Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Walmart Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 26, 2013
More plastic to play with
Danbo777 Cardholder

Ok, not to play with, but it's just funny how excited I get at 43 and get approved for another card while I try and redeem myself. I'm a documentation nut so like my other two cards, I'll be updating this post (via reply) once a month or as more info comes in. A few notes to start with:

My myFico scores are: Experian= 599, Equifax= 643 & Transunion= 633.

CK score: 629 (Just dropped from 696, but I prefer myFico for accuracy, CK for all the cool tools and reviews).

Approved for $300.

I've read many people here state that the application process didn't do a hard inquiry, but from my research it leans more toward that it does (not 100% yet but will be next update). I see a few people referring to Walmart money card which is a totally different animal and is a prepaid. Again, I like love free information on public forums and these reviews, but will see for myself and report back as soon as I know.

The application worried me for a minute because after I submitted it and it said I was approved, the bottom right link said "Pay now". I read the fine print before hand and saw there was no annual fee or member fee, but it certainly had me questioning myself. I clicked the link and the application page reopened with half my information filled in, looking like it was expecting me to fill it out all over again. No idea what happened there, but I did not fill it out again.

This card gets five stars easily for the simple fact that it's the first of my now three (Capital One Secured & Credit One Visa - non secured) that actually gives you a temporary number right away. In fact they currently have a promotion going on that if you spend $75 on Walmart's site the same day you get approved, they will give you $25 off. Now before people run to try for it, I read the fine print on this as well. Only slightly negative thing is that they state the $25 will appear on your statement after your first or second billing cycle. So just don't expect it right away to come off the price. This is also going to end in a couple weeks. I imagine this sort of promotion happens often though. This is verbatim what it says:

"Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today (paid as a statement credit). Offer valid September 19, 2013 through January 31, 2014."

I did more research and found some posts on myFico that someone was actually complaining about how fast they reported the information to the credit bureaus. I'm still amazed they were upset. I think I know why but it's because people don't understand the all popular topic of credit utilization. He stated they reported to the credit bureaus after only 3 days from the time he got approved. Another thing I will update next time. If that were the case, and people did take on this promotion to spend at least $75 in order to get $25 back in a month or two, then that would certainly put someone over the comfortable threshold of spending below 30% of a $300 card. If you have questions after reading this next paragraph, either ask by replying, or for faster answers, see my profile and read my Capital One or Credit One posts.

People think credit utilization is a constant. That's just not how it is at all. I only speak facts here folks, but easily checked through a phone call to your bank (don't chat, they're horrible with info I think). The credit card companies normally inform the CRA's the day after your billing cycle closes (not your due date). Most banks that I've researched need at least the close of 2 billing cycles before they do their initial report, then it's every month after (but check with your bank as always). Now when the bank reports your data, they report account status in an "OK", "30 days late", "60 days late", "Charged off", etc,,, fashion. They report your total credit and the balance of your card as of the close of your billing cycle (again, not your due date). ALWAYS call your new credit card bank and ask them when they close your billing cycle. If you pay it in full every month, then this is the date you want to do that by. Due date is only how they formulate interest folks. The bigger thing that people don't seem to understand on these forums are the huge fact that each month the bank reports your data, that current credit utilization replaces the last reported. Does that lower your score? Sure, but only during that exact time frame and nothing more. People think they have a "Score", you don't have a set in stone score, but before I cover that, know that the importance of having a low credit utilization is if you are expecting inquerries. So say you're planning on getting a mortgage or car loan (any loan). Prior to that you would want to be sure your credit utilization is at the lowest you can get it (on average you'll read people state 30% or less). Other than those times, don't sweat it so much. Still do be dilligent in paying your balance to the lowest possible you can by your billing cycle close date, but every 30 days, that data is replaced with the next data reported to the agencies. In the future this will most likely change so always check dates on these posts and always check with your bank. It's you that you need to protect.

Credit Scores:

A credit score doesn't exist until a request is performed. Ever sign up for a credit report, such as from myFico? Ever notice after just a few hours it will once again prompt you to "Get you new score now!!!"? Well, the fact of the matter is that the 3 credit bureaus have different software (people overuse the term algorithm but you probably at least read that somewhere). When an inquerry is sent to that credit bureaus, the software runs the numbers and spits out a score. This score can vary because many things. One main thing is even if you buy your score direct for Experian, Equifax or Transunion, you will get a consumer model and not the lender model. Example: model 98 we get from experian, but the lenders get model 04 (for 2004). Most auto apps have criteria that lenders can set. They can disregard certain things or focus more highly on others. This is one reason your "score" often varies, though mostly it's because we only get the model from before the current (at best). So your credit score is a calculation based on the data in your credit report. So when your credit is "pulled" and a score is requested, that score is calculated through the software, Beacon (software) for Equifax, FICO for Experian (not myFic0) and Empirica for Trans Union. Your credit report changes month to month, mostly by means of automated updates to your file from creditors who report to the bureaus. The differences reflected in that raw data causes changes in your score, but only when those calculations are performed in response to a request for a score.

Sorry for the long read, but if you're trying to better understand, then I'm trying to better help you do so. It pain me to think how long it took me to learn everything I just wrote. I hate how difficult it is to find facts in today's day and age especially. Facts are still facts even though they go ignored, but in this case, these facts cost me lots of money and tonos of grey hair. Hope I at least saved some of you the time and aggravation.

As mentioned long ago, I'll update this with a much shorter read when I have more Walmart specific information to share.

*Keep in mind, this is not a "forum" technically, so if you ask me a question I cannot reply  to you and must reply to my own post. Check back after a day or two and you should have a reply. Sadly Credit Karma doesn't tell you much on their "Recieve email Alerts".

Best of luck folks. Let's go into this new year more prepared I say.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 24, 2015
Got approved on recon 9/23
Rmfor700 Cardholder

I applied back on 7/27 and got the dreaded 7-10 days. Within 72 hours received a denial letter via email. Reapplied yesterday and received another 7-10 day response but called for a recon. First customer service rep flat out told me you're denied and we don't recon. I called a different number and spoke to a gentleman that asked me a few questions such as my name, address, and what credit limit I was looking for. He then transferred me to another lady who asked me the same questions however she did not ask me what credit limit I was requesting. 

She he asked me to provide my cell phone number so that I could receive a 4 digit security code. Phone call came right away and gave her the code. She approved me for $150.00

more ...
 

Reviews (310)

Add Review
Sep 25, 2016
NO CLI- 8 months later
tjpina1 Cardholder

I use this card alot. carry a balance, PAY ON TIME. Not sure why i can not obtain a little increase. I see everyone is getting cli at 3rd & 4th statement..

any advice??

more ...
Sep 25, 2016
No Cli.. 9 MONTHS LATER
tjpina1 Cardholder

Use this card alot, carry balance. On time payments.. I am baffled because everyone is getting increases at 3rd or 4th statement.. any advice?

more ...
Sep 24, 2016
this card is good if you shop at walmart
twostickmack Cardholder

so far I havent had problems,but there are a lot of bad reviews.

more ...
Sep 24, 2016
Paysontime2date Cardholder

Don't use it!!! I had autopay, which I cancelled last month due to changing banks. So instead, Walmart decided to take the payment from that account anyways even though I had a different bank I was using and had set up. Now I have a -$54 balance at my bank due to an overdraft charge from my former bank because these dolts don't know how to stop taking payments from a bank you told them not to use!

This month, I set up recurring payments with my new bank. So instead of taking the payment like I told them to, they don't take any payment at all and slap me with a late fee!!! I hate them!!! They screw you over bigtime!!!

more ...
Sep 21, 2016
Never Arrived
Starblazer223 Cardholder

I was approved the first of Sept. On Sept 9, 2016, my card was shipped. TO THE WRONG ADDRESS!!!!!! I GAVE THE CORRECT ADDRESS. I called several times and was told each time to give it more time! Now today, the acknowledge that it was mailed to the wrong address and told me it's a good thing it was never activated! Then the woman in the middle east somewhere tells to wait another 14 days for my new card to arrive! Wal-Mart talks big about American jobs, but their customer service dept doesn't even speak ENGLISH!!!!!

more ...
Sep 13, 2016
good card! got a cl of $900
trice310 Cardholder

I got a credit limit of $900 starting off and then without me applying they increased to $1600 a few months later. Great card so far, I hope they do not just close my account for no reason as previous posters mentioned. 

more ...
Sep 12, 2016
It's okay .
MarissaM94 Cardholder

It's kind of annoying. I have the WM Mastercard so i can use it anywhere i have only used it at walmart though. I have had it 4 months. My CS was 740 when i applied and i got a 1200 cl after 3 months they incresed it automatically to 1800 with up to 360 cash back. They do round your spending to the next dollar amount on your statement. But they do have good no interest deals will be using that for xmas. The customer service reps are very rude though. Also i hate that you can only submit one payment a day! Make sure you pay this sucker before your closing date each month!!!!!

more ...
Sep 08, 2016
I hate this card!
idramafree35 Cardholder

I was approved for this card around November, 2015 with a $500 CL.  I had a bankruptcy discharge in July of 2015.  I have NEVER missed a payment with these guys and I paid my entire balance in May.  Right after I paid my balance, they lowered my CL to $260.  When I called them to ask why, they said they did a random credit check and I had a bankruptcy and other CC that were near their limits.  I HAD THE SAME THING WHEN THEY APPROVED ME!!!  The CSR said that if my credit improved they would reconsider raising my limit back but they hurt my credit score by lowering my limit!!  Most recently, they charged me a late fee because I paid my bill on 9/7 and it was due on 9/6.  The money was teken out of my account but it still has not shown up on my Walmart account.  I HATE THIS CARD!  I am seriously thinking about closing this account.

more ...
Sep 01, 2016
Crap Service!!! Please Beware
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card with a 610 credit score and my limit was 400. Payments ALWAYS made on time. When I made a payment online THEIR system messed up and three days later I noticed that it said I had not paid my card. So I called customer service and they apologized and took my payment over the phone. Fast forward two months later and the same thing happened! I was mad and called customer service to be told that they closed my account and that I needed to wait at least 6 months to a year to try and reapply. My payments were always on time and it was their faulty system that kept them from receiving a payment two times! Mind you I had more than enough to pay my card. When they closed it, I paid it off in full same day and said to hell with your crappy company.

more ...
Aug 29, 2016
Very low limits, not much to offer.
SavingsMax Cardholder

The incentives they offered became less than what I got with my other credit cards, so I canceled the account. They also gave me only $500 for a limit. I cancelled my account within 6 months of getting it. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Walmart Credit Card