Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

LightStream

4.6 out of 5 stars
45 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 02, 2016
One of the best decisions I ever made...
famjulz1 Borrower

If you have (on the excellent side) of good credit, and don't mind automatic withdrawal, this is a no brainer.  My credit score is around 800 and I was approved for an unsecured loan of $20,000 at 1.99%.  The car I found was a little bit more so I asked for another $1000; 3 seconds later my wish was granted.  They even planted a tree for me.  I have not had the need to contact customer service as I can change practically anything I want online so that's why the 4 stars.  I got a GREAT rate which was fast and hassle free.  Would recommend to anyone with good credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 10, 2016
Completely unhelpful and awful.
Anonymous Borrower

Applied for a loan, they reviewed my application and accepted. I qualified for their best rate but for less than I asked. When I inquired into the reasoning--they completely gave me the runaround. Finally someone told me to reapply without worry. I reapplied and they doubled my rate for the same cash value.

I hate Lightstream for ruining my day, giving me the runaround, and for lacking any sort of transparency.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Dec 30, 2016
Auto Loan approved within minutes!
Anonymous Borrower

I can truly say that this was the best lending experience I have ever had! My husband and I applied for a 20k auto loan and we were approved in less than 45 minutes. The money was funded to our bank account the very next day. I have several years of lending experience and honestly the folks leaving bad reviews YOU ARE BEING DENIED FOR A REASON! We have minimal debt (less than 50k including our mortgage) and credit scores in the 820's. Some reviews state they have high credit scores, but their debt to income is too high. Lenders are required BY LAW to disclose to you why you are being denied. I love the experience we had and not to mention a free and clear title! I will always turn to Light Stream in the future for all of my lending needs!!!

more ...
Dec 22, 2016
Overall OK. NO customer service
Anonymous Borrower

Website is designed for minimal human interaction.

There is no customer service number and the people responding to email questions are usuless.

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
New car auto loan on line
Anonymous Borrower

I was amazed at the ease, speed and simple process to apply and get confirmation of acceptance..even on a Sunday! Lightstream ( Suntrust) didnt even require collateral on $35k loan on new car.

more ...
Dec 01, 2016
Fast and easy!
Anonymous Borrower

Applied on Sunday morning for a used car loan.  Was approved by lunch.  Money was going n my bank by Tuesday.   They had the lowest rate of 1.74%.

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
Easy process
Anonymous Borrower

Made a mstake on the application and they called to rectify the problem. Approved my new car loan in 60 minutes. 

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
Great experience

We got a loan to do some house renovation.  I had a bankruptcy end of 2013, but have improved my FICO to low 700's since then.  Fiancee is in 800's.  We got $30k, 60 months, 6.74% unsecured loan.  Everything done onlin, approved next day, money in our account within 24 hours.  Piece of cake!

more ...
Nov 05, 2016
Easiest loan process ever
Anonymous Borrower

Received a 50K loan for a pool build with a 6% rate. My own bank could not beat that.  The money was in the acct less than 12 hours later. No docs needed. Absolutely would recommend them. 

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
One of the best decisions I ever made...
famjulz1 Borrower

If you have (on the excellent side) of good credit, and don't mind automatic withdrawal, this is a no brainer.  My credit score is around 800 and I was approved for an unsecured loan of $20,000 at 1.99%.  The car I found was a little bit more so I asked for another $1000; 3 seconds later my wish was granted.  They even planted a tree for me.  I have not had the need to contact customer service as I can change practically anything I want online so that's why the 4 stars.  I got a GREAT rate which was fast and hassle free.  Would recommend to anyone with good credit.

more ...
Oct 20, 2016
A+ Experience - Approved $20K at 1.99%
kjscrib6 Borrower

The mixed reviews had me on edge prior to applying.... but my experience was seamless and insanely quick and easy. I applied for $20,000 Auto Loan on a Tuesday at 6pm. I was approved within half hour and had the funds wired into my account by the next day at 3pm. I wrote a personal check for my vehicle and was on my way! 

My FICO score came back at 809 and I was approved at the advertised 1.99% un-secured. 

Highly recommend Light Stream! 

more ...
Oct 14, 2016
Truly the best loan site for good credit
gengar126 Borrower

I was truly shocked at how easy LightStream's loan process was. I was immediately approved for an unsecured auto loan at the rock-bottom rate of 1.99% (the low of the offered range), and was very impressed by the flexibility for receipt of funds, autopay and pre-payment. Although I was prepared to pay cash for the car, the attractive rate and fact that the loan was unsecured made it a no-brainer to use LightStream and invest the difference. The funds were in my checking account on the promised day, and the the terms were transparent and favorable. My wife and I applied jointly, and we both have ~800 scores and high incomes.

LightStream's target demographic is the mass-affluent crowd with near-800 credit scores, so if you meet this criteria, the ease of application and rates are second-to-none. If not (like some indignant reviewers), you're not the target demographic, and will likely be disappointed. That said, I can't recommend LightStream highly enough.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.