Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
56 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 26.48%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 26.48%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 21, 2018
Great Starter Card!
PupusasConCurtido Cardholder

I’ve had this card for less than a year. My inital score was about 560 with a previous collection on my account that I had paid off just a month prior. With that, I was approved for with a $1000 credit line.  I only used it for groceries and bills only, which was perfect! I paid my bills a week or two before it was actually due so that there was no risk of getting charged interest. Then by the 5th month of on-time payments, they raised my minimum to $4000. Even though I only use about $300 on my card, it’s been helpful to lower my usage percentage and thus increase my credit score pretty significantly. By the 3rd month, my score increased well enough to get another CC (Alaska Airlines) which is used as my primary and Journey as a secondary. Now my score is in the 730s after just after 3 months w Journey and 4 months with the Journey and Alaska CC combined. 

Journey made it possible for me as someone who started with a low credit score. I’m pretty happy with the progress I’ve made.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 09, 2019
Great for new credits, low limit.
Lduong01 Cardholder

Credit limits starts off low. Good for building credit. APR and fees are unpredictable and I hated those! After 6 months of always paying on time, credit limit increased by $200. Cash back are great especially if you’re a student, like me, who uses it to get around school.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 14, 2019
gabriellelc15 Cardholder

This has been great for me, as I am a student (26) and trying to rebuild my credit for mistakes (that were not mine) and it is nice!

more ...
Oct 13, 2019
Excellent card to have! Great limits!
Stacy1010 Cardholder

Great card. I was very pleased with my limit and was given a even better limit after 5 months of payments. 

more ...
Oct 10, 2019
Very happy starter card!
mshatravka Cardholder

I’m not a student and have a very thin credit history, I got approved for $2000 limit with 650 credit score.

more ...
Sep 15, 2019
My Second Capital One Card Experience
victoradewunmi Cardholder

This card was really easy to apply to! I am no longer a student, at 29 I am focusing on improving my credit. I have owned the QuickSilver One card for the past 6 months and the experience has been amazing. I honestly wanted the Venture Card but instead of pushing it I applied for the Journey Rewards card. With the QuickSilver One card they started me with a $1500 limit then upgraded me to $4500! Capital One approved my Journey Rewards card with a $3000 limit, 6 months and one day after being approved for the QuickSilver One card! Hope this review helps a future applicant! Cheers!!

more ...
Aug 24, 2019
Get money!
Tryout Cardholder

I’ve this card to buy everything and watch the money add up!

more ...
Aug 20, 2019
Great Credit Card!
RussellChan11 Cardholder

I am very happy with my Capital One Journey credit card so far. I am not a student anymore, so this card is definitely not just for students. I have been using my card to rebuild my credit, and Capital One approved my application when many other credit card companies wouldn't due to my less favorable credit history. I am glad that they took a chance with me. They gave me a higher credit limit than I expected, and my credit card is actually a Platinum card. With a Platinum card, this comes with many extra benefits such as collision coverage when obtaining a rental car. I also like the $0 annual fee and 1% cash back rewards.

The APR of 26.98% is pretty high, but as long as you don't carry a monthly balance, you don't have to worry about that. It's a great credit card to rebuild your credit.

more ...
Aug 23, 2019

By the way, I was given a $3000 credit limit if anyone wants to know. I'm working on getting it increased to $3500 and higher by paying on time each month.

 
Sep 15, 2019

Just for clarification since you said you had a platinum card in the review, you were a college graduate who applied for the Journey card and started with a 3000 limit correct? I’m asking because I’ve been out of school for 3 years and want a no annual fee cash back card. This one says I have very good odds of approval.

 
Sep 19, 2019

Victoradewunmi, yes I am a college graduate and started with a $3000 limit. I'd say go for it. No annual fee and cash back rewards are nice.

 
Aug 19, 2019
$2500 credit line with mediocre credit
1969camaro Cardholder

Good card. No issues at all

more ...
Aug 24, 2019

What’s mediocre?

 
Oct 11, 2019

What was your credit score when u 2500 credit line?

 
Aug 15, 2019
Brendamarinho Cardholder

just got apporoved for $2k limit! My score is 620 and I have 3 collection. This was the highest limit I ever got. So happy!!

more ...
Sep 24, 2019

Best review yet!!! Thanks a bunch!!!!!! Thats the kind of reviews I like reading, give me something to relate to!

 
Sep 28, 2019

Hey! So do you have a high income? I’m about to apply and I’m in the same boat as you but I can’t tell if I’ll get approved for that much

 
Jul 17, 2019
SHINeeGrl Cardholder

Just got approved !!

more ...
Jul 19, 2019

f

 
Jul 22, 2019

Has any one gotten approved with a recent bankruptcy?

 
Jul 23, 2019

I'm not sure but my student loans are currently being transferred to a new loan provider but status is still under "default". Discover denied me but Ive had a Capital One Mastercard for 6 months now.

 
Jul 16, 2019
Helping build back my credit.
Joda32 Cardholder

I’ve had no problems . Love it 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 12,882
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

56 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i