Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

SoFi Personal Loans

4.9 out of 5 stars
461 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 07, 2016
COULD NOT BE HAPPIER!
Lankashim17 Borrower

What A Great Company!

My wife and I recently took out a loan with SoFi to help pay off our high interest credit cards. After years of rejection from MANY other lenders, we stumbled upon SoFi on Facebook, and said “why not try,” especially since SoFi was not a “hard” inquiry. To our delight, the SoFi company accepted our application, and processed our loan within days. We received a call from Dan in customer relations, explaining the process and when we would be receiving our money. We immediately paid off our credit card balances, and within 3 weeks our credit scores rose from the low 600s to over 750!
The whole SoFi process was so quick and painless that we have shared this great experience with friends in similar circumstances.

I even wrote the CEO on a Saturday evening to say thanks for the loan,

( his email in on their page) and I received a reply from Mitzy, the Relationship Management Consultant immediately, thanking me for the email.

This may be the best company I have ever dealt with! I know where I will be coming for my daughter's student loan in a couple of years! These guys rock!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 03, 2016
Still Waiting...
Arabro Borrower

The application process was pretty painless, couldve easily been sped up with making sure that all required information was gathered at the start. I started the process on May 2nd and was approved on the 11th. When i spoke with Stephanie the representative, she stated the loan should be funded in 10-14 days. When i hadn't heard from anybody in 14 days i called on the 25th, and spoke with another rep who informed me it would actually be up to 30 days. I am paying for a wedding and need the funds and so far not received any information from them concerning the timetable of the funding. It has been over 30 days from the start of the application, and so far i am not impressed with my interactions with SoFi. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Nov 22, 2016
bcfos Borrower

I applied and was approved but the sign the papers function online never worked. The people at SoFi couldn't figure it out either over a period of two weeks. So they sent a letter denying the application and the reason they put down (Serious Deliquency) has never happened nor has ever been reported on my credit report. All 5 credit cards and two auto loans have always been paid on time along with 2 student loans. When asked about this they came back with another reason that revolving credit limits were too high and amount owed was more than 30% on each card. Well DUH! That is why I applied for a loan and that is what I claimed the loan was for on the credit application. I ended up going the same day to my credit union and getting a personal loan for the same reason at a 2% savings on interest. The same day! Not 2 weeks later and from some accounts I have read waiting another 30 days for the funds to be deposited into your account. I honestly would steer away from SoFi if looking for a loan. The way they run things may be easy for some but when you have a problem they cannot figure out like signing the loan documents online they will just write it up as denied and make up a reason. Even if that reason is not true. If this happens to you like it did me do like I just did. File a complaint with the FTC.

more ...
Nov 16, 2016
Super Fast- Life Saver
Anonymous Borrower

700 Experian score, veryhigh credit balances. Applied on Sunday for 23K, Uploaded docs Monday, Signed Tuesday, Got funds Wednesday in checking. The rate beat anyone and i thought i had no chance. Thank you SoFi!!!!!!!!!

more ...
Nov 09, 2016
Helped to Get My Finances In Order
Freedom661 Borrower

The process was easy for this Personal Loan and is helping me get my finances in order after a painful divorce.

more ...
Nov 09, 2016
Easy to apply
Anonymous Borrower

Upload documents right form your phone.

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
Application process was very easy.
Anonymous Borrower

 SoFi rates and terms are very competitive. 

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
Saw the whole picture!
Anonymous Borrower

So I'm a college graduate with 10+ years experience. I have never missed a payment in my life, but had high credit card utilization due to being a starving student and having startup business expenses. SOFI reviewed me not just as a number, but as a responsible, professional person. The process was quick. Applied on a Sunday morning and received funds on Thursday afternoon. Could not be more excited! I finally have a chance to pay off credit card debt at a reasonable rate. 

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
Saw the whole picture!
Anonymous Borrower

So I'm a college graduate with 10+ years experience. I have never missed a payment in my life, but had high credit card utilization due to being a starving student and having startup business expenses. SOFI reviewed me not just as a number, but as a responsible, professional person. The process was quick. Applied on a Sunday morning and received funds on Thursday afternoon. Could not be more excited! I finally have a chance to pay off credit card debt at a reasonable rate. 

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
Simple, intuitive and stress free
Anonymous Borrower

I've never worked with a loan underwriter that has made the engagement so easy!  I hope SOFI expands it's products to other credit areas that are in need of reform.

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
SoFi Personal Loan
Anonymous Borrower

I've just received the funds for a SoFi personal loan and the process was extremely seamless. It took 5 days total between application and receipt of the funds. They offer loan durations of up to 7 years, so it's giving me flexibility to pay off credit card debt and have a low monthly payment while my husband and I are going through a tough financial time. The APR I have is 11%, which isn't great, but it's better than my credit card APRs and the APR on another personal loan I have (through Lending Club). Overall, I would definitely recommend applying if you're trying to consolidate your debt. 

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Personal Loan to Consolidate Credit Card
Anonymous Borrower

Sofi is awesome!!  The process was so simple and insanely fast!  Only took 7 days from application to funding.  Very happy with their services!  Check out Sofi for sure!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.