Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
154 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.


Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 20.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 20.24%* Variable

Our Take

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® can help young consumers build credit and earn rewards.

What to Like

Cardholders earn 1% cash back on all purchases, plus a 25% bonus on earned cash back each month that the bill is paid on time. These rewards never expire, and there’s no annual or foreign transaction fees. Capital One® also provides email and text alerts and tools to help you learn about your credit.

Look Out For

Cash back is great! Just make sure to always stay within your budget when racking up those rewards. Based on your credit profile, you may also start off with a credit limit as low as $300, so it's important to watch your credit utilization.


Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 30, 2016
Harryfri Cardholder

Highly recommended for beginners, I started with this card 2 years ago was approved for a credit line of $500, 6 months later they increased it to $1500 and another six months later I requested an increase and got a $3000 credit line, a few months ago they offered me to upgrade the card to the quicksilver credit card and I'm very happy with that too, on a side note by now between all of my credit cards together I have a credit line of about $50,000 and a credit score of 768. Beginners and students be careful how you use your credit cards don't mess it up and you'll be fine.
Good luck!

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 21, 2016
Worst deal in 100 offers,cost you lots
gc5245 Cardholder

This offer is a way for Capital 1 to grab 40 to 100 dollars off  people who do not research it such as myself. I got the card and it was supposed to be a no fee card. The first bill I received I was charged a 39.00 dollar member fee, remember this was their "No Fee'" card. I had used the card so when they added the 39.00 to it the balance was above my card limit so I was charged an additional penalty fee of 35.00 for being over limit. So I called them and the girl was really nice but said she would have to check with her superiors and would call me back- OK- I thought, So I waited and waited and after 3 days I called again and had to go thru the same thing with this person who I could not understand half what he said his English was so bad. after what seemed to be 2 hrs on the phone I was given the same answer as before. So again I waited and after several days went thru the same process as before with another person. Anyway after so long going back and forth I received a late notice which had another 30.00 added to it. Total= $104.00 added to the card bal. which they refused to do anything about until I paid the bal. off and then they said they would give me an increase of credit for whatever had been added above my initial card limit.  That's no way of doing anyone and BBB said I was not the only one either. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 27, 2016
Amazing! Convenient!
gjugar Cardholder

This card is amazing and convenient. Capitalone worked with me to make sure it was always available and provide applicable credit line increase when I needed it the most. 

more ...
Oct 27, 2016
Amazing... Credit Card
MidnightAzure Cardholder

Was able to get this card 6 months after opening credit after a year of student loans. Then, I applied for a Kohls card which is issued by Capital One. I pay my balances in full by the deadline every month and get back cash rewards immediately after the payments go through (much faster than the Discover rewards process). 

more ...
Oct 27, 2016
Great second card
Anonymous Cardholder

Opened my first credit card about a year ago through my bank with no credit history, only a $1500 limit today. Applied for the Journey Card from Capital One & was instantly given a $3,000 limit with a 725 & a reasonable year after graduating college income.

more ...
Oct 22, 2016
Approved with no credit!
Anonymous Cardholder

I highly recommend this card for those with limited credit history or looking to rebuild their credit. Pay your balance in full and on time and you will be rewarded.  I was approved for a $300 credit limit in January of 2014. After less than 2 years of steady increases my credit limit on this card is now at $7300. I now have a 723 credit score according to credit karma and was just approved for a Chase Freedom unlimited card with a $2500 credit limit!

more ...
Oct 16, 2016
Collegekid73 Cardholder

I applied for this card on a whim, I was pleasantly surprised to find out I was approved for a $500 credit limit. I have average score 686 & 678 but my credit lkne is below one year. So, for a building credit/starter card this is perfect!!! You can earn cash and the app is the best and so easy to navigate.

more ...
Oct 13, 2016
Been great.
sisterluna Cardholder

Not sure why this card is recommended for me, seeing as I've had it for 3 yrs now.  It's been a good card and I have no complaints.

more ...
Oct 12, 2016
SUFAP Cardholder

I applied for this card yesterday with scores Trans 636, Eq 614, Exp 617, was approved immediatley for $2000,,, give it a shot folks never know unless you try! Good luck

more ...
Oct 11, 2016
Journey Student Rewards Card
e0k0100110 Cardholder

Applied for this credit card with a 657 CS and was instantly approved for $2000 CL. Credit Karma said I had a very good chance of being approved and they were right!

more ...
Oct 10, 2016
Instantly Approved for $300
Anonymous Cardholder

Had small credit history with only 5K in defered student loans, about 580 score, 14K annual income as a ft student and 3 inquiries. Low CL but was approved for my first card. It has decent rewards and easy to build score with it if youre responsible.

more ...
Oct 08, 2016
Great interest rate. Excellent 1st card
Mateo1114 Cardholder

The interest rate is well below the 25% interest rate you have with most other cards that people with little to no credit have access to. I have had this card for 6 months and i love it.  Little to no interest paid in that time and it has helped my credit exponentially. Just be sure NOT to charge any one credit card over 30% of your available line of credit.  So if your credit limit is $300 you really do not want to exceed putting more than $90 on the card or it will negatively impact your credit. Great cash back rewards with this card too.         

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 12,882
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

154 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i