Credit One Bank Reviews

Credit One Bank Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.0 out of 5 stars
543 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 25, 2019
Credit building life saver
Jaleesazzzzz Cardholder

I've had this card for 5 years now and my credit limit increases periodically. I've always had great experiences with customer service. If you do your part and pay your bill on time this is a credit way to establish credit

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 21, 2018
ItMeB16 Cardholder

WORST CREDIT CARD EVER!!!! PLEASE RUN!!!! I went out of town & used the card at Walmart & my card was immediately declined. I received a text to confirm the transaction. I received another text stating my card was cleared and ready to use again. Well, it wasn’t. Customer service was closed. I called the following morning only to discover that if you’re out of town & use it at Walmart they automatically place a block on your card and to remove this block you must FAX a copy of you Drivers License & a recent utility bill to their ‘home office’ it gets better, it takes 2-3 days for them to receive your fax & an additional 7-10 days for them to review it & release the hold on your card!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have NEVER heard of it taking ANY company 13 days to confirm I AM WHO I SAY I AM!!! Besides I answered every security question, social security #, address, phone number, last transactions!! I’M DONE!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 24, 2019
Good to have as a member.
Lerolyn Cardholder

I always get an alert for my social security number.

more ...
Aug 24, 2019
Good credit card to carry in your wallet
Lerolyn Cardholder

The annual fee it the only thing I do not like. All of the other things are good.

more ...
Aug 24, 2019
Credit limits could be better
Anonymous Cardholder

It would be great if the credit limits on both Visa and Mastercard had higher limits.

more ...
Aug 23, 2019
Restart
kimee71 Cardholder

It's a good card to have to either start a credit history or to rebuild your credit history

more ...
Aug 23, 2019
awsome card
bslowe Cardholder

It is a very good card,,accepted everywhere

more ...
Aug 21, 2019

The guys over at Credit One Bank are awesome for helping you build credit.  They were the first to give me a card after my house was forcelosed in 2008.  They helped me build my credit with consistent credit line increases.   JUST BE CAREFUL.   If you are poor then these guys can also put you back in the debt house.   Every credit limit increase comes with a fee.   I also noticed they have a really nasty habit of adding fees to your card statement.   The most common is a $120/year fee billed monthly (about $10/mo).   You can call and ask them to remove the fee they will pretend it's a mistake but the fee will usually start appearing on your statement again after 2-4 months.   Eventually I had to cancel my card because I just got tired of calling them every couple of months.  

more ...
Aug 20, 2019
The worst customer service banking . Try
Anonymous Cardholder

RIP off try and make a payment and they want to charge you over the phone when they're website is down. Unfortunately it is not a place to build your credit. I am still trying to make a payment with out being charged 10 dollars to do so. Wish I had never fallen for this trap.Go to Capitol one to rebuild your credit.

more ...
Aug 20, 2019
Avoid if you value your credit score!
BobbiejohS Cardholder

When my card was set up I entered my banking information to make payments. I found it rather ridiculous that there was no way to enter my debit card number because they DO take debit card as a form of payment. I must have made a typo with the routing number, that was my fault. However, when the payment didn't go through my card was closed. The card closed, problem solved, payment made and card reopened a full 2 weeks before Credit One even notified me of the problem! The card closing affected my credit score, knocking it down 30 points. Yes, I made a mistake when I added my banking information, but I got this card to improve my score, not so credit one could make it worse! Even on my credit report it says I've never missed nor been late paying on this card, so just from that it looks like my card was randomly closed for no apparent reason. I worked very hard to get my score to where it was, now I have to do it all over again just because credit one couldn't be bothered to notify me of the problem before taking drastic measures against me! Avoid!

more ...
Aug 19, 2019
Gave me a chance
sherese1984 Cardholder

I read all the reviews before I applied for this card, I read go to capital one or citi! Guess what? denied!!!! And I’m 100% responsible for my credit score  and history. So yes I know the high interest rate for this card but hey that’s the price you pay for a crappy credit score and irresponsible decisions with credit, Credit one was the only card that gave me a chance to rebuild! And I’m grateful, I have to start somewhere and i was way at the bottom not only have they giving me a chance but I’ve had the card since July 2019 and recently received a 150 credit line increase!!!!!! I will stay with this card as long as I can I honestly don’t want any more cards!!! 

more ...
Aug 19, 2019
Horrible customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

Expensive rates, horrible customer service, and if your one day late they hit u with a penalty. Dont do it.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations