Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

LightStream

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Loan Holder Ratings
3.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 18, 2013
Great Process!
gtrudell Loan Holder

Applied for an auto refi. Had a few folowup questions. My loan was approved in hours. Cash should be in my bank account tomorrow. Like the fact that it became an unsecured loan and I will get my title soon with no lien. I will DEFINITELY consider them for loans in the future. Everyone I spoke with was pleasant, understood their job, and added to the overall process. Rate was way better than the dealership offered.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 28, 2014
Denied with 775 FICO
Anonymous

My wife was denied with a 775 FICO, 8k in checking, 3k in savings, 45k income (verified) for a 10k loan. In addition, phone rep was less than customer service oriented. Went to local bank and received loan without question. Don't waste your time with these folks...there are too many other places to do business with.

more ...
 

Reviews (218)

Add Review
Jun 18, 2016
Waste of time
Anonymous

If you don't have a e-mail adress, no loan.  this is a wast of time for the elderly.

more ...
Jun 16, 2016
Easiest Loan Ever at a Great Rate
Anonymous Loan Holder

Lightstream is going for low risk low reward. Quit complaining about a hard inquiry, several pulls get lumped together as one pull when you're trying to get the best loan. This was the easiest Loan I've ever gotten. Wired the next day and now they just pull it right back out of the same account. So now my credit will keep going up from 800.

more ...
Jun 14, 2016
Useless - Auto loan denied
Anonymous

750 credit score, 60k salary, $4500 total debt on a no interest credit card. Denied 20k Auto loan.....

Useless company.

more ...
Jun 13, 2016
Would give 0 stars if possible

I applied on my own for a car loan and was approved for about half of what I needed so my wife and I did a joint application thinking that would work since her credit score is ~800 and has 15 years of credit history. It came back denied even though we have documents to prove we own our house outright and they can clearly see from our credit reports we have no other debts. The reasons for the denial were "too many delinquent accounts" and "not enough credit history". These are both total BS obviously. They would not give us better answers on the phone; they clearly just chose reasons from a drop down menu. DO NOT APPLY TO LIGHTSTREAM

more ...
Jun 10, 2016
Application Easy but Criteria Hard
Anonymous

In my opinion Light Stream does a good job with its application. It is quick and concise and allows potential borrowers to review all of the information before submitting. With that being said my opinion is that Light Stream offers primarily secured personal loans or "unsecured" personal loans. The reason I put quotations around unsecured is because Light Stream puts heavy consideration on assets but my opinion of the definition of an unsecured loan is that you don't have to put collatarel down to recieve funds. I have a credit score in the 790+ range and I meet their targeted age range (25). I also have a career which I make 75,000+ and retirement funds in the 20,000+ range. I have previosuly managed personal loans with other providers and have an unblemished credit history. With these facts I would assume that I would qualify for a unsecured personal loan. Honestly I was hoping for one of their advertised and unreal interest rates (as low as 6%). Instead I was told that I dont have sufficient assets for the loan amount I requested. My debt to income ratio is 18% and I live at home with my mother so a mortage/rent is not a concern. I am alittle surpised by their decision because I have never been denied on any credit request in my life. Realistically I think that Sun Trust is more comfortable and inclined to grant loans to people who have assets that can immediately cover their loan amounts but the reality is why would those people take out a personal loan and pay the required interest when they can simply liquadate their assets and make their desired purchaese. I think Light Stream does not do a good job explaining the criteria with which potential borrowers should meet to qualify for unsecured loans. I also think Light Stream can do a better job negotiating loan terms with potential borrowers. Like other comments about Light Stream said on this thread you should really anaylze your finiancial situation and determine whether the Credit Inquiry that you will be making is worth the risk. I'm most dissapointed that I choose to allow a hard credit inquiry for this application. Luckilily I didnt need the loan, it was simply a luxury.  I hope this message will help you with your decision.

more ...
Jun 05, 2016
Home/Garden
DoveVai2002 Loan Holder

I did the application online, and within 1 hour I received a call - simple question, how will I use the mone, so I told them that I need additional funds to finish my home/garden project. That was it. Simple

more ...
Jun 03, 2016
Anonymous

Lightstream claimed that I had several delinquent account on my credit record, when my credit record clearly and plainly shows that my payment history is 100% and not one bad remark from any of my payment history. They then told me that my credit score was 655 - whwn it is actually in the 700's. I don't know where they are getting their information from - or why they would deliberately quote in inaccurrate facts. I personally believe that they are only interrested in giving loans to high risk applicants at high interest rates.  

more ...
Jun 01, 2016
Used Auto Loan - Great Process
Anonymous Loan Holder

I applied online and within an hour got an email asking me to call to answer some questions. They basically just confirmed the information I provided on the application. They asked me if I could prove my income with documentation an I told them I could but they never asked for the documentation. I was approved a few hours later for a rate of 1.99% which is incredible for a used car on a 5 year loan. I prefer to get a longer loan term and pre-pay based on available cash flow. I have a credit score around 780. 

more ...
Jun 01, 2016

This Company Is A Joke The Advertise Such a Easy Processe. I Have A 762 Credit Score And Have Not Been Turned Down For Anything In Over 15 Years. They Want Me To Show Them All kinds Of Irs Tax Docks Plus More. It Really Is None Of Their Buisnesss. My Payment History And Credit Score Should Be Enough. It Is Funny That Other Companies Kiss My But To Take A Loan From Them. Each Credit Enquiry Goes Against Your Credit Report So Stay Far Away From LightStream.

more ...
May 26, 2016
Easiest of all I applied for
Anonymous Loan Holder

I see others had problems getting a loan I got my loan in less than 24hrs for an auto loan of 45K. I actually spoke to a representative of Lightstream and therw were no issues. My credit scores are at the top of the scale. Not sure how their loan underwriting dept operates but worked for me

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this loan overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

LightStream is an online consumer lending division of SunTrust Bank, a Georgia banking corporation. LightStream offers a virtually paperless application, approval, signature, funding and servicing process allowing you to save not only on our natural resources but on expenses as well.

Borrowers can apply online and list loan requests ranging from $5,000 to $100,000. They offer fixed rate, simple interest installment loans all with no fees or prepayment penalties. You can set up an account online making monthly payments easy for borrowers to manage.

Founded in 1985, SunTrust is headquartered in Atlanta, Georgia. SunTrust has 1,659 bank branches throughout the Southern states.

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.