Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Walmart Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 26, 2013
More plastic to play with
Danbo777 Cardholder

Ok, not to play with, but it's just funny how excited I get at 43 and get approved for another card while I try and redeem myself. I'm a documentation nut so like my other two cards, I'll be updating this post (via reply) once a month or as more info comes in. A few notes to start with:

My myFico scores are: Experian= 599, Equifax= 643 & Transunion= 633.

CK score: 629 (Just dropped from 696, but I prefer myFico for accuracy, CK for all the cool tools and reviews).

Approved for $300.

I've read many people here state that the application process didn't do a hard inquiry, but from my research it leans more toward that it does (not 100% yet but will be next update). I see a few people referring to Walmart money card which is a totally different animal and is a prepaid. Again, I like love free information on public forums and these reviews, but will see for myself and report back as soon as I know.

The application worried me for a minute because after I submitted it and it said I was approved, the bottom right link said "Pay now". I read the fine print before hand and saw there was no annual fee or member fee, but it certainly had me questioning myself. I clicked the link and the application page reopened with half my information filled in, looking like it was expecting me to fill it out all over again. No idea what happened there, but I did not fill it out again.

This card gets five stars easily for the simple fact that it's the first of my now three (Capital One Secured & Credit One Visa - non secured) that actually gives you a temporary number right away. In fact they currently have a promotion going on that if you spend $75 on Walmart's site the same day you get approved, they will give you $25 off. Now before people run to try for it, I read the fine print on this as well. Only slightly negative thing is that they state the $25 will appear on your statement after your first or second billing cycle. So just don't expect it right away to come off the price. This is also going to end in a couple weeks. I imagine this sort of promotion happens often though. This is verbatim what it says:

"Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today (paid as a statement credit). Offer valid September 19, 2013 through January 31, 2014."

I did more research and found some posts on myFico that someone was actually complaining about how fast they reported the information to the credit bureaus. I'm still amazed they were upset. I think I know why but it's because people don't understand the all popular topic of credit utilization. He stated they reported to the credit bureaus after only 3 days from the time he got approved. Another thing I will update next time. If that were the case, and people did take on this promotion to spend at least $75 in order to get $25 back in a month or two, then that would certainly put someone over the comfortable threshold of spending below 30% of a $300 card. If you have questions after reading this next paragraph, either ask by replying, or for faster answers, see my profile and read my Capital One or Credit One posts.

People think credit utilization is a constant. That's just not how it is at all. I only speak facts here folks, but easily checked through a phone call to your bank (don't chat, they're horrible with info I think). The credit card companies normally inform the CRA's the day after your billing cycle closes (not your due date). Most banks that I've researched need at least the close of 2 billing cycles before they do their initial report, then it's every month after (but check with your bank as always). Now when the bank reports your data, they report account status in an "OK", "30 days late", "60 days late", "Charged off", etc,,, fashion. They report your total credit and the balance of your card as of the close of your billing cycle (again, not your due date). ALWAYS call your new credit card bank and ask them when they close your billing cycle. If you pay it in full every month, then this is the date you want to do that by. Due date is only how they formulate interest folks. The bigger thing that people don't seem to understand on these forums are the huge fact that each month the bank reports your data, that current credit utilization replaces the last reported. Does that lower your score? Sure, but only during that exact time frame and nothing more. People think they have a "Score", you don't have a set in stone score, but before I cover that, know that the importance of having a low credit utilization is if you are expecting inquerries. So say you're planning on getting a mortgage or car loan (any loan). Prior to that you would want to be sure your credit utilization is at the lowest you can get it (on average you'll read people state 30% or less). Other than those times, don't sweat it so much. Still do be dilligent in paying your balance to the lowest possible you can by your billing cycle close date, but every 30 days, that data is replaced with the next data reported to the agencies. In the future this will most likely change so always check dates on these posts and always check with your bank. It's you that you need to protect.

Credit Scores:

A credit score doesn't exist until a request is performed. Ever sign up for a credit report, such as from myFico? Ever notice after just a few hours it will once again prompt you to "Get you new score now!!!"? Well, the fact of the matter is that the 3 credit bureaus have different software (people overuse the term algorithm but you probably at least read that somewhere). When an inquerry is sent to that credit bureaus, the software runs the numbers and spits out a score. This score can vary because many things. One main thing is even if you buy your score direct for Experian, Equifax or Transunion, you will get a consumer model and not the lender model. Example: model 98 we get from experian, but the lenders get model 04 (for 2004). Most auto apps have criteria that lenders can set. They can disregard certain things or focus more highly on others. This is one reason your "score" often varies, though mostly it's because we only get the model from before the current (at best). So your credit score is a calculation based on the data in your credit report. So when your credit is "pulled" and a score is requested, that score is calculated through the software, Beacon (software) for Equifax, FICO for Experian (not myFic0) and Empirica for Trans Union. Your credit report changes month to month, mostly by means of automated updates to your file from creditors who report to the bureaus. The differences reflected in that raw data causes changes in your score, but only when those calculations are performed in response to a request for a score.

Sorry for the long read, but if you're trying to better understand, then I'm trying to better help you do so. It pain me to think how long it took me to learn everything I just wrote. I hate how difficult it is to find facts in today's day and age especially. Facts are still facts even though they go ignored, but in this case, these facts cost me lots of money and tonos of grey hair. Hope I at least saved some of you the time and aggravation.

As mentioned long ago, I'll update this with a much shorter read when I have more Walmart specific information to share.

*Keep in mind, this is not a "forum" technically, so if you ask me a question I cannot reply  to you and must reply to my own post. Check back after a day or two and you should have a reply. Sadly Credit Karma doesn't tell you much on their "Recieve email Alerts".

Best of luck folks. Let's go into this new year more prepared I say.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 24, 2015
Got approved on recon 9/23
Rmfor700 Cardholder

I applied back on 7/27 and got the dreaded 7-10 days. Within 72 hours received a denial letter via email. Reapplied yesterday and received another 7-10 day response but called for a recon. First customer service rep flat out told me you're denied and we don't recon. I called a different number and spoke to a gentleman that asked me a few questions such as my name, address, and what credit limit I was looking for. He then transferred me to another lady who asked me the same questions however she did not ask me what credit limit I was requesting. 

She he asked me to provide my cell phone number so that I could receive a 4 digit security code. Phone call came right away and gave her the code. She approved me for $150.00

more ...
 

Reviews (250)

Add Review
Apr 14, 2016
this card is worthless
mlucky1570 Cardholder

I was approoved last October with a low credit score of 600 and $150 starting limit low but Happy to have gotten approoved but now my score is 660 and still no CLI can't use this card it is worthless to me which such a low limit. 

more ...
Apr 17, 2016

I feel the same way I just got approved for a $200 limit and it only looks bad on your credit report. Other lenders may see this and start giving low limits. The sad part is that most of my cards have $4,000 limits. Oh and they gave me a Phillips 66 card with a $850.00 limit. They are so backwards!

 
Apr 17, 2016

Enter Your Reply

 
Apr 18, 2016

Same here. Approved with a 300 dollar CL and even though my credit score has increase, ever time I request an increase im always denied. Nothing additional on my report or anything. The same thing were approved with they claim that's the reason I'm denied the increase. This card was a total waste. I'm paying them the 65 that I owe them and I'm leaving it. It's not worth it.

 
Apr 24, 2016

I have asked for CLI several times and nothing, just received 4000 in CLI's total from my other cards and still stuck at a measly $150 I don't get it, maybe they WANT me to carry a balance every month or maybe they don't like me asking for cli's in any case I am done, not going to use it or waste anymore effort on them. Also Walmart uses a soft pull on cli request for anyone that was wondering.

 
Apr 03, 2016
Terrible
syniuta123 Cardholder

No matter if you have a good, bad or perfect (like me) credit history, they will always approve you. Limit is a kindergarden grade. But the worst in their attitude is that no matter that I have perfect history, never late or no bad reports ever on my credit - they closed my account for no reason. And when I called in to ask why are you ruining my credit report - (closing down older accounts negatively affects your average age of credit and automatically pulls your score down) the manager said "nothing wrong, you just did not used it for a while, and we closed it". Thats RIDICULOUS!!! And offensive. 

more ...
Apr 18, 2016

Thanks for the review they keep trying to get me to apply sending me stuff but I am so glad I read this now I wont waste an inquiry.

 
Apr 27, 2016

They keep denying me

 
Apr 02, 2016
I got denied with a 645

I got denied with a Ck and CS 645 acroos the board. I was surprised and very disappointed. I worked very hard for over a year to clean up my credit, I have nothing in collections paid all my old debt off and have a car loan that I have never made a late payment on in 4 years. My student loans are oon good standing. I don't get it. 

When I called to try to find out why I was denied it's an automated system so yeah.

more ...
Apr 02, 2016
Nice Card
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card and got approved in seconds for a $400 credit limit, this limit is fine for me as I can handle the payments, just trying to build up my credit.

more ...
Apr 02, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

This credit card is literally the worst! As soon as I got it I set up an auto payment online to come out directly each month. Needless to say they would take the payment out of my account and bounce it back in stating there was insufficient funds. You can't take money out if there's not enough in the account! After months of fighting that (and still not seeing 3 payments back in my account or show up on the balance I owed) I called and complained. They couldn't figure out what was going on, even the representative told me that's not right! Here I am a year later with them having not taken anything out (even with calling and manually taking the money out) so my "balance" is double my max and continues to go up because walmarts full of nothing but idiots. They will screw you over its definitely not worth it! 

more ...
Mar 30, 2016
voodoonext Cardholder

I have had this card for 7 months. I checked my balance one day and found they lowered my credit limit to exactly what my balance was with no notice or explanation. I also hadon't a Chevron card, both by Synchrony Bank, and I paid it off 3 months ago. Never was late on my payments and they closed that account, again, no notice or explanation. My Lowe's card is with them also and after all this I'll be closing all of my synchrony bank accounts. I think it's unacceptable to treat people this way.

more ...
Apr 02, 2016

When they lowered your credit limit did u make a large payment right before this happen?

 
Mar 28, 2016
Interest is soooo high!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't get this card the interest rate is sooo high, I hate I ever got this card, I am currently working on paying it off, haven't used it in over 3 years.  Terrible.

more ...
Mar 27, 2016
So grateful!
kmwill Cardholder

I've been working on rebuilding my credit for about the last 6 months, and decided to apply for the store card after raising my CK TU score 50 points in the last 2 months. I was instantly approved with a TU score of 625. Pretty low CL of $250, but everyone's got to start somewhere, right? I'm just grateful to have been given this opportunity to keep rebuilding to bigger and better things!

more ...
Mar 21, 2016
Don't ever apply for this card.
Anonymous Cardholder

That they should not bother with this BS card.

more ...
Mar 18, 2016
GREAT STORE CARD
DanielleAlexis Cardholder

This was the first card that approved me when I started my credit journey again after making poor decision in my early years. I was 22 when I applied and initially got approved with a $600 limit w/ a 620 credit score at the time, hard pull on Trans Union. I love this card, I use it at walmart, sams club and for gas. I bought my car a year after and had high utilization on my credit cards so I was denied when I requested a credit limit. Fast forward 2 years and all my credit cards are under 30% utilization, I called the backdoor number (highly recommend for credit increases) and I requested a limit of $2,500 and got approved by the rep after they asked some questions about how much I pay for rent and my income. My scores at the time were: EQ: 657 TU: 675 and they did a soft pull.  Good luck!

more ...
Apr 05, 2016

Can I ask what part of the country you live in? Just curious if there is a regional effect. I'm considering applying for this card.

 
Apr 06, 2016

I live in Dallas, texas. Sync bank always pulls trans Union. Hope this helps!

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

The Wal-Mart Credit Card is offered by GE Money Bank for Wal-Mart customers. Credit card benefits may include online account management and cash promotions for approved applications. Online account access includes credit card statements, payments, request for credit limit increases, and email and phone alerts.

Established in 1962 in Rogers, Arkansas, Wal-Mart is a discount retailer that currently serves fifteen countries worldwide.Known for its motto “save money. live better”, Wal-Mart is recognized by its bright blue warehouse-like buildings and it's white logo. Products span an array of household items, automotive, food, and more. With its popularity, Wal-Mart has also been scrutinized for its business practices. Consumers are concerned about Wal-Mart’s lack of benefits for its employees, hiring practices, and the circumstances of small businesses driven out by Wal-Mart competition.

Walmart Credit Card