Municipal Credit Union (MCU) Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
6 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 27, 2016
it's great bank
Anonymous Account Holder

It's a great bank.. you get your money one day before due date!! You would never have problems with anything.. when you go in one of there office the work are very helpful..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 12, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

I use to work for MCU when I was 21, it was an okay job, pay was good for me at the tie, heyi was 21, lol. As a young adult, I messed up my credit, had no choice but to file bankruptcy. My loan from MCU was included in my bankruptcy. I went in recently to get a SECURED loan and they denied me, which confused the heck out of me since it was my money being put up for the loan. I ma trying to rebuiild my credit, but becasue I included the balance of the loan I cant get anything from MCU anymore. Thanks for the second chance MCU, crazy thing is I make over $100K now.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Sep 02, 2017
MrFranzua Account Holder

If I could give this place 0 stars I would, I applied for a secured credit card from these crooks in order to boost my credit score which was hovering around the mid 600's. Well into the second month of having this card I noticed that on their primitive web app, my payments were not posting. I made a call to their credit card department which is the most un-professional in the world to make them aware of the issue. I was assured that it would be resolved. Fast forward MCU closed my card and continued to take my payments, when I called to find out what was going on with the card and why my payments were not reflecting they contended that  I had not made any payments and that the card been closed. 

MCU claims that they attempted to notify me about the issue but that was and is false. Not only did they close my card they kept my the money I gave towards the card. I called and I was given the run around and all they could stand on was that they tried to notify me. When  I asked about the notes concerning my calls about the payments not posting they said they could see anything. I asked to speak with a manager and she was not even trying to help me at all, I learned a very hard lesson with this institution.And to add insult to injury, they are now reporting late payments for months I made payments on, My credit which hovered around mid 600's know with MCU's screw up it's low 300's..STAY AWAY FROM THIS RAT HOLE OF UNPROFESSIONAL MISERY!!!

more ...
Jun 10, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

Slow customers service. ..it take up to one half to pay a bill

more ...
May 12, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

I use to work for MCU when I was 21, it was an okay job, pay was good for me at the tie, heyi was 21, lol. As a young adult, I messed up my credit, had no choice but to file bankruptcy. My loan from MCU was included in my bankruptcy. I went in recently to get a SECURED loan and they denied me, which confused the heck out of me since it was my money being put up for the loan. I ma trying to rebuiild my credit, but becasue I included the balance of the loan I cant get anything from MCU anymore. Thanks for the second chance MCU, crazy thing is I make over $100K now.

more ...
Nov 27, 2016
it's great bank
Anonymous Account Holder

It's a great bank.. you get your money one day before due date!! You would never have problems with anything.. when you go in one of there office the work are very helpful..

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
They gave me the second chance I need
TanyaLerissa Account Holder

Thanks to my job, I was finally able to join a credit union on my own and I can actually say MCU is putting me on the path to financial freedom and giving my credit a chance at recovering itself. The thought of never having a line of credit is a thing of the past.

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
I never had any problems
Anonymous Account Holder

I guess everyone has different experiences, but I have personally never had a problem. They approved me for a loan to clear my higher-interest credit cards, then approved me for a low-interest card. And they emailed me when they noticed fraudulent activity, credited my account, cancelled my debit card and sent out a new one. MCU has had my back for almost 15 years now!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations