Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Walmart Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.8 out of 5 stars
113 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 06, 2016
Mkburlins Cardholder

Approved for $400 credit line with 610 TU score (654 FICO). Had 5 inquiries on file and 3 old medical collections. Current utilization was 36%. Hope that helps anyone thinking of applying

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 06, 2016
TERRIBLE
Anonymous Cardholder

This card sucks. Had it for 2 years and had a credit limit of $500 which I never even came close to using, got 2 letters the past year saying that they're lowering my credit availability. Never missed a payment. Didn't use the card for 2 months, got a letter today saying that they closed my account based on a credit evaluation that gets done every 3 to 6 months. My credit score is 655. Moral of the story: the Walmart credit card SUCKS, don't waste your time. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 28, 2016
decent card if used properly
Anonymous Cardholder

i have never had problem with cardi think most people are the same unless they were late or over the limit its a good builder card i have had for a while now and have built my credit up very solid

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
The worst card ever and worst company
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had problems with the company since day one. I haven't been getting my statements for months now and I had just found out that there are charges on the card that I didn't do so I wanted to make a dispute. They wouldn't allow me to because it's been past the 60 days. How can I know what is going on when I never receive statements and every time I call, I don't get help whatsoever. It just makes me even more mad. I have credit cards with other companies such as Capital One and they are so much better. Just don't get this card. It will cause you more stress than ever to deal with these people. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 02, 2016

I'm sorry that you dealt with all that and not having anyone to help you. Swear it. If you had gotten me on the phone I would've got the help you needed from day one.

 
Nov 21, 2016
GOT APPROVED
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for a Walmart Credit card with a score of 645 got approved for $1100. I applied two months ago with my score being 620 and was denied. These reviews have helped me alot with rebuliding my credit. 

more ...
Nov 20, 2016
Terrible
Cmwaymire Cardholder

The company Synchrony that Walmart and other retailers use are a bunch of scam artists. I have had an account with them for 6 months now and every month have paid in full on time or before due. Two of the 6 months they took my money out of my account for the payment and would not release the funds on my card for 10 days. When I call they tell me that I have to wait the 10 days and there is nothing they can do. I am very disappointed that a major company can take your money and continuously delay the credit line that should be available to you until they feel like it for no reason.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 28, 2016

Hi, I work with Synchrony so I hope I can help you with this one.
I'm sorry that your frustrated with the holds being placed on your payments but it's done for a reason. When accounts are new there is further verification that's needing to be processed with your payments (6 months or less OLD). We, as a company take this as precaution measures. Just think of it this way......Would you trust letting a brand new person you met borrow a big amount of money from you and trust that they will give it back to you? No.......So...Large payments are always held on brand new accounts......Until your account has gone past this brand new stage of 6 months or more then LARGE payments will continue to be held. Possibly do smaller payments. I know you're possibly wanting to pay your statement balance to avoid interest and to have better ratings with the bureaus. But that would be the only option with your account being new is to make smaller payments for it to process in a more timely manner. Also, you can make a payment in the store and it's an instant credit to your available credit. Hope this helps. Thanks.

 
Nov 18, 2016
Good card to help build ur credit
Waikenbake1980 Cardholder

I got this card with a 600 limit to start when I was rebuilding my credit I think my credit score was just under 600 for EXP N 615 FOR TU.... I'VE HAD THIS CARD for 10 months now n my CL limit is 3200 I basically got a CL increase every month or two.. it helped my get my capital one n my amex

more ...
Nov 17, 2016
There are better cards out there!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have been building my credit. I got approved for a credit limit of $300. I also have a capital one card with a credit limit of $3,000 & a Barclaycard w/a credit limit of $1,500. I have had this card for almost 8 month on Dec. 3rd. I always use it every month usually spend around $30 usually always pay it back off before it is due. I have left balances previous statements of maybe $10-$15, but will always pay the remaining so no interest accrues. I recently tried to get a CLI and they denied me. This was actually one of my hardest cards to get with a measly limit that I wish I had never wasted an inquiry on. Capital one is so much more generous & I would much rather pay w/them than use my walmart card. Mind you it took a week to post a payment my last statement. I called to see what the issue was the lady told me the payment was on hold, because it was a new account even though I have already had numerous statements now. Anyway she proceeds to say most of the time we put your payments on hold due to missed/return payments. I told her I have never made 1 late payment on my account and there is no way that was the reason it was on hold. She never could give me a good explanation to why it happened just said it should clear sometime soon. Took about a week and half. I wish I could take back my inquiry and give them the card back. ///

more ...
Nov 14, 2016
Decreased CL then closed account
Anonymous Cardholder

I was paying on time and after making a large payment they sliced my credit limit by half. I paid the account down to zero and they closed my account. Never again.

more ...
Nov 18, 2016

They don't do that first month I had card I bought a TV used all my cl to buy it plus cash I made my first payment cleared my balance n they raised my account by 600 after one payment

 
Dec 02, 2016

It could have been something else on your credit that affected your Walmart credit card.

 
Nov 13, 2016
A JOKE
Anonymous Cardholder

ACTIVATED CARD ON 10/23/16 THEY SAID STATEMENT ON 10/28/16 IS OVER DUE.  FROZE MY ACCOUNT.  PULLED UP STATEMENT AS OF TODAY 11/13/16 SATEMENT SHOWS NO LATE FEES LIKE THE PERSON I JUST TALKED TO SAID WAS ON MY ACCOUNT.  GOING TO GO PAY BILL IN FULL.  CARD IS ALREADY CUT UP IN LITTLE PIECES.  -----------NEVER AGAIN---------------WHAT A  JOKE----------------

more ...
Nov 10, 2016
Ugh
N1234M Cardholder

I am constantly late on my payment because you are required to have the card or account number to make a payment. I don't keep the card with me all the time. If you are even a day late they lock the account so you can't use the card

more ...
Nov 13, 2016

What credit card issuer doesn't require the account number when making a payment? Not many companies are going to keep the card open when you're late on the payments. From what you're sayin, your constatly late. You're too immature for a credit card right now.

 
Nov 13, 2016

in store they also look up the card with ur ID

 
Nov 18, 2016

That is not true that if ur payment is a day late they lock ur account . I was sick with flu n realized I was 3 days late I made the payment n called them n they said they would wave the late fee... and as for the person who said u need ur acount number to make a payment all u need to do is log into ur walmart account n click on pay balance or pay minimum due or different amount..... pick one hit submit then confirm n it's paid.... SO u just sound like a person that shouldn't have a card

 
Nov 27, 2016

No wonder you have struggled with credit. Not trying to be offense, but if you know they require account number........PUT YOUR CARD IN YOUR WALLET OR SAVE IT IN A HIDDEN NOT ON A PHONE. Take ownership of your credit and your woes will improve

 
Nov 28, 2016

You can make the payment over the phone with a representative without your card or account number.

 
Nov 09, 2016
Very undependable card to use!!
mike3714 Cardholder

They are very slow at applying your payment onto your card. Sometimes even if your account says you have available online, you may not. Twice, after having just my card with me in the store because I left my wallet in the car because I had no pockets. My card had insufficiant funds and the bill had been paid in full for over a week. Online said I had funds, automated phone said none.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 28, 2016

Please keep up with the pending transactions on your account. Sometimes pending transactions take a while to post (normally up to 5 business days). With the payments, those take up to 48 BUSINESS hours to post to your balance. Also, if you make a payment in the store it's free of charge and an instant credit to your AVAILABLE credit to use as of that day.
-Synchrony employee

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Walmart Credit Card