Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Costco Anywhere Visa® Card by Citi

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
44 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%*
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.49%* Variable

Our Take

The Costco Anywhere Visa® Card by Citi offers impressive rewards for Costco members.

What to Like

The rewards here are pretty great, highlighted by 4% cash back on gas purchases (up to $7,000 in purchases each year). Cardholders also get 3% cash back on restaurant and eligible travel purchases, 2% on other Costco purchases and 1% on all other purchases. To top it off, there’s no annual fee besides the cost of your Costco membership.

Look Out For

To get this card, you have to be a Costco member, which of course comes with an annual fee. There’s also a foreign transaction fee and a high penalty APR that could apply if you miss a payment.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 21, 2016
convenient card with good rewards
Anonymous Cardholder

Easy to apply, online or in-person. I applied in-person, had a credit score of 793, and was approved instantly for a credit limit of ~15%/income level. Rewards make this card worth it for me - major caveat is that the rewards can only be redeemed at Costco. Not a problem personally, but may be for others. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 07, 2016
Terrible Customer Service!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Cut over was a nighmare with first statement coming out less than a week before the due date.  I've been trying tog get interests removed due to the cut over but was told they couldn't do it.  I asked to close my account and they were happy to oblige.  There was absolutly no attempt at keeping my busienss.  I really do miss AmEx.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 12, 2016
Easy payments
Anonymous Cardholder

I love that payments made are posted immediately, and you don't have to wait till the following day to use it.

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I just closed my Costco  Citi/credit card, they charged me $25 for late payment, I did not recieve any bill thru the mail, had nothing but problems with this card right from the start. I'm begining to think I can live just fine without a Costco membership. I never had any problems with American express

more ...
Nov 01, 2016
A blight to own
Anonymous Cardholder

The application process was tedious with many errors and re-entering my info repeatedly (inside Costco). The rewards are difficult to redeem, the card isn't even being reported to the credit bureaus yet (5 months in having the card), and customer service is non-existent. I regret getting this card.

more ...
Oct 29, 2016
Free Cashback Here I Come
Enermax32 Cardholder

Approved for $5,000 after being denied September 22nd for insufficient credit history, I now have 1 year of credit history... Approved with 11% UTI... Experian 730; TU 739... 4 new cards in July; 1 in March, 1 in February... I applied through Citi.com, used their prequalified, it showed I didn't have a prequalified offer, but it did say they had suggestions, Costco being one of them, I clicked and applied...

more ...
Oct 23, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Since transitioning from the Costco American Express to the Costco Citibank Visa I've had nothing but problems. Basically I've been paying my bill in full every month and the Citibank site shows I paid, but the old balance is still added to my new balance. Nothing has been resolved with Citibank. The customer service wait time is generally 45-50 minutes to speak with a representative and then nothing is resolved with Citibank. Today Citibank is "unavailable" for some reason. Customers get an autmoated message to try again later. Terrible! I'm disappointed that Costco, a business with such STELLAR customer service, would choose to do business with a company that offers such poor customer service. Coscto has lost me as an executive member. I have no choice but to close this Citibank account and get a basic membership at Costco and pay for purchases with cash or a check. Very disappointed.I've been a Costco member for over a decade.

more ...
Oct 12, 2016
Issue since April 2015 (nearly a year)
Anonymous Cardholder

Citi is not owning up to their mistakes when the whole Amex to Citi transition happened. I have had to call them over 8 times and the same issue that is now nearly a year old. And every time I want to actually talk to someone from their investigation department I simply get a letter in the mail on their final decisions!!! I am absolutely furious with Citi--especially since this is my first Citi account with them as well. I WILL NEVER WORK WITH THEM AFTER THIS!!! They are pretty much telling me to bite the bullet on $480!!!

The ONLY benefit is the better rewards with Costco. That's it!! But if you feel crappy customer service and randomly having to pay an extra $500 is worth the extra Costco rewards then go ahead, sign your life away.

more ...
Oct 10, 2016
TERRIBLE Fraud Detection
wapup Cardholder

Only thing good is the Costco name and negotiated rewards.  On my 10th purchase through an App, just to reload my card a small $10, it decides that the 10th identical purchase is fraud.  ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE "Fraud" detection algorithm.  It also called another purchase I was making fraud.  There is nothing more frustrating than when you have more than available credit to have your purchase declined.  I delayed any responses because it made me so mad but it has been over two weeks and there is no excuse it is still just poor credit card adminstration.  Not to mention that the call from a unknown number with an automated message to let you know about the fraud is too easily ignored and hung up on.  Terrible Interface Terrible Customer Service.  American Express was stupid for cutting ties with Costco but ALL of American Express' systems (fraud, web, payments...) were far better than Citi.

more ...
Oct 10, 2016
TERRIBLE Fraud Detection
wapup Cardholder

Only thing good is the Costco name and negotiated rewards.  On my 10th purchase through an App, just to reload my card a small $10, it decides that the 10th identical purchase is fraud.  ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE "Fraud" detection algorithm.  It also called another purchase I was making fraud.  There is nothing more frustrating than when you have more than available credit to have your purchase declined.  I delayed any responses because it made me so mad but it has been over two weeks and there is no excuse it is still just poor credit card adminstration.  Not to mention that the call from a unknown number with an automated message to let you know about the fraud is too easily ignored and hung up on.  Terrible Interface Terrible Customer Service.  American Express was stupid for cutting ties with Costco but ALL of American Express' systems (fraud, web, payments...) were far better than Citi.

more ...
Oct 07, 2016
Terrible Customer Service!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Cut over was a nighmare with first statement coming out less than a week before the due date.  I've been trying tog get interests removed due to the cut over but was told they couldn't do it.  I asked to close my account and they were happy to oblige.  There was absolutly no attempt at keeping my busienss.  I really do miss AmEx.

more ...
Oct 07, 2016
Easy
Astarchloe Cardholder

i joined Costco first and then I followed the link to apply for the anywhere card. Was instantly approved with a 7k limit! was super easy and love my new costco membership and my new citi anywhere visa

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Costco Anywhere Visa® Card by Citi