Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Upstart Personal Loans

4.9 out of 5 stars
1051 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 29, 2016
Easy and understanding!
TheGhostHybrid Borrower

These folks are amazing. They are really easy to talk to, super understanding of your situation, and want to help. I just got my loan approved and will be getting it tomorrow. Thanks again!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 18, 2016
Second loan approvals a bust
EA410 Borrower

I've been a customer of Upstart's with an active loan since early 2015. All on-time or early payments above the minimum. 683 Transunion FICO score (the only credit bureau they pull) and was denied for a second loan due to "Your current and/or expected income is insufficient to support payments on an Upstart Loan in addition to your existing payment obligations." Um, not only do I make a salary in the mid $90s but my credit history is flawless with on-time payments and I requested "pay off credit cards" as my reason for the second loan. Even at the highest APR, my monthly payments would be lower than they are now. If Upstart is supposed to look beyond your credit score, they certainly didn't the second time around.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Dec 06, 2016
excellent response time
trictoc Borrower

the only thing i would improve would be eliminating or lowering the origination fee. . . . i'd prefer it be incorporated into the interest rate rather than deducted from the requested loan amount.

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
Be 100% sure you need it
Mlaguil1 Borrower

The company has no cancellation policy/period. Because of this you owe the origination fee and interest the minute they deposit money in your account. The loan process moved very quickly, I applied and was approved on Friday, byou Monday I got an email that the money was on the way. The same day I sent customer service and email requesting to cancel the loan since I was able to borrow the money from family. I then had the money in my account on Tuesday and called customer service to ask about cancelling the loan. After being put on hold I was told there was no way they could cancel after the money was sent, but I was more than welcome to do a loan payoff. For a $1400 loan I got $1316, so for having the money less than 24 hours I'm held responsible for the $84 origination fee and already $1 in interest. Do not sign up for a loan with this company unless you are 100% you need it and are good with the terms.

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
Consolidation
Anonymous Borrower

The process was super easy - stil a relatively high interest rate, but way lower than what I could get elsewhere.

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
Easy, Fast and Great reates
Anonymous Borrower

I applied and the whole process took 3 days. Great customer service and great rates. Highly recommended

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
Easy process
Anonymous Borrower

Great staff that will work with you to get you the best options and interest rates 

more ...
Dec 05, 2016
Easy process, great rate!
Anonymous Borrower

Quick and convenient- easy online process. Took about 2.5 weeks from application to funding. Definite thumbs up to the great rate!

more ...
Dec 05, 2016
Easiest process ever
rvcaple Borrower

I filled out the forms, uploaded my documentation, had a quick 2-5 min call to verify my identity (on a Sunday evening, which was amazing). Next day in the morning I wake up and my loan was approved. LIFE-SAVER!

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
A quick, painless experience...
Anonymous Borrower

a quick, painless experience applying for a personal loan to consolidate some of my credit card debt. My APR went up after initial proposal due to my master degree being a German degree that was not recognized.  Wondering why thought otherwise a good process, they discount a 5% origination fee from the loan.

more ...
Nov 30, 2016
Easy process
Anonymous Borrower

Once I did some research on peer-to-peer lending, I was comfortable using Upstart. They aren't the cheapest, but I believe they are more than FAIR in their fees and evaluation process. I did have the option to speak to customer service to finalize my verification items, and he was very helpful and friendly. I like that they consider your education and work more in addition to your credit score. I haven't been late in more than 2 decades and it doesn't seem to make a difference. I think they just give everyone the "going rate", so I'm thankful for Upstart to get some of this high interest debt paid off faster and for a fair rate.

more ...
Nov 30, 2016
Excellent company, excellent process
Anonymous Borrower

I applied for a loan to consolidate some credit card debt, and couldn't be happier. The process was simple and straightforward, the verification process was great, the person I spoke to was kind and helpful, and I am thrilled with the entire process from start to finish! Thanks Upstart for being a stand-up company and working with people who are trying to get themselves into a better financial position. 5 stars, and I'll definitely let friends and family know to utilize you in the future!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.