Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.2 out of 5 stars
58 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 26.48%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 26.48%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 21, 2018
Great Starter Card!
PupusasConCurtido Cardholder

I’ve had this card for less than a year. My inital score was about 560 with a previous collection on my account that I had paid off just a month prior. With that, I was approved for with a $1000 credit line.  I only used it for groceries and bills only, which was perfect! I paid my bills a week or two before it was actually due so that there was no risk of getting charged interest. Then by the 5th month of on-time payments, they raised my minimum to $4000. Even though I only use about $300 on my card, it’s been helpful to lower my usage percentage and thus increase my credit score pretty significantly. By the 3rd month, my score increased well enough to get another CC (Alaska Airlines) which is used as my primary and Journey as a secondary. Now my score is in the 730s after just after 3 months w Journey and 4 months with the Journey and Alaska CC combined. 

Journey made it possible for me as someone who started with a low credit score. I’m pretty happy with the progress I’ve made.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 16, 2018
It's okay for just starting out
Anonymous Cardholder

I am a student trying to establish a credit history.  When I received some money, I paid off my bill where is says, "minimum amount due, full amount, or other."  I chose to pay the full amount.  Little did I know that the next statement would have an interest charge.  I received an email about my card that I still owed.  I thought, "it must be a mistake."  I received a late fee of $2.00 for $.07 plus the interest from the previous statement.  So when you choose the option to pay entire amount, make sure it really is the entire amount.  Lesson learned.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 30, 2018
Good for expanding credit profile
Momofmastiff Cardholder

Applied for this card as a second credit card. I love my other Capital One card so I just stuck with them for my second. No annual fee is good, rewards are decent and you can see then build in a quick view form with their app. Easy to make payments and manage multiple cards from app. Eligable for a limit increase after 5 successful, on time payments. Approved for a 300$ limit right away with a minimum credit history and credit score in upper 500s. Unsecured and reports to all 3 major credit bureaus.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 02, 2018

I’m trying to get this as my secondary card as well. Did you credit score go down by a lot when you applied for this card?

 
Nov 25, 2018
Nice and good
BobbyBobberson Cardholder

Capital one's customer service is awesome. They are quick, effective, and courteous, and it's been like that every time I've had to call them for the past three years. The only downside to any rewards card is that - if you're anything like me - it means that you spend more money and justify it with "Well, I'm getting cash back." One percent is not as much as you think, but I still appreciate it, and if you're making consistant timely payments, Capital one regularly reports to the Credit bureas, and honestly it's just so great.

more ...
Nov 21, 2018
Great Starter Card!

I’ve had this card for less than a year. My inital score was about 560 with a previous collection on my account that I had paid off just a month prior. With that, I was approved for with a $1000 credit line.  I only used it for groceries and bills only, which was perfect! I paid my bills a week or two before it was actually due so that there was no risk of getting charged interest. Then by the 5th month of on-time payments, they raised my minimum to $4000. Even though I only use about $300 on my card, it’s been helpful to lower my usage percentage and thus increase my credit score pretty significantly. By the 3rd month, my score increased well enough to get another CC (Alaska Airlines) which is used as my primary and Journey as a secondary. Now my score is in the 730s after just after 3 months w Journey and 4 months with the Journey and Alaska CC combined. 

Journey made it possible for me as someone who started with a low credit score. I’m pretty happy with the progress I’ve made.

more ...
Nov 30, 2018

How much credit history did you have when you first applied?

 
Dec 07, 2018

Wow that is great

 
Nov 15, 2018
WONDERFUL CREDIT CARD
alexhrco Cardholder

Highly recommend this card, customer service is outstanding, no annual fees and cash Rewards?! I definitely recommend Capital One credit card.

more ...
Nov 11, 2018
Bad credit but I my app was accepted !!!
DockAl Cardholder

High APR, but for someone with bad credit and starting to rebuild it... worked for me

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 21, 2018

What was your credit scor when you applied

 
Oct 28, 2018
Great Beginner Card
Liam16 Cardholder

Have had this card for a few years now. Oddly enough, was not a student when approved for this card. It is my oldest card and have never got a CL increase past the $500 it was originally approved for back in the spring of 2015. Since it carries no annual fee, I will continue to keep it open. It has a had a 0 balance since the spring but I do plan on using it for a small purchase soon to keep activity showing. 

The only thing that can be worked on is the customer service that Capital One has when you call to speak to someone. 

more ...
Oct 19, 2018
Here is what I wrote to Capital One,
CarlyNine Cardholder

I'm sorry, but your auto pay is awful. I'm in my late 20s and not a granny who doesn't know how to use an app. Couple months back I accidentally deleted my recurring auto pay instead of my one time auto pay. I think it would do you well to make things a bit clearer. I called in and you were able to remove the late fee and fix my auto pay, I was told it would be as though this never happened.
A couple months later - unbeknownst to me, my interest was raised? No notification of that so who really knows.
In turn this raised my minimum payment from $25 to $60??
Again, no notification. My auto pay was set for $50, double my regular minimum payment, same way it has been for the last year. Well, since my minimum payment was raised about what my auto pay was set at, I didn't pay in full and received another late fee.
I had to hang up on the first rep I spoke with, her low English fluency and rudeness made any conversation difficult. Was able to reach a supervisor who was kind and helpful, but stated the system would not allow her to waive my fee.

I feel as though Capital One has done me wrong here. I have been a pretty good customer for around two years now, yet due to some abnormal circumstances I will now have to pay extra on my balance? You are not my only account, and I will be happily transferring my balance elsewhere.

more ...
Oct 22, 2018

Take some responsibility. You claim your not a “granny” yet you deleted it yourself! You are accountable for your own actions, this is why I can’t stand reviews. Someone screws up themselves then writes a crap review about a company that lives up to everything on their end. Only because the didn’t bend over backwards for YOUR screw up!

 
Dec 16, 2018

I concur

 
Oct 15, 2018
Great for rebuilding credit history.
JD265 Cardholder

Gives you a fresh start at rebuilding your credit.

more ...
Oct 15, 2018
Great for rebuilding credit.
JD265 Cardholder

It gives a fresh start and second chance at building or rebuilding your credit history.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 12,882
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

58 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i