Chase Sapphire Reserve® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
37 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 19.24% - 26.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $450
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 19.24% - 26.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 14, 2019
Immediately Approved with High Limit
GoCoogs17 Cardholder

Was convinced to apply due to the plethora of benefits, way too many to list. 675 TransUnion and 672 Equifax at the time of application. Good Standing with an Auto Loan. Immediately approved for a $16,300 Limit. If you plan on even taking 1 trip this year, then the card is already worth it. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 11, 2018
Terrible service from Chase
SCHNOODLE3 Cardholder

Chase invited to apply for this card from my online acccount so that seems that I would be preapproved, especially as I have been a credit, banking, loan and mortgage customer for over 25 years. They appproved, sent me the card about 5 days latter. Two days latter I go online and my account is closed. What kind of horrible way to ttreatit a customer. Why even approve it, let alone send a card.  Typical of the kind of terrible experiences others get from Chase.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 11, 2019
6tea9 Cardholder

Applied for this card as I’m traveling a lot for work and wanted to capitalize on the points & benefits. CK said my scores were around 680 & I have about an 180k annual income. Received a call a few hours after the application was submitted from an unknown number, called them back and was approved for 10K after a few verification questions. Excited for all the perks!

more ...
Jun 15, 2019
Packed with perks
Pro134 Cardholder

Huge sign up bonus and very good 3x rate on travel and dining. Airport lounge access is nice as is the $300 travel credit and $85 TSA Pre. So far we have used all those perks and already earned an additional 15k in rewards in just the first two months. Have not had to use customer service so can’t speak to it’s quality. 

more ...
May 26, 2019
Fav travel card!
Nellybby Cardholder

I do love my chase sapphire reserve card , but i hate there customer service , it sucks. I maximize on my card and use it for travel and dining to get my 3x points and on anything else I use my other credit card. I would like to try out the Amex platnuim card or the MasterCard black card to see what the comparisons really are , but so far love my chase sapphire reserve 

more ...
May 25, 2019
Excellent travel rewards card
mrkt09 Cardholder

Was approved in Feb 2019 with a 734 FICO, 771 CK TU, 90k income. Approved for 23,300 instantly, first Chase card and no other Chase relationships. Love the shopping portal (10X points easily becomes 15X when using th travel portal, more transferring to partners. Customer service has been... Okay. Not Discover by any means or AmEx, but not Capital One. Travel credit is extremely generic and encompassing and priority pass has goten me multiple free steak dinners on trips. Would recommend it if you can his the bonus requirement and the effective 150 fee make it a keeper for the lng term. Another often overlooked perk is National Emerald Executive status. Ive rented a midsize for 3 days for about 215 and got a premium lux SUV which is closer to 730 for the same trip! What a benefit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 03, 2019

I’m considering getting this card myself. I always bought a previous relationship with chase would help your case. Did you apply online??

 
May 09, 2019
1000% Worth It
tnwamkpa Cardholder

I'll admit, the $450 annual fee scared me - the idea of paying that much for a credit card seemed ludicous to me. But this card is so worth it - I never thought I would rave about a credit card, but here I am. So far it has delivered on everything promised, including the $300 travel credit. I just came back from a trip to Morocco that I booked with points I earned with the Sapphire Preferred before I upgraded to the Reserve. Upgrading to the Reserve was an easy call to Chase a year after owning the Preferred card. The travel company I booked my Morocco trip with required travel insurance, which this cc covered, saving me about $100. I used the Priority Pass lounges at all airports I visited & was very happy with the free meals and drinks I enjoyed. I utilized the global entry & TSA precheck, which saved me a good amount of time & aggravation. So far the card has been worth more than the annual fee I paid.  If you travel a lot, you will love an appreciate this card. The perks and benefits are excellent.

more ...
May 01, 2019
High balance hard
Jay1898 Cardholder

I have a 760/763/820 credit score with an income of 163k and was just approved for $33,500.  I also have a Discover (20k) Amex platinum and a few other lower balance cards. I havn't used this card yet but im excited about it. I'll update if I have any issuse. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 07, 2019

Do they ask for verification or proof of income

 
Apr 30, 2019
Approved on second try, not instantly
Corto713 Cardholder

Trans: 748 - Eq: 745 - Exp: 720 /// 1 Year 7 Month history with 3 cards // ~$50,000 income // Denied for having too many credit inquiries (11 within past 12 months), then approved for $10,000 limit a month later with no changes (12 within past 12 months), after calling Chase Rep.

"Thank you for your request. We need to review your request a little longer." - I called the Chase App Status line 3 days after this message and was approved

Note: SEVEN of the 11-12 inquiries were from a dealership that sent my information to several other institutions without my consent.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 15, 2019

Was this your first chase card? I want to apply, but i don't have any chase cards or history with them.

 
Apr 15, 2019
"Great Travel Card"
GoHeels202 Cardholder

After doing my research about this card I was definitely interested but didn't have the best credit score so that made me nervous about applying. I had been trying to rebuild it over the past few months and at the time of applying I had my utilization down to 0% for 3 consecutive months, 2 late payments from 5 years ago, about 8 years of credit history and no other credit cards opened in the past few years. Credit score was a 669-671 and I was instantly approved for 14K. Can't wait to start using it and taking advantage of the perks that come with it. Hope this helps other people who may not have a high 700 score feel confident in applying and it really is the epitome of "you never know".

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 27, 2019

What if u make $15 per hour and full time and got 700 credit scote

 
Apr 01, 2019
Excited
mehdi016 Cardholder

Went to chase branch and I was told that I was pre approved for both CSP and CSR. Transunion 747, Equifax 727 and 722 on my FICO 8. I was instantly approved for 10k !! 

Only 14 months of credit history ( capital one $800 and Amex magnet 10k). So happy to finally got this card, now ready to travel. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Sapphire Reserve®

37 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i