Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citi Sears Credit Card®

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
1.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 19, 2012
mikeangelo4u Cardholder

just wanna ask a question..whats the credit score limit to apply on sears?

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 14, 2012
Anonymous Cardholder

I have the sears Mastercard since 2001. I used to have a limit of $6800. I was never late with a payment and I always pay my card in full every month. I signed up for their credit Karma monitoring about 4 years ago. Two months later they dropped my limit from $6800 to $250. I called a few years ago and then again today to get the limit increased so I can make a $700 purchase. They wouldn't even give me an increase to $700. I have perfect credit and very little credit card debt. 1 of my other credit cards has no limit on it, so you can imagine how shocked I was that I couldn't get a $700 limit from sears. They never give me a good explaination as to why they won't increase my line and the customer representatives are nasty. I never use the card anymore because I can't purchase much with a $250 limit. No point in getting their credit card. Look around for a better deal. 

more ...
 

Reviews (98)

Add Review
Jun 18, 2016
Late fee for late fee
Anonymous Cardholder

Wound up paying a late fee for a late fee that was a day late. And the late fee is more than the original missed bill.  No consideration for amount size. 

No more Sears card for me.

more ...
Jun 16, 2016
Credit card with 1982 era service!
theguy89 Cardholder

First off the credit card itself isn't terrible. The construction is sturdy, nice plastic, and even comes with the new chip! The magnetic strip is a beautiful shade of black and has at least one coat of clear. The service that comes with the card is absolute crap, rivialing that of Capital One, which is impressive. You can't reset your online password without the card, and as such if you lose it and are waiting for a replacement you can't check your balance. They don't offer next day shipping, and charge for "expidited shipping". They haven't implemented the chip reader correctly and still utilize the a "Insert and sign" authentication over a two-factor authentication like "chip and pin". The customer service line is a joke, if you manage to get through with out being disconnected. The application process was very foreign and dated, I filled out information on a carbon copy form, and the manager typed it in a DOS style computer, no wonder these guys are trying to fold.

more ...
Jun 16, 2016
You need my address again?
Anonymous

Signed up for a Sears credit card to get an extra percentage off our applicance purchase.  I was planning on paying off the balance immediately.  

About a month after signing on, I realized how I had never received a statement.  I called the Sears credit card company, and they claimed they mailed me my card and balance weeks ago.  I had a late fee.  After a bit I found out they sent it to an address I lived in 3 years ago.  I gave my current address at the Sears store, how could they get this wrong?   I didn't want to give my credit card number over the phone, so I asked the representative for an address I can mail a check to and what I should write in the check memo.  I was given this information and sent a check to pay off my entire credit card balance that day.  I requested my late fee waived and they obliged.

About 3 weeks later I was scanning my bank account online.  The check never cleared.  I called the credit card company again and was told they never received my check.  Frustrated at this point, I broke and gave my credit card number over the phone.  I had another late fee.  I was told to call back the next day and this would be waived.  The total payment cleared from my bank that day.  

I called the next day to get the late fee waived.  They obliged without much hassel.  I was asked if there was anything else they could do for me and I said, yes please - I would like to cancel this credit card.  When I got home later that day, I received something in the mail - it was my check I sent 3 weeks ago.  They sent it to a different address I lived in 2 years ago.  Oh my.  Never again.  Took me 2 months to pay a credit card balance.  Oh, and by the way - I still have not received the credit card.

more ...
Jun 07, 2016
Citi Sears Credit Card BEWARE PAPERLESS
Anonymous Cardholder

Have had sears charge since 1976.... switched to paperless biling ...I recently received a notice in the mail that I owed overdue balance.

I never received bill via email was told that they would waive a portion of balance and to pay $233.70. 

I always pay any bill in full before due date!

Is this a scam to charge additional fees?

more ...
May 25, 2016
BAD - JUST BAD
Anonymous Cardholder

Opened with a $2000 limit for refrigerator (0% apr for 6 months) . I paid it off in 6 months before I got with hit with charges.

And was told later by a representative =  Because I paid it off, they dropped my limit to $250! They don't want people to pay it off!

SO stupid! Barely shop at Sears now because of it. t. 

more ...
May 16, 2016
Terrible
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had a Sears card since 1994. I don't carry large balances on any of my cards, and the Sears card was paid in full about six months ago. (I only had about $300 on it, and had a limit of $4,300). My credit score is 875.

This morning, they informed me that if I don't charge something at sears by March 31,  they are going to lower my credit limit to $200. They said that by not using my card I am exposing myself to fraud, and that this was a protection for me. I questioned them on this, and they said I wasn't putting myself at risk ordering online from Sears, but I was by not using my card.

I threatened to close my account, and they didn't care. They also said that if I close my account, I wouldn't be able to get another Sears Card. What kind of a company is this?

more ...
May 04, 2016
Horrible service. never again.
Anonymous Cardholder

Wanted to pay balance in full but needed reverse of late charge as I was in hospital. I wanted to provide proof of this to them and they refused to reverse my late fee. Horrible service. When I asked for supervisor as I didn't get along with car he said he couldn't do it either. Why even waste my time holding if a supervisor can't do anything more than a csr. Poor service. I have since closed my account and will tell all to avoid this card at all costs. Thanks for nothing citi sears credit services. Rated 0 If I could.

more ...
May 02, 2016
They closed my card
LarkBea Cardholder

We've been Sears customers forever.  And, I have had a Sears store card for decades.  First, the credit limit was lowered as to be unusabe except for very minor purchases.  Then I received notification that my account had been closed.  No reason was given.  When I called customer service to inquire, I was informed that I was "welcome to apply for the Sears branded Mastercard".  I declined.  From what I have read elsewhere, Sears is trying to phase out this card in favor of the Mastercard, but I'd think they'd find a better way of doing this (balance transfers, perhaps?), rather than arbitrarily closing accounts.

more ...
Apr 21, 2016
Only one you really should have for its
Anonymous Cardholder

Continues to be best card for me.

more ...
Apr 19, 2016
Pull FULL EQ annualcreditreport.com!

I called for a recon 4/19/16 and the credit specialist advised me to pull a full credit report on EQ as Credit Karma is a third party and does not fully disclose.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

The Citi Sears Credit Card®, serviced by Citibank for Sears customers, offers benefits to Sears cardholders. Cardholders may receive perks such as exclusive monthly savings and coupons, special financing offers, and secure access to their credit score, powered by Credit Karma. The Sears website even offers a free Credit Score Demo to illustrate this feature. Other credit card types include the Sears Card®, Sears MasterCard® Card, Sears Commercial One® card, and Sears Home Improvement AccountSM. Sears card can be used to shop at Sears and Kmart stores.

With the motto “Life. Well Spent”, Sears, Roebuck and Co. owns a nationwide network of 848 full-line Sears stores, and is a leading U.S retailer of apparel, automotive, and home products and services. Sears also owns a variety of websites, specialty stores, and catalogs that offer merchandise and additional services to families nationwide. Sears, Roebuck and Co. is a subsidiary by Sears Holdings Corporation, the nation’s fourth largest broadline retailer with over 3,900 full-line and specialty retail stores in the U.S. and Canada.

Citi Sears Credit Card®