Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
55 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 26.98%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 26.98%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 21, 2018
Great Starter Card!
PupusasConCurtido Cardholder

I’ve had this card for less than a year. My inital score was about 560 with a previous collection on my account that I had paid off just a month prior. With that, I was approved for with a $1000 credit line.  I only used it for groceries and bills only, which was perfect! I paid my bills a week or two before it was actually due so that there was no risk of getting charged interest. Then by the 5th month of on-time payments, they raised my minimum to $4000. Even though I only use about $300 on my card, it’s been helpful to lower my usage percentage and thus increase my credit score pretty significantly. By the 3rd month, my score increased well enough to get another CC (Alaska Airlines) which is used as my primary and Journey as a secondary. Now my score is in the 730s after just after 3 months w Journey and 4 months with the Journey and Alaska CC combined. 

Journey made it possible for me as someone who started with a low credit score. I’m pretty happy with the progress I’ve made.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 28, 2018
Horrible Customer Service & Sneaky
Carole19 Cardholder

One of my cards was "permanently restricted" for a returned payment which I immediately took care of afterwards. They kept the rewards I had earned over two and a half years which was around $450. I would ask questions and would get scripted replies that did not answer my questions. I was not explained how they determined to make a decision without informing me. I realized what was going on until my card got declined when I was making a purchase. A heads up would of been appreciated.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 15, 2019
BootsForTheWin Cardholder

Don’t waste your time with this company. I was approved for this card back in 2012.

Four years ago, a boyfriend had somehow been added to my card because capital one pulled up my account with our address. Once finishing out his card was canceled. Fast forward to last summer and that same guy, now an ex, somehow was able to use that canceled card and ran up a $500 bill.

Found out about it and called Capital One to report the fraud and they canceled BOTH my credit card accounts and left me with the bill.  Destroyed my credit and let some ******* off the hook with my  pocket.

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS COMPANY.

more ...
Mar 09, 2019
Great for new credits, low limit.
Lduong01 Cardholder

Credit limits starts off low. Good for building credit. APR and fees are unpredictable and I hated those! After 6 months of always paying on time, credit limit increased by $200. Cash back are great especially if you’re a student, like me, who uses it to get around school.

more ...
Mar 05, 2019
Good card for credit beginning
Barbeegirl1989 Cardholder

I like this card the cash reward is not working properly I assume i claim my reward but never truely get it. But this card is good for building credit

more ...
Mar 02, 2019
Approved w/defaulted student loans
krisiteenie56 Cardholder

My credit was in the low 600's when i was approved for this card. Young dumb me took on more than I could handle in student loans in college so it chased me around for years, killing any chance at ever getting credit. Then this card came along! I was approved for $300 line, even with the defaulted loans. After making payments on time monthly, my limit was increased over time. With this card and paying off the loans, my score was able to climb very fast. Thank you for taking the chance on me to establish my credit as an older, wiser adult!

more ...
Feb 28, 2019
The point is in the name....Journey.
801TROGDOR Cardholder

I ruined my credit--like many of us here, by being young and stupid. Got a credit card as a freshman in college, bought a snowboard, didn't pay it off, sent to collections, card closed...all that jazz. I got my score all the way down to 495. 495!

I started rebuilding my credit in Feb. 2017. So as of this post we're at just alittle over 2 years. Capital One approved me when no one else would. They gave me a $500 starting limit and I made SURE to pay off the balance every month. I became obsessive about it, paying off a few days before the statement closed. Not long after I applied for the Capital One Platinum card, purely in an attempt to double my credit line. Capital One granted me gradual CLIs, and after about 6 months, I found a link that would upgrade my Journey to the Quicksilver, bumping my rewards rate by .25%.

Then the offers started to come in. May 2017, Citi sent me a pre-approval offer in the mail, the Citi Double Cash. They offered me a reduced intro promo of something like 8 months of 0% as opposed to 18 months, but I was simply excited to receive the pre-approval for this mid-tier card. Having a flat rate 2% felt like luxury! My CL was only at $700 at the time, so it really felt like Citi saw me as risk, but also acknowledged that I had completely done a 180 degree as far as being responsible cardholder and were betting a chance. 

Now in 2018, I had multiple small CLIs and my total CL was around $2500. In May 2018, I was pre-approved for the Discover IT, $500 CL. I thought having the 5% rotating categories in combination with my Citi DC would be a great duo, as well as the excitement of an actual intro promo of matching all cashback made after the 1st year. At this point, I felt set. More paying on time, more small CLIs and by the end of 2018 I was at a total CL of  $5900.

Fast forward to TWO DAYS AGO...Chase sends me a PreQual for the Chase Sapphire Preffered! I was pretty afraid of it, having applied for the Chase Freedom Unlimited and being denied at some point last year. My end game was always the Chase Sapphire and wanted to start building points so that, when the day came that I got the CSP, I could transfer my points over for travel. 

My CSP SL? $8200! Way more than my total CL before. Minor note, I have banked with Chase for a long time, and have had an auto loan with them since last summer...I'm sure that played a role as my scores are around 670 accross the board now.  

TL;DR: Even though I don't use my Capital One credit cards now, I will forever recommend them to people starting out or on repair. It's because of Capital One and Credit Karma as well as my being responsible, that I am where I'm at today. My scores are still on the repair, but having a solid 2 year streak now is why I think Chase took a chance on me. 

Thanks Capital One and Credit Karma! It has been quite the Journey indeed. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 12, 2019

Love your story I'm chasing 750

 
Feb 24, 2019
Good starter card
CreditGuru527 Cardholder

In order for any credit card to increase your limits you have to improve in other areas of your credit usage. The purpose of card is to help you improve not stay the same. Lower your other liabilities and the increases will come.

more ...
Feb 19, 2019
Eh

I got this card 2 years ago and came across some hardship and missed a payment that I’m still waiting to drop from my credit report. It’s still my fault for missing the payment but my card hasn’t gotten a cl increase sense I opened it. I’ve made all my payments since and have requested an increase a few times. I guess this card is stuck at $300 forever so I may just have to close it although I liked it. 

more ...
Feb 20, 2019

Don't close it. It will hurt your score. Keep it just don't use it

 
Feb 21, 2019

I suggest you check discover, I’ve gotten 2 increase of 1000 or more

 
Feb 13, 2019
Worst bank ever . Someone checked it ?
Ronmark911 Cardholder

New customers beware ! This capital one cheating on application . Cheating on Interst and fees . It’s is the worst bank in sevice like Bank of America stay away . Dispute them the account and close ASAP they are scam !! 

more ...
Feb 13, 2019

Huh? I don't understand this review.

 
Feb 17, 2019

I noticed you've been leaving bad reviews all over this site. And truthfully they don't make sense.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 12,882
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®