Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Upstart Personal Loans

4.9 out of 5 stars
934 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 01, 2017
Low rate and great customer service!
TechieChris Borrower

There are a number of documents that they will most likely ask for as the process goes on, but they don't ask for in the beginning.  Have these ready when you apply so you don't have to delay:

- Copy of your diploma

- Copy of your most recent pay stub

- Copy of the receipt your bank sends you with the check image for your most recent paycheck

- Copy of your most recent checking account statement (or simply connect your account when prompted)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 18, 2016
Second loan approvals a bust
EA410 Borrower

I've been a customer of Upstart's with an active loan since early 2015. All on-time or early payments above the minimum. 683 Transunion FICO score (the only credit bureau they pull) and was denied for a second loan due to "Your current and/or expected income is insufficient to support payments on an Upstart Loan in addition to your existing payment obligations." Um, not only do I make a salary in the mid $90s but my credit history is flawless with on-time payments and I requested "pay off credit cards" as my reason for the second loan. Even at the highest APR, my monthly payments would be lower than they are now. If Upstart is supposed to look beyond your credit score, they certainly didn't the second time around.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Feb 22, 2017
Quickest modern loan service ever!
karmicgold Borrower

I've been carrying a lot of credit card debt and between the minimum payments, finance charges and interest, I wasn't getting anywhere. It was literally filling up a bucket of water without a bottom. I'm in small business and do direct sales and was able to include that income to get approved for a loan within minutes. Now, I can breathe and stop holding a grudge against the credit card company and myself. 

more ...
Feb 09, 2017
So far so good
Anonymous Borrower

I just got approved for a personal loan with Upstart. The process was fairly quick and pleasant. I'm so happy that I'm getting this chance to remove some financial hurdles.

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
First Loan, Easy Application
frannie24 Borrower

Loan application was fast and the team members responded to every question I had in a very fast and efficient manor.  I am very happy with their communiation and the whole process.  Start to end, in my bank account in less than a week.  I got a high loan amount, with a high interest rate.  It's worth it if you can value out of the loan.

more ...
Feb 01, 2017
Low rate and great customer service!
TechieChris Borrower

There are a number of documents that they will most likely ask for as the process goes on, but they don't ask for in the beginning.  Have these ready when you apply so you don't have to delay:

- Copy of your diploma

- Copy of your most recent pay stub

- Copy of the receipt your bank sends you with the check image for your most recent paycheck

- Copy of your most recent checking account statement (or simply connect your account when prompted)

more ...
Jan 30, 2017
Prompt, Friendly and Easy to Work With!
ashmc06 Borrower

Upstart has been prompt with friendly, knowledgeable customer service reps from Day 1. I really appreciate all of their help and guidance and am so happy to start my next (healthier) financial chapter! Thank you Upstart!

more ...
Jan 27, 2017
Approved for a loan to pay Credit Cards
Anonymous Borrower

This was an incredibly simply and easy process. It was also a huge relief to read the Promissary Note and not be sweating bullets the entire time. Upstart was strait forward with me through the whole process and their phone support team is top notch. I had accrued heavy Credit Card debt paying lawyer fees in order to gain custody of my son and remove him from a hostile environment. The past year has been painfully stressful dealing with the court case as well as only making minimum payments on each card only to have the monthly interest charges fill them back up. It is such a relief to only have to one account to maintain now and to know that it will be payed off in 3-years.

I really appreciate what Upstart did for me and woudl recomend them to anyone struggling wtih a similar issue. 

more ...
Jan 26, 2017
Really transparent
Anonymous Borrower

I did a lot of research, this company ranks at the top.  SO, I did more research and became a borrower. Good interest rate, fast and transparent.  There is a fee initiation that is based on the loan but that is quoted as part of the interest rate and ALL companies (even those credit companies that want zero percent interest for a time, are sneaking in fees...less transparent than Prosper!)

more ...
Jan 25, 2017
Straightforward, decent interest rates.
Anonymous Borrower

Unlike some other similar companies, my experience with Upstart was that everything you need to know is explained thorougly and brought to your attention.

No hidden, tiny clauses in the agreement.  Yes, you do have to review it carefully, but I found that the agreement was exactly what the website summarizes accurately,

and the person who interviewed me made sure that I was told in person all the essential details (that I had already read on the website).  Documentation is easy to provide through their web interface, makes the process proceed quickly.

more ...
Jan 25, 2017
Great Loan
jtierney78 Borrower

Great company to borrow from! Staff is helpful and friendly, competitive interest rates, quick approval! You wont regret getting a loan with Upstart!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 25, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.