Walmart Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.5 out of 5 stars
150 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 26, 2013
More plastic to play with
Danbo777 Cardholder

Ok, not to play with, but it's just funny how excited I get at 43 and get approved for another card while I try and redeem myself. I'm a documentation nut so like my other two cards, I'll be updating this post (via reply) once a month or as more info comes in. A few notes to start with:

My myFico scores are: Experian= 599, Equifax= 643 & Transunion= 633.

CK score: 629 (Just dropped from 696, but I prefer myFico for accuracy, CK for all the cool tools and reviews).

Approved for $300.

I've read many people here state that the application process didn't do a hard inquiry, but from my research it leans more toward that it does (not 100% yet but will be next update). I see a few people referring to Walmart money card which is a totally different animal and is a prepaid. Again, I like love free information on public forums and these reviews, but will see for myself and report back as soon as I know.

The application worried me for a minute because after I submitted it and it said I was approved, the bottom right link said "Pay now". I read the fine print before hand and saw there was no annual fee or member fee, but it certainly had me questioning myself. I clicked the link and the application page reopened with half my information filled in, looking like it was expecting me to fill it out all over again. No idea what happened there, but I did not fill it out again.

This card gets five stars easily for the simple fact that it's the first of my now three (Capital One Secured & Credit One Visa - non secured) that actually gives you a temporary number right away. In fact they currently have a promotion going on that if you spend $75 on Walmart's site the same day you get approved, they will give you $25 off. Now before people run to try for it, I read the fine print on this as well. Only slightly negative thing is that they state the $25 will appear on your statement after your first or second billing cycle. So just don't expect it right away to come off the price. This is also going to end in a couple weeks. I imagine this sort of promotion happens often though. This is verbatim what it says:

"Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today (paid as a statement credit). Offer valid September 19, 2013 through January 31, 2014."

I did more research and found some posts on myFico that someone was actually complaining about how fast they reported the information to the credit bureaus. I'm still amazed they were upset. I think I know why but it's because people don't understand the all popular topic of credit utilization. He stated they reported to the credit bureaus after only 3 days from the time he got approved. Another thing I will update next time. If that were the case, and people did take on this promotion to spend at least $75 in order to get $25 back in a month or two, then that would certainly put someone over the comfortable threshold of spending below 30% of a $300 card. If you have questions after reading this next paragraph, either ask by replying, or for faster answers, see my profile and read my Capital One or Credit One posts.

People think credit utilization is a constant. That's just not how it is at all. I only speak facts here folks, but easily checked through a phone call to your bank (don't chat, they're horrible with info I think). The credit card companies normally inform the CRA's the day after your billing cycle closes (not your due date). Most banks that I've researched need at least the close of 2 billing cycles before they do their initial report, then it's every month after (but check with your bank as always). Now when the bank reports your data, they report account status in an "OK", "30 days late", "60 days late", "Charged off", etc,,, fashion. They report your total credit and the balance of your card as of the close of your billing cycle (again, not your due date). ALWAYS call your new credit card bank and ask them when they close your billing cycle. If you pay it in full every month, then this is the date you want to do that by. Due date is only how they formulate interest folks. The bigger thing that people don't seem to understand on these forums are the huge fact that each month the bank reports your data, that current credit utilization replaces the last reported. Does that lower your score? Sure, but only during that exact time frame and nothing more. People think they have a "Score", you don't have a set in stone score, but before I cover that, know that the importance of having a low credit utilization is if you are expecting inquerries. So say you're planning on getting a mortgage or car loan (any loan). Prior to that you would want to be sure your credit utilization is at the lowest you can get it (on average you'll read people state 30% or less). Other than those times, don't sweat it so much. Still do be dilligent in paying your balance to the lowest possible you can by your billing cycle close date, but every 30 days, that data is replaced with the next data reported to the agencies. In the future this will most likely change so always check dates on these posts and always check with your bank. It's you that you need to protect.

Credit Scores:

A credit score doesn't exist until a request is performed. Ever sign up for a credit report, such as from myFico? Ever notice after just a few hours it will once again prompt you to "Get you new score now!!!"? Well, the fact of the matter is that the 3 credit bureaus have different software (people overuse the term algorithm but you probably at least read that somewhere). When an inquerry is sent to that credit bureaus, the software runs the numbers and spits out a score. This score can vary because many things. One main thing is even if you buy your score direct for Experian, Equifax or Transunion, you will get a consumer model and not the lender model. Example: model 98 we get from experian, but the lenders get model 04 (for 2004). Most auto apps have criteria that lenders can set. They can disregard certain things or focus more highly on others. This is one reason your "score" often varies, though mostly it's because we only get the model from before the current (at best). So your credit score is a calculation based on the data in your credit report. So when your credit is "pulled" and a score is requested, that score is calculated through the software, Beacon (software) for Equifax, FICO for Experian (not myFic0) and Empirica for Trans Union. Your credit report changes month to month, mostly by means of automated updates to your file from creditors who report to the bureaus. The differences reflected in that raw data causes changes in your score, but only when those calculations are performed in response to a request for a score.

Sorry for the long read, but if you're trying to better understand, then I'm trying to better help you do so. It pain me to think how long it took me to learn everything I just wrote. I hate how difficult it is to find facts in today's day and age especially. Facts are still facts even though they go ignored, but in this case, these facts cost me lots of money and tonos of grey hair. Hope I at least saved some of you the time and aggravation.

As mentioned long ago, I'll update this with a much shorter read when I have more Walmart specific information to share.

*Keep in mind, this is not a "forum" technically, so if you ask me a question I cannot reply  to you and must reply to my own post. Check back after a day or two and you should have a reply. Sadly Credit Karma doesn't tell you much on their "Recieve email Alerts".

Best of luck folks. Let's go into this new year more prepared I say.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 24, 2015
Got approved on recon 9/23
Rmfor700 Cardholder

I applied back on 7/27 and got the dreaded 7-10 days. Within 72 hours received a denial letter via email. Reapplied yesterday and received another 7-10 day response but called for a recon. First customer service rep flat out told me you're denied and we don't recon. I called a different number and spoke to a gentleman that asked me a few questions such as my name, address, and what credit limit I was looking for. He then transferred me to another lady who asked me the same questions however she did not ask me what credit limit I was requesting. 

She he asked me to provide my cell phone number so that I could receive a 4 digit security code. Phone call came right away and gave her the code. She approved me for $150.00

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 20, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

They decide to close your account even though you pay them on time and keep a low to zero balance. Totally regret having this card!!!

more ...
Jun 13, 2017
Horrible! lowered credit limit

DO NOT get the Walmart master card!! I repeat do not do it! my credit score is in the 700's, i got the card and used it only once. As soon as a made a large purchase on my Discover card i got a letter from Walmart saying they were reducing my credit limit! i called and they said due to changes on myc redit report. The only thing that has changed on my credit report is that i have gotten 3 more points also they are lying. i reported them to BBB and found that 1,000's of people have this exact same complaint about walmart lowering there credit limit if they used another one of their big named cards, When that many people have the same complaint and me going through the experience, i want to warn others. When they dropped my credit limit i lost 5 points on my credit and i care about my credit so i will Never shop there again. i cut that card into pieces and they never have to worry about me again. Go to credit karma if you need a master card they will suggest great ones, don't let Walmart get you. the already pay employees so poorly that most have to get Government Aid, now they are playing with peoples credit.

more ...
Jun 06, 2017
Horrible!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I had this card.  Initial limit approved for 500.00.  Then 6 months later I get a letter lowering it to 370.00 mind you I have paid the card on time every month.  I pay of the card last month.  when I go in to check the status they closed the account on me for no apparent reason.  According to them due to the activity on my credit report.  What kind of nonsense it this!!!  I don't recommend th card to anyone.  I will cause you more damage than harm....

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 20, 2017

Same thing here started with 300 then a year later asked for increase, again paid on time always, and more than balance due. Instead of increasing, they too off two hundred leaving me a hundred. Then checked today I owed nothing but they closed my account.

 
Jun 01, 2017
This card is is a bad credit card
Anonymous Cardholder

I would not recommend this card anybody I got my card I got a $500 credit every time I paid $200 on it they took away my credit I paid off the balance and they took away my credit again I had no balance and I had no available credit on this card

more ...
Jun 01, 2017
Thought i was great
Anonymous Cardholder

I used my card when I needed to, when I was short on cash. Came in handy. I persoanal liked the card. I would use it then when my statement came in i would pay it. Was alway good for me

more ...
Jun 01, 2017
STAY AWAY from Synchrony/Walmart CC!!!!!
Lorenae05 Cardholder

After having my Walmart CC for two years and finally paying off my total balance, I receive a letter in the mail stating my credit card limit has been decreased to $100.00! This card and bank is a complete joke. I will NEVER apply or give synchrony bank another dime of my money again! Old Navy ( which is syncrony) is the same way! Do yourselves a favor and stay away from this Card!....and anything else owned by synchrony.😡

more ...
May 29, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

best card ever

more ...
May 26, 2017
Confusing Card
shlbycindy Cardholder

I applied for this card and was given a credit limit of $300.00.  I used it for some work on my car at their automotive department and had a balance of $213.00 which I paid off  as soon as I got my statement.  This was about 2 weeks before the due date.  My payment posted 2 days later and when I checked my balance it said I had $27.00 left to spend.  I called Customer Service and was told it usually takes 4-5 days after your payment has posted before the funds are available.  I have two other credit cards,  a Capital One Mastercard and a Credit One Visa,  and neither one of these makes you wait a week before your funds are reflected on your card.  The statment online says I have a zero balance.  I doubt  that I'll use this card again.  Maybe for a small $10.00 purchase once a month just to keep it active but other than that it's staying at home from now on.   I'm in the process of rebuilding my credit and so far I've done very well.  I don't want a Walmart credit card to mess up the progress I've made. If you get this card make sure to check your spending balance online before you go to use it because you may be surprised to find out you have a lot less credit on the card than you expected.  The Customer Service employee was very nice and very easy to understand so I'm giving them a star for that.  Otherwise you're better off passing this one up.

more ...
May 25, 2017
Rip off and scams
Buildingmuscle Cardholder

I got this card with 300 $ used it a lot since I shop at Wal-Mart.com a lot. Pay it off in full then boooom they decreased my account to 100 $ without notice. Called them and no success. Any how this pos company is ridicules. I'm closing this card don't need 100 😂 not worth carrying it in my wallet

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

Walmart Credit Card