Municipal Credit Union (MCU) Reviews

2.3 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 27, 2016
it's great bank
Anonymous Account Holder

It's a great bank.. you get your money one day before due date!! You would never have problems with anything.. when you go in one of there office the work are very helpful..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 05, 2014
NASTY Customer Service staff...
metssuck Account Holder

Called them up for help with my log-in info and the reps acted like I was interrupting their card game or something. Rude, nasty, short answers. I could not believe!! Very ghetto. Go to Melrose Credit Union!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

May 12, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

I use to work for MCU when I was 21, it was an okay job, pay was good for me at the tie, heyi was 21, lol. As a young adult, I messed up my credit, had no choice but to file bankruptcy. My loan from MCU was included in my bankruptcy. I went in recently to get a SECURED loan and they denied me, which confused the heck out of me since it was my money being put up for the loan. I ma trying to rebuiild my credit, but becasue I included the balance of the loan I cant get anything from MCU anymore. Thanks for the second chance MCU, crazy thing is I make over $100K now.

more ...
Nov 27, 2016
it's great bank
Anonymous Account Holder

It's a great bank.. you get your money one day before due date!! You would never have problems with anything.. when you go in one of there office the work are very helpful..

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
They gave me the second chance I need
TanyaLerissa Account Holder

Thanks to my job, I was finally able to join a credit union on my own and I can actually say MCU is putting me on the path to financial freedom and giving my credit a chance at recovering itself. The thought of never having a line of credit is a thing of the past.

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
I never had any problems
Anonymous Account Holder

I guess everyone has different experiences, but I have personally never had a problem. They approved me for a loan to clear my higher-interest credit cards, then approved me for a low-interest card. And they emailed me when they noticed fraudulent activity, credited my account, cancelled my debit card and sent out a new one. MCU has had my back for almost 15 years now!!

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
The worst Bank Union Ever!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I get direct deposit every two weeks I asked for a peraonal loand to pay some student loan .Denied!!! I took my cousin to get an account no jobs whatsoever she got a loan right away. Crazy. Run dont go there they will charged you alot for nothing when you call the will read a bible that yoh will hang up the phone call. 😣

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 27, 2017

Always read the fine print. You're not allowed to use personal loans for education! All banks I've seen say that stipulation!! That's why you were denied!

 
Aug 09, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

I got into a car accident and since I received paper checks I was unable to deposit my current one right away. I was charge 700$ worth of NSF fees for the same charge. They just kept putting it through. Even chase or citi bank only run the same charge twice. They are a rip off. To this day they run the same charge over and over. Any money I put in the account goes towards the fees. It's ridiculous!!

more ...
Jul 11, 2016
Archiac and incompetent in the extreme.
Anonymous Account Holder

Truly the most incompetent people I've ever known to work at in a financial institution. The banking methods are archaic to say the least and the staff seem to qualify for the job straight out of high school. I have yet to talk to anyone here with any real financial know how. Try to find a real bank or credit union to put your money.

more ...
Jul 11, 2016
Archiac and incompetent in the extreme.
Anonymous Account Holder

Truly the most incompetent people I've ever known to work at in a financial institution. The banking methods are archaic to say the least and the staff seem to qualify for the job straight out of high school. I have yet to talk to anyone here with any real financial know how. Try to find a real bank or credit union to put your money.

more ...
Jun 21, 2016
Not worth the hastle.
Anonymous Account Holder

One giant mess from day one. They send a checklist and package of documents to be filled out that is incomplete, not properly labeled and not in order. Once you fill out everything, they tell you about additional Items which could have been included with the original package. This process happens once with a loan originator who then passes your file to a loan processor who pulls the same BS. I am going on 3 months and still not able to get to closing. STAY AWAY. They also are also bad at communication and use a law firm that is extremely rude when you call.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations