Credit One Bank Reviews

Credit One Bank Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.0 out of 5 stars
532 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 25, 2019
Credit building life saver
Jaleesazzzzz Cardholder

I've had this card for 5 years now and my credit limit increases periodically. I've always had great experiences with customer service. If you do your part and pay your bill on time this is a credit way to establish credit

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 21, 2018
ItMeB16 Cardholder

WORST CREDIT CARD EVER!!!! PLEASE RUN!!!! I went out of town & used the card at Walmart & my card was immediately declined. I received a text to confirm the transaction. I received another text stating my card was cleared and ready to use again. Well, it wasn’t. Customer service was closed. I called the following morning only to discover that if you’re out of town & use it at Walmart they automatically place a block on your card and to remove this block you must FAX a copy of you Drivers License & a recent utility bill to their ‘home office’ it gets better, it takes 2-3 days for them to receive your fax & an additional 7-10 days for them to review it & release the hold on your card!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have NEVER heard of it taking ANY company 13 days to confirm I AM WHO I SAY I AM!!! Besides I answered every security question, social security #, address, phone number, last transactions!! I’M DONE!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 20, 2019
The worst customer service banking . Try
Anonymous Cardholder

RIP off try and make a payment and they want to charge you over the phone when they're website is down. Unfortunately it is not a place to build your credit. I am still trying to make a payment with out being charged 10 dollars to do so. Wish I had never fallen for this trap.Go to Capitol one to rebuild your credit.

more ...
Aug 20, 2019
Avoid if you value your credit score!
BobbiejohS Cardholder

When my card was set up I entered my banking information to make payments. I found it rather ridiculous that there was no way to enter my debit card number because they DO take debit card as a form of payment. I must have made a typo with the routing number, that was my fault. However, when the payment didn't go through my card was closed. The card closed, problem solved, payment made and card reopened a full 2 weeks before Credit One even notified me of the problem! The card closing affected my credit score, knocking it down 30 points. Yes, I made a mistake when I added my banking information, but I got this card to improve my score, not so credit one could make it worse! Even on my credit report it says I've never missed nor been late paying on this card, so just from that it looks like my card was randomly closed for no apparent reason. I worked very hard to get my score to where it was, now I have to do it all over again just because credit one couldn't be bothered to notify me of the problem before taking drastic measures against me! Avoid!

more ...
Aug 19, 2019
Gave me a chance
sherese1984 Cardholder

I read all the reviews before I applied for this card, I read go to capital one or citi! Guess what? denied!!!! And I’m 100% responsible for my credit score  and history. So yes I know the high interest rate for this card but hey that’s the price you pay for a crappy credit score and irresponsible decisions with credit, Credit one was the only card that gave me a chance to rebuild! And I’m grateful, I have to start somewhere and i was way at the bottom not only have they giving me a chance but I’ve had the card since July 2019 and recently received a 150 credit line increase!!!!!! I will stay with this card as long as I can I honestly don’t want any more cards!!! 

more ...
Aug 19, 2019
Horrible customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

Expensive rates, horrible customer service, and if your one day late they hit u with a penalty. Dont do it.

more ...
Aug 18, 2019
Worst CC Company Ever
MrRamone420 Cardholder

I applied to Credit One Bank last year, trying to build my credit. At the time it gave you a $300 credit limit and there no signs of the added fees to the card. I spent a good portion paying for groceries and helping getting my car fixed. Now as I mentioned, the credit limit is meant ot be $300. What they don't inform you of is the $75 fee, just for making your first purchase. So at the end of the first month, I owed $325, because of the added fees and interest. I tried to contact Credit One to recieve some answers. You soon find out that the "company" is a scam company where they and certain other "companies" will give you the opportunuty to receive a card but charge you almost 150% in intrest just for making that first purchase. They also charge you $99 a year, over the year. I actually cancelled the card at the end of the first month. Did that stop the continuous amounts of charges? No it did not. The amount I owe now is $545 and this is while I'm only able to pay $25-$30 amounth. I am also on Social Security Disability, so I can't afford anymore. I am also bombarded with non-stop calls as to when I can pay the amount off. The amount they charge is $100+ a month for a payment and since I can only pay $25-30 month, I'm given an extra fee and there is also a purchase charge. For what I have no idea. I don't know if I will ever get out of paying this scam. I would love to have a class action lawsuit against Credit One Bank. I may have to end my life to stop paying this horrible company.

more ...
Aug 17, 2019
Great Card to help boost your credit
Bleuk Cardholder

This card has been instrumental in getting my credit score up. It's been great!!! The only thing that I do not like is that they will not waive my annual fee especially since I have been a great customer for a few years. 

more ...
Aug 17, 2019
Great Card to help boost your credit
Bleuk Cardholder

This card has been very beneficial for me in rebuilding my credit. The only thing that I don't like about the card is that they will not waive my annual fee especially since I've been a good customer with them for a few years. 

more ...
Aug 17, 2019
Freaky
JewetteD Cardholder

I had this card years ago.  Out of the blue they called me yesterday to tell me I had a $400+ balance but that they would settle for $150.  They said the last payment they received from me was back in 2014.  I searched my bank statements and found nothing.  Furthermore, I pulled all three credit reports and they aren't on there at all, but you know what is?  They've been making monthly soft inquiries to my credit since 2017.  

They aren't getting a dime out of me....let them sue me.

more ...
Aug 16, 2019
Good starter card.
Lrbeck Cardholder

Pay on time and regularly and there are no problems. I've had good luck with this card.

more ...
Aug 16, 2019
Your bad habits is not company's fraugh.
Lerolyn Cardholder

Pay on time and problems.  Do get if you have money problems.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 22, 2019

It's fault .. I guess your bad spelling is not your fault because mistakes happen right?
This credit card company not a good one and that is a fact.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations