Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Walmart Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.8 out of 5 stars
120 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 06, 2016
Mkburlins Cardholder

Approved for $400 credit line with 610 TU score (654 FICO). Had 5 inquiries on file and 3 old medical collections. Current utilization was 36%. Hope that helps anyone thinking of applying

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 05, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is a joke. I got a 150.00 credit limit on this card, I always paid on time was never late on payments, decided to pay it off... Went today to use my card and it was declined. Called them up to see why my card was declined. They had closed my account and refused to give me a reason. The agent told me I could reapply for a new one, I said nope if your company going to close an account for no reason and can't even tell me the reason I am done with your company. I don't recommend this card to anyone for that reason alone. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 18, 2017
Pretty good so far
modeybellah Cardholder

I applied for this card a few days before black friday online and was instantly approved with the actual credit card instead of walmart's store card for 750 CL with a 653 credit score. However, when I received my card in the mail my credit line was actually 1100 instead of 750. I was so happy! I am working on building my credit back up.

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Easy to qualify for have bad credit with only a 660 FAKO and was suprised to be approved for $1200 in seconds. You could also use the card for the online discount of $50 dollars on purchase over $250.

Purchased $900 worth of items and then paid the balance down making large payments $100- $250 every week. Requested CLI 3x and now have $3500 Credit limit. I have not even received my first statement either. I have only used the card online and once in the store.

Next  month I will pay it off and request another CLI!

I now have 

more ...
Jan 15, 2017
I hate it!!
Anonymous Cardholder

The interest rate is ridiculous! Don't do it!! I have never missed a payment and there system just kept upping my minimum due so I have to call almost every month for them to fix it! 

more ...
Jan 14, 2017
Easy Approval!! Fast CLI!!
MrZackJames Cardholder

I applied for this card November 14, 2016. I had a score of 630 at the time, 20% Utilization, $70k annual income, 3 old collections. I was instantly approved with a $1400 CL. I used the card Black Friday to purchase 2 TVs, and made a couple other small purchases. I paid off the TVs within 3 weeks, just before the first statement cut. The statement cut December 15, 2016. I made a payment January 4, 3 days before the due date. On January 7, my wife went online and asked for a CLI. We expected to be denied, but she requested anyway. She asked for $3000 and was instantly approved. An hour later, she asked for another increase to $4000. I was instantly approved for $3500. That is awesome considering how long we've had the card. My wife loves Walmart, so this really is a no-brainer for us. I highly recommend this card to anyone thinking of applying!

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Horrible experience
Anonymous Cardholder

I paid a little more than my minimum due each month on time, they somehow managed to give late fees each month and they said they could only tske them off the entire balance not the minimum due. They are true scam artists.

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Serious hit on credit score
texoil Cardholder

Applied for card with a 654 eq score and was approved for $500. When it showed up on my credit it dropped 20 points to 634. None of my capitol one cards or my discover card did that. Wish I would have read the reviews on here first.

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
Never received the $50 promotion
Anonymous Cardholder

It needs a pin number but the pin activation process was flaw. Even the manager at Walmart can process the payment but the creidt card rep insist it can be done. The rep suggested to give it a try and it "may work" and I "may" get my $50 discount. .................................... They refused to extend the coupon offer till I received the pin by mail.

What a waste of time! Can't trust these people!

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
They don't like responsible users
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card over a year.  Never a late payment.  They gave me a 900 CL when I opened it.  After a few months I asked for an increase.  Each month I would charge it up and pay it off in full.  Next thing I know they drop my limit to 790....the full amount I owed that month!  I called and got a bs answer that they pulled my credit and can lower it.  Then I paid off the balance again and just this last statement they lowered it to $100!  Never been late and paid in full.  The irony is Discover just gave me $1600 limit on the first time.  These guys are jokes!  They want people who only over spend and give crappy rewards.  They actually are hurting my score by lowering my limits so it jacks my debt ratio.  So I expect them to randomly close me soon.  It makes no difference I won't use them any longer since discover gives me much better benefits everywhere.  If you can get a card elsewhere you should.  Don't waste your time with Synchrony.  

more ...
Dec 28, 2016
Easy process to apply
TampaSportsNut Cardholder

I've spent the past 6 months rebuilding credit, never missing payments, so this was the first card I applied for without having to provide a security deposit.  I expected a "no", but I was given a $1,200 approval, so that felt pretty good.  I'm happy to be able to obtain new credit based on my good record rather than fearing being rejected based on bad credit!

more ...
Dec 23, 2016
Walmart has poor customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

Thank you Walmart for giving me the opportunity   to shop with you for the FIRST and LAST time all in one.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Walmart Credit Card