Banking Reviews


Results 1-10 of 104Results per page: 5 | 10 | 25Page 1 of 11   Previous | Next

Mar 05, 2015

1 Contributions
0 People Helped

Easy to use. Not feature-filled, but look at the name. No need to worry about fees, they cut almost all of them out.

Read More

t3hub3rk1tten's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Sep 11, 2014

1 Contributions
22 People Helped
Helpful to 22 out of 30 people

Everyone near a One West Bank should visit one to see what the other banks have lost: (1) Employees not abused by profit-at-all-cost corporations, (2) Employees not forced to recite corporate speeches, (3) No lines.

Seriously, the regular parking spots 10 feet from the front door of the Torrance office are NEVER occupied at lunch time!.  None of the OWBs ever have a line! In Torrance, Hermosa and Manhattan Beach their employees are happy to see you - yay it's a customer!

Sure, I need a secondary account at a major bank so I can do interstate transactions and such. But it hurts to wait in those long lines and deal with the scripted-by-management conversations. 

I've always had excellent service from OWB - they even called both times when I messed up, to fix things and prevent penalty fees.

Summary - only negatives with OWB are needing a secondary bank for interstate transactions, and my fear that the lack of customers will result in bankruptcy and ruin this unbelievably great company.

Read More

markpm's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Jan 19, 2015

3 Contributions
10 People Helped
Helpful to 5 out of 5 people

This is by far the best bank I have ever used. I have used them for 2 years now without any complaints. They reimburse ALL ATM fees you get charged by other ATM owners. Their customer service is top notch! No bank I have ever dealt with has a live person answer the phone right away. I have never had a phone call with them that was not positive. I needed to get a ton of cash out one time (like $4000). They were able to adjust the ATM withdrawl limit to allow for this. They notify you via email if you have items that are about to clear causing your account to become overdrawn. That gives you an extra day. Now they do charge you a fee for returned items if your account doesn't have enough funds, however they do work with you. It's great that the checking account ties in with their Brokerage products, so you can easily invest in Mutual funds, etc. Free printed checks! I moved and wanted checks printed with my new address. They did that for free! Best bank ever! I read there were a couple of negative reviews on this forum. I don't know their circumstances, but I'm sure there is another site to their stories.

Read More

kpraeger's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Mar 05, 2015

6 Contributions
5 People Helped

I first opened an account with this bank in 1995, and have enjoyed a wonderful relaltionship with it ever since. I got my first credit card through them, and they even recommended a security program for my computer, with a trial to try! If I had issues with online banking that I needed help with, they were there for me. No question was to insignificant to be answered in a professional, thorough way. I'm just the average custormer, but always been made to feel like royalty at any branch I go to. I would gladly recommend Union Bank to anyone.

Read More

Catsissie's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Jan 03, 2015

1 Contributions
15 People Helped
Helpful to 15 out of 16 people

I usually don't write reviews, but this website has helped me tremendously in the process of rebuilding and reparing my credit. I currently have the fingerhut credit card that i opened 5 months ago with a CL of $600 at the time of opening, during that time my credit score was in the 500 range towards the middle. I made all my payments on time for 5 months and it increased my CL $600 so i am now at $1200. I am still on the road to better credit but this card helped alot and i recommend this card to any one trying rebuild their credit.

Read More

acweeden4987's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Jan 02, 2015

1 Contributions
4 People Helped
Helpful to 4 out of 4 people

only challenge i've had is they have very few locations. in addition, they charge for atm fees on top of any fee other establishments apply.  

Read More

spgomez08's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Mar 18, 2014

1 Contributions
17 People Helped
Helpful to 17 out of 23 people

I have been banking with Everbank for approximately 2 years now and I am very happy with them. They provide higher rates for their savings accounts than all local banks, their customer service has been top notch anytime I've needed to call and they provide many ways to get in touch with them. I particularly like the Twitter option. Since opening my accounts with Everbank, I have since refinanced my mortgage with Everhome Mortgage and have been pleased with them.

My only complaint with Everbank (if you could even call it that) is their application process. At the time I opened my account, I had to Fedex (which they paid for) my application and a check for my opening deposit to their offices. I would imagine that in this day and age their could be a simpler way to do this. Overall, it was a relatively smooth process as their customer service helped me throughout. I am very happy I switched from Wells Fargo/Bank of America to Everbank and would highly recommend it to anyone who is considering Everbank for their banking needs.

Read More

jdibella's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Mar 06, 2015

2 Contributions
0 People Helped

I have been a USAA member for 3 years. In that time they have continued to add services to help their members with struggles or just to get responsible with their money. My favorite service is the financial advisors. I call them when I have a question on what to do in a situation and they always steer me in the right direction. Best part is that they can provide EVERYTHING that you'd look for: loans, banking, stocks, retirement, insurance, etc. I don't see any reason to go anywhere else.

The only downside compared to other online banks is the fact that their checking and savings accounts have such a low percentage; I guess that's the price you pay when you can keep everything in one place. 

Read More

LWP1989's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Feb 06, 2015

Helpful to 2 out of 2 people

I have been a Discover Card member for many years.  I recently, in the past month, opened a Discover savings and discover checking account. I setup some of my bills in the bill pay part, and my Discover Card was moved over and appeared in my bill pay automatically.  

I setup payment for an account for around $130, as my account was just funded and only had a few hundred in it so far.  I get a notice a few days later that a check was returned and I was charged a $30 over drawn fee.  They rejected the payment and credited my account bank for the amount of the check minus the $30 fee.  I call as the payment was over $9k, where I only had a few hundred in the account so far.  So I know I didn't schedule this payment as I can do basic math.  After being on the phone with them for 20 minutes, they said that they show the payment was scheduled online so they can't dispute the $30 fee.  I told them I would not schedule a $9k payment when I have $400 in the account.  They said they were sorry but there was nothing they could do.  I asked them if they could disconnect my discover card from my bank account and they said no that it was automatic and they can't disconnect them.  Only a month in and this account is costing me $30, which is not worth it.  

I called Discover Card to make sure they don't try to process the check again as the payment was in error.  I asked them what the fee woudl be on their side and they said since it was an error they will not charge me the $25 fee, they would normally charge.  They said that was a large payment and they understand.  They were great.

What a differnce between the two companies within Discover Finiancial.  Both people on the phone were nice but the fact that Discover bank would rather lose a new customer, who just put a decent amount of money in the Discover Savings account, than credit back the $30 fee, speaks a lot to me.  

I can not recommend Discover Bank checking to anybody.  The fact that without knowing it I was able to schedule a payment and click three buttons but not able to remember that.....and I would remember a payment that size or a payment to my Discover Card from a new bank account.  Bye Bye Discover Bank!

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Jun 11, 2014

Helpful to 7 out of 8 people

I have been with AMBK.com for over 10 years, and their service, and perks are almost unbeatable. They always have a higher than average interest rate on their free checking. And the ATM refund fee program is great too.

When I started their rate was 6% now its about .40 but its still better than a lot of other bigger banks, and I use the prepaid deposit envelopes without any issues. I highly recommend them!

Read More
  Write A Reply |
Results 1-10 of 104Results per page: 5 | 10 | 25Page 1 of 11   Previous | Next