Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
144 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.


Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee Introductory Annual Fee of $0 the first year, then $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

The Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card is a travel rewards card aimed at excellent credit consumers.

What to Like

Cardholders get 2 points for every dollar spent on travel and restaurants, and 1 point for every other dollar spent on purchases. The Chase Ultimate Rewards program offers a 20% discount on travel purchases made using points. The card also has no foreign transaction fee and offers a 50,000 point bonus if you spend $4,000 in the first 3 months.

Look Out For

After the first year, there’s a $95 annual fee. There’s no intro APR for purchases or balance transfers.


Most Helpful Positive Review

May 03, 2016
Got Approved!!!
Snickersmom1 Cardholder

I have been working on my credit for many years. I went from the high 500's to a current 794 fico score. I have no derogatory remarks on my credit report (all fell off over 7 years) and i pay all of my credit card balances every month. Only 1 inquiry on my credit report. I have a Capitol One secured card (1,000 CL) that i got 8 years ago and a Wells Frago (3yrs) credit card ($4500.00). It was finally time to look into getting a new credit card. Since i travel a lot I thought The Chase Sapphire Preferred would be the best choice. I did the pre-approval on line and completed the application. I was instantly approved for $12000 CL! I am loving this card so far! 

If you are trying to repair your credit please be patient! It took me long time to get the credit score I have now but the hard work paid off. When I was younger I was not taught how missing a payment or not paying a bill could follow you for so long. Don't buy anything you can't afford. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 24, 2016
I never applied for this card.
mj6194 Cardholder

I originally had the Chase Travel Plus card with 10.24% interest rate, no annual fee and $10,000 limit. I guess they decided to do away with that reward card in 2014 and I was switched to this on by Chase. Now I have a $95 annual fee and the rewards are less rewarding. When I noticed I has an annual fee Chase said I could apply for a different card without a fee. I have asked them to fix this and refund the $95, still waiting to hear back. If I had it to do all over again I would avoid business with Chase. Always having issues...not just with my Credit Card...My mortgage too.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 25, 2016
Approval Odds Poor Got Card
Anonymous Cardholder

My CK rating for this card was poor, but I went through and read many other reviews with similar odds.  After thinking about it, I went for it and had to wait.  The message stated that they needed to review my application.  I called one, but it was too soon, then I got a message from security center for chase, wanting to verify some of my information.  Afterwards, she keyed in what I told her, then told me I was approved. I can't wait to see the benefits of the card.  If you think your chances are poor, still try-I did and got the card!

more ...
Oct 21, 2016
Approved for 5K CL w/ Trans710/Equil 723
Anonymous Cardholder

Had 'Good' Approval odds and was approved instantly! Don't hasitate even though it says it recommends excellent credit! 

more ...
Oct 21, 2016
Approved for 5K CL w/ Trans710/Equil 723
Anonymous Cardholder

Had 'Good' Approval odds and was approved instantly! Don't hasitate even though it says it recommends excellent credit! 

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
Excellent card
Anonymous Cardholder

Great travel options avail via ultimate rewards site on chase.

straight forward statements

mobile app is intuitive 

tons of compliments on the cards look/feel/weight

Easy to earn/redeem points

fo to card for travel (without a $400+ annual fee)

annual fee is worth it ($95.00)

customer service is unmatched.

more ...
Oct 16, 2016
Approved $5K w/ 6y/o BK
Esotericus01 Cardholder

After six years of rebuilding my credit after an ex-spouse-enduced bankruptcy, I went from a $320 CL w/ a secured CC to $41K CL today. 

CK suggested my approval odds for the CSP card were "poor" (see stats below at time of approval); applied and was notified that a decision would be mailed within 7-10 days (it should just cut to the Chase [no pun intended] and say "denied") so I knew what was up.

I IMMEDIATELY (very important, don't wait when it comes to Chase) called the Recon Line and very, very politely stated my case as to why I should be approved:

- 2% credit utilization (if you're above 30% you'll likely be declined)

- 100% on time payment since BK

- Only two new revolving accounts opened in the last two years (if you have more than 4-5, wait a awhile before applying with Chase)

- The BK was due to very little fault of my own including the financial meltdown and loss of job/car/home

- I'm interested in building a relationship with Chase to upgrade to a higher card in the future (NEVER say it's because of the attractive sign-up bonus)

After several minutes on hold I was approved for a $5K credit limit! I told them about my upcoming two week trip and wanting to take my new card with me so they put a rush on it and in two business days, it's here. 

I went through the same routine several months ago to get the Chase Freedom Unlimited and both times the CSRs I spoke to were fantastic.

This is one of the best cards on the market. Hope this review helps in your decision in applying for this card.


CapitalOne Venture: $15.5K; CapitalOne Quicksilver: $10K; Chase Freedom Unlimited: $2K, AMEX Everyday: $2K, Merrick Bank: $3K and now Chase Sapphire Preferred $5K

TU 745; Equifax 743; Experian 696

BK discharge six years old

Income: $65K+ w/ grad school student loans

more ...
Oct 11, 2016
Perfect card for travelers
Anonymous Cardholder

Awesome points on travel, the partner transfers beat everyone else hands down. If you can't get the Reserve this is the next best card in the travel space. 

more ...
Oct 05, 2016
Great card!
Anonymous Cardholder

I've been rebuilding my credit, and back in May it was around 545 TU. Now it is sitting around 650 TU and 642 EX. I decided to apply since CreditKarma said I had a fair chance of being approved, and they were right! I have about 5 items placed in collections (three hospital bills, and two cell phone provider's) but I still got approved for a 5K limit. Very happy so far with the card and the customer service. Application process was very fast and I am happy I applied!

more ...
Oct 05, 2016
Great sign up bonus
FarhanIsmail Cardholder

I was approved instantly for $5000. Credit karma scores of 652 and 649. Actual Fico is 692. You can check that by googling discover scorecard. That will just show you your fico score which is what banks and lenders actually look at. It's free by the way. Credit Karma is more of a credit report viewing tool.

Customer service on the card is amazing. You just call the number on the bank and are immediately connected to a real person. No voice prompts to go through or anything!

more ...
Oct 05, 2016
Starburst33 Cardholder

I had been going back and forth about applying for this card. After filling out the entire application I changed my mind and applied for the chase freedom unlimited card (approved 1,000). After having  that card two months and loving the rewards and chase customer service, I decided to give this card a try. To my surprise was instantly approved for $5k. Equ 657 trans 680! 

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
great all around card with great rewards
drivt Cardholder

i've had this card for around 5 months now. started out with a 9k credit line. chase bumped it up to 13,5k without me having to ask.
highly recommended

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

144 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i