Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Walmart Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 26, 2013
More plastic to play with
Danbo777 Cardholder

Ok, not to play with, but it's just funny how excited I get at 43 and get approved for another card while I try and redeem myself. I'm a documentation nut so like my other two cards, I'll be updating this post (via reply) once a month or as more info comes in. A few notes to start with:

My myFico scores are: Experian= 599, Equifax= 643 & Transunion= 633.

CK score: 629 (Just dropped from 696, but I prefer myFico for accuracy, CK for all the cool tools and reviews).

Approved for $300.

I've read many people here state that the application process didn't do a hard inquiry, but from my research it leans more toward that it does (not 100% yet but will be next update). I see a few people referring to Walmart money card which is a totally different animal and is a prepaid. Again, I like love free information on public forums and these reviews, but will see for myself and report back as soon as I know.

The application worried me for a minute because after I submitted it and it said I was approved, the bottom right link said "Pay now". I read the fine print before hand and saw there was no annual fee or member fee, but it certainly had me questioning myself. I clicked the link and the application page reopened with half my information filled in, looking like it was expecting me to fill it out all over again. No idea what happened there, but I did not fill it out again.

This card gets five stars easily for the simple fact that it's the first of my now three (Capital One Secured & Credit One Visa - non secured) that actually gives you a temporary number right away. In fact they currently have a promotion going on that if you spend $75 on Walmart's site the same day you get approved, they will give you $25 off. Now before people run to try for it, I read the fine print on this as well. Only slightly negative thing is that they state the $25 will appear on your statement after your first or second billing cycle. So just don't expect it right away to come off the price. This is also going to end in a couple weeks. I imagine this sort of promotion happens often though. This is verbatim what it says:

"Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today (paid as a statement credit). Offer valid September 19, 2013 through January 31, 2014."

I did more research and found some posts on myFico that someone was actually complaining about how fast they reported the information to the credit bureaus. I'm still amazed they were upset. I think I know why but it's because people don't understand the all popular topic of credit utilization. He stated they reported to the credit bureaus after only 3 days from the time he got approved. Another thing I will update next time. If that were the case, and people did take on this promotion to spend at least $75 in order to get $25 back in a month or two, then that would certainly put someone over the comfortable threshold of spending below 30% of a $300 card. If you have questions after reading this next paragraph, either ask by replying, or for faster answers, see my profile and read my Capital One or Credit One posts.

People think credit utilization is a constant. That's just not how it is at all. I only speak facts here folks, but easily checked through a phone call to your bank (don't chat, they're horrible with info I think). The credit card companies normally inform the CRA's the day after your billing cycle closes (not your due date). Most banks that I've researched need at least the close of 2 billing cycles before they do their initial report, then it's every month after (but check with your bank as always). Now when the bank reports your data, they report account status in an "OK", "30 days late", "60 days late", "Charged off", etc,,, fashion. They report your total credit and the balance of your card as of the close of your billing cycle (again, not your due date). ALWAYS call your new credit card bank and ask them when they close your billing cycle. If you pay it in full every month, then this is the date you want to do that by. Due date is only how they formulate interest folks. The bigger thing that people don't seem to understand on these forums are the huge fact that each month the bank reports your data, that current credit utilization replaces the last reported. Does that lower your score? Sure, but only during that exact time frame and nothing more. People think they have a "Score", you don't have a set in stone score, but before I cover that, know that the importance of having a low credit utilization is if you are expecting inquerries. So say you're planning on getting a mortgage or car loan (any loan). Prior to that you would want to be sure your credit utilization is at the lowest you can get it (on average you'll read people state 30% or less). Other than those times, don't sweat it so much. Still do be dilligent in paying your balance to the lowest possible you can by your billing cycle close date, but every 30 days, that data is replaced with the next data reported to the agencies. In the future this will most likely change so always check dates on these posts and always check with your bank. It's you that you need to protect.

Credit Scores:

A credit score doesn't exist until a request is performed. Ever sign up for a credit report, such as from myFico? Ever notice after just a few hours it will once again prompt you to "Get you new score now!!!"? Well, the fact of the matter is that the 3 credit bureaus have different software (people overuse the term algorithm but you probably at least read that somewhere). When an inquerry is sent to that credit bureaus, the software runs the numbers and spits out a score. This score can vary because many things. One main thing is even if you buy your score direct for Experian, Equifax or Transunion, you will get a consumer model and not the lender model. Example: model 98 we get from experian, but the lenders get model 04 (for 2004). Most auto apps have criteria that lenders can set. They can disregard certain things or focus more highly on others. This is one reason your "score" often varies, though mostly it's because we only get the model from before the current (at best). So your credit score is a calculation based on the data in your credit report. So when your credit is "pulled" and a score is requested, that score is calculated through the software, Beacon (software) for Equifax, FICO for Experian (not myFic0) and Empirica for Trans Union. Your credit report changes month to month, mostly by means of automated updates to your file from creditors who report to the bureaus. The differences reflected in that raw data causes changes in your score, but only when those calculations are performed in response to a request for a score.

Sorry for the long read, but if you're trying to better understand, then I'm trying to better help you do so. It pain me to think how long it took me to learn everything I just wrote. I hate how difficult it is to find facts in today's day and age especially. Facts are still facts even though they go ignored, but in this case, these facts cost me lots of money and tonos of grey hair. Hope I at least saved some of you the time and aggravation.

As mentioned long ago, I'll update this with a much shorter read when I have more Walmart specific information to share.

*Keep in mind, this is not a "forum" technically, so if you ask me a question I cannot reply  to you and must reply to my own post. Check back after a day or two and you should have a reply. Sadly Credit Karma doesn't tell you much on their "Recieve email Alerts".

Best of luck folks. Let's go into this new year more prepared I say.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 24, 2015
Got approved on recon 9/23
Rmfor700 Cardholder

I applied back on 7/27 and got the dreaded 7-10 days. Within 72 hours received a denial letter via email. Reapplied yesterday and received another 7-10 day response but called for a recon. First customer service rep flat out told me you're denied and we don't recon. I called a different number and spoke to a gentleman that asked me a few questions such as my name, address, and what credit limit I was looking for. He then transferred me to another lady who asked me the same questions however she did not ask me what credit limit I was requesting. 

She he asked me to provide my cell phone number so that I could receive a 4 digit security code. Phone call came right away and gave her the code. She approved me for $150.00

more ...
 

Reviews (259)

Add Review
May 24, 2016
Got it with a 602!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

They pulled my TU report via Synchrony Bank. I don't know if it helped that I've had a Walmart money card for the last 4 years but they approved me for a $500 limit and let me start making purchases on their website via a temporary card number. I applied for the WM store card and not their MasterCard hoping that this would be easier to get approved for.  I already have a Visa and MC through CapOne so having the MC didn't matter a whole lot. Having another trade line is the only thing that I was really interested in. But now that I got it, I'll probably attempt to get the MC next month after my scores get updated. 

more ...
May 22, 2016
Synchrony Bank - Wally World
JeBe4 Cardholder

Wal-Mart - I was approved for $400 towards the end of November 2015 for both my BP and Wal-Mart store cards. I already had a Amazon Prime store  card from Jan 2015 when I bought my Blackberry Classic I was given a $1000 limit. Fast-forward, I was ready to reestablish my credit from the damage I did at 18 being young and dumb.; I opened up Capital One, Suntrust, etc. I want to get rid of the 1st Premier’s Verve Credit One’s of the world,  So I wanna say like 30-60 days later all three cards got an increase (my Amazon received a $200 increase over the summer auto, so in Nov 2015 I had $1200 Amazon, $400 BP and $400 Wal-Mart).

The time is now Jan/Feb 2016 (perhaps Dec 2015 not sure don’t feel like researching lol) they auto raised my limits, now I pay off my BP card every month, and carry balance on my Amazon and Wal-Mart. Limits were $1400 Amazon, $700 Wal-Mart, and $500 BP. - all done auto.  Fast forward to May 2016, I know they use soft pulls, and my Capital One received large increase, so I wanted to increase them all - I logged onto my  Amazon and Wal-Mart accounts and it denied me the computer increase -.I read if you chat or call you  may get different results.

SO I chat Amazon, she provided me a reference # to call in with, I requested $5k they gave  me $3500 (mind you I was just denied by the computer not even 4 hours earlier early Monday morning like 4am when I was up bored) - I thought cool! Well….I had to go to Wal-Mart then it dawned on me it is the same bank! As I sat in the parking lot on my blackberry Classic, I used the chat option they asked my income (pretty high/decent) I asked again for $5k, was approved for $3500 immediate use! Awesome! I finished my shopping, and my appointment, got home to my office balancing my receipts I got to my gas receipt and said what the heck so I log onto BP chat I ask for $5k, was given $2500 which is perfect, I pay the card off each month. SO Between Capital One, and Synchrony Bank my total available credit literally doubled across the board.

I am a bit nervous though, these limits are PERFECT for a single individual I doubt I will ever need a larger limit any time soon, however the higher limit WILL make me put more spend on the accounts since my utilization won’t be hit with lower limits. SO with the new increases I made a deferred interest purchase on my Amazon, and did some shopping at Wal-Mart - Now I will be paying off my balances in 4 weeks, I just hope because I pay off my balance they don’t lower my limit because I don’t always need to buy items which sucks because if you don’t use your card you potentially lose the credit line and after reading different people's experiences like with most things, it is going to vary, so I will not worry and use the cards as I see fit when I need to buy something hopefully they keep my lines open I am excited to be on the other side of the CREDIT GAME but I am no fool it is a GAME so I won’t ever take it personal, it’s just business. I don’t mind them making interest off of me I don’t buy what I can’t afford to pay off if I had to, but 0% APR with Capital One , Deferred interest options, why rush to pay it off in full if I can divide it out over 6 months o_0 so I WILL use Amazon, and Wal-Mart especially that 3% for online. My cash back with Capital one is awesome, but my 0% expires in Aug so I will pay off the balance and not carry a balance.

Sidenote, I have a Chase Freedom since 2010! My original limit was $1500 ( I did work for them at the time) I was relocating and the $1500 came in handy, I charged it up but paid it right back off in FULL!  Do you know they lowered my limit to $300! LMAO AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH mind you I don’t work for them, and won a legal case against them. Nonetheless, I have tried twice over the past 5+ years for an increase HARD INQ and they deny.

So, screw you JP Morgan. I have Cap 1’s, Suntrust, and Synchrony to meet my credit needs WELL exceed them! I won't be using Chase until my limit goes up. You can’t win for lose with credit though, you either spend too much or don’t spend enough, you owe or don't etc.  Oh yea with Chase I HAVE NEVER BEEN LATE!!! Literally, matter of fact  I have never been late or missed a payment on my credit cards in the last 5+ years! My credit was screwed when I was 18 in college you gave me a $1000 limit LOL ahhah of course I knew better but didn’t fully understand what credit was and had a BLAST shopping lol hahh but no you live and you learn and like I said I ALWAYS make at least my min payment on my cards, I know the game they play that is why i am closing some accounts with fee’s and _hitty limits. Anyways play the game don’t let

more ...
May 17, 2016
Horrible
Rondog526 Cardholder

FICO of 690 with a $1500.00 limit.  I had this card for maybe 6 months before they dropped my credit limit to my current balance of 130.00.  When I asked them why they dropped my limit Walmart said they check my credit worthiness every 3-6 months.  My credit score increased over the 6 months.  Paid it off today and closed it.  Never again.

more ...
May 14, 2016
Approved for $2,400 instantly
Dayi95 Cardholder

I've been working on my credit for almost 2 years now, and recently decided to reapply for the walmart credit card after being denied twice before last year. I am a frequent Walmart & SAMs club shopper. Therefore, being able to use the Walmart Mastercard at both of these locations is a huge plus for me. Today, I got the card in the mail (exactly 10 days after approval). It has a very bright orange color and really stands out next to my other 6 credit cards. So far, the only con I can speak on is the fact that Walmart doesn't have a mobile app for it's credit card to monitor transactions and payment due dates. You have to log in via the internet for that information and to access your FICO score. For clarification, I have a TU FICO score of 739 (based on Walmart, 748 on Discover), and for credit karma it states a TU score of 681, and EQ score of 712. Highly recommend a different card if your scores aren't too great and/or have high credit utilization. Shoutout to Capital One for being the first to approve me for credit so that I can start rebuilding though!

more ...
May 12, 2016
Great way to help rebuild credit

I've been rebuilding my credit for the last 2-3 years. I applied for a Walmart Charge Card online and was approved for $700 cl. I've always been an online Walmart shopper, but now that I have my new card, I cannot wait to make purchases with great discounts. My current FICO Scores EQ 628/Trans 644 (not Vantage score b/c lenders don't go by your vantage score and credit karma only markets the vantage score). I didn't think I would get approved, but did. Looking forward to better credit offers in the future, but for now, this one will help!

more ...
May 09, 2016
"""SLAMMED THE DOOR ON THEM""""
hweamel Cardholder

If you make small purchases on card and pay it off right away. Be prepared for credit line decrease and or closed. I read the fine print. Thats what i do and it does state that synchrony bank has the right to change or close the account at anytime. My walmart card was $1000.00 cl. And average per month 50.00 in charges and paid it off. WELL MY FRIENDS THEY HATE THAT. If you want this card and want to avoid closure let 10 to 30 bucks be the balance at your closing statement. Let them make a couple bucks. For me folks i dont let banks feel they can close a card for small purchases. So today i cancelled my card and requested to send me a letter that my account closed with a 0.00 balance. That is your RIGHT TO HAVE.

more ...
May 09, 2016
good to have in my wallet
forevertnt Cardholder

I applied once and received the card within two weeks in the mail. I applied online and was not approved immediately but actually found out through looking at my acct with credit karma that I was approved for a $1200.00 credit line!!  My FICO score is 679.. So in reading all of the different reviews here. I guess their rating system is all over the board. I shop Walmart all the time and this will come in handy

more ...
May 06, 2016
TERRIBLE
Anonymous Cardholder

This card sucks. Had it for 2 years and had a credit limit of $500 which I never even came close to using, got 2 letters the past year saying that they're lowering my credit availability. Never missed a payment. Didn't use the card for 2 months, got a letter today saying that they closed my account based on a credit evaluation that gets done every 3 to 6 months. My credit score is 655. Moral of the story: the Walmart credit card SUCKS, don't waste your time. 

more ...
May 05, 2016
Too many cons. stingy with CLI's
mlucky1570 Cardholder

The only good thing about this card (for me) is the free fico score every month. It comes with a high interest rate also offers 0% interest on large purchases, would like to use that feature if they would only give me increase. Asked for CLI several times and nothing, just received 4000 in CLI's total from my other cards and still stuck at a measly $150 I don't get it, maybe they WANT me to carry a balance every month or maybe they don't like me asking for cli's in any case I am done, heard they don't treat cardholders well anyway so heads up, wish I would have done more research before applying. Just brought my balance back down to zero not going to use it or waste anymore effort on them.  Also Walmart uses a soft pull on cli request for anyone that was wondering.

more ...
Apr 14, 2016
this card is worthless
mlucky1570 Cardholder

I was approoved last October with a low credit score of 600 and $150 starting limit low but Happy to have gotten approoved but now my score is 660 and still no CLI can't use this card it is worthless to me which such a low limit. 

more ...
Apr 17, 2016

I feel the same way I just got approved for a $200 limit and it only looks bad on your credit report. Other lenders may see this and start giving low limits. The sad part is that most of my cards have $4,000 limits. Oh and they gave me a Phillips 66 card with a $850.00 limit. They are so backwards!

 
Apr 17, 2016

Enter Your Reply

 
Apr 18, 2016

Same here. Approved with a 300 dollar CL and even though my credit score has increase, ever time I request an increase im always denied. Nothing additional on my report or anything. The same thing were approved with they claim that's the reason I'm denied the increase. This card was a total waste. I'm paying them the 65 that I owe them and I'm leaving it. It's not worth it.

 
Apr 24, 2016

I have asked for CLI several times and nothing, just received 4000 in CLI's total from my other cards and still stuck at a measly $150 I don't get it, maybe they WANT me to carry a balance every month or maybe they don't like me asking for cli's in any case I am done, not going to use it or waste anymore effort on them. Also Walmart uses a soft pull on cli request for anyone that was wondering.

 
May 11, 2016

In January approved for $200 today increased to $700 without me knowing.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

The Wal-Mart Credit Card is offered by GE Money Bank for Wal-Mart customers. Credit card benefits may include online account management and cash promotions for approved applications. Online account access includes credit card statements, payments, request for credit limit increases, and email and phone alerts.

Established in 1962 in Rogers, Arkansas, Wal-Mart is a discount retailer that currently serves fifteen countries worldwide.Known for its motto “save money. live better”, Wal-Mart is recognized by its bright blue warehouse-like buildings and it's white logo. Products span an array of household items, automotive, food, and more. With its popularity, Wal-Mart has also been scrutinized for its business practices. Consumers are concerned about Wal-Mart’s lack of benefits for its employees, hiring practices, and the circumstances of small businesses driven out by Wal-Mart competition.

Walmart Credit Card