Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.8 out of 5 stars
143 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.49% - 23.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.49% - 23.49%* Variable

Our Take

The Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card is a travel rewards card aimed at excellent credit consumers.

What to Like

Cardholders get 2 points for every dollar spent on travel and restaurants, and 1 point for every other dollar spent on purchases. The Chase Ultimate Rewards program offers a 20% discount on travel purchases made using points. The card also has no foreign transaction fee and offers a 50,000 point bonus if you spend $4,000 in the first 3 months.

Look Out For

After the first year, there’s a $95 annual fee. There’s no intro APR for purchases or balance transfers.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 17, 2017
Approved. My story
kc10er Cardholder

I have done your research for you. To the tune of 6 hours straight comparing two cards I thought were the best long term rewards for travel.

The Amex Everyday Premier card was my other close choice as it offers 3x points on grocery (no Wal-mart or superstores included), 2x points on gas, and 1x on all others. But, it's an Amex and has international fees and not AS widely accepted as Visa. I decided that even though I will get less points per swipe with the Chase card, I can use it anywhere and have no hidden fees or restrictions (both had the same annual fee). Amex likes to add that little  "limitations apply" star so you never know if you will have a participating merchant or not with Amex.

Next I looked at which airlines I could use the rewards. Amex has restrictions (as well as a fee capped at $99.00) for transferring points to airline miles and some are not a 1:1 ratio. For domestic flights you are limited to Delta and British Air essentially (with Virgin Atlantic and Hawaiian as skim options) for domestic flights. All other carriers with Amextravel specialize more in international flights. Chase allows use (and points transfers at 1:1) to United, Southwest, Virgin, and British Airways (which you can book American Airline flights on). Most of my discount ticket searches came up AA or United for domestic flights. So I leaned towards Chase. 

Next, I looked at hotels and cruises. Again, Chase came out on top with the partners they allow points to be used with such at Hyatt, Merriott and all IHG partners. Not that the Amex card was bad, it just didn't fit my typical travel carriers as all they offer is Hilton and Starwood. 

Now let's move to the shopping. Chase wins "hands down" on the shopping partners. The list is too extensive to name here, but most will be happy to know that once you put your Chase card into Amazon, it will link your points to Amazon and you can use them for direct checkout on Amazon's site (just like Discover card). Amex fell short by not offering any online shopping partners and specializing more on classy event discounts like the Kentucky Derby, etc.

So, let's get to the approval. CK said I had very good odds of approval with a 730 score on TU and a 732 on EF. I ran my Experian score for $1 on their site and came back with a 726. I ran my Fico on the Discover card app and it came back as a 696. Remember, a true Fico is not the same as your credit score and some lenders use a Fico instead of one credit reporting agency. While I was nervous about the Fico, I know through research that Chase pulls an Experian only report (my email alert confirmed that after the application was approved) so I applied. Keep in mind I have excellent payment history and 22 total accounts on my report so that might have something to do with the approval, I am just telling my story so you can compare your situation if you are nervous about applying. The application was simple (click the "apply now" on CK and it takes you to Chase). A few basic info things like address and phone and I was instantly approved for $13,300. Card in the mail.

I would like Chase to offer better 2x and or 3x daily rewards, but they have specials here and there from 5x up to 25x, so you need to check their site frequently and be savy. All in all, I think I will be happy and only time and redemption of points will tell if I made the right choice. Don't forget to search online for how to transfer points from Chase to airline miles, as this will bump the rewards percentage and really save you some points and cash!

In case you scrolled to the bottom here are my stats for comparison:

Approved for $13,300.

Trans Union: 730

Equifax: 732

Experian: 726

Fico: 696

Annual income: 63k

Total debt on report: 101k

Number of accounts: 22

Credit card utilization: 2% (4 cards) and I HIGHLY suggest paying off cards below 10% before applying for a high end card. CC companies REALLY look at that.

Deliquencies: 0

Derogitory marks: 1 tax lein from 2009 (paid off)

Oldest open account: 3 yrs

Average account age: 1.7 yrs

Hope this helps a bit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 22, 2016
evoracer69 Cardholder

Applied online and had to wait a few days to figure what was going on. Called in got denied because I wss over there 5/24 rule.. Got a pretty qualified offer in the mail applied again instantly approved online with 12k limit. So far so good. Ef-750 tu-755

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 29, 2017
Nice Premium Card
princevegeta7 Cardholder

I aplied last year with a credit score of 740 and I had to wait to submit the address proof. After 3 days, I got approved for 10,000$ CL. Love this card, use it for travelling, buying expensive electronics etc. If combined with Chase Freedom, they give the best rewards. Using both of them together now and I transfer points after a while. Be polite on reconsideration line and they will approve you.

more ...
Mar 27, 2017
Nice perks nice rewards for traveling.
Kiefer1996 Cardholder

Just got approved for $19,000 unlimited credit line. Four years ago my credit was below 600 when I started my business. I also have a Chase freedom for $7000 I also have the Chase late for $2000. Today my credit score is over 750. I have a Amex preferred card as well as a Capital One and the city double cash. Four years ago I started a secured card with Wells Fargo which now has $8000. Every time I had some extra money I put it on that card. I raised my credit score over 200 points in four years. Anybody can do this if you're willing to bust your butt to get there. I have only been a customer for Chase for six months. The best thing that I can tell anybody building credit every time your statement comes out try to have to balance shows zero for a minimum payment and always keep it below 30%. 

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
best sign up bonus!
Anonymous Cardholder

curently this is my go to card for all purcheses 

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Great Card
lovelypen52 Cardholder

I was told by CK that I had fair chance of getting this card, I got it with a 729/738/700 credit score, my credit utilization at the time was less than 5% . I love this card and with my 50000 points I was able to fly first round trip ticket home and paid 16.72 out my pocket. Its a great card, and I pay it off monthly. My limit was 6000.00. The people at Chase has awesome customer service., very friendly, professional and helpful, answered any questions I had. I took a chance and applied and it paid off.

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Just got it but the terms look great
Nightforce Cardholder

I got this card because I am treveling out of the country this fall. I have not used it yet so I cant say much about it. I have several accounts with CHASE and other cards and have always been treated great. With a 780 score I was dissappointed that my limit was set at only $5000.00 though, I expect at least twice that.

more ...
Mar 09, 2017
Got Approved With 623 Experian Credit Sc

Yesterday, March 7th, 2017 I completed the Pre-qualification on the Chase website prior to applying and was pre-approved for 4 cards: this one, slate, unlimited, and freedom cards. I did research on all and discovered that the Sapphire is a highly sought after card due to the high lines of credit that people can receive. Now. My credit is fair at best. Equifax has me at 603 and Transunion has been at 620. Just last year in November my credit score had reached the lowest ever at 532. But at the beginning of 2017 I started paying off small collections that I'd carelessly neglected over that past year or so. ($490, $72, $256, $262, etc) Mind you, 90% of these collections came from past hospital bills that I had accrued from a surgery I had back in 2014. Never paid them. Learned the hard way that hospitals WILL SEND YOU TO COLLECTIONS! Anyway, after a month or so after I paid all of these off (around Feb 2017) my credit score started to rise steadily every 7 days on Credit Karma (I check religiously). I became more and more excited as better credit cards were being offered to me with better approval odds. I also paid off all of my FIVE credit cards down to a zero balance. They all have small credit limits (one $200 credit limit from OpenSky, one $300 credit limit from Capital One, one $450 credit limit from CreditOneBank, and two $500 credit limit also from Capital One. ) All of these had been previously maxed out and some even OVER the credit limit due to late payment fees being tacked on. I recented paid off my car also. Beginning of March I checked my CS and it showed 620. I thought "what the hell" and talked myself into applying after I saw that I was Pre-Approved. Read the terms and conditions of the card and saw that this card has a MINIMUM credit limit of $5000.00 I was shocked. I knew that I would NEVER get approved for this much!!! But something in me kept telling me to apply and I did. All while I was waiting to see if my application was approved (a total of about 30 seconds) I had convinced myself that I had just made the stupidest decision ever by applying for this card. I just KNEW I was about to take a hard credit inquiry hit to my now fairly decent credit score for nothing. BUT!!! I WAS APPROVED! FOR $5000.00 !!! My largest credit line to date! I couldn't believe it!!!!! But I read it twice just to be sure and YEP I was approved in less than a minute. So, I said all of this to say: Try the Pre-qualified feature FIRST before applying and you won't go wrong. My card is in the mail on its way to me as I type this. This approval instantly shot my Experian CS up 48 points upon my approval. (I got an email notification from Experian telling me so that same night!) I now have FAIR CREDIT. May not be much to you but it is to me after rising from the Credit Score Slums!!! Pay off old debts. Lower your credit utilization to under 10% and pay your cards on time. Within 2 to 3 months you can have decent credit too! It's possible. Just be responsible and pay your bills folks. Simple as that. Good luck!!!!!

more ...
Mar 13, 2017

Thank you for sharing! It feels so amazing to get approved like this!! I'm loving Chase!

 
Mar 14, 2017

That's awesome brother. Great job!!!

 
Mar 14, 2017

Congratulations, KayDee! :) You're gonna love this card! I just recently received the 50,000 point sign-up bonus and that's going to be banked for my future honeymoon. The metal card is really cool, and makes it more durable. Great story and best of luck to you on your journey! :)

 
Mar 04, 2017
Very Excited
BMACK750 Cardholder

I currently have the Chase Freedom, Chase Freedom Unlimited and Chase Slate cards with credit lines ranging from $3200-$5500. I opened a Chase checking and savings last year when I received my 1st chase credit card. Since then I've opened up 2 highschool checking accounts for my kids. My Fico scores are 696 Equifax , 681 TransUnion & 682 Experian. My Credit Karma scores are 744 Equifax & 738 TransUnion. I was notified by Chase that they had selected me for the Sapphire card offer a few months ago. The offer kept popping up everytime I logged into my online Chase account. I finally accepted the offer last week by providing my income and was approved instantly for $19k. I now have every Chase credit card I could possibly want as well as Amex Everyday, Discover IT and Capital One Quicksilver cards. A year and a half ago I had a credit score in the mid 500's with no credit cards. I've worked really hard paying off debt and disputing inaccuracies on my credit reports over the last year and a half. I pay all my bills ontime and try to pay my credit cards off in full each month and keep my credit utilization below 3%. Can't wait to get my new card and start combining my Ultimate Rewards points from my other Chase Cards.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 22, 2017

Awesome! Congratulations!! Please let us know how much you like this card. That's going to be my next Credit Card! I would like to open up a Checking and Savings Acct with Chase; however I don't want them to pull my credit again yet; because I was just approved for the Chase Freedom Unlimited last week, so I think I should wait about 2 to 3 months before I go into the branch. Another card I am looking to get this year is the Chase Sapphire Reserve Card. That card is full of great travel benefits!! Congrats again!!

 
Mar 02, 2017
Went into bank,
Anonymous Cardholder

Went into the back, 9k later thanks Chase 

more ...
Feb 28, 2017
Just approved
themdash1 Cardholder

I was just approved for this card @$5k with an approx credit score of 670. Approval odds = FAIR. I received a PENDING APPROVAL and waited 4 days then decided to call their reconsideration dept. After being transferred to verification dept they approved me. 

more ...
Feb 27, 2017
Easy Instant Approval
Albowwow Cardholder

735 score Retired, limited income approved instantly  for $5k only issue is the annual fee after 1st Year

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

143 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i