Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
143 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® can help young consumers build credit and earn rewards.

What to Like

Cardholders earn 1% cash back on all purchases, plus a 25% bonus on earned cash back each month that the bill is paid on time. These rewards won't expire for the life of the account, and there’s no annual or foreign transaction fees. Capital One® also provides email and text alerts and tools to help you learn about your credit.

Look Out For

Cash back is great! Just make sure to always stay within your budget when racking up those rewards. Based on your credit profile, you may also start off with a credit limit as low as $300, so it's important to watch your credit utilization.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 14, 2017
first credit card
HTXGreen Cardholder

this was my first time ever applying for a credit card, I had already had an auto loan through my credit union for 2 years. I got approved for the card in 12 hours, received my card and activated it within 10 business days. i received a 300$ limit to start so after a few months of only using it for gas and paying it off before the due date, my credit jumped from 650-680 !!!

after 5 months my score was a 695, i then opened another card with a $1000 limit and now have a 709 score and still going up monthly :)

i am always very frugal with utilizing credit, i don't get these cards to spend money, i only get them to build my credit score, lesson to all DONT SPEND MONEY YOU DONT HAVE. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 17, 2017
Odd Business Pratices
Anonymous Cardholder

I am actively trying to improve my credit, but it isn't terrible, so when I so that this might be an opportunity to work on it more I jumped at the chance by applying for this card. I was approved immediately for a fairly decent limit and kept a watchful eye on the hard inquiries, this went on within a day. A week later, I received my card and attempted to activate it, however it immediately gave me a message stated there was a fraud alert on the card. Well, turns out, I can't activate my card with out providing more verification & potentially getting addtitional inquiries (which Credit Karma even points out is possible, plus this has happened before). I'd rather step away from this card and wait until my score goes up another 50 to go for a more suitable and sustainable card.

What's really frustrating is when I asked why the alert, they stated they couldn't verify me, but they had no problem dinging my credit report.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 24, 2017
This card is AWESOME!
Schoolgirl10 Cardholder

Im UG in college with NO credit what so ever (620) and had nothing but student loans on my report history. Applied for this card and was approved starting with a $300 limit. Here it is 4 months later and im at a $500 limit plus increase to credit score. THIS CARD IS AWESOME!

more ...
Jul 12, 2017
Horrible.
Jnissjli Cardholder

Don't get thid card if your planning on using it and paying your balance the same day my credit limit is $500 which isent nearly enough to pay my bills per month. Anyway I would use $200 pay it the same day. Then I will use 100 pay it the same day or 300 pay it the same day. And what capital one would do is put a hold on my account. Because they say it's " to many large payments being made before the due date" so now Every time I make a payment I have to call and verify that the account is in my name and if the payment have posted. WOOOWWW I'm so shocked at this method. And disgusted what a inconvience this is to me. It's no winning with them. I could understand if I'm making payments late and your harrasing me but I'm making payments before time and I'm being harrased. This is ridiculous I have made 4 payments and they make me call mu bank every time how horrible is this I'm so ****ed off I want to close the account but don't want it to effect my credit..

more ...
Jul 08, 2017
Vdc702 Cardholder

This card is great for students who are applying for a credit card for their first time and who are trying to build credit. My personal experience while owning this credit card has been great. Within six months I was able to build my credit and get a good credit score. Every time I've used it, I've gotten cash rewards. I started small by using it to get gas & then paying it every time it was payday. The limit starts off at $300 and then in 6 months increases to $500 with on time payments and by using it. It is a great "starter" credit card and teaches financial responsibility relating to credit. No annual fee which is great, because being a college student, money is tight. 

more ...
Jul 07, 2017
Great Card
Sky070815 Cardholder

I got this card a few months ago in order to help improve my credit. I had a lot of medical accounts in collection and it was hard to find anything  I would be approved for, other than a secured card which I didn't have the money for at the time. I got approved for this card almost instantly and it took less than a week for me to get it. I love the app that it has it's very user friendly and it lays out everything for you. You can even ask for a limit increase from the app. I also LOVE the rewards system with this card, I often use my accrued cash back towards my card balance, but they give you all of your rewards options in one place and it's as easy to get them as pushing a button. So far this card has been great for me and my credit.

more ...
Jul 05, 2017

I paid on this pathetic $300 balance card for 5 months straight and NEVER MISSED A PAYMENT! But, because I had a zero balance through the month of April and didn't need to make a payment...THEY SAY I MISSED A PAYMENT??? How can you make a payment when you don't owe anything??? Thanks for nothing Capital One! What's in my wallet...anything but your misleading garage product!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 24, 2017

😂😂can't stop laughing

 
Jul 03, 2017
LOVE LOVE LOVE
yobeso89 Cardholder

I applied for this card in Feb when i had about a 587 credit score. I got approved for $500. This is my second Capital one card. My first was the secured card, which is great also, after a year with that one they made it unsecured. I requested a credit increase on  my journey cc and they only increased it by $100. Next month will mark 6 months since i opened my account, hopefully they will increase my credit limit and ultimatly increase my credit score. I love this card and the rewards. I basically use it as a debit card. I charge all my bills and purchases i would have made with my debit card then pay it all off before the end of the month. The interest rate is too high to carry a balance. So i spend what i normally would have and get to redeem gift cards with all of the rewards i rack up.

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
Got it
L4U6H4BL3 Cardholder

Just applied and got it. My credit score is between 625 - 640, no major issues, one other credit card and one loan.

more ...
Jun 23, 2017
Great Card
Anonymous Cardholder

Start off with a 300 dollars limit now at 1250 limit

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 26, 2017

How long did it take to have your account increase to $1250

 
Jun 22, 2017
Approved with 675 Fico Transunion
GG1981cc Cardholder

This was my second capital one credit card post bankruptcy. The rewards are ok, nothing special. For every $100 I earn like $1. My starting credit limit was $3,000. They bumped it up to $3,500 after six months. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 12,882
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

143 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i