Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Walmart Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
127 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 06, 2016
Mkburlins Cardholder

Approved for $400 credit line with 610 TU score (654 FICO). Had 5 inquiries on file and 3 old medical collections. Current utilization was 36%. Hope that helps anyone thinking of applying

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 05, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is a joke. I got a 150.00 credit limit on this card, I always paid on time was never late on payments, decided to pay it off... Went today to use my card and it was declined. Called them up to see why my card was declined. They had closed my account and refused to give me a reason. The agent told me I could reapply for a new one, I said nope if your company going to close an account for no reason and can't even tell me the reason I am done with your company. I don't recommend this card to anyone for that reason alone. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 21, 2017
Stay Away!!!
Bldgmycred1 Cardholder

If you miss one payment by 30 days or more, they will close the account and it really looks bad on your credit when they do that. Make sure you don't experience any life changing situations. They are not willing to help in any way. Late fee is insane! Terrible company. It's real easy to get this card. It's also really easy for them to screw you for a small mistake.

more ...
Feb 19, 2017
Synchrony bank made it worse
ceetheninja Cardholder

Just paid off my $300 Walmart store card but Synchrony bank reduced my credit to $100. Who does this f&%$ed up s@#$? I won't be begging for a credit increase because that's going to hit my credit again with the inquiry. Cancelling all my cards associated with Synchrony bank (Paypal, Amazon, Old Navy) which are all paid in full.

more ...
Feb 14, 2017
Another Update
Mztwinzs Cardholder

I applied for the Walmart store card on 7/2016.  At the time my score with TU fico was 608.  I was approved with a $500 credit limit. In October I got an automatic increase to $1100. In November I requested another increase and was given an increase to $3000 ( I made multiple requests in $500 increments that day until it maxed out at $3000).  Today I decided since it had been three months since my last increase I would request another credit limit increase. To my surprise it was increased to $6000 ( this time I did multiple request in increments of $1000). Today my TU fico is 703. I don't go by credit karma because according to CK my scores are bad at 618 and 630. I'm not sure what Walmart requirements are for cl increases but I use the card often. I have never had a balance over $600 since having the card. Some months I pay the complete balance off before the end of the billing cycle. At other times I make a couple of payments prior to paying it off. The interest rate is fairly high however, it is not a big deal to me since I don't carry a high balance for a long time. I have actually not paid much in interest since getting the card. Back in November I received a coupon with my statement for 0 interest for 12-24 months on a purchase over $200. I did some holiday shopping and took advantage of that perk. 

Overall this card has been really good to me and I have no complaints. I have never had to call customer service about any issues therefore I can't comment on how their service is. 

more ...
Feb 12, 2017
Horrible!
Anonymous Cardholder

They closed my account for no good reason!! I was a good customer who always paid on time 😡

more ...
Feb 11, 2017
INTEREST RATES ARE TOO HIGH 22.90%
Anonymous Cardholder

If you are of lower middle class income do not apply for this card; you are better off sticking to a budget plan and using cash. The interest rate is 22.90% and your monthly interest charges will nearly amount to $100. that's $1000. a year added on to the card. 

more ...
Feb 08, 2017
Great to have
jazzy8410 Cardholder

So glad this was recommended to me. They were quite easy to get. 

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
A must have for Walmart shoppers
NoahsLife Cardholder

I have had the card for 10 months now and it's have been a great card for me, we shop at Walmart a few times a week and having the card makes check out faster with the Walmart pay link the the Walmart card and save every time,I started with a 500 limit and now it's up to 3500 limit not bad for a 680 fico score.

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
lack of service, hung up on customer
Anonymous Cardholder

Fraudulent company was making random charges to credit card. Called Walmart, they gave inconsistent information, and ultimately the person hung up on me. Very upset, do not sign up with them.

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
Applied today
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied today with a credit score of 599-605. Was approved instantly with a CL of $500!

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
I don't see any problems with this card
Jiri1979 Cardholder

 I god this card a month ago - I was approved instantly for CL $ 2 900. At that time my credit score were here on credit karma: TU  and Equafax both a couple of points above 700 same with the Experian .  My one collection disappeared 3 months ago and same with my public record ( derogatory mark ) - gone 3 months ago from my credit score. 

Before approval I had only one secured card form Capital one and I'm signed up as an authorized user on my girlfriend's two Credit cards (only two months) - which lifted my score significantly. 

This is good card with rewards 3% 2% 1% - look at walmart site for details. 

Before you apply wait  and check what sign up bonus Walmart offers - they offer $25 $50 or $75 sign up bonus - I did not know about it and I signed up when there was ZERO bonus - only 10% off on your first purchase. But if you wait and strike at the right moment you will get $75 + 10% on your first purchase 

Managing your acc online is as any other credit card - I don't see any problem there - yes capital one or chase they simply have nicer look of the online accounts, but as I said no problem here. 

I made few purchases - I also canceled one online order - regular process - it took around 5 days to see money "back" on the acc.

So far I just made one payment – it took same time as for Capital one or Chase for payment to be posted.

We use Credit cards only for taking the advantage of the rewards programs. Don’t treat your CC as long term loan and you don’t have to care about the interest rate.

You can buy stuff online in Walmart and you can pick it up in your local store. This way it will give you reward of 3%.

So decent reward and building your credit history at the same time .

Even if this is Walmart card (master card – regular CC at the same time). Using our Chase card for online purchases in Walmart gives you better reward when you “shop through the Chase”

I don’t know how difficult it is to get approved for this card – I simply got approved in the situation I described above.

But I would say maybe Walmart is little less strict to approve you for this CC.

Good luck 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Walmart Credit Card