Costco Anywhere Visa® Card by Citi Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.7 out of 5 stars
62 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 7 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Costco Anywhere Visa® Card by Citi offers impressive rewards for Costco members.

What to Like

The rewards here are pretty great, highlighted by 4% cash back on gas purchases (up to $7,000 in purchases each year). Cardholders also get 3% cash back on restaurant and eligible travel purchases, 2% on other Costco purchases and 1% on all other purchases. To top it off, there’s no annual fee besides the cost of your Costco membership.

Look Out For

To get this card, you have to be a Costco member, which of course comes with an annual fee. There’s also a foreign transaction fee and a high penalty APR that could apply if you miss a payment.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 21, 2016
convenient card with good rewards
Anonymous Cardholder

Easy to apply, online or in-person. I applied in-person, had a credit score of 793, and was approved instantly for a credit limit of ~15%/income level. Rewards make this card worth it for me - major caveat is that the rewards can only be redeemed at Costco. Not a problem personally, but may be for others. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 13, 2016
IT SUCKS! WHERE IS THE ZERO STAR RATING
Anonymous Cardholder

Costco Citi Card Sucks! Their customer service is terrible. They repeatedly push you back to the the vendor even though the account error is made by Citi. We have had to deal with Citi customer service more often in the short time since Costco switched to them then we ever had to with American Express. Transaction reversals are repeatedly left on the account even though the vendor reverses them immediately. Citi refuses to address them telling us to contact the vendor. They give conflicting answers regarding the reversals, sometimes saying that they will disappear in 30 days, sometimes saying that if the vendor doesn't correct them the charges will go through even though the vendor dealt with the reversal immediately. Their web interface is much less capable than that of American Express regarding transaction info and reporting. PLEASE COSTCO, DUMP CITI AND GO TO ANOTHER MORE FRIENDLY CARD COMPANY!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 22, 2017
Absolutely no problems
Alex655321 Cardholder

It is just as advertised. 

0% first seven months. 

Received my cash back voucher and was able to make a small purchase and Costco gave me back the remainder in cash.

No complaints.  Nothing shady or sneaky.

more ...
May 16, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I have credit with all major banks but this Citi Costco card customer service is the worst nightmare. I am very patiently using the card for more than a year now. I think a year is enough time for me to post rating. I had a fraud transaction from eBay and the merchant is in Russia. I have been on the dispute for 6 weeks. The credit card company just resolved in favor of the merchant and said that because I didn't provide requested by the dispute group. What a joke it is. I sent the information via email with case # as directed. I called the credit card dispute department in the last 3 three weeks after I received that decision favored the fraud seller but still no decision. Every time I called to dispute customer service department, I get the same answer "we are still working on it". I provided all of the information included the fraud tracking number that sent to a state cross country from state I'm living in.

Very BAD customer service. I want American Express back from Costco!

I'm a 12 years veteran of Costco membership ever since Costco operated from my state.

more ...
May 03, 2017
Terrible online features or lack thereof
Anonymous Cardholder

1 ) Cannot use a single user login and have both a business and personal account !

22) You cannot go back beyond a two week period with a running balance next to your debits and credits ....One cannot see running balance beside your debits and credits , “Not even to the last statement” ?!! GOTTA BE KIDDING! Every bank today does it

I have numerous banking accounts and everyone has debits credits and RUINNING Balance to the right or left going back multiple statement periods!!

 Without a running balance ( or running total to the right of all debits an credits ) Your literally have to print out statements to see and add and subtract your debits and credits or simply trust the bank ….Archaic at best!

I talked with Costco who agreed but then just got me in contact with the bank whom said they have no plans to add as they don’t get enough complaints ( though even the staff that took the complaint agreed it is a better way to GO!

So please call Costco if you are frustrated and voice your opinion 859-283-8923 and maybe we can force them for a better user expierence. OR GET A BETTER BANK! :-))

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
Awful customer care
Piymimi Cardholder

Poor dispute resolution , high handed approach from managers, inccorect information given by customer care respresentatives.

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
Poor B2B support
Anonymous Cardholder

Poor customer service for business card.  Numerous false fraud holds.  Phone calls dropped while Citi transfers to different department.  Just not business friendly - too bad for my business...  Looking for another card.

more ...
Mar 15, 2017
kiev95 Cardholder

Have not had any problems.  Recieved the card on time.  No problems with the statements as others have pointed out.  Needed a credit line increase - took only a day to get an email congratualting me on new credit line 

more ...
Mar 01, 2017
Bad choice by Costco
Anonymous Cardholder

Keep denying transactions even though account has been paid off in full and funds withdrawn from bank account more than two weeks ago. Same thing is happening every month now.

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
It seems simple, until the reward comes!
donrull Cardholder

I have been using this card as a test since it was first introduced.  My plan, to see if the cash back was anywhere near what was promised or if it was deceptive by way of "fine print".  For the past year plus, we have used this card exclusively for all of our gas, restaurant and Costco purchases.  Gas is supposed to be 4%, restaurants 3% and Coscto 2%.  I am just getting my cash back reward, it is nowhere near 2% of my total purchase amount.  Considering the majority of my purchases were for restaurants and gas, this was disappointing.  I called Costco, who noted my concern and reached out to Citi.  The Citi representative said there was no way to really tell which of my transactions earned a specific % in cash back.  She is able to look one by one and determined that Sam's Club gas station only gave me 1% cash back.  She explained that Costco does not give the higher percentages to businesses that are competitors.  She also mentioned that the terms of my account specify only participating retailers.  Fine, I guess, but please then is there a list of participating retailers?  NOPE, no such list exists.  Then I thought about competitors.  Isn't any gas station a competitor to Costco gas stations?  Mind you, the closest Costco gas station to me is 123.92 miles away and to be a competitor it seems you would have to actually be selling a competing product.  Really, any retailer would be a competitor under the loose definition and example.  At the end of the day this is what I found out about this card.  You will get 2% cash back from Costco.  You have no way of knowing if you will get 3% from restaurants if going to a restaurant, nor 4% from gas stations when purchasing gas.  The Citi representative did try to tell me that these rebates were based on the merchant codes.  So, with that in mind I did some research and found out that the merchant code for Sams's Club gas stations is 5542 for all of my transactions.  Per the merchant category code description, 5542 is for "Automated Fuel Dispensers."  Somehow, this does not qualify for the 4% cash back for gasoline purchases.  Really it seems that the 4% cash back should be marketed honestly like this:  4% cash back on some gas purchases.  At participating gas stations only, and no a list is not available.  Not valid at gas stations Costco determines to be a competitor, regardless of a merchant code specifically identifying your gasoline purchase.  Costco defines a competitor as a business selling something, so at Costco’s sole discretion, and in an alternative factual reality, you may not earn extra cash back on anything.  Up next: Costco changes the definition for “purchases” to exclude any items or services for which there is a monetary exchange. 

more ...
Mar 23, 2017

You lied about the usage for 1 and half years because this card only became available starting June 23rd of 2016
You're full of crap
I had this card for 6 months and everything is as they say
On any rewards credit card it goes based on the merchant code not just this one

 
Mar 27, 2017

Also, it does state that the 4% for gas purchases is at Costco gas stations not at all gas stations like this reviewer claimed.

 
Apr 12, 2017

I'm curious if you ever tried to use your target card at Walmart? Should work right??

Maybe you should stick to Sam's Club. This card seems to be too much for you to understand.

 
Feb 16, 2017
Cash back and free annual membership!
Anonymous Cardholder

Perfect for addictive Costco customer!!
=D

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Rewards are good, but card is garbage
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had credit cards for 9 years, and never had a late/missed payment. I've paid all my cards in full every month. Since I got my Citi card I had accrued interested twice, for about $4 once, and $2.25 another time. I pay my account to $0 several times a month. It appears I had a balance from a previous statement make it past the due date (how? hard to tell because everytime I pay it it says I have a $0 balance). So I paid the account to $0 to start fresh again. 

I just looked at my account, and was charged $2.25 in interest. When I inquired, they claim I need to pay the account to $0 two statements in a row before they remove interest. How can I be charged interest on something I had paid to $0? 

Done with this card. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Costco Anywhere Visa® Card by Citi