Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
154 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 20.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 20.74%* Variable

Our Take

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® can help young consumers build credit and earn rewards.

What to Like

Cardholders earn 1% cash back on all purchases, plus a 25% bonus on earned cash back each month that the bill is paid on time. These rewards never expire, and there’s no annual or foreign transaction fees. Capital One® also provides email and text alerts and tools to help you learn about your credit.

Look Out For

Cash back is great! Just make sure to always stay within your budget when racking up those rewards. Based on your credit profile, you may also start off with a credit limit as low as $300, so it's important to watch your credit utilization.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 14, 2017
first credit card
HTXGreen Cardholder

this was my first time ever applying for a credit card, I had already had an auto loan through my credit union for 2 years. I got approved for the card in 12 hours, received my card and activated it within 10 business days. i received a 300$ limit to start so after a few months of only using it for gas and paying it off before the due date, my credit jumped from 650-680 !!!

after 5 months my score was a 695, i then opened another card with a $1000 limit and now have a 709 score and still going up monthly :)

i am always very frugal with utilizing credit, i don't get these cards to spend money, i only get them to build my credit score, lesson to all DONT SPEND MONEY YOU DONT HAVE. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 17, 2017
Odd Business Pratices
Anonymous Cardholder

I am actively trying to improve my credit, but it isn't terrible, so when I so that this might be an opportunity to work on it more I jumped at the chance by applying for this card. I was approved immediately for a fairly decent limit and kept a watchful eye on the hard inquiries, this went on within a day. A week later, I received my card and attempted to activate it, however it immediately gave me a message stated there was a fraud alert on the card. Well, turns out, I can't activate my card with out providing more verification & potentially getting addtitional inquiries (which Credit Karma even points out is possible, plus this has happened before). I'd rather step away from this card and wait until my score goes up another 50 to go for a more suitable and sustainable card.

What's really frustrating is when I asked why the alert, they stated they couldn't verify me, but they had no problem dinging my credit report.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 15, 2017
Awesome
Lee714 Cardholder

I had a poor approval on ck with a 622 fico cap one used to approve me. 2 judgements totaling $5,000+. But excellent payment history, exactly 1 year credit history. I say that to say this, don't be discouraged keep building whether small or big. You eventually get the card you work for. SB: cash back is great!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 20, 2017

what was your approval credit limit on the card ?

 
May 13, 2017
Great card.
a105 Cardholder

verry good card, well worth it.

more ...
May 12, 2017
Outstanding
clash216 Cardholder

had a 653 credit rating and I apply. So far, it's been great.

more ...
May 07, 2017
Amazing card!
InOhio75 Cardholder

I suggest anyone starting out with a credit card, this card! How I honestly got approved was first applying for a Kohls card, then the Journey card. Capital One does the financing for Kohls. So give it a try and apply. Customer service is amazing and they want to keep your business and make you happy happy!

more ...
May 06, 2017
Great
ModCredBldr Cardholder

I use this card more like a charge card where I basically spend what I can pay off every month. The interest rate is pretty high and not great to carry a balance with, but you do get a decent cash back option, so overall not too shabby.

more ...
May 05, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

This is an excellent card if you are just starting out or rebuilding your credit. I made a lot of mistakes with credit cards when I was younger and I've been actively trying to improve my credit for a few years. Unfortunately I had to start out with a 21% interest auto loan (eek! Never again!), but the credit score increase from making payments on time was sufficient enough for me to consider applying for lines of credit to further increase my score. I initially got approved for $1000. After 3 months of on-time full balance payments, I was given a credit line increase of $3000 (which I did not request, but was happy with!). Capital One's website and app are very straightforward and easy to use. Additionally, I was able to get my money back quickly after an online payment website gave me an error yet still charged my card. While the cash back rewards are not as good as some other credit cards, I think they are adequate for someone who is just starting out, and they are definitely useful (I personally use them to lower my balance - it's not a lot, but it helps).

more ...
May 04, 2017
Solid Card
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied w/ $18,000 income and 720 credit score- $2,000 limit.

more ...
May 04, 2017
helps to build credit
rebecca28 Cardholder

This credit card  has  helped me to  build my  credit in just 3  months  my credit  score  has  gone up of  course I keep the card paid  down after ususage 

more ...
May 03, 2017
BEST CARD EVER!!!!
didi323 Cardholder

I decided to start building my credit again and credit karma suggested this card to me. I have to say the entire process was easy, there are no hidden fees. You get exactly what they advertise. If you get this card, make sure to also download their app. It's a quick and easy way to keep track of your spending. Customer service is great and always willing to answer any questions or concerns. Highly recommend to anyone looking for some extra cash to work with or simply just to build their credit +++++++

more ...
May 02, 2017
Horribly painful approval
Anonymous Cardholder

This is the worst experience I've had with a credit card company. First, they claim instant notification to let you know if you're approved. It took 8 days to let me know I was approved. Second, their website is not working to sign-up for an account and activate the card. The link is broken. Third, I called in to activate card and the automated voice said there was already a fraud alert on my account. How is that possible? The card isn't active. Fourth, I was actually connected to an operator who told me they need a copy of my ID and it would be an additional 24 - 48 hours. Sent in a photo of my DL. Fifth, (24 hours later) I just got a call back saying they need a copy of the front AND back of my DL. WHY DIDN'T YOU TELL ME THAT YESTERDAY!?!? Sent in photos of front AND back of my DL. Was told it will be another 24 - 48 hours. This is absolutely ridiculous!!! Definitely will tell anyone and everyone not to apply for this card!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 12,882
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

154 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i