LightStream Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
38 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 24, 2017
Used car 2.79 %
Anonymous Borrower

This is my second loan with light stream if you have good credit this is the place to go. Applied and was approved in 24 hours. Funds deposited directly into my bank account. Also if you make extra payments like a lump sum they will give you the option of lowering your monthly payment for the duration of the loan. Not sure if they always do that but they did with me. I will not even look at another way to finance a vehicle. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 08, 2017
Needlessly complicated and drawn out
sshields72 Borrower

I applied online on a Tuesday, got the money direct deposited Thursday afternoon.  I had several calls back and forth that week with customer service and had to fax verification items to them.  Their staff is courteous and helpful but the constant calls really cut into my work days.  Since then they have called and emailed for more verification docs, I emailed and they asked again a month later for the same thing.  It is quite aggravating. 

I have purchased two cars through Capital One - online application, had the blank check within a day, bought the car, set up autopay, done.  That is not the case with Lightstream.  I bought my car at the end of February.  I am still getting calls from Customer Service asking for more verification on the purchase.  I sent the Oklahoma title transfer form with the sale price clearly indicated - they want a bill of sale.  I didn't get one, didn't need one.  Now they want the money back that I haggled down on price.  I bought a 72 Nova which now needs a wiring harness, a fuel pump, a new carb etc. Not to mention the $1400 to transfer an out of state title.  I don't have that "extra" money, I spent it, I didn't keep all the receipts.  Now I'm in a pickle and am stressed out.  I feel harrassed and will never EVER use this company again.  I have great credit and have the loan set up on autopay, I'm actively paying.  I do not default on loans.  I don't understand why they can't just let me pay it off and leave me be!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Dec 13, 2017
Motorcycle Loan
weeeezzll Borrower

I took out a loan to buy some two wheel toys. The loan process was simple, and I was approve for an unsecured loan at a rate that was great for my (at the time) okay-ish credit. Because I was a contractor, they requested some income verification documents. I submitted them and had the money in my account in a couple of days. The website is simple and uncluttered. I set up Autopay and I get month emails reminding me of my pending payment and then again when the payment processes. Could have asked for a better experience.

more ...
Nov 30, 2017
Auto Loan - Unsecured
glennK83 Borrower

The application was a bit more drawn out than other auto loans I've done, asking about home equity, 401k, and other assets, but that only added a minute to filling out the forms.  Approval took about 4 hours, but that is largely because I applied at 8:00am EST and they are in PST.  After 3 1/2 hours, they called to verify some information, and said I would hear back within the day. About 20 minutes later I had my approval email at a great APR, and the load was unsecured, I guess that’s why they inquire about assets. Not having a lien will certainly streamline the actual auto purchase. Finishing the loan process was a few clicks of the mouse, signing the form with the mouse, and entering bank routing and account numbers into a form.  I then set the date I wanted the funds, and the day of the month I wanted to make payments.  Funds were in my account this morning, and I'm off to pick up the car on Saturday morning.  Couldn't be easier.  I'll be back for my next auto loan!

more ...
Nov 22, 2017
Easy, Fast, Great APR
HouseBarnes Borrower

This is just a review of the loan application process. I applied yesterday afternoon after seeing an offer on freecreditreport. I currently have a $11,000 Lending Club loan with a 24.48% APR (monthly payments of $300/60 months). I had horrible credit and maxed out about 8 credit cards. I used that loan to clean up all my credit cards and my credit shot all the way from poor to excellent in one month. I was able to get a $12,000 Loan with LightStream with a ridiculous 10.84% APR with monthly payments of about $260 for 60 months. I used this to pay off my Lending Club loan and have lower monthly payments.I applied yesterday afternoon and got an email a couple of hours later to call and answer some questions and I did. I got another email shortly after stating I had to upload recent paystubs for verification of income, which I did. A couple of hours after that my loan was approved. I logged in to the LightStream site and I accepted the offer and was able to choose my payment date and when I wanted to funds. I chose to get the funds the next day (today) and it was in my account this morning when I checked. I was also surprised to learn that LightStream didn't take any fees so I applied for a $12,000 loan and I got $12,000 deposited into my account. Lending Club charged me a 5% fee on my loan with them. This is a great option for people with good credit. I am very happy with LightStream so far.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 05, 2017

Thank you for choosing LightStream for your financial needs and for taking the time to share such a wonderful review. We aim to provide a meaningful experience for every customer and look forward to assisting you with your future financial needs.

 
Nov 11, 2017
Awesome, Fast, Easy
Anonymous Borrower

Needed $25k to get motorhome. My credit is great, so no problem. I could hardly believe how easy it was!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 05, 2017

Thank you for choosing LightStream for your financial needs and for taking the time to share your experience!

 
Nov 02, 2017
Fast and Easy!
Goodman247 Borrower

Received the money on the same day of loan approval. Unbelivable interest rate!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 05, 2017

Thank you for choosing LightStream for your financial needs and for taking the time to share your experience!

 
Nov 01, 2017
Easiest loan application ever
Goodman247 Borrower

Received the money the same day the application was approved. Amazing!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 05, 2017

Thank you for choosing LightStream for your financial needs and for taking the time to share your experience!

 
Oct 03, 2017
Lightstream was great for salvage title!
Anonymous Borrower

Lightstream was a life saver for my wife and I! We found an excellent condition, fully repaired salvage title car that we really liked for a great price, but couldn't find any financial institution that would come within a country mile of financing a salvage title. Finally, we came across lightstream, who gave us a loan with a fantastic rate without hesitation! Easy, fast service!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 14, 2017

Thank you for choosing LightStream for your financial needs. We are thrilled to hear that we were able to assist you with purchasing your vehicle and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience!

 
Sep 29, 2017
55k funded within 24hrs!
Anonymous Borrower

Easiest loan process we've ever done. Applied, approved, and funded for a 3yr 2.29% $55k used car loan all within 24 hours. My FICO score is 820 and husband's is 790. Healthy combined incomes, savings, 401k, and home equity. Our only debt is a mortgage; no CC debt or any other loans. We love that it was unsecured so there's no hassle with titling; they even make sure to tell you not to list them as a lienholder and that you did not finance the purchase. We also like that there was no prepayment penalty. Will definitely go with LightStream for all future loans.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 14, 2017

Thank you for choosing LightStream for your financial needs. We appreciate you for taking the time to write a review sharing your experience and look forward to assisting you with your future financial needs!

 
Sep 24, 2017
Used car 2.79 %
Anonymous Borrower

This is my second loan with light stream if you have good credit this is the place to go. Applied and was approved in 24 hours. Funds deposited directly into my bank account. Also if you make extra payments like a lump sum they will give you the option of lowering your monthly payment for the duration of the loan. Not sure if they always do that but they did with me. I will not even look at another way to finance a vehicle. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 05, 2017

Thank for choosing us for your additional financial needs! Our re-amortization option is available to customers as long as they make qualifying one-time payments and we are happy to hear that you were able to utilize the feature. We look forward to assisting you with your future needs!

 
Sep 24, 2017
Easiest loan ever
Anonymous Borrower

I was hesitant to apply with LightStream because I have had lousy service from SunTrust.  Eventually I was tempted by the low rates, and I am glad!  I've financed my last 2 cars with LightStream, and the process is fantastic!.  Low rates, quick turnaround, and good customer service.

more ...
Dec 13, 2017

This is my experience too. I've had so much hassle and bad customer service from SunTrust as a bank that I almost didn't apply, but LightStream is completely different beast. Maybe SunTrust has turned a new leaf. Might consider going back to them for my banking needs based on my experience with LightStream.

 
Dec 14, 2017

Thank you for choosing LightStream for your financial needs! We are thrilled to hear that we have been able to assist you with multiple vehicle purchases. We aim for the highest level of customer service possible and are happy to hear that your experience reflected that.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.