Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Walmart Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.6157 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 26, 2013
More plastic to play with
Danbo777 Cardholder

Ok, not to play with, but it's just funny how excited I get at 43 and get approved for another card while I try and redeem myself. I'm a documentation nut so like my other two cards, I'll be updating this post (via reply) once a month or as more info comes in. A few notes to start with:

My myFico scores are: Experian= 599, Equifax= 643 & Transunion= 633.

CK score: 629 (Just dropped from 696, but I prefer myFico for accuracy, CK for all the cool tools and reviews).

Approved for $300.

I've read many people here state that the application process didn't do a hard inquiry, but from my research it leans more toward that it does (not 100% yet but will be next update). I see a few people referring to Walmart money card which is a totally different animal and is a prepaid. Again, I like love free information on public forums and these reviews, but will see for myself and report back as soon as I know.

The application worried me for a minute because after I submitted it and it said I was approved, the bottom right link said "Pay now". I read the fine print before hand and saw there was no annual fee or member fee, but it certainly had me questioning myself. I clicked the link and the application page reopened with half my information filled in, looking like it was expecting me to fill it out all over again. No idea what happened there, but I did not fill it out again.

This card gets five stars easily for the simple fact that it's the first of my now three (Capital One Secured & Credit One Visa - non secured) that actually gives you a temporary number right away. In fact they currently have a promotion going on that if you spend $75 on Walmart's site the same day you get approved, they will give you $25 off. Now before people run to try for it, I read the fine print on this as well. Only slightly negative thing is that they state the $25 will appear on your statement after your first or second billing cycle. So just don't expect it right away to come off the price. This is also going to end in a couple weeks. I imagine this sort of promotion happens often though. This is verbatim what it says:

"Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today (paid as a statement credit). Offer valid September 19, 2013 through January 31, 2014."

I did more research and found some posts on myFico that someone was actually complaining about how fast they reported the information to the credit bureaus. I'm still amazed they were upset. I think I know why but it's because people don't understand the all popular topic of credit utilization. He stated they reported to the credit bureaus after only 3 days from the time he got approved. Another thing I will update next time. If that were the case, and people did take on this promotion to spend at least $75 in order to get $25 back in a month or two, then that would certainly put someone over the comfortable threshold of spending below 30% of a $300 card. If you have questions after reading this next paragraph, either ask by replying, or for faster answers, see my profile and read my Capital One or Credit One posts.

People think credit utilization is a constant. That's just not how it is at all. I only speak facts here folks, but easily checked through a phone call to your bank (don't chat, they're horrible with info I think). The credit card companies normally inform the CRA's the day after your billing cycle closes (not your due date). Most banks that I've researched need at least the close of 2 billing cycles before they do their initial report, then it's every month after (but check with your bank as always). Now when the bank reports your data, they report account status in an "OK", "30 days late", "60 days late", "Charged off", etc,,, fashion. They report your total credit and the balance of your card as of the close of your billing cycle (again, not your due date). ALWAYS call your new credit card bank and ask them when they close your billing cycle. If you pay it in full every month, then this is the date you want to do that by. Due date is only how they formulate interest folks. The bigger thing that people don't seem to understand on these forums are the huge fact that each month the bank reports your data, that current credit utilization replaces the last reported. Does that lower your score? Sure, but only during that exact time frame and nothing more. People think they have a "Score", you don't have a set in stone score, but before I cover that, know that the importance of having a low credit utilization is if you are expecting inquerries. So say you're planning on getting a mortgage or car loan (any loan). Prior to that you would want to be sure your credit utilization is at the lowest you can get it (on average you'll read people state 30% or less). Other than those times, don't sweat it so much. Still do be dilligent in paying your balance to the lowest possible you can by your billing cycle close date, but every 30 days, that data is replaced with the next data reported to the agencies. In the future this will most likely change so always check dates on these posts and always check with your bank. It's you that you need to protect.

Credit Scores:

A credit score doesn't exist until a request is performed. Ever sign up for a credit report, such as from myFico? Ever notice after just a few hours it will once again prompt you to "Get you new score now!!!"? Well, the fact of the matter is that the 3 credit bureaus have different software (people overuse the term algorithm but you probably at least read that somewhere). When an inquerry is sent to that credit bureaus, the software runs the numbers and spits out a score. This score can vary because many things. One main thing is even if you buy your score direct for Experian, Equifax or Transunion, you will get a consumer model and not the lender model. Example: model 98 we get from experian, but the lenders get model 04 (for 2004). Most auto apps have criteria that lenders can set. They can disregard certain things or focus more highly on others. This is one reason your "score" often varies, though mostly it's because we only get the model from before the current (at best). So your credit score is a calculation based on the data in your credit report. So when your credit is "pulled" and a score is requested, that score is calculated through the software, Beacon (software) for Equifax, FICO for Experian (not myFic0) and Empirica for Trans Union. Your credit report changes month to month, mostly by means of automated updates to your file from creditors who report to the bureaus. The differences reflected in that raw data causes changes in your score, but only when those calculations are performed in response to a request for a score.

Sorry for the long read, but if you're trying to better understand, then I'm trying to better help you do so. It pain me to think how long it took me to learn everything I just wrote. I hate how difficult it is to find facts in today's day and age especially. Facts are still facts even though they go ignored, but in this case, these facts cost me lots of money and tonos of grey hair. Hope I at least saved some of you the time and aggravation.

As mentioned long ago, I'll update this with a much shorter read when I have more Walmart specific information to share.

*Keep in mind, this is not a "forum" technically, so if you ask me a question I cannot reply  to you and must reply to my own post. Check back after a day or two and you should have a reply. Sadly Credit Karma doesn't tell you much on their "Recieve email Alerts".

Best of luck folks. Let's go into this new year more prepared I say.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 15, 2013
Will not increase CL
bast553 Cardholder

I applied for this card in 2010 when my score was 526 - instantly approved for $300. Never late, never overlimit. Reduced my CL to $100 (What's that gonna buy?) and have tried to get it higher since. Applied for CLI today (CK 691), and DENIED! Called backdoor and DENIED!!! I'm not going to use this card anymore because I cannot even but groceries without going from 0% to 100%+!

more ...
 

Reviews (229)

Add Review
Feb 10, 2016
Anonymous

Applied and received the 7-10 day message. I have personal as well as business cards with high limits and low utilization, due to paying off balances. TU= 635, I wonder what the determining factors are for Walmart.

more ...
Feb 07, 2016
Easy to apply, easy to use.
Excselcia Cardholder

Applied for this card in November 2015, approved instantly for 600 CL. I use and pay off about once per month. Somewhere between 2-3 months later I got an auto increase to $1,300. CK scores in the high 600's, no current loans, perfect payment history on past loans. 

more ...
Feb 06, 2016
Confused
Californiacat Cardholder

I got this card via a prequalified letter in the mail.  After having it for 2 months I requested a CLI via the button on the website and was denied.  A few days later, their website showed that my credit limit went up $400.  Today i recieved a letter in the mail stating they could not increase my limit at this time!  The website still shows the increase.  I'm very confused!  Original line was $800 / new line shows $1200.

more ...
Feb 10, 2016

FYI - a few days after receiving the letter stating that I was denied a CLI, I received an email congratulating me on a credit line increase. I guess they reconsidered without my even having to call?

 
Feb 03, 2016
Instant approval
lisadp2008 Cardholder

Was instantly approved for a $1200.00 starting credit line!. credit score is currently 697.

more ...
Jan 27, 2016
Doesnt treat you right!
dpush1947 Cardholder

My credit score when I was approved for this card was 610 to 620. IT IMMEDIATELY DROPPED TO BELOW 600 BECAUSE I GOT THIS CARD! I

had a 400 limit and have been using it for 6 months with no late payments, payed way above minimum payment,utilization was always below 30%.

so, when my balance was $101,they decided to lower my limit to $110 probably because my credit score was lower which they caused when they

issued the card! So,they caused my utilization to skyrocket, caused me to be close to my limit,and,my credit score went to hell even more! wal-mart 

customer service was useless! so, because I have this card my credit score has gone from 620 to 535! Nothing I can do! This is unjust and unfair,I was trying

to rebuild my credit and did nothing wrong! 

more ...
Jan 24, 2016
The right card for Walmartians...
Sparky349 Cardholder

I was ordering an item online and this ad popped up for a $35 credit if I got the Walmart Card. Hey, $35 bucks is $35 bucks. I applied, got accepted and ordered the item. Nice and easy! That was on Dec 16. I didn't get the card until this month, January, and waited for my first statement to pay the item. Well, guess what Walmart did. They opened my account on the 16th, they closed my statement cycle on the 21st, so the first statement I got from Walmart was that I had a no minimum payment fee of $25, plus interest for a month. Synchrony Financial is the botom feeder in the credit cards business and I'm surprised that Walmart would partner with them. Theb again, the young Waltons are profit driven, not customer firendly anymore.

more ...
Feb 09, 2016

I'd strongly recommend you file a complaint with the CFPB. They've helped me in disputes with banks in the past.

 
Jan 24, 2016
Walmart Rocks!!!
CreditKarmaConvert Cardholder

Right off,,,DO NOT APPLY FOR THIS CARD WITHOUT A FICO SCORE OF AT LEAST 640!!!

They mostly pull TranUnion.  Once approved, my Starting Limit went from $500 to $1500 in 

less than 6 Months.  Funny though, I do NOT use this card much in the actual Stores.  I buy

my GAS at the attached Murphy Oil and get the automatic 5 cents of every gallon of GAS purchased.

Great card though, free monthly FICO score provided, Bill paid in Full monthly, NO ISSUES from ME.

5 Stars ***** Bravo for SyncBank!!!

more ...
Jan 21, 2016
Anonymous

Walmart sucks. Can't build credit back up if  companies like this will not give a person the chance to do so. Not everyone is rich and can pay out of pocket like the greedy fat misers that own walmart. 

more ...
Jan 17, 2016
I don't know yet
didi768 Cardholder

I ordered the card cause it offered a 35.00 credit but I don't remember if it said you had to make a purchase right then and there or if you will get the credit when you use it.  I don't even know if I have to use it AT Walmart itself to even GET  the credit lol.  I'll have to call the back of the number, tried to use it for Christmas presents but none of them were even shipped so just cancelled the dang orders.  What a mess.  I see they have a deal today that if you open the Walmart Card account today and spend at least 75.00 TODAY you'll get $25 off but I still want that $35.00 deal off...My son was denied the card online and then got a letter in the mail saying he did not qualify and then they sent him a card LOL.   Hope he too will still get the statement credit.  WHAT IS WRONG WITH SAM WALTON????

more ...
Feb 09, 2016

He's dead...

 
Jan 01, 2016
It's a good starter and gardening card.
Miesterbro Cardholder

Use it for what it is. A positive trade line that will grow over time. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

The Wal-Mart Credit Card is offered by GE Money Bank for Wal-Mart customers. Credit card benefits may include online account management and cash promotions for approved applications. Online account access includes credit card statements, payments, request for credit limit increases, and email and phone alerts.

Established in 1962 in Rogers, Arkansas, Wal-Mart is a discount retailer that currently serves fifteen countries worldwide.Known for its motto “save money. live better”, Wal-Mart is recognized by its bright blue warehouse-like buildings and it's white logo. Products span an array of household items, automotive, food, and more. With its popularity, Wal-Mart has also been scrutinized for its business practices. Consumers are concerned about Wal-Mart’s lack of benefits for its employees, hiring practices, and the circumstances of small businesses driven out by Wal-Mart competition.

Walmart Credit Card