American Expres Reviews
Jan 29, 2017
Personal Savings account has been good
savingsguy
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

I have had this account for several years. It has a high interest rate compared to the market though not the highest.  I also have several other savings accounts so I don't depend on this for everything.  I largely put money in this for keeping and not spending.  I also like companies that have great customer service.  After Amex started a relationship with Charles Schwab for a co-branded credit card, I applied for that credit card and now I can access my amex personal savings from clicking to my amex account from schwab.  It is almost like my amex personal savings is a Charles Schwab savings account :).  That is great because Charles Schwab, while great for investing and checking, doesn't have a great savings account.  Likewise, the Amex personal savings doesn't have investing or checking. That said, the Amex Schwab Credit Card and Amex Personal Savings are a perfect fit for the Charles Schwab checking and investing accounts.

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
Seems nice but my application declined
Ratzilla
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

After weeks of research I finally decided to give it a shot and apply for this card. I've never been worried about not getting approved for a card given my high credit score of around 760 and perfect history. My approval odds being "Very good" was just reinforcement. To my surprise I was declined. Not exactly sure how they came to this conclusion when reviewing my application. Guess I will find out when they mail me my copy. 

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
My first Amex 😏
jchambers1988
7 Contributions 12 People Helped

Finally approved for this card with a CK score of 660  ....It doesn't  have the best terms with the annual fee and no intro apr like my chase and Capital One but it's a good for now ....happy to be apart of Amex 💳

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Great card for hotel purchases & beyond!
brlgoodtimes
3 Contributions 27 People Helped

I have less than a year's credit history with 100% on-time payments. Not for sure where CK gets their scores but my actual Fico 8 score is 708 and my actual Transunion is 729. 20 year old college student, but I travel a lot and stay in a number of Starwood hotels, so I gave this a shot! I previously had Green Charge card, Gold Delta SkyMiles card, and Everyday AmEx's, but I ridded of my green & Delta cards, so now I still have the Everyday but added the Premier Rewards Gold Card and this SPG. PRG is great because you get 3x points for booking any airline and 2x points on restaurants, gas, and grocery (which is most of my spending!) SPG may seem tricky because there are not tons of Starwood hotels everywhere but SPG is partnered with others so I can receive 2x or 3x points on any Marriott resorts as well. My charge cards have no pre-set limits, but my highest otherwise was my Costco Citi Visa with only $1200, and AmEx approved me for $8,500 for this SPG card. Awesome!

more ...
Oct 21, 2016
AMEX Instant Apoproval
CreditKarmaConvert
Top Contributor 14 Contributions 155 People Helped

I'm finally back in with AMEX today.  Instant Approval

with 676 fico score.  Got starting Limit $5K.  I'm very Happy!!! :-)

more ...
Sep 10, 2016
Great Card
Anonymous

Applied score in the low 600's. Approved

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
Ridiculous
jasehoward
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

Wasn't approved with a 728 and 154k annual income. Pfft.

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Applied and qualified
Anonymous

When CK states your approval odds are very good they aren't kidding. I applied for this one first and qualified for 1K. A week later applied for Chase Sapphire and was approved for 5K. Scores TU 697 and EQ 692.

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
SLindsey07
3 Contributions 3 People Helped

So far I have no complaints with this card. Yes, the fee is a little steep, but the fact that I can pay for lounge access at a reduced rate without having to be flying business (or with someone flying business) is a nice perk, plus there is one free companion voucher per year, so my husband or son can join me for a trip for "free". Personally, I have been super happy with AMEX and the partner offers that have easily saved me the annual fee's worth of money on items I would have purchased anyway. 

more ...