Deserve® Edu Mastercard Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.4 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 28, 2019
Do not take this card unless you have to

I got this card after my bankruptcy and I encountered a lot of problems to link my bank account. After the bank account was linked they sent me a card with $500 card limit. No one at Deserve ever tells you that if you make the payment in full they still hold the funds for an additional 7-10 business days before they release the line of credit. They will not call your Bank to verify if funds have cleared also because as your account is linked they know that the payment has cleared but they hold it anyway. After making 6 payments online and encountering the same problem I closed the account because the customer service reps do not care about you either. Overall I have Capital One Bank cards and they are 100% better. My take stay away from them if you have a choice.

more ...
Mar 20, 2019
Pathetic Service!
Genie18 Cardholder

It looks great, but the customer service is pathetic. My email and phone number was hacked that was connected to this card, and till date the customer service has not given me access to my account.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 16, 2019

Too many issues with the card customer service but is all of the purchasing transactions going through?

 
Feb 24, 2019
Good First Card
ZydecoVivo Cardholder

I applied and was approved for this card as soon as I started my first job. It's not a huge credit limit, but it's helped build my credit and there is no hard inquiry. It does seem that the company only reports to TransUnion since my Equifax score does not have the card listed. Nevertheless, I am happy with it. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 01, 2019

What limit they give you?

 
Feb 09, 2019
Desnaper Cardholder

This is best credit card given without SSN for international student.

more ...
Oct 03, 2018
Worst Card Ever
ajacob123 Cardholder

Don't get this one. Its an absolute waste credit card with 0 benefits instead they come with problems. If you face any issue in any transaction, they don't help to work it out.

more ...
Oct 01, 2018
Low CL compared to Discover.
pakao Cardholder

Doesn't report to equifax.

Laughable CL at $300 compared to my current $1700 CL with Discover

Good for credit building but that's it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 16, 2019

It’s a card for people with new or bad credit starting over therefore they won’t offer a high CL, they’re just trying to help you establish some sort of revolving account payment history

 
Jul 31, 2018
Good Starter; Terrible for Use
ImportantInfo Cardholder

Alright, so this card is great if you have no credit history. I applied with $39k reported income, and a Discover It Student (2 months old) card and Amazon Store (1 month old) card. They gave me a $500 limit, and it has now been 9 months and I still haven't seen a credit limit increase.

Connecting my bank was an incredibly difficult process. The first time I tried, they didn't even have it listed as an option in search. I tried again later, and they had the bank. I tried connecting my account and they kept encountering difficulties. Took a month to connect my bank account, which is just insane when you have to have it connected for credit limit increases.

They sent me a chip card last month. After I activated it, they needed a password reset. Here goes another hassle. Kept trying and trying, but they never sent an email link to password reset. Had to email customer service, told I would likely get a response within 24 hours. 1 week later I got a response saying it is my email that is the problem, so I change emails. Finally got it fixed. But a new problem: THEY LOST MY REWARDS POINTS. Hundreds in purchases over 9 months and they just deleted all of the rewards.

If you have no other choice, this can get your credit started. They only report to Experian and TransUnion, not Equifax.

more ...
Jun 30, 2018
Horrible customer care and disrespectful
MacPacOneTwo Cardholder

Used it for two years but of late the collection agency have been calling even when auto pay was set and payments were done regularly. Use it as a student but switch to a better provider as soon as you get SSN.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Deserve® Edu Mastercard