Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
162 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 20.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 20.49%* Variable

Our Take

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® can help young consumers build credit and earn rewards.

What to Like

Cardholders earn 1% cash back on all purchases, plus a 25% bonus on earned cash back each month that the bill is paid on time. These rewards never expire, and there’s no annual or foreign transaction fees. Capital One® also provides email and text alerts and tools to help you learn about your credit.

Look Out For

Cash back is great! Just make sure to always stay within your budget when racking up those rewards. Based on your credit profile, you may also start off with a credit limit as low as $300, so it's important to watch your credit utilization.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 30, 2016
Harryfri Cardholder

Highly recommended for beginners, I started with this card 2 years ago was approved for a credit line of $500, 6 months later they increased it to $1500 and another six months later I requested an increase and got a $3000 credit line, a few months ago they offered me to upgrade the card to the quicksilver credit card and I'm very happy with that too, on a side note by now between all of my credit cards together I have a credit line of about $50,000 and a credit score of 768. Beginners and students be careful how you use your credit cards don't mess it up and you'll be fine.
Good luck!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 08, 2016
Nothing Special
Anonymous Cardholder

I got approved for this card back in August and was instantly approved for a $750 limit. My credit score was about 630 I was 19 and had absolutely no credit history besides my student loan. I am not too impressed with this card considering it has high interest right away, but it definitly is not a bad card. I have had it for 9 months now and my credit limit is at $1,100. If you're young and do not have credit history I would say this is the card to go with, it will help your credit score go up. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 19, 2017
Perfect card for credit build-up.
CKPJFOST22 Cardholder

I applied for the card as an 18 year old college student. I had no previous credit cards, or loans, and I was still approved. My credit line did start at $300 but what else did I need for credit build-up. After the first 6 months, my credit line was raised to $500. I have always had on-time payments and have tried to keep my balance below the 50%. Well it's been close to 2 years and my credit line has been raised to $5000. Very happy with Capital One and their willingness to help out students trying to start their credit build-up.

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
MahliaS Cardholder

I got this card 2 1/2 years ago at age 19 with a $300 limit during my first year of college. I had absolutely no credit before and was so excited when I got approved for this card. I honestly didn't really know what I was doing at the time but I knew that credit cards helped your credit. I just opened up my second credit card with capital one about three weeks ago and they got me a $500 credit limit. I have upgraded this journey card to $500 credit limit so now I have two cards with them, both with $500. After making a few mistakes due to being broke and maxing out the card quite a few times, I am currently sitting at a $10 balance on my journey card and $200 on my new one with CO. I just checked my official scores yesterday and my medium score is 669! I am planning on getting my balance lowered at the end of this month and I know that will help boost my score up even more. As long as you really get it in your mind that your limit is no more than 30% of your limit, you'll be fine. Capital one is a great company to start off your credit. I am very happy with the way things are going right now. I highly suggest this card!

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
Odd Business Pratices
Anonymous Cardholder

I am actively trying to improve my credit, but it isn't terrible, so when I so that this might be an opportunity to work on it more I jumped at the chance by applying for this card. I was approved immediately for a fairly decent limit and kept a watchful eye on the hard inquiries, this went on within a day. A week later, I received my card and attempted to activate it, however it immediately gave me a message stated there was a fraud alert on the card. Well, turns out, I can't activate my card with out providing more verification & potentially getting addtitional inquiries (which Credit Karma even points out is possible, plus this has happened before). I'd rather step away from this card and wait until my score goes up another 50 to go for a more suitable and sustainable card.

What's really frustrating is when I asked why the alert, they stated they couldn't verify me, but they had no problem dinging my credit report.

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
Odd Business Pratices
Anonymous Cardholder

I am actively trying to improve my credit, but it isn't terrible, so when I so that this might be an opportunity to work on it more I jumped at the chance by applying for this card. I was approved immediately for a fairly decent limit and kept a watchful eye on the hard inquiries, this went on within a day. A week later, I received my card and attempted to activate it, however it immediately gave me a message stated there was a fraud alert on the card. Well, turns out, I can't activate my card with out providing more verification & potentially getting addtitional inquiries (which Credit Karma even points out is possible, plus this has happened before). I'd rather step away from this card and wait until my score goes up another 50 to go for a more suitable and sustainable card.

What's really frustrating is when I asked why the alert, they stated they couldn't verify me, but they had no problem dinging my credit report.

more ...
Jan 11, 2017
Great!
stephano26 Cardholder

Applied with a credit score of 630 according to credit karma, just got approved with a 500 CL. Already have a capital one secured credit card (1 year) and love the company! So happy to have another card with them.

more ...
Jan 10, 2017
Perfect starter card!
cali95 Cardholder

I am a student and this is my first and only credit card and I definitely recommend it. I set up automatic payments in the app and I dont have to worry about anything. I spend less than 10% of my monthly limit each month and pay it on time and have raised my credit score over 50 points in just a few months. I started with a $500 limit and they have increased it to $750 now. 

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
Peck10 Cardholder

I'm very pleased with this card and Capital One's customer service.

more ...
Dec 31, 2016
card not rcvd yet, but I am happy..
Kspidey Cardholder

First my husband with a low 500 score very little collection was sent a pre-approval for the platinum card . So we applied. He was approved for 300 and I am an authorize user. Okay so 6 months later, the credit line was increased to 500. I then applied for the journey about December and was approved for 1000 . I am still waiting on card..

more ...
Dec 27, 2016
pleasantly surprised, 10/10 card
DrTyler94 Cardholder

After wrecking my credit when I was 18 and rocking a solid 540-ish score after not touching credit for four years, I decided to take a chance and apply for this card. I was instantly approved for a 300 credit limit with a score in the low 500s. at the 3-month mark I was upgraded to 400 and just a week ago, Capital One emailed me and told me they raised my CL to 750! my score has jumped 40 points since using this card. I'm so, so thankful to Capital One for giving me another chance. the Amazon visa card (2000 CL) I defaulted on four years ago was never officially reported to collections (even though I was harassed by them for a year), which is a miracle. I even pulled my free-once-a-year report and it's not on there. my mother had me as an authorized user on her BofA flex spending 20k limit card for several years so that was also probably the saving grace that kept my score from dipping below 500. I'm on track to break 600 by February of 2017...my goal is the BofA red cash rewards card my sister has, I own two kitties who get into lots of trouble and a large CL would be a welcome safety net if they ever got into some bad **** that required expensive vet care (my pet insurance reimburses me, doesn't pay up front). I absolutely love this card, my score has been a constant source of anxiety for the past four years and it's a huge weight off my shoulders to see this card actively helping my credit score. no student loans helps too, I'm getting a BS from my community college! then off to med school next year, UCSD has offered me conditional acceptance. I'm so excited, and so hopeful for the future. everything's easier with good credit. my mom is so proud of me. thanks Capital One, you are the absolute best. I

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 12,882
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

162 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i