all fell off over 7 years) and i pay all of my credit card balances every month. Only 1 inquiry on my credit report. I have a Capitol One secured card (1,000 CL) that i got 8 years ago and a Wells Frago (3yrs) credit card ($4500.00). It was finally time to look into getting a new credit card. Since i travel a lot I thought The Chase Sapphire Preferred would be the best choice. I did the pre-approval on line and completed the application. I was instantly approved for $12000 CL! I am loving this card so far! 

If you are trying to repair your credit please be patient! It took me long time to get the credit score I have now but the hard work paid off. When I was younger I was not taught how missing a payment or not paying a bill could follow you for so long. Don't buy anything you can't afford. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 24, 2016
I never applied for this card.
mj6194 Cardholder

I originally had the Chase Travel Plus card with 10.24% interest rate, no annual fee and $10,000 limit. I guess they decided to do away with that reward card in 2014 and I was switched to this on by Chase. Now I have a $95 annual fee and the rewards are less rewarding. When I noticed I has an annual fee Chase said I could apply for a different card without a fee. I have asked them to fix this and refund the $95, still waiting to hear back. If I had it to do all over again I would avoid business with Chase. Always having issues...not just with my Credit Card...My mortgage too.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 12, 2017
The best card you'll ever own
TalentedInk Cardholder

The best way to review this card is to say that there is not a single bad word I can say about this card. The customer service is fantastic and you don't have to suffer through an hour of automation all the while screaming "REPRESENTATIVE!" to reach a human being. What's in...wait somebody already took that. Get this card, now!

more ...
Jan 10, 2017
happy to get
Jsteph01 Cardholder

applied with 750/748 CK, 706 Equifax and was approved for 5k limit, currently have Delta AMEX gold with $3K limit and US Bank Secured card with $1900 limit. Going back 2 years my score was sub 600, but i managed the secured card well, got prequalified for the delta amex at a $1K limit one year ago, increased the limit to $3K after 6 months, and just got approved for this card last week. Have significant late payments on my history (including some 90/120s) mostly due to struggling with student loans and living on my own after graduating from college.  Evidence that time heals all wounds when it comes to your credit score

more ...
Jan 07, 2017
Higher than usual credit access
Fhel Cardholder

Had poor credit most of my life due to young mistakes, carried a high utilization balance up untill last month where I was able to pay the utilization down. Score went from below 600 to 639. used the Pre-Approval feature from credit karma and was qualified for this card, Chase Slate, and Chase Freedom. Went with this card based on the reviews and was immediately approved for 5k limit, no need to call in. Another win for my utilization. 

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
My wallet is complete!
SnootieBoo Cardholder

I apped for CSP because I wanted a card with good travel rewards. I didn't have a prequalified offer but I applied anyway. I received the 7-10 day message, so I called the reconsideration line. The lady I spoke with was nice and verified my new address and credit information. She approved me for $12,000. This was a great moment for me because my credit worthiness was finally rewarded with a higher initial limit. So far, customer service has been great, the app is easy to use & the Ultimate Rewards site helps you keep track of your points and informs you of other travel/hotel offers. I've come a long way,...FICO scores currently range 716-723. 

Quick back story...Just under 2 years ago my scores were around 580. I had to get serious about rebuilding because we wanted a new house. My spouse had excellent credit but mine kept us from getting our dream home. I won't go into great detail but you can check out my profile to see my card journey. I use my cards heavily and don't carry balances. I ask for CLI's all of the time. Most cards will be soft pulls (except CITI). My current cards/limits are CSP $12,000; AMEX Blue Cash $17,500, Discover $13,500, Cap One $9,500 & CITI Double Cash $7,000.

I added the latter to say, with patience, persistence & determination, you can have the type of credit that you want. I hope my story can help someone else. Good luck!🍀 

more ...
Jan 06, 2017

Congratulations to ya. :) I'm a proud holder of the Sapphire Preferred as well. Limit of 7k, FICO is 685 Experian, and am about to finish my sign-up bonus to get the 50,000 pts. (about to receive and start the sign-up bonus for a Blue Cash Preferred as well). The CSP is well worth the 95 dollar annual fee. Keep up the good work. :)

 
Jan 06, 2017

Thanks! Congrats to you as well!!!

 
Jan 09, 2017

Can u send me the number for reconsideration line ?

 
Jan 04, 2017
Just got it!
uhnie Cardholder

Credit Karma gave my chances as "FAIR", for this card for the first time. My previous odds were always "Poor". I went on Chase's website to seei if I could get pre-qualified, but was not. I decided to apply any way, with a TU score of 691. I applied and was given a 7-10 at message. I called the reconsideration line and spoke to an agent, and was on the phone with him for 20 minutes. He asked some questions about my BK, 6 years ago. He then stated he needed TU to add a phone number to my file. I went on TU's website and noticed my phone number was already there. I called back, and this time they could see my number was there. Asked repeat questions as the first agent did, then transferred me to someone else to verify my identity, with a text to my phone. Finally, APPROVED for 5k. I do have Chase United as well.

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
My Dream Card Came True!

I have been working diligently on my credit for over 13 months! I started with a CO Platinum $300 card. I would charge and pay balance in full and moved up to a second card with CO Quiksilver $500. I knew I wanted the CSP- kept focused, kept disciplined, and finally have it! Chase goes off more than your FICO score- they take into account your debt-to-income ratio, number of paid accounts, and salary/income. Going to take advantage of the 50,000 bonus points due to being an extensive traveler! You can do it too!

FICO- 661

CSP- $8K, JetBlue MC- $5K, Synchrony- $2.4K, CO Quiksilver- $2K, CO Platinum- $1.5K, CF- $500, Credit One- $450, Milestone- $300

more ...
Dec 29, 2016
Perfect card for travel
CalBears11 Cardholder

I just recently was approved for this card with a credit score of 735 from Credit Karma and was instantly approved with a 15k limit. Can't wait to start using this. 

more ...
Dec 14, 2016
Awesome card!!!
quicksilver895 Cardholder

Been rebuilding credit for about 6 months now. Started in the upper 500's and when I applied for this card I had TU730 and EX709. I am also a stay at home mom and was reporting household income. I have a few dings from medical bills going to collections, no late payments, and 18% utilization. Hope this is able to help out others in a similar situation!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 16, 2016

Youve helped no one. You didnt state your credit limit.

 
Dec 07, 2016
Benefits are good
KajiAtsushi Cardholder

The benefits of the cards are valid as advertised.

What's not advertised is it's fast and good customer service.

I had a credit score of 704, Have only been building my credit for about 11 months now. Got 4 other credit cards prior to this one.

They didn't approve me right off the bat. I called in, they needed some verification info. I was then approved with 5k CL. Expedited my a nice weighty strong feeling card to me. (Metal on the inside)

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

146 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i