Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citi Sears Credit Card®

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
1.494 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 19, 2012
mikeangelo4u Cardholder

just wanna ask a question..whats the credit score limit to apply on sears?

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 23, 2012
Anonymous Cardholder

Just like the dozens of card holders stated before me, my limit was inexplicably reduced from a few thousand dollars to $450.  And that was only because my current balance is $430.  I don't get it at all.  I really valued this card due to the wide range of products they sell (I'm a home owner, I don't like alot of credit cards, but I kept this one because having another resource to replace a large appliance or tools just buy shoes or clothes is smart I think).  I feel like I've been a good credit card holder with them in the past and now I've been told they don't want my business.  

more ...
 

Reviews (83)

Add Review
Jan 31, 2016
WORST CREDIT CARD EVER!
Anonymous

Stay away from this credit card, and from Citi in general. ZERO customer support.

more ...
Jan 27, 2016
got a pending approval
Anonymous

i called the next day got declined with a 665 tu credit score so i am guessing they want better

more ...
Jan 01, 2016
Worst Customer Service
DaniloEsperon Cardholder

Been a Sears card customer for close to a decade,until today. My purchases over the ten years included electronics, lawn mowers, tillers, tolld boxes tools and so on. Always paid my bills on time each and everytime. Purchased a new house 3yrs ago, and changed my address.I get my new statements to the updated address but my confirmation info is the old address??? Had this fixed several times, or so I thought.Lost my card, have not used it in over a year, zero balance.  Needed help with an online order, was straight out refused any help. Simple customer service and they would still of had me as a customer. Sears is laying off employees and more Kmarts are closing, I wonder why??? Since Roebuck was taken out the name it has done nothing but gone downhill .Closed my account as of 15mins ago

more ...
Dec 06, 2015
It's fine like any other store card
Anonymous Cardholder

They normally start u out at a high limit. Interest sucks but if u pay it off not a bad card. Plus you get deals in the store for having the card. People who normally have problems with this card are people who are bad at managing their credit card as 

more ...
Nov 24, 2015
Anonymous Cardholder

For some strange reason, Sears feels that by threatening to lower your credit limit they can entice you to use your Sears credit card...not.

more ...
Nov 18, 2015
Has been a good credit experience
Anonymous Cardholder

Have been a cardholder since 2006.  

I normally make purchases that I can pay off by end of month.  If I do buy something that will be out of my normal shopping range I contact the antifraud department to report my anticipated purchase so that they will not flag it as a fraudulent transaction.

When paying off a balance that I may carry for a few months, I always pay well above the minimum required purchase.  

Thus far, in the nearly 10 years that I have had this card I've had no problems and customer service has been quite good.

more ...
Nov 13, 2015
Horrible company!
kittymoose Cardholder

I never got the card I applied for or a bill. I always pay credit card bills every month. Unfortunately, I never got a bill and I forgot about it. A year and a half later, I got sent to a collection agency. I was charged more than 3 times the original bill. I spent 2 hours on the phone. They admitted that they had gotten all the statements back and had never contacted me because they had sent the bills to a physical address not a mailing address. They wouldn't do anything for me. I will never do business with them or Sears again!

more ...
Nov 13, 2015
This is the worst credit card.
kittymoose Cardholder

I opened an account with them. I never received a bill or a credit card. I always pay my credit card bills in full every month. Unfortunately, I didn't realize that I didn't get a bill and forgot about it. A year and a half later, I got a letter from a collection agency. I explained I never got a bill or a credit card. They said there was nothing they could do. I contacted Citi Sears. They said they couldn't do anything since my account was sold to a credit agency. They did acknowledge that all of the statements and the credit card had been sent back to them because they were sending them to a physical address instead of my mailing address. They refused to do anything to help me. I will never do business with Citi or Sears again. Ever!!!

more ...
Oct 20, 2015
Very disappointing!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for over twenty years I'm a loyal customer and have been and I'm in good in good standing with them.  My credit limit was 2000 at the beginning when I was in college at the time then it went down to 250.00 for all these yrs. when all my other credit cards have increased my credit limit Sears never has and when I finally called after having it for 20 yrs I decided to ask.  To my surprise I was denied!!! So needless to say I'm one disappointed customer!!!

more ...
Jul 30, 2015
Now I'm scared!
Deanett72 Cardholder

I was in the store today with my aunt.  I normally wouldn't have bought anyting, but they seemed to have stepped up their game.  I bought a pair of jeans and the sales girl asked if I wanted to apply for the card.  I told her no.  I explained I have enough inquiries and do not wish to add to them.  She told me the store card is easier to get and is ony a soft pull.  I agreed, because of the soft pull.  I was approved for $1,000.  I also immediately got an alert from Credit Karma showing the inquiry.  Since I was approved, and it it was a decent amount, I'm not too upset.  However, I am confused upon reading other reviews, saying they are phasing out the store card.  My inquiry says Citi Bank.  I am certain, I don't have the MC, just the store card.  These reviews are horrible! I am terrified to use this card!  

more ...
Sep 13, 2015

Why?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

The Citi Sears Credit Card®, serviced by Citibank for Sears customers, offers benefits to Sears cardholders. Cardholders may receive perks such as exclusive monthly savings and coupons, special financing offers, and secure access to their credit score, powered by Credit Karma. The Sears website even offers a free Credit Score Demo to illustrate this feature. Other credit card types include the Sears Card®, Sears MasterCard® Card, Sears Commercial One® card, and Sears Home Improvement AccountSM. Sears card can be used to shop at Sears and Kmart stores.

With the motto “Life. Well Spent”, Sears, Roebuck and Co. owns a nationwide network of 848 full-line Sears stores, and is a leading U.S retailer of apparel, automotive, and home products and services. Sears also owns a variety of websites, specialty stores, and catalogs that offer merchandise and additional services to families nationwide. Sears, Roebuck and Co. is a subsidiary by Sears Holdings Corporation, the nation’s fourth largest broadline retailer with over 3,900 full-line and specialty retail stores in the U.S. and Canada.

Citi Sears Credit Card®