Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citi® / AAdvantage® Platinum Select® MasterCard®

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.24% - 22.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95, waived for first 12 months
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.24% - 22.24%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 02, 2012
TM8508 Cardholder

Credit Karma score 642, approved for $6000. Citi pulled Equifax...not sure if that made a huge difference.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 02, 2012
Good card with decent interest rate
rufius Cardholder

First big credit card I got after I graduated college. Was instantly approved for $8000 and have since been bumped to $25000. The card does as suggested, providing miles for AA. Unfortunately, AA's miles program has gotten steadily worse over time. At this point it's nearly impossible to use the giant bunch of points I've accumulated.

I'm considering dropping this card and picking up a Chase Sapphire card.

more ...

Reviews (129)

Add Review
Oct 20, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Approved with 719 transunion and 741 fico. I love how easy it is to make payments on the app. The app is great and easy to use! My first big credit card and I'm very pleased with it 

more ...
Oct 15, 2016

Im so surprised and impressed by this card! I just got an invitation letter today to apply for this card and i almost didn't because im still building my credit so its much harder for me to get approved. CK showed that my approval odds were good, so i was like why not... I just applied and was instantly approved for a $3500 CL!! CITI showed my EQ score at only 628. WOW!! Im so glad I didn't waste a hard inquire on my credit!!:).

more ...
Oct 15, 2016
Approved wow!

I received a invitation mailer offering this card. I just received credit increase on my QS1 card to $7k which I believe help me get this card. I figured I had a good chance to be approved for this card. I mailed back in the offer letter. I noticed my credit report was pulled Citi so I called in to check the status of my app. At 1st the rep said I was denied but said hold a moment. When she came back on she verified some info, and congrats (you are approved for $3k). My credit scores across the board 645. Looking forward to my 50,000 bonus miles after I spent $3k in 3 mos. Interesting how I was denied for a Citi Double Cash Card earlier this year. Oh well I benefit from the miles since I already have a cash rewards card.

more ...
Oct 14, 2016
Approved depsite CK poor odds
roscoe75287 Cardholder

Have 2 Cap 1 cards and now I have this card depite poor odds for approval w/ 707 TU and 667 EQ.  

Approved for 4K CL.

more ...
Oct 13, 2016
Credit slowly building up and approved
nebulaChi Cardholder

To think this time a year ago I had a 580-600 score. Just got approved for this card with a $6k limit. Equifax 680.  My Credit Karma scores gives me TU: 715 Equifax: 745, but I'm sure it's pulling some version of it. Can't wait to get those bonus miles!

more ...
Sep 06, 2016

I have a 708 FICO score, make 110k annually, have a great payment history and currently only 10% credit utilization.  Got denied for this card and I am absolutely stunned as to why.  The only thing I can think of is I recently got married and I recently changed my last name, but even that still doesn't make sense since they use your social.

more ...
Aug 29, 2016
Not consistant in approving..

I applied with a 660 Fico across the board and perfect payment history. Make 75K a year and didn't approve me. Sucks because I love traveling and would've made this my main card.

more ...
Aug 24, 2016
Approved for $2500
Anonymous Cardholder

I got a mailer in the mail. I already have a citi credit card for over 18 month the citi bank rewards card (it's green and blue) I use it a lot although my limit is lower $1000 but i charge it up and pay it off. I figure i'd try this card. Since I travel so much and usually what I charge on my credit card my flight then pay it off. A bonus is I fly very often with american airlines. I gave it a shot and got approved for $2500 my credit score is Equafax :642 I am thinking maybe because I have been a client with them and in good standing I got approved. Reading the reviews my credit score is fair not good or excellent like it says is required. But give it a shot I got approved yesterday.

more ...
Sep 16, 2016

I had a similar experience. Citi Double Cash Card for about a year, fair credit, no negatives, then Pow! Instead approval $4,200 Whoo Hoo!! 😀

Aug 17, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Gave it a shot and applied, with mid-600s credit scores.  Approved in a matter of seconds, with a $3000 limit.  We shall see how everything goes!

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?


Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 203
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi® / AAdvantage® Platinum Select® MasterCard®