Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
159 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 20.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 20.24%* Variable

Our Take

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One® can help young consumers build credit and earn rewards.

What to Like

Cardholders earn 1% cash back on all purchases, plus a 25% bonus on earned cash back each month that the bill is paid on time. These rewards never expire, and there’s no annual or foreign transaction fees. Capital One® also provides email and text alerts and tools to help you learn about your credit.

Look Out For

Cash back is great! Just make sure to always stay within your budget when racking up those rewards. Based on your credit profile, you may also start off with a credit limit as low as $300, so it's important to watch your credit utilization.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 30, 2016
Harryfri Cardholder

Highly recommended for beginners, I started with this card 2 years ago was approved for a credit line of $500, 6 months later they increased it to $1500 and another six months later I requested an increase and got a $3000 credit line, a few months ago they offered me to upgrade the card to the quicksilver credit card and I'm very happy with that too, on a side note by now between all of my credit cards together I have a credit line of about $50,000 and a credit score of 768. Beginners and students be careful how you use your credit cards don't mess it up and you'll be fine.
Good luck!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 14, 2016
Great Starter Card
Anonymous Cardholder

Easy Approval Process, Standard Cash Back Rate, Good for Limited Credit  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 29, 2016
On the right track
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for a little over a year now. I started with a $300 limit and it was increased to $3300 a few months later. We got hit with some credit card fraud and Capital One took care of it all with no problem! It has helped my family in a time of need (but that did not help my credit score). Thankfully I am on the right track again and hoping it will improve my scores within the next several months. The only downside is the interest rate of 20%+ which isn't significant if you keep your balance low. It has been a great starter card.

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Thank you so much Capital One for giving me a chance have not had a credit card in over 10 years!!

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Great.
Anonymous Cardholder

I didn't think I was approved because after applyig, it said we will contact you. Then two days later it asked for proof of annual income then after I uploaded it, I got approved for a $300 credit line. I am a sophomore in college and this is my first major credit card. I have a department store card for Victoria Secret. So glad to have this one to boost up my credit. It is currently in the mid 600's. 

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
Good to "rebuild credit".
Stacie123456 Cardholder

I was approved with a fair approval status started with a $500 limit never used the whole amount. What purchases I did make i paid the balance in full. Used it for small purchases like gas and fast food. After the 5 months I requested a credit increase i was approved for $100 increase the following month I was given a $500 increase. After 6 months I went from 500 to 1100 credit line.

more ...
Nov 12, 2016
Thank you to start my credit
Kunj98 Cardholder

When I turn 18 I want to start my credit score but got rejected 2 times in different companies but capital one gave me Chace to start and build my credit score THANK YOU capital one for my fist card best card 😍😍

more ...
Nov 11, 2016
Amazing
Anonymous Cardholder

I just turned 18 in october got declined by two other credit cards. I waited a month and applied for journey and got a $300 credit limit thank you !!!!!

more ...
Nov 10, 2016
Excellent
Key0700 Cardholder

Great card ! Started with a 300 limit with my credit being in the 5s and they increased me after 6 months to 500 ! My credit is now in the 6s and I am continuing to make progress to bring it to the 7/8s !! 

more ...
Nov 06, 2016
Sounds like a great card.
Anonymous Cardholder

I got approved over a month ago and still haven't received my card.  I got one for my husband as well and we haven't received his either.  Customer service was nice.  I hope to get the card soon.

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
Perfect starter card
Anonymous Cardholder

The customer service is exceptional, do not treat you like you are dumb & i love being able to pay by app. Only thing i would like different is it takes 2 days to pull from checking, but that could also be my bank :)

Advanced my limit after 3 months. Which i didnt even expect. If your going to try i would apply for this one. Fantastic company for second chances..

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 12,882
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Journey® Student Rewards from Capital One®

159 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i