Walmart Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.5 out of 5 stars
155 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 06, 2016
Mkburlins Cardholder

Approved for $400 credit line with 610 TU score (654 FICO). Had 5 inquiries on file and 3 old medical collections. Current utilization was 36%. Hope that helps anyone thinking of applying

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 20, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

They lowered my credit limit from 1800 to 380 without notifing me.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 19, 2017
They give you mess your credit up.
kcovington31 Cardholder

They give you a good credit line and the decrease it 6 months later even though you pay your bill monthly on time. Now my credit score has gone down because it looks like I am over my balance and have more debt to available credit than I do.

more ...
Aug 16, 2017
Terrible
shauna715 Cardholder

I had this card for 2 years. Paid off my balance, they closed my account without telling me.

more ...
Aug 11, 2017
Horrible!
Anonymous Cardholder

Well, like everyone else here my credit line was reduced to less than the opening line. I had 2 MAJOR cards raise my line while they were lowering mine. Called and they said they would put it under review and I should hear from them within 30 days in regards to a credit line increase. I have never been late with a payment to them and overpay each month. I have had the card for a year and a half. If they don't raise it i will be cancelling the card immediately. Customer service there is horrible and I am pretty sure they aren't even in the US.

more ...
Aug 04, 2017
No complaints
Anonymous Cardholder

Have had numerous increases, up to 4700 limit now. They just regularly give me line increases for paying on time.

more ...
Jul 31, 2017
The Mess Card
Anonymous Cardholder

Very very bad......stay away from  Synchrony/Walmart Credit Card !!!!!!

more ...
Jul 25, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for a year and a half. Beware when you pay your balance they will drop your credit line. I made a payment to drop my usage below 30 percent and they lowered my limit so that my card was maxed out. Yuck!

more ...
Jul 24, 2017
Worst card ever!!! Stay away from it
Aped23 Cardholder

Worst costumer service ever, they dont help you at all, their employee give false information, and they keep changing while you continue calling. They drop down your credit limit without notice you, and thats increase your % of usage, something that cause your credit score to drop. So do not apply for it.

more ...
Jul 23, 2017
Worst customer service experience ever
tdubguygienist Cardholder

I recently had to report several fraudulent charges on my card. After a lengthy investigation, I was credited for a portion of the charges. However, they would not credit me for the payments I made on the account while the charges were being accrued. Therefore, the total balance I was responsible for did not change. The only thing they did instead was review my credit history, lower my limit, and refund a portion of the charges. The payments I had been making over the last several months did not reflect my total balance, but instead went toward the fraudulent activity. After explaining this to a supervisor, Ryan, I was hung up on because he was frustrated and didn't understand simple math. Seven months of good standing payment history should reflect a lower balance than what I currently have. I called back and spoke to another supervisor who didn't understand either. After getting nowhere with this, I have decided to close my account for good, which affects my credit. NOT HAPPY about this at all. Get some people in customer service who understand charge disputes and can do more than read from a script and press a few buttons on a computer. You lost a loyal customer and I will be closing my other credit cards with Synchrony as well. DO NOT do business with this company unless you want to deal with invasive credit pulls, high interest rates, and elementary educated representatives.

more ...
Jul 19, 2017
Walmart Credit Card Account
PSPI Cardholder

I have had a Walmart card for years. Account always in good standing and would pay it off every few months. I noticed each time I paid it off they would the delay the credit of the payment for at least 10 days and take 2 months to report it to the credit bureau's. They also attempted to charge interest on the balance between the time the pay off was made and they actually applied it to the account. I caught them and got them to reverse the interest. I just paid it off again and when checking my credit, discovered the account had been closed. I called them and was told it was "due to inactivity". I just paid it off! These people are horrible to deal with. Never get the same answer twice. Stay away if you can and pay with your debit card or cash. Not worth the headaches.

more ...
Jul 10, 2017
mel414 Cardholder

Applied with a credit karma score of 565. Was approved instantly with a CL of $500!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 25, 2017

Did you apply online?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Walmart Credit Card