Walmart Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.5 out of 5 stars
123 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 27, 2018
great deals
Anonymous Cardholder

i got this card with a $500 CL, over six months later i had no increase in my limit. so i hit the request credit line increase button and was approved for a $900 limit. i thought that was low as i have been making my payments on time every month, never paid it off. so i did some research online and i guess you have to call the automatic number to request an increase and youll get more. i called a week later, and asked for $2000, this gave me $2500 credit line. I m very happy no complaints here.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 12, 2018
Not worth it!
OutdoorsGal Cardholder

Got approved for card in January. I always paid all payments several days early and even added an extra $15-20 to minimum amount due. My total account balance in April was $44 with a payment due of $25 so I chose to pay the entire remaining balance of $44. Two weeks after paying Walmart the remains amount in my account, walmart closed my account. I had never been late, as I said always paid several days prior to the due date, I never missed a payment nor asked for an extension, and I always paid more than the minimum amount due so there was no reason to close my account. Then they reported to the credit bureau that they closed it which I totally understand but then a couple days later the reported a second time adding that they were the ones who closed the account which dropped my credit score a ton. Them closing my account after only 4 months of opening it and then reporting they closed it  rather than account was just closed dropped my score even further. Due to a car accident several years prior, I only had a 580 credit score when opening the card in January however I had increased that credit score to 648 because of good credit history just since January, but by them closing the card and reporting it the way they did my credit score is lower now than when I opened the card. So they gave me the card with a lowcredit score but then close the card when my credit score was almost 70 points higher and ruining all my hard work to build up my credit. Upon contacting Walmart to find out the reason they closed my account/card Walmart stated they closed my account due to poor credit history and poor credit score. Makes no sense why they would give me the card with a low score and then take away when score greatly improved as well as was a great account holder. I also want to mention that the first 2 months of having this account I spent several days a week on the phone dealing with an issue of them putting the wrong social security number on my account after opening the account. So while I was approved and account was open with my social security number, somewhere along the way the removed my social security number and entered someone else’s. Walmart opened an investigation and made me send verification of my birth certificate, drivers license, and social security card to prove who I was. After verification they correctEd my account with the proper social security number which i again would like to mention was the number I was approved with. So that issue had nothing to do with them closing my account none the less it still shows how screwed up this Walmart Credit Card is, and why I would think twice on applying for it because it’s a large possibility they will ruin your credit that you’ve worked to build. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 07, 2018
No Problems - Happy with it
JMcKinney729 Cardholder

Just so everyone knows - I see a lot of issues with Synchrony bank backing Walmart. Apparently they've "Broken Up". Capital One will be backing Walmart Credit Cards after August 2019. Could be a light at the end of the tunnel for some and a dark and gloomy future for those not fond of CapOne.

more ...
Nov 24, 2018
Low opening credit line
pooter22 Cardholder

Applied on line with s FICO score of 821, they approved me for $500. That is an insult

more ...
Nov 23, 2018
Ehh...
luckydae Cardholder

Never had an issue with the card until I...payed it off in full...tes, you are seeing this right, paid it off in full. A large payment was made to give me a $0 balance. I thought I would do some shopping over a week later...again, yes, over a week later and my card was declined...I’m thinking couldn’t be. Checked my bank account, money came out with no issue, called these morons to find out they put a “payment hold” on the account...WTF is a “payment hold”! Usually if you make a large purchase, a company will put a “purchase hold” on your account, but no, these idiots put a payment hold for well over a week...wow! So now money is in limbo  for another 24 hours dealing with these idiots. Thanks morons!

more ...
Nov 21, 2018
Walmart should fire Synchrony Bank!
kellyr11 Cardholder

DO NOT GET THIS CARD! I was initially approved for $3,500. The first few months I made my payments early (as I do with everything) & found out that they put those payments toward the previous month then charged me a late fee for not making the payments on time for the following months. It took me months to get it straightened out but they finally reimbursed the late fees. I was fine with everything at that point. Fast forward 6 months when I try to buy a new car & I find that they dropped my credit limit to $800. When I asked why, they said because I made multiple late payments when I first got the card. I explained that I did not do this & they were just early but they didn't care. My balance was over $800 at the time so the credit bureaus reported me as over my limit. This dropped my score almost 200 points!!! I was livid as I did nothing to deserve this! Synchrony bank is horrible! Once my current balance is paid off, I'll be closing this card & the two others (discount tire & care credit) who use this bank for their businesses. I would highly suggest everyone find a better bank to deal with! These ppl are crooks!!!

more ...
Nov 21, 2018
Walmart should fire Synchrony Bank!
kellyr11 Cardholder

DO NOT GET THIS CARD! I was initially approved for $3,500. The first few months I made my payments early (as I do with everything) & found out that they put those payments toward the previous month then charged me a late fee for not making the payments on time for the following months. It took me months to get it straightened out but they finally reimbursed the late fees. I was fine with everything at that point. Fast forward 6 months when I try to buy a new car & I find that they dropped my credit limit to $800. When I asked why, they said because I made multiple late payments when I first got the card. I explained that I did not do this & they were just early but they didn't care. My balance was over $800 at the time so the credit bureaus reported me as over my limit. This dropped my score almost 200 points!!! I was livid as I did nothing to deserve this! Synchrony bank is horrible! Once my current balance is paid off, I'll be closing this card & the two others (discount tire & care credit) who use this bank for their businesses. I would highly suggest everyone find a better bank to deal with! These ppl are crooks!!!

more ...
Oct 22, 2018
ok card
dawniegish Cardholder

I've had this card for a little over three months. My credit limit was issued at $200. I payoff the card every month and still cant get an increase on the limit.

more ...
Oct 30, 2018

paying off a card every month is not how you build credit score or limit. paying small amounts monthly while using only 30 percent of your credit is how you do it.

 
Nov 21, 2018

That’s not true. You should always paid off completely if you can.

 
Dec 06, 2018

The description of the card says you have to pay on time for 5 months before you get an increase.

 
Oct 19, 2018
Waste is time
Rochellec92 Cardholder

I had this card about 2 months no real issues with it I only made one purchase little over 20$ 6 days before my payment was due I noticed I hadn’t received the $25 bill credit from when I signed up. I called the customer service line to asks about it and was told I had to make a purchase the SAME DAY I was approved in order to get it... I had applied online at around 8pm no chance I could’ve made any purchase that quickly. The lady I spoke with said unfortunately I would’ve had to figure out how to make an online purchase in order to get the credit, they were unwilling to help or offer any kind of solution. I didn’t really need the credit card just got it to help build my credit more. Needless to say I cancelled my credit card during that phone call. 

more ...
Oct 19, 2018
Scam Card Rewards not Given
storekfl Cardholder

Perfect Credit and they randomly cancelled the Card even with perfect payment history and took 450 worth of earned rewards. No Explanation!

more ...
Oct 15, 2018
I've had the card for three years
tboy1883 Cardholder

I'm sort of meh about the card.  I have a $150 CL, and after three years, it would be nice to have a higher limit since I cannot actually buy anything of valuable or take advantage of their 6 mos no interest deals.  But after reading these reviews, I'll just be grateful they haven't closed it.

more ...
Oct 12, 2018
Absolutely Horrible
Kentuckythree Cardholder

Stay away from this card, they will destroy your credit score! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Walmart Credit Card