Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
96 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.99 - 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.99 - 24.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 18, 2019
Excellent card
bhfowler88 Cardholder

CK had approval odds at fair, decided to apply anyway and was instantly approved for $5100. CK scores were 625 and 629. They sent FICO credit score with my card and it showed 668. Great card, great cl and online application and instant decision were so fast and easy! Highly recommend. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 01, 2019
Decent Card. Beware of Chase though.
smonkey12 Cardholder

This was one of my first cards as an adult. I had it for a good 6 years or so with a 20k limit. I used it pretty regularly for awhile but then moved to a different card and carried a zero balance on this one. One day Credit Karma tells me that one of my accounts had been closed. I figured out it was this credit card. I called Chase to see why in the world they just cancelled my card for no reason. I was told it was becasue of inactivity even with a 95 dollar annual fee. They would not reopen the account for me. They said I could reapply.. WOOHOO. thanks! This cancellation had a relatively significant effect on my score with this being one of my oldest cards, not to mention the 20k reduction in available credit. The fact that they wouldn't reopen the account which was in perfectly good standing, and the fact that they "notified" me they were closing it by sending another piece of junk mail really left a bad taste in my mouth. I'll never open another Chase card again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 20, 2019
Terrible!
Tracyco66 Cardholder

Chase promo said “spend 4000 before November and you’ll get 60000 points.” I had 230 more left to get the bonus and Chase closed the account because I spent too much toward my limit. Avoid this catch 22!!

more ...
Oct 16, 2019
Greta Card BUT
theceller Cardholder

Was great card "BUT" ( CHASE) Closed account  1 week after getting Card . Said Reason was to many Credit Inquireies .. LOL  Was using for 60,000 point bonus , Also added Auyhoised User Chase Cancelled Card " No Waring " No Mail"  "No Nothing " Also Cancled all Chase accounts I have had for over 15 Years .. Will Never Use CHASE again !! Very Unprofessional , In My Opinion !!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 17, 2019

I would focus on going back go school. I wouldn't approve you if you structured your sentences with all caps like a title and had so many grammar mistakes.

 
Oct 14, 2019
Good rewards
LM00 Cardholder

Credit Karma showed this as "fair approval odds for me" but I applied and approved instantly with a $5100 credit limit. My score before I applied was TU- 548 and Equifax - 549.  My scores on CK immediately jumped up to 581, so maybe they just hadn't been updated. When I got my welcome letter with the card, it showed my Fico score as 666.  Crossing my fingers this helps my score go up in the next few months.

more ...
Oct 14, 2019

EDIT: my Fico score was 566 (not 666- don't know how to edit my review)

 
Oct 14, 2019

That’s crazy! Did you have any other cards with over $5000 CL? Also, what’s your annual income?

 
Oct 15, 2019

No, I don't. Annual income is $75k

 
Oct 15, 2019

That’s awesome! Congrats! What’s your credit history? As in how long?

 
Oct 14, 2019
Really good starter travel card.
Jack311G Cardholder

I enjoyed how easy combining my points are and the ease of use the travel portal is.

more ...
Oct 11, 2019
For a low annual fee, a good travel card
Jwknows1 Cardholder

60,000 reward pts for spending $4K n 3 months ... I have a large purchase coming up and thought it would be a good time to apply for this card according to Credit Karma my scores were 757 and 757 respectively and Experian score of 783 I was approved for a credit limit of 22k so far so good I will revise my review if needed

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 15, 2019

What was your credit score with chase when you were approved ?

 
Oct 11, 2019
Bull crap
Lissette31 Cardholder

They approve you fir the card wait until you start charging a decent amount and then closes the account they says you have to many cc accounts open. It doesn't matter if I have 20 cards if my cards are being paid on time making payments over minimum payment shouldn't matter. A RIP off

more ...
Oct 08, 2019
Beware of this card
Mrselman1967 Cardholder

Was approved for this card at $4000, received card and charged $95 annual fee.  After having only 4 days account was closed with no warning and no explanation. Meanwhile I currently carrier 2 Amex cards which are awesome, thank you Amex, capital one Mastercard and a Discover.  I later called chase to enquirer why account was close and was told I didn't have enough credit.  Credit scores were 747/751, no my credit report shows a closed account.

more ...
Oct 10, 2019

The minimum you can be approved for this card is $5000 lol...

 
Oct 14, 2019

This is a visa signature card, the minimum limit is $5,000.

 
Oct 20, 2019

They did the same to me , closed right before I got my bonus points! Never late and paid more than minimums

 
Oct 06, 2019
Awesome!
KaylaH2019 Cardholder

I was introduced to this card via Credit Karma reccomendations. I have been working on building my credit for about two years and finally got it up to above 700 with the help of the capital one platinum card also reccomended by credit karma. This is my first card with a high spending limit and the rewards are incredible. The rewards of being able to use my points to take my family on vacations are awesome, but the budget tools that the app provides help put spending into perspective and helps me budget and use my card resonsibly! Chase customer service is also incredibly available, no wait time around the clock. I have reccomended this card to many of my friends and even my mom haha

more ...
Sep 27, 2019
Best bonus rewards
Mtwils Cardholder

So. I woke up today and finally decided to apply for this card. 
I was nervous Bc the last thing you want to do is be rejected for a card and have a hard inquiry on your report. So with credit karma I had very good approval odds with a TU 728 Equifax 722 and my Experian from that app was 698. I also signed up for Chase Credit Journey. It gives you a free credit score and recommends Pre-qualifying cards. Well today the preferred popped up on it so I gave it a shot! Approved in seconds with a $6000 limit (which I'm ok with Bc it will definitely increase)  and not only that. But my bonus sign on was 70,000points. 10k higher than the offer is! So I'm excited to start using this card! 

more ...
Sep 25, 2019
simple and with shop offers
screename117 Cardholder

you get shop offers for extra points, if you find expedia inflated prices join the membership club, fixed.  Theres a few nifty perks, I havent had anyproblems so far or with making larger purchases.  Pretty solid card with decent perks.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

96 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i