Walmart Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.2 out of 5 stars
154 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 26, 2017
Just got approved!
redflag777 Cardholder

Tried forever to get this card. I mean for years. They pulled transunion and my fico is 634.They gave me a $700 limit.  I was initially told by syncrony that i couldnt use walmart at sams. I applied for sams 2 days later and i was denied. Was scratching my head on it but hey, at least i have a walmart card. In the end, Sams rep told me that you can use walmart at sams. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 11, 2017
$300 starting limit
soonerdawg07 Cardholder

First, I got a pre approved offer in the mail. My Transunion FICO was 651. Currently I have 7 credit cards, with my highest CL being 12,600 and my lowest CL being 2,000. I decided to accept the Wal-Mart offer, expecting to be approved smilar to the limits I have with my Best Buy and Amazon store cards. OK....

So I do the application online, and all it did was tell me I was approved, but nowhere on the site did it tell me the amount that I was approved for. Evidently there is an 800 number that you can call, but I didn't feel like going through the hassle, figured I would wait for it to arrive to find out my credit limit.

Fast forward 5 days (to today), and I get an alert from Credit Karma about a new account, which was the Wal-Mart card. Finally, I was able to see the amount I was approved for. $300. THREE HUNDRED DOLLARS. So my score on CK drops 30 points for the new inquiry and new account. I will be canceling the card the moment it gets here. I didn't really need it, and silly me, I need to stop responding to every pre approved offer I get.

This is litearlly the first review I have ever dropped on CK. $300 limit?? Get out of here with that BS

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 13, 2017
SO FRUSTRATED I WANT TO CRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!
DannybSalem Cardholder

Have u ever been so frustrated you wanted to cry? That's how I Feel right now!!!!!!!!!!! Last week card was declined to make any purchases, after 4 hours waiting for tires, then again last night Dec, 12 2017 and in the two hours it took to deal with them on the phone every toy for Christmas was then sold out except a hot wheels package of cars, then today Dec,13 wife after going shopping and standing in a busy line was declined and the lady working humilated her by saying it was coming up as stolen/lost card, which is not right, Im on the phone with them at this point and they say we can't see any problems, then we try again and the guy says again he can't tell anything, I told him something was wrong and needs fixed, he then said i had to lower my voice and i wasn'[t yelling then hung up, called back got a lady the man put a fraud alert on the card, locked it out, can't unlock even in store with id and the card they asked for the usual information, then said we need to text you, when getting the card it ask for your HOME PHONE, not cell... well my home phone is  voip like most everyones and they texted me the code and they said it wont work they wont accept it being voip, i went through all the TOS and Ctr F and nothing in the entire TOS about not being able to use VOIP phones, tried adding my cell, they wont let me and unlcok the account they will mail me something that should show up in 7-10 days, I only got this card for xmas to take advantage of a deal they had so that wont work, then again called frustrated and upset, my wifes almost in tears shes so embarassed and upset and then the new person says the two people had no right to do that and the system only kicked up a alert based on we were out of town even tho they have no pattern of use as this was our 2cd time using the card, and fixed it... I cant beleive how bad of a ocmpany this place is, I should of listened to the reviews about them and not use my own judgment and get it, Pleaes if your thinking of getting a snych bank card of any type DONT DO IT, I told them to shut the (&*(*&(* account off, I just jaw dropping at the over seas help and how they treat u, the first guy said, why dont you call someone in your america!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! when I told him i was having trouble understanding him!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! what do u do tho, we as people can't change nothing or effect this company, there is no punishment we can apply other then warn others about how bad they are! BEWARE OF THIS CARD AND COMPANY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

more ...
Dec 08, 2017
It could be better. Not worth my time
iginah27 Cardholder

Got about 5 or 6 accounts with Synchrony. Lost my job...used my cards (didnt max them out)...made monthly payments on time before the due dates and they lowered my credit limits because they say my balances were too high. What a way to look out for your customers Synchrony! I have another job paid off of 75% of the balances and will never use their cards again! Once I find a good credit card Im closing every account I have with them!

I found them useful in my time of need but for them to pretty much say **** me after doing business with them for 2 plus years. Its sad but I'll do business with Navy Federal or Chase moving forward. Customers like to feel valued not used

more ...
Dec 07, 2017
Good for rebuilding/starting credit

I like that it can be used at Murphy's for fuel, etc.  I think the rate for that is 3% cash back.  Online and in store purchases are 1-2% cash back.  This month (December) there was a double cash back reward due to the holiday shopping season. 

Great for emergencies and starting/building credit.

more ...
Dec 06, 2017
sallywalker67 Cardholder

I have paid my Walart card off twice, with on time payments.Still can't get a increase. So I stop using it. On the other hand Target is great they get increases without asking for being a good customer, on time payments . don't apply for walmart card. Do Target

more ...
Dec 05, 2017
Great card for Walmart shoppers.
Allie530 Cardholder

Its great if you shop at Walmart in store and online a lot. My husband works for Walmart so between his employee discount and the cash back on the card we save a lot.

more ...
Nov 27, 2017
I love this card!!
Batmanliveson Cardholder

I have this card and I love using it, I use it for a lot of stuff even for my fiance.

more ...
Nov 24, 2017
Synchrony bank sucks! Don't get it
Anonymous Cardholder

You can pay your card on time and manage it but if your credit score changes, synchrony lowers your credit without notice with no regard on your good payment history with Wal-Mart. Synchrony Bank punishes you by continuing to lower your credit limit. Don't get Wal-Mart credit card.

more ...
Nov 22, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Terrible, terrible, never again in my lifetime.

more ...
Nov 22, 2017
Just got approved!
rroman86 Cardholder

I just applied for the card at my local Walmart and I was approved for $500 with a fico score at 610. They were doing $35 statement credit as long as your first purchase was over $75. They are also doing 0% interest for up to 12 months as long as you spend over $300

more ...
Nov 22, 2017
Never a credit increase
reesecash Cardholder

. I had this card for 2 years and not one credit limit increase .they want to run your credit again so I said what happened to a annual increase or good payment increase never miss the payment never was late on the payment and still no increase I'll be closing this card out in January 2018 and will not do no business with them when it come to a credit card I will use my bank card. Or use my Capital One card just to pay for the merchandise if I still decide to buy it but this card does not give you any increase at all very disappointed.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Walmart Credit Card