Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
97 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 18.24% - 25.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 18.24% - 25.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 18, 2019
Excellent card
bhfowler88 Cardholder

CK had approval odds at fair, decided to apply anyway and was instantly approved for $5100. CK scores were 625 and 629. They sent FICO credit score with my card and it showed 668. Great card, great cl and online application and instant decision were so fast and easy! Highly recommend. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 14, 2019
Be careful! Rewards is with Third Party.
HuaMengLi Cardholder

According to a Chase representative, Chase Travel is handled by a third party. "Chase Travel is not really Chase" - Chase representative. They do not accept and correct their mistakes, instead they push the responsibility onto others. I lost over $2000 because of Chase. I booked 2 round-trip tickets through Chase Travel. There were issues with my flight, so I called Chase Travel for a solution. The representative offered and cancelled my entire flight and said that I have airline credit for those 2 tickets. Chase Travel sent me a "Cancelled Flight Credit Voucher" containing my airline credit amount, confirmation code, and itinerary number. However, when I tried to book, I could not use those credits. From then on, I spent 5 additional days in another country and over 200USD worth in phone bills from calling Chase. The following are the outcomes/responses/actions that occurred during those 20+ hours of phone calls: Chase would tell me that my airline credit is with the airline, therefore I need to book directly through the airline. I called to book with the airline, but they told me that they had no record of my credit and that these credits should be handled by the third party (Chase Travel). I called Chase back, Chase calls the airline, and the result is that my credit wasn’t approved (?) even though I received an official email voucher. I tell Chase it was their decision to cancel my flight (my party asked for the best solution to the missed flight and this was what Chase provided) so the responsibility should be on them. Chase tells me they need to check their recordings and investigate the situation, I tell them to call me back when the investigation is done, they never call me back. I called a couple more times to look for an immediate solution and one representative said they can fly me home the next day for a flight costing 2000 - 4000USD. I hung up and called again, a different representative said there is no flight until 3 weeks later. I hung up and booked a separate flight home by myself and went to a Chase Branch for assistance. I was informed there is nothing they could do except to make a call to Chase Travel and file for Chase Escalations. So we called Chase Travel for 2+ hours at the office and was told that I had made a call to them on a date that I did not. Then, I was told that the airline credit should have been refunded. When I said it was not, the representative said it is in the process of being refunded. I told her to give me information to check on that, so she said she will contact the ticketing department and put me on hold. I asked her to call me back when she has the confirmation about the refund, but she never did. The escalation was then filed, but it was the same exact thing that had been happening over my 20+ hours of phone call - they told me to contact the airline. I called the airline again because Chase Escalation’s representative was giving me attitude for not checking again, but the result was the same – the airline had no record. I called Chase Escalation to give them the update and now they are ignoring my calls. Before the escalations, there was also no record of my case. I had asked about call-back numbers, case numbers, names, but Chase would tell me there is none of that. I cannot contact them to follow-up. It has been over a month and this issue is still unsolved. Chase is great if there are no issues, but if there is… good luck.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 17, 2019
I have never had any issues with it
xxnights Cardholder

You may have to call in to push the application through. As far as transactions I have never had an issue it has been great so far ! 

more ...
Jul 11, 2019
Wait for it...worth it!
Northmanmn Cardholder

So, CK gave me a good chance on this card. I have a 706 and a 689 credit score.  Application process was so simple, and was approved immediately for a $9000 credit limit.  Had to call customer service and they picked up right away, and unbelievably helpful.  Definitely recommend this card!! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 17, 2019

Enter Your Reply

 
Jul 08, 2019
Easy approval with decent credit score
Denver0728 Cardholder

I already have the Chase Southwest card, and was looking for another card with travel perks. I received instant approval for $8400 with a TU score at 710 and Experian at 715.  Cant beat the 60,000 bonus points!

more ...
Jun 23, 2019
Decent Credit Limit
K3v1nQ Cardholder

Just got approved last week for $19K CL w/ CS of 794. Easy application process - just in time for my annual vacation in August. Thanks Chase

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 05, 2019

What were the circumstances that helped you get a 19k before limit? Other than your FICO score.

 
Jun 18, 2019
So far so good
aj0423 Cardholder

My vantage score TU 699 EQ 697. FICO EX 651 EQ 678 TU 636. For 6 months score was in the 500's. Paid all my balance and disputed things on my report got remove removed. I applied on June June 9th got the message that my application is under review we would let you know as soon as possible no amount of days..June 10 they will let me know in 30 days. June 11th 7-10 days. spoke to a live agent . They assured of I applied for the card I said yes, aren't sent me me a six digit code I verified the code. I was approved for 5K asked to expedite June 13th the card arrived.

more ...
Jun 14, 2019
lenygorine Cardholder

672 TU 619 EQ 623 EX (with 2 collection on EX EQ) and no other chase accounts. Only other card is secured $300 via Wells Fargo and received an instant approval for $8600. Credit Karma listed approval odds as “Good”, not sure why as my credit is trash. Called to have it expediated 2 business days. Good stuff. Just apply.

more ...
Jun 07, 2019
Great card, great rewards, no BS
seabeard Cardholder

Got approved for $5k at a 670 average.  Had the card to years and received two limit bumps and my limit is $28,000 now and scores in the low 700s.  Cash back is great, and always buys random dinners.  I recommend for anyone moving up from a "starter card" and into a real bank with real credit opportunities.

I liked it so much I got a Chase Freedom card shortly after I got this one.  Great stuff.

more ...
Jun 06, 2019
Beware of being approved!
Cantbeat24 Cardholder

I applied and got approved for $6300 credit limit. Got the card in the mail, activated it. Got some more brochures a few days later. Before I even used the card, they closed the account. What? Then got an email saying that I had too many inquiries. I only have 3 and 1 was theirs. The other 2 were from a year ago. Will never do business with Chase in fear of them closing the account and being denied at the register.

more ...
Jun 13, 2019

I applied for a card because on credit karma that had an offer for 0 percent interest for 15 months on a balance transfer. Then after I got a approved, it read differently. Somehow, the application process got messed up and I was approved for this card instead. I would never apply for this card because it doesn’t offer balance transfers and there’s a $95 annual fee. The card I applied for had no annual fee. The customer service is disgusting. They are condescending and they insist it’s your mistake. I spoke to two supervisors, Uvia and Matthew and they were disgraceful.

 
Jun 18, 2019

Thank you for the heads up !

 
Jun 18, 2019

5/24? Could be the reason

 
Jul 11, 2019

I was approved, and at the apple store the card was declined. I called and they said my account in under review, im waiting until tomorrow to see if this is what happened to me as well, if so, everyone will be hearing of this from me, EVERYONE! This is HORRIBLE!!!

 
Jun 05, 2019

First let me say, I received this card today so a full review is not yet possible. So far I'm impressed. The design (metal card) nice texture, and cool blue color. Now to the stuff people actually care about. My income 72k / yr, CK scores 642 TU, 646 EQ, fair approval odds before applying. CK shows EQ account was pulled. Instantly approved for $6200 CL sweet. Approval email confirmed card will be mailed 7-10 days. However called Chase to rush card. Received in 2 business days. I must say, I'm disappointed with CapOne and Discover. I currently have the Quick Silver, Quick Silver One, and Discover Secured CC's. CL limits are $600, $1250, and $300. I've had Quick Silver for 3 years and have NEVER missed a payment. The other 2 I've had about 16 months and NEVER missed payments on each. Carryover balances are below 29% or no balance each month but received very small credit increases or in Discover's case no increase nor graduated to unsecured card. Even though I've called them at least 5 times for this. Next call to Discover will be to cancel card and send my deposit back. If you're stuck in one of these type cards it may be time to move on even with just "Fair" approval odds. I hope this review has helped someone because reviews have helped me. Keep them coming.

more ...
Jul 05, 2019

Funny have had the same issues with same companies. I've had that discover secured card for 2 years and have yet to graduate Cap One cards 500 limit going on about 2 years no increase. I got the Chase Saphirre card 2 months ago with a 5100 limit which I love

 
Jul 07, 2019

When I got my quicksilver card I was maxing out the initial $500 limit every other week & paying it off. When the 3 month review came they bumped it up to a $3500 limit & my annual income is only $15000. They have no reason to up your limit if you're not using it & they don't want it paid in full before they get their interest especially when you're getting rewards. Credit card companies aren't your pals they want those fees so they'll up that limit if you show you can max it out & pay it in full. No reason to cancel your other cards though since closed accounts hurt your score. Instead of closing set them up to auto pay a small bill then auto pay the card. Work the system don't let it work you ;)

 
Jul 15, 2019

I have Capital One Quicksilver card for over a year. Initial start of $300 then up to $500 after three consecutive payments on time. Yes, it is best to have your usage percentile less than 30% per month. I haven’t asked for a raise of my credit limit until now. As of July, I am at 1,500 credit limit. My credit score is 675. My credit report isn’t the best. But try to keep your cards open that way it won’t hurt your credit score

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

97 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i