Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citi Sears Credit Card®

Approval Odds
Application Process
Customer Service
1.4 5
Write a Review

Cardholder Rating Distribution (65)

About Credit Karma

Thinking about applying? Credit Karma can estimate your Approval Odds based on your credit profile. Get your information for free and get started.
  • Credit Scores
  • Credit Reports
  • Personalized Offers

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 19, 2012

Helpful to 5 out of 5 people

just wanna ask a question..whats the credit score limit to apply on sears?

Read More

mikeangelo4u's review was:    

 

Most Helpful Critical Review

Mar 21, 2011

Helpful to 10 out of 11 people

In 2009, I applied for a Sears credit card (citibank). My credit was in the low 500's so I didn't expect to get approved. With much surprise, I was approved with a $1400 credit limit. I have been late once 6 months ago. Since I have had the card, my credit has improved to over 620 credit score. On February 28, 2011, I have paid off all of my credit cards including this card to a zero balance ($3600 total credit limit) except for one card with a limit of 1185. This one I only owe $293.00. On march 1, Citi bank did an account review and dropped my limit to $250. Their reasoning is completely invalid. They stated that my revolving credit card balances is too high compared to my limits. Gee, interesting since I owe only $293 on a total $3600. Also, collections (i have none) and too many delinquent accounts. I was late with them only once 6 months prior. I called the Citi bank offices and they refuse to put my credit limit back where it was. They told me to file a dispute with the credit bureau and they would then request a hard pull on my credit file and review it. I am in the process of buying a house, the drop in credit limit, the pull for my credit file for the review and now they want to pull it again. I will never shop at sears nor purchase anything with a Citibank label.

Read More

aliciasbrown's review was:    

 

Reviews (65)

Feb 24, 2015

Don't bother

I read an article on the WSJ last May that said Sears is phasing out their store issued cards in favor of a Sears branded Citi Mastercard.  Not being a big fan of Citi, I called customer service to inquire. I was informed that yes, the "best" (CSR's words, not mine) customers would be issued the Citi Mastercard and the old store cards closed out sometime in the future.  I indicated I did not want another major credit card and the CSR assured me I could keep my old card.  After I paid off my balance in January, I received a letter from CitiBank informing me that my Sears account was closed and invited me to apply for the Mastercard.  I know this won't impact my credit score, but I find it an extremely disingenuous way to conduct business.

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Feb 24, 2015

Sears is NOT what it used to be

I grew up admiring Sears. Their products were always top notch, their tools come with a guarantee and all of their products used to come witgh a schematic and a list of orderable replacement parts.

Now I wouldnt step foot in or purchase anything from Sears. They have been going down hill for years. I finally haqd enough when my full credit card payment of $9.96 was lost in the mail, frist time in15 years I was late and always paid in full. Sears charged me $11.96 fee for not paying my balance of $9.96. So the bill has a pay by date of March 1st, so when I call to cancel I find out they already charged me an additional fee, before my due date! I called to cancel the card and after 10 minutes I speak with someone who cannot cancel cards..I have to be transferred and wait 10 more mionutes. Finally speak with someone and he was so rude. While he was cancelling my card I asked what me new balance was so I could send in a payment and he said your card is cancelled..isn't that what you wanted? and he hung up on me.

Read More
  View 1 Reply Write A Reply |

Mar 01, 2015

Yeah.... I'm sure that is what really happened.

tbdc's reply was:    

 

Feb 03, 2015

Worst customer service team EVER!

I keep getting blocked for fraud and when I call for help - I am treated like the fraudster!  They do not care about their customer AT ALL.  I would cancel the card except it will lower my credit score.....  NEVER AGAIN SEARS!   No wonder you are in so much financial trouble

Read More

susie916's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Dec 30, 2014

Feathers

My husband passed away an they sent me to collections. Even though the bill was still being paid. Even the collection agency couldn't figure that one out. I hate sears!!

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Dec 27, 2014

Sears card
Helpful to 2 out of 2 people

This is a joke I made a late payment 10 days late and  was unawhere that they  put a late fee ended up with a 30 late payment on my credit report. This is  such a rip off to the public .

Read More

ramviper's review was:    

 
View 1 Reply Write A Reply |

Mar 01, 2015

Could you explain why this is a rip off? You were late.... Did you call them and asked them to remove it?

tbdc's reply was:    

 

Dec 15, 2014

Charged for another person's account

They have sent to collections an account not even under my name.  They refuse to correct the mistake after repeated pleas.  They also charged our actual account for a refrigerator that was never delivered.  It has taken numerous phone calls and they still refused to reverse the charges.  In short, it has been a living nightmare.

Read More

missles81's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Dec 11, 2014

They are a scam!!!!!!

They will not send your bill so they can collect late fees and when you try to pay they still give you a hard time. Cheap company I never do business with this company again.

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Dec 10, 2014

Not willing to work with customer

I have held a Sears card for many years.  I contacted them to ask for a lower interest rate as mine is currently 25%.  The operator informed me that there were no other offers currently available.  I informed him that I would transfer my balance to a different card if he couldn't offer me a better interest rate.  At this point, he once again stated that there were no other offers available.  Will now transfer this balance and cancel the card. 

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Dec 08, 2014

They blocked my card

I got a notice that if I used my card during the holidays, then I would get 10% back in points.

I activated the offer and then I started my Christmas shopping.  About 3 stores in (and less than $300), they blocked my card for using my card in multiple cities (it's called on-line ordering, people).

This has happened with other cards if I am travelling,  However, those cards always called me right away.  Citi never called to notify me, send me a text, or e-mail me to let me know.  I guess they don't want me to use their card.

Read More

bravedog's review was:    

 
View 1 Reply Write A Reply |

Mar 01, 2015

I would of just called them to let them know ahead of time what I was planning on doing so that wouldn't happen. I do that anytime I plan on doing what you did. It only takes a couple of mins and it's worth it to me.

tbdc's reply was:    

 

Dec 05, 2014

If they make a mistake,it's your problem

Long story short, they posted someone else's appliance warranty charges to my account.  Sears admitted it was their error after reviewing their call logs.  Took 6 months to resolve and we're still having to call once a month to get late fee charges reversed on a card that has zero balance and we've since closed.

NOT WORTH THE HASSLE - BEWARE!!!!

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Add Your Review Of Citi Sears Credit Card®

Rate this product

Rate your application experience (Optional)

Application Process

Customer Service

What is your experience with this product?

I Have It

I Used To Have It

I Applied For It

Write your review:

Profile Image
Anonymous

Company Overview

The Citi Sears Credit Card®, serviced by Citibank for Sears customers, offers benefits to Sears cardholders. Cardholders may receive perks such as exclusive monthly savings and coupons, special financing offers, and secure access to their credit score, powered by Credit Karma. The Sears website even offers a free Credit Score Demo to illustrate this feature. Other credit card types include the Sears Card®, Sears MasterCard® Card, Sears Commercial One® card, and Sears Home Improvement AccountSM. Sears card can be used to shop at Sears and Kmart stores.

With the motto “Life. Well Spent”, Sears, Roebuck and Co. owns a nationwide network of 848 full-line Sears stores, and is a leading U.S retailer of apparel, automotive, and home products and services. Sears also owns a variety of websites, specialty stores, and catalogs that offer merchandise and additional services to families nationwide. Sears, Roebuck and Co. is a subsidiary by Sears Holdings Corporation, the nation’s fourth largest broadline retailer with over 3,900 full-line and specialty retail stores in the U.S. and Canada.

Approval Odds

Citi Sears Credit Card®

Search All Cards