Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Springleaf Financial Personal Loans

3.6 out of 5 stars
339 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 10, 2016
Fast easy process!
tlawson24 Borrower

This was a very easy process! I went into an office yesterday and applied. I was also prepared by calling ahead to see what documentation they needed. I wasn't there 30 minutes. The check was deposited in my account this morning. They used my Experian 556 which is my lowest but still glad I was approved for 5k with my credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 16, 2016
Predatory lender - Avoid at all costs!
FooledMe Borrower

Got this loan to consolidate debt for what I THOUGHT was a lower interest rate... Don't be fooled! Their interest compounds DAILY!

To make matters worse they would only give me the loan if I secured it with my car. Like an idiot I added them as lien holder to my vehicle and they gave me a loan for more than my car is worth... Which I didn't know at the time, so now I'm stuck with the loan and a car I'm trying to get rid of now due to mechanical issues, so now my car is upside-down financially. I would have been better off with the high interest on my previous loan and credit cards. With the loan from Springleaf about 55% of my payments go to interest. 

Somehow, 6 months later, and even though I've NEVER missed a payment I now owe more than what the loan was when I originally got it. I was late 2 weeks on a payment one month due to my hours unexpectedly being cut at my job, and when I finally made my payment literally 95% of my payment went towards interest. Now I realize the only way I can pay this loan down is to pay twice a month, which is DOUBLE the payment.

I tried to refinance the loan, as the always offer you, but they do not have a customer service department. You have to call the branch where you originated your loan and hope to speak to someone. Majority of the time they don't answer, and most of their incompetent staff claim they're unable to help you. They tell you that you need to speak to a manager, but she/he is always busy because there are only 3-4 people in each office. 

DO NOT DO BUISNESS WITH SPRINGLEAF... NOW OWNED BY ONEMAIN FINANCIAL. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jan 18, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

Very dishonest people, please look elsewhere.

more ...
Jan 09, 2017
Excellent, easy and fast to apply.
Anonymous Borrower

Fast and easy to apply, money was available almost immediately.

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

Good Day Everyone. My name is ****** ********, i am from Los Angeles California, i am married, i have been searching for a genuine loan company for the past 2 years and all i got was bunch of scams who made me to trust them and at the end of the day, the took all my money and left me moneyless, all my hope was lost, i got confused and frustrated, i lost my job and find it very difficult to feed my family, i never wanted to do anything will loan companies on net anymore, so i went to borrow some money from a friend, i told her all that happened and she said that she can help me, that she knows a loan company that can help me, that she just got a loan from them, she directed me on how to apply for the loan, i did as she told me, i applied, i never believed but i tried and to my surprise i got the loan in 24 hours, i could not believe my eyes, i am happy and rich today and i am thanking God that such loan companies like this still exist, please i advise everyone out there who are in need of loan to go for Mr, Mark Wayne, via email: ************** Thanks and Good Luck.

more ...
Dec 26, 2016
Life saver
Anonymous Borrower

was going through a tough time in my lofe and needed funds for bills... they were quick and easy to work with, very friendly..definitely recommend!

more ...
Dec 24, 2016
There when I needed it!
lollyloopp Borrower

I've had several loans through Springleaf over the past several years.  It is a friendly, guick, easy process and has helped with car repairs to reducing monthly expenses.  Interest may seem a little high but beats revolving credit cards.  Great disclosure as you find out the full cost of the loan and how much interest you will pay in the end.

more ...
Dec 23, 2016
Great
Anonymous Borrower

Good loan for bullring credit

more ...
Dec 16, 2016
Short term loan..short notice needed
Anonymous Borrower

Was able to apply and aproved for funds with short notice as needed.

more ...
Dec 09, 2016
AVOID THIS COMPANY
Anonymous Borrower

Company was not upfront about interest rates. Can not tell me how much of my payment goes towards principal. Sucks!!!!!!

more ...
Dec 09, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

GREAT LOAN AND YOU ARE ABLE TO EARN REWARDS POINTS AS YOU PAY OFF YOUR LOAN TO RECEIVE GIFT CARDS TO MAJOR RETAILERS AND RESTRAUNTS.

more ...
Dec 08, 2016
It is an ok company
Anonymous Borrower

This is a good loan if you are short on cash for the short term. The interest is unacceptable.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.