Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Costco Anywhere Visa® Card by Citi

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.7 out of 5 stars
55 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%*
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Costco Anywhere Visa® Card by Citi offers impressive rewards for Costco members.

What to Like

The rewards here are pretty great, highlighted by 4% cash back on gas purchases (up to $7,000 in purchases each year). Cardholders also get 3% cash back on restaurant and eligible travel purchases, 2% on other Costco purchases and 1% on all other purchases. To top it off, there’s no annual fee besides the cost of your Costco membership.

Look Out For

To get this card, you have to be a Costco member, which of course comes with an annual fee. There’s also a foreign transaction fee and a high penalty APR that could apply if you miss a payment.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 21, 2016
convenient card with good rewards
Anonymous Cardholder

Easy to apply, online or in-person. I applied in-person, had a credit score of 793, and was approved instantly for a credit limit of ~15%/income level. Rewards make this card worth it for me - major caveat is that the rewards can only be redeemed at Costco. Not a problem personally, but may be for others. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 13, 2016
IT SUCKS! WHERE IS THE ZERO STAR RATING
Anonymous Cardholder

Costco Citi Card Sucks! Their customer service is terrible. They repeatedly push you back to the the vendor even though the account error is made by Citi. We have had to deal with Citi customer service more often in the short time since Costco switched to them then we ever had to with American Express. Transaction reversals are repeatedly left on the account even though the vendor reverses them immediately. Citi refuses to address them telling us to contact the vendor. They give conflicting answers regarding the reversals, sometimes saying that they will disappear in 30 days, sometimes saying that if the vendor doesn't correct them the charges will go through even though the vendor dealt with the reversal immediately. Their web interface is much less capable than that of American Express regarding transaction info and reporting. PLEASE COSTCO, DUMP CITI AND GO TO ANOTHER MORE FRIENDLY CARD COMPANY!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 21, 2017
It seems simple, until the reward comes!
donrull Cardholder

I have been using this card as a test since it was first introduced.  My plan, to see if the cash back was anywhere near what was promised or if it was deceptive by way of "fine print".  For the past year plus, we have used this card exclusively for all of our gas, restaurant and Costco purchases.  Gas is supposed to be 4%, restaurants 3% and Coscto 2%.  I am just getting my cash back reward, it is nowhere near 2% of my total purchase amount.  Considering the majority of my purchases were for restaurants and gas, this was disappointing.  I called Costco, who noted my concern and reached out to Citi.  The Citi representative said there was no way to really tell which of my transactions earned a specific % in cash back.  She is able to look one by one and determined that Sam's Club gas station only gave me 1% cash back.  She explained that Costco does not give the higher percentages to businesses that are competitors.  She also mentioned that the terms of my account specify only participating retailers.  Fine, I guess, but please then is there a list of participating retailers?  NOPE, no such list exists.  Then I thought about competitors.  Isn't any gas station a competitor to Costco gas stations?  Mind you, the closest Costco gas station to me is 123.92 miles away and to be a competitor it seems you would have to actually be selling a competing product.  Really, any retailer would be a competitor under the loose definition and example.  At the end of the day this is what I found out about this card.  You will get 2% cash back from Costco.  You have no way of knowing if you will get 3% from restaurants if going to a restaurant, nor 4% from gas stations when purchasing gas.  The Citi representative did try to tell me that these rebates were based on the merchant codes.  So, with that in mind I did some research and found out that the merchant code for Sams's Club gas stations is 5542 for all of my transactions.  Per the merchant category code description, 5542 is for "Automated Fuel Dispensers."  Somehow, this does not qualify for the 4% cash back for gasoline purchases.  Really it seems that the 4% cash back should be marketed honestly like this:  4% cash back on some gas purchases.  At participating gas stations only, and no a list is not available.  Not valid at gas stations Costco determines to be a competitor, regardless of a merchant code specifically identifying your gasoline purchase.  Costco defines a competitor as a business selling something, so at Costco’s sole discretion, and in an alternative factual reality, you may not earn extra cash back on anything.  Up next: Costco changes the definition for “purchases” to exclude any items or services for which there is a monetary exchange. 

more ...
Feb 16, 2017
Cash back and free annual membership!
Anonymous Cardholder

Perfect for addictive Costco customer!!
=D

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Rewards are good, but card is garbage
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had credit cards for 9 years, and never had a late/missed payment. I've paid all my cards in full every month. Since I got my Citi card I had accrued interested twice, for about $4 once, and $2.25 another time. I pay my account to $0 several times a month. It appears I had a balance from a previous statement make it past the due date (how? hard to tell because everytime I pay it it says I have a $0 balance). So I paid the account to $0 to start fresh again. 

I just looked at my account, and was charged $2.25 in interest. When I inquired, they claim I need to pay the account to $0 two statements in a row before they remove interest. How can I be charged interest on something I had paid to $0? 

Done with this card. 

more ...
Jan 20, 2017
Good card
jlballs Cardholder

This is a good card to have but don't carry a balance on it. I was approved for a limit of $5.500 with a 657 credit score and $35.900 in available credit and nine other credit cards

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Danger they will side with the merchant
Anonymous Cardholder

I charged a purchase over the phone on my Costco Citi Card with a merchant.

The merchant overcharged me what he had quoted.

I Disputed only the over charge and paid the amount I agreed with.

Merchant submitted an invoice with his charges which I was never sent to me.

Citi found for the merchant without anything in writing from me agreeing to the increased amount.  In other words they believed the invoice even though I told them I was never quoted that amount.

Which means that any merchant can quote a price and charge more if they make up an invoice and submitt it to the dispute dept. of Citi.

For example quote $30 over the phone and charge your card $230.  Submitt a merchant invoice for their amount and Citi will back the merchant instead of it's card holder.

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Cumbersome online banking results
Anonymous Cardholder

Citi online banking connection to Quicken is unsatisfactory.  You will need to manually download transactions by going to Citi account and initiate download to Quicken as you cannot initiate download from Quicken application directly.  Never had this problem w American Express.

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
CAlega Cardholder

Was offered this card while shopping in Costco and got approved instantly. Never had a problem with this card and cash back rewards are great.!

more ...
Dec 16, 2016
worst online account managment posable
Anonymous Cardholder

I was a secondary card holder on the recent card migration. I have been trying to link it to my account (I have a secound citi card). I was not about to atach this card so i can pay my own account. SO i just canceled both cards.

more ...
Dec 13, 2016
IT SUCKS! WHERE IS THE ZERO STAR RATING
Anonymous Cardholder

Costco Citi Card Sucks! Their customer service is terrible. They repeatedly push you back to the the vendor even though the account error is made by Citi. We have had to deal with Citi customer service more often in the short time since Costco switched to them then we ever had to with American Express. Transaction reversals are repeatedly left on the account even though the vendor reverses them immediately. Citi refuses to address them telling us to contact the vendor. They give conflicting answers regarding the reversals, sometimes saying that they will disappear in 30 days, sometimes saying that if the vendor doesn't correct them the charges will go through even though the vendor dealt with the reversal immediately. Their web interface is much less capable than that of American Express regarding transaction info and reporting. PLEASE COSTCO, DUMP CITI AND GO TO ANOTHER MORE FRIENDLY CARD COMPANY!

more ...
Dec 05, 2016
Costco and Citi STINKS
Anonymous Cardholder

If I give u Zero star I would ... Customers service doesnt exist at all . Shredding your F*** Card NOW . You dont deserve my business Ideiots .

more ...
Dec 18, 2016

"Ideiots ."

 
Jan 30, 2017

Irony..... Calling people Idiots, But misspelling it Ideiots.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Costco Anywhere Visa® Card by Citi