Citi Sears Credit Card® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.3 out of 5 stars
13 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 31, 2017
High interest
cmsappe Cardholder

DO NOT DO THE PROMOTIONAL PURCHASES WITH SEARS!  They will only apply money to othe balance if you go into your aco**** and add the option to allocate funds to the promotional balance.  Otherwise, the payments get applied to the outrageous interest and any other balance first.  Come September 2017, they will be charging me 545 in interest because I was misinformed of this. I called customer service and one man was very nice and reallocated funds to my account but, it was not properly documented and there is now no proof of this.  The manager that I spoke with just now, was only able to add 33.00 to my balance and continually said that she had no proof of the representative reallocating funds.  THEY ARE A SCAM!!   IF YOU WONDER WHY SEARS IS GOING OUT OF BUSINESS, ITS BECAUSE OF THESE THINGS.  SEARS HAS LOST MY BUSINESS.

more ...
May 25, 2017
slow
Anonymous Cardholder

when you make a payment over the phone it takes 4 -6 days to credit account

more ...
Apr 30, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Will raise your rate for no reason.

more ...
Apr 17, 2017
Misleading Check Stubs on rates, watch o
Anonymous Cardholder

If you use the convenience checks, beware. You may not sign up for the promotional deal you think you have. I didn't realize there was a difference between the 3 checks they sent me. I tore off the bottom one and deposited. Turns out that was the 3.99% one, not the 0%. Caught it on first statement when I was charged interest. Called customer service and was basically told too bad.

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
Very shady details buried in fine print.
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for 5 years after I opened an account to purchase a major appliance. I took advantage of a balance transfer offer for temporary 0% interest and quite unexpectedly found a $200 charge on my next statement for the privilege, despite NO details on the web site regarding any fees for balance transfers for existing account holders (only new account holders.) I have never done a balance transfer before and was wary, but had always had decent enough experiences with the SearsCard in the past. If there was documentation of the fee, it was tiny and buried deep in the fine print, which the customer service rep admitted when I called, and said that she was handling multiple complaints about the same thing. She transferred me to a supervisor, but the call was cut off a minute into the conversation. I called back and the next supervisor admitted the same, including that there was no detail anywhere on their web site about a balance transfer fee for existing customers, and said there was nothing they could do to reduce the fee, or remove it if I paid the transfer back today (2 business days after the balance transferred.) 

I am a 5-year cardholder who is now cancelling my card and never shopping at Sears again. 

more ...
Nov 08, 2016
terrible customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

absolutely unable to speak to anyone of authority to remedy their error.

more ...
Nov 05, 2016
I agree with sears
Anonymous Cardholder

Sears like all other cards are in the business to make money. I am glad they shut your cards down or lower your limits. And funny how you owe a balance but dont get a statement. If you know you owe a credit card money stop with the lies oooh i never gotva statement. Its always bad customer service cause you dont get your way

more ...
Sep 12, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Very bad customer service at all levels....nobody cares about customers what they want is only profit at whatever costs

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
3 Credit Cards for 1 STORE! -
Anonymous Cardholder

I am livid!  Every time I walk in that store I am asked to apply for a credit card.  I was very naive in the beginning and thought they were combining my 2 Credit Cards I somehow first had with them into one.  Ended up with 3 separate CC for 1 store.  Now they close one for inactivity and use my Equifax score for some reason !

This is atrocious and I am angry as hell they even offer 3 separate accounts.  Also, if they see you have 1 credit card maybe they could meniton "oh, I see u have one already are you sure you want another one?"  What a CON!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 09, 2016

Just don't apply for any credit card you don't want and haven't done research on. It's that easy. You're allowed to say no.

 
Aug 29, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

After 36 years and over 100,000 thank you points, Citibank canceled the card without any notification except a letter that arrived 10 days AFTER the card was cancel.  There reason, made two payments the same day.  Yes we did make two payments the same day. We were paying it down so we could use it on our travel plans.  36 years as a customer!!!! Not a call asking any questions just a cancellation letter. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

Citi Sears Credit Card®