Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

Overall card rating

4.6
888 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most helpful positive review

Mar 12, 2021
Instantly approved with short credit history
Credit Karma Member

I was instantly approved for $5000 line at EX 731 TU 697 EQF 691. History: 19 months credit history with car loan and 7 months history with a secured credit card. No late payments or derogatory marks. Kept secured card usage under 30%. Poor approval odds from CK.

Helpful120
Not Helpful9
Comment3
Flag

Most helpful negative review

Feb 15, 2021
Awful customer service, completely uncompromising
Credit Karma Member

The customer service is horrendous. I had this card for years. I live in Hawaii and used it to rack up miles for flights back to the mainland. Didn't miss a single payment and always stayed within my credit limit. Last week I saved enough to pay off my balance in one lump sum, but I forgot to cancel my automatic payment. The automatic payment overdrew my account and Chase cancelled my credit card without so much as a warning. I have spoken with multiple customer service representatives at this point all of which have been rude and contrite. On the otherhand the application process was straightforward and easy. So there's that.

Helpful83
Not Helpful36
Comment5
Flag


Member ratings

Application process
Customer service

All member reviews (888)

631
107
31
13
106

Oct 15, 2020
Such worthed card
Credit Karma Member

This is by far my most favorite card, the amount of points you get for purchases and the flexibility to redeem is great, credit karma suggested this to me 3 years back I’m glad I went for it and never look back!

Helpful20
Not Helpful1
Comment0
Flag

Oct 14, 2020
Easy approval
Credit Karma Member

EX 685 TU 737 EQF 720 (CK approval odds: poor) I checked the chase website and was "pre qualified". I applied and did not get approved right away. I called and they just needed to verify some information since I had just moved. They were nice and made it easy and I was approved while I was on the phone. 80k points as a sign up bonus if I meet the minimum spend. Worth it.

Helpful20
Not Helpful2
Comment3
Flag

Sep 28, 2020
Best Travel Rewards
Credit Karma Member

I am going to Iceland for free because of this card. HIGHLY recommend

Helpful30
Not Helpful3
Comment1
Flag

Aug 02, 2020
Great card
Credit Karma Member

This is a awesome credit card with the best bank. Leave it at that.

Helpful6
Not Helpful6
Comment3
Flag

Jul 29, 2020
Credit Karma Member

Helpful1
Not Helpful6
Comment0
Flag

Jul 27, 2020
Credit Karma Member

Helpful0
Not Helpful20
Comment0
Flag

Jul 13, 2020
WOW!! WHY??
Credit Karma Member

Ok, I am not completely going to bash Chase like others but I guess my rating will give you a hint of how I feel about their choice to deny me. I am just sharing my experience to try and help others. I almost had to laugh when I received an instant DENIAL from my application. My credit score on Credit Karma is a 750 avg and over 800 (in the real world) by the big 3 credit bureaus, so go figure. I know some have been approved with a much lower credit score so I would assume if you currently have an account with chase you may have a better chance than someone like me that has no ties to Chase at all. Just some food for thought, good luck!!

Helpful50
Not Helpful36
Comment11
Flag

Jul 09, 2020
Very Good Card
Credit Karma Member

Good customer service better than standard chase but not as good as amex

Helpful4
Not Helpful6
Comment0
Flag

Jun 05, 2020
Wrong Credit Score information on Credit Karma
Credit Karma Member

I had a suggestion from Credit Karma for this card, and I also talked with my friend who have this card. I got positive reviews for this cars so applied for this when my credit score was 741 as per Credit Karma. But I got declined and when I received mail from the Chase it shows my credit score was 712 on TransUnion. So basically the credit score that Credit Karma shows here aren’t Perfect or real.

Helpful49
Not Helpful19
Comment5
Flag

May 10, 2020
Approved instantly with Fair Credit
Credit Karma Member

I applied with a 685 credit score. Instantly approved. CK actually gave me better odds on the Sapphire Reserve, but I don’t currently travel enough to justify the fee. Will likely upgrade or reapply later for the Reserve.

Helpful19
Not Helpful0
Comment3
Flag

41-50 of 888

See Approval Odds before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card


These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.