LightStream

4.5 out of 5 stars
53 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 06, 2016
New car auto loan on line
Anonymous Borrower

I was amazed at the ease, speed and simple process to apply and get confirmation of acceptance..even on a Sunday! Lightstream ( Suntrust) didnt even require collateral on $35k loan on new car.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 27, 2014
Major issues with loan payoff
Anonymous Borrower

I worked with my credit union to consolodate my automotive loans. My credit union sent Lighstream a check to the confirmed proper address with my double confirmed proper account number, but Lightstream continues to insist that I have not had my loan paid off and that they don't know where the money went? WTF?? My credit untion even sent them paperwork providing proof that the check was cleared and was properly documented.

My credit union will never work with Lightstream again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Apr 20, 2017
It was the best, it was the worst of exp
jdaytona Borrower

First loan I received through LightStream was fantastic.  Best experience I've ever had.  Fast, quick, easy.  I couldn't say enough or tell enough people about it.  I was amazed how simple it was.  Second loan, I've never been so disrepected in my life.  800+ credit score, never a late payment, established history with LightStream and denied.  Never been so disgusted with a company.   They don't place any value on their customers and there is no personal connection.  Great rates and terms can only carry a company so far.  There comes a time when you have to give a **** about your clients, customers and business partners. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 25, 2017

So why did they deny it? They must have given you a reason.

 
Apr 10, 2017
Debt consolidation...GONE
Anonymous Borrower

I have a credit score over 800, dispite my wife and I having some looming credit card debt.  I've received numerous offers for debt consolidation loans from Discover and other banks, but the interest rate was generally 11%.   Lightstream offered a loan for less than half of that!!   

more ...
Apr 08, 2017
Needlessly complicated and drawn out
sshields72 Borrower

I applied online on a Tuesday, got the money direct deposited Thursday afternoon.  I had several calls back and forth that week with customer service and had to fax verification items to them.  Their staff is courteous and helpful but the constant calls really cut into my work days.  Since then they have called and emailed for more verification docs, I emailed and they asked again a month later for the same thing.  It is quite aggravating. 

I have purchased two cars through Capital One - online application, had the blank check within a day, bought the car, set up autopay, done.  That is not the case with Lightstream.  I bought my car at the end of February.  I am still getting calls from Customer Service asking for more verification on the purchase.  I sent the Oklahoma title transfer form with the sale price clearly indicated - they want a bill of sale.  I didn't get one, didn't need one.  Now they want the money back that I haggled down on price.  I bought a 72 Nova which now needs a wiring harness, a fuel pump, a new carb etc. Not to mention the $1400 to transfer an out of state title.  I don't have that "extra" money, I spent it, I didn't keep all the receipts.  Now I'm in a pickle and am stressed out.  I feel harrassed and will never EVER use this company again.  I have great credit and have the loan set up on autopay, I'm actively paying.  I do not default on loans.  I don't understand why they can't just let me pay it off and leave me be!!

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
Lightstream employees writing these
355B70 Borrower

95 percent of reviews are 5 star and the others are 1 star.  What do you think the chances are of that happening for real.. Listen If a company has to do this are they who you really want to be doing buisness with? 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 19, 2017

You are... umm.... giving a one star review not because of your experience of the loan, but your assessment of other reviews? How is this useful?

 
Apr 03, 2017
Very Easy Process and Quick Response
Ben037 Borrower

I was hesitant about going through them because I had never heard of the service before. However, after reading the reviews I gave them a shot and boy am I glad I did! The process was extremely easy, I was accepted, and had the money deposited into my account within 48 hours. Also, they offered me a rate lower than my own bank!

more ...
Mar 29, 2017
Excellent Process
Anonymous Borrower

My loan was unsecured so I reveived the title for my vehicle immediately. I qualified for a rate that more than 2% lower than the dealer could do. Excellent.  

more ...
Feb 28, 2017
The rate was lower than my bank
Anonymous Borrower

It was a hassle free application over the internet and the money was in my bank the following day.  

more ...
Feb 27, 2017
Quick and easy

I was shopping around for a cat and dealer financing couldn't beat the rate LightStream offered. I submitted my application for more than I needed and then was able to adjust to the amount I actually wanted before funding. The whole process took three days (due to a banking holiday in the middle.) If you have excellent credit and a recent W2 proving your income, this is easily the best bank to use.

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
25k Auto Loan
JSNEWELL Borrower

Applied for a 25k auto loan on a Saturday afternoon with around 770 score on Credit Karma. Was approved in a few hours and cash was in the account on Tuesday (Monday was a holiday). Got the lowest interest rate advertised on the terms they set forth. Could not have been happier with how easy it was! Great company! Fast, simple.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 29, 2017

A 770 on CK is like 810 in real life. Almost perfect... Cheers!

 
Feb 18, 2017
I thought it was too good to be true
Anonymous Borrower

Whenever something sounds too good to be true, I am extra wary. I can honestly say this was the first time a loan experience truly was the best ever. Unsecured loan. Paid off my auto loan. My other bank got the cash, released the lien and got an incredible rate. Wow wow wow

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.