Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citi Sears Credit Card®

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
1.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 19, 2012
mikeangelo4u Cardholder

just wanna ask a question..whats the credit score limit to apply on sears?

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 14, 2012
Anonymous Cardholder

I have the sears Mastercard since 2001. I used to have a limit of $6800. I was never late with a payment and I always pay my card in full every month. I signed up for their credit Karma monitoring about 4 years ago. Two months later they dropped my limit from $6800 to $250. I called a few years ago and then again today to get the limit increased so I can make a $700 purchase. They wouldn't even give me an increase to $700. I have perfect credit and very little credit card debt. 1 of my other credit cards has no limit on it, so you can imagine how shocked I was that I couldn't get a $700 limit from sears. They never give me a good explaination as to why they won't increase my line and the customer representatives are nasty. I never use the card anymore because I can't purchase much with a $250 limit. No point in getting their credit card. Look around for a better deal. 

more ...
 

Reviews (90)

Add Review
Apr 21, 2016
Only one you really should have for its
Anonymous Cardholder

Continues to be best card for me.

more ...
Apr 19, 2016
Pull FULL EQ annualcreditreport.com!

I called for a recon 4/19/16 and the credit specialist advised me to pull a full credit report on EQ as Credit Karma is a third party and does not fully disclose.

more ...
Apr 17, 2016
CK 600 TU EQ denied.

I was not approved in store. I called the telephone number and provided my reference code. The representative mentioned that my 600 EQ was pulled and a judgement (marked satisfied) remained. Also, a deferred student loan that showed a balance equal to limit was noted.

more ...
Mar 25, 2016
Anonymous

DISCRIMINATORY! Not just Citi, but Sears also. Very discriminatory practices and lending habbits. Also guess they dont want ANY business! This is NOT a "personal, whoa is my credit" gripe. I have a perfect on time never missed or late payment history. Score is high and good. But apparently, they have a "lottery" selection process on whom they do and dont approve as ONE C.S said to me once. Since I've never been told something like that so bluntly, I'm sure it's true and an employee going above and beyond by being HONEST about the company he works for.

more ...
Mar 22, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for years and have purchased big ticket items in the past. I got a ding on my credit report for late payment for a $50 item. First time any credit card company has reported anything to credit bureau. I could have sworn I had paid it on time. I just cut the card up. It's not worth the hassel and risk of my credit.   

more ...
Feb 17, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

It's is one of the worst credit cards, aggressive interest if not paid with in the promotional period of any balance. I have a 5200 limit but only 2000 balance. But I advise paying cash if at all possible. My credit score is 753 and they wouldn't and still have not lowered the interest rate, even though I have been a customer since 2004. Paying on time every month. It is a citi card but is not the master card. They switched a couple of years ago I believe.

more ...
Feb 14, 2016
I am extremely disappointed.
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for a sear's credit card, and for some reason they verify using a phone number that I do not know.  They do not use my current number, and keep hanging up on me.  They keep telling me to write a letter, which by the way is less secure than a social security number, and have yet to provide me with an address.  I have a late charge on my account that I am unable to dispute, because they refuse to verify my identity.  Rest Assured that I will be making sure that all the credit card bureaus are aware of this issue, and any person that ever asks me about getting a sear's card will be quickly educated on their incompetence for even thinking about getting one after this mess.

more ...
Jan 31, 2016
WORST CREDIT CARD EVER!
Anonymous

Stay away from this credit card, and from Citi in general. ZERO customer support.

more ...
Jan 27, 2016
got a pending approval
Anonymous

i called the next day got declined with a 665 tu credit score so i am guessing they want better

more ...
Apr 06, 2016

Would you care to tell me the phone number? I am in the same boat.

Thanks

 
Jan 01, 2016
Worst Customer Service
DaniloEsperon Cardholder

Been a Sears card customer for close to a decade,until today. My purchases over the ten years included electronics, lawn mowers, tillers, tolld boxes tools and so on. Always paid my bills on time each and everytime. Purchased a new house 3yrs ago, and changed my address.I get my new statements to the updated address but my confirmation info is the old address??? Had this fixed several times, or so I thought.Lost my card, have not used it in over a year, zero balance.  Needed help with an online order, was straight out refused any help. Simple customer service and they would still of had me as a customer. Sears is laying off employees and more Kmarts are closing, I wonder why??? Since Roebuck was taken out the name it has done nothing but gone downhill .Closed my account as of 15mins ago

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

The Citi Sears Credit Card®, serviced by Citibank for Sears customers, offers benefits to Sears cardholders. Cardholders may receive perks such as exclusive monthly savings and coupons, special financing offers, and secure access to their credit score, powered by Credit Karma. The Sears website even offers a free Credit Score Demo to illustrate this feature. Other credit card types include the Sears Card®, Sears MasterCard® Card, Sears Commercial One® card, and Sears Home Improvement AccountSM. Sears card can be used to shop at Sears and Kmart stores.

With the motto “Life. Well Spent”, Sears, Roebuck and Co. owns a nationwide network of 848 full-line Sears stores, and is a leading U.S retailer of apparel, automotive, and home products and services. Sears also owns a variety of websites, specialty stores, and catalogs that offer merchandise and additional services to families nationwide. Sears, Roebuck and Co. is a subsidiary by Sears Holdings Corporation, the nation’s fourth largest broadline retailer with over 3,900 full-line and specialty retail stores in the U.S. and Canada.

Citi Sears Credit Card®

90 Reviews