LightStream Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
53 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 06, 2016
New car auto loan on line
Anonymous Borrower

I was amazed at the ease, speed and simple process to apply and get confirmation of acceptance..even on a Sunday! Lightstream ( Suntrust) didnt even require collateral on $35k loan on new car.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 20, 2017
It was the best, it was the worst of exp
jdaytona Borrower

First loan I received through LightStream was fantastic.  Best experience I've ever had.  Fast, quick, easy.  I couldn't say enough or tell enough people about it.  I was amazed how simple it was.  Second loan, I've never been so disrepected in my life.  800+ credit score, never a late payment, established history with LightStream and denied.  Never been so disgusted with a company.   They don't place any value on their customers and there is no personal connection.  Great rates and terms can only carry a company so far.  There comes a time when you have to give a **** about your clients, customers and business partners. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jun 07, 2017
Great lender for credit worthy borrowers
Anonymous Borrower

Have a 800+ FICO and looked for a 4 year used car loan for $35k.  Straight forward easy online application process and 2+ hour turnaround for loan approval.  Funding into my checking account was flawless and the online portal for autopay set up and loan review is nicely laid out.  I hear Lightstream is targeted for this type of borrower and , if you quality, I'd recommend you look at them as a option.

more ...
Jun 03, 2017
Unsecured loan for home renov, 3-yr term
hdporter1 Borrower

Applied online on Tuesday.  Approved by Friday after answering a few questions about existing debt balances, recent credit apps, and why my app was initiated "out-of-state" from my residence (currently travelling), plus submitted wage statements.  Rate set at 3.99% (best available rate).  Funds to be deposited to my checking next week Tuesday.  Excellent experience all around.

App subject to more thorough review then most unsecured apps, but explained as add'l precaution given online venue.

more ...
Jun 02, 2017
Whoa, this loan rocks!
Bonfarr Borrower

I was in the market for a used car and my credit union and dealerships offered standard rates between 7-8% for used cars. I went on Lending Tree to seek a better rate and Lightstream offered an unsecured loan at a rate do low I was shocked, I was ecstatic they would give that rate on a used car.

2 days later and they deposited the funds right into my checking account and I was able to shop for a car with cash in hand. Amazing experience with Ligjstream so far.

more ...
Jun 01, 2017
Easiest big money loan ever applied for
Anonymous Borrower

2.99% interest rate on a $16,000 loan with FICO above 700.

more ...
May 25, 2017
Easy and quick. They are fantastic.

Lowest rate, quickest service.  Unsecured loan for my car.  My credit is excellent so I had zero hassle.  Would definitely recommend and I will use again when I need another car loan.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 01, 2017

Got a loan through them today - very pleased all around as well.

 
May 25, 2017
Quickest easiest loan ever!

I was hesitate to deal with an online lender, but the rates were crazy good so I took a chance.  It was the easiest loan I've ever gotten.  The loan was unsecured, so I received my car title right away.  FAST & EASY!  They will be the first ones I look at when I need another car loan.  My credit was excellent so there were zero hassles.  

more ...
May 24, 2017
Used Car Purchase
Anonymous Borrower

Lightstream is the way to go for auto loans.  Having the money wired to your account gives you negotiating power with the dealership.  My wife and I were approved for the amount we asked at the lowest rate possible for the category.  I would recommend them to anyone looking for a car loan.

more ...
May 11, 2017
Worst Experience Ever
ckitche3 Borrower

I have a 748 credit score with no negative marks. I'm a self contractor who needs a van. I do not own a business. I install internet.

They gave me $11,000 loan. So I went and bought a van that day. Then they called me and told me I had to give the loan back within 15 days because it's considered "commercial."

Go to United Bank. They stepped in and helped me out big time. I will never bank with Suntrust or borrow from LightStream again.

more ...
Apr 28, 2017
Easy as 1-2-3.
Anonymous Borrower

Applied for a loan for home renovations. The process was easy and smooth.  Everything was done online, and I received my money within a matter of days.  Low-interest rates based on your creditworthiness.  I would highly recommend Light Stream.

more ...
Apr 20, 2017
It was the best, it was the worst of exp
jdaytona Borrower

First loan I received through LightStream was fantastic.  Best experience I've ever had.  Fast, quick, easy.  I couldn't say enough or tell enough people about it.  I was amazed how simple it was.  Second loan, I've never been so disrepected in my life.  800+ credit score, never a late payment, established history with LightStream and denied.  Never been so disgusted with a company.   They don't place any value on their customers and there is no personal connection.  Great rates and terms can only carry a company so far.  There comes a time when you have to give a **** about your clients, customers and business partners. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 25, 2017

So why did they deny it? They must have given you a reason.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.