Springleaf Financial Personal Loans Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
31 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 13, 2017
Simple fast and amazing
Anonymous Borrower

Best place for a loan

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 28, 2017
Legalized shylocking
Anonymous Borrower

I borrowed $4,000 from Springleaf Financial in 2014, because I had bad credit and no other options. Forty-two monthly payments later, I had re-paid over $7,000 (which comes out to a 76% interest rate). NEVER, EVER AGAIN!  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Dec 01, 2017
Third without the masks!
yalonda17 Borrower

Got a loan for $2000. Attempted to pay back 6 months later, only to have them tell me I owed $4000! Had already paid $1200 of the loan off. Tried a few months later and still owed $4000. All of the money goes to interest. They force you to keep paying the small amounts because the pay off is too large. Avoid at all costs! Worse mistake of my life!

more ...
Nov 08, 2017
Small loan easy to get!
Anonymous Borrower

The process was really easy!!

more ...
Oct 03, 2017
consolidation loan
mariaespi86 Borrower

high interest rate but very quick process makes it convenient in case of an emergency

more ...
Aug 14, 2017
Great lender
Tess26554 Borrower

I needed extra money to cover my wedding expenses and One main was the best place to go for this. They were quick and very pleasant.

more ...
Aug 14, 2017
Personal Loan
Anonymous Borrower

Very fast and easy, have money within the same day! Only downfall is high interest but I always pay more than the minimum payment! 

more ...
Jun 23, 2017
Easy to get, hard to get rid of
Anonymous Borrower

They don't adjust the inyerest rate no matter how much better your credit score gets. The loan was transferred to another lender even though I paid on time and was never behind. If you are only able to pay the minimum you will be paying this loan forever.

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
Easy and friendly
Anonymous Borrower

Customer service was great. Easy to work with.

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
Never applied
Anonymous Borrower

They put hard inquiry on my credit without my permission. I talked to them once and decided I didn't want to fill out the loan application. A year later they place a hard inquiry on my credit.

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Personal loan
Anonymous Borrower

Don't default, because even after you satisfy the loan, they won't remove it like require by law. Had to show proof to all the credit reporting agencies, because Springleaf refused to.

more ...
Jun 01, 2017
Awesome
Anonymous Borrower

Awesome

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 16, 2017

What is the website do you go to if you want to apply? And are there any upfront fees?

 
May 20, 2017
So helpful!
Anonymous Borrower

Springleaf is and has been wonderful to work with!

more ...
May 20, 2017
loan offer
Anonymous Borrower

Are you a business man or woman? Are you in any finance stress or need funds to start up your own business? Do you need loan to settle your debt or pay your bills? Do you have a low credit score and have difficulty obtaining loan from local banks and other financial institutions? I wish to inform you that we offer all kinds of loans at low interest rate of {2%} if interested in obtaining a loan from us. [ Email: jerry.mavin@financier.com], {+1}2253672533 contact Us.. God Bless You!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 16, 2017

I tried contacting you by email and that number but got no response. What is the website where a person can apply? And what is a valid email address for you?

 
May 19, 2017
PERSONAL Loan
Anonymous Borrower

I MUST SAY.. THEY WERE RIGHT ON TIME. WITH THE MONEY.EASY PROCESS. I WAS SO THANKFUL FOR THE MONEY. HIGH INTEREST 😣

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 16, 2017

How much interest and where do I go to apply? :)

 
Apr 13, 2017
Simple fast and amazing
Anonymous Borrower

Best place for a loan

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
Expensive
Anonymous Borrower

A 5000 dollar loan is costing me 3500 so my total balance is 8500. I'm paying 3500 to borrow 5000

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
Garbage
lukeduke077 Borrower

They make you take more than you need !  They want to get you into a  minium 2 year payment cycyle generally with 25% interest.  They constantly call you if you play on time to come in and take more money extending the length of your loan.  But the kicker is they will pay first loan off and charge you for all the loan fees all over again on the new loan. If you do not pay right on time they send their dogs to hunt and harees you relentlessly.  I pay my bills on time so I made it through it but I have clearly seen the heavy handed why they operate !  FTC should investigate them as their like the wall street banks in their corruption.  They told me a story about a gal who had a 2006 vehicle that she owed a small amount on.  She lost  her job and was having a hard time keeping a roof over her head.  They intimadated her so bad that she just parked her car she owed less than 600 on in the parking lot giving it back to them to sell.  What really got me was she did the right thing and rather than calling her up and working with her.  they took her car and sold it and then nailed her credit report.

more ...
Mar 30, 2017
good loan for rebuilding credit
Anonymous Borrower

Good loan for rebuilding credit

more ...
Mar 28, 2017
Legalized shylocking
Anonymous Borrower

I borrowed $4,000 from Springleaf Financial in 2014, because I had bad credit and no other options. Forty-two monthly payments later, I had re-paid over $7,000 (which comes out to a 76% interest rate). NEVER, EVER AGAIN!  

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
It a quick way to pay other small bills!
Anonymous Borrower

it a quick way to pay other small bills, but sometimes that not good to do. If you really don't need a loan to help you catch up, then don't get one.

more ...
Feb 28, 2017
Easy
rebbyrebs Borrower

I got lower interest than the previous loan and it was approved right away. The only time I went in is to sign paperwork. 

more ...
Jan 25, 2017
great online options
bs8477 Borrower

This companys website has a lot more features than most and is easy to keep up on your loan and your credit score

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

Very dishonest people, please look elsewhere.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.