Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Costco Anywhere Visa® Card by Citi

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.8 out of 5 stars
49 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%*
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Costco Anywhere Visa® Card by Citi offers impressive rewards for Costco members.

What to Like

The rewards here are pretty great, highlighted by 4% cash back on gas purchases (up to $7,000 in purchases each year). Cardholders also get 3% cash back on restaurant and eligible travel purchases, 2% on other Costco purchases and 1% on all other purchases. To top it off, there’s no annual fee besides the cost of your Costco membership.

Look Out For

To get this card, you have to be a Costco member, which of course comes with an annual fee. There’s also a foreign transaction fee and a high penalty APR that could apply if you miss a payment.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 21, 2016
convenient card with good rewards
Anonymous Cardholder

Easy to apply, online or in-person. I applied in-person, had a credit score of 793, and was approved instantly for a credit limit of ~15%/income level. Rewards make this card worth it for me - major caveat is that the rewards can only be redeemed at Costco. Not a problem personally, but may be for others. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 07, 2016
Terrible Customer Service!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Cut over was a nighmare with first statement coming out less than a week before the due date.  I've been trying tog get interests removed due to the cut over but was told they couldn't do it.  I asked to close my account and they were happy to oblige.  There was absolutly no attempt at keeping my busienss.  I really do miss AmEx.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 16, 2017
CAlega Cardholder

Was offered this card while shopping in Costco and got approved instantly. Never had a problem with this card and cash back rewards are great.!

more ...
Dec 16, 2016
worst online account managment posable
Anonymous Cardholder

I was a secondary card holder on the recent card migration. I have been trying to link it to my account (I have a secound citi card). I was not about to atach this card so i can pay my own account. SO i just canceled both cards.

more ...
Dec 13, 2016
IT SUCKS! WHERE IS THE ZERO STAR RATING
Anonymous Cardholder

Costco Citi Card Sucks! Their customer service is terrible. They repeatedly push you back to the the vendor even though the account error is made by Citi. We have had to deal with Citi customer service more often in the short time since Costco switched to them then we ever had to with American Express. Transaction reversals are repeatedly left on the account even though the vendor reverses them immediately. Citi refuses to address them telling us to contact the vendor. They give conflicting answers regarding the reversals, sometimes saying that they will disappear in 30 days, sometimes saying that if the vendor doesn't correct them the charges will go through even though the vendor dealt with the reversal immediately. Their web interface is much less capable than that of American Express regarding transaction info and reporting. PLEASE COSTCO, DUMP CITI AND GO TO ANOTHER MORE FRIENDLY CARD COMPANY!

more ...
Dec 05, 2016
Costco and Citi STINKS
Anonymous Cardholder

If I give u Zero star I would ... Customers service doesnt exist at all . Shredding your F*** Card NOW . You dont deserve my business Ideiots .

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 18, 2016

"Ideiots ."

 
Dec 04, 2016
They suck
Anonymous Cardholder

Used it to book airline travel. Costco said they declined it but united still showed the purchase. How do I know if I have a ticket or not?  

more ...
Nov 12, 2016
Easy payments
Anonymous Cardholder

I love that payments made are posted immediately, and you don't have to wait till the following day to use it.

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I just closed my Costco  Citi/credit card, they charged me $25 for late payment, I did not recieve any bill thru the mail, had nothing but problems with this card right from the start. I'm begining to think I can live just fine without a Costco membership. I never had any problems with American express

more ...
Nov 01, 2016
A blight to own
Anonymous Cardholder

The application process was tedious with many errors and re-entering my info repeatedly (inside Costco). The rewards are difficult to redeem, the card isn't even being reported to the credit bureaus yet (5 months in having the card), and customer service is non-existent. I regret getting this card.

more ...
Oct 29, 2016
Free Cashback Here I Come
Enermax32 Cardholder

Approved for $5,000 after being denied September 22nd for insufficient credit history, I now have 1 year of credit history... Approved with 11% UTI... Experian 730; TU 739... 4 new cards in July; 1 in March, 1 in February... I applied through Citi.com, used their prequalified, it showed I didn't have a prequalified offer, but it did say they had suggestions, Costco being one of them, I clicked and applied...

more ...
Oct 23, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Since transitioning from the Costco American Express to the Costco Citibank Visa I've had nothing but problems. Basically I've been paying my bill in full every month and the Citibank site shows I paid, but the old balance is still added to my new balance. Nothing has been resolved with Citibank. The customer service wait time is generally 45-50 minutes to speak with a representative and then nothing is resolved with Citibank. Today Citibank is "unavailable" for some reason. Customers get an autmoated message to try again later. Terrible! I'm disappointed that Costco, a business with such STELLAR customer service, would choose to do business with a company that offers such poor customer service. Coscto has lost me as an executive member. I have no choice but to close this Citibank account and get a basic membership at Costco and pay for purchases with cash or a check. Very disappointed.I've been a Costco member for over a decade.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Costco Anywhere Visa® Card by Citi