SelfLender Personal Loans Reviews

SelfLender Personal Loans Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 09, 2019
So Far So Good
amandaly1006 Borrower

I started my credit repair journey January 2019 at a 525 credit score with  a Citi Diamond Preferred Secured Credit Card along with disputing old debts and repaying some old debts I managed to raise the score to 588. I heard about SL from my father who highly recommended after reading mixed reviews I was still hesitant but figured I would try it anyway. I just enrolled into the $48 month for 12 year option plan from SL in the end of September 2019 and made my first payment October 2 2019. I just checked my FICO scores this morning and I'm currently at 627 after the first reported payment. I am super excited to see what will happen with credit score over the next 11 months. Make your payments on time people keep your credit usage low on credit cards (under 10%) and be patient credit repair isn't an overnight process but in less than a year I have risen over 100 points. I haven't finished the program yet so I cannot speak on how much of a hassle it is to get your money back at the end as I have read in many reviews but I will be back to update my review in October 2020 when I finish.

best of luck to you all on your credit journey.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 13, 2020
DO NOT USE IF YOU VALUE YOUR CREDIT!!!!!
RJKBNK Borrower

DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE!!!! I had one account with them that I paid off great whoo me I re-opend a second one and went through a tough time and closed the account yet they never closed the aco**** for 90 now I have 2 60 day late on my credit they are very unwilling to work with you on anything, no managers to speak with, you sit on hold for an hour before you get to talk to someone and when you get with someone they are not whom cannot help you any way. I would never reccommend this place to anyone not even my worst enemy

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

May 27, 2020
scam
Dustendbly Borrower

Took $10 and than would not let me pay with the same and only payment method i trust.

Tried to cancle will not cancel it.

when i finally chewed on them they cancled it and sent me this statement.

Please note a balance remains account in unpaid interest. If you wish to remain eligible to reapply in the future, this balance must be paid within 30 days.

RUN FAST from this company.

more ...
May 08, 2020
Worst decision
Dustendbly Borrower

Took $10 from my account than wouldn't let me pay my bill with the same card.

more ...
Apr 15, 2020
Worth it!
RLC45 Borrower

I started with making $25 monthly payments and then would randomly send more and my score increased right away. I have now finished it and requested to get my money via direct deposit and I got it within a week of making my final payment. No complaints. 

more ...
Apr 03, 2020
It's ok not that. Score went up!!!!
Tonystark11 Borrower

Well since I started after the first payment of 25 cash a month my score wne to down then jumped up up. Since then it has just been going up due to me making on time payments that self lender reports to all 3 credit bureaus. I've only been a member for 2 months and my score is 621 and started at 544. They customer service isnt that great but the service is. Overall if you plan to have your own place or car in the future and your over 25 yrs of age and have ****ed up credit like most Americans today then self lender is for you. I'm sure you dont want to be 35 living at home check to check job and bad credit that will suck.

more ...
Mar 28, 2020
If used right its worth it! 100 pointsup
kvieira85 Borrower

I never really leave reviews, but after seeing some of the bad ones on here I thought I'd share my experience. First, everyone is going to have a different experience, I repeat everyone will have a different experience. No one's credit is the same. You really have to understand credit, to get how this works and helps you. I started self with a 473 in March 2019. I never understood how credit worked and for a long time didn't care about my credit. I realized as I got older how important it was to have good credit. I never have a credit card in my life before this and I'm 34, I've always paid cash and saved for big purchases. So I never built credit. Anyways, your credit will go up overtime using self. If you see a drop in your score after first opening there maybe an explanation. It's a new account and with drip you credit age, and depending on what your average credit age was before hand you might see a slight dip the first month or so, but that's very rare. When I started with self the first month my score went up 25 points. The next month only a few points. Its varies on what else is on your report. Now its march 2020, one year later. I have  credit cards and a car loan. And a 640 credit score. 167 point increase in a year. Some people might have a different experience, you have to do other things along with self. I know work as a credit counselor teaching people how credit works. 

more ...
Feb 17, 2020
I'm trying it
geratorres Borrower

So far so good. I got a $1 dollar invitation to join self lender and I accepted it. They do report to Equifax, Experian and Transunion so I guess its a good credit building starter.

I do recommend this if you have no credit history with anyone. My account showed on my credit report 30 days after I open my account

more ...
Feb 05, 2020
Steer clear
KELTOI70 Borrower

They do not report payments that you make.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 28, 2020

They do report to all three, if you're not seeing Self on your credit report, contact the credit bureau's directly. If any information that's on your credit report doesnt match exactly what you put in you application that might be the reason why

 
Jan 13, 2020
DO NOT USE IF YOU VALUE YOUR CREDIT!!!!!
RJKBNK Borrower

DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE!!!! I had one account with them that I paid off great whoo me I re-opend a second one and went through a tough time and closed the account yet they never closed the aco**** for 90 now I have 2 60 day late on my credit they are very unwilling to work with you on anything, no managers to speak with, you sit on hold for an hour before you get to talk to someone and when you get with someone they are not whom cannot help you any way. I would never reccommend this place to anyone not even my worst enemy

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 28, 2020

Well if you went to open a second account then your first experience must have been pretty good. Looks like you made the mistake. 90% of creditors will not remove late payments

 
Jan 07, 2020
So far so good
Jenbug421 Borrower

I just opened my first self lender account. I did the $25 for 24 months and they just reported to my credit. My score went up by 54 points just by opening this account. I haven't even made any payments yet! I will update as I continue with this program.

more ...
Jan 26, 2020

How soon after you opened your account did it report?

 
Mar 28, 2020

Takes at least 30 days

 
Jan 02, 2020
It's well worth it!
Jtota Borrower

I've had Self for 2 months now and it has slowly raised my score. So many people are leaving negative reviews after having it for a few months or less saying it dropped their score, it's showing an inaccurate credit score, or it's not raising their score like it promised. It's not exactly a get rich quick deal guys. One of the major benefits to your credit score is the credit age! I did the 2 year, $25/month plan. I will have 2 years of steady, positive credit history at the end of this. It also raises my score over time. Whenever you get any new account, it may temporarily drop your credit score but will go back up. It's a very good program that I would recommend again. People just expected diamonds overnight without growing through the process and got upset when they came out as painted glass. Be patient and research because it actually works.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.