Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.8 out of 5 stars
148 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee Introductory Annual Fee of $0 the first year, then $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

The Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card is a travel rewards card aimed at excellent credit consumers.

What to Like

Cardholders get 2 points for every dollar spent on travel and restaurants, and 1 point for every other dollar spent on purchases. The Chase Ultimate Rewards program offers a 20% discount on travel purchases made using points. The card also has no foreign transaction fee and offers a 50,000 point bonus if you spend $4,000 in the first 3 months.

Look Out For

After the first year, there’s a $95 annual fee. There’s no intro APR for purchases or balance transfers.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 03, 2016
Got Approved!!!
Snickersmom1 Cardholder

I have been working on my credit for many years. I went from the high 500's to a current 794 fico score. I have no derogatory remarks on my credit report (all fell off over 7 years) and i pay all of my credit card balances every month. Only 1 inquiry on my credit report. I have a Capitol One secured card (1,000 CL) that i got 8 years ago and a Wells Frago (3yrs) credit card ($4500.00). It was finally time to look into getting a new credit card. Since i travel a lot I thought The Chase Sapphire Preferred would be the best choice. I did the pre-approval on line and completed the application. I was instantly approved for $12000 CL! I am loving this card so far! 

If you are trying to repair your credit please be patient! It took me long time to get the credit score I have now but the hard work paid off. When I was younger I was not taught how missing a payment or not paying a bill could follow you for so long. Don't buy anything you can't afford. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 24, 2016
I never applied for this card.
mj6194 Cardholder

I originally had the Chase Travel Plus card with 10.24% interest rate, no annual fee and $10,000 limit. I guess they decided to do away with that reward card in 2014 and I was switched to this on by Chase. Now I have a $95 annual fee and the rewards are less rewarding. When I noticed I has an annual fee Chase said I could apply for a different card without a fee. I have asked them to fix this and refund the $95, still waiting to hear back. If I had it to do all over again I would avoid business with Chase. Always having issues...not just with my Credit Card...My mortgage too.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 07, 2016
Benefits are good
KajiAtsushi Cardholder

The benefits of the cards are valid as advertised.

What's not advertised is it's fast and good customer service.

I had a credit score of 704, Have only been building my credit for about 11 months now. Got 4 other credit cards prior to this one.

They didn't approve me right off the bat. I called in, they needed some verification info. I was then approved with 5k CL. Expedited my a nice weighty strong feeling card to me. (Metal on the inside)

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
Love this card

The incentives are excellent for new users.  I signed up for the 50,000 bonus points when you spend 4,000 in the first 90 days (not hard to do.)  I didn't think I'd get approved, had a CK score of 682/689 and listed as a "Fair" approval odds.  Was approved a day later for $4,000.  I also do my personal banking with Chase, not sure if that influenced it in any way.  But I really love the perks with this card

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 08, 2016

Did the CK app warn you that your chances are low for approval because of your "fair" rating when you first applied?

 
Dec 02, 2016
Great rewards for travelers.
nbakings Cardholder

What a couple of years!!! In June of 2015 I had a 601 credit score, damaged credit from years of being an idiot, frankly, and no credit card. As most of my old debt finally fell off my credit report(statute of limitations) I got a Capital One secured card. $300 limit by my credit went down to 572 in Aug of 2015! I made 100% of my payments on time, received a limit boost to $50 and by the following May had a credit score of 618. Then decided I needed a far higher credit line to boost my credit so applied for and received an AMEX Blue Cash Rewards card with a 10K limit. Credit score shot up to 723 by Sept with again, 100% payments across the board and a low utilization rate. I then applied for a received a Chase Freedom Unlimited with a 7K limit. Still have 100% payments and although my credit took a bit of a hit with the hard inquiry it hasn't yet recovered from(just a few points) I decided I now have three cards but no travel card. That made little sense since I travel to Europe on average about every 12-15 months. So today I applied for appears to be one of the top travel cards available in Chase Sapphire Prefered and was immediately approved with a 9K limit. I'll add my wife to the account in a few weeks, together we'll hit the 4K in spending in the first three months and receive the 55K points. We'll also rack up some more point simply from using the card. But for anyone thinking they can't improve their credit, you can! If I can, anyone can. It's a game. Learn to play the game and you'll have success. 

So in June of 2015 I had a 601 credit score and zero credit cards. Today roughly 18 months later I have

Capital One- $500

AMEX-$10K

Chase Freedom Unlimited-$7K

Chase Sapphire Preferred-9K

Total available credit- $26.5K

more ...
Nov 27, 2016
Best All Around Travel Perks!
Anonymous Cardholder

Was approved in seconds for 6.5k with a FICO of 667. I have low utilization on my other credit card from Citi and only make 55k a year. I hesitated to apply because of my low FICO score but I'm glad I did, there are obviously other factors to consider!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 29, 2016

Weird thing is when you see your score on the Experian site/app...and then Chase sends you the card along with the other papers and info...the difference is like night and day. For me, 685 Experian site, but 739 on the paper...and Chase supposedly pulls Experian (at least in my case).

 
Nov 20, 2016
Good Card for travel
NCB30 Cardholder

I loved the fact that I got 50000 bouns points within the first 3 months. I travel alot for my job and this is an all round good card, being I'm unable to stay with a set chain all the time so this card helps alot. I also like that I can transfer my points 1:1 to travel parnters so I can still use the points for rewards nights.

more ...
Nov 16, 2016
irma0531 Cardholder

I got approved for 7,500. My credit karma score is Trans- 713 Equi-670 Exp-703, I have 28% debt and 3 missed payment history(2009). I applied a few months ago for one of their other cards but was declined. As long as your debt is below 30% and you've had credit of over 2,000, you should be fine. the most important factor is your debt ration and income. Good luck to everyone!!

more ...
Nov 14, 2016
Funny How Credit Karma says .....
westside0097 Cardholder

My odd of being approved for this card is " POOR" and in fact I applied last week through Chase bank because I received an online offer and was approved intantly for 32k .So Credit Karma as they say is the definitive answer .And they should not post inaccurate " Approval Ods " Because it is disparaging  .

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 30, 2016

If you have over 5 accounts open in 24 months credit karma will say you have poor odds. The pre approved app is probably why it was approved. I just got mine through pre approved offer online and I'm at 9/24. That might be why it says poor.

 
Nov 06, 2016
Applied, Approved, Excited to Use
arieldelrey Cardholder

I have limited credit history. Had only two credit cards, my first being a student card through US Bank with a low limit of only $500, my second being a Kohl's card (Capital One lender) that I got tricked into signing up for in-store and after paying off the $45 balance, quickly panicked and closed it...I got both of these cards when I was 18-19 and had no idea how to use them or any information about credit whatsoever. Besides those cards (both of which were misused and closed over two years ago), I have student loans which I have paid down from a total debt of $17k to only a remaining $1K over the past year and a half. 

I started out with my lowest score at 540 (not sure which reporting company that was through), which I have since raised to: TU - 736 EQ - 743 & EX - 699

I am going to be traveling a lot starting in the end of December, for the next year or two, so need a rewards card that suits those travels needs while also serving the purpose of a practical financial backup in the case of an emergency. I have four different friends that recommended I apply for the Capital One Venture card. I applied and was instantly denied. After many frustrating phone calls to Capital One asking for reconsideration, I decided to give up altogether on them because of my horrible experience with their customer service. 

After hours of research, reading reviews and comparisons on other travel rewards cards (now a month after my denial w/ CapOne) I applied online for Chase Sapphire Preferred (after pre-qualifying) and was approved with an initial $5k limit! I plan to call them tomorrow and have my card expedited. SO relieved and happy that the application process was no-nonsense and my approval was immediate. Thank you to all the reviewers on CK for helping me with my decision to apply! Will likely post another review or update this one once I've used my card and had more experience with Chase representatives as I approach my upcoming travels.

more ...
Nov 06, 2016
Applied, Approved, Excited to Use
arieldelrey Cardholder

I have limited credit history. Had only two credit cards, my first being a student card through US Bank with a low limit of only $500, my second being a Kohl's card (Capital One lender) that I got tricked into signing up for in-store and after paying off the $45 balance, quickly panicked and closed it...I got both of these cards when I was 18-19 and had no idea how to use them or any information about credit whatsoever. Besides those cards (both of which were misused and closed over two years ago), I have student loans which I have paid down from a total debt of $17k to only a remaining $1K over the past year and a half. 

I started out with my lowest score at 540 (not sure which reporting company that was through), which I have since raised to: TU - 736 EQ - 743 & EX - 699

I am going to be traveling a lot starting in the end of December, for the next year or two, so need a rewards card that suits those travels needs while also serving the purpose of a practical financial backup in the case of an emergency. I have four different friends that recommended I apply for the Capital One Venture card. I applied and was instantly denied. After many frustrating phone calls to Capital One asking for reconsideration, I decided to give up altogether on them because of my horrible experience with their customer service. 

After hours of research, reading reviews and comparisons on other travel rewards cards (now a month after my denial w/ CapOne) I applied online for Chase Sapphire Preferred (after pre-qualifying) and was approved with an initial $5k limit! I plan to call them tomorrow and have my card expedited. SO relieved and happy that the application process was no-nonsense and my approval was immediate. Thank you to all the reviewers on CK for helping me with my decision to apply! Will likely post another review or update this one once I've used my card and had more experience with Chase representatives as I approach my upcoming travels.

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Best travel card I've found
Siege2010 Cardholder

Well, technically second-best behind the Chase Sapphire Reserved card, but if you don't want to pay the $450 annual fee, this is the next best thing!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 17, 2016

I had the card for one year, and it was great. I just don't fly enough to justify the $95 annual fee. I only fly once or twice a year.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

148 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i