Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
129 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® can help young consumers build credit and earn rewards.

What to Like

Cardholders earn 1% cash back on all purchases, plus a 25% bonus on earned cash back each month that the bill is paid on time. These rewards won't expire for the life of the account, and there’s no annual or foreign transaction fees. Capital One® also provides email and text alerts and tools to help you learn about your credit.

Look Out For

Cash back is great! Just make sure to always stay within your budget when racking up those rewards. Based on your credit profile, you may also start off with a credit limit as low as $300, so it's important to watch your credit utilization.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 14, 2017
first credit card
HTXGreen Cardholder

this was my first time ever applying for a credit card, I had already had an auto loan through my credit union for 2 years. I got approved for the card in 12 hours, received my card and activated it within 10 business days. i received a 300$ limit to start so after a few months of only using it for gas and paying it off before the due date, my credit jumped from 650-680 !!!

after 5 months my score was a 695, i then opened another card with a $1000 limit and now have a 709 score and still going up monthly :)

i am always very frugal with utilizing credit, i don't get these cards to spend money, i only get them to build my credit score, lesson to all DONT SPEND MONEY YOU DONT HAVE. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 17, 2017
Odd Business Pratices
Anonymous Cardholder

I am actively trying to improve my credit, but it isn't terrible, so when I so that this might be an opportunity to work on it more I jumped at the chance by applying for this card. I was approved immediately for a fairly decent limit and kept a watchful eye on the hard inquiries, this went on within a day. A week later, I received my card and attempted to activate it, however it immediately gave me a message stated there was a fraud alert on the card. Well, turns out, I can't activate my card with out providing more verification & potentially getting addtitional inquiries (which Credit Karma even points out is possible, plus this has happened before). I'd rather step away from this card and wait until my score goes up another 50 to go for a more suitable and sustainable card.

What's really frustrating is when I asked why the alert, they stated they couldn't verify me, but they had no problem dinging my credit report.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 10, 2017
Oppertunity!
mellaboo2u Cardholder

If all you need is a chance to show that you're worthy of credit and responsible this is a good card the interest rate the Kickbacks of paying your payment on time it's awesome it's been a blessing to me

more ...
Sep 09, 2017
Great Starter Card
TTYA20 Cardholder

I got this card to help build my credit in the US. Cash back is a very useful reward for a starter card as well. Very pleased with this card and Capital One. Customer service was easy to reach (no long hold times) the one time I needed to call them. 10/10 reccomend this card. 

more ...
Sep 07, 2017
Perfect for students rebuilding credit!
Anonymous Cardholder

This is my second credit card through capital one. The first was their secured card with a $200 credit limit that I've had the last two and a half years and was able to build my credit up past 620 with. I wanted a student credit card and found the Journey card. I applied and was, to my surprise, approved for a $1000 credit limit. I love the cash back bonus and just being able to have more than $200 of credit available just in case. If you read the terms and agreements there are no hidden fees. Just don't spend what you can't pay back and keep the monthly balance low, rebuilding credit is easy but does take time.

more ...
Aug 23, 2017
Surprise Fees!!!
ckel27 Cardholder

Great for purchases but had the card going on two months and decided to take out a small cash advance.  First attempt the terminal didn't process the transaction with "account would not be charged" note; I then tried again and transaction was successful.  Checked statement following week to find two cash advance fees on my account when I only received the one distribution. Called Customer service and they told me they couldn't do nothing about it and I would have to pay both fees.  BEWARE, BEWARE, BEWARE if thinking about using this card or any card with Capital One if it charges a cash advance fee. You may experience the same issue with Customer Service and wind up paying fees you shouldn't.  Must be trying to find ways to increase their bottom line!

more ...
Aug 22, 2017
Gave me chance!
g8credit101 Cardholder

I am a single mother who just went back to school... after a decade of not caring about my credit and accumulating five collections accounts you could only imangine how terrible my credit is (529). I am in the process of rebuiling my credit and decided to apply for this card! I was, thankfully, approved for a $300 limit! 

more ...
Aug 08, 2017
Amazing!
Ephradina Cardholder

Best card if you are starting out or getting to rebuild your credit. Pay on time every month for the first 6 the and you automatically get a credit line increase! And the extra cash back when paying on time is pretty nice too.

more ...
Aug 03, 2017
Great Beginner Card
99tambor Cardholder

Applied with no credit as a student and was given $300 CL, gives 1% which is nice and is a card I still use occasionally. The no foreign transaction fee is a great perk as someone who travels outside of the US often.

more ...
Jul 29, 2017
Great way to help students build credit
Anonymous Cardholder

I was approved with a transunion score of 576 and within one month of having it my transunion score jumped 44 points and my equifax went up by 62 points! very glad i applied for this crd and was accepted.

more ...
Jul 29, 2017
Great Starter card
Carlos9625 Cardholder

Its an easy card to get your foot in the door with. I got accepted with a score of 648 it was my first credit card approval and first card i accepted for. Started out with a Limit of 300 but not to worried about it because it will help my score go up

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 12,882
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

129 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i