Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Santander Bank Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2 5

Reviews (9)

Add Review
Oct 11, 2016
Be prepared to wait 30 days or more

I applied 2 weeks ago for 5 cards with 5 different banks. All other cards came within 10 days but this card didn't even send me an email to acknowledge I applied for it. Today I got a letter by mail from them with a pin # and the last two digits of the card. So apparently it's on its way but I don't know when or how much credit they extended me. I originally applied because they have a 24mo 0% bal transfer w 4%fee. Mostly everyone says on other sites that the card arrives in 30 days if approved. So be prepared to wait that long or more if applying for this.

more ...
May 30, 2016
Car Loan Was Perfect

I have had positive experiences with this bank. The process of paying off my car loan was seemless so I applied for a credit card. Still awaiting the results. Hopefully the process will be as smooth as it was with the car loan.

more ...
Mar 04, 2016
Terrible Customer Experience!
zach1770 Cardholder

Applied for the Bravo card in January. Never heard anything for 5 weeks. Then a call came in to verify my identity and was approved. 2 weeks later I finally get the card. I activated and put it away. A week later I tried to access account online but was unable to register. Invalid account, Invalid SS#, Invalid this invalid that. I finally figured that this card isnt for me so I called in to close account. My call was dropped 4 times!  4! An account rep tried to retain me but she couldnt get the system working to get me registered for online access and said I would have to do it at a branch. I was finally able to get someone to close the card. Wow!  Over a month and a half just to get the card....never used it and then took multiple calls to get it closed.  Santander....your the loser here. I wont be back.   I'll just stick to my beloved American Express accounts. I hope this review sways others from being aggrivated by this horrible bank.

more ...
Dec 08, 2014
Refinance with Santander
Anonymous Cardholder

My experience with Santander couldn't have been better.  The person who helped me with the paperwork for my Re-fi was excellent in his customer service and timely in his following through on questions I had.  The process was smooth and without snags.  The manager of the bank I went to to sign all the closing paperwork was extremely welcoming and knowledgeable.

I would use this institution again for any banking needs I have.

Beth   suburbs of Philly

more ...
Nov 25, 2014
Prey on those looking to build credit
ccartagena28 Cardholder

This company will rob you blind. They offer you a car loan and than make sure that all your payents are eaten up by interest despite the fact that each payment is made on time. I purchased a vehichle at $25,000 and they would have me over pay for the car at $42,000 if I would have kept the loan. I traded in and was still locked in at $15,646. I had paid every month for 3 years and barely made a dent in the principle. As of right now, I've paid $12,000+ in interest and $9,980+ in principle. Yet I still owed over 15 grand. My payments were over $500 per month. NEVER AGAIN!!! I want NOTHING this bank has to offer. 

more ...
Jan 19, 2013

My car loan has been paid off since Feb.of 2011 yet it is still showing up as owing which dings my dept to income ratiio.  I have sent letters and called. still no response.  I guess you have to get an attorney to deal with them.  Stay awary.  They weren't even the orginal loan holder. The loan was sold to them.  I would not use them it meant walking a 100 miles to work each day. RUN AWAY!!

more ...
Sep 14, 2013

I agree. They are awful

Jan 18, 2013
Car Loan
Momofthree815 Cardholder

My car loan has been paid off since October of 2011, yet it is still showing up as owing $221 on my credit report.  Can't get anyone to do anything about it!  Frustrating.

more ...
Oct 03, 2012
Why is my loan not showing paid in full?
memma1114 Cardholder

We paid our loan off about 6 months a head of time . But it still shows not paid on my credit off on my credit report why???

more ...
Jun 22, 2011
rex2239 Cardholder

 If you had a zero that would be it.Very disappointed. Filed app for loan as stated. They came back instead with a % that was 3% higher than my existing loan for a longer period.Why would I have even applied (especially when u advise such apps effect your credit score)for a higher rate of interest.Thanks for listening but as much as I enjoy Credit Karma there should be some warning for these possibilities.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Santander Bank Credit Card