Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

LightStream

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Borrower Ratings
3.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 18, 2013
Great Process!
gtrudell Borrower

Applied for an auto refi. Had a few folowup questions. My loan was approved in hours. Cash should be in my bank account tomorrow. Like the fact that it became an unsecured loan and I will get my title soon with no lien. I will DEFINITELY consider them for loans in the future. Everyone I spoke with was pleasant, understood their job, and added to the overall process. Rate was way better than the dealership offered.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 28, 2014
Denied with 775 FICO
Anonymous

My wife was denied with a 775 FICO, 8k in checking, 3k in savings, 45k income (verified) for a 10k loan. In addition, phone rep was less than customer service oriented. Went to local bank and received loan without question. Don't waste your time with these folks...there are too many other places to do business with.

more ...
 

Reviews (265)

Add Review
Sep 26, 2016
Easy and FAST!
Anonymous Borrower

Applied at 9am and by noon I had been approved. Took about 1 minute over the phone to describe what I wanted the loan for (remodeling home) and that was that. Funds will be in my account tomorrow. 

more ...
Sep 22, 2016
The quickest, easiest, loan ever
Anonymous Borrower

My husband and I both have credit scores in the 800's. We are purchasing a used vehicle and the best rate we could get is 2.7 on a secured loan through our credit union (which isn't bad, but we wanted better). And, we are working on a tight timeline to make an out-of-state vehicle purchase, so dealing with the C.U. would have been a challenge. We decided to give LightStream a try. Less than 24 hours later, $20K+ is sitting in our bank account, and we were approved for a loan without a lien. Easiest process ever.

I believe most all of the negative reviews are from people who weren't approved. Keep in mind that LightStream is stringent on who they accept, and they cater to a niche group with high credit scores, liquid assets, excellent credit history, etc., so as to minimize their risk and keep rates competetive.

more ...
Sep 20, 2016
Home Construction Loan
PumpkinSmasher Borrower

This is the easiest and fastiest way to get a loan for home remodel. I applied and uploaded bank statements and had my money deposited within the week. Great customer service with very fast response times. 4.25% fixed rate for 36 months. Credit score=800+

It seems all the negative reviews are from people who were denied. The fact is that this program is designed for those with excellent credit histories. This company offers the most competitive rates around and they are limiting their risk by only approving folks with excellent credit histories, solid income as well as diversified credit histories.

Honestly, I have nothing negative to say about this company. Very happy with the ease of use and product being offered.

I will be using them again, when we purchase a car next year or at our next remodel.

more ...
Sep 18, 2016
Easy, best rates
mpszydlo Borrower

Wanted to buy a used car but wanted new-car-like rates. I shopped around (I have a 785-810 FICO, depending on how much spending I do per month), and the best rate I could find outside of Lighstream was 2.99%. Given that I have excellent credit and that I was already shopping around for rates (multiple hits within a 30 day period aren't counted separately), I figured I'd apply to an ad I found for Lightstream. After given them some basic information about my intended purchase, I found out I was qualified for the exact amount I agreed upon with the dealer and, after awaiting the funds to be deposited into my account, walked into the dealership and wrote a check for the exact amount for the car I wanted at the agreed-upon price. Very, very easy process and definitely worth checking out.

For the record, my 1.99% rate for my ~$19,500 used car required me to sign up for auto-pay. But I was obviously okay with that - FYI for everyone else (even though Lightstream is pretty clear about this)

4/5 stars for customer service because I actually never spoke to anyone from Lightstream. While it seems intuitive that 3/5 seems average, I didn't wish to detract so much from their rankings because I wish I didn't have to submit a rating. I can't give 5/5 stars for something I never had to deal with, but I don't want to give 3/5 stars because I don't want to dissuade folks from applying to Lightstream based on that review (which, in itself, is unfair).

more ...
Sep 18, 2016
Simple starting and paying off
Anonymous Borrower

I used this to avoid using my money tha was yielding decent returns elsewhere.  The application was simple.  The approval came within an hour or so.  Transaction done.  Modifying automatic payments was easy online.  As an existing suntrust customer, this even appeared in my online banking.  I decided to pay it off early when my returns declined and even that process was simple.  The ability to quickly obtain funds in an unsecured, simple manner, can't be beat.

more ...
Sep 16, 2016
Please don't hesistate to apply to this
Anonymous Borrower

I liked their process because after I totalled my car I still had the lienholder on my credit. They were nice enough to email me in order to ask me about it, unlike Chase autoloans, and gave me a quick approval. I have a credit score in the range of 760+. The process was incredibly simple, and it seemed like the previous reviews made me a lot more leary of the process than I had to be. I would give them 5/5 especially because they gave me a great loan rate.

more ...
Sep 15, 2016
Quick, easy, great rate
Anonymous Borrower

Especially after reading some of the neg reviews on here I was skeptical that they could offer 1.99% unsecured for 5 years on a new car loan, and figured this was some kind of teaser rate. But submitted an application for $20K, within 2 hours had an email asking me to call and answer some questions, talked on the phone to the customer service rep for maybe 2 minutes just explaining a couple of things on our financials that were complicated, and within 5 minutes of getting off the phone with her, got an email approving the loan. Funds should be in my checking acct tomorrow AM, less than 24 hours after submitting the application. 800+ credit; good income; lots of liquid assets. Results may vary, but if you qualify this was far and away the easiest loan experience I've ever had. No messing around with dealer financing or titling the car lien.

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
$25,000 Auto loan
Anonymous

This is probably the easiest, fastest and headache free experience I've ever had! I never knew it is possible. Applied online and within a few hours was approved for $15,000 that I asked for. Next day I decided to get a different car and changed the loan terms to $25,000, and got approved within half hour. A few easy clicks online to confirm the deposit day and banking info and that's it. The funds should be deposited tomorow. Thank you LightStream and SunTrust Bank!

more ...
Aug 27, 2016
Great Application Process! Fabulous Rat
Anonymous Borrower

Applied for used car loan, got an email to call them to answer a couple questions and 15 min. Later I was approved. I have a credit score of 750 and keep my credit cards paid off every month, never carry a high balance. Own my home and have assets. They gave me an unsecured loan for the car. Best loan experience I have ever had!

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
Do not wasted your time.
Anonymous

You have to wait 24 hrs just to read their denied letter.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this loan overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.