Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

LightStream

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Loan Holder Ratings
3.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 18, 2013
Great Process!
gtrudell Loan Holder

Applied for an auto refi. Had a few folowup questions. My loan was approved in hours. Cash should be in my bank account tomorrow. Like the fact that it became an unsecured loan and I will get my title soon with no lien. I will DEFINITELY consider them for loans in the future. Everyone I spoke with was pleasant, understood their job, and added to the overall process. Rate was way better than the dealership offered.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 28, 2014
Denied with 775 FICO
Anonymous

My wife was denied with a 775 FICO, 8k in checking, 3k in savings, 45k income (verified) for a 10k loan. In addition, phone rep was less than customer service oriented. Went to local bank and received loan without question. Don't waste your time with these folks...there are too many other places to do business with.

more ...
 

Reviews (197)

Add Review
Apr 27, 2016
Me & my girlfriend denied with FICO 760
Anonymous

Me & my girlfriend denied with FICO scores of 760 how the hell does that happen with 0 debt and no derogatory's this is absolutely obsurd

more ...
Apr 25, 2016
Nonsensical Process
Anonymous

Applied and declined with a 735 Fico, 42k salary, for a 25k loan for 60 months with a perfect history though SunTrust who owns this crap lender. I've previously had a loan through SunTrust and was ensured this would be a sure thing. Nope. Customer service was awful, and rude. "Sure, you can speak with someone else, but they gonna tell you the same thing."
So frustrating!

more ...
Apr 23, 2016
Loan consolidation

This is the best loan company I have ever delt with. Last year  I applied for a used car loan and was approved and funded within 3 days. This time I applied after searching for weeks for a refinance on my equity loan . Applied at 9am Texas time approved after uploading check stub and answering a few questions . 

more ...
Apr 22, 2016
DO NOT APPLY WITH THEM!
Anonymous

i don't know what their problem is - but i have outstanding credit - 820! i have a great salary etc. and for the first time in my LIFE i didn't quality for a loan. i just wanted a loan to buy a boat. i can pay cash for this boat but would rather keep my cash in the stock market. they rejected me! i will not be quiet about how awful these guys are.

GO ELSEWHERE!

more ...
Apr 21, 2016
Super Simple from Start to Finish
Anonymous Loan Holder

My husband and I applied on a SUNDAY afternoon for a pool loan. We applied for a 7 year term but Lightstream countered with 6 and at a lesser rate. Win Win. Heard something within 3 hours of applying online on a SUNDAY. Monday, Lightstream asked for our paystubs. Once uploaded to their portal we had official approval and a link to the paperwork and funding page. We WILL use them again in the future. We loved how easy this process was. Thank you Lightstream. Our credit scores are in the high 690s with a debt to income ratio of approximately 29%.

more ...
Apr 19, 2016
Bad Bad Bad
Anonymous

Great credit score means instant denial at this place. 

more ...
Apr 16, 2016
Anonymous

Unbelievable, for those of us with excellent credit and wanting to experience a new and streamline way of applying for a loan, what a disappointment. 

more ...
Apr 06, 2016
Easy and fast
Anonymous Loan Holder

Approved with roughly a 710 and over $150k income same day. Had to provide pay statements to back up income but resolved with a very simple online portal upload. I never spoke directly to a rep, so I can't comment on customer service. Had funds deposited next day, and picked up the car that weekend. I have told all my friends about this company and would highly recommend them again. 

more ...
Mar 28, 2016
Unsecured loan for used auto
Anonymous Loan Holder

I can't say enough about how easy this process was. I did a lot of research online looking for lower rates than the car dealers and local banks were offering. I found it and I am pretty speechless at how quick and easy it was. Applied on Saturday, got an approval email within an hour (no extra information needed), electronically signed the agreement, entered my account to deposit to and withdraw payments from, picked my deposit and pay dates...BOOM. Done. Money is in the account today (first banking date after approval). Now I can write a check and have a new used vehicle with no lien!

They do ask for a little bit more information such as your assets (which I think factors into their decision quite a bit). I also have a very high credit score in the 840s.

I am glad I found them. I will not go anywhere else for my future needs.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this loan overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

LightStream is an online consumer lending division of SunTrust Bank, a Georgia banking corporation. LightStream offers a virtually paperless application, approval, signature, funding and servicing process allowing you to save not only on our natural resources but on expenses as well.

Borrowers can apply online and list loan requests ranging from $5,000 to $100,000. They offer fixed rate, simple interest installment loans all with no fees or prepayment penalties. You can set up an account online making monthly payments easy for borrowers to manage.

Founded in 1985, SunTrust is headquartered in Atlanta, Georgia. SunTrust has 1,659 bank branches throughout the Southern states.

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.