Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chevron and Texaco Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.0 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 18, 2016
Msroby168 Cardholder

I was originally only approved for $300 with a CS of about 640. I wasn't pleased. I asked for an increase at 3 months, denied. Then again at 6 months, denied. Then again at 9 months, $150 increase. Still not happy I ran across a backdoor number, they increased me to 2k! Much happier although my highest card right now is 5k. 2k is more than enough for gas though lol. BTW, my current current scores are around 660 across the board and they did a soft pull.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 09, 2016
Features are now gone.
Anonymous Cardholder

This card used to show you not only the dollar amount, but the fuel type and how much fuel you purchased.  Also if you purcahsed other items they could be seen itemized on that transaction as well so you didn't have to manually keep track if you bought something other than gas.  Now all you see is one amount and where it was, but you cannot get any details if you don't have your receipt.  Make sure if you need to know where all the money went to keep your receipt now.  This now makes this card no better than any other card that offers incentives on gasoline purchases.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 21, 2016
No longer worth it.
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card since 2010 (6 years). When I first opened it, the fuel credits were great. I've since stopped using it when they changed the program. I've been in good standing since I opened the account. Never missed a payment and have always paid more than minimum. They've also increased my credit multiple times automatically to $7,000. Last month I had an 'emergency' come up and needed to do a cash advance, which upped my minimum payment. Silly me, I didn't update my bank's bill pay to reflect the new minimum so I was short $20. I didn't become aware of this until 1 week later. After bringing my account back up to date, I found that they had decreased my credit limit to $5,200!! I called customer service to confirm if this was permanent, to which he replied yes and informed me that there's a possibility that it will decrease more after the monthly review of the account. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? $20 short and you decrease my limit? I have NEVER missed payments. Most credit card companies would be more understanding than this! Chevron does not promote card loyalty in any way. I'm paying off this card and putting it away.

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Bad custumer service.

more ...
Nov 14, 2016
Ok
Anonymous Cardholder

Poor customer service!

more ...
Oct 22, 2016
Worse customer service!!!!
KTDale310 Cardholder

I was approved for $2K in 2011. I never had a problem with this card and been paying to carry over balace and on time 100% with good credit history.  I had it for 5 years. I realized and find out that my credit line is went down and hurt my score! and I called the customer service and explained why my CL went down? they said they had to evaluation on my credit score and decided to downsize my DL to $300 on this card. I  had disagreement with them. I told them I never had problem with this card over 5 years and never missed the payments. they seem not care about my account  I told them I decide to pay it off in full next month and going to close this account for good and never apply this ever again with any Synchrony Bank products.  all is they said I am sorry about your account and hang up on me.  I  not reccomend you to not apply this card and they will change your credit line at anytime for no any reason!

more ...
Oct 22, 2016
Worse customer service!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I was approved for $2K in 2011. I never had a problem with this card and been paying to carry over balace and on time 100% with good credit history.  I had it for 5 years. I realized and find out that my credit line is went down and hurt my score! and I called the customer service and explained why my CL went down? they said they had to evaluation on my credit score and decided to downsize my DL to $300 on this card. I  had disagreement with them. I told them I never had problem with this card over 5 years and never missed the payments. they seem not care about my account  I told them I decide to pay it off in full next month and going to close this account for good and never apply this ever again with any Synchrony Bank products.  all is they said I am sorry about your account and hang up on me.  I  not reccomend you to not apply this card and they will change your credit line at anytime for no any reason!

more ...
Oct 10, 2016
Great Gas Card!
Anonymous Cardholder

Have had the Chevron card for about 4 years now and can't complain. They are constantly giving me automatic credit line increases. Can't see what's there isn't to like, was just upgraded to the Visa without asking.

more ...
Aug 09, 2016
Features are now gone.
Anonymous Cardholder

This card used to show you not only the dollar amount, but the fuel type and how much fuel you purchased.  Also if you purcahsed other items they could be seen itemized on that transaction as well so you didn't have to manually keep track if you bought something other than gas.  Now all you see is one amount and where it was, but you cannot get any details if you don't have your receipt.  Make sure if you need to know where all the money went to keep your receipt now.  This now makes this card no better than any other card that offers incentives on gasoline purchases.

more ...
Jun 24, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

My account was closed two years ago and I was making payments to pay it off. Every time I made a payment the balance never went down. I called them and the told me that I'm still being charged interest and late payment fees!! Well I tell you this,they can take that amount and put it somewhere!!!

more ...
Jun 18, 2016
Msroby168 Cardholder

I was originally only approved for $300 with a CS of about 640. I wasn't pleased. I asked for an increase at 3 months, denied. Then again at 6 months, denied. Then again at 9 months, $150 increase. Still not happy I ran across a backdoor number, they increased me to 2k! Much happier although my highest card right now is 5k. 2k is more than enough for gas though lol. BTW, my current current scores are around 660 across the board and they did a soft pull.

more ...
Jun 13, 2016
"""Folks its ok"
Jmh523 Cardholder

Ive had this card now 4 months and its fine with me. I do agree with the payments being posted between 5 to 7 days but it never affected my credit or my billing statement. Yeah there stingy on the credit line increase but its a gas card. 500.00 for a 4 cylinder car im ok with it. Nice to buy a quick cup of joe and granola bar while filling up. I know its synchrony bank but its a gas card. Plain and simple and my score was 678 approved. They use transunion or equifax.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Chevron and Texaco Credit Card