Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Springleaf Financial Personal Loans

3.7 out of 5 stars
359 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 10, 2016
Fast easy process!
tlawson24 Borrower

This was a very easy process! I went into an office yesterday and applied. I was also prepared by calling ahead to see what documentation they needed. I wasn't there 30 minutes. The check was deposited in my account this morning. They used my Experian 556 which is my lowest but still glad I was approved for 5k with my credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 16, 2016
Predatory lender - Avoid at all costs!
FooledMe Borrower

Got this loan to consolidate debt for what I THOUGHT was a lower interest rate... Don't be fooled! Their interest compounds DAILY!

To make matters worse they would only give me the loan if I secured it with my car. Like an idiot I added them as lien holder to my vehicle and they gave me a loan for more than my car is worth... Which I didn't know at the time, so now I'm stuck with the loan and a car I'm trying to get rid of now due to mechanical issues, so now my car is upside-down financially. I would have been better off with the high interest on my previous loan and credit cards. With the loan from Springleaf about 55% of my payments go to interest. 

Somehow, 6 months later, and even though I've NEVER missed a payment I now owe more than what the loan was when I originally got it. I was late 2 weeks on a payment one month due to my hours unexpectedly being cut at my job, and when I finally made my payment literally 95% of my payment went towards interest. Now I realize the only way I can pay this loan down is to pay twice a month, which is DOUBLE the payment.

I tried to refinance the loan, as the always offer you, but they do not have a customer service department. You have to call the branch where you originated your loan and hope to speak to someone. Majority of the time they don't answer, and most of their incompetent staff claim they're unable to help you. They tell you that you need to speak to a manager, but she/he is always busy because there are only 3-4 people in each office. 

DO NOT DO BUISNESS WITH SPRINGLEAF... NOW OWNED BY ONEMAIN FINANCIAL. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Dec 08, 2016
It is an ok company
Anonymous Borrower

This is a good loan if you are short on cash for the short term. The interest is unacceptable.

more ...
Dec 08, 2016
Easy to apply and money received quickly
angate Borrower

This is a high interest loan but I needed the money at the time and Springleaf made the process quick and easy.  The staff in the office were friendly and helpful.  I later needed some additional money and they approved me for a small amount and made that process just as quick and easy.  I enjoy reading the articles and watching the videos on budgeting and other ways of responsibly managing your money.  Springleaf doesn't just loan money and make money, they actually give you tools to use to get better at managing your finances and improving your credit/credit score.

more ...
Dec 05, 2016
home loan
Anonymous Borrower

never use this company.  they will rob you blind

more ...
Dec 01, 2016
Getting it together
Anonymous Borrower

Springleaf helped our family get the loan we needed to help get us up on our feet and ahead a little😀

more ...
Nov 30, 2016
Occasional Savior
Anonymous Borrower

Very proffesional staff, I've done business at 2 locations and they have help emensly.

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Horrible Experience
Anonymous Borrower

They will prey on you if you do not listen to what they are saying and read the fine print!!!!! Yes they will approve you but they will also take advantage if you let them.

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Met My Needs
Lettuce70 Borrower

The loan was fairly easy to get and met my emergency needs at the time. The interest was way to high for the credit score and payment history I had but that comes with getting loans from non-banks. Overall, it was a good experience just working really hard to pay them off.

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Love!
Anonymous Borrower

Springleaf is awesome. I have never had an issue with it. Good customer service. Great people.

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
Consolidation
Anonymous Borrower

Very helpful in consolidating bills. Smooth application process. Affordable monthly payments. Great customer service!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.