Walmart Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
159 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 26, 2017
Just got approved!
redflag777 Cardholder

Tried forever to get this card. I mean for years. They pulled transunion and my fico is 634.They gave me a $700 limit.  I was initially told by syncrony that i couldnt use walmart at sams. I applied for sams 2 days later and i was denied. Was scratching my head on it but hey, at least i have a walmart card. In the end, Sams rep told me that you can use walmart at sams. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 18, 2017
Decrease credit limit for no reason!!
Valgerm Cardholder

Poor customer service. I pay my account on time each month and even have it on automatic payments. When I checked two days prior to going to purchase shoes for work, I had over $100 available. Then, I checked my account again after making a payment only to discover that my credit limit had been decrease to reflect I only had $12 available to spend. My advice is to keep the card charged to the limit!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 15, 2017
Confusing
Bejitu Cardholder

Had this card with a 300 cl. I just paid it off last month and haven't touched it since. Today credit karma let me know the card is showing closed and paid off. I called Synchrony and was told due to inactivity and info from transunion they decided to close my account. Whatever, to me that's kind of stupid. I just paid off 9 other cards... I just won't deal with synchrony again.

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
worst of all my credit cards
Anonymous Cardholder

The account lowered my credit line twice, this card gets you in trouble

more ...
Oct 09, 2017
KS883 Cardholder

I am authorized user on a walmart card. I have never missed a payment. The primary carldholder has like almost 700 credit score. Mine is lower . Weve had the card almost two years no credit line increase
Whats going on here . His other cards are over 1500, credit limiit, I have a secured card with capital one. Stuck with $400 limit for 2 years. The only reason we don't cut up the cardis because of the convenience ( We shop Walmart)all the time.

more ...
Oct 06, 2017
Terrible
Feli99 Cardholder

I absolutely loathe this card and bank, Ive had nothing but great experiences with my other credit cards. First off they dont have an app to manage your card easily, the site to log in and manage the walmart credit card is inconvenient, i tried updating my notifications a few times with error messages, eventually it never saved and I wasn't getting notifications like my other cards give. Paid off my purchases just fine always on time, other cards reward me for being a good customer/client, this one you pay your bills and they decrease your credit line, mine almost completely from a $800- $100 dollar limit...WOW, so thats what I get for paying this crappy card and doing what im suppose to? My credit score went down, thank you Walmart and Synchrony for helping me build my credit by sabotaging it. Dont apply for this card especially the struggling families and low income, this is the first card Ive had that I want to close asap.

more ...
Sep 30, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Their customer service is absolutely horrible!! They also outsource so you are speaking to another country with people that are hard to understand & reading their answers from a computer when you ask questions.  I also paid my bill in full early & I was penalized for it because it was early, did you ever hear of such a thing??? So ridiculous!! I also have a problem using the card even though I have available credit. I regret ever getting this card...big mistake!!! 

more ...
Sep 24, 2017
A little help
CTHOMPSON1676 Cardholder

Asked for help after hurricane Irma as we lost power for over a week. Had to throw out all of our food and pay for a hotel, so we had no money for groceries. Asked for just $150 credit limit increase to buy food and they declined.

more ...
Sep 24, 2017
Worst card out there
Anonymous Cardholder

Stay away from Wal-Mart credit cards.

more ...
Sep 22, 2017
Not a good card.
Anonymous Cardholder

They promised me a $25 credit for opening an account if I ordered $75 that day. I opened an account but could not order. They did not email me the credit card # so I coulnt place my order. Customer service said I'd have to wait on the card to come in the mail before I could order but still get my credit. Now 2 months later after numerious chat conversations they say they are revieving it. I paid off the balance and closed the account. I have an 800+ credit score and don't need this.It may be an ok card for people with poor credit. It should be an instant credit and I should have been allowed to order that day.

more ...
Sep 20, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I had the card always paid on time and kept the balance low. No problem with card. I got cancer and fell behind on a payment or two on another card o my credit score dropped some. If my credit score was properly updated i had paid off three of the bills and lowered the other under 30%. Cards with synchrony bank have a tendency to check you credit randomly and will lower your credit limit even if your in good standing with the card which will also drop your credit score. I don't recommend it. You shouldn't be punish when paying this bill.

more ...
Sep 19, 2017
Nothing but trouble
lor1954 Cardholder

Card lost and used. Reported next morning. Card canceled immediately but just had to call for third time a few minutes ago. They say no record of charges reported as unauthorized. Will resolve in 30-60 days. Why 3 calls needed?

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Walmart Credit Card