Walmart Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.7 out of 5 stars
152 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 26, 2013
More plastic to play with
Danbo777 Cardholder

Ok, not to play with, but it's just funny how excited I get at 43 and get approved for another card while I try and redeem myself. I'm a documentation nut so like my other two cards, I'll be updating this post (via reply) once a month or as more info comes in. A few notes to start with:

My myFico scores are: Experian= 599, Equifax= 643 & Transunion= 633.

CK score: 629 (Just dropped from 696, but I prefer myFico for accuracy, CK for all the cool tools and reviews).

Approved for $300.

I've read many people here state that the application process didn't do a hard inquiry, but from my research it leans more toward that it does (not 100% yet but will be next update). I see a few people referring to Walmart money card which is a totally different animal and is a prepaid. Again, I like love free information on public forums and these reviews, but will see for myself and report back as soon as I know.

The application worried me for a minute because after I submitted it and it said I was approved, the bottom right link said "Pay now". I read the fine print before hand and saw there was no annual fee or member fee, but it certainly had me questioning myself. I clicked the link and the application page reopened with half my information filled in, looking like it was expecting me to fill it out all over again. No idea what happened there, but I did not fill it out again.

This card gets five stars easily for the simple fact that it's the first of my now three (Capital One Secured & Credit One Visa - non secured) that actually gives you a temporary number right away. In fact they currently have a promotion going on that if you spend $75 on Walmart's site the same day you get approved, they will give you $25 off. Now before people run to try for it, I read the fine print on this as well. Only slightly negative thing is that they state the $25 will appear on your statement after your first or second billing cycle. So just don't expect it right away to come off the price. This is also going to end in a couple weeks. I imagine this sort of promotion happens often though. This is verbatim what it says:

"Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today (paid as a statement credit). Offer valid September 19, 2013 through January 31, 2014."

I did more research and found some posts on myFico that someone was actually complaining about how fast they reported the information to the credit bureaus. I'm still amazed they were upset. I think I know why but it's because people don't understand the all popular topic of credit utilization. He stated they reported to the credit bureaus after only 3 days from the time he got approved. Another thing I will update next time. If that were the case, and people did take on this promotion to spend at least $75 in order to get $25 back in a month or two, then that would certainly put someone over the comfortable threshold of spending below 30% of a $300 card. If you have questions after reading this next paragraph, either ask by replying, or for faster answers, see my profile and read my Capital One or Credit One posts.

People think credit utilization is a constant. That's just not how it is at all. I only speak facts here folks, but easily checked through a phone call to your bank (don't chat, they're horrible with info I think). The credit card companies normally inform the CRA's the day after your billing cycle closes (not your due date). Most banks that I've researched need at least the close of 2 billing cycles before they do their initial report, then it's every month after (but check with your bank as always). Now when the bank reports your data, they report account status in an "OK", "30 days late", "60 days late", "Charged off", etc,,, fashion. They report your total credit and the balance of your card as of the close of your billing cycle (again, not your due date). ALWAYS call your new credit card bank and ask them when they close your billing cycle. If you pay it in full every month, then this is the date you want to do that by. Due date is only how they formulate interest folks. The bigger thing that people don't seem to understand on these forums are the huge fact that each month the bank reports your data, that current credit utilization replaces the last reported. Does that lower your score? Sure, but only during that exact time frame and nothing more. People think they have a "Score", you don't have a set in stone score, but before I cover that, know that the importance of having a low credit utilization is if you are expecting inquerries. So say you're planning on getting a mortgage or car loan (any loan). Prior to that you would want to be sure your credit utilization is at the lowest you can get it (on average you'll read people state 30% or less). Other than those times, don't sweat it so much. Still do be dilligent in paying your balance to the lowest possible you can by your billing cycle close date, but every 30 days, that data is replaced with the next data reported to the agencies. In the future this will most likely change so always check dates on these posts and always check with your bank. It's you that you need to protect.

Credit Scores:

A credit score doesn't exist until a request is performed. Ever sign up for a credit report, such as from myFico? Ever notice after just a few hours it will once again prompt you to "Get you new score now!!!"? Well, the fact of the matter is that the 3 credit bureaus have different software (people overuse the term algorithm but you probably at least read that somewhere). When an inquerry is sent to that credit bureaus, the software runs the numbers and spits out a score. This score can vary because many things. One main thing is even if you buy your score direct for Experian, Equifax or Transunion, you will get a consumer model and not the lender model. Example: model 98 we get from experian, but the lenders get model 04 (for 2004). Most auto apps have criteria that lenders can set. They can disregard certain things or focus more highly on others. This is one reason your "score" often varies, though mostly it's because we only get the model from before the current (at best). So your credit score is a calculation based on the data in your credit report. So when your credit is "pulled" and a score is requested, that score is calculated through the software, Beacon (software) for Equifax, FICO for Experian (not myFic0) and Empirica for Trans Union. Your credit report changes month to month, mostly by means of automated updates to your file from creditors who report to the bureaus. The differences reflected in that raw data causes changes in your score, but only when those calculations are performed in response to a request for a score.

Sorry for the long read, but if you're trying to better understand, then I'm trying to better help you do so. It pain me to think how long it took me to learn everything I just wrote. I hate how difficult it is to find facts in today's day and age especially. Facts are still facts even though they go ignored, but in this case, these facts cost me lots of money and tonos of grey hair. Hope I at least saved some of you the time and aggravation.

As mentioned long ago, I'll update this with a much shorter read when I have more Walmart specific information to share.

*Keep in mind, this is not a "forum" technically, so if you ask me a question I cannot reply  to you and must reply to my own post. Check back after a day or two and you should have a reply. Sadly Credit Karma doesn't tell you much on their "Recieve email Alerts".

Best of luck folks. Let's go into this new year more prepared I say.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 24, 2015
Got approved on recon 9/23
Rmfor700 Cardholder

I applied back on 7/27 and got the dreaded 7-10 days. Within 72 hours received a denial letter via email. Reapplied yesterday and received another 7-10 day response but called for a recon. First customer service rep flat out told me you're denied and we don't recon. I called a different number and spoke to a gentleman that asked me a few questions such as my name, address, and what credit limit I was looking for. He then transferred me to another lady who asked me the same questions however she did not ask me what credit limit I was requesting. 

She he asked me to provide my cell phone number so that I could receive a 4 digit security code. Phone call came right away and gave her the code. She approved me for $150.00

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 20, 2017
Not for me!
momoftwoys Cardholder

I had this card for about a year- always paid off most of the card. Last month, I paid all but $45. Suddenly, my card limit has decreased by 80%- not great for my credit. Upon calling, reps informed me that "They had been Notified by credit burea of high credit card? I call my other cards, Capital One, Credit one, etc. to see if they also have a problem.. The other card companies wanted to give me MORE credit, saying I always am making my payments, and they have no problem.. Looked at my credit score to see a decrease of 20 points- after Walmart decreased line- not before. Prior to decrease, credit score was up on a high note.. I only have credit cards to build my credit, but mess with the wrong one, and well.. Time to start rebuilding... Don't think I will shop at Walmart for awhile, as I consider this behavior unethical, and decietful.... Hope this helps others!

more ...
Apr 20, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

They lowered my credit limit from 1800 to 380 without notifing me.  

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Closed acct without notice
Anonymous Cardholder

I had not used credit card in about 1yr, kept 0 balance and just checked my credit report to find out they've closed my account. When I called asking why they told me that I had failed using the credit card. Wow, I can't help at coincide how disrespectful, unprofessional, unproductive for Walmart. I'll be keeping my business at Target.

more ...
Apr 14, 2017
Good
Buildingmuscle Cardholder

I applied with a score of 580 and I was approved for 200$ immediately. It's a good card even tho it's much money but if u starting to rebuild ur credit it's a good on to ur history on your file

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 20, 2017

Buildingmuscle- Be aware if they decrease your credit line- even if you have excellent track record with them, your score will also decrease.. For me, it was about 22 points- and I was not carrying a high balance ever! I also believed it would help build my credit- but be wary of this card! Hope it turns out differently for you.

 
Apr 13, 2017
Terrible terrible terrible!
MelK10 Cardholder

I've had this card for about a year now. I always pay on time, usually way before my due date. I received a letter today saying that they lowered my credit limit.it due to information in my credit report. Except my credit is way better than it was when I originally applied. The representative refused to listen to what I was saying and kept repeating that the reason was in the letter. Looking back through my statements I find out that they were not applying my payments to my minimum monthly payment because I was paying a week or so early which was resulting in late payments. Even though most months I was making multiple payments. A bunch of scam artist trying to keep people in debt and owing them money. I'm going to pay this card off asap and close it.

more ...
Apr 13, 2017
Terrible customer service - rip off
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied without any problem. Got approved for $500.00. Payments always on time. Paid the entire card off except of $39. All of the sudden I see my credit score drop for 22 points on Credit Karma, because of a limit decrease of $400 from Synchrony Bank. I didn't receive an email, not a call, or anything. I called customer service. First of all, it was hard to understand this person and second of all he stated that they have sent me a letter ( 2 days AFTER the limit decrease), which he then tried to read to me in full. I did receive a letter eventually, but why in the world would you do that to your customers? Without any legitimate reasons? Big rip off and terrible customer service. Bound to a script and don't dare to ask questions they can't answer. Do yourself a favor and don't get a Walmart credit card.

more ...
Apr 10, 2017
worst card ever!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Others should know that they raise your limits almost instantly without you asking them..i kept the card for emergencies only..some times emergenciescame up and it was there, but at a very enormous price..ive paid everycard off i have ever had except this one..i once asked could they lower the interest to assist me like other cards ive had..there only response was no..i could go on but i will never retain another card from wallmart again ..its like being owened and forced to pay 4 times on things..

more ...
Apr 08, 2017
I do NOT recommend this card at all!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I do NOT recommend this card at all!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 11, 2017

Me either!!

 
Apr 07, 2017
Walmart Credit
NoahsLife Cardholder

I shop at Walmart daily and I have to say I love the card and having it setup on my iphone with Walmart pay is a very sweet setup, I see alot of hate about this card for some reason, I started with a $300 limit and now 10 month later my limit have been raised to $6000, the only problem I have had is they refuse to upgrade the standard blue card I have to a master card, just no way I would ever be able to use a $6000 limit at Walmart not even for black friday deals, but it do keep my credit utlization very low.

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
Useless Customer Service
Anonymous Cardholder

Refused to let me set my account pin and deactivated my account without my permission.

Terrible support.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Walmart Credit Card