Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.8 out of 5 stars
145 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.49% - 23.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.49% - 23.49%* Variable

Our Take

The Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card is a travel rewards card aimed at excellent credit consumers.

What to Like

Cardholders get 2 points for every dollar spent on travel and restaurants, and 1 point for every other dollar spent on purchases. The Chase Ultimate Rewards program offers a 20% discount on travel purchases made using points. The card also has no foreign transaction fee and offers a 50,000 point bonus if you spend $4,000 in the first 3 months.

Look Out For

After the first year, there’s a $95 annual fee. There’s no intro APR for purchases or balance transfers.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 17, 2017
Approved. My story
kc10er Cardholder

I have done your research for you. To the tune of 6 hours straight comparing two cards I thought were the best long term rewards for travel.

The Amex Everyday Premier card was my other close choice as it offers 3x points on grocery (no Wal-mart or superstores included), 2x points on gas, and 1x on all others. But, it's an Amex and has international fees and not AS widely accepted as Visa. I decided that even though I will get less points per swipe with the Chase card, I can use it anywhere and have no hidden fees or restrictions (both had the same annual fee). Amex likes to add that little  "limitations apply" star so you never know if you will have a participating merchant or not with Amex.

Next I looked at which airlines I could use the rewards. Amex has restrictions (as well as a fee capped at $99.00) for transferring points to airline miles and some are not a 1:1 ratio. For domestic flights you are limited to Delta and British Air essentially (with Virgin Atlantic and Hawaiian as skim options) for domestic flights. All other carriers with Amextravel specialize more in international flights. Chase allows use (and points transfers at 1:1) to United, Southwest, Virgin, and British Airways (which you can book American Airline flights on). Most of my discount ticket searches came up AA or United for domestic flights. So I leaned towards Chase. 

Next, I looked at hotels and cruises. Again, Chase came out on top with the partners they allow points to be used with such at Hyatt, Merriott and all IHG partners. Not that the Amex card was bad, it just didn't fit my typical travel carriers as all they offer is Hilton and Starwood. 

Now let's move to the shopping. Chase wins "hands down" on the shopping partners. The list is too extensive to name here, but most will be happy to know that once you put your Chase card into Amazon, it will link your points to Amazon and you can use them for direct checkout on Amazon's site (just like Discover card). Amex fell short by not offering any online shopping partners and specializing more on classy event discounts like the Kentucky Derby, etc.

So, let's get to the approval. CK said I had very good odds of approval with a 730 score on TU and a 732 on EF. I ran my Experian score for $1 on their site and came back with a 726. I ran my Fico on the Discover card app and it came back as a 696. Remember, a true Fico is not the same as your credit score and some lenders use a Fico instead of one credit reporting agency. While I was nervous about the Fico, I know through research that Chase pulls an Experian only report (my email alert confirmed that after the application was approved) so I applied. Keep in mind I have excellent payment history and 22 total accounts on my report so that might have something to do with the approval, I am just telling my story so you can compare your situation if you are nervous about applying. The application was simple (click the "apply now" on CK and it takes you to Chase). A few basic info things like address and phone and I was instantly approved for $13,300. Card in the mail.

I would like Chase to offer better 2x and or 3x daily rewards, but they have specials here and there from 5x up to 25x, so you need to check their site frequently and be savy. All in all, I think I will be happy and only time and redemption of points will tell if I made the right choice. Don't forget to search online for how to transfer points from Chase to airline miles, as this will bump the rewards percentage and really save you some points and cash!

In case you scrolled to the bottom here are my stats for comparison:

Approved for $13,300.

Trans Union: 730

Equifax: 732

Experian: 726

Fico: 696

Annual income: 63k

Total debt on report: 101k

Number of accounts: 22

Credit card utilization: 2% (4 cards) and I HIGHLY suggest paying off cards below 10% before applying for a high end card. CC companies REALLY look at that.

Deliquencies: 0

Derogitory marks: 1 tax lein from 2009 (paid off)

Oldest open account: 3 yrs

Average account age: 1.7 yrs

Hope this helps a bit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 22, 2016
evoracer69 Cardholder

Applied online and had to wait a few days to figure what was going on. Called in got denied because I wss over there 5/24 rule.. Got a pretty qualified offer in the mail applied again instantly approved online with 12k limit. So far so good. Ef-750 tu-755

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 21, 2017

Great card to have, so thrilled I was awarded this card!

My odds have been poor on getting this card through CK, but I have been banking with Chase for years and already have the Freedom Unlimited which I have kept in excellent standing the 9 months I've had it.

I checked my 'offers' section in my Chase account and lo and behold, it said I was being offered the Sapphire Preferred!  Whooooohoooooo---I was surprised because Chase turned me down a few months ago for an increase to my Freedom Unlimited.  But, they granted me a Sapphire and I am sooooooooooo happy----all chase asked was for my salary and then I was granted a 5K limit.

I have been repairing my credit for almost 4 years and it has paid off!  I now have every credit card I ever wanted and I have to again thank all the wonderful people who share their credit struggles and victories here on CK.  I have gotten pretty much every collection knocked off, except for one pesky one that only has about 1.5 years left to go.  I may just pay it to get it out of the way.  Other than that I have been spot on with all my payments for the last 4 years and I keep my utilization between 15 - 30 percent generally.  I'm currently striving to get my utilization below 10%, I'm nearly there :)

My scores are currently in the 676- 686 range across the bureaus.

I look forward to earning points on travel and food, which I purchase a lot of with two hungry twin teenage boys!

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
Best Rewards and Bonus
Anonymous Cardholder

Double 730 credit score got me a 5k limit.

I got this card because of the 2x restaurants and travel. Also this card pairs well with the Chase Freedom Unlimited card at 1.5x for everything.

I'd say even as a moderate traveller, the $95 annual fee is more than fair.

Great card and great service. Direct line to a real person.

more ...
Feb 16, 2017
Very easy aplication
Anonymous Cardholder

Easy to get , ck chance for this card was Good. 2 years of credit history 98% on time for payments  , Ck score 719 trans/ 696 exp .  Instant approval for 15k. 

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Amazing rewards

I have the chase freedom unlmited, only for a couple months... then i applied for this card, and got approved for 5,000.   Thank you so much.  Also great customer service.  

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
One of the best rewards systems
Banryoku Cardholder

The reward points are updated on real time; any signing bonus or promotional amount will be posted right away. Very satisfied.

more ...
Feb 11, 2017
Great card
MaineCane Cardholder

At age 21 I was surprised to find myself pre-approved via a mail offer. At the time my scores were both 705 and 705. Up until this point I've had another credit card through a local bank with a smaller $1000 limit. I applied and was instantly approved for a $5000 limit. Customer is always very responsive, when calling there is no need to navigate numerous phone prompts as you're instantly connected to an American-based representative. The accrual of points is rather quick too, which will certainly get me closer to paying less for my next vacation.

more ...
Feb 10, 2017
Pleasant Surpise
GiveAShot Cardholder

Was just strolling through Credit Karma and came up in "My Offers", figured I would give a shot and was instant approved for $9,500. Trans = 710, Equifax = 702..... only had 3 accounts, 1 car loan and 2 other secured cards I had got to help build credit, first unsecured card and was surprised to be approved for almost 10k right away. Worth giving it a shot if your looking for a new card. The rewards on this card by far seem to be the best out there right now. 

more ...
Feb 09, 2017
Great card, great service
Anonymous Cardholder

Great customer service.  You actually talk to a human being!  Easy approval process.  

more ...
Feb 09, 2017
The best travel rewards card. Period.
cs916 Cardholder

Just got approved for this card last week, but have been an auth user on my fiance's afor almost a year now. Amazing benifits, and if you use the points right, they can be very valuable. Approved with an average vantage score of 675. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

145 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i