Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Municipal Credit Union (MCU)

2.9 out of 5 stars
11 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 24, 2016
Fine to me
MadisonAlley Account Holder

My grandmother opened a savings account for me when I was younger which had a zero balance and was dormant for 4 years. I heard about their fast track checking where you get paid 2 days earlier with MCU so I signed up. While speaking to the account specialist to open a checking account I inquired about a credit card. I had a 615 credit score and decided to apply. Written application that they mail in. They didn't tell me I was approved or denied but when I went to check my fast track checking to see if my check was deposited I saw a credit card also on my mobile banking with a $500 limit! They've won me over already. Get paid 2 days early and start me off with a $500 limit? Great to me

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 18, 2016
It has it high & lows
kionicole Account Holder

They aren't easy to get loans and rebuild credit even if you've satisfied all of your debt with them, I've had personal loans, car loans all paid in full, after loosing my job, I turned to them a for a small loan and was denied time after time again, I'm a bit disappointed, there' s no sloaylty to long existing customers trying to get bac k on their feet.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 27, 2016
it's great bank
Anonymous Account Holder

It's a great bank.. you get your money one day before due date!! You would never have problems with anything.. when you go in one of there office the work are very helpful..

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
They gave me the second chance I need
TanyaLerissa Account Holder

Thanks to my job, I was finally able to join a credit union on my own and I can actually say MCU is putting me on the path to financial freedom and giving my credit a chance at recovering itself. The thought of never having a line of credit is a thing of the past.

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
I never had any problems
Anonymous Account Holder

I guess everyone has different experiences, but I have personally never had a problem. They approved me for a loan to clear my higher-interest credit cards, then approved me for a low-interest card. And they emailed me when they noticed fraudulent activity, credited my account, cancelled my debit card and sent out a new one. MCU has had my back for almost 15 years now!!

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
The worst Bank Union Ever!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I get direct deposit every two weeks I asked for a peraonal loand to pay some student loan .Denied!!! I took my cousin to get an account no jobs whatsoever she got a loan right away. Crazy. Run dont go there they will charged you alot for nothing when you call the will read a bible that yoh will hang up the phone call. 😣

more ...
Aug 09, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

I got into a car accident and since I received paper checks I was unable to deposit my current one right away. I was charge 700$ worth of NSF fees for the same charge. They just kept putting it through. Even chase or citi bank only run the same charge twice. They are a rip off. To this day they run the same charge over and over. Any money I put in the account goes towards the fees. It's ridiculous!!

more ...
Jul 11, 2016
Archiac and incompetent in the extreme.
Anonymous Account Holder

Truly the most incompetent people I've ever known to work at in a financial institution. The banking methods are archaic to say the least and the staff seem to qualify for the job straight out of high school. I have yet to talk to anyone here with any real financial know how. Try to find a real bank or credit union to put your money.

more ...
Jul 11, 2016
Archiac and incompetent in the extreme.
Anonymous Account Holder

Truly the most incompetent people I've ever known to work at in a financial institution. The banking methods are archaic to say the least and the staff seem to qualify for the job straight out of high school. I have yet to talk to anyone here with any real financial know how. Try to find a real bank or credit union to put your money.

more ...
Jun 21, 2016
Not worth the hastle.
Anonymous Account Holder

One giant mess from day one. They send a checklist and package of documents to be filled out that is incomplete, not properly labeled and not in order. Once you fill out everything, they tell you about additional Items which could have been included with the original package. This process happens once with a loan originator who then passes your file to a loan processor who pulls the same BS. I am going on 3 months and still not able to get to closing. STAY AWAY. They also are also bad at communication and use a law firm that is extremely rude when you call.

more ...
May 18, 2016
It has it high & lows
kionicole Account Holder

They aren't easy to get loans and rebuild credit even if you've satisfied all of your debt with them, I've had personal loans, car loans all paid in full, after loosing my job, I turned to them a for a small loan and was denied time after time again, I'm a bit disappointed, there' s no sloaylty to long existing customers trying to get bac k on their feet.

more ...
Apr 22, 2016
Experience varies on where you go.
Anonymous Account Holder

Having visited multiple MCU locations, my best advice is to go to a smaller one even if it is out of your way. Guaranteed you will have a better experience than going to one that is packed on a daily basis. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations