Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

LightStream

4.7 out of 5 stars
48 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 02, 2016
One of the best decisions I ever made...
famjulz1 Borrower

If you have (on the excellent side) of good credit, and don't mind automatic withdrawal, this is a no brainer.  My credit score is around 800 and I was approved for an unsecured loan of $20,000 at 1.99%.  The car I found was a little bit more so I asked for another $1000; 3 seconds later my wish was granted.  They even planted a tree for me.  I have not had the need to contact customer service as I can change practically anything I want online so that's why the 4 stars.  I got a GREAT rate which was fast and hassle free.  Would recommend to anyone with good credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 10, 2016
Completely unhelpful and awful.
Anonymous Borrower

Applied for a loan, they reviewed my application and accepted. I qualified for their best rate but for less than I asked. When I inquired into the reasoning--they completely gave me the runaround. Finally someone told me to reapply without worry. I reapplied and they doubled my rate for the same cash value.

I hate Lightstream for ruining my day, giving me the runaround, and for lacking any sort of transparency.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Feb 18, 2017
I thought it was too good to be true
Anonymous Borrower

Whenever something sounds too good to be true, I am extra wary. I can honestly say this was the first time a loan experience truly was the best ever. Unsecured loan. Paid off my auto loan. My other bank got the cash, released the lien and got an incredible rate. Wow wow wow

more ...
Feb 17, 2017
Super Easy, Great Customer Service
Anonymous Borrower

When shopping around for a car loan to purchase a new car, I found Lightstream recommended and was super impressed by their interest rates. I applied for an unsecured auto loan and was approved at an incredibly competitive interest rate. I called them to clarify the terms of the loans and was able to speak with someone right away and they gave me the info I needed. I was able to sign the loan online and had the funds wired to my checking account within a day and was able to purchase my car. I set up automatic payments through my bank account for an amount greater than the minimum due each month with no difficulty. I get email alerts when the payment is going to be due and a reminder of how much they will withdraw. I haven't had any increase in spam or other solicitations that I'm aware of since taking this loan. One huge advantage of an unsecured loan is as far as the dealership is concerned, you basically are paying cash for the car. It gives you a lot more room to negotiate and also changes your insurance requirements in some states. Overall it's just way less hassle and a much better interest rate than what the dealer was trying to offer. Highly recommend!!

more ...
Feb 17, 2017
A very good loan experience
Wepwawet78 Borrower

Obviously, I can only go based on my own experience with LightStream, but I am quite pleased.  Their guarantee about (approved borrowers) having the best loan experience rang true for me.  I wanted to get a loan for a new swimming pool and was nervous about having my credit pulled and being denied considering so many negative reviews.  (To be fair, I don't think the 4.7 stars is accurate.  Credit Karma by default shows "recommended reviews", not all reviews, and only takes "recommended reviews"into account when coming up with the average rating.  That's a bit shady.)  However, on the flip side, I also think LightStream is getting unfair low reviews.  They clearly tell you up front that it is only a lender for borrowers with excellent credit.  You can't fault the company for not being transparent.  (No lender tells you exactly what their approve/deny formula is, and they're all different.)

I was nervous when applying because after my recent home purchase, I had one outlying credit score with Equifax at 716, but my Experian and TransUnion scores are 815 and 825, respectively.  Wouldn't you know it, LightStream pulled my Equifax score, at the second lowest rate.  Within a half hour, they emailed with instructions on how to submit a pay stub and a driver license. I did so within 15 minutes. I then received a call on my cell phone with an update on the approval process. The person was very professional and pleasant.  They asked a question about my new house purchase and a second home that I own in a different state, as to which was my correct permanent address.  The phone call took 3 minutes.  I provided the answers and that was that.  About 30 minutes later, I got a call on my work phone (we had previously talked on my cell phone.)  I think that was their way of proving that I was actually still employed.  The caller said it was just another update and that within the hour I should get my decision.

About 45 minutes later, I received an approval email.  I was given a rate of 5.25%.  (I had previously been approved by Best Egg for the same loan amount and same terms. They had offered me a rate of 4.32%.)  I called customer service and asked them how their 0.1% loan match program worked.  They told me to scan and email the loan agreement from Best Egg.  Within 2 hours, my LightStream loan agreement had been updated online to offer me the better rate of 4.22%.  No questions asked.  The only thing I would have changed or thought could have been better was that they did not notify me at any point that they had beat the other lender's rate.  No notification that they updated my loan agreement.  I had to go in and find it for myself.  On the flip side, I really liked that they gave me 4 weeks from the approval date to fund the loan.  It allowed me to get the contractor in place for the pool and not have to begin to pay interest on the loan before I got the pool I was buying.

The approval DEFINITELY is not only about your credit score.  They look at your finances, debt-to-income ratio, do you have assets and property equity that exceeds the amount of the loan, is all of your application information absolutely correct (I get the impression this is a big one--they check various random data on your application.).  Ultimately, it's their money.  It's their decision on whether or not they trust you in loaning it to you.  

more ...
Feb 05, 2017
1 auto loan 1 debt consolidation loan
Anonymous Borrower

I love this lending company. If you have strong credit, there is no better place to go. They check things thouroughly before committing. They called me and later requested me to upload proof of certain things but they deposited cash the next day into my account so I looked like a cash buyer at the dealer. My credit is in the 800s so it's no hassle. Lower credit scores will have more trouble and less than enjoyable experiences. 

more ...
Jan 28, 2017
Fastest/easist/best auto loan
teranthum Borrower

These guys are awesome to work with.  I will not go anywhere else for an auto loan ever again.  I was blown away how quick and easy the process was.

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
Auto Loan approved within minutes!
Anonymous Borrower

I can truly say that this was the best lending experience I have ever had! My husband and I applied for a 20k auto loan and we were approved in less than 45 minutes. The money was funded to our bank account the very next day. I have several years of lending experience and honestly the folks leaving bad reviews YOU ARE BEING DENIED FOR A REASON! We have minimal debt (less than 50k including our mortgage) and credit scores in the 820's. Some reviews state they have high credit scores, but their debt to income is too high. Lenders are required BY LAW to disclose to you why you are being denied. I love the experience we had and not to mention a free and clear title! I will always turn to Light Stream in the future for all of my lending needs!!!

more ...
Dec 22, 2016
Overall OK. NO customer service
Anonymous Borrower

Website is designed for minimal human interaction.

There is no customer service number and the people responding to email questions are usuless.

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
New car auto loan on line
Anonymous Borrower

I was amazed at the ease, speed and simple process to apply and get confirmation of acceptance..even on a Sunday! Lightstream ( Suntrust) didnt even require collateral on $35k loan on new car.

more ...
Dec 01, 2016
Fast and easy!
Anonymous Borrower

Applied on Sunday morning for a used car loan.  Was approved by lunch.  Money was going n my bank by Tuesday.   They had the lowest rate of 1.74%.

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
Easy process
Anonymous Borrower

Made a mstake on the application and they called to rectify the problem. Approved my new car loan in 60 minutes. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.