Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
148 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 20.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 20.74%* Variable

Our Take

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® can help young consumers build credit and earn rewards.

What to Like

Cardholders earn 1% cash back on all purchases, plus a 25% bonus on earned cash back each month that the bill is paid on time. These rewards won't expire for the life of the account, and there’s no annual or foreign transaction fees. Capital One® also provides email and text alerts and tools to help you learn about your credit.

Look Out For

Cash back is great! Just make sure to always stay within your budget when racking up those rewards. Based on your credit profile, you may also start off with a credit limit as low as $300, so it's important to watch your credit utilization.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 14, 2017
first credit card
HTXGreen Cardholder

this was my first time ever applying for a credit card, I had already had an auto loan through my credit union for 2 years. I got approved for the card in 12 hours, received my card and activated it within 10 business days. i received a 300$ limit to start so after a few months of only using it for gas and paying it off before the due date, my credit jumped from 650-680 !!!

after 5 months my score was a 695, i then opened another card with a $1000 limit and now have a 709 score and still going up monthly :)

i am always very frugal with utilizing credit, i don't get these cards to spend money, i only get them to build my credit score, lesson to all DONT SPEND MONEY YOU DONT HAVE. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 17, 2017
Odd Business Pratices
Anonymous Cardholder

I am actively trying to improve my credit, but it isn't terrible, so when I so that this might be an opportunity to work on it more I jumped at the chance by applying for this card. I was approved immediately for a fairly decent limit and kept a watchful eye on the hard inquiries, this went on within a day. A week later, I received my card and attempted to activate it, however it immediately gave me a message stated there was a fraud alert on the card. Well, turns out, I can't activate my card with out providing more verification & potentially getting addtitional inquiries (which Credit Karma even points out is possible, plus this has happened before). I'd rather step away from this card and wait until my score goes up another 50 to go for a more suitable and sustainable card.

What's really frustrating is when I asked why the alert, they stated they couldn't verify me, but they had no problem dinging my credit report.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 26, 2017
Got it
L4U6H4BL3 Cardholder

Just applied and got it. My credit score is between 625 - 640, no major issues, one other credit card and one loan.

more ...
Jun 23, 2017
Great Card
Anonymous Cardholder

Start off with a 300 dollars limit now at 1250 limit

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 26, 2017

How long did it take to have your account increase to $1250

 
Jun 22, 2017
Approved with 675 Fico Transunion
GG1981cc Cardholder

This was my second capital one credit card post bankruptcy. The rewards are ok, nothing special. For every $100 I earn like $1. My starting credit limit was $3,000. They bumped it up to $3,500 after six months. 

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
579 Credit Approved
CreditScore580 Cardholder

They gave me a $300 limit and I was so HAPPY!!! I'm 20 years old and the only credit I have was because of my phone bill. I am in the process of buying a car, so I needed a better credit score for lower interest rate. Since I have student loans (grace period) I decided to pay off, which raised my score up PLUS this credit card my score now is 679! I do say follow one tip the week you get paid use your card and once you have the money pay it off. Won't have to worry about not having enough to pay your bill. 

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Great card for building credit
delphire Cardholder

Credit Karma has literally saved my credit and my finances in every sense. I believe I had a credit score in the high 500s when I applied for this card. The score was so low because I discovered I had a delinquent account on my credit—a hospital bill my employer never paid but was supposed to, a bill I never received and did not know existed until Credit Karma brought it to my attention. I settled the account (my employer paid it in full) and my score instantly went up about 50 points. But I actually applied for this card before the account had been settled, since CreditKarma said I had good odds of being approved. I was approved with a $500 credit line—not much, but reflective of my credit at the time. I've continued to pay it off in full, and now my credit is at 670 and rapidly moving up.

The best part of this card is that there is no annual fee. I have another card I was offered at my worst credit stage (low 500s). Annual fee is absurd and APR is around 30%, but I did it somewhat out of necessity. Those predatory cards will kill you. I pay around $15 per month on fees and interest on that one. Now that I have this card, my credit has gone up, and I've secured a second card (VentureOne) I'll be transferring my balance to from the old one so I can close out the account, without having to pay any balance transfer fee. Now instead of paying a ton of money in fees and interest, I can earn cash rewards and miles using the cards I've gotten through Credit Karma. Their approval odds recomendation have not steered me wrong yet. Thanks so much, Credit Karma!

A quick note on Capital One customer service and APR: I've read a lot of complaints about Capital One's customer service on this site, and have also had multiple friends (some of whom work in finance) tell me not to trust Capital One. I have not had any trouble with them yet, but they seem to be a good company for people building credit or with average credit. If you have other options, though, it may be worth looking at them instead.

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
I love it
SUSANG0820 Cardholder

Customer service is awesome and the fraud monitoring is top notch.

more ...
Jun 14, 2017
I'm lovin it!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I had a

secured CC with cap one in collection for over 2 years I paid it off. And now I reapplied for a cap one journey which is not a secured card with a 594-587 CS. I got approved with a $300 limit. Hoping to build it over time. 

Thank you cap one for giving me another chance 😇

more ...
Jun 13, 2017
Great card for starters
ChuckD65 Cardholder

I was honestly surprised and very happy when I was approved for this card. I have had credit trouble in the past and ATM really don't have any credit. Neither good nor bad. I am happy to have the opportunity to rebuild my credit starting with this card. Thanks 

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
Love this Card
Anonymous Cardholder

Rebuilding my Credit- Had it a since Dec 2016- Went overseas used it- No problems- Customer service I found to be very helpful. My Favorite Card!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 12,882
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

148 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i