Discover® Personal Loans – this loan offer is no longer available on Credit Karma Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
12 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 04, 2012
great experience
daffynalf Borrower

 I apllied for and was quickly approved in 2005 for a $20,000 loan.They had 3 interest rates according to your credit score. they were 6.99%,12.99% and 18.99%.I had a score of about 710.They gave me a 12.99% fixed rate (all their rates are fixed).i called them several times over the life of the loan and they were always very helpful and professional.I have made all my payments on time and as of 11-3-2012 I have made the final payment.You can do just about everything on their website.I highly recommend this company.Thank you discover!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 26, 2014
Bad even for a rainy day.
Anonymous Borrower

I got the offer 6.99 to 15.99. Was trying to get my hubby out of 15.99 on card debt. my credit score 790. 45k income. They wouldn't give anything better than 13.99. Took it coz it's better than 15.99. My fico score took a 27 point hit coz of the loan. Double loss. I've retired their two credit cards. Guess this interest is all they get from me. I have other cards so im not hurting it just makes me feel better. There is no loyalty coming from these leeches i tell you.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Apr 06, 2017
Insane
Anonymous Borrower

This was the most painless loan I've ever applied for and I've applied for some loans in my short years of credit haha. I'm 22, have a  credit score of 726, currently have a car loan with 11k left on it, 4 credit cards with about 40% util, a a tiny school loan for 3k that just started. I have no mortgage or rent which is probably a huge factor for them. Income of around 46k, tends to range higher I'm in sales. I claimed the lowest though. Applied online, spoke with the representative for about 15 minutes. That was on Monday. It is Thursday and the money was deposited this morning. Painless. No incriminating questions, No income verification. Nothing. Just say hey need loan for this and how much and they said ok. That simple. I have a credit card with Discover btw for 4 years if that makes any difference too and no late payments ever and paid off car loans in the past. Not just a good score on my side tremendous history for my age. Just for anyone's interest

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Extremely easy process
Anonymous Borrower

If you have great or excellent credit, this may be an option for you since most banks don't give personal loans anymore. Apllied on Thursday afternoon, entire process took maybe 10 minutes on the phone, no documentation was required since my FICO score is 823 and I have a Discover card with a high, 95% unused credit limit. It is now Tuesday early AM and the funds were deposited into my account over night. Excellent service, very satisfied 6.99% interest rate, auto pay over 3 years (the minimum possible) for $5000 loan @$154/month. I'm satisfied. 

more ...
Feb 28, 2017
A great way to consolidate debt
Anonymous Borrower

My wife and I both have had Discover cards for a few years now.  Prior to her discover card, she didn't have any loans, cards, or debt; I, however, have had loans (student & personal) dating back to 2008 when I was in high school and at least one credit card since 2010. We used the Discover loan to consolidate some high interest credit cards of mine.  We had gone to our bank (a major regional bank) and been denied because her credit score was simply not old enough and individually we didn't make enough money for the loan size we were asking from the bank ($10,000).  I was skeptical to try Discover loan, having read a variety of reviews from numerous sites, but opted to give them a try.  We were approved for $17,5000 (probably could have been more) at 10.99%.  While not the greatest interest rate, it's lower than what our bank was offering, and on a shorter repayment period (36 months)--and at least 11% lower than each of the cards we wanted to pay off.  The application process was very quick and they called me within hours of my online application and we finalized the following day, with the money coming very quickly.  

I have been very happy with them to date (it's been 4 months since we were approved) and haven't had a hassle with paying.  I'm somewhat old school and don't like to do direct debit, so I pay earlier online and haven't run into any of the issues with payment processing.  Thank you Discover for helping us rebuild our financial stability after two boughts of unemployment! 

more ...
Jan 25, 2017
Nothing but a big Scam!
DMAC370 Borrower

I have been a Discover card holder for years and I got an invitation for a discover loan! Go to the website and put in the invitation number then a valid email address. I put in the email address that Discover has and has had since the beginning of our business relationship, also the same address they send all my alerts and statements too each month. With that address it gives me a red outline not letting me continue past that point. No matter what valid email I put in it fails. This is an advertisement stunt/scam to get you on the phone to push whatever at you. It should not be allowed to continue and you should steer clear of it.

more ...
Jan 02, 2017
Easy and quick!
Anonymous Borrower

Process was very easy and quick! Applied online at night. The next day, I received a call and answered a few questions. Submitted my paystubs online during my lunch and the loan was processed within a couple days. The rep I spoke to was friendly and informative. It's been almost a year now and I haven't had any issues. Happy borrower here!

more ...
Dec 28, 2016
Smooth Transition!
Eloz89 Borrower

It was my first time applying for a loan. I needed a way to get out of pay three different credit cards and move all the debt into one monthly payment. I was pre approved for an Amex loan and a Discover loan, probably based on my excellent payment history. I was really impressed and satisfied with the customer service from the Discover loan specialist. She was clear, direct and straight to the point. She assisted me in all areas and I am happy with the transaction. I would definitely recommend this to everyone. 

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
RIDICULOUS
Anonymous Borrower

Was the most ridiculous waste of my time and the biggest runaround I have ever gone through!Every time I gave them what they asked for they wanted something else.DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME!

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
I love Discover
Anonymous Borrower

Love Discover

more ...
Sep 09, 2016
Great personal loan
AprilLynn71 Borrower

It's my first loan. It was easy and I received the lowest APR, 6.99%. There are no fees or penalties for early payment. I had bad credit 2 years ago and worked to bring it up. If you get denied it's for a good reason. A high credit score number does not guarantee you perfect credit. You have to look at everything in your credit history.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 20, 2016

What's the highest credit score needed to get approved

 
Jul 27, 2016
Buffo5252 Borrower

On (7-25-16) I put in for a loan 5,000 Dollar's My Score on FICO is 734 I have (5)credit cards 2 capital one Cards 5,000 limit I also have Kroger's 1-2-3 Rewards credit card 1,000 limit on that card & I have a Target card it's only $600 limit I've had these cards alittle over 2yrs Now I've always paid My cards two week in advance each month I never go over my percentage on each card which is about 10%..I got a personal Loan from another company called Avant a year ago it was only for a 1,000 Dollar's they put a 3year Contract on it But I went ahead & paid it off in a Year just to show Leander I am responsible..But anyway what I'm getting @ is I said to Myself I want to get another Loan So I want to see what loan company could give me a low interest rates for $5,000 Avant who I went to @ first I tried them But it was still alittle high for what I was looking for..So I came here to Discover Loan I put my information is on the website they gave me a confirmation number told that they could give me a loan.(one thang I didn't like about them checking My credit score after they done that my score went down 7 Freaken points)..so I called them talk to a guy over the phone I gave him my confirmation number the website gave me after filling out the application he told me yes we could give you that $5,000 loan with a 10% interest rate which was fine with me $166 a month as he proceeded to the final Steps over the phone he said wait a minute we still need a document of your check stub of your employment I said okay he email me I downloaded my check stub and send it to them and the email said they will call you in 48 hours to finalize your loan..OK two Days later I look @ my email & Discover Loan had sent me a email asking me the Same Damm thing I just sent them 48 hrs ago..the email ask Me to send my pay statement AGAIN..I was like I just sent it to the link you Ask Me to do Two days Ago.. Now I have to wait another 48hrs for you to accept or deny me..This is just Crazy to Me...just don't understand why they email me a second time to e-file my pay statement that I'd already done the first time... Why they're asking me to do it again..(SMH)..I'm Not understand this proceedings from them...if you Not wanting to give it to me let me know Cause it several other loan companies that could accept me I'm just trying one loan place at a time..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 27, 2016

Well I just called and talk to one of loan representative and I was accepted for my $5,000 loan I'm So Glad and Happy Today.. Thank God I was Bless today and also I Got A Great interest rate 10.99% Not Bad @ all I'm Very Happy ..other Loan places was way higher than that I don't even want to tell you some of these loan company just be trying to use you because they think everybody is desperate to say yes just to get some money that's why a lot of people end up going bankruptcy becausethey accept desperate money not caring about the high interest rate I've never been desperate it has to be the right interest rate for me I have a nice credit score 734 and I expected to get a low interest rate and that's what I got with Discovery loan I will be coming back to them after I pay off this long I probably pay it off in about two years they gave me a free year 36 month to pay it off but I will pay it off early no penalties to pay off early so I'm a happy camper today..I will be much happier when the money hits my checking accounttriazolam

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.