Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

LightStream

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Loan Holder Ratings
3.6957 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 18, 2013
Great Process!
gtrudell Loan Holder

Applied for an auto refi. Had a few folowup questions. My loan was approved in hours. Cash should be in my bank account tomorrow. Like the fact that it became an unsecured loan and I will get my title soon with no lien. I will DEFINITELY consider them for loans in the future. Everyone I spoke with was pleasant, understood their job, and added to the overall process. Rate was way better than the dealership offered.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 28, 2014
Denied with 775 FICO
Anonymous

My wife was denied with a 775 FICO, 8k in checking, 3k in savings, 45k income (verified) for a 10k loan. In addition, phone rep was less than customer service oriented. Went to local bank and received loan without question. Don't waste your time with these folks...there are too many other places to do business with.

more ...
 

Reviews (184)

Add Review
Feb 04, 2016
Loan Now Appearing as SunTrust Elec D??
BSF2faithful Loan Holder

Very confused as my old LightStream Loan is appearing as SunTrust Elec D on my Credit Report and LightStream claims that the loan company's name has not changed.  Also my Credit Karma and Equifax are showing an additional $14,000 balance which has caused my credit score to drop.  Was loving this loan company, but now am feeling compromised in someway.  

more ...
Feb 02, 2016
Incompetence personified
Anonymous

I have a very good credit score.  I'm used to using credit responsibly and I've done my fair share of loans so the borrowing and paying off process is very familiar to me. I wanted to enjoy the light stream experience.  However,  this was a total mess on their part from start to finish. I filled out the application.  After   a few DAYS I finally heard back.  They asked questions.  Then told me I would hear back in a few hours.  A week or so later I got a notice they pulled my credit score which was up where I knew it would be. Never heard anything afterward. Good bad indifferent,  they just dropped off the face of the earth.  Two weeks later,  I went back to my normal bank.   They suggested I just call Lightstream because if the application was through the approval process,  it would save me another inquiry on my credit.  So I called.  They apologized.  And then said they would expedite this. Got another call back because apparently they didn't ask enough questions the first time. I answered the questions.  They said I would hear a decision within an hour.  I did,  but not with a decision.  Now they want a ton of documentation,  which wouldn't  bother me except,  they  want it within two days.  Or else. Seriously?  From the company that hasn't been able to get it's act together not once on a good loan application in over a month? Just too much.  They get a total vote of no confidence.  I'm going with my normal bank. There is a lot  to be said for doing business with a competent company. No stress.  No headaches.  No nonsense.  And there's the stability that comes with dealing with business people that know what they're doing.  This is not Lightstream.

more ...
Jan 28, 2016
Waste - Good Credit Denied

Fast and easy application process, but I can't imagine what eligibility factors they use.  I have good credit, lot of equity in my home, and almost no debt.  Still denied a home improvement loan.  It makes me think something with this place is not on the up and up.  As soon as I recover from this little shock, I guess I'm off to the brick and mortar bank.

more ...
Jan 21, 2016
Anonymous Loan Holder

best experience - quick and had funds next day.  we have good credit and was a better interest rate than the dealer had.   unsecured loan helped with insurance quote too.  have recommended to many. 

more ...
Jan 14, 2016
Dont waste your time.
Anonymous

Dont apply with this company for a loan. I have a 720+fico score and was sent a decline in less then 10 minutes after I had applied.

more ...
Jan 13, 2016
Used Car Loan from Light Stream
Anonymous Loan Holder

This was the best experience you can imagine. I do have excellent credit, so I know that is part of the reason. But, nonetheless, this was such an easy way to secure a loan at an incredibly low interest rate. I couldn't find better anywhere. And, I asked several questions using the email contact link and got quick and clear answers.  I simply can't believe that it was so easy and that everything was exactly as promised. I applied on Monday morning, was approved before lunch, accepted the loan on Tuesday, had the money in my checking account Wednesday morning at 9 am!

more ...
Jan 12, 2016
What!!!! Denied with a 750+ FICO score?
Anonymous

This is ridiculous company... What a waste of a hard hit. Shame on you Light Stream!

more ...
Jan 10, 2016
Too good to be true?
MateoGP Loan Holder

Thats what I thought!  How could getting an autoloan that easy?  I was shopping around for a loan and came across Light Stream.  I was in a hurry to find a loan and a car as my transportation was no longer a viable option.  I applied for 20K, and the next day I have all the funds in my account for an unsecured loan.  The process couldn't have been any easier.  I've been telling everyone I know looking for used car loans to check out Light Stream.  A++.

more ...
Jan 10, 2016
BEST CONSUMER-FRIENDLY LOAN EVER!!
BSF2faithful Loan Holder

Having this loan has helped my credit score and helped me discipline and plan how to stay out of high-interest high balance credit card debt!  Seeing how this low interest loan is paid off so fast is mind boggling compared to the slow balance decrease of high-interest revolving credit card companies who do not appear to have the comsumer in mind. If you have had a bad experience with this company, keep trying....it is well worth the effort!

more ...
Jan 03, 2016
Don't waste your time!
Anonymous

They said they give you a lon for almost anything, that is not true. I applied for debt consolidation with proven income and a 720 credit score and was denied. They called me on the phone to ask me what I wanted to use the loan for but the rep kept saying they dont see the debt on my credit report! what difference does it really make if you see that I am a good borrower! Don't waste your time!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this loan overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

LightStream is an online consumer lending division of SunTrust Bank, a Georgia banking corporation. LightStream offers a virtually paperless application, approval, signature, funding and servicing process allowing you to save not only on our natural resources but on expenses as well.

Borrowers can apply online and list loan requests ranging from $5,000 to $100,000. They offer fixed rate, simple interest installment loans all with no fees or prepayment penalties. You can set up an account online making monthly payments easy for borrowers to manage.

Founded in 1985, SunTrust is headquartered in Atlanta, Georgia. SunTrust has 1,659 bank branches throughout the Southern states.

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.