Deserve® Edu Mastercard Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
26 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 20.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 16, 2018
Kellie95 Cardholder

The best credit card for students with no/limited credit

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 10, 2018
Poor payment posting
Anonymous Cardholder

The card works in most places and gives decent credit line at the beginning. But after sometime they just forget about you. Even the payments take 2 weeks to be available even when it already has been deducted from the checking account and also is posted in the transaction list, however it just isn't available for use and the money just sits somewhere where you can just see it but cannot use it for so long. This is just ridiculous. They say it's their policy, but they didn't do it before and suddenly after you are an old customer you are treated with unjustified policy that doesn't let you use your own money. 2-3 days can be justified but for 2 weeks is utterly ridiculous. I am hating this card. I don't recommend it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 03, 2018
Worst Card Ever
ajacob123 Cardholder

Don't get this one. Its an absolute waste credit card with 0 benefits instead they come with problems. If you face any issue in any transaction, they don't help to work it out.

more ...
Oct 01, 2018
Low CL compared to Discover.
pakao Cardholder

Doesn't report to equifax.

Laughable CL at $300 compared to my current $1700 CL with Discover

Good for credit building but that's it.

more ...
Jul 31, 2018
Good Starter; Terrible for Use
ImportantInfo Cardholder

Alright, so this card is great if you have no credit history. I applied with $39k reported income, and a Discover It Student (2 months old) card and Amazon Store (1 month old) card. They gave me a $500 limit, and it has now been 9 months and I still haven't seen a credit limit increase.

Connecting my bank was an incredibly difficult process. The first time I tried, they didn't even have it listed as an option in search. I tried again later, and they had the bank. I tried connecting my account and they kept encountering difficulties. Took a month to connect my bank account, which is just insane when you have to have it connected for credit limit increases.

They sent me a chip card last month. After I activated it, they needed a password reset. Here goes another hassle. Kept trying and trying, but they never sent an email link to password reset. Had to email customer service, told I would likely get a response within 24 hours. 1 week later I got a response saying it is my email that is the problem, so I change emails. Finally got it fixed. But a new problem: THEY LOST MY REWARDS POINTS. Hundreds in purchases over 9 months and they just deleted all of the rewards.

If you have no other choice, this can get your credit started. They only report to Experian and TransUnion, not Equifax.

more ...
Jun 30, 2018
Horrible customer care and disrespectful
MacPacOneTwo Cardholder

Used it for two years but of late the collection agency have been calling even when auto pay was set and payments were done regularly. Use it as a student but switch to a better provider as soon as you get SSN.

more ...
Jun 13, 2018
ecademartori Cardholder

If you lose your card, they will never send you a new one. It’s been 20 days and two super long calls to the customer service, and they say there’s no estimate for the arrival of the replacement, and not even a guarantee it will be sent. The website keeps saying I should have received the card on June 12th. It’s the typical startup company that can not afford expansion... you get their service basically when they want!

more ...
Mar 15, 2018
Great product for students
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is an awesome choice for foreign students to start building their credit history in the US. The application process is easy and seamless. I've enjoyed my experience so far with this card.

more ...
Mar 14, 2018
Terrible choice of card
Luka0422 Cardholder

Beware, first they log into your bank account to see how much money you have, therefore seeing all transactions ad then they decide how much credit limit you will get. $300 for starters.

Once you get your card and you try to purchase something it will get declined. When you call their NASTY customer service they tell you the card gets declined because you are a new customer. They will not report to the Bureau if you dont use it. So how can you use it if its getting declined.

Wll be reporting them to the BBB and FTC.

more ...
Mar 03, 2018
HORRIBLE CARD
MarkInFL Cardholder

I have this card for about two months now. I used it twice last month and paid it off in full. CL is $1000, I tried to use the card yesterday and my available credit is $1000 to use as per their website, they do hold your payments but my hold was over weeks ago. OK so I go to charge $91 and its declined. I call them up and they say they have to ask me some security questions which I answer, they say the card is good to go so I go to a store today and try to charge $138 , declined again. Called them and they say security reasons, I answer the questions again and they say the card is good to go, so I go to the gas station, declined again, I am done with this card, I have 22 credit cards and this one is going in the garbage just where it belongs.

more ...
Feb 10, 2018
Poor payment posting
Anonymous Cardholder

The card works in most places and gives decent credit line at the beginning. But after sometime they just forget about you. Even the payments take 2 weeks to be available even when it already has been deducted from the checking account and also is posted in the transaction list, however it just isn't available for use and the money just sits somewhere where you can just see it but cannot use it for so long. This is just ridiculous. They say it's their policy, but they didn't do it before and suddenly after you are an old customer you are treated with unjustified policy that doesn't let you use your own money. 2-3 days can be justified but for 2 weeks is utterly ridiculous. I am hating this card. I don't recommend it.

more ...
Jan 28, 2018
AWESOME CARD ! GOT $30 BONUS !!
Paul241519 Cardholder

I have applied for the Deserve Credit Card 10 days ago and got $2000 instant credit line. I don't have any SSN. I am a new international student in USA. This card also gives $30 referral bonus. They said that after using 3 months I can increase my credit limit. I am happy to use this card. I suggest every student should apply for that card as their starter credit card. You can also use my referral link to get $30 bonus.deserve.com/84787

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Deserve® Edu Mastercard

26 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i