Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

All Citi Credit Cards

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.4 out of 5 stars
28 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 08, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Just stay away!!!!!!! No words to describe how poor customer service is. Stick with Bank of America, Discover, or Chase!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 09, 2016
Whose cards are these, and where is mine
Anonymous Cardholder

I was mailed 3 different credit cards with 3 different names.   None of the names matched mine.  When I finally received MY card, there were charges already made on it, again none were mine.   There is something wrong with this company and their cards.   I closed my account down.   Never again will I do buisness with this bank again.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 16, 2016
Straight awful experience
Baker3434 Cardholder

After I got approved for it( First credit card I got approved for didn't think I would get) I got approved for a different one that suited me better. Called Citi up to cancel it but they said I had to wait 3 days for it to be fully processed in. Okay so I called back in 3 days later and cancelled it. 4 WEEKS TO GET MY REFUND BACK?! But wait there's more. After 2 weeks I check my credit score and guess what's on it? Yup my Citi credit card so I called back and they officially cancelled it and have to wait another 4 weeks for my refund. So today I called back after about a week to double check that they cancelled it and now all of a sudden they can't verify it's me and will have somebody call me back. Nobody did after I did yesterday and today that's twice in a row now. So now I have to dispute it through credit karma and that takes 30 days what a HEADACHE!!

more ...
Nov 10, 2016
Citi bank is horrible to deal with
JaycieEdwards Cardholder

I had my card since 2012. I went on the website and wrote an email saying I wanted to cancel it. Not even one minute after sending the letter o called them and talked to them about canceling and why. They offered me a low interest rate and I decided to keep the card. After hanging up with them not even 5 min I got on my account to find it had been canceled. I immediately called them back asking why they canceled because I changed my mind and told them not to. They told me they couldn't re open my account after they canceled it even though it was there mistake! I don't feel like that is very good customer service at all. So in order to get my card back I would have to re apply for a new one. 

more ...
Nov 09, 2016
Keep record of the bonus you signed up!
Anonymous Cardholder

If you decide to own a citi credit card due to opening bonus, make sure you have support such as the printed fine print and be prepared to be criticized by citi unprofessional CSR. I have applied for 2 citi credit cards due to open bonus, none of the time the bonus was automatically applied like Chase credit cards. Then when you call the number on the back of the card, CSR would tell you to call back in several months as this is how long it would take or simply, nope, I don't see the bonus attached to your card. 

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Extremely Bad Customer Service
Anonymous Cardholder

I was issued this card from Costco because they switched from AMEX to Citi. I’ve had this card just a few months and it’s been nothing but one hassle after another. I’ve already had to have erroneous late charges and interest charges reversed. When I called their customer service recently I spoke to someone in the Philippines. I could not understand what she was saying and she didn’t know what she was doing. I could tell she was struggling just to pull up my information on her computer. She put me on hold several times without telling me and I thought the line had disconnected. She seemed poorly trained. She finally said she was transferring me to another agent and I waited on hold for about 10 minutes and finally hung up. I’ve had better customer service experience from Comcast. I’m not using this card anymore.

more ...
Oct 09, 2016
Whose cards are these, and where is mine
Anonymous Cardholder

I was mailed 3 different credit cards with 3 different names.   None of the names matched mine.  When I finally received MY card, there were charges already made on it, again none were mine.   There is something wrong with this company and their cards.   I closed my account down.   Never again will I do buisness with this bank again.  

more ...
Oct 07, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I don't really expect good customer service from credit card companies or any fiancial insitution for that matter at all, but I do expect a major credit card company like Citi to have a properly working website and all the technical features/options that come with the account. I had an account with them for about 8 months and never was able to make an online payment, nor was I able to setup autopayments. Every time I called in customer service would take my payment over the phone and would promise that they would resolve the online payment issue promptly. However, that never happened even though I called at least 10 times. I would definitely recommend chase or BoA over Citi. Citicards sucks. 

more ...
Sep 27, 2016
Their mistakes cost the card holders
Anonymous Cardholder

Not only does thei website often have technical problems for more than 1 full day, when they finally processed my payment on the phone instead of me being able to do it online as usual, they didn't process the payment for the date I requested it. They posted it immediately against my instructions. When I notice it had reached my bank early and called them back, they said they can't do anything about it. When I complained to a supervisor, I was told the same. They were not willing to deal with the bank.

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
Great Purchase Protection Service
Anonymous Cardholder

I  recently had great service on  Damage & Theft Purchase Protection Plan.  Our electronic device was accidentally run over by a car, and all it took to get a refund for the cost was one telephone call!  We did not have to fill out a form or deal with a receipt.  Maybe  because was only $60 and I have had card for 19 years and this was first claim.  I manage this card online and I never had a problem.  Fairly high purchase balance interest of 11%, but I do not carry a balance.  I have Citi Dividend World MasterCard, which gives Cash Back Reward of 1% all purchases (sometimes 5% selected types that vary each quarter).

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
HORRIFIC, UNCOMPROMISING PIECE OF ****
Anonymous Cardholder

What ****ing jerk off *******s. After having their card for 3 years this occurss. I was enrolled in auto pay, but i can't select my account to make an off the cuff payment. I mistyped one of the numbers on my account. The payment was returned, rightfully so, but it was returned as a purchase which set off an undescribable chain of events that only the likes of a novel writer can put on paper.

I got charged a returned check fee that they were unwilling to return to me because of a typo. I asked to speak to someone in customer retentions and they said that 'thats me'. I said great, **** YOU, close my account. They put up no fight to keep my business and the account was closed in seconds.

This company can suck my ****. You can't get account credits with your rewards, you have to have active purchases and you can apply your rewards to purchases. What a ****ING JOKE. Its worth leaving every single reward behind, just so I never have to deal with these *******S ever again. I don't need their card and after this I don't want any card by them. It is a shame i have leave them 1 star just to leave this review.

more ...
Aug 30, 2016
setting you up to pay interest -best buy
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a Best Buy Credit Card from Citi. They let you believe that you have a 18 mos to pay. Then, you would think you would have paid your purchase by 18 mos only to let you know that you have to pay off the other smaller purchases first. So you still end up paying for the interests. Not only was that a problem, resetting password online is impossible. I tried to reset it as instructed, but no, they don't make it easy. Of course, why should they? Customers will eventually get tired and stop trying to check their account online and start paying over the phone. When you do pay over the phone, then you will not see how much you need to pay to avoid getting hit by the interest.

Thank you Citi! Good job...you got me!!! Cutting my ties off from this bank.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

All Citi Credit Cards