Upstart Personal Loans Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
741 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 01, 2017
Low rate and great customer service!
TechieChris Borrower

There are a number of documents that they will most likely ask for as the process goes on, but they don't ask for in the beginning.  Have these ready when you apply so you don't have to delay:

- Copy of your diploma

- Copy of your most recent pay stub

- Copy of the receipt your bank sends you with the check image for your most recent paycheck

- Copy of your most recent checking account statement (or simply connect your account when prompted)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 13, 2015
Still ironing out some wrinkles
Anonymous Borrower

I really like the idea of Upstart and think there is a lot of potential. They need to work on their disclosures and some technical bugs that could be perceived as poor customer service. My primary reason for the 3-star rating is that the 5% origination fee is not as clear as it could be. Although the amount is represented in the APR disclosure, the deduction of that fee from the principal amount at the time of disbursement is not clear until the customer receives the loan offer. This should be made clearer during the application process. My rate was 6+%, which is better than my bank, but 10+% with the origination fee added in. The identity verification call/process was redundant but I get it, there's a lot of fraud out there. The online application was simple and straightforward. However, I received too many confirmation emails and several emails that had conflicting information (e.g., an email that said I was very close to meeting the minimum credit score rating, even though my application was already being processed and my credit score is excellent). I also received an email addressed to someone other than myself, that made me question their privacy and security measures. Lastly, I was unable to contact their 650 or toll free phone numbers even though it was within operating hours. The 650 number answered and immediately dropped the call while the toll free number (third party) forwarded me to a generic voicemail box. 

Overall, I like the product and am optimistic that once they've ironed out the wrinkles. it will be a great alternative to traditional bank lending.

And I received my Amazon gift card via an email gift card code the same day my application was approved. The funds were transferred the next business day, as stated.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

May 18, 2017
Approved quickly
Anonymous Borrower

Online process was quick and easy

more ...
May 17, 2017
Quick, modern, fair, and convenient
BGTBMD Borrower

You may have to upload quite a few additional documents, but this company stepped up for me where many others would not. While my interest rate is higher than I would have preferred, they allowed me to secure relocation funds for my medical residency when other companies, including those who specialize in helping doctors, would not.

more ...
May 17, 2017
Everything was very easy and smooth.
Anonymous Borrower

I had a great experience during my calls. People were frindly and their porcess and website are very nice. It's good to be able to do this from my couch.

more ...
May 17, 2017
Fast and Easy
Anonymous Borrower

No hassle, easy and convenient.  I am excited to repair my credit and get out of debt thanks to Upstart~!

more ...
May 17, 2017
Probably the easiest thing Ive done!!
Anonymous Borrower

I was able to get this loan done in less than 5 minutes allowing me to consolidate so easy!!

more ...
May 15, 2017
Quick and fast.
Anonymous Borrower

Although it was a few days wait due to it being a bust time, my loan was processed fast.

more ...
May 12, 2017
Simple, quick and convenient

This is my first time receiving a loan from Upstart. So allow me to share my experience.

A little backstory. I am currently unemployed, I receive Social Security disability & I also receive child support for my daughter.  As you may know it. There are a lot of loan companies that are not willing to give a loan to a person like myself because of that. But of course I wasn't going to let that detour Me. So after reviewing plenty of companies. I was down to Up Start & Marcus loans. After comparing the two. Up Start was the best for me. Simply because they do not do a hard inquiry until you actually except & sign your loan/promise Sarri agreement. All and all it took 14 days( including weekends) for me to : submit the application, upload necessary documents, do a phone interview, upload more documents( Drivers license), verify my email because the names were different on my Gmail account LOL. Then I was a proof May 11, 2017. Excepted the loan before 5 PM and received it May 12,2017 directly in my bank account @ 3am. Simple.

My CS: 698

Fico: 631

Derogatory accounts: 3

Hard inquiries: 7

I also have two credit cards.

I got approved for 2,500 with a five-year payment term. And which I'm going to pay it off within a year. At the rate of $61 a month. That way I won't have to pay back so much interest

This company is excellent. And I also chose when to make my payments. Also, they reply back on average pretty fast. Even though they have a lot of applications to review.

more ...
May 11, 2017
A life saver!

The application is super easy, but the approval process was a bit lengthy [about one week]; however, the relief that my credit card debt is now in an installment loan is such a huge weight off my shoulders and worth the anticipation.  Upstart gave me a chance when many others would not because of my debt utilization, but they consider your work and education history when processing your information.  My payments will no longer be eaten up by interest every month, practically going no where, and my debt will be gone in less than five years!  Buh-bye high interest cards and hello to a debt free future!

more ...
May 11, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

AMAZING! Great customer service. Took a few weeks to get my loan but experience was outstanding 

more ...
May 11, 2017
Easy application and no prepayment fee!
Anonymous Borrower

The application process was painless, you can adjust the amount easily on a scale and it updates automatically!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.