American Expres Reviews
Jun 05, 2017
Uh-Oh
Anonymous

Just read the last review by savingsguy

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
Kig of cards
Sharif1973
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

This card is the best card I have the customer service is very nice ,I applyed for it I got approved in second with$ 6000, very nice ,6 months later I got 6000 more even better

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
Worst card to get
Anonymous

Contemplated between this and the capital one competitor.

worst customer service. They tell you all the nice things to get you to apply but the customer service is very much lacking.

equifax: 760 Trans: 763 and they gave me a $1000 limit with an income of over 100k a year? I'll pass AMEX

the only reason that I don't cancel right away is because it will hurt my score. DO NOT APPLY. Worst card choice ever....

before I applied, rep told me that they would expedite it...when I applied, they couldn't do that anymore all of a sudden. Manager told me that this limit is the most they can provide.

i hung up and applied for the venture capital one and got a 25K limit. I'll spend all my money with capital. Way better anyway!!

more ...
Jun 15, 2017
It's in My Wallet!!!
Msmelli
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

The cash back component...the more you use the more you earn.

more ...
Mar 25, 2017
Amazing sign up offer! 80,000 POINTS!
jonconsa
1 Contributions 2 People Helped

got approved right away! 10.5k limit

more ...
Mar 16, 2017
Don't get it.
Vivace59
1 Contributions 1 Person Helped

It will say the approval Odd is very good and when apply for the card they will disapprove you and impact on your credit score. Garabahe 

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
No APR for 12 months, great customer ser
MiisJade
1 Contributions 2 People Helped

I really like this card, customer service is amazing! I forgot to pay my bill the first month, and was freaking out cause I didn't want it to go on my credit report. When I called, they removed the late fee, and removed the late mark, then help me set up my account with email reminders. Thank you!

more ...
Apr 24, 2017
pending approval
Anonymous

I applied then it said congratulations it prompt me to the page to set an account online then it said an error went on. I tried refreshing then said the offer was no longer available so I am confused. I did a new application and said sorrynI did not qualify. 

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
SLindsey07
3 Contributions 5 People Helped

So far I have no complaints with this card. Yes, the fee is a little steep, but the fact that I can pay for lounge access at a reduced rate without having to be flying business (or with someone flying business) is a nice perk, plus there is one free companion voucher per year, so my husband or son can join me for a trip for "free". Personally, I have been super happy with AMEX and the partner offers that have easily saved me the annual fee's worth of money on items I would have purchased anyway. 

more ...
May 09, 2017
Excellent sign up bonus
jagrawr
6 Contributions 42 People Helped

Signed up for this card with a 100k Hilton Honors points sign up bonus after $3k spend in 3 months, as well as earn a free weekend night on the anniversary of card approval. Because I value Hilton Honors points at half a cent per point and a free weekend night at $250 based on my particular habits, I value the overall sign up bonus as being worth $750. With a $75 annual fee (that I would have to pay twice to get the free weekend night), my net value from the sign up bonus would be $600. Past the sign up bonus, I don't really find much value from the card and don't see myself keeping it past two years. i will likely downgrade to the no fee Hilton HHonors card when my 3rd annual fee comes due. 

Some of the most compelling benefits of the Surpass card include earning 12X points for Hilton purchases and complimentary Hilton HHonors Gold status. I already had Hilton Gold status prior to having this card, so that benefit didn't make a difference for me. As for earning 12X points, I don't take advantage of it because of the 2.7% foreign transaction fee. While I stay at Hilton properties a fair amount, most of my travel is inernational, not domestic, so I opt to use cards without foreign transaction fees over this one even when booking Hilton properties. Furthermore, unlike the Citi Hilton HHonors Reserve card, the free weekend night is a one-time benefit, not an annual one with minimum spend. 

Overall, the Amex Hilton Honors Surpass has an excellent sign up bonus, but, for me, not worth keeping once those sign up bonuses have been earned due to the presence of foreign transaction fees. 

more ...