Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
159 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 20.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 20.74%* Variable

Our Take

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® can help young consumers build credit and earn rewards.

What to Like

Cardholders earn 1% cash back on all purchases, plus a 25% bonus on earned cash back each month that the bill is paid on time. These rewards never expire, and there’s no annual or foreign transaction fees. Capital One® also provides email and text alerts and tools to help you learn about your credit.

Look Out For

Cash back is great! Just make sure to always stay within your budget when racking up those rewards. Based on your credit profile, you may also start off with a credit limit as low as $300, so it's important to watch your credit utilization.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 14, 2017
first credit card
HTXGreen Cardholder

this was my first time ever applying for a credit card, I had already had an auto loan through my credit union for 2 years. I got approved for the card in 12 hours, received my card and activated it within 10 business days. i received a 300$ limit to start so after a few months of only using it for gas and paying it off before the due date, my credit jumped from 650-680 !!!

after 5 months my score was a 695, i then opened another card with a $1000 limit and now have a 709 score and still going up monthly :)

i am always very frugal with utilizing credit, i don't get these cards to spend money, i only get them to build my credit score, lesson to all DONT SPEND MONEY YOU DONT HAVE. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 17, 2017
Odd Business Pratices
Anonymous Cardholder

I am actively trying to improve my credit, but it isn't terrible, so when I so that this might be an opportunity to work on it more I jumped at the chance by applying for this card. I was approved immediately for a fairly decent limit and kept a watchful eye on the hard inquiries, this went on within a day. A week later, I received my card and attempted to activate it, however it immediately gave me a message stated there was a fraud alert on the card. Well, turns out, I can't activate my card with out providing more verification & potentially getting addtitional inquiries (which Credit Karma even points out is possible, plus this has happened before). I'd rather step away from this card and wait until my score goes up another 50 to go for a more suitable and sustainable card.

What's really frustrating is when I asked why the alert, they stated they couldn't verify me, but they had no problem dinging my credit report.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 23, 2017
Best starter card for 18 year old
TyTheGuy83 Cardholder

I was an authorized user on my parent's credit card for 5 months prior to applying for my own first credit card after my 18th birthday. My income was low ($8K, high for a high school junior, but low for almost every card), but I did have a 5-month credit history and a stated Credit Karma score of around 730. However, both Discover and BankOfAmerica denied me for cards, showing that my Credit Score leached from my parent's proper usage didn't mean enough to them. I was at a tipping point; either I would get approved for my next unsecured credit card, or I would have to go the Secured route after 3 failed hard inquiries. I applied for the Journey card, and received my first instant approval on the screen! I was approved for $2000 limit surprisingly, given my low $8K income, but I think Capital One took into consideration my authorized user credit history.

After my 5th statement period closed (the 5th statement due posted to my account, and I had to wait until the due date later the next month, so 6 months wait), the CreditSteps program automatically upgraded my account to a $2500 (+$500) limit upon midnight of the due date, instantly and automatically. Rumor has it that many of these CreditStep cards have an approximate limit of $3K, but YMMV.

As a reference point, however, I had my 18 year old friend apply for this card as his first credit card, but his Credit Score was N/A, as he had zero credit, but he also had a $5000 income. Capital One actually denied him outright, sending him both a letter and an email copy of the letter (nice not to have to wait for the mail to find out the reason!) stating his credit score was N/A and he couldn't be approved.

So if possible, become an authorized user on anyone's (responsibly used) account, even if you do not get to hold the card in your hands ever, your odds for any card will increase!

However, I love this card, and as of my 11-month anniversary with the card, I have now product-changed this card with Capital One to the Quicksilver card (no credit impact to upgrade) to bump the rewards to 1.5%. I am forever grateful that 1) This was my first credit card before I even went to college (for school, I filled in my high school information, WHICH is something that Discover will NOT let you do with their locked suggestion fields mandating college information), 2) I had a high enough limit that I could actually make large-ticket purchases such as $1000 laptops (I always pay in full each month, it's just nice to receive rewards on the large items and not switch to a debit card), and 3) Their customer service is wonderful. Not as top-notch as Discover's, but I have never had Capital One fail me! I love the mobile app, one of the best I have used (better than Discover's by-far, especially since I now use credit cards/banking at both Discover (a student SECURED card) and Capital One(Journey upgraded to a QS)).

If you are looking for a 'name-brand' credit card to apply for, this is it! If denied for this card, you will probably have to apply for a secured card (recommend either Capital One or Discover! They will both graduate you to an unsecured card eventually and refund the deposit) or apply for a 'non-name-brand' credit card. But this is probably your best bet!

more ...
Apr 23, 2017
Great for building new credit
Anonymous Cardholder

Interest rate high but definitely a good card to help build up credit score. I got approved for $1000, got a $100 increase by month 3, month 5 I got another increase for $500. Now I have a total credit limit of $4600 in about 8 months. My credit score to start was 626.

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
Love Capital One
dreamersloop Cardholder

I started with the Capital One Platinum card. I was  approved with a credit score of 511 and a $300 limit. After six month of keeping my utilization below 10% and making my payments early and above the minimum payment they increased my limit to $2,300.00 (I did not request the increase). This is a very basic card with no rewards but it was great for someone starting to rebuild their credit.

After six months I applied and was approved for this card, the Capital One Journey student card. I was approved with a credit score of 630 and given a $500 limit. Followed the same utilization and payment as the first card and they increased my limit to $750. This card is even better because it offers cash back rewards that I use to apply towards my payment.

I have had on instance where I had to make a fraud claim and it went so smoothly. They credited the money to my card the same day.

I have always had excellent customer service. I will always be a Capital One customer! 

more ...
Apr 20, 2017
Amazing
Thaacheese Cardholder

This is the best non-secure starter credit card. I am in my early 20's and I was freaking out before I applied for this card because I knew I needed to build my credit but no one would approve me because I had no established credit. It was like applying for your first job all over again because places wanted people with some experience but how can you get experience if no one would hire you? This card gave me my start. They approved me when no one else would and now my cs is sitting above 700. Definitely if you're looking to build up your credit this is the card for you.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 21, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Apr 17, 2017
Love Capital cards
Anonymous Cardholder

The only credit cards I have are capital one cards and have become a great help to building me credit. Score was 540-594 and I was approved for $300 initial limit. 

more ...
Apr 16, 2017
Nice little card with potential
Anonymous Cardholder

I was trying t build my credit after bankruptcy from yrs age. So I decided to start building my credit back up. I started with a Kohls card, then this Journey card. I have only had this card 4 months. I have had small increases since. But this card opened other doors for me. Other banks was also wanting my business such as Chase and Citibank. So I am thankful for the small things, because being patient, those small things can turm into bigger things. I also recommend this card for starters because the interest rate is lower and you get cash back. 

more ...
Apr 06, 2017
Wonderful
tigerlady3558 Cardholder

If you want to rebuild your credit you have to get this card.  It's easy to apply for and if your credit is fair, you'll be approved.  

Thanks Capital One

more ...
Apr 05, 2017
Great for building credit!
FutureFNP Cardholder

Awesome card! Have a score in the mid 600s and I was approved for 1,000 instantly. Now I have a card that I can use for books and tuition!

more ...
Apr 05, 2017
Instantly approved, slow to increase CL
ErtBert1 Cardholder

I applied for and recieved this card in April 2016 with a $300 CL. I was bumped up to $500 (wo hoo -_- ) 6 months later. Haven't had any more increases, despite building my credit.

more ...
Apr 10, 2017

Capitol one usually only gives you a 1 time credit increase on these cards.

 
Apr 13, 2017

There is a link on your account website to request an increase that won't dig your credit.

 
Apr 05, 2017
Love Capital One!
Anonymous Cardholder

Perfect for building credit!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 12,882
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

159 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i