Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
60 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 26.98%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 26.98%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 21, 2018
Great Starter Card!
PupusasConCurtido Cardholder

I’ve had this card for less than a year. My inital score was about 560 with a previous collection on my account that I had paid off just a month prior. With that, I was approved for with a $1000 credit line.  I only used it for groceries and bills only, which was perfect! I paid my bills a week or two before it was actually due so that there was no risk of getting charged interest. Then by the 5th month of on-time payments, they raised my minimum to $4000. Even though I only use about $300 on my card, it’s been helpful to lower my usage percentage and thus increase my credit score pretty significantly. By the 3rd month, my score increased well enough to get another CC (Alaska Airlines) which is used as my primary and Journey as a secondary. Now my score is in the 730s after just after 3 months w Journey and 4 months with the Journey and Alaska CC combined. 

Journey made it possible for me as someone who started with a low credit score. I’m pretty happy with the progress I’ve made.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 09, 2019
Great for new credits, low limit.
Lduong01 Cardholder

Credit limits starts off low. Good for building credit. APR and fees are unpredictable and I hated those! After 6 months of always paying on time, credit limit increased by $200. Cash back are great especially if you’re a student, like me, who uses it to get around school.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 25, 2019
So easy
des777 Cardholder

I’m trying to hold my credit for approved for this card you get cash back and the app makes it so easy to pay and my credit like is about to go up soon!

more ...
Apr 24, 2019
Great card for students!
Chrisimko Cardholder

Capital One is one of the best options for students who want to build their credit.. and this card has perks (unless a lot of the other options).

I would say it's comparable to a secured card without the large deposit.

more ...
Apr 18, 2019
Pretty low Credit Limit
cripple2 Cardholder

Way too low a Ctedit Limit. I have ZERO missed payments EVER on a CC. I got a ridiculously low 2,000 limit. Not much buying power. I have had the card over 18 mo and thye hae not given me ONE increase in Credit limit. SO I asked for an increase on their web site-and they relied "Sorry you have not USED your card enough to warrant an increase" Really? Why am i USING it with a really low Credit limit--Cant buy CAR, cant even REPAIR my car with 2,000 limit. Just too much WORK to get a higher credit limit compared to OTHER cards out there. And they process Payments VERY BERY SLOWLY up to 12 days for a check to Clear.

more ...
Apr 21, 2019

You're mad because they didn't increase your credit limit when you showed them no proof that they should do so because you didn't use the card at all? I'm not sure if this is an entitlement issue, but as you can see, everyone who USED the card was offered a limit increase and didn't have to seek out the increase themselves.

 
Apr 21, 2019

Also, and this is a serious question, what kind of damages is your car taking that it can't be repaired with $2000?

 
Apr 23, 2019

It’s also 2019 why are you using checks to pay your balance when simply adding your bank account will apply your payment in less than 24 hours unless it’s on a weekend, you just sound like an idiot

 
Apr 04, 2019
Great Starter!
CFlore12 Cardholder

Capital One by far has one of the best customer service experiences. I now have two cards through them. My credit score when I applied for this card was about a 650. My starting credit line was at $1,000 and I made 5 consecutive payments and my credit line was bumped up to $1,500. 

more ...
Apr 02, 2019
Helps students build credit
Kirbyd1 Cardholder

I got this card when I started college with a $300 limit and am wrapping up my senior year now with a $1800 credit limit which is nice given that I've been living on student loans without other income. Great way to buld credit for students.

more ...
Mar 30, 2019
It gets a low entry score up quick!
aman13381 Cardholder

Approved for 500. Rose to 8000 after 2 months with a 709 score after 2 months. 

more ...
Apr 01, 2019

risen from 500 to 8000, in 2 months with Csp1, Yeah rite..you are lying

 
Apr 02, 2019

April fools joke

 
Mar 27, 2019
Easy to use, easy to pay off
Krystalstar96 Cardholder

You get an additional .25 cash back at the end of the billing cycle ! It’s a great card to have. No issues so far !

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 02, 2019

Did applying for this card effect your credit score much?

 
Mar 15, 2019
BootsForTheWin Cardholder

Don’t waste your time with this company. I was approved for this card back in 2012.

Four years ago, a boyfriend had somehow been added to my card because capital one pulled up my account with our address. Once finishing out his card was canceled. Fast forward to last summer and that same guy, now an ex, somehow was able to use that canceled card and ran up a $500 bill.

Found out about it and called Capital One to report the fraud and they canceled BOTH my credit card accounts and left me with the bill.  Destroyed my credit and let some ******* off the hook with my  pocket.

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS COMPANY.

more ...
Mar 09, 2019
Great for new credits, low limit.
Lduong01 Cardholder

Credit limits starts off low. Good for building credit. APR and fees are unpredictable and I hated those! After 6 months of always paying on time, credit limit increased by $200. Cash back are great especially if you’re a student, like me, who uses it to get around school.

more ...
Mar 05, 2019
Good card for credit beginning
Barbeegirl1989 Cardholder

I like this card the cash reward is not working properly I assume i claim my reward but never truely get it. But this card is good for building credit

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 12,882
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

60 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i