Costco Anywhere Visa® Card by Citi Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.4 out of 5 stars
46 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 7 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24%* Variable

Our Take

The Costco Anywhere Visa® Card by Citi offers impressive rewards for Costco members.

What to Like

The rewards here are pretty great, highlighted by 4% cash back on gas purchases (up to $7,000 in purchases each year). Cardholders also get 3% cash back on restaurant and eligible travel purchases, 2% on other Costco purchases and 1% on all other purchases. To top it off, there’s no annual fee besides the cost of your Costco membership.

Look Out For

To get this card, you have to be a Costco member, which of course comes with an annual fee. There’s also a foreign transaction fee and a high penalty APR that could apply if you miss a payment.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 29, 2016
Easy Application- Approved!
idrivejets Cardholder

This was my first attempt at building my credit with limited credit history. No negative credit issues, 2 positive which is my morgage I've had for 18 months and my closed student loan account. $75k income- no debt other than mortgage. Been a Costco member for 7 years (not sure if that has any effect-probably does). 750 FICO but CK had me as only 690. I was instantly approved for $5500 and very much looking forward to building my credit. 4 stars because other reviews have nothing good to say about their customer service. :S Hopefully Costco thumps them becuase Costco provides fantastic service. Thanks Costco/citi bank!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 16, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I have credit with all major banks but this Citi Costco card customer service is the worst nightmare. I am very patiently using the card for more than a year now. I think a year is enough time for me to post rating. I had a fraud transaction from eBay and the merchant is in Russia. I have been on the dispute for 6 weeks. The credit card company just resolved in favor of the merchant and said that because I didn't provide requested by the dispute group. What a joke it is. I sent the information via email with case # as directed. I called the credit card dispute department in the last 3 three weeks after I received that decision favored the fraud seller but still no decision. Every time I called to dispute customer service department, I get the same answer "we are still working on it". I provided all of the information included the fraud tracking number that sent to a state cross country from state I'm living in.

Very BAD customer service. I want American Express back from Costco!

I'm a 12 years veteran of Costco membership ever since Costco operated from my state.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 14, 2017
Just got approved
Tapwaterbudget Cardholder

I just bought a house and a new car in March. Because of that I literally have 54 inquires on my credit. I applied and was put into a pending state. I called after a week to see what the hold up was. They says I had to have the letter they sent in hand. I cashed back and was approved. I was shocked Citibank gave me this card. It is possible to get approved.

more ...
Jul 06, 2017
Cheaters an thieves
Anonymous Cardholder

That if you don't pay it off one month and pay it off the next two months they still charge you interest. Watch your statement an challenge them. How can they get AWAY with charging you on something you payed off????? Another reason to get rid off this card an another failure for COSTCO. I destroyed an got rid of my card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 22, 2017

I think you don't understand how interest works.

 
Jul 01, 2017
Citi may forfeit all your cashback
shengye1980 Cardholder

Citi is horrible! I just received a letter yesterday from Office of the President, stating my credit card account was closed "we frequently review cardmember accounts- a recent review shows that shows that we've previously had to close one of more Citi account in your name". All my $330 cash reward will be forfeited! I had Costco executive membership under American Express for 5 years, never had such problem.

I have always pay my balance on time. Really can't think why they want to close my account! I lost my costco credit card recently, had to call customer service to replace it. After I received the new card and activated it, I found that they didn't replace old card with the new one. Instead, both of them are appeared in my citi online account. They never fixed the problem since then. But now they are closing both.

It's no doubt a horrible and terrible mistake that Costco made to choose Citi as partnership.

I may stop renewing my costco membership next year due to this bad experience.

more ...
Jun 25, 2017
Approved $7k CL
Anonymous Cardholder

Exp 707 Eq 707 TU 678 

I spent the last year working on my credit from low 515 to what it is today. I paid off about $40k in credit card debt. I've been a member of Costco for 20 years and I finally have a Costco credit card. I'm so happy and grateful to be approved. The new rate is 15.99. I learned my lesson and no longer keep a bal on my cards, although my report is showing a 14% utilization right now. Income $150k. Low debt to income. I applied in the store with an instant approval.

more ...
Jun 23, 2017
No notice sent when payment is due.
Anonymous Cardholder

Not only is a fee added, but it may affect your credit rating.

more ...
Jun 19, 2017
Customer service system terrible.
Alywren Cardholder

Don't expect to receive the card in a timely manner especially if product changing from another Citi card. First I was told 7-10 business days from the day o called and product changed at the end of March. It hadn't shown up in 3 weeks so I called. Customer care kept asking for a card number but I didn't have one yet. I got transferred 3 times and each time had to verify my identity because they do cold transfers. Finally after 20+ minutes on the phone I was told if get the card within 7-10 business days of my old closing date, may 28th... It's been 14 days past that so I called Customer service again to get an ETA. WS transferred twice again and same thing as before. Kept having to reconfirm my identity because I didn't have a card number to input in the automated system and it has to time out twice just to get to a person who will let you provide alternative ID.

That 4% back on gas and 2%back on Costco purchases better be worth it. We never had these issues when it was Amex!

more ...
May 22, 2017
Absolutely no problems
Alex655321 Cardholder

It is just as advertised. 

0% first seven months. 

Received my cash back voucher and was able to make a small purchase and Costco gave me back the remainder in cash.

No complaints.  Nothing shady or sneaky.

more ...
May 16, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I have credit with all major banks but this Citi Costco card customer service is the worst nightmare. I am very patiently using the card for more than a year now. I think a year is enough time for me to post rating. I had a fraud transaction from eBay and the merchant is in Russia. I have been on the dispute for 6 weeks. The credit card company just resolved in favor of the merchant and said that because I didn't provide requested by the dispute group. What a joke it is. I sent the information via email with case # as directed. I called the credit card dispute department in the last 3 three weeks after I received that decision favored the fraud seller but still no decision. Every time I called to dispute customer service department, I get the same answer "we are still working on it". I provided all of the information included the fraud tracking number that sent to a state cross country from state I'm living in.

Very BAD customer service. I want American Express back from Costco!

I'm a 12 years veteran of Costco membership ever since Costco operated from my state.

more ...
May 03, 2017
Terrible online features or lack thereof
Anonymous Cardholder

1 ) Cannot use a single user login and have both a business and personal account !

22) You cannot go back beyond a two week period with a running balance next to your debits and credits ....One cannot see running balance beside your debits and credits , “Not even to the last statement” ?!! GOTTA BE KIDDING! Every bank today does it

I have numerous banking accounts and everyone has debits credits and RUINNING Balance to the right or left going back multiple statement periods!!

 Without a running balance ( or running total to the right of all debits an credits ) Your literally have to print out statements to see and add and subtract your debits and credits or simply trust the bank ….Archaic at best!

I talked with Costco who agreed but then just got me in contact with the bank whom said they have no plans to add as they don’t get enough complaints ( though even the staff that took the complaint agreed it is a better way to GO!

So please call Costco if you are frustrated and voice your opinion 859-283-8923 and maybe we can force them for a better user expierence. OR GET A BETTER BANK! :-))

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Costco Anywhere Visa® Card by Citi