Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
164 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 20.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 20.49%* Variable

Our Take

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® can help young consumers build credit and earn rewards.

What to Like

Cardholders earn 1% cash back on all purchases, plus a 25% bonus on earned cash back each month that the bill is paid on time. These rewards never expire, and there’s no annual or foreign transaction fees. Capital One® also provides email and text alerts and tools to help you learn about your credit.

Look Out For

Cash back is great! Just make sure to always stay within your budget when racking up those rewards. Based on your credit profile, you may also start off with a credit limit as low as $300, so it's important to watch your credit utilization.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 14, 2017
first credit card
HTXGreen Cardholder

this was my first time ever applying for a credit card, I had already had an auto loan through my credit union for 2 years. I got approved for the card in 12 hours, received my card and activated it within 10 business days. i received a 300$ limit to start so after a few months of only using it for gas and paying it off before the due date, my credit jumped from 650-680 !!!

after 5 months my score was a 695, i then opened another card with a $1000 limit and now have a 709 score and still going up monthly :)

i am always very frugal with utilizing credit, i don't get these cards to spend money, i only get them to build my credit score, lesson to all DONT SPEND MONEY YOU DONT HAVE. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 17, 2017
Odd Business Pratices
Anonymous Cardholder

I am actively trying to improve my credit, but it isn't terrible, so when I so that this might be an opportunity to work on it more I jumped at the chance by applying for this card. I was approved immediately for a fairly decent limit and kept a watchful eye on the hard inquiries, this went on within a day. A week later, I received my card and attempted to activate it, however it immediately gave me a message stated there was a fraud alert on the card. Well, turns out, I can't activate my card with out providing more verification & potentially getting addtitional inquiries (which Credit Karma even points out is possible, plus this has happened before). I'd rather step away from this card and wait until my score goes up another 50 to go for a more suitable and sustainable card.

What's really frustrating is when I asked why the alert, they stated they couldn't verify me, but they had no problem dinging my credit report.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 27, 2017
Awesome so far
Akilies Cardholder

I'm rebuilding my credit and capital 1 gave me a chance thank you very much I have a 300 dollar limit an happy just to have that.

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
Surprised they trusted me!
Anonymous Cardholder

I've been trying to rebuild my credit for several years. It was a long, hard journey. Ironically... it was the Journey credit card which gave me signs life is changing. They did approve me, and it is great because if you buy tickets with this card you get free travel insurance. A very close friend died several days ago and I finally had a good reason to whip this out and utilize it.

I like that I can see all my cards from the same website also. That means less sign-in and navigation to pay bills, because I also had a secured card which recently got the security refund and matured to a platinum card. 

I did have to send them proof of income, and wait for a review, and the card showed in the mail with no other warning -- but hey I can't say that upset me. I didn't think I had been approved.

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
first credit card
HTXGreen Cardholder

this was my first time ever applying for a credit card, I had already had an auto loan through my credit union for 2 years. I got approved for the card in 12 hours, received my card and activated it within 10 business days. i received a 300$ limit to start so after a few months of only using it for gas and paying it off before the due date, my credit jumped from 650-680 !!!

after 5 months my score was a 695, i then opened another card with a $1000 limit and now have a 709 score and still going up monthly :)

i am always very frugal with utilizing credit, i don't get these cards to spend money, i only get them to build my credit score, lesson to all DONT SPEND MONEY YOU DONT HAVE. 

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
Perfect
Sarahl90 Cardholder

Its my first ever credit card and its brilliant. Its straight forward and easy, no hidden anything. Im getting my second credit card from capital one soon. Great company. Love love love. Def recommend.

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Love it!
amberosemuller Cardholder

I was scared to apply for this card as my credit score was around 660 or so and I only have one credit card other than now this one. My approval odds said Very Good so I decided to take a shot and apply. Immediately I was approved for $500. I put $250 on the card (30%) and have already received my cash back which was only $1, but still! Also, my score jumped up 20 points after using this card for the first time so now I'm at 680. Very pleased with how easy to use the app is and in 5 months I'm excited to see what my limit is increased to. I'm sure I'll have this card for a while!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 12, 2017

30% of 500 isn't 250...

 
Mar 08, 2017
lyzpk Cardholder

Great card!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 09, 2017

What if you are not a student?

 
Mar 07, 2017
This is a great card to rebuild.
Wolf9494 Cardholder

They are awesome!! I'm rebuilding my credit after a bankruptcy and my credit score has went up 73 points. Thank you Capital One.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 27, 2017

How long after bankruptcy discharge did you wait to apply? What was your credit score? Was capital one an original creditor included in you bankruptcy filing?

 
Mar 07, 2017
Good for building credit.
crriley2 Cardholder

Application process was easy. I was not instanly approved but I already knew I wouldn't be. I was notified by email within a few days of approval. 

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
This card helped to repair my credit!
cgrogan2387 Cardholder

After starting my own business which eventually failed, I was living off an American Express charge card, which took me 2 years to pay back the balance after I had debt collectors hunting me down.  Fast forward, three years later, my credit score was just past the 500's and I had religously paid every bill on time that I had (cell phone, car insurance, car payment, etc.) in order to get to that score.  When I was finally ready to start rebuilding my credit, I took a chance with the Cap One Journey Student card after reading reviews that it was excellent for rebuilding credit.  Let me tell you - it is!  They started me with a $300 limit and about 6 - 8 months later, I was upgraded to a $500 limit all for paying my bill on time and keeping my credit utilization low - this card helped me to repair my credit.  I am now, a year later, working at a 680 limit - I never thought I would see the day!  I just applied for their Plaintum card and was Approved!  I LOVE Capital One and can't wait to continue rebuilding my credit with them - plus their app is SUPER easy to use, as is their website, and it's so easy to keep track of upcoming payment dates and when my account balance goes over a certain amount with their text alerts and other features!  Apply for this card if you are looking to rebuild your credit - it is WORTH IT!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 09, 2017

What if you are not a student?

 
Mar 03, 2017
Awesome
Tam353535 Cardholder

I started rebuilding my credit about a year ago. I applied for the card in October and was approved for 500 about four months later I received a credit line increase of $2,000 more without even asking pretty awesome.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 12,882
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

164 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i