Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

SoFi Personal Loans

4.9 out of 5 stars
345 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 07, 2016
COULD NOT BE HAPPIER!
Lankashim17 Borrower

What A Great Company!

My wife and I recently took out a loan with SoFi to help pay off our high interest credit cards. After years of rejection from MANY other lenders, we stumbled upon SoFi on Facebook, and said “why not try,” especially since SoFi was not a “hard” inquiry. To our delight, the SoFi company accepted our application, and processed our loan within days. We received a call from Dan in customer relations, explaining the process and when we would be receiving our money. We immediately paid off our credit card balances, and within 3 weeks our credit scores rose from the low 600s to over 750!
The whole SoFi process was so quick and painless that we have shared this great experience with friends in similar circumstances.

I even wrote the CEO on a Saturday evening to say thanks for the loan,

( his email in on their page) and I received a reply from Mitzy, the Relationship Management Consultant immediately, thanking me for the email.

This may be the best company I have ever dealt with! I know where I will be coming for my daughter's student loan in a couple of years! These guys rock!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 03, 2016
Still Waiting...
Arabro Borrower

The application process was pretty painless, couldve easily been sped up with making sure that all required information was gathered at the start. I started the process on May 2nd and was approved on the 11th. When i spoke with Stephanie the representative, she stated the loan should be funded in 10-14 days. When i hadn't heard from anybody in 14 days i called on the 25th, and spoke with another rep who informed me it would actually be up to 30 days. I am paying for a wedding and need the funds and so far not received any information from them concerning the timetable of the funding. It has been over 30 days from the start of the application, and so far i am not impressed with my interactions with SoFi. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Feb 16, 2017
Shocked on the greatcustomer service!!!!
fm007 Borrower

I applied and qualified for a personal loan with SoFi. Got an amazing rate!!!! There loan applciation process can us a little tweaking, nothing terrible. However, what the application process lacks, the customer serivce make up for it a 1000000pct. Don't hesiate to call an ask them how the procress is going... 

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Lifesaver!
Anonymous Borrower

I applied and was approved for a Student loan consolidation and a personal loan for $50K.  Although I am not saving much on a monthly basis, I now have a definite date for when I will be out of debt.  The whole process was fast and easy.  It took 4 business days from application to funding.

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

it helped me pay off other loans i have and it is way cheaper than other lenders. It really helped me.

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
completed electronically and remotely.
Hopup Borrower

From loan application to funding, the process was smooth and completely online.  Necessary documents were uploaded to the company's secure site.  Paperwork was reviewed very quickly after submitting and when specific information was needed, a customer service representative called.  The only issue I incurred during the process was becuase I had a fraud alert placed on my credit report.  Because it is 100% online, I ad to have the fraud alert removed. Initially, it looked like I would have to write and mail a letter to the credit bureau. Furthermore, when I called SoFi to ask for adivce in proceeding, they told me that it was entirely up to me to figure it out.  I assumed that they had previous customers that went through the same issue, but the customer service representative refused to provide any assistance in the matter.  I called the credit bureau and spoke with a customer service representative there and found that I could do it telephonically. 

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
Quick, easy, and helpful
Anonymous Borrower

I have a decent credit score, earn in the low six figures, and have (had!) $40k in credit card debt.  I applied for a So Fi loan on Saturday, got a call on Sunday because my passport picture had been cut off, got another call on Monday asking me to confirm my date of birth and address, which I returned on Tuesday, and the money was in my account on Wednesday.

What I most appreciated is that i could see my options right online without it hindering my credit score any further.  You can take out a loan of varying durations (I think it was 3, 5, or 7 years) on either a variable- or fixed interest rate.   So I could see exactly what I was getting myself into rather than being pressured over the phone by someone.  They also offerred the highest loan amount of any other debt consolitaion loan company who'd contacted me.

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
Way better than dealing with my bank!!
NoxiTruck Borrower

Took just a few days from applying for a personal loan to money in my account. Good rate, Great costomer service!!!. I called them and within 20 seconds I was talking to a live person. They were so nice and helpful. I wish they could be my bank for everything.

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
Personal loan
JAGUARMIA Borrower

SOFI is easy to apply, easy to work with, much easier than a bank! Try it.

more ...
Jan 31, 2017
Ease and Great Process
Anonymous Borrower

I applied and had a decision in days. The turn around time was positive, the loan process was positive, the deposit in my account was great..... but mostly, stacked up against other firms, the transparency for fees is what made me migrate to them. I have a high creit score, so i do have multiple options..... they were and are the best solution

more ...
Jan 31, 2017
Easiest personal loan ever!
Anonymous Borrower

I seldem leave online reviews, but SoFi deserves credit where credit is due (no pun intended).  I applied on a Sunday evening, got preapproved instantly. Signed documents on Thursday, $50K in my checking account the following Monday.  Thats right - 5 business days.  This was a personal loan to consolodate some credit card bills and I couldn't be happier with the customer service and stress-free experience.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.