Student Loan Reviews


Results 1-10 of 25Results per page: 5 | 10 | 25Page 1 of 3   Previous | Next
Aug 18, 2017
Better than SoFi even with a higher rate
Anonymous

Earnest offered a slightly higher rate than I received from SoFi. However, Earnest offers a biweekly automatic payment option vs SoFi's standard monthly autopay. The biweekly autopay option ends up saving you money in the long run. I completed my application and waited about a week while I was deciding which lender to go with. In that time, Earnest offered a $300 credit if I went with them. This helped solidify my decision.

The one downside to Earnest was that I received a higher rate when I submitted my full app vs my initial interest rate. I was told that the initial rate is almost never the same as what is offered with the full application. This struck me as a bait and switch but I admit I understand more details come from the full application. Still, I didn't think that my application worse.

Regardless, in my situation it made sense to go with a slightly higher rate with Earnest which would end up being a slightly lower rate than SoFi because of the biweekly autopay option. The $300 credit was icing on the cake!

more ...
Aug 19, 2017
I would recommend SOFI.
Anonymous

This was the easiest loan I have ever applied for. Everything done online & deposited within 10 days. Great interest rates. I'm also refinancing my home.

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
They have a system to keep you in debt
goobers87
1 Contributions 2 People Helped

Their autopay takes any additional payments past the minimum amount and instead of paying towards the principal, applies the payment towards future months' payments, therefore extending out your next payment due date. This only happens until you reach 24 months in advance, at which point they stop applying auto payments towards the loan altogether. If you want to keep paying down the loan, you have to process payments manually. There is no notification on their part that they are no longer applying autopayments towards that loan group. They make it as difficult as possible for you to pay off a loan ahead of time so that they can collect as much interest as possible. Its all a system to keep you accruing interest as long as they can. Not sure how people that work there can sleep at night, its terrible.

more ...
Jul 25, 2017
Anonymous

THIS COMAPNY HAVE A GOOD SERVICE ONLY DOESN'T HAVE A SECURITY CARDS

more ...
Aug 02, 2017
Student Loan
Anonymous

You may get approved from a student loan, however, the issues arise once you have to pay the loan off. They generate statements about a week prior to payment being due and it must be ACH or account already verified otherwise it takes a minimum or three business days to set up the account in their system. Additionally, the staff is not fully trained to answer to handle questions outside of the scripted responses and talking to a supervisor is near impossible unless you file a complaint. Interest rates kept going up on my variable loan although my credit kept going up and no history of missed payments. I ended up refinancing with a fixed loan with a bank for a much lower rate and a shorter term that ended up being a little over the monthly payments I was making to lendkey. 

more ...
Aug 09, 2017
I would give zero stars if I could.
UNCLERYMAN
3 Contributions 33 People Helped

I used them for a consolidation student loan. After one year, my variable interest rate would go up each and every month. Adding at least $15 per month to my payment. Absolutely crazy! There are so many better options out there, please look elsewhere! Do not give your money to these crooks!

more ...
Jul 25, 2017
Don't do this to yourself
Anonymous

Avoid this company if you decide to send yourself into student debt. They will not work with you to make affordable payments. While they may be American, they follow a prompt when speaking and have no idea what to do when you ask for assistance.

more ...
Jul 28, 2017
Anonymous

I called to pay off my loan today, which has a 10.75% interest rate. I can get a line of credit with 0% for 15 months. Sallie Mae will not allow this cause they want to continue making money off me. There customer service is awful. They have also refused to change my last name after I got married despite receiving the appropriate paperwork and copy of my marriage license. My suggestion is to really compare and look at your options and keep in mind if you have to use Sallie Mae you will spend a lot of your time on the phone with customer service. I recommend staying away from Sallie Mae.

more ...
Results 1-10 of 25Results per page: 5 | 10 | 25Page 1 of 3   Previous | Next