Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citi Sears Credit Card®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.4 out of 5 stars
20 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 08, 2016
terrible customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

absolutely unable to speak to anyone of authority to remedy their error.

more ...
Nov 05, 2016
I agree with sears
Anonymous Cardholder

Sears like all other cards are in the business to make money. I am glad they shut your cards down or lower your limits. And funny how you owe a balance but dont get a statement. If you know you owe a credit card money stop with the lies oooh i never gotva statement. Its always bad customer service cause you dont get your way

more ...
Sep 12, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Very bad customer service at all levels....nobody cares about customers what they want is only profit at whatever costs

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
3 Credit Cards for 1 STORE! -
Anonymous Cardholder

I am livid!  Every time I walk in that store I am asked to apply for a credit card.  I was very naive in the beginning and thought they were combining my 2 Credit Cards I somehow first had with them into one.  Ended up with 3 separate CC for 1 store.  Now they close one for inactivity and use my Equifax score for some reason !

This is atrocious and I am angry as hell they even offer 3 separate accounts.  Also, if they see you have 1 credit card maybe they could meniton "oh, I see u have one already are you sure you want another one?"  What a CON!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 09, 2016

Just don't apply for any credit card you don't want and haven't done research on. It's that easy. You're allowed to say no.

 
Aug 29, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

After 36 years and over 100,000 thank you points, Citibank canceled the card without any notification except a letter that arrived 10 days AFTER the card was cancel.  There reason, made two payments the same day.  Yes we did make two payments the same day. We were paying it down so we could use it on our travel plans.  36 years as a customer!!!! Not a call asking any questions just a cancellation letter. 

more ...
Aug 20, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I have been a dedicated customer with Sears, for over 25 years.  I just found out recently they shut down my account and gave no real solid reason why.  They probably are having financial concerns as a company.  When I spoke with a senior representative, I was told that I have never paid late and was an outstanding customer of 25 years. I'm sure it is due to the current times we live in, but the reason I am writing this review is for others who have good credit.  Be very careful, when they do this it has an adverse consequence on you personal credit score.  Currently, I am seeking legal advice as well as disputing this on my credit score.  When I spoke with senior representative Micheal BSRS14 (can't give their last names), he told me they have very high standards on customers they allow to have an account with them.  I explained to him, that Sears is the only company that has every shut down an account I have had.  I explained that their standards apparently are higher than my Gold American Express Card and Platinum Cards!  I will never walk in another Sears store again, I will let my friends and family know what had happened to an outstanding customer of 25 years.  This doesn't make much sense, the only thing I can think of, is that they have fallen on hard times.  Be careful buying major appliances, and making large purchases with them.  They just might do this to you, and mess-up your good credit.  

more ...
Aug 12, 2016
Will cheat you out of your credit line
Anonymous Cardholder

Make all your payments on time, but some other creditor erroneously makes a late payment claim on your credit report...let's just cut your credit in half.  Customer service pleasant but absolutely useless.

more ...
Jun 18, 2016
Late fee for late fee
Anonymous Cardholder

Wound up paying a late fee for a late fee that was a day late. And the late fee is more than the original missed bill.  No consideration for amount size. 

No more Sears card for me.

more ...
Jun 16, 2016
Credit card with 1982 era service!
theguy89 Cardholder

First off the credit card itself isn't terrible. The construction is sturdy, nice plastic, and even comes with the new chip! The magnetic strip is a beautiful shade of black and has at least one coat of clear. The service that comes with the card is absolute crap, rivialing that of Capital One, which is impressive. You can't reset your online password without the card, and as such if you lose it and are waiting for a replacement you can't check your balance. They don't offer next day shipping, and charge for "expidited shipping". They haven't implemented the chip reader correctly and still utilize the a "Insert and sign" authentication over a two-factor authentication like "chip and pin". The customer service line is a joke, if you manage to get through with out being disconnected. The application process was very foreign and dated, I filled out information on a carbon copy form, and the manager typed it in a DOS style computer, no wonder these guys are trying to fold.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Citi Sears Credit Card®