Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Walmart Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.7192 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 26, 2013
More plastic to play with
Danbo777 Cardholder

Ok, not to play with, but it's just funny how excited I get at 43 and get approved for another card while I try and redeem myself. I'm a documentation nut so like my other two cards, I'll be updating this post (via reply) once a month or as more info comes in. A few notes to start with:

My myFico scores are: Experian= 599, Equifax= 643 & Transunion= 633.

CK score: 629 (Just dropped from 696, but I prefer myFico for accuracy, CK for all the cool tools and reviews).

Approved for $300.

I've read many people here state that the application process didn't do a hard inquiry, but from my research it leans more toward that it does (not 100% yet but will be next update). I see a few people referring to Walmart money card which is a totally different animal and is a prepaid. Again, I like love free information on public forums and these reviews, but will see for myself and report back as soon as I know.

The application worried me for a minute because after I submitted it and it said I was approved, the bottom right link said "Pay now". I read the fine print before hand and saw there was no annual fee or member fee, but it certainly had me questioning myself. I clicked the link and the application page reopened with half my information filled in, looking like it was expecting me to fill it out all over again. No idea what happened there, but I did not fill it out again.

This card gets five stars easily for the simple fact that it's the first of my now three (Capital One Secured & Credit One Visa - non secured) that actually gives you a temporary number right away. In fact they currently have a promotion going on that if you spend $75 on Walmart's site the same day you get approved, they will give you $25 off. Now before people run to try for it, I read the fine print on this as well. Only slightly negative thing is that they state the $25 will appear on your statement after your first or second billing cycle. So just don't expect it right away to come off the price. This is also going to end in a couple weeks. I imagine this sort of promotion happens often though. This is verbatim what it says:

"Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today (paid as a statement credit). Offer valid September 19, 2013 through January 31, 2014."

I did more research and found some posts on myFico that someone was actually complaining about how fast they reported the information to the credit bureaus. I'm still amazed they were upset. I think I know why but it's because people don't understand the all popular topic of credit utilization. He stated they reported to the credit bureaus after only 3 days from the time he got approved. Another thing I will update next time. If that were the case, and people did take on this promotion to spend at least $75 in order to get $25 back in a month or two, then that would certainly put someone over the comfortable threshold of spending below 30% of a $300 card. If you have questions after reading this next paragraph, either ask by replying, or for faster answers, see my profile and read my Capital One or Credit One posts.

People think credit utilization is a constant. That's just not how it is at all. I only speak facts here folks, but easily checked through a phone call to your bank (don't chat, they're horrible with info I think). The credit card companies normally inform the CRA's the day after your billing cycle closes (not your due date). Most banks that I've researched need at least the close of 2 billing cycles before they do their initial report, then it's every month after (but check with your bank as always). Now when the bank reports your data, they report account status in an "OK", "30 days late", "60 days late", "Charged off", etc,,, fashion. They report your total credit and the balance of your card as of the close of your billing cycle (again, not your due date). ALWAYS call your new credit card bank and ask them when they close your billing cycle. If you pay it in full every month, then this is the date you want to do that by. Due date is only how they formulate interest folks. The bigger thing that people don't seem to understand on these forums are the huge fact that each month the bank reports your data, that current credit utilization replaces the last reported. Does that lower your score? Sure, but only during that exact time frame and nothing more. People think they have a "Score", you don't have a set in stone score, but before I cover that, know that the importance of having a low credit utilization is if you are expecting inquerries. So say you're planning on getting a mortgage or car loan (any loan). Prior to that you would want to be sure your credit utilization is at the lowest you can get it (on average you'll read people state 30% or less). Other than those times, don't sweat it so much. Still do be dilligent in paying your balance to the lowest possible you can by your billing cycle close date, but every 30 days, that data is replaced with the next data reported to the agencies. In the future this will most likely change so always check dates on these posts and always check with your bank. It's you that you need to protect.

Credit Scores:

A credit score doesn't exist until a request is performed. Ever sign up for a credit report, such as from myFico? Ever notice after just a few hours it will once again prompt you to "Get you new score now!!!"? Well, the fact of the matter is that the 3 credit bureaus have different software (people overuse the term algorithm but you probably at least read that somewhere). When an inquerry is sent to that credit bureaus, the software runs the numbers and spits out a score. This score can vary because many things. One main thing is even if you buy your score direct for Experian, Equifax or Transunion, you will get a consumer model and not the lender model. Example: model 98 we get from experian, but the lenders get model 04 (for 2004). Most auto apps have criteria that lenders can set. They can disregard certain things or focus more highly on others. This is one reason your "score" often varies, though mostly it's because we only get the model from before the current (at best). So your credit score is a calculation based on the data in your credit report. So when your credit is "pulled" and a score is requested, that score is calculated through the software, Beacon (software) for Equifax, FICO for Experian (not myFic0) and Empirica for Trans Union. Your credit report changes month to month, mostly by means of automated updates to your file from creditors who report to the bureaus. The differences reflected in that raw data causes changes in your score, but only when those calculations are performed in response to a request for a score.

Sorry for the long read, but if you're trying to better understand, then I'm trying to better help you do so. It pain me to think how long it took me to learn everything I just wrote. I hate how difficult it is to find facts in today's day and age especially. Facts are still facts even though they go ignored, but in this case, these facts cost me lots of money and tonos of grey hair. Hope I at least saved some of you the time and aggravation.

As mentioned long ago, I'll update this with a much shorter read when I have more Walmart specific information to share.

*Keep in mind, this is not a "forum" technically, so if you ask me a question I cannot reply  to you and must reply to my own post. Check back after a day or two and you should have a reply. Sadly Credit Karma doesn't tell you much on their "Recieve email Alerts".

Best of luck folks. Let's go into this new year more prepared I say.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 15, 2013
Will not increase CL
bast553 Cardholder

I applied for this card in 2010 when my score was 526 - instantly approved for $300. Never late, never overlimit. Reduced my CL to $100 (What's that gonna buy?) and have tried to get it higher since. Applied for CLI today (CK 691), and DENIED! Called backdoor and DENIED!!! I'm not going to use this card anymore because I cannot even but groceries without going from 0% to 100%+!

more ...

Reviews (203)

Add Review
Nov 24, 2015

I didn't really know what to give this card. I'm sure it's not a horrible card, but I have applied for this card every year since I turned 18. I'm 21 now. Everytime I've gotten denied for it. It is kind of frustrating. I have 4 credit cards: Kohls, first premier classic, credit one platinum, and chase freedom. I don't know why I keep being denied for this card. I called the back door number, still denied. The lady at customer service was nice though. Oh well, another hard pull for nothing.

more ...
Nov 20, 2015

I tried applying for this card yesterday with a TU score of 589, and I was denied...Called Synchrony Bank and asked to be reconsidered for the card, the rep on the phone said that there was nothing he could do. What is the backdoor number for this card, does anyone know? The number from one of the user reviews goes to Cap One, not Walmart / Synchrony.

more ...
Nov 23, 2015


Nov 18, 2015
Great starter card, easy to get!
pagster3236 Cardholder

Okay, so I honestly thought I wouldn't get a very high limit on this card, if I even got approved at all since it's issued by Synchrony Bank whom I haven't had luck with in the past 18 months, and they pull Transunion where I'm at (in AR). I applied earlier in April with scores around 50 points lower than they are today and was denied so I didn't have very high hopes on an approval this time.

To my surprise I was approved for a $1400 limit on the website for their store card earlier today with 579 TU and 610 EQ.  I have been an authorized user on another Walmart card account (which showed up on my credit report the first month of being added) for 4 months prior to applying so that could have very well been the difference for me. I have a co-worker who applied in store with a 716 credit karma TU and recieved only a $750 limit. Maybe applying online makes a difference too.

more ...
Nov 16, 2015
Can't Believe I Was Approved

Credit Karma reports transunion as 602 and equifax as 589. I have been contemplating applying afraid of a denial.  Well I'm glad I applied. I was unable to get a instant approval online because I have a fraud alert. I called the number and gave my application number. After a few questions I was told I was approved for $600 and expect my card in the mail. I was really surprised by my credit limit as I have seen several people complain of a $100 limit. 

more ...
Nov 16, 2015
Approved with TU 620 EX 605

I ruined my credit as soon as I turned 18 but I went though UCC & they helped me fix my credit now I have 2 Capital Cards, Victoria Secret, Kohls, Target and now this one. I didn't think I would get approved but I'm glad I tried! Credit limit $500! 

more ...
Nov 14, 2015
Don't apply if you are ex employee

I have a credit score of 650 and got denied by walmart, maybe it is because I am an ex employee.  When I worked in the store and people would apply for the card with very low credit scores, they would always be approved.  Very bad business...

more ...
Nov 19, 2015

This is probably the most pointless review. Being an Ex-Employee would not disqualify you for a card, obvious that they pull a credit report through Transunion. Keep in mind the factors. Payment History, Creditworthiness just to name a few. You were probably denied for one of those reasons, not because you're an Ex-Employee.

Nov 14, 2015
on hold almost 35 minutes trying to acti
Anonymous Cardholder

Be prepared to wait and have your phone charger handy

more ...
Nov 13, 2015
Cyberguycpt Cardholder

Well I got this card back in May of 2014 with a limit of $150, ouch. But it was the second card that I was approved for after spending years in credit card purgatory; the first one was through my credit union. At first I was really not liking this card which was stuck at $150 after a year of on time payments and never carrying a balance. But what it did do for me was open the door to many more cards. Synchrony the bank that issues the Walmart card also issues cards through various retailers such as Jcpenny, Kohls, QVC, the Gap, and Old Navy all of which I have been approved for since getting the Walmart card. Now November 2015 my limit was increased to $1000, wow I have come a long way. My advise to anyone that does get approved is to keep your balance low or none existent and pay on time every month. Give it time and try and keep you balance less than 10% of your card limit and it will pay off. Also try not to screw up with any synchrony card because they handle a lot of retailers and screwing up with one could shut you out of them all. Well Good luck. 

more ...
Nov 13, 2015
Cyberguycpt Cardholder

Well I got this card back in May 2014 with a limit of $150 ouch. But It was the second card that I got approved for after years in credit card purgatory, the first one was through my credit union. At first I really was not liking this card; I spent over year at $150 even though I never carried a balance and always paid on time. But what it did was open the door for many more cards. Synchrony the bank that issues the card also issues other store cards such as Jcpenny, Kohls, and even QVC which I was approved for after a few months of positive credit history. Now, November 2015 I was just approved for a limit increase to $1000, whoa came a long way. Lol. But yeah buy your stuff and pay on time keep your balance low about 10% of you limit or none existent and it will pay off eventually. But be careful don't screw up with this bank because you will be shut out of a lot of cards they issue. Good luck. 

more ...
Nov 11, 2015
Slow to report when you pay it off.
Anonymous Cardholder

I paid this card off but they are still not reporting it, in fact they have not posted the last payment I made prior to paying it off.  They need to work on reporting these quicker as it does effect our credit score.  Nothing on their faqs to assist either. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

The Wal-Mart Credit Card is offered by GE Money Bank for Wal-Mart customers. Credit card benefits may include online account management and cash promotions for approved applications. Online account access includes credit card statements, payments, request for credit limit increases, and email and phone alerts.

Established in 1962 in Rogers, Arkansas, Wal-Mart is a discount retailer that currently serves fifteen countries worldwide.Known for its motto “save money. live better”, Wal-Mart is recognized by its bright blue warehouse-like buildings and it's white logo. Products span an array of household items, automotive, food, and more. With its popularity, Wal-Mart has also been scrutinized for its business practices. Consumers are concerned about Wal-Mart’s lack of benefits for its employees, hiring practices, and the circumstances of small businesses driven out by Wal-Mart competition.

Walmart Credit Card