Chevron and Texaco Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.8 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 18, 2016
Msroby168 Cardholder

I was originally only approved for $300 with a CS of about 640. I wasn't pleased. I asked for an increase at 3 months, denied. Then again at 6 months, denied. Then again at 9 months, $150 increase. Still not happy I ran across a backdoor number, they increased me to 2k! Much happier although my highest card right now is 5k. 2k is more than enough for gas though lol. BTW, my current current scores are around 660 across the board and they did a soft pull.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 09, 2016
Features are now gone.
Anonymous Cardholder

This card used to show you not only the dollar amount, but the fuel type and how much fuel you purchased.  Also if you purcahsed other items they could be seen itemized on that transaction as well so you didn't have to manually keep track if you bought something other than gas.  Now all you see is one amount and where it was, but you cannot get any details if you don't have your receipt.  Make sure if you need to know where all the money went to keep your receipt now.  This now makes this card no better than any other card that offers incentives on gasoline purchases.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 30, 2017
DON'T GET THIS CARD - CUST SERV STINKS
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for a few years, no late payments, paid off my house in Feb so credit score went up by more than 100 points (now in high 700) and they decreased my limit from $500 to $140.  When I asked why Tania from customer service sent me a letter stating they pulled credit score from "reputable" company TransUnion and that was their determing factor!!!  When I contacted TransUnion they sent me paperwork totally disputing what Chevron stated.  No benefits from this card so DON'T BOTHER GETTING ONE!  THEY TREAT CUSTOMERS HORRIBLY.

more ...
Mar 23, 2017
AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!
JAYTY2007 Cardholder

I had this card about a year and a half.  I just paid it off and closed it today.  I started out with a $400 credit limit.  They decreased my limit without cause or warning twice.  I was never late on payments or over my limit.  First decrease took me down to $270 credit limit.  No warning or reason.  Second no warning credit limit decrease was just recently, down to $130.  That was the last straw.  I paid my balance to ZERO and closed the account.  I cannot recommend this card to anyone.  It's simply not worth it.  

more ...
Mar 11, 2017
Customer service sucks 😠
nscrcr8z Cardholder

It's a ok card 690ish credit score 4 year's never later every so often carry a small Balance over but for the most part 90% no balance

I have tried several times for cli but they keep hitting me with the big fat 0
I realize its better than nothing but come on ive shown them respect and very responsible sense 2013 with this and other cards....
And when you do call , every time i have to constantly tell them to repeat there selfs because of the lack of understanding....

more ...
Jan 28, 2017
lowered limit
Anonymous Cardholder

started with 500.00 limit never late, with 0 balance. No notification just bam! lowered to 100.00 Said due decrease in credit score due to insurance made late payment was reason. Doesn't matter that my payment hstory with them is stellar. Ths card just went into the do not use list. Collecting DUST!

more ...
Jan 20, 2017
Horrible
Hurt22 Cardholder

I went to fill up only to find out they lowere my credit limit from 1k to 200. I wasnt informed and when i called the lady saaid the letter was on the way. I asked to speak to supervisor He was so rude and hung up on me. So i call back and dont get anyone for 10min. I file a complaint and then she transfers me to another supervisor and she didnt make me a satisfied customer, she had the nerve to say to me thank u for being a valued customer. If that is what their definition of valued is they need to go back to the drawing board. Needless to say nothing good came out of speaking to anyone, they dont care, u r just a # to them

more ...
Jan 20, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

They decreased my credit limit without letting me know first. I was super so ashamed to be declined 3 times. I called to find out what was the issue and the csrep informs me that the letter was on its way. I asked to speak with supervisor and he was worse. He spoke to me like we were in the streets and then hung up on me.I would not recommend this card to anyone. They treat customers like crap and then after speaking to the third csr she had the nerve to say Thank U for being a valued customer. What a joke

more ...
Dec 17, 2016
Nothing bad about it
garochristian Cardholder

I've owned this card for three years. There is nothing to gripe about for this card; however, there aren't that many perks, either.

Customer service is great. My credit limit was increased twice—both times were automatic increases.

The rewards are sub-par compared to other cards.

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
No longer worth it.
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card since 2010 (6 years). When I first opened it, the fuel credits were great. I've since stopped using it when they changed the program. I've been in good standing since I opened the account. Never missed a payment and have always paid more than minimum. They've also increased my credit multiple times automatically to $7,000. Last month I had an 'emergency' come up and needed to do a cash advance, which upped my minimum payment. Silly me, I didn't update my bank's bill pay to reflect the new minimum so I was short $20. I didn't become aware of this until 1 week later. After bringing my account back up to date, I found that they had decreased my credit limit to $5,200!! I called customer service to confirm if this was permanent, to which he replied yes and informed me that there's a possibility that it will decrease more after the monthly review of the account. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? $20 short and you decrease my limit? I have NEVER missed payments. Most credit card companies would be more understanding than this! Chevron does not promote card loyalty in any way. I'm paying off this card and putting it away.

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Bad custumer service.

more ...
Nov 14, 2016
Ok
Anonymous Cardholder

Poor customer service!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Chevron and Texaco Credit Card