LightStream Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
40 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 06, 2016
New car auto loan on line
Anonymous Borrower

I was amazed at the ease, speed and simple process to apply and get confirmation of acceptance..even on a Sunday! Lightstream ( Suntrust) didnt even require collateral on $35k loan on new car.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 08, 2017
Needlessly complicated and drawn out
sshields72 Borrower

I applied online on a Tuesday, got the money direct deposited Thursday afternoon.  I had several calls back and forth that week with customer service and had to fax verification items to them.  Their staff is courteous and helpful but the constant calls really cut into my work days.  Since then they have called and emailed for more verification docs, I emailed and they asked again a month later for the same thing.  It is quite aggravating. 

I have purchased two cars through Capital One - online application, had the blank check within a day, bought the car, set up autopay, done.  That is not the case with Lightstream.  I bought my car at the end of February.  I am still getting calls from Customer Service asking for more verification on the purchase.  I sent the Oklahoma title transfer form with the sale price clearly indicated - they want a bill of sale.  I didn't get one, didn't need one.  Now they want the money back that I haggled down on price.  I bought a 72 Nova which now needs a wiring harness, a fuel pump, a new carb etc. Not to mention the $1400 to transfer an out of state title.  I don't have that "extra" money, I spent it, I didn't keep all the receipts.  Now I'm in a pickle and am stressed out.  I feel harrassed and will never EVER use this company again.  I have great credit and have the loan set up on autopay, I'm actively paying.  I do not default on loans.  I don't understand why they can't just let me pay it off and leave me be!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Oct 03, 2017
Lightstream was great for salvage title!
Anonymous Borrower

Lightstream was a life saver for my wife and I! We found an excellent condition, fully repaired salvage title car that we really liked for a great price, but couldn't find any financial institution that would come within a country mile of financing a salvage title. Finally, we came across lightstream, who gave us a loan with a fantastic rate without hesitation! Easy, fast service!

more ...
Sep 29, 2017
55k funded within 24hrs!
Anonymous Borrower

Easiest loan process we've ever done. Applied, approved, and funded for a 3yr 2.29% $55k used car loan all within 24 hours. My FICO score is 820 and husband's is 790. Healthy combined incomes, savings, 401k, and home equity. Our only debt is a mortgage; no CC debt or any other loans. We love that it was unsecured so there's no hassle with titling; they even make sure to tell you not to list them as a lienholder and that you did not finance the purchase. We also like that there was no prepayment penalty. Will definitely go with LightStream for all future loans.

more ...
Sep 24, 2017
Used car 2.79 %
Anonymous Borrower

This is my second loan with light stream if you have good credit this is the place to go. Applied and was approved in 24 hours. Funds deposited directly into my bank account. Also if you make extra payments like a lump sum they will give you the option of lowering your monthly payment for the duration of the loan. Not sure if they always do that but they did with me. I will not even look at another way to finance a vehicle. 

more ...
Sep 24, 2017
Easiest loan ever
Anonymous Borrower

I was hesitant to apply with LightStream because I have had lousy service from SunTrust.  Eventually I was tempted by the low rates, and I am glad!  I've financed my last 2 cars with LightStream, and the process is fantastic!.  Low rates, quick turnaround, and good customer service.

more ...
Jul 19, 2017
Auto loan.
Anonymous Borrower

The approval process was really easy. Within a couple of business days the money was deposited to my account and I was ready to go and negotiate for the best price. Customer care was very helpful and responsive to my questions and I really appreciate the ability of removing the middle man in the auto purchasing process. No need to deal with the lots or the big banks trying to sell you on their loans which they try to add on a hundred little things. I have a great interest rate which is set up on auto pay. This has been the most pleasurable car buying experience in my life, 10/10 will do business with lightstream again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 27, 2017

Thank you for choosing LightStream for your financial needs and for taking the time to share your experience.

 
Jul 16, 2017
Very quick and amazingly easy.
Anonymous Borrower

Highly recommended 790 credit score. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 27, 2017

Thank you for choosing LightStream for your financial needs and for taking the time to share your experience

 
Jul 12, 2017
Mitche5 Borrower

Impressive

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 27, 2017

Thank you for choosing LightStream for your financial needs and for taking the time to share your experience!

 
Jun 30, 2017
801 FICO, 761CK
Anonymous Borrower

Want to finance a home improvement project(In-ground pool) for about 30K.  Will I have hassles of being approved at a low rate? Bought a home 14 months ago with equity but still a liability of 217K.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 27, 2017

We appreciate your consideration of LightStream for your financial needs. If you have not already applied, please feel free to contact us at customerservice@lightstream.com with any questions you may have.

 
Jun 07, 2017
Great lender for credit worthy borrowers
Anonymous Borrower

Have a 800+ FICO and looked for a 4 year used car loan for $35k.  Straight forward easy online application process and 2+ hour turnaround for loan approval.  Funding into my checking account was flawless and the online portal for autopay set up and loan review is nicely laid out.  I hear Lightstream is targeted for this type of borrower and , if you quality, I'd recommend you look at them as a option.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 27, 2017

Thank you for choosing LightStream for your financial needs and for taking the time to share your experience!

 
Jun 03, 2017
Unsecured loan for home renov, 3-yr term
hdporter1 Borrower

Applied online on Tuesday.  Approved by Friday after answering a few questions about existing debt balances, recent credit apps, and why my app was initiated "out-of-state" from my residence (currently travelling), plus submitted wage statements.  Rate set at 3.99% (best available rate).  Funds to be deposited to my checking next week Tuesday.  Excellent experience all around.

App subject to more thorough review then most unsecured apps, but explained as add'l precaution given online venue.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 27, 2017

Thank you for the feedback, hdporter1. We appreciate your kind words and are happy to welcome you as a customer!

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.