Banking Reviews


Results 1-10 of 104Results per page: 5 | 10 | 25Page 1 of 11   Previous | Next
Feb 22, 2017
Great when learning to adult
CerineUnity88
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

...But not much beyond that. I've had my Simple account since 2013 and loved it in the beginning. I was able to save easily, customer service was great, etc. Not being able to deposit cash is annoying but not really a deal breaker. Fast forward to last year when I tried to buy a house. Simple had no way of wiring funds when I closed, and suggested I send the mortgage company a traveler's check instead, which isn't accepted for extremely large sums (like when buying a house). Luckily for me I went in with someone else who is with a credit union, so I was able to transfer that money to him before we closed. Transferring large sums like this right before closing is strongly discouraged by mortgage companies and increases the chances of being declined. (I had to make many phone calls to my mortgage complany and their bank, and essientially be given permission for this transaction. All days before we closed.) This was incredibly stressful on top of the normal stresses of buying a house. A couple of months later I opened an account with the same credit union for easier transfering of money, although I kept Simple as my primary account.

This year Simple has changed to a new parent bank, BBVA Compass, and I'm not sure if the wiring situation will change or not. However I've had problems with migrating my account to this new bank. I submitted all the new account information for direct deposit to my payroll servces, instructed by Simple, and was told to wait for a nofitication (from Simple) that my direct deposit had gone through. Well, it's been nearly a month and one round of paychecks and I still don't have access to the new account, or my paycheck. My mortgage is coming up soon and it appears that my money has gone through to the new account, only I can't finish migrating over. This was discovered during a conversation with one of Simple's reps, who has not yet gotten back to me on how I can access my new account. I'm just sort of left stranded with dwindling savings and no idea when or if I can get my money soon (or at all). 

I really wish more banks had the same user interface features as Simple or that Simple wouldn't have these strange problems. Day-to-day scenarios are usually fine, but if anything weird happens it's a confusing, painful process to be sorted out, oftentimes creating a tedious workaround with other banks because Simple doesn't offer something basic, like wiring funds. Glad I didn't have them when I studied abroad!

It may be time to take the leap to a fully "adult" credit union. 

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
Professional and helpful
arthurbrownleeiv
1 Contributions 1 Person Helped

I've been with CS since 2007 when they first started their heckling services. In that time, I've never had a complaint. Their phone staff are helpful, always there, and professional. Deposits generally go through next day from my phone. When I had my card number stolen, they had the money back in my account the same day. 

Over all, I'll likely never leave them. I've had other local banks over the years and always wind up disappointed. 

more ...
Jan 29, 2017
Personal Savings account has been good
savingsguy
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

I have had this account for several years. It has a high interest rate compared to the market though not the highest.  I also have several other savings accounts so I don't depend on this for everything.  I largely put money in this for keeping and not spending.  I also like companies that have great customer service.  After Amex started a relationship with Charles Schwab for a co-branded credit card, I applied for that credit card and now I can access my amex personal savings from clicking to my amex account from schwab.  It is almost like my amex personal savings is a Charles Schwab savings account :).  That is great because Charles Schwab, while great for investing and checking, doesn't have a great savings account.  Likewise, the Amex personal savings doesn't have investing or checking. That said, the Amex Schwab Credit Card and Amex Personal Savings are a perfect fit for the Charles Schwab checking and investing accounts.

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
Payment issues via their website...
Anonymous

So I make a $350 payment on 2/17.  Today I check my account and it's showing payment reversed?!  No ryhme, no reason but a whole lot of incompetence coming out of this bank.  I guess maybe they're hoping to hit me with a late fee which is not going to happen.  This is the second time I've had an issue submitting a payment via thie website.  The first was when I made a payment out of my Wells Fargo bank account.  Payment showed processed but a couple of days past the due date I checked the account and it showed no payment never made/received.  I called and got no where with the rep and was told to make the payment over the phone which I did.   I'm done with these idiots.

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Great bank to re-establish your credit
rtag
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

The interest is very high and the items they sell are marked way up in some cases double. I rate a 2 for that reason, but if you want to build your credit its a great start.

more ...
Oct 31, 2016
Horrible customer service!
Anonymous

Too many service charges!  When I asked then to take some off - they refused and told me that I should go bank in Canada where I live!!  When I reported this to customer service they didn't care.  Have taken all my money out and am going to a friendlier bank!

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
Horrible
PrincessBootyyy
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

Had a line of credit never missed a payment reportedue late every single time to charge off but says paid each month I paid every month got three calls a day after I paid demanding money in the most disrespect ways moved to BOA never been happier

more ...
Dec 03, 2016
Great rates!
RobRex
3 Contributions 0 People Helped

I found out about VirtualBank by searching for CD rates. I decided to open an account since they offered me better rates than my main bank was offering.  

Overall, I've had a great experience with them. Opening my account was pretty easy. I linked my primary bank account to make my initial deposit and the rest was taken care of.  I really like the fact that I can quickly transfer funds between my VirtualBank account and my main bank without any issues.  

I haven't really considered VirtualBank as a primary bank, but to earn a bit of extra cash, why not.

more ...
Nov 08, 2016
never had any problems
bgirlchilli
1 Contributions 1 Person Helped

I have their Money Market business business banking. They have superior interest rates than the high street banks offer. Also, their fines/ fees are lower than BoA.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Very friendly. Great customer service.
Anonymous

They might not have the most locations but they are very helpful and very friendly. 24 hour customer support where you can actually talk to a person.

more ...
Results 1-10 of 104Results per page: 5 | 10 | 25Page 1 of 11   Previous | Next