Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
168 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 20.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 20.49%* Variable

Our Take

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® can help young consumers build credit and earn rewards.

What to Like

Cardholders earn 1% cash back on all purchases, plus a 25% bonus on earned cash back each month that the bill is paid on time. These rewards never expire, and there’s no annual or foreign transaction fees. Capital One® also provides email and text alerts and tools to help you learn about your credit.

Look Out For

Cash back is great! Just make sure to always stay within your budget when racking up those rewards. Based on your credit profile, you may also start off with a credit limit as low as $300, so it's important to watch your credit utilization.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 30, 2016
Harryfri Cardholder

Highly recommended for beginners, I started with this card 2 years ago was approved for a credit line of $500, 6 months later they increased it to $1500 and another six months later I requested an increase and got a $3000 credit line, a few months ago they offered me to upgrade the card to the quicksilver credit card and I'm very happy with that too, on a side note by now between all of my credit cards together I have a credit line of about $50,000 and a credit score of 768. Beginners and students be careful how you use your credit cards don't mess it up and you'll be fine.
Good luck!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 17, 2017
Odd Business Pratices
Anonymous Cardholder

I am actively trying to improve my credit, but it isn't terrible, so when I so that this might be an opportunity to work on it more I jumped at the chance by applying for this card. I was approved immediately for a fairly decent limit and kept a watchful eye on the hard inquiries, this went on within a day. A week later, I received my card and attempted to activate it, however it immediately gave me a message stated there was a fraud alert on the card. Well, turns out, I can't activate my card with out providing more verification & potentially getting addtitional inquiries (which Credit Karma even points out is possible, plus this has happened before). I'd rather step away from this card and wait until my score goes up another 50 to go for a more suitable and sustainable card.

What's really frustrating is when I asked why the alert, they stated they couldn't verify me, but they had no problem dinging my credit report.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 24, 2017
Great card to build credit.
chelsalicous Cardholder

Thank you Capital One! I have always been nervous about having a credit card, but my credit was less than satisfactory and I needed a way to build it up. I was approved for this card and I have loved it! They aren't charging me a ton in fees or interest and my credit limit just increased to $500 without me having to even ask.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
The best
Anonymous Cardholder

I'm telling you people this card is awesome and helped me build credit fast and Cooley 

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Student credit card for traveling aboard
Dipper315 Cardholder

Applied this card in October 2016 as this is the few Visa credit card that has 0% doreign transaction fee and no annual fees as I planned to travel aboard in December.

After owning the card for a month, it increased my credit limit.

In December, I upgraded to Quick Silver via text chat before my trip.

Tried to use the card aboard and confirmed there are no foreign transaction fees and convertion rate is according to market price of that day.

Great card with solid 1.25% reward and easy to upgrade to other cards with better benefits that Capital One offers.

Now my Capital One Quick Silver credit line is $2000 and it is the best no annual fee 0% foreign transaction fee credit card a student can obtain. 

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Easy convenient all the way around:
Anonymous Cardholder

This card was easy: to apply for,  to monitor the balance, and to get credit increases. I got it as a student and I still have it 5 years after graduating.  

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Definitely a great first time card!
brittany12347 Cardholder

I have had this card almost 6 months or so and i even maxed it out twice. Terrible on my part i know but i did pay them off completely. I also got a credit increase from $300 to $500 like last month. It has been an awesome card so far and even the fees aren't as bad as i thought it would be. I didnt pay off my full balance once and it only charged me $3.25 which i dont think was that bad. In the end i would totally reccommend this card to anyone, especially first time creidt card owners! Did i mention it helped bring my credit score up? :D

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
Top Credit Card
LivingLotus Cardholder

This is an excellent credit card because it gives you the extra incentive of cash back rewards that not alot of credit cards offer. As a student I was fortunate to get a higher credit limit on this card starting out than I expected. The best part I love about the "Journey Student Rewards" Capital One card is the customer service. I had one time a family member was ill in the hospital and alot was going on between school and work in conjunction and so I ended up being a day out from the due date by the time I could pay the bill, so it would have posted as a late payment and this was also at a time I was trying to build my credit score in preparation for a mortgage, however when I contacted Capital One to explain my situation they worked with me to ensure it didn't ding my credit report to have one late payment in all the years of having the card. As well as when I've had issues with incorrect charges from merchants they have intervened as needed to get everything resolved without issue. One thing I can say is they are a bit over vigilant with fraud alerts, in that many of your purchases they will contact you to verify it's legit before they will authorize payment but in the end I think that's actually a good thing that works out for everyone's best interests involving security in the end.   Enjoy your journey!

more ...
Feb 12, 2017
Awesome
VontaSnapmode Cardholder

It comes in handy right before payday! Just pay back what you owe and still get cash rewards! I thought it was a truck to the process but....I thought wrong🔥

more ...
Feb 11, 2017
Building my credit
Anonymous Cardholder

My credit was in the low 500's after a student loan issue and bankruptcy. They approved me for a $300 limit which I used for gas only and kept paying it off. Now 7 months later and I have a $750 limit and a 674 credit rating with doing nothing else. Happy to be getting back on track. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 19, 2017

Did it say you approval odds for this card was very good, good, fair, or poor. My credit score is i. Low 500s and it says my chances for aporival for this card is fair. Just was wondering before i attempt to apply.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 12,882
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

168 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i