Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
103 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.99% - 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.99% - 24.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 03, 2018
Quick approval. Excellent Service.
Yppec46 Cardholder

Applied for this with 758 TransUnion / 756 Equifax scores on CK. I got a notification that my application was under review, so I took another reviewer's advice (that I'd seen on here while researching) and called them the next day. Once I had an agent on the phone he simply picked my case from the automated system and set up the approval. I got a $7,000 limit right then. Relatively low for the average on here, but prior to this I only had one lower limit card on my record so, I can see the logic.

It was high-time I had a card with some clout, and this one has been very good to have so far. (It even just looks and feels cool!)

Once this card populated onto my credit record though, my credit shot up to 786/783 ... and I'm not at ALL mad at that!!  \,,,_

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 16, 2018
Issues in the UK
Gibral Cardholder

Ifthis card is designed for you to travel with then it is not fulfilling it's value. I went to UK and multiple areas in London, different parts of England, Wales and Ireland could not read the card. Places like McDonald's, Hamleys, etc. I'd say half of the retailers could not read it. Worst case was budget rent a car could not read it so I ended up having to use my debit card and having to pay extra ($250) for rental car insurance. Again, this should not happen if it is a card designed for travel that you have to pay $95 for.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 28, 2018
Instant approval
didionkh Cardholder

Five star for application and approval process. Been rebuilding for a while now, currently 650s increasing monthly. I applied because CK said I had good approval odds. About 30 second application process, approved for $12,500. The card is on the way so I haven't used it yet. It appears that to make the card worth while (points vs annual fee vs everything else) you have to spend at least $3500 a year plus you need to spend $4k in the first 3 months to receive the 50,000 point bonus. Not sure if I'll use this card enough to be worth it. If nothing else, I have another card with a decent limit in my wallet.

more ...
Dec 01, 2018

Is this CK credit scores or your fico score? Thanks in advance

 
Dec 03, 2018

Based on my CK scores. FICO score is always higher.

 
Nov 20, 2018
Great Account to Hold!
Dincau92 Cardholder

I have a relatively high limit on this card ($30,000+). I use this card for everything and pay it off every month. The customer service from this account is better than any other I have ever dealt with, you are always connected with a live person within the united states. They will bend over backwards to help you whether it is with a dispute, questions, etc. Also, points add up quickly and the Ultimate Rewards account you get with it is incredible and you can use your points for just about anything you can think of. Also, the card is metal and you will always get compliments on it!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 22, 2018

What's your income for a credit limit like that?

 
Nov 17, 2018
Awesome
SomewhereVA Cardholder

I applied for this card but had a fraud alert. Had to add a number for them to call. Had just got the discover it card and amex delta. Had about 5 inquiries in last 2 years. They say they have a rule about 2 cards in 24 months. FICO was about 685, 660, 690. Called in about 3 weeks later...the agent put me on hold to review...came back in 2 mins and said you are approved w $5000 limit. Got them to expedition 3 days.

5 months ago my score was below 600 lol...got a personal loan from lending club to pay off credit card and my score shot up like 80 points...I was a Merrick bank, capital one platinum card guy 6 months ago...Now I'm a discover, amex, Chase sapphire guy. Life is good. By the way when they sent my card, they met also send the credit score they pulled to qualify you...they pulled 654...still approved! Lol

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 07, 2018

Lol! Nice. I had exactly the same situation as you.
Was below 600 earleir this year. A Credit one, First Premeir Card holder. Got a personal loan from Egg plus, paid off most of debt and score jumped 80 points and currently above 700.
Now have Amex Blue, Chase sapphire and Citi Double cash. Now with over 25K of available Credit. I want that Discover it card and I’m set. Life is good.
Forget those quick fix credit score companies.
Other than paying off the debt if you have that ability, Personal loans are where it’s at to quickly raise your score if your only issue is maxed credit cards.

 
Nov 15, 2018
Chase is #1
champstar Cardholder

Not only did they approve me for the highest limit I've ever been extended, but Chase also lets you transfer/move limits between accounts.  So I was able to increase the limit even more in order to take advantage of the 0% promo and Ultimate Rewards.  Chase is #1 for customer service hands down.

more ...
Nov 11, 2018
Instant approval-Instant Cancellation
ouellette210 Cardholder

Easy instant approval and send me a big thick envolope with all the suppossed reat great benefits along with card. Then they cancel it before I can even activate the card. What the heck is wrong with this place. Why even send a card out. I got a hard pull on my credit for nothing. No reason given for this awful treatment. Stay the heck away from Chase.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 12, 2018

So ask for a reason then. Quit coming on here and logging in to different accounts just to leave multiple bad reviews. Yah, I see through the smoke and mirrors, buddy.

 
Nov 11, 2018
Chase treats you like dirt
SCHNOODLE3 Cardholder

Chase asked me to apply for this card from my Chase account web site, I have a 25 plus year relationship of of credit cards and bank accounts with Chase. They gave me instant approval, sent me the card 5 days latter, I logged in online a couple latter and the account is closed. No explanation, no letter sent. I'm done with you Chase. This is why you don't do business with Chase, expext to be treated like this.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 12, 2018

You should've called and been persistent until you got an answer as to why. The squeaky wheel gets the grease, yo.

 
Nov 10, 2018
Memmzz Cardholder

SUCKS they will approve you send you a card before you get a statement the card is turned off don’t apply stay away 

more ...
Nov 12, 2018

Dunno what you're talking about. They didn't do that to me.

 
Dec 03, 2018

I just had the same thing happen to me

 
Nov 07, 2018
Approved fast! Great card!
TBlanks11 Cardholder

I initially applied for the card and was not immediately approved. After about 6 days I received the message that I was approved with a $10,000 CL. I have a 755 credit score. I am excited about this card! 

more ...
Nov 05, 2018
Great rewards & Excellent Cust Service
Nashgatr Cardholder

Applied for this card back May and received an email saying the application was under review and I'd hear back in 30 days.  Credit Scores of 719 and 714, high incomes, no collections and low usage on only other card.  I waited a couple days, checked the reviews here and decided to call Chase.  They quickly advised I need to clarify a couple items on my application and once I did, I had an answer back in 2 days.  I then called and asked them to expedite and ship to an address in Europe so I could use it on my upcoming trap.  They gladly complied and the card arrived in 5 days, well before I did. Have loved using the card, never had it rejected or be unreadable and am building points rapidly.  Nothing but good things to say so far.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

103 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i