Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
58 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 26.98%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 26.98%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 21, 2018
Great Starter Card!
PupusasConCurtido Cardholder

I’ve had this card for less than a year. My inital score was about 560 with a previous collection on my account that I had paid off just a month prior. With that, I was approved for with a $1000 credit line.  I only used it for groceries and bills only, which was perfect! I paid my bills a week or two before it was actually due so that there was no risk of getting charged interest. Then by the 5th month of on-time payments, they raised my minimum to $4000. Even though I only use about $300 on my card, it’s been helpful to lower my usage percentage and thus increase my credit score pretty significantly. By the 3rd month, my score increased well enough to get another CC (Alaska Airlines) which is used as my primary and Journey as a secondary. Now my score is in the 730s after just after 3 months w Journey and 4 months with the Journey and Alaska CC combined. 

Journey made it possible for me as someone who started with a low credit score. I’m pretty happy with the progress I’ve made.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 09, 2019
Great for new credits, low limit.
Lduong01 Cardholder

Credit limits starts off low. Good for building credit. APR and fees are unpredictable and I hated those! After 6 months of always paying on time, credit limit increased by $200. Cash back are great especially if you’re a student, like me, who uses it to get around school.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 18, 2019
Pretty low Credit Limit
cripple2 Cardholder

Way too low a Ctedit Limit. I have ZERO missed payments EVER on a CC. I got a ridiculously low 2,000 limit. Not much buying power. I have had the card over 18 mo and thye hae not given me ONE increase in Credit limit. SO I asked for an increase on their web site-and they relied "Sorry you have not USED your card enough to warrant an increase" Really? Why am i USING it with a really low Credit limit--Cant buy CAR, cant even REPAIR my car with 2,000 limit. Just too much WORK to get a higher credit limit compared to OTHER cards out there. And they process Payments VERY BERY SLOWLY up to 12 days for a check to Clear.

more ...
Apr 21, 2019

You're mad because they didn't increase your credit limit when you showed them no proof that they should do so because you didn't use the card at all? I'm not sure if this is an entitlement issue, but as you can see, everyone who USED the card was offered a limit increase and didn't have to seek out the increase themselves.

 
Apr 21, 2019

Also, and this is a serious question, what kind of damages is your car taking that it can't be repaired with $2000?

 
Apr 04, 2019
Great Starter!
CFlore12 Cardholder

Capital One by far has one of the best customer service experiences. I now have two cards through them. My credit score when I applied for this card was about a 650. My starting credit line was at $1,000 and I made 5 consecutive payments and my credit line was bumped up to $1,500. 

more ...
Apr 02, 2019
Helps students build credit
Kirbyd1 Cardholder

I got this card when I started college with a $300 limit and am wrapping up my senior year now with a $1800 credit limit which is nice given that I've been living on student loans without other income. Great way to buld credit for students.

more ...
Mar 30, 2019
It gets a low entry score up quick!
aman13381 Cardholder

Approved for 500. Rose to 8000 after 2 months with a 709 score after 2 months. 

more ...
Apr 01, 2019

risen from 500 to 8000, in 2 months with Csp1, Yeah rite..you are lying

 
Apr 02, 2019

April fools joke

 
Mar 27, 2019
Easy to use, easy to pay off
Krystalstar96 Cardholder

You get an additional .25 cash back at the end of the billing cycle ! It’s a great card to have. No issues so far !

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 02, 2019

Did applying for this card effect your credit score much?

 
Mar 15, 2019
BootsForTheWin Cardholder

Don’t waste your time with this company. I was approved for this card back in 2012.

Four years ago, a boyfriend had somehow been added to my card because capital one pulled up my account with our address. Once finishing out his card was canceled. Fast forward to last summer and that same guy, now an ex, somehow was able to use that canceled card and ran up a $500 bill.

Found out about it and called Capital One to report the fraud and they canceled BOTH my credit card accounts and left me with the bill.  Destroyed my credit and let some ******* off the hook with my  pocket.

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS COMPANY.

more ...
Mar 09, 2019
Great for new credits, low limit.
Lduong01 Cardholder

Credit limits starts off low. Good for building credit. APR and fees are unpredictable and I hated those! After 6 months of always paying on time, credit limit increased by $200. Cash back are great especially if you’re a student, like me, who uses it to get around school.

more ...
Mar 05, 2019
Good card for credit beginning
Barbeegirl1989 Cardholder

I like this card the cash reward is not working properly I assume i claim my reward but never truely get it. But this card is good for building credit

more ...
Mar 02, 2019
Approved w/defaulted student loans
krisiteenie56 Cardholder

My credit was in the low 600's when i was approved for this card. Young dumb me took on more than I could handle in student loans in college so it chased me around for years, killing any chance at ever getting credit. Then this card came along! I was approved for $300 line, even with the defaulted loans. After making payments on time monthly, my limit was increased over time. With this card and paying off the loans, my score was able to climb very fast. Thank you for taking the chance on me to establish my credit as an older, wiser adult!

more ...
Feb 28, 2019
The point is in the name....Journey.
801TROGDOR Cardholder

I ruined my credit--like many of us here, by being young and stupid. Got a credit card as a freshman in college, bought a snowboard, didn't pay it off, sent to collections, card closed...all that jazz. I got my score all the way down to 495. 495!

I started rebuilding my credit in Feb. 2017. So as of this post we're at just alittle over 2 years. Capital One approved me when no one else would. They gave me a $500 starting limit and I made SURE to pay off the balance every month. I became obsessive about it, paying off a few days before the statement closed. Not long after I applied for the Capital One Platinum card, purely in an attempt to double my credit line. Capital One granted me gradual CLIs, and after about 6 months, I found a link that would upgrade my Journey to the Quicksilver, bumping my rewards rate by .25%.

Then the offers started to come in. May 2017, Citi sent me a pre-approval offer in the mail, the Citi Double Cash. They offered me a reduced intro promo of something like 8 months of 0% as opposed to 18 months, but I was simply excited to receive the pre-approval for this mid-tier card. Having a flat rate 2% felt like luxury! My CL was only at $700 at the time, so it really felt like Citi saw me as risk, but also acknowledged that I had completely done a 180 degree as far as being responsible cardholder and were betting a chance. 

Now in 2018, I had multiple small CLIs and my total CL was around $2500. In May 2018, I was pre-approved for the Discover IT, $500 CL. I thought having the 5% rotating categories in combination with my Citi DC would be a great duo, as well as the excitement of an actual intro promo of matching all cashback made after the 1st year. At this point, I felt set. More paying on time, more small CLIs and by the end of 2018 I was at a total CL of  $5900.

Fast forward to TWO DAYS AGO...Chase sends me a PreQual for the Chase Sapphire Preffered! I was pretty afraid of it, having applied for the Chase Freedom Unlimited and being denied at some point last year. My end game was always the Chase Sapphire and wanted to start building points so that, when the day came that I got the CSP, I could transfer my points over for travel. 

My CSP SL? $8200! Way more than my total CL before. Minor note, I have banked with Chase for a long time, and have had an auto loan with them since last summer...I'm sure that played a role as my scores are around 670 accross the board now.  

TL;DR: Even though I don't use my Capital One credit cards now, I will forever recommend them to people starting out or on repair. It's because of Capital One and Credit Karma as well as my being responsible, that I am where I'm at today. My scores are still on the repair, but having a solid 2 year streak now is why I think Chase took a chance on me. 

Thanks Capital One and Credit Karma! It has been quite the Journey indeed. 

more ...
Mar 12, 2019

Love your story I'm chasing 750

 
Mar 22, 2019

I hava question. I have credit karma do you suggest when i get a pre approved in the mail i sign up to improved my credit line? I was a 440 but have been repairing and rebuilding my credit. Im now a 624.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 12,882
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

58 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i