Credit One Bank Reviews

Credit One Bank Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.0 out of 5 stars
540 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 25, 2019
Credit building life saver
Jaleesazzzzz Cardholder

I've had this card for 5 years now and my credit limit increases periodically. I've always had great experiences with customer service. If you do your part and pay your bill on time this is a credit way to establish credit

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 21, 2018
ItMeB16 Cardholder

WORST CREDIT CARD EVER!!!! PLEASE RUN!!!! I went out of town & used the card at Walmart & my card was immediately declined. I received a text to confirm the transaction. I received another text stating my card was cleared and ready to use again. Well, it wasn’t. Customer service was closed. I called the following morning only to discover that if you’re out of town & use it at Walmart they automatically place a block on your card and to remove this block you must FAX a copy of you Drivers License & a recent utility bill to their ‘home office’ it gets better, it takes 2-3 days for them to receive your fax & an additional 7-10 days for them to review it & release the hold on your card!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have NEVER heard of it taking ANY company 13 days to confirm I AM WHO I SAY I AM!!! Besides I answered every security question, social security #, address, phone number, last transactions!! I’M DONE!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 19, 2019
creil1988 Cardholder

They will cancel your card with no notice when they have system issues and want to fight you to reactivate it

more ...
Jun 19, 2019
TRASH COMPANY
sarine17 Cardholder

DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND DONT THINK TWICE ABOUTTHIS BANK AND CREDIT CARD. EXTREMELY SHADY AND WILL ADD CHARGES AND FEES TO YOUR ACCOUNT WITHOUT CONEST. IVE BEEN WITH THEM FOR 4 YEARS NEVER MISSED A PMT AND ALWAYS PAID IN FULL. THET STARTED ME OUT AT $450 because I was building credit. 4 years later I’m only at $1300 credit line and they wanna only offer a $200 limit increase or sucker me into their $1500 MasterCard. NO THANKS. Rude shady company with RUDE ARROGANT EMPLOYEES I HAVE HIGHLER LIMITS WITH REAL BANKS NOT THIS FAKE TRASH BANK. I paid off my account and closed it. YOUVE BEEN WARNED.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 23, 2019

I couldn't agree more

 
Jun 19, 2019
rollingtrouble Cardholder

Annual fee is not worth it, easy enough to get one without a fee. Too much BS to go through just making  a payment online takes too long to post and then they delay a payment to “verify bank account” even on a bank account you’ve used to pay them with already. Very stupid and inconvenient, don’t need the added hassle when there are better cards to deal with. I won’t be using this card very much at all anymore 

more ...
Jun 18, 2019
Sucks no auto pay. like to charge late f
Davidch162 Cardholder

No auto pay .like to charge late fees .sucks

more ...
Jun 17, 2019
Good for rebuilding credit.
onlyonce1783 Cardholder

This card is good for rebuilding credit especially after bankruptcy like myself. Quite a few people complain about the fees but they are not hidden fees they are all explained if you read the disclaimers. If you have good credit you wouldn't be applying for this card so quit complaining. I already recieved an increase without asking and was not charged for it either and my credit score jumped almost 100 points also. So the card it doing what it was made if you use it properly thanks.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 19, 2019

Thanks for the review I was just approved and like you I’m just coming out of bankruptcy, I’m just happy to get a second chance

 
Jun 17, 2019
Mediocre card, used to build credit
OaktownCricket Cardholder

Read the details.  Everything is stated: annual fee, percentage rates, authorized user fee etc...  There are no surprises, if you just read. 

This is the kind of card you get when you need to build your credit back up.  Use it for a few purchases each month then pay it off.  The finance charge is high if you carry a balance.  It did what I wanted it to do: it helped me build credit after a divorce.  I used this card a few times each month and always paid the balance off. Two years later, and my credit is good again.  I won't keep this card, but it really is fine if you use it correctly.

more ...
Jun 15, 2019
Horrible , Do Not use!
JArroyave Cardholder

They got my phone mixed up and gave me Negative credit reporting!

I hate this company.  Then the collections department lied!!! They said they could fix my credit reporting if i paid.  This was a lie!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 19, 2019

They told me this too. It's a wait and see.

 
Jun 15, 2019
Good so far
Dvsgryhnd Cardholder

After reading the reviews I decided to give them a try anyway. Yes they do charge annual fee right away. Yes they do charge for authorized user. If you read everything carefully there will be no surprises. I was shocked to see my payment posted after one day since the reviews said it takes days. I was pleasantly surprised to see the offers. I just got 5% cash back at Denny's. I'm not sure if that is on top of the 1% that I get back. So far no issues. I will post again if anything goes wrong.

more ...
Jun 14, 2019
I hate you creditone
kennajanel Cardholder

I AM ABSOLUTELY FURIOUS WITH THIS COMPANY! IF I COULD GIVE A NEGATIVE 100000 stars I would!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I had to change my password online to access my account. I was having trouble online with the email verification,  so I called them. They told me I had to delete something in a browser or some cookie on my computer to reset my CreditOne account. I told them I had no idea what that was or what that meant. So the CSR told me to press a series of buttons on my keyboard, then to click ok on the screen that came up. WHAT THE  #^&$^+#(*@*&$  IDIOT DIDN'T TELL ME  is that doing so would WIPE OUT EVERY PASSWORD to every program on the computer I am using. Doing what they told me to do wiped out every single password to my mothers accounts that I DON'T HAVE the passwords for, and SHE DIED 2 YRS AGO so I can't ask her!  Her email had pictures, and memories of special friends, AND the PASSWORDS to all her other accounts. And this was my last connection to her and her memories. I AM ****ING SHATTERED, and all they could say was "oops, sorry". 

CREDIT ONE YOU NEED TO FIX THIS and get those passwords back!!!!! Those emails have our family memories in them and they are all I had left of her. I hate you CreditOne, I sincerely hate you. Your CSR should have told me BEFORE I did this that it would delete ALL passwords, not just Creditones. I hate you.

more ...
Jun 13, 2019
Sharajt Cardholder

This is by far THEE WORST credit card I have EVER had! it is a scam and rip off! they charge annual fees and there is no real benefit to having this card at all! Then I checked my account and they charge $19 for an authorized user fee! like wtf! is that and who charges for that. Then they wanted to offer me a credit line increase, but I had to pay for it! like what a SCAM! I'm going to pay it off and cloae it ASAP!

more ...
Jun 13, 2019
Fee Charge as soon as you open account
Lsbaez1104 Cardholder

Dont get this card! Was charge their fee as soon as I open the account. Got a bill & I had not even used the card. I called & was told it the fee would be taken off since I had not made any purchaeses! Called back 3 days later cause bill was still there. Then was told I had to pay it cause its their fee. After much yelling & going though a specialist, I got the fee taken off. And I closed my account. I don't care if it mess up my credit score. I'm not going to pay for something I haven't even used yet. The lady was very helpful. I felt bad yelling at her. It wasn't her fault another person said it would be taken care of!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 14, 2019

They make it very clear your annual fee is charged upon activation of your card.

 
Jun 12, 2019
Below Average
ljesko Cardholder

They have fees for EVERYTHINNG! They even charge you $9 and some change for same day payment, $2 something for a copy of your monthly statement. Unless you NEED credit, I would stay away from it. They take 3 business days to process and fax a balance letter to a loan agency since I am trying to buy a home. 3 DAYS!

more ...
Jun 11, 2019
A fantastic card to have.
MrsTC25 Cardholder

They always have your money on your card when they say so.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 23, 2019

You must work for this company s#it card

 
Jun 10, 2019
It's horrible
jjcowan29 Cardholder

They hit me with 75 too start up. When I paid the balance off I got hit with a purchase interest fee when I haven't used the card in months. They are crooks that try to keep you owing them money.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 13, 2019

undefined

 
Jun 10, 2019
It's horrible
jjcowan29 Cardholder

They charge you 75 to start. They will charge you a high apr and a monthly purchase interest and tell you it's annual. If you pay your balance you will still get hit with some kind of bogus fee. Stay away from this card.

more ...
Jun 10, 2019
I am very satisfied.
debi575 Cardholder

It is a good card to have.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 10, 2019

Enter Your Reply

 
Jun 10, 2019
For the love of God - Don't apply for it
jnangle Cardholder

This account was paid and closed some time ago (exact date escapes me) yet I keep receiving bills/late fee's. Check yourself, credit one. You have terrible ratings on this website as well as the big one BBB. Remove the charges and maybe I'll be nice when I call to yell at you.

more ...
Jun 10, 2019
Awful!
Tiffanyparkee Cardholder

This company is a fraud. If you choose to pay your bill online it takes up to 5 days for it to be taken out of your account. If you want to pay instantly than you will be charged another $10 which will be added to your next bill. I called to get my account canceled because of this awful service and lack of customer service and support. They would not cancel it. Do not get this card unless you are willing to pay outrageous fees just to be able to pay your bill. 

more ...
Jun 08, 2019
Awful. Only get this if you have to
Hootgirl Cardholder

Website never works. Doesn’t matter how early you make you card payment they won’t post it til after the due date so they can charge you a late fee. It’s super sketchy actually, I plan on closing this card ASAP. They charge you money for a credit line increase and they even charge you money to make a payment on the card. Anytime you call customer service the person can barely speak English. I highly advise not getting this card unless you’re desperate. A secured credit card would be a better choice if you’re building credit. 

more ...
Jun 07, 2019
Credit One Bank
Brandchesca Cardholder

I have to call again today, and make sure this card is cancelled. I spent over 30 minutes on the phone trying to get my card closed. Once I declined keeping the card open several times, the rep told me that I would keep getting charged the annual fee monthly, and that it would show as unpaid on my credit file. I have a zero balance. So I said wait repeat that again, and he said, " you will continue to be billed the annual fee, and it will show as unpaid on you credit report".  Clearly he uses these tactics to scare consumers who don't know any better. Still, I have to call again today, and make sure the account is closed, because from my end, it looks open. This is an extremely unethical company. Apply for a Capital One card if you need to build your credit. Again I have a zero balance, and this is what this fool says to me. My account has also never been late. I built my credit past the point of needing a card that has an annual fee, and that offers no other benefit. 

more ...
Jun 06, 2019
Horrible company
ShayGray Cardholder

Before you apply for this card, know that this is the worst credit card company I've ever had an account with. I made my first payment with them and my payment was rejected by them and as a result they CLOSED my entire account. When I called customer service the woman on the other end told me that my payment was not authorized. Although IT WAS authorized by me personally as I transferred the funds to my credit one bank account. They took the funds and told me it was rejected. So there goes $38 AND my credit card. I definitely do not recommend this credit card company to anyone who is trying to fix their credit. They will only make it worse. The application process was easy, probably so they can get you a card only to screw you over later.

more ...
Jun 05, 2019
Helped improve credit score
embracedlamb Cardholder

I applied (and was approved) for Credit One over two years ago.  My credit score was "Fair" and I knew, after applying for a couple cards with no annual fee and being rejected, I would have to pay an annual fee to have privileges using a credit card.  My goal was to improve my credit score in order that I may apply and be approved by another credit card bank not charging an annual fee.  I accomplished this and am thankful I had this opportunity because of Credit One giving me a chance.  I now have good credit and a good credit card from another institutation without annual fee.  I was able to pay-off Credit One and close my account today.  

It was a little bit of a hassel closing my account.  The representatives are trained to offer "incentives" hoping you will not close account.  However, Credit One will not forfeit all of their annual fees.  I was offerred three months of no fees and I refused saying I did not want to pay "any" fees to use their card.  I, finally, was able to close the account.

more ...
Jun 04, 2019
I’ve enjoyed having this card.
Jiyuu Cardholder

Pay your bill on time and they will increase your credit limit. Mine is over $1000 but started at $300. Any merchant will accept this popular credit card!

more ...
Jun 03, 2019
I wouldn't recommend
dstempson Cardholder

This credit card company is a fraud. They become more and more sketchy by the month. I would not recommend this credit card to anyone. Lol. I have never been late on a payment or had any issues myself but the way their app and online services work, its extremely sketchy. If I could back out of this company without any issues I would.

more ...
Jun 08, 2019

Same!

 
Jun 23, 2019

Predatory companie

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations