American Expres Reviews
Jan 29, 2017
Personal Savings account has been good
savingsguy
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

I have had this account for several years. It has a high interest rate compared to the market though not the highest.  I also have several other savings accounts so I don't depend on this for everything.  I largely put money in this for keeping and not spending.  I also like companies that have great customer service.  After Amex started a relationship with Charles Schwab for a co-branded credit card, I applied for that credit card and now I can access my amex personal savings from clicking to my amex account from schwab.  It is almost like my amex personal savings is a Charles Schwab savings account :).  That is great because Charles Schwab, while great for investing and checking, doesn't have a great savings account.  Likewise, the Amex personal savings doesn't have investing or checking. That said, the Amex Schwab Credit Card and Amex Personal Savings are a perfect fit for the Charles Schwab checking and investing accounts.

more ...
Apr 23, 2017
Credit status symbol
Bpin770
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

I apply for the card and get an instant approval current credit score is 775 trans union and 708 equifax. Couple months back credit score went to 817 and 803. Took my utilization on my discover card to about 85% so while I'm paying that balance down I transferred half of the money to a capital one which had a 0 balance and opened up a American Express account. Received a $15,000 limit and transfer the other $7000 to it that way I have 0% interest on the amount the That I owe for 12 months

more ...
Apr 17, 2017
Approved with 612 and 616 scores
Anonymous

I am a SkyMiles rewards member and was sent an offer to apply for this card directly from Delta. They offered 60,000 sky miles points if you make $1000 in purchases within the first 3 months of having the card. They also issue a $50 statement credit after you make 1 Delta purchase within the first 3 months. I was instantly approved (online application) with 616 and 612 Equifax and TransUnion scores and given a $1000 limit. Very happy to have this card as I travel a lot and will make good use of the $29 discounted entry into the Sky Club lounges and no foreign transaction fees! When you activate your card they also transfer you over to a representative to walk you through all of the benefits and make sure you understand how to qualify for the bonuses. 

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Great card for hotel purchases & beyond!
brlgoodtimes
4 Contributions 56 People Helped

I have less than a year's credit history with 100% on-time payments. Not for sure where CK gets their scores but my actual Fico 8 score is 708 and my actual Transunion is 729. 20 year old college student, but I travel a lot and stay in a number of Starwood hotels, so I gave this a shot! I previously had Green Charge card, Gold Delta SkyMiles card, and Everyday AmEx's, but I ridded of my green & Delta cards, so now I still have the Everyday but added the Premier Rewards Gold Card and this SPG. PRG is great because you get 3x points for booking any airline and 2x points on restaurants, gas, and grocery (which is most of my spending!) SPG may seem tricky because there are not tons of Starwood hotels everywhere but SPG is partnered with others so I can receive 2x or 3x points on any Marriott resorts as well. My charge cards have no pre-set limits, but my highest otherwise was my Costco Citi Visa with only $1200, and AmEx approved me for $8,500 for this SPG card. Awesome!

more ...
Mar 25, 2017
Amazing sign up offer! 80,000 POINTS!
jonconsa
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

got approved right away! 10.5k limit

more ...
Mar 16, 2017
Don't get it.
Vivace59
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

It will say the approval Odd is very good and when apply for the card they will disapprove you and impact on your credit score. Garabahe 

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
Another Quick Approval
lovelylowe36
4 Contributions 0 People Helped

Credit Karma is on point! Applied for 2 AMEX within 3 minutes and both were approved!

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
this card is not as advertised
Anonymous

The problem with this card is that it is not that bad, however it is advertised as being a points card; but since I have been using it off and on for a couple of months I have not earned a single point on this card. I let them know what is wrong with the card and both reps said something completely different; one told me I had to make a payment for that billing cycle and another told me that I don't earn points for the first month. I think that these reasons are too convenient it seems like the rep's looked at the most obvious solution and used that as an excuse why the card is not earning points. This is a trivial complaint but how I see it is if you have to contact the cc company for any issues, “To me” that is not a good sign.

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
SLindsey07
3 Contributions 3 People Helped

So far I have no complaints with this card. Yes, the fee is a little steep, but the fact that I can pay for lounge access at a reduced rate without having to be flying business (or with someone flying business) is a nice perk, plus there is one free companion voucher per year, so my husband or son can join me for a trip for "free". Personally, I have been super happy with AMEX and the partner offers that have easily saved me the annual fee's worth of money on items I would have purchased anyway. 

more ...