Overall card rating

3.6
120 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most helpful positive review

May 30, 2018
Great Card for Miles
Credit Karma Member

I applied for this card despite Credit Karma saying my odds were not great. My TU Score was 681 and my Experian was 709, and I was approved with a credit limit of $8,500. I'm disappointed that it does not earn Elite Qualifying Dollars like the Aviator card does, but I am happy with the fact the annual fee is waived the first year and with the 60k bonus miles after the first $3,000 spent.

Helpful65
Not Helpful12
Comment1
Flag

Most helpful negative review

Aug 02, 2019
From 5 stars to 2 stars...
Credit Karma Member

This was a 5 star card until September 22, 2019 when almost all benefits are going to be slashed by Citi. This card had soooo many benefits, car rental insurance, 90 day return protection, citi price rewind, baggage insurance protection, emergency travel protection, roadside assistance and more... all gone. I used to advocate for this card every time someone asked me for recommendations... now, I don't know.. Citi always had my back for any charges of subscriptions or canceled services, they sometimes issue a credit right away. They're flexible and I've never had 1 complaint, until they slashed these rewards. For a cheap annual fee of $99 (which increased from $95) solely based on baggage fees, is worth it. It pays itself off if you travel 2 times a year or with others (their bags are free if they're on your booking) I always had peace of mind traveling, but now I feel vulnerable.

Helpful62
Not Helpful8
Comment0
Flag


Member ratings


All member reviews (120)

50
29
9
7
24

May 19, 2022
Best of the best.
Credit Karma Member

I paid for 2 trips and my 3rd one was free with Miles. Best domestic travel credit card ever.

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

May 15, 2022
Garbage
Credit Karma Member

Horrible customer service and communication. I refinanced my home for 1.2 million and zeroed out my balance, was never late for a payment in 12 years and have an 800 plus credit score. They reduced my credit limit to 500 dollars with a mid-six figure income. Their sky miles are useless, unless you want to overpay by 3x normal rates. Not worth it, you are better off finding a card with true benefits. Not upset, just moving on as you should.

Helpful6
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Apr 18, 2022
Traveling
Credit Karma Member

This company has poor customer service. If I could go back and use a different service I would

Helpful3
Not Helpful0
Comment1
Flag

Dec 13, 2021
5 stars until yesterday.
Credit Karma Member

This was my go-to card for the last 2 years. I average $2k - $3k per month, never carrying a balance. My son is an authorized user, and buys food and gas. Same stations, same places for 2 years. On a very cold, blustery day, I am getting gas at a Sam’s club. Card declined. I used another card. I get a notice that they are looking at suspicious charges. $6 on Amazon, where I probably have 6 - 10 purchases per month. Gas at the station for $44 where my son always gets gas. An authorization at a Sam’s club. For the sake of $50, I took the card out of my wallet. It’s not my primary card any more.

Helpful11
Not Helpful6
Comment0
Flag

Aug 13, 2021
My first CITI card!
Credit Karma Member

My chance of approval is poor, I got instantly approved for $7600 limit, my EU 748, Equifax 746 and Experian 721. I have 2 bank of america cards, they are very generous, 1 with $13K limit, the other is $9800 limit.

Helpful11
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Jun 27, 2021
Points expired/no notice
Credit Karma Member

This card/reward program out there. I actually feel ripped-off. I got the card for the reward miles obviously. Made the payment and purchases. Then the pandemic hits and they: 1. Took all my 60,000 reward miles 2. I literally could NOT talk to a human at American Airlines for an entire week as “the call volume was very high” and they “will have a customer care rep call you back in 2-4 hours”. Yes. Really. 3. Once someone called me back, they had no idea how to solve my issue, but wait, I will connect you with someone who can. Then, I got disconnected. 4. Repeat 1-3 again 5. Caught some who dod look at my rewards and oop, nope. They expired. It’s a crap heap.

Helpful14
Not Helpful4
Comment0
Flag

Oct 27, 2020
Nice Card
Credit Karma Member

A good card for miles if you use American Airlines. Earning miles for every purchase is nice, plus some perks for just being a cardholder. I personally don't use the card much because I get better perks from another card. For those that use AA a lot this card is a must.

Helpful6
Not Helpful2
Comment2
Flag

May 24, 2020
rewards are puny
Credit Karma Member

Not happy with the rewards at all. I expected to earn miles. Even with flights I did not earn miles. Rediculous.

Helpful17
Not Helpful3
Comment1
Flag

Aug 02, 2019
From 5 stars to 2 stars...
Credit Karma Member

This was a 5 star card until September 22, 2019 when almost all benefits are going to be slashed by Citi. This card had soooo many benefits, car rental insurance, 90 day return protection, citi price rewind, baggage insurance protection, emergency travel protection, roadside assistance and more... all gone. I used to advocate for this card every time someone asked me for recommendations... now, I don't know.. Citi always had my back for any charges of subscriptions or canceled services, they sometimes issue a credit right away. They're flexible and I've never had 1 complaint, until they slashed these rewards. For a cheap annual fee of $99 (which increased from $95) solely based on baggage fees, is worth it. It pays itself off if you travel 2 times a year or with others (their bags are free if they're on your booking) I always had peace of mind traveling, but now I feel vulnerable.

Helpful62
Not Helpful8
Comment0
Flag

Jul 15, 2019
Not bad but not great..
Credit Karma Member

If you're an avid AA flyer this card is for you, the starting bonus of 60k is really nice and the miles can be used for upgrades or flights. The free checked bag is great and being in group 5 each time you fly once again its not bad but not great. $95 dollar annual fee as well, this card is honestly for the American Airlines avid traveler.

Helpful13
Not Helpful2
Comment1
Flag

1-10 of 120

See Approval Odds before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.