Chevron and Texaco Credit Card

Overall card rating

3.0
29 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most helpful positive review

Feb 04, 2013
Approved!
Credit Karma Member

Applied today. Instant approval for the Chevron/Texaco Visa Card. $2,500 CL. My biggest credit limit so far!

7
2
0

Most helpful negative review

Feb 07, 2018
Credit Karma Member

I lost everything in hurricane harvey. My home, my belongings, and everything I owned. I struggled to keep my card with a zero balance because I knew I would have it rough trying to recover. I called chevron card and asked if my card was ok as I just got a new one mailed out. They said it was fine with a zero balance. That I shouldn't have any issues. They cancelled my card the next day and now I am stuck 125 miles away from my home. I have no family or people to call to help. They cancelled my card because of my credit report they said! I always paid my bills, some late....but I paid them. Now on top of having nothing to my name and living in a shack with no hot water or comforts.....I'm stuck away from home because of them cancelling my card. Thank You Chevron Credit Cards for giving me yet another blow. I won't stop until I know everyone knows that this card will kick you when your down!

8
1
1


Member ratings


All member reviews (29)

11
5
1
2
10

Apr 16, 2022
Very Low Credit Limit
Credit Karma Member

I agree with majority of the reviewers regarding this card. When at the gas pump, I decided to apply for the Chevron Visa. I was instantly approved for a measly $800. Yikes! Most of my cards carry a minimum credit limit of $24,000 +. The ad for money off the gas price was slightly appealing; primary reason I applied while at the pump. As other reviewers stated, it's true...Synchrony holds your payment hostage and fails to update your account for more than week. Long after the money has been withdrawn from your checking account. Since obtaining the card approximately 3-4 weeks ago, I only used the card at Chevron gas stations; it's definitely not my primary card. I figured for the first few months with the promotion of $0.40 off the gallon price, I would take advantage of it. I received the first bill. The amount due was $536. I paid the amount in full within a day or two. Although the $536 payment was deducted from my checking account a week ago, Synchrony has still failed to update my account and post the accurate, real-time balance. Thankfully, I have good credit and ample credit cards that have a normal credit limit of $24,000 +, so I'm done with this card. I could care less if Synchrony updates the available balance. I made the first payment and that will be the last. Closing this account will not put a damper on my credit, so that's what I'm doing. Good riddance

0
0
0

Jul 28, 2021
Worst card ever
Credit Karma Member

I owned this car in less than a month and have had 4 security blocks when trying to make transactions at gas stations. I travel alot and try to use the card almost everywhere. Worst part is that there isn't a feature like most banks that text you, call you, or send you a notification via app to confirm it is you. You have to call customer service every time you get declined. I was excited at first because of the cashback rewards but i'm having second thoughts. i had a credit score of around 800 across all credit reporting agencies and they only approved me for 1,000 when most banks usually start me off with a minimum of 6,000. I always keep my balances at 0 before closing statement. i have the cleanest credit report and they only gave me 1,000. What a waste of time and credit inquiry.

3
0
0

Jun 30, 2021
Reduced Credit Line With No Notice.
Credit Karma Member

I have had this card for a few years. Started with a $500 limit. Tried a few times over the years for an increase but never happened. I just got a letter in the mail stating my credit line was decreased to $250. I have never been late on a payment and only carry over a small amount. I called and they said there is no one to talk to about it and it doesn’t matter if you have a good payment history. Absolute trash. What do you mean your payment history doesn’t matter? Canceled it immediately. Utter garbage.

4
0
0

Jul 27, 2018
Horrible customer service.
Credit Karma Member

If you pay off your full balance every month they will hold the payment amount from your credit for 8 days. They said they do this to prevent fraud. It does not make sense. Really bad customer service.

7
0
0

Feb 07, 2018
Credit Karma Member

I lost everything in hurricane harvey. My home, my belongings, and everything I owned. I struggled to keep my card with a zero balance because I knew I would have it rough trying to recover. I called chevron card and asked if my card was ok as I just got a new one mailed out. They said it was fine with a zero balance. That I shouldn't have any issues. They cancelled my card the next day and now I am stuck 125 miles away from my home. I have no family or people to call to help. They cancelled my card because of my credit report they said! I always paid my bills, some late....but I paid them. Now on top of having nothing to my name and living in a shack with no hot water or comforts.....I'm stuck away from home because of them cancelling my card. Thank You Chevron Credit Cards for giving me yet another blow. I won't stop until I know everyone knows that this card will kick you when your down!

8
1
1

Mar 23, 2017
AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!
Credit Karma Member

I had this card about a year and a half. I just paid it off and closed it today. I started out with a $400 credit limit. They decreased my limit without cause or warning twice. I was never late on payments or over my limit. First decrease took me down to $270 credit limit. No warning or reason. Second no warning credit limit decrease was just recently, down to $130. That was the last straw. I paid my balance to ZERO and closed the account. I cannot recommend this card to anyone. It's simply not worth it.

5
0
0

Mar 11, 2017
Customer service sucks ????
Credit Karma Member

It's a ok card 690ish credit score 4 year's never later every so often carry a small Balance over but for the most part 90% no balance I have tried several times for cli but they keep hitting me with the big fat 0 I realize its better than nothing but come on ive shown them respect and very responsible sense 2013 with this and other cards.... And when you do call , every time i have to constantly tell them to repeat there selfs because of the lack of understanding....

4
0
0

Dec 17, 2016
Nothing bad about it
Credit Karma Member

I've owned this card for three years. There is nothing to gripe about for this card; however, there aren't that many perks, either. Customer service is great. My credit limit was increased twice-both times were automatic increases. The rewards are sub-par compared to other cards.

1
1
0

Oct 22, 2016
Worse customer service!!!!
Credit Karma Member

I was approved for $2K in 2011. I never had a problem with this card and been paying to carry over balace and on time 100% with good credit history. I had it for 5 years. I realized and find out that my credit line is went down and hurt my score! and I called the customer service and explained why my CL went down? they said they had to evaluation on my credit score and decided to downsize my DL to $300 on this card. I had disagreement with them. I told them I never had problem with this card over 5 years and never missed the payments. they seem not care about my account I told them I decide to pay it off in full next month and going to close this account for good and never apply this ever again with any Synchrony Bank products. all is they said I am sorry about your account and hang up on me. I not reccomend you to not apply this card and they will change your credit line at anytime for no any reason!

2
0
0

Jun 18, 2016
Credit Karma Member

I was originally only approved for $300 with a CS of about 640. I wasn't pleased. I asked for an increase at 3 months, denied. Then again at 6 months, denied. Then again at 9 months, $150 increase. Still not happy I ran across a backdoor number, they increased me to 2k! Much happier although my highest card right now is 5k. 2k is more than enough for gas though lol. BTW, my current current scores are around 660 across the board and they did a soft pull.

4
0
0

1-10 of 29

See Approval Odds before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Chevron and Texaco Credit Card

Chevron and Texaco Credit Card


These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.