Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
123 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 14, 2017
first credit card
HTXGreen Cardholder

this was my first time ever applying for a credit card, I had already had an auto loan through my credit union for 2 years. I got approved for the card in 12 hours, received my card and activated it within 10 business days. i received a 300$ limit to start so after a few months of only using it for gas and paying it off before the due date, my credit jumped from 650-680 !!!

after 5 months my score was a 695, i then opened another card with a $1000 limit and now have a 709 score and still going up monthly :)

i am always very frugal with utilizing credit, i don't get these cards to spend money, i only get them to build my credit score, lesson to all DONT SPEND MONEY YOU DONT HAVE. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 17, 2017
Odd Business Pratices
Anonymous Cardholder

I am actively trying to improve my credit, but it isn't terrible, so when I so that this might be an opportunity to work on it more I jumped at the chance by applying for this card. I was approved immediately for a fairly decent limit and kept a watchful eye on the hard inquiries, this went on within a day. A week later, I received my card and attempted to activate it, however it immediately gave me a message stated there was a fraud alert on the card. Well, turns out, I can't activate my card with out providing more verification & potentially getting addtitional inquiries (which Credit Karma even points out is possible, plus this has happened before). I'd rather step away from this card and wait until my score goes up another 50 to go for a more suitable and sustainable card.

What's really frustrating is when I asked why the alert, they stated they couldn't verify me, but they had no problem dinging my credit report.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 20, 2017
I can't say enough about this card!
BigT15 Cardholder

I have had major issues with my credit, and the only card that I had was a secured credit card. I applied for this card as I was taking some classes in my local community college. I was approved and after firve on-time payments, they automatically increased my limit! My credit score has gone from a 635 to a 759 Ex and 756TU, and I am estatic and forever greatful for Cap One for giving me the opportunity to get things on point . Lastly they just upgraded me to a Quicksilver card withouth me even applying!!

more ...
Nov 14, 2017
Amazing Card

This is an amazing card for students. I applied for this card simply because there was no foreign transaction fee. I was due to leave for London in a week in September when I decided to apply for this card and luckily it came in time!

I was approved instantly for $1,000 (although I didn't find this out until the card arrived). My credit score was around 630-ish and my income is only around $11,400, no negative marks, and about 8 hard inquiries. After one month of ontime payments, I received an email saying that after 5 months of ontime payments I would get a CLI to $1,500 (so in April 2018). I was not expecting such a high CL for my income, but this was a life saver. Setting up life in London is super expensive!

more ...
Nov 12, 2017
Great Card to build credit
Dave7649 Cardholder

This card is actually better than I expected. I applied for this card back in April of 2016 with my credit being a little over extended as I was trying to rebuild and have 2 major credit cards. I was approved for a $300 Limit and made sure to follow the rules to get that first credit increase. After about 3-6 months of on time payments and continuously maxing it out and paying it off each month I received my first credit increase to $600. This card does give cash back rewards which I also took advantage of making sure to only keep using it for gas and whatever else I received cash back for. The rewards are not the greatest but hey every cent counts. My credit had increased from being in the mid 500s to now being 630 in the time that I have had this card. With my on time payments and continuous usage my credit limit is now at $750 with this card and thats due to me requesting the next limit shortly after receiving the first. The requesting a limit increase if fairly quick as you will be informed right then and there if it is going to happen and it takes in effect immediately. I have no annual fee with this card and also no Overlimit fee either. due to me having this card and the platinum master card I was also able to refinance my car loan from Santander with a 17.8 interest fee to capital one with a new 14% interest and a lower monthly payment and less overall yearly payment. I still pay the same amount that I was previously paying just to pay it off faster and with Capital one you are able to see your car loan with your credit cards and see all the info on it as well as the Payoff amount at all times. I also was able to get a mortgage loan and a bunch of other offers as a result to this card but declined them as I want to focus on finishing school first. Get this card if you need a card it is a great addition to the collection.

more ...
Nov 02, 2017
AMAZING !!
SPalmer1989 Cardholder

I applied for this card after my score dropped significantly with 583 TU / 600 Equifax, expecting a $300 limit.  I was so happy to fnd out my limit was $1000 and i was given 2 months for my first due date.  I have 2 other credit cards . And a couple days after geting approved for this card, I was approved for a Victorias Secret Card.  I am so happy with being given another chance with my credit after messing it up when I was 18.  This is now my FAVORITE CARD and I will definitely use it to my advantage. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

more ...
Nov 01, 2017
No credit increase
Jasmine4200 Cardholder

I dont like that it takes for ever to get a credit increase

more ...
Oct 27, 2017
Worst credit card I own.
caseyking22 Cardholder

They won't ever increase my credit limit. This was my first credit card and I have over double limits on others.

more ...
Oct 26, 2017
This company and card rock!
Anonymous Cardholder

My credit score goes up monthly!!!!

more ...
Oct 26, 2017
Great card.
KarlaM88 Cardholder

I love this card so much. After using it for groceries/necessities and paying it on time, they automatically issued me an increase!!

The cash back options is awesome, since most credit cards for people with not so great credit usually can't qualify for "rewards" type cards, but this one approved even my mom who has a 595- 615 score.

I recommend it, specially if you already have a card that you've been paying off on time for a while. I think this is what got my mom approved.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 27, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Oct 20, 2017
Build Credit & Save Money

When I applied for this card I had a decent credit score in the low to mid 600's. I want to say 620ish.  I had had four hard inquiries on my report for student loans. Twenty-two open accounts that averaged four an one half years in age. I had seven closed accoounts that all had gone over 120 days of non payment but were all paid off to a ballance of zero in 2012. My credit usage was under 20% at the time of application and I have zero derogitory remarks. I have several credit accounts from Department Stores, Paypal, Amazon, ect. and my student loans some Federal and one Private.

I was approved with a $400 credit limit which suits my needs fine. After a few months making payments on time I believe they raise the limit a bit.  I just use this card to pay for going out if I am just low on cash at the moment. I never have to postpone a date or decline an invitation just due to cash flow issues. I just use this card and  pay it off when I get my check. It actually saves me money when I pay the ballance to zero because you do not get charged intrest if you do that so the cash back acts like a friendly little coupon. Plus My score is up to 676 now. Im happy with it. Just make sure you have money coming in so you can pay the full ballace to zero each cycle.  I had an auto loan through Capital One and never had a problem. They are a good company to borrow from.

Cash back, no anual fee, bonus cash for paying you bill on time. This is a pretty good card for average to maybe even low or no credit.

>>>[ Pay the full ballance on time and THIS CARD CAN SAVE YOU MONEY ]<<<

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 20, 2017

I like this card guys. Just pay it off every month and its good for you.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 12,882
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

123 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i